Preview Review

Next Review

Lustine Toyota Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Beware, Lustine's Finance Department Are Liars and Massive Crooks!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBRIDGE, VIRGINIA -- Per enclosure 1, on 12 Aug 2012 I purchased a 2012 Toyota Sienna from Lustine Toyota, Woodbridge, VA 22191. I spent approximately eight (8) hours negotiating a price from $38,000.00 down to $36,000.00. Approximately 45 minutes after negotiating, a male representative from the Lustine finance Department came out and my family and I accompanied him into his office. He started by requesting my credit report from one of the three credit agencies. After learning of my credit approval, he began working enclosure 1. At the completion, he quoted me a monthly payment of more than $800.00.

I immediately got up to leave telling him "no, that was way too much for this vehicle". He said wait, asking what I would be willing to pay. My reply was, "I can afford $450.00 to 550.00 per month". Not realizing that I was charged the asking $38,000.00 for the vehicle at the time, the finance guy asked that I wait as he exited the office. He returned about 15 - 20 minutes later and began adding numbers into his computer. This time he came out with approximately $700.00 per month which I again, said no. He exited his office again and returned shortly thereafter, telling me he was waiting on a phone call for approval.

He again started inputting numbers into his system. During that time, the phone rang as he answered it and held a conversation simultaneously working on my contract as I could see the computer screen. Finally, the finance guy revealed that they could get my monthly payment down to $629.00 per month at 4.24%. The finance guy printed out the contract and I began to review it. It was in-fact $629.58 but something did not seem right about the numbers within contract. As I sat discussing this with my wife and reviewing the contract, the finance guy interrupted on every question that was asked by to me by my wife.

Then I notice, the Credit Life and Credit Disability on the contract. I told the finance guy that I did not want this insurance. He then replied, "I cannot get you financed without it". He then carried on with other explanation as I continued to review the contract. At this point my full attention was on this insurance as the finance guy continued to talk. As I continue to read the details of the insurance, I noticed that it was optional, therefore it could be cancelled. So I decided to trust the financier and get the loan financed, then cancel the insurance within 30 days.

I signed the contract and asked if I could pick the vehicle up the next day because it was late and my wife's driver's license had expired while we were stationed overseas. Although informed of this situation, he said no, I had to take delivery that day, so my wife drove the vehicle home.

Per enclosure 2, on 6 Sept 2012; my wife and I returned to Lustine Toyota after extensive research into the Credit Life/Disability insurance and tactics used by dealership and banks to force this insurance on consumers. I believe this was the case with my recent purchase. I meant with the same representative from Lustine's finance department. I informed the him that I wanted to cancel the extended warranty and the Credit Life/Disability insurance.

Additionally, I told the him that he was wrong in telling me that he could not get the vehicle financed if I did not get the Credit Life/Disability insurance. Clearly agitated he stated, "I did not say I could not get the vehicle financed; I said, I could not get you the 4.24% interest rate if you did not get the insurance" (After speaking with my attorney, this is also illegal). The finance representative further went on to say, "You can cancel the insurance, but we cannot redo the contract; all this will do is decrease the number of payments" (This is also a lie, he was concern about the reduction in his commission).

I thought it was rather strange because I know he was lying to me. I then mentioned that I would hate to get an attorney involved in this matter which further agitated him. He replied, "We have attorneys too, and this company is too big to play with you over $50,000.00" (what a child?). At this point, I was starting to get upset so I told the financier to get it done so I could be on my way. I had driven my other vehicle (not the Sienna) to the dealership, so he told me I had to go get the Toyota Sienna so he could get the mileage, which I did. Upon my return, enclosure 2 (Cancellation of Credit Life and Disability Insurance) was completed and my wife and I departed.

I then contacted bank who financed the loan to get information. The representative informed me that the loan was in my wife name as the primary and my interest rate was 3.99%. This immediately raised a red flag because I remembered the financier changing his claim stating, "I did not say I could not get the vehicle financed; I said I could not get you the 4.24% interest rate if you did not get the insurance".

