Preview Review

Next Review

JetBlue Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Mechanical Delay
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

On Oct. 10, 2014 my husband and myself were due to fly out of Punta Cana D.R. at 1.00 pm on a full flight, to JFK and then fly onto SLC, arriving at 11:00 pm. We had never flown with JetBlue before but had heard good things. Realistically, we expected nothing. It's an airline, as long as it took off and landed we don't care.

After waiting on the plane for 1 hour, everyone was bused back to the terminal where we had to wait for three hours. No one would tell us what was going or offer us meal credits. Finally, we boarded at 3:30 knowing there was no way we would make our connecting flight. The pilot then announced that there had been a problem with the toilets not flushing. Everyone was angry because we could have held it for the 3 1/2 hour flight. The pilot said that because it made a light flash in the cockpit, he refused to fly. Fine, whatever. We were told that everything would be sorted once we landed in JFK.

By the time we arrived in JFK, 70% of the passengers had missed their connecting flight. We were immediately told by a JetBlue representative that there were no more flights tonight and that we would all be put in a hotels. We all had to find our own way to terminal 5 (the JetBlue's terminal). Where we were all told that we would not be put up in hotels. That all hotels were booked and that we could spend $150 of our own money (we would be reimbursed apparently) if we could find a hotel. There is no way at the last minute, at JFK you can find a hotel for $150. I spent over an hour trying. Plus there would be no compensation for $70 cab fare to said hotels.

At this point my husband became angry and said they need to do something. The man serving us got very pissy and refused to help us. Refused to help anyone, he went off at us because apparently it's not his problem. "Sorry buddy, you're a JetBlue representative. It is your problem." Finally we spoke to a supervisor. She was no better. Really and truly couldn't have care less. I asked her what we were all supposed to do. She shrugged and said, "It's not my problem."

We had to beg for meal credits. We begged! We hadn't eaten since the morning. All we got was $24 to cover dinner and breakfast for 2 people... in a airport terminal. Yah right!!! Most of the other passengers didn't even get meal credits. Because it was now 11:30 at night the terminal was closed. I had never seen anything like it before. Elderly couples, families with small children, honeymooners try to sleep on a freezing cold floor. One couple had gone on vacation before the wife was starting cancer treatment, talk about ruining a much need vacation.

My husband called up JetBlue and the representative he spoke to was appalled at the way we were being treated and claimed this was not their policy, he then upgraded us to even more space seats and offered us more meal credits (only another $16 though) and put us on the next available flight. That flight left at 9.00 the next morning was a 6 hour flight to Long Beach, CA. There would we have to wait 4 hours for a connecting flight to SLC. At this point we just wanted to get home and were grateful for being upgraded so that we could at least try and sleep. No one else got any of this because they didn't call and complain.

The airline attendant on our flight to Long Beach was the nicest JetBlue representative we came in contact. I was shaking and shivering while waiting for the bathroom (I do that when I only get an hours sleep) at which point he asked if I was ok. I explained everything that had happened and he gave us a free blanket (they normally cost $15 - it was a really crappy blanket) along with extra food.

But our connecting flight to SLC was something else though. It was announced that the flight would be delayed 40 minutes because of fog in SLC. There was no fog in Salt Lake, we checked. When we finally boarded, the pilot said it was because of air force when flying from San Francisco. So wait, which was it? Fog on the flight from SLC or air force interference flying from San Francisco? The pilot also thought he was flying Delta and JetBlue. That was pretty funny.

There was an elderly couple Sat behind us who had been through all this and they hadn't been upgraded. The flight was empty and there were lots of 'even more space" seats available. The elderly women asked if they could move and the flight attendant said, "No, there was a charge for those seats." The old man muttered, "This is ** ridiculous" to which flight attendant name ** said, "What did you just to me?" The gentlemen replied that he hadn't said anything to her. "Yes you did, don't swear at me! I will have escorted off this flight. Is that what you want?"

She then got the supervisor named ** who came and said, "This is my flight and it's gonna go my way." I don't know what they teach their JetBlue representatives but they were so vicious and self centered, everything was an affront to their personal rights. I wouldn't want to be on one of the flights if there was a problem, they seemed like they would use the passengers as flotation devices.

