Preview Review

Next Review

JetBlue Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Where Do I Begin??
By -

I fly often between Las Vegas and New York and normally fly on Virgin America (GREAT airline!). However I had a credit from a cancelled flight last year, so I booked on JetBlue. I paid their extra $40 to be able to fold my body into the somewhat less cramped space of the first 5 rows. I had an aisle seat in the 4th row.

As the passengers arrived, I looked in horror as a family or group who had 6 children with them under the age of 4, including the screeching baby in a child seat approached. My entreaties to various Deities went unanswered as they plopped next to me, behind me, and in front of me. The apparent father knew better and sought refuge across the aisle on the window. I realize everyone has the right to fly with their litters. The same folks also have the right to turn a movie theater into a noisy day care center.

Don't get me started on the appropriateness of breast feeding in an elegant restaurant. But as we took off into the wild blue yonder, the wailing and screeching began in earnest. And it didn't stop except for a brief interlude about 3 hours into the flight, only to resume for the remainder. The mother, on the window seat, at one point decided to change the baby's diapers, and folded down the tray table, plopped the baby onto it, and did her motherly thing. That's the tray table that food is consumed upon.

As I wretched in horror, the flight attendant came down the aisle holding her blue bag for refuse open. Unbelievably, the mother hurled her soggy stinking diaper with her best Kobe Bryant rim shot across my lap and into the bag. The flight attendant only smiled at the mother's expertise, and continued on her quest for less odoriferous refuse. I couldn't wait for the plane to land.

The various children (they couldn't possibly all be hers; probably a family reunion or wedding or some sort of west coast fertility rite) climbed over the seats, kicked the back of seats in front of them (during the brief moments they were actually seated), and at one moment there were a total of 6 adults and children in our row of 3 seats. Thank the good Lord for Bose noise canceling ear phones! To be clear, I adore well behaved children. Occasional relapses of behavior are normal and expected, but there is a line that is crossed when children are allowed by their parents to terrorize a flight, a restaurant, or movie theater.

I wrote to JetBlue about this flight from Hell, and in response received a credit towards a future flight. (Which you can probably guess by now, I will not be taking.) JetBlue was a great idea in its conception. But no longer. The surliness, the unwillingness to assist, the cattle car ambiance of their flights, and their passengers-be-damned attitude have compelled me to never fly with them again. I realize most of this is not JetBlue's fault. I fault the oblivious parents who haven't yet figured out what grandparents are for when the desire to travel overwhelms them. Anyone want my $50 off credit? I will not be using it.

Replies
Mechanical Delay
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

On Oct. 10, 2014 my husband and myself were due to fly out of Punta Cana D.R. at 1.00 pm on a full flight, to JFK and then fly onto SLC, arriving at 11:00 pm. We had never flown with JetBlue before but had heard good things. Realistically, we expected nothing. It's an airline, as long as it took off and landed we don't care.

After waiting on the plane for 1 hour, everyone was bused back to the terminal where we had to wait for three hours. No one would tell us what was going or offer us meal credits. Finally, we boarded at 3:30 knowing there was no way we would make our connecting flight. The pilot then announced that there had been a problem with the toilets not flushing. Everyone was angry because we could have held it for the 3 1/2 hour flight. The pilot said that because it made a light flash in the cockpit, he refused to fly. Fine, whatever. We were told that everything would be sorted once we landed in JFK.

By the time we arrived in JFK, 70% of the passengers had missed their connecting flight. We were immediately told by a JetBlue representative that there were no more flights tonight and that we would all be put in a hotels. We all had to find our own way to terminal 5 (the JetBlue's terminal). Where we were all told that we would not be put up in hotels. That all hotels were booked and that we could spend $150 of our own money (we would be reimbursed apparently) if we could find a hotel. There is no way at the last minute, at JFK you can find a hotel for $150. I spent over an hour trying. Plus there would be no compensation for $70 cab fare to said hotels.

At this point my husband became angry and said they need to do something. The man serving us got very pissy and refused to help us. Refused to help anyone, he went off at us because apparently it's not his problem. "Sorry buddy, you're a JetBlue representative. It is your problem." Finally we spoke to a supervisor. She was no better. Really and truly couldn't have care less. I asked her what we were all supposed to do. She shrugged and said, "It's not my problem."

We had to beg for meal credits. We begged! We hadn't eaten since the morning. All we got was $24 to cover dinner and breakfast for 2 people... in a airport terminal. Yah right!!! Most of the other passengers didn't even get meal credits. Because it was now 11:30 at night the terminal was closed. I had never seen anything like it before. Elderly couples, families with small children, honeymooners try to sleep on a freezing cold floor. One couple had gone on vacation before the wife was starting cancer treatment, talk about ruining a much need vacation.