I explained what was going on to the representative at the Credit Union, who then informed me that obtaining Credit Life/Disability insurance has no bearing on their decision to grant loans. I then waited and continued to track the status of the cancellation through the Credit union since enclosure 2 lacked point of contact information.

Approximately two weeks later, I received enclosure 3 from TRANSAMERICA Life Insurance Company advising me of Declination of certificate because it exceeded the maximum coverage stated in my certificate. At the point, I thought my request for cancellation was a moot point because I was denied coverage anyway. So I waited the six weeks as stated in the letter before pursuing the matter. However, once the six weeks elapsed I contact the Credit Union to see if they received the payment from Lustine Toyota.

They had in fact received the warranty cancellation reimbursement, but had not received reimbursement for the Credit Life/Disability cancellation. On 3 Dec 2012, I finally made contacted with Lustine Toyota after several attempts starting in November 2012. I spoke with a different person in the finance department and explained my concerns. She called me back shortly after informing me that the check was sent to the wrong company. She stated, the check would have to be cancelled and sent to the correct Credit Union, causing further delay due Lustine Toyota's incompetence.

I found this to be odd because the letter received from TRANSAMERICA states, "For reimbursement of your premium, a check in the amount of $3,138.32 has been mailed to Lustine Toyota." I did not question her claim, I decided to trust that it was an honest mistake, so I waited. As of 9 Jan 2013, after speaking with a representative from the Credit Union, the bank has not received the check in the amount of $3,138.32.

I have since called Lustine Toyota and left numerous messages however, they will not return my calls. I have also called customer services and when transferred, I get an answering machine in which, I again leave a message but my calls continued to go unanswered.

Additionally, I feel I have a moral responsibility to inform the Government and State of Virginia (Insurance Commissioner) of possible fraud to its good citizens, especially during our hard economy times. Any assistance in this matter will certainly be appreciated.

My overall assessment of Lustine Toyota is, the individuals I dealt with show their incompetence and I will never deal with this dealership again. I gave them 1 star because I couldn't go any lower, but a 0 would have been appropriate (I'm not even upset, it's over). As for the Insurance Commissioner, I appreciate them looking into the case, but they were very little to no help. Bottom line, don't waste your time, seek assistance from an attorney while it's fresh because it's time everyone start exposing and weeding out these terrible dealers to keep other folks from getting caught up into this type of madness.

Replies
Very Bad Experience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBRIDGE, VIRGINIA -- I and my wife both went to buy Lustine Toyota, we wasn't agree on the price and payment on of sales. Manager came in FNI office and start fighting with my wife. I asked Sales person Cousco his name was Sami and he used bad word for my wife. We never come back to this dealership.

Replies
Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBRIDGE, VIRGINIA -- Be careful when buying a vehicle from here. The sales and finance personnel are liars and crooks. After waiting 2 1/2 hours for the manager from finance to attend us, all I saw was mad and frustrated customers in the showroom. I then realized how unprofessional this dealer is. NOTE SEE OTHER REVIEWS BEFORE BUYING HERE.

Replies
BEWARE !!! DO NOT Waste Your Time and Money at Lustine Toyota/Scion/Dodge/Jeep/Chrysler
By -

WOODBRIDGE, VIRGINIA -- On June 25th, 2010 I went to Lustine Toyota/Scion in Woodbridge, VA to buy a Scion TC. Prior to that I had secured my financing with my bank and also did my extensive homework about the car online so that I know what I will be paying at the end. When I entered the dealership I was greeted by their salesman ** who was nice and courteous. I told him upfront and straight forward what I'm looking for, what options I want with the car and already am approved for the loan as well. He was surprised first that I didn't give him a chance to even run me around. I picked out the car and the options to put on it.