My husband stepped in at this point at told ** he needed to calm down and tried to explain what we had all gone through. He said, "I don't care, I was delayed too." To which I responded, "You weren't delayed 17 hours and made to sleep on terminal floor." He completely disregarded us and said, "That didn't happen!" Then walked off. I don't know how the gentlemen behind us did it but later in the flight he apologized to **, she lapped it all up and said, "If you had told me your situation nicely, I would have upgraded you." We were only halfway there, seats were still available, she didn't move them.

All in all we were delayed 17 hours due to mechanical issues, we were treated like cattle (actually cattle are treated better) and all we got offered is $100 towards another JetBlue flight within the year. We have flown 27 times in the last 8 years with many different airlines and have never been treated this way. I can understand this treatment if it had been a weather delay, but this was a mechanical issue. And a stupid one at that. I will never fly with JetBlue again. I will tell everyone and post this same review on every site on the internet. I don't know who JetBlue bribes to be classed as the best airline but it can go on forever.

Replies
Lied to by Customer Service Reps - Rude Supervisor
By -

I flew JetBlue from RDU to JFK - JFK to LGB on January 9, 2011 and back on January 11, 2011. My flight out was late leaving RDU, late leaving JFK. Not weather related delays. Then into the flight to Long Beach, CA, we were told that we did not have enough fuel and had to stop in Las Vegas for additional fuel? I was 3 hours late meeting a business associate! This is not the bad part!!!

On the return flight, I flew the red eye from LGB to JFK. Arrived in JFK at 5:05am on 1/11/11. I saw the flight from JFK to RDU had been cancelled. I went to the "Just Ask" counter of JetBlue. I approached the counter, asked the JetBlue employee how she was doing. She did not even acknowledge me. Never talked to me. She just looked at her computer. I stood there and waited for several minutes. Finally, I asked if she could help me. She asked me "what do you want me to do". I asked her what my options were since the flight was cancelled. She said repeatedly, "Call 1800 JetBlue", "Call 1800 JetBlue". She was just RUDE!

So, I called 1800 JetBlue. I talked to a representative. He told me that I would get a credit back to my credit card of "approximately $120.00". The representative told me to wait before I cancelled the last leg and took the credit. The representative suggested that I "explore my options" and then call back. I made my decisions based on the $120.00 credit. I rented a car and drove from JFK to RDU. 600 miles! The total of the rental car, tolls, and fuel was about $120.00.

I called back again to finalize the credit (while driving back from JFK to RDU). I was on the phone for 57 minutes. The representative I spoke to this time, told me she had to put me on hold to talk with a supervisor. While I was on hold, I was disconnected from the JetBlue end of the call. Then I called back and sat on hold another 45 minutes and then had to disconnect because I had a business phone call come in.

So I call back tonight to finalize the $120.00 credit. After being on the phone for another hour, I talked to a representative that told me my refund was $38. Not $120. I asked to speak to a supervisor. I was transferred to a Supervisor that was arrogant, talk to me in the most degrading manner. I was amazed that a supervisor would speak to a customer in this manner. I had him on speaker phone and my wife insisted that I hang up and not be talked to this way.

I stayed on the phone and the supervisor told me I was wrong and "so what that 2 of my employees told you the same thing, the only credit you can receive is $38." I tried to explain the calls, what I was told, and I was repeatedly interrupted by the supervisor. Bottom line was I will only get a $38 credit. This was my first flight with JetBlue and it will be my LAST! I also saw on this site that another lady had a very similar experience with JetBlue in regards to being told one price for a credit and then when the credit was issued, it was a much lower amount. Is this a trend?

Replies
Over and Above
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

We recently flew from Ft. Meyers Florida to JFK then on to Portland Maine (Flt 124 and 608, 02/28/13 - name **). During deplaning I required a wheelchair on the jetway and then to the food court area. At some point I discovered that my wallet was missing. My problem! A new and bulky wallet that easily slipped from my side pocket. Regardless it was not in my possession on delivery to the food court area.

We immediately notified JetBlue who set in motion their staff to check the plane quickly, called the overall service folks for JFK who came to collect my wife and take her from the gate area, to the lost and found and to the baggage area. The wallet was not located. My guess is that it slipped out while moving from the seat to the jetway.

This morning I received a call from JetBlue in Ft. Myers to tell me that the wallet had been found in Ft. Meyers during thorough cleaning of the aircraft. The person, **, walked me through what needed to be done to get the wallet back to me ASAP. I authorized her to search the wallet for my credit card which she and the supervisor did, (time ~11:15 AM, 03/02/13). Needless to say, I am stunned by the successful outcome largely due to the attentive and honest staff at JetBlue and the Customer service chap (AirServe) at JFK, a fellow by the name of **. I am so sorry we did not note the names of the other JetBlue folks who helped as well.