My husband called up JetBlue and the representative he spoke to was appalled at the way we were being treated and claimed this was not their policy, he then upgraded us to even more space seats and offered us more meal credits (only another $16 though) and put us on the next available flight. That flight left at 9.00 the next morning was a 6 hour flight to Long Beach, CA. There would we have to wait 4 hours for a connecting flight to SLC. At this point we just wanted to get home and were grateful for being upgraded so that we could at least try and sleep. No one else got any of this because they didn't call and complain.

The airline attendant on our flight to Long Beach was the nicest JetBlue representative we came in contact. I was shaking and shivering while waiting for the bathroom (I do that when I only get an hours sleep) at which point he asked if I was ok. I explained everything that had happened and he gave us a free blanket (they normally cost $15 - it was a really crappy blanket) along with extra food.

But our connecting flight to SLC was something else though. It was announced that the flight would be delayed 40 minutes because of fog in SLC. There was no fog in Salt Lake, we checked. When we finally boarded, the pilot said it was because of air force when flying from San Francisco. So wait, which was it? Fog on the flight from SLC or air force interference flying from San Francisco? The pilot also thought he was flying Delta and JetBlue. That was pretty funny.

There was an elderly couple Sat behind us who had been through all this and they hadn't been upgraded. The flight was empty and there were lots of 'even more space" seats available. The elderly women asked if they could move and the flight attendant said, "No, there was a charge for those seats." The old man muttered, "This is ** ridiculous" to which flight attendant name ** said, "What did you just to me?" The gentlemen replied that he hadn't said anything to her. "Yes you did, don't swear at me! I will have escorted off this flight. Is that what you want?"

She then got the supervisor named ** who came and said, "This is my flight and it's gonna go my way." I don't know what they teach their JetBlue representatives but they were so vicious and self centered, everything was an affront to their personal rights. I wouldn't want to be on one of the flights if there was a problem, they seemed like they would use the passengers as flotation devices.

My husband stepped in at this point at told ** he needed to calm down and tried to explain what we had all gone through. He said, "I don't care, I was delayed too." To which I responded, "You weren't delayed 17 hours and made to sleep on terminal floor." He completely disregarded us and said, "That didn't happen!" Then walked off. I don't know how the gentlemen behind us did it but later in the flight he apologized to **, she lapped it all up and said, "If you had told me your situation nicely, I would have upgraded you." We were only halfway there, seats were still available, she didn't move them.

All in all we were delayed 17 hours due to mechanical issues, we were treated like cattle (actually cattle are treated better) and all we got offered is $100 towards another JetBlue flight within the year. We have flown 27 times in the last 8 years with many different airlines and have never been treated this way. I can understand this treatment if it had been a weather delay, but this was a mechanical issue. And a stupid one at that. I will never fly with JetBlue again. I will tell everyone and post this same review on every site on the internet. I don't know who JetBlue bribes to be classed as the best airline but it can go on forever.

Replies
Lied to by Customer Service Reps - Rude Supervisor
By -

I flew JetBlue from RDU to JFK - JFK to LGB on January 9, 2011 and back on January 11, 2011. My flight out was late leaving RDU, late leaving JFK. Not weather related delays. Then into the flight to Long Beach, CA, we were told that we did not have enough fuel and had to stop in Las Vegas for additional fuel? I was 3 hours late meeting a business associate! This is not the bad part!!!

On the return flight, I flew the red eye from LGB to JFK. Arrived in JFK at 5:05am on 1/11/11. I saw the flight from JFK to RDU had been cancelled. I went to the "Just Ask" counter of JetBlue. I approached the counter, asked the JetBlue employee how she was doing. She did not even acknowledge me. Never talked to me. She just looked at her computer. I stood there and waited for several minutes. Finally, I asked if she could help me. She asked me "what do you want me to do". I asked her what my options were since the flight was cancelled. She said repeatedly, "Call 1800 JetBlue", "Call 1800 JetBlue". She was just RUDE!

So, I called 1800 JetBlue. I talked to a representative. He told me that I would get a credit back to my credit card of "approximately $120.00". The representative told me to wait before I cancelled the last leg and took the credit. The representative suggested that I "explore my options" and then call back. I made my decisions based on the $120.00 credit. I rented a car and drove from JFK to RDU. 600 miles! The total of the rental car, tolls, and fuel was about $120.00.