They mentioned I can get additional $1000 off rebate from Scion, if I graduated in last 2 years or will be graduating within next 2 years. And also I will be qualified for another $500 off which Lustine is giving. Well I was qualified for grad rebate, but I asked them if I have to finance with them in order to get the rebate. At first the Sales Manager ** said YES, but wasn't sure so he went and asked his finance manager and said NO I don't have to, as long as I have a proof to validate it. Finalized the pricing and was promised to get a loaner for the time I won't have the car for the parts to be installed.

After a wait of 20 minutes, I was called inside the finance office for a wrap-up. I told the finance manager ** that I already have a loan ready, I just need the information of the car and a copy of the title for my bank to write a check to Toyota. Here he kind of played me and said I can get you a lower rate or the same. I initially declined it and insisted to still go with my bank. Because they had already run my credit report and so forth. He then became aggressive and said the only way I can get those 2 above mentioned rebates is if I finance the car with Toyota Financial.

There I got shocked and mad because just 30 minutes ago I was told I don't have to finance it and still be able to get the rebate. He said whoever told you was wrong, it in the terms and condition that you have to do it with Toyota Financial. I said well let do it with Toyota and see what interest rate I get. He came back with interest rate of 4.39% APR. Furthermore he started offering all of his extra packages for ridiculous amount. I listened to him and declined them.

By this time, its already 9:45pm, dealership is closed, I'm sitting there starving trying to get the hell out of there. He printed out all the paperwork and contracts. I signed them without making sure the price and interest rate is correct to shorten the process.

They handed the car over and did the walk through on the car. Got in and left the dealership at 10:30pm. Then the next morning I pulled out the paperwork to read and make sure things were all correctly stated. And DAMN ** sure the very first thing the interest rate was jacked up to 7.69% then all the packages I had declined earlier damn sure were all included along with no $1500 rebates in it. But my payments were saying the same as what we had calculated in the finance office. I was boiled up by this time and took my car keys and ran straight back to Lustine Toyota/Scion and demanded to talk their General Manager **.

I explained him the story. He said "let me go find out and will be with you right away". I was called inside the office along with the finance manager ** who I had dealt with last night. I asked the legitimacy of the extra charges and the jacked up interest rate. ** (finance manager) said that's because I'm not qualified for the lower interest rate (even though my credit score was excellent 769). Long story short I asked the GM ** to cancel my deal and I want to return the car back.

Consequently under the VA law (No cooling off period) I couldn't, so I told him to rework the contract and take out all the charges and apply the rebate and fix the interest rate back to the original 4.39%. It was all done with careful review, I re-signed the contract and was told to bring back the car 2 days later for the parts to be installed that I had bought with it. I went back 2 days later and was told parts has not come yet so expect a phone call within a day or two. Didn't hear anything for a whole week then I called and inquired about it. I was told they are there and bring in the car the next day.

I took the car back and asked for the loaner that I was promised for. Parts Manager ** pulled out the paper and said, it says No Loaner written on it and showed me. Whereas the copy of the paper I got said nothing about No Loaner or whatsoever. I spoke to the GM ** again but he wasn't any help then went VP **. He said he will stand by his Sales Manager decision and what it says on the paper. I was pissed off by now with the treatment and level of customer service I had received overall. I just dropped off the car for the installation, called my ride and left.

I was told it will be done by the end of the day. It sure wasn't done. Matter of fact wasn't even started to be worked on. My car was there for 4 days just for installation. I promised myself and told them I will never go back after I get my car back because of the way it all unfolded.

Now I go to other dealership to get the service and maintenance done which is little bit out of my way. Also I have noticed Lustine's prices of service are higher than other dealerships around. I HIGHLY encourage everyone NOT to EVEN think about Lustine Toyota/Scion/Dodge/Jeep/Chrysler for anything. They will only give you respect until you agree to the pricing, after that you are screwed up. Take your Money, Time, Peace of mind and Business to somewhere else than Lustine Toyota/Scion/Dodge/Jeep/Chrysler. Lustine Toyota/Scion/Dodge/Jeep/Chrysler means Dishonest, Unprofessional, Liars, Poor Customer Service, Untrained and Oblivious.

