Preview Review

Next Review

LA Fitness Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Unsafe, Unclean and Disorganized
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- For years I have been communicating with the Operations Manager, Cesar **, about the condition of the gym (equipment breakage and free weight area disorganization). I have even spoken with several staff as well as attempted to reach corporate which is almost impossible.

The main issues with the gym/management is the free weight area is always a disaster. Sometimes there seems to be more free weights in the aerobics room than the free weight area. The weight plates are always all over the floor and the dumbbell rack is empty. Because of the disarray it takes me longer to work out and have even skinned my shins because of all the land mines in the pathways.

I have sent several emails to Cesar advising of the unsafe conditions and extremely unhappy customers I have interfaced with and all he can say is that corporate won't allow for additional overhead or support. I explained to him that the LA Fitness near the expressway (5 miles down the road) is always neat and clean and I am sure they are subjected to the same corporate limitations and demographics. Long story short there is no excuse and he needs to become more of an accountable manager.

Another issue that has been progressively getting worst is the cleanliness of the workout area and locker rooms. When you first enter the lobby it smells like a sewer. As you go in the locker room there is an musty mildew smell. I know it is a men's locker room so there will be other smells but this is 5am and already smells bad.

About 6-8 months ago there was a change in cleaning personnel and the new guy I have been witnessing for awhile now and yet to see him clean the bathrooms with any kind of disinfectant. All he does is get paper towels from the machine and wipe areas of the mirror and wipe down the sinks. As this has progressed there has been an increase in odor, roaches and bugs in the shower. Additionally there is frequent trash left in the lockers and sticky residue on the work out floor.

I did an experiment to see how long some powder will last on the floor in the locker room (tile floor) and it stayed there for 3 months. I don't think the floor was ever cleaned but it got worn away. Needless to say I wear flip flops and shoes all over.

I have told Cesar that I refuse to move since the expectation of their gym is to provide a safe, clean and organized gym. I am also taking the lead to be a voice of all the disappointed members of the morning dedicated work out people. This problem is going to be fixed when Cesar addresses the systemic breakdown for good, gets removed from his position or an accident occurs and LA Fitness will be sued and the gym will close or change management/ownership.

I suggest any potential customers avoid the gym for now until we can get is straighten up and safe. To all existing members settling for an unclean, unsafe and below expectation manager write reviews and post your issues. The more we get them recognized the more loss of business to the point corporate will have to investigate. In the meantime I will continue to address this as well as find ways into corporate to bring this to light. "The definition of insanity is to keep doing the same thing and expect a different result" - Albert Einstein.