We have been flying JetBlue whenever possible for several years and ALWAYS found the staff and service to be outstanding! Our PWM flight was delayed, however, that is a non-issue in my mind. If one travels "suck it up" that's the way it goes! Don't like it?? Stay at home! The JetBlue staff was exemplary. So our hats are off to the folks at JetBlue and to ** at JFK. Not a thing to complain about.

Replies
Not Notified of Flight Change!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- I went to fly from Orlando to Washington/Dulles airport today. When I got to the airport and went to check in, I was notified that the flight had been changed, and would be leaving 3 hours later. I was upset, as I could have been in bed for 3 more hours but more importantly, I had people meeting me at my destination - some taking time off from work to do so. So, they were adversely affected as well.

I contacted JetBlue (supervisor ** on 5/31/2012 at 8:15am eastern) to get to the bottom of why I was not notified of the change. Now, stay with me here. I am a TrueBlue member. I booked this flight via my TrueBlue account. I have an email address associated with that account, yet, JetBlue NEVER sent a schedule change to that email account. They don't even dispute that. Their excuse to me for this mishap was that when I booked the flight originally, I had put in an additional email address (my wife's!) who I wanted to make aware of my flight'€™s, and of any changes if they happen.

Well, happen they did, and JetBlue ONLY sent the schedule change email to that address, not mine! When I spoke with **, she also stated that they notified me via phone of the flight change in March. That call NEVER occurred. They told me that they actually spoke with a person when they called. That person would have been me, as this is my phone that no-one else answers. Also, they say they keep notes of such calls and outcomes and did not leave a voice mail (that part is true, I never received a voicemail.)

What was amazing to me was that supervisor ** stated everything worked fine according to their process. So, their change request process will send an email to those you want notified of your travel plans, but not the actual TrueBlue member traveling and booking the flight! I asked if they were aware of this anomaly and the fact that this TrueBlue member was never notified and she defended their process.

I did ask if they were going to offer any compensation for this major inconvenience, and the answer was no. What a shame JetBlue. I've typically had good service and enjoy flying your airline. All it takes is one bad experience like this to change my buying behavior. Shame on you!

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We arrived at the airport with plenty of time. We entered the TSA security checkpoint with 45 minutes till take off. The line was extremely slow. When we finally arrived at the scanning machines the TSA was allowing vendors to cut in front of my wife and I and when we questioned the TSA agent he jokingly said, "hey we need these our coffee (Starbucks employee and a few other vendors)" and when we added we needed to catch our plane he completely disregarded us. My wife was able to complete the checkpoint before I and she ran to the gate, she was told the door was shut to the plane and they were not boarding any other passengers.

While my wife was questioning the lady at the gate (**) she heard the walkie talkie from the plane ask "is it alright to shut the aircraft door?". The lady with the other walkie talkie said yes, WITH US STANDING THERE, and the person on the plane asked if she was sure because there were some seats still empty and the other woman said yes it was clear and she could shut the door. We again questioned ** and she was not helpful at all. In fact she walked away from us and gave the terminal to another woman who booked us on a later flight to JFK and charged us an additional $100.00 for the flight.

Imagine the gall to charge us an additional $100.00 because the gate personnel closed the door prematurely. There was no empathy at all. We were still 7 minutes early to the gate and they did nothing for us. The plane door was not shut when we got there and they treated us like sheep. We have traveled quite a bit in the last five years with a host of carriers and this has been by far our worst experience with any airline. This is not going to be the last piece of correspondence.

Replies
Delayed 5 Days, JetBlue Was Rude and Unhelpful
By -

My parents and I were scheduled to fly from Salt Lake City into New York City on 12/26/10. When it became apparent a winter storm could be an issue we attempted to call JetBlue all day on the 25th. We never reached an actual person. When we called the main desk at the Salt Lake City airport, we were told that we had to come into the airport to be able to change our flight (which had been cancelled by this point). We drove 2 hours to the airport, cutting short a visit with my son.