I called back again to finalize the credit (while driving back from JFK to RDU). I was on the phone for 57 minutes. The representative I spoke to this time, told me she had to put me on hold to talk with a supervisor. While I was on hold, I was disconnected from the JetBlue end of the call. Then I called back and sat on hold another 45 minutes and then had to disconnect because I had a business phone call come in.

So I call back tonight to finalize the $120.00 credit. After being on the phone for another hour, I talked to a representative that told me my refund was $38. Not $120. I asked to speak to a supervisor. I was transferred to a Supervisor that was arrogant, talk to me in the most degrading manner. I was amazed that a supervisor would speak to a customer in this manner. I had him on speaker phone and my wife insisted that I hang up and not be talked to this way.

I stayed on the phone and the supervisor told me I was wrong and "so what that 2 of my employees told you the same thing, the only credit you can receive is $38." I tried to explain the calls, what I was told, and I was repeatedly interrupted by the supervisor. Bottom line was I will only get a $38 credit. This was my first flight with JetBlue and it will be my LAST! I also saw on this site that another lady had a very similar experience with JetBlue in regards to being told one price for a credit and then when the credit was issued, it was a much lower amount. Is this a trend?

Replies
JetBlue Never Again
By -

Just flew JetBlue for the first time. Granted the legroom was great but when it comes to what stands out about the flight, legroom isn't it. Their customer service from check in to exiting the plane is the worst I've ever experienced. To start off I have never taken so long to check in on a flight. It took close to fifteen minutes for the two of us to get our tickets. If it wasn't for everyone else taking so long to check people in, I would have believed the printer not printing properly or any other excuse given as the cause of us spending all that time at the counter.

When waiting at the gate we decided to recheck to see if there would be a meal served on the flight. This is because when booking the flight online we were asked what kind of meal we would prefer. However, before getting the answer I had to wait for the JetBlue employees to ignore me for several minutes while they conducted their personal conversation; only to then be confronted with an attitude.

So if you're wondering about the meal. No they were not going to serve a meal on the over four hour flight. As explained, it was a mistake on the site in which we bought the tickets; CheapOAir.com. Then came the gate change which was a mistake that they did not take the time to properly announce a correction for.

Now comes the second bag and body search at the gate right before getting on the flight. Since it isn't allowed to bring fluids into the airport we are forced to buy beverages inside the airport. So why were we told to throw out any beverage we did not finish before boarding? Were they all not bought at the airport? Then came the random body search. One of us (who is of a female body) was wearing a tank top and open oxford shirt. They were asked to remove their jacket and when it was pointed out that in fact it was a shirt, they were still asked to remove it and was then patted down. There was no space between the top and their skin, so really now?

If was a full flight and unfortunately we didn't get seats together. After sitting down in the middle of a row I realized my check in bag was too big to fit under the seat. One of the only two flight attendants on this Airbus A320 which seats 150 passengers sped by my seat and said the bag had to go under the seat in front of me. If she took a moment to listen she would have heard me say it couldn't. On her second pass by, she did take the time to hear me. She then proceeded to open the over head and say "we can put your bag up here". She then walked away. Now all my life I have known that we is not the same as you or I.

So I waited for her to do her pass by again. Remember I was sitting in the middle seat and didn't want to have the person in the aisle seat to have to move. When the flight attendant came back she said she was not going to put the bag up there for me and that I had to. So my question to her was why the "we". As far as getting headphones which you have to be charged two dollars for, by time the flight attendant got to you the movies were too far into them to actually make you want to watch them.

Then came the announcements that were coming from one of the pilots, flight attendants or want to be comedian that should definitely not give up their day job unless they are a flight attendant. After flying with JetBlue, which was my first and last time, I can see why they thought it okay to make a passenger sit on the toilet for their flight.

Replies
Advertisement
JetBlue, I'm Breaking Up With You
By -

Wow. I used to love JetBlue. I have recommended it to hundreds of people, since I've been flying JetBlue since 2 weeks after it went into business. But after tonight's two hours on the phone on hold and then finally with a very nice but ineffectual representative, I will be reevaluating my family's travel choices, and closing our JetBlue American Express cards. I will also open a formal complaint with American Express.

I called today (2/5/10) to redeem my remaining Old TrueBlue Award for a date five (5) months from today. I was told that there were no award seats available on the day I required, and that the closest days that had available seats on them were 4 days earlier or 4 days later! This, despite the fact that the vast majority of seats on the flight have not been booked!

It is obvious that JetBlue has drastically reduced the amount of seats it makes available for Old Awards, and thus the thousands of dollars I have spent, and that my wife (who has remaining Old Awards and Points) has spent, were spent in vain. The awards we were earning have now become useless. I feel so betrayed by JetBlue, and I am extremely disappointed that this company that I had so much respect for has shown that, despite my loyal and constant patronage for ten years, they have treated me and my family unfairly.