Replies
Deceitful and hostile manager of trainers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SARASOTA, FLORIDA -- On 8/3/19 we signed up the cooper creek facility. I was quickly moved to a trainers desk for a “free consultation” offered upon sign up. Duke, stated that paying full price upfront for PT was ridiculous. He implied the cost was approx $60. He avoided stating that it was $60 each session and that we would be charged $460 a month, in addition to the membership fees and monthly charges. Unfortunately, Its impossible to review the contract or charges from the tablet he has you initial at lightening speed. An hr later, I received the full contract via email. I gave Duke the benefit of the doubt that he didn't intend on misleading me. I spoke with the manager, Melanie, less than 24 hrs later, explaining the situation and even stating I believed his intentions were not malicious. She was very friendly and advised me to speak with Aubrey on 8/5/19 (operations manager) to sign the cancellation paperwork and to receive the refund. I called 8/5/19 and was not permitted to speak with Aubrey. Instead, Duke, stated he was the only one I could speak with. He also stated “Melanie, didn't know what she was talking about.” He stated that we needed to come in Monday afternoon to sign the cancellation paperwork. My husband was at dukes desk by 6pm. Signed the paperwork to cancel. Duke stated it would take approx 10 days to relieve the refund. On 8/6/19 additional funds were removed After we had executed the cancellation. We contacted LA Fitness several times and we're repeatedly put through to Duke despite having asked to speak with operations or accounting. Every week, my husband has followed up and every time, Duke stated it was still being processed. Today, 8/23/19 I contacted the corporate HQ in California. I was made aware that there had never been a cancellation request and that we were about to be charged for the second month. The customer agent I spoke with was very professional and stated that he would remain on the line if I wanted to go into the facility with him on the line to verify the cancellation request had been made within the period allowed. While on the phone with HQ, Duke stated my husband never cancelled nor called for a refund. I couldn't believe what I was hearing! He also stated I “wasted” his time clamoring I “wanted results” from my gym experience. As he badgered me, still on the phone with HQ, I stated he did not need to be an “asshole” to me. I was taken aback and felt slightly threatened. I'd never encountered such a dishonest and unprofessional person. I was completely floored that Duke would blatantly deny that we cancelled; That he had told us for 3 weeks our refund was being “processed”! He went on to say that I'm allowed to come to his place of employment yelling at him!!! I never raised my voice. I never had the intent nor did I make a scene. I was physically shaken and bothered by what appeared to the start of a hostile situation on his part. Remember, I have HQ on speakerphone to clearly here the interaction Between Duke and I. The customer agent stated that he had enough info to move forward with the refund and cancellation that Duke had never processed. Duke continued to badger and berate me, threatening to revoke my membership as I stood there calmly at his desk with HQ on the line. HQ stated they would remain on the line with me while I left LA FITNESS. I've never felt threatened by a place of business nor do I believe this is the LA FITNESS culture. Sadly, this particular employee left me feeling nervous and unsure of my safety. A fact I never thought I would say about a place of business. The agent in Irvine California was extremely professional. He didn't take sides, he stated facts. Whether or not he agreed, he did not trash Duke or the handling of our cancellation. He was composed, polite, and appeared sincere in his efforts. We will not be going back to this facility. I hope that what I experienced today is not the LA FITNESS culture and isolated to one bad employee. Duke ruined it for cooper creek! Don't give him your credit card info. Come time to cancel, he becomes hostile and threatening!

Replies
Crime Committed and Management Awful
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MEMPHIS, TENNESSEE -- First of all let me say my husband and I were big LA Fitness supporters when they opened their new Memphis locations. We are not complaining customers and I do not talk to management needlessly. That being said, I am stunned and disappointed at the company's flagrant disregard for the safety and care of LA Fitness customers.

On March 12, 2015, I went to the Polo Grounds LA Fitness location in Memphis, Tenn. at 9:40 in the morning for a workout class like I do every week. However, when I left the gym, an hour later, and unlocked my truck, I discovered that someone had broken into my vehicle and tore out my radio system ($200 system) as well as stolen a few less-valuable items. In addition to the stolen items, there is significant damage to the passenger door and the key lock a busted from where they forced their way into the vehicle. All of this now has to be repaired or replaced.

I went back inside the building and spoke to a manager who apologized for the incident and called the police for me. We have filed the police report, but it does not look promising as LA Fitness does not have security or security cameras, and there were no witnesses. The detective handling our case has stated that, even though this has happened many times at LA Fitness, the company refuses to put security cameras in their parking lot.

It shocked me that a company who places a business in the 4th most criminally active city in the nation doesn't care enough about its customers or employees safety to protect them with any type of security. Since then, my husband and I have tried to reach the company and express our concerns about this issue, but an email didn't do anything. In fact, they didn't even read it, just retorted that they are not responsible for items left in your car. We didn't leave anything in the car and it WAS locked. A radio is hardwired in, therefore it IS part of the car!

Next we tried contacting the managers at the facility directly. We were met with attitude and distain and told they don't think they need security. In a last ditch effort, we contacted the corporate office once again via phone call. My husband spoke to the customer relations management and explained the situation. Again, our concerns were met with disdain. He told us that it was not the company's problem and they don't care about our experience. The conversation actually went as far as him saying he can't stand dealing with “you people.” My husband couldn't take the extreme disrespect and ended up hanging up on him.

It is a slap in the face to be a victim of a crime then to be treated like that by the company who allowed that crime to take place. I enjoyed and supported LA Fitness coming to Memphis. My husband and I were daily gym-goers and liked being customers of the company. However, since this crime was committed, we have not been back to LA Fitness and were seriously considering revoking our membership. However, this was not necessary because LA Fitness took the Liberty of canceling our memberships without our approval.