When we arrived at the JetBlue counter we were very rudely told there was a 5 day wait for a flight into NYC and there were no flights available to D.C., Boston or other areas of the Northeast for at least as many days. The employee at the counter told us it was our "fault we couldn't get a flight" because we had waited too long to change our flight and that "everyone else had called in much earlier". Obviously I was outraged since we had been trying to call JetBlue for over 10 hours at this point and were given incorrect information when we called the airport.

They clearly did not believe us, said there was nothing they could do other than refund our flight, and said that they could not change us to a flight on another airline. I understand that their jobs are trying, particularly on days when there are delays. However, how could they possible outright blame us and act rudely to paying customers who are just as frustrated as they are? We booked a flight on Delta and got home 2 days late, rather than 5. I'm flying to Salt Lake again tomorrow and I didn't even look at JetBlue's rates. Once my favorite airline, I won't be flying JetBlue again.

Replies
The rudest customer service ever
By -

On December 16 I reserved online for a business trip from Boston to the Bay Area, which I fly frequently. I had to leave the office, and when I came back several hours later I found emails from contacts pointing out that I had clicked on the wrong week for the return. I immediately called JetBlue. First the person answering the telephone refused to let me speak to a supervisor after telling me that I was out of luck. When I finally got to the supervisor I asked that the call be recorded but I don't know if it was. The supervisor started a monotone repeating over and over that unlike other airlines, JetBlue has a four hour cancellation policy.

Every time I tried to say something, she spoke over me, continuing to repeat herself. I was not allowed to talk. I then was forced to raise my voice to ask if she would do me the basic courtesy of allowing me to speak. She would not allow me to have a conversation with her and she said since I raised my voice in trying to get in a word, I was being abusive and she was hanging up. She would not give me any contact information.

It may be that JetBlue trains its personnel to act like four years old by repeating a mantra endlessly to prevent any real conversation with a customer. It did seem intentional. This person had absolutely no interest in listening to me; just getting rid of me.

I would love to be able to have some recourse but of course, there is no contact information to be found, only the same old customer service number which I will not call again for more abuse. I would like to have this complaint emailed on to SOMEONE in AUTHORITY at JetBlue but of course their email address is a major secret. The basic attitude is take it or leave it. I will now leave it, and so will anyone I work with. What has happened to this country? I have been a businessperson for 35 years and I am aghast at the complete arrogance and indifference of customer service people such as this one.

Replies
Gate Attendant & Airline Inconsiderate to Family Flying
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NYC, NEW YORK -- Royally aggregated as our very delayed plane just chose one of our bags to check at the gate bc "it's a full flight" -- we are row 16, loading in the middle of the group of passengers and were NOT late to the flight. In addition I have 4 kids with me including a 7 year old who is cranky and tired. I also paid for 5 tickets. Now I have to wait at the airport at the bag carousel with my 4 kids at 1:00 am. We packed in the right size bags so that we could carry on and get home quickly. Delayed and checked bag & I am so aggravated at the inconsiderate spirit of the Jet Blue gate attendants at JFK. Arg!!! 😡

Replies
Advertisement
Luggage Problem
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

LONG BEACH, CALIFORNIA -- I've always enjoyed flying with JetBlue & I would recommend my family & friends to use them! However, recently I had a problem re: my luggage. I flew from Long Beach to JFK (Aug 28th) & returned to Long Beach (Sept 24th). I did not unpack until the following day.

I had placed a pair of DKNY JEANS sandals in the front compartment of my luggage; had not worn them yet. The Left sandal on its side; instep & heel area were broken off. The Left sandal, its toe & instep area were broken off. To receive that much damage to my sandals, my luggage must have been thrown really hard & crushed under something? I was so disappointed, I truly loved flying JetBlue!

Replies
Flight Delays
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- My flight was number 236, schedule to depart at 1:44 am on August 29. The flight attendant notifies me they had a delayed and was leaving at 3:30 am, but the flight was really leaving at 4:16 am. When you notify someone, the airline should be clear enough and not give misleading information. As result, I will stop my traveling with JetBlue company. My child is tired and hungry. She wants to get home. I will not recommend you to any my friends and family. I will think twice to travel with JetBlue, and all my reviews will refer to this inconvenience.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

JetBlue Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 12 ratings and
98 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
JetBlue
118-29 Queens Blvd.
Forest Hills, NY 11375
800-538-2583 (ph)
718-709-3621 (fax)
www.jetblue.com
Product/Services Related Resources
Compare Airline Companies