The only thing I could do was to book a return flight using the Old Award, but the issue remains as to how my wife and I will GET to Chicago for the charity fundraiser we are attending (and that we help to organize, recommending to dozens of others which airline to fly to get there -- we will certainly be reevaluating those recommendations). It will be impossible to reach the number of New Points required to earn a reward under the new system and it is unreasonable for us to have to, in effect, re-earn the awards that we already earned.

It is patently unfair and disingenuous for JetBlue to have changed the number of seats available on each flight so drastically while we still have awards that were earned with the reasonable expectation that if we tried to redeem them (5 months in advance! -- and on a weekday!) there would be award seats available, especially when the flight is currently mostly empty.

I requested to speak to a supervisor, and I was told that "everyone at this level is a supervisor", and that no one had the power to make award seats available on any flight. Surely this is not the case - the company is making the decision to severely limit award seats, despite the fact that their customers have been operating under the agreement that their loyal patronage and use of the JetBlue American Express card would result in a reasonable expectation of a return on that investment. I will now advise everyone I know and do business with that something has gone terribly wrong at this company, and it is to be avoided.

Replies
JetBlue True Blue Lack of Service Team!
By -

I have never written a negative review before so here goes! I have never been so disappointed with a company in my life. I fly 8 months out of the year and all over the globe. I participate in numerous rewards programs and have more free flights and hotel stays than I care to think about. I often lose them because they expire before I can use them.

This is the case with JetBlue. I have 4 free flights under their "old" TrueBlue rewards program. I decided it would be fun to take the family to Florida for a week and so I went online to book my flights. Much to my disappointment I discovered that JetBlue has transitioned to a new reservations system and that I could no longer book my rewards flights online. I had to call to make the reservation.

No problem I thought and so I called. I was told that there was "higher than normal" call volume and that my call would be answered as soon as possible. I waited 45 minutes the first time, 1 hour the second time, 2 hours the third time and I am currently on hold at 3 hours and 20 minutes. I have been disconnected 4 times and possibly hung up on after finally getting through yesterday. I would have given up long ago if the rewards weren't expiring shortly! I decided to email them and this is cut and pasted from their response!

"Thank you for contacting JetBlue Airways regarding your TrueBlue account. JetBlue has just completed transitioning to a new reservation system and as a result, the TrueBlue help desk is currently receiving a high volume of email and can no longer accept them at this time. We apologize for the inconvenience. Please note: Old TrueBlue points that appear in your online account summary can not be booked through jetblue.com. To book Award travel using these old points, please call us at 1-800-JETBLUE. We value you as a JetBlue customer and apologize for any inconvenience caused from the temporary limitations we are experiencing."

BS! They aren't even accepting emails at this point! This sounds like a potential class action lawsuit to me! Virgin America here I come!

Replies
Over and Above
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

We recently flew from Ft. Meyers Florida to JFK then on to Portland Maine (Flt 124 and 608, 02/28/13 - name **). During deplaning I required a wheelchair on the jetway and then to the food court area. At some point I discovered that my wallet was missing. My problem! A new and bulky wallet that easily slipped from my side pocket. Regardless it was not in my possession on delivery to the food court area.

We immediately notified JetBlue who set in motion their staff to check the plane quickly, called the overall service folks for JFK who came to collect my wife and take her from the gate area, to the lost and found and to the baggage area. The wallet was not located. My guess is that it slipped out while moving from the seat to the jetway.

This morning I received a call from JetBlue in Ft. Myers to tell me that the wallet had been found in Ft. Meyers during thorough cleaning of the aircraft. The person, **, walked me through what needed to be done to get the wallet back to me ASAP. I authorized her to search the wallet for my credit card which she and the supervisor did, (time ~11:15 AM, 03/02/13). Needless to say, I am stunned by the successful outcome largely due to the attentive and honest staff at JetBlue and the Customer service chap (AirServe) at JFK, a fellow by the name of **. I am so sorry we did not note the names of the other JetBlue folks who helped as well.

We have been flying JetBlue whenever possible for several years and ALWAYS found the staff and service to be outstanding! Our PWM flight was delayed, however, that is a non-issue in my mind. If one travels "suck it up" that's the way it goes! Don't like it?? Stay at home! The JetBlue staff was exemplary. So our hats are off to the folks at JetBlue and to ** at JFK. Not a thing to complain about.