It has been made clear that this company cares nothing for the safety, security, or happiness of its customers. They have made it clear that the only thing management and corporate cares about is money and taking advantage of customers. This is not a matter of petty complaining over the business. It is a matter concerning a crime being committed on company property. They have been extremely rude, demeaning, and unprofessional and given us no resolution whatsoever. Please, save yourself the headache and DO NOT join LA Fitness. Search for other gym options who actually care about your well-being.

Replies
Manager has no consideration with excessive heat in closed room, would not allow to keep door open for fresh air
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- I wanted to reach out being I had a very disturbing and ungrateful encounter with one of your facilities.

On October 7, 2017 I went to the La Fitness at 9291 W FLAGLER ST MIAMI, FL 33174, it was for a special Zumba class from 3-5. Atmosphere was great, instructors were amazing and we were having so much fun. Until about 45 minutes into the class. It was getting extremely hot in the room there was no A/C. We were sweating a lot, drinking lots of water and having to stop a lot to catch our breathes. One of the instructors opened one door and held it open with a weight being it was so hot to let cool air inside the closed room; at that time manager came by and removed the weight and the door closed again. A few minutes later instructor went and put the trash can to open the door, again the manager came by and removed the trash can and took it with him. The instructor asked him why he was doing that and his replied that he was concerned about the other people working out, what about us so you are trying to say that you prefer to have someone passed out due to the heat. No one was complaining except the manager and he also went to say he couldn't make the phone calls. Which I find a bit confusing because I went to where he was sitting while the door was open and he would be able to make those calls just fine with the doors open. At this point 1 of the instructors and another [person went and held both doors open to let air in. I myself had to stand near the door to get air because it was so hot in that room that there was not enough water to ease the heat. This is a HUGE liability to the company, can you image if someone would have passed out due to this, due to the in human of this manager. I paid to be in that class I was not there for free and I deserved the respect as everyone else in that gym, that manager all he did was insult us and degrade us as if we weren't as important as everyone else in that gym.

I request a full investigation and disciplinary action on this manager, I will not stop until this is settled. I will reach everyone I have to making sure this does not continue to happen.

Replies
Advertisement
Liars and cheaters
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TROY, MICHIGAN -- I was already a member of LA fitness club and moved to a different location. Hence visited the club near my new apartment to inquire about changing my membership. I was required to pay $15 more for this club than what I was paying at the old club, so I've decided to continue to go the old club although it is only 3 miles away from my new home. Then the new club manager called me on my cell and after a prolonged conversation, I've agreed to buy the annual membership with an exception of Membership for me and my wife for $504 at two different clubs since my wife is about to move to a different state. He has processed my membership immediately over the phone and we were asked to take picture and collect the contract the next day. When we went to the club the next day which is a Saturday, the one who has processed my membership wasn't there and we were asked to come back the following Monday. Unfortunately, I couldn't go on Monday and was delayed by a couple of days. Finally, when I went to collect the contract and take picture, The club personnel asked to come with my wife, so they can take a picture together, Which means both of us has to go the club together at the same time and to the same club. The manager named Cass who processed my membership isn't there to talk about and the staff won't reveal where their manager is. Finally, I was told that, Cass was transferred to a different location and I couldn't reach him. So, I do not have an option to cancel my membership, since They've already charged me for the whole year. Further, embarrasssment followed me after a month or so. My credit card was charged for the monthly membership fee by the old club. When I've called the old club, they said I've had 2 me, berships with LA fitness at 2 different locations. Who on earth will have dual memberships to a gym...? And I've had to tell them to cancel my membership on the old club since I've moved and have another membership at a different location. Also, they won't refund me the money since they consider this a one month notice. I was really pissed off with this incident and do not know whom to complain or what to do next dealing with these liars and irresponsible money machines. It took me many days to find this platform and write a review about so, I can warn others to not to fall into this trap by these so called LA fitness gym.

Replies
Get Me Out of My Contract
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- LA Fitness uses, at best, questionable sales techniques and a tell them what they want to hear sales pitch. I signed up for a training contract after being given a "sample" training session. The problem is the "sample" session I was given was 10x better than any of the sessions I received after signing the contract. They had a master trainer work me out to the point I almost blacked out (which I liked) but then right after sells me a contract telling me I can have him train me. I can have group sessions. I will get an individualized training program which includes a regiment for the week in addition to my booked training session. The trainers will work around my schedule.