Replies
Not Notified of Flight Change!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- I went to fly from Orlando to Washington/Dulles airport today. When I got to the airport and went to check in, I was notified that the flight had been changed, and would be leaving 3 hours later. I was upset, as I could have been in bed for 3 more hours but more importantly, I had people meeting me at my destination - some taking time off from work to do so. So, they were adversely affected as well.

I contacted JetBlue (supervisor ** on 5/31/2012 at 8:15am eastern) to get to the bottom of why I was not notified of the change. Now, stay with me here. I am a TrueBlue member. I booked this flight via my TrueBlue account. I have an email address associated with that account, yet, JetBlue NEVER sent a schedule change to that email account. They don't even dispute that. Their excuse to me for this mishap was that when I booked the flight originally, I had put in an additional email address (my wife's!) who I wanted to make aware of my flight'€™s, and of any changes if they happen.

Well, happen they did, and JetBlue ONLY sent the schedule change email to that address, not mine! When I spoke with **, she also stated that they notified me via phone of the flight change in March. That call NEVER occurred. They told me that they actually spoke with a person when they called. That person would have been me, as this is my phone that no-one else answers. Also, they say they keep notes of such calls and outcomes and did not leave a voice mail (that part is true, I never received a voicemail.)

What was amazing to me was that supervisor ** stated everything worked fine according to their process. So, their change request process will send an email to those you want notified of your travel plans, but not the actual TrueBlue member traveling and booking the flight! I asked if they were aware of this anomaly and the fact that this TrueBlue member was never notified and she defended their process.

I did ask if they were going to offer any compensation for this major inconvenience, and the answer was no. What a shame JetBlue. I've typically had good service and enjoy flying your airline. All it takes is one bad experience like this to change my buying behavior. Shame on you!

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We arrived at the airport with plenty of time. We entered the TSA security checkpoint with 45 minutes till take off. The line was extremely slow. When we finally arrived at the scanning machines the TSA was allowing vendors to cut in front of my wife and I and when we questioned the TSA agent he jokingly said, "hey we need these our coffee (Starbucks employee and a few other vendors)" and when we added we needed to catch our plane he completely disregarded us. My wife was able to complete the checkpoint before I and she ran to the gate, she was told the door was shut to the plane and they were not boarding any other passengers.

While my wife was questioning the lady at the gate (**) she heard the walkie talkie from the plane ask "is it alright to shut the aircraft door?". The lady with the other walkie talkie said yes, WITH US STANDING THERE, and the person on the plane asked if she was sure because there were some seats still empty and the other woman said yes it was clear and she could shut the door. We again questioned ** and she was not helpful at all. In fact she walked away from us and gave the terminal to another woman who booked us on a later flight to JFK and charged us an additional $100.00 for the flight.

Imagine the gall to charge us an additional $100.00 because the gate personnel closed the door prematurely. There was no empathy at all. We were still 7 minutes early to the gate and they did nothing for us. The plane door was not shut when we got there and they treated us like sheep. We have traveled quite a bit in the last five years with a host of carriers and this has been by far our worst experience with any airline. This is not going to be the last piece of correspondence.

Replies
Delayed 5 Days, JetBlue Was Rude and Unhelpful
By -

My parents and I were scheduled to fly from Salt Lake City into New York City on 12/26/10. When it became apparent a winter storm could be an issue we attempted to call JetBlue all day on the 25th. We never reached an actual person. When we called the main desk at the Salt Lake City airport, we were told that we had to come into the airport to be able to change our flight (which had been cancelled by this point). We drove 2 hours to the airport, cutting short a visit with my son.

When we arrived at the JetBlue counter we were very rudely told there was a 5 day wait for a flight into NYC and there were no flights available to D.C., Boston or other areas of the Northeast for at least as many days. The employee at the counter told us it was our "fault we couldn't get a flight" because we had waited too long to change our flight and that "everyone else had called in much earlier". Obviously I was outraged since we had been trying to call JetBlue for over 10 hours at this point and were given incorrect information when we called the airport.

They clearly did not believe us, said there was nothing they could do other than refund our flight, and said that they could not change us to a flight on another airline. I understand that their jobs are trying, particularly on days when there are delays. However, how could they possible outright blame us and act rudely to paying customers who are just as frustrated as they are? We booked a flight on Delta and got home 2 days late, rather than 5. I'm flying to Salt Lake again tomorrow and I didn't even look at JetBlue's rates. Once my favorite airline, I won't be flying JetBlue again.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

JetBlue Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 12 ratings and
98 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
JetBlue
118-29 Queens Blvd.
Forest Hills, NY 11375
800-538-2583 (ph)
718-709-3621 (fax)
www.jetblue.com
Product/Services Related Resources
Compare Airline Companies