I can cancel if I am unsatisfied after a few weeks, but come to find out none of that happens to be available after I sign the contract. I get a sub par trainer. I get shifted around to multiple sub par trainers. I had trainers tell me it's my fault when a session starts late when I was there early. I have trainers try to pawn me off on other trainers because I try to hold them to doing what the master trainer said I was going to get. I complained to both the location and the corporate office multiple times and I get the same run around stall tactics like: "try another trainer", "I'll call the location and make sure your session won't start late, etc."

All so they can keep you past the point where you can cancel (which cancellation time is not disclosed at the time of signing), but even if it was you are mentally and physically exhausted, which is the worst time for you to sign a contract, but the best time for them to sell you one!

Replies
One of the Worst Gym Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CLIFTON, NEW JERSEY -- LA Fitness is one of the worst places ever. I became a member to lose some weight and get in shape but the place is so disgusting there is no fresh air you just want to throw up. You cannot stay in the facility more than 10 minutes. They have lack of air circulation. I couldn't bare that disgusting place more than a month. I wanted to cancel the membership, but no it seems it is impossible. You have to fill out a form and send it via mail.

After waiting two weeks they still didn't cancel my membership and charged me again. When I called the customer service they were so rude. They said they didn't receive my mail yet and they asked me to send it a certified mail. THEY JUST DON'T WANT TO STOP CHARGING YOU. DO NOT REGISTER FOR THAT PLACE!!!

Replies
A Company That Treats Their Employees and Members Like Dirt
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- I was an area manager for a major health club chain in Florida (Lifestyle Family Fitness). This year, LA Fitness bought our company. From day one they showed no interest in us, our careers, or our income. I personally took a 60k/year pay cut. Then to add insult to it they require all managers to work this shift...(M-Thur 10am-9pm, Fri 9am-7pm, Sat 9am-1pm). If you think that is bad as any of the trainers, they may have gotten it worse. I watched and listened as they belittle the members and had this (if you don't like it, go somewhere else) attitude. These LAF jerks are inexperienced, arrogant, and pompous. The upper management are a joke and are the laziess uncaring bunch of idiots I've ever seen in this industry. The club looks horrible now (trash, dirty etc) and the atmosphere is so bad you don't even want to work out there. Members have cancelled in drones. Over 1500 cancellations in the last THREE months! Those numbers are for ONE club. The district operations manager is so bad that the employees call her "the black widow" behind her back. This is due to her coming into clubs, not speaking with the employees and firing people when she does. This place is horrible, do not work here and certainly do not buy a membership.

Replies
Advertisement
Bad customer experience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HAMILTON RD, COLUMBUS, OHIO -- I just canceled my LAFitness membership due to one of their trainer's unethical and unprofessional behavior. I paid for one month personal training in cash, but the trainer did not come to the scheduled session, took two weeks for the refund after numerous texts, did not get a receipt, and he did not even apologize for the inconvenience. He took advantage of me, my money, and my time. While going through the cancellation process I was waiting for the membership refund when another charge was added to my credit card for the monthly payment. I never completed any cancellation form nor got a receipt.
My advise for future fitness customers is to make use of their money better by using different gym, not LAFitness. I feel LAFitness took advantage of me, my money, and I will not bring my business there.

Replies
Sales Team Is Clueless
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

IRVING, TX, TEXAS -- Signed up for a 5 day free pass to try out the club. I wanted to see what the basketball games were like. Was given a 1 day pass even though they emailed a 5 day pass. I was told if I didn't go through their questionnaire and tour I'd have to pay $15. They asked what my goal was. I said, "To play basketball." They tried to force personal training on me when it is completely irrelevant. I told them, "I will sign up if the games are good." They tried to force me into a 1 year membership.

Sales people are a joke there. They just kept data dumping on me rather than understanding what I want. Nice club, mentally challenged staff. Games were pretty weak. 24 Hour Fitness Irving is much more competitive and safe (lots dudes fouling in shorts and sandals).

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

LA Fitness Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 35 ratings and
170 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
LA Fitness
P.O. Box 54170
Irvine, CA 92619-1300
(949) 255-7200 (ph)
www.lafitness.com
Product/Services
Compare Health/Fitness Companies