Company Response 07/20/2010:

I would like to sit down and see if there was more to the story than what has been written here. We do our best to accomodate all customers, and since we are in such a hight traffic metro community, many of our night do not end until after midnight, so 9:45 is not that late. I am surprised that someone of your credit score did not read the paperwork before leaving the first time. And considering Lustine Chrysler Jeep Dodge has been a GOLD standard customer satisfaction delaer all year, and LUSTINE Toyota has outstanding Customer Satisfaction Index scores, I am surprised to hear how unhappy you are. And also, it sounds like something else happened in the mean time. You bought the car and had such abad experience ont he 25th of June, yet this review comes up 25 days later? Please let me know what else happened and if you would like to sit down and discuss your experience. My apologies that you were not 100% satisfied. If there was anything else that was not fixed, please contact me.

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Dealer to Do Business With
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBRIDGE, VIRGINIA -- I purchased a Toyota corolla LE on August 2014. The sales man ** a Korean guy was nice. He said they will work a deal for me, because at the present time my credit is not good. Mr. ** the finance guy got me a good deal with the APR because of my credit (7.99%). I know this was high for me, but I had no choice, needed a car to go to work.

Here is the breakdown: down payment of Cash $3000, rebate from Toyota $500 MSRP $19352. So my down payment was 3000 from 500 rebate $3500. I was charged $2500 for extended warranty which I did not need, $800 gap insurance which I did not need. I went back and talked to ** and he says "I told you about this when you purchased the car". Well it was total lie. I just did not wanted to deal with all this, too much. Your buying experience should a good one.

After all this I was not given the $500 rebate. I ended up paying more the car, $19352 plus other stuff like, tags, title, processing fee, name it. After all even though I got a good APR for my bad credit, I was screwed on the total price of the car. I wanted my payment to stay around $260 but I ended up paying $360 a month for 72 months. This all happened because of my bad credit. I had never paid more than 2.99 APR for my auto purchases. I got sick and fell behind on my credit card payments. But I am working on those to paid it off.

I went back and talked to the sales guy **. He said I could cancel the extended service and gap insurance. I told him did not want to deal with Mr. **. I went to the finance dept with another guy, he canceled and I saved my $3300. This will bring down my total balance financed. Overall my experience with this dealer was bad. I give 0 stars.

Replies
Blatant Lies and Arrogant Management Point the Finger at the Salesman Who No Longer Works There
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBRIDGE, VIRGINIA -- A whirlwind of lies where every department blames the other. No accountability. They gave me a truck with remote entry system and then when I went to program the remotes they said the truck couldn't have remote entry. I said well I paid for a truck with remote entry. They virtually laughed in my face. I even question the Toyota corporation for allowing such blatantly corrupt and childish unprofessional sales tactics to sour their name.

All of their warranties are a huge scam that they find a way not to back up. I.E. their tire warranty. I was guaranteed they will never patch my tires and the salesman said, "No way. It is unsafe to patch tires. We only replace the tire any time there is a puncture..." Total lie, they put a 30 cent plug and send you on your way after dealing with a third party rescue raccoon who told me I had to dig my own jack out of the car. It was mid winter and freezing.

The teenager told me he's not allowed to go inside my vehicle because they don't want him to break anything?What? Who did they send again? Certainly not a professional... the service you're paying for is a lie! Pay AAA $100 a year and save your $1000. Do not trust this dealership!!!

Replies
Lies, Dishonesty, Deceitfulness
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBRIDGE, VIRGINIA -- Be very aware with this dealer and their deception. I spent many hours and days of working on our "deal" with Tony (aka Anthony), which became a huge waste of time! Tony stated he could provide the car at the price agreed so we headed into the dealership. The oldest game in the book, bait and switch. After promising he could deliver and claimed he was always honest and sometimes “too honest” - he LIED! He could not provide the car he promised for the price he quoted. This was absolutely unacceptable because we asked numerous times and he confirmed numerous times. His famous line was “I have some good news and some bad news.”

After sharing the bad news of having to increase the price for the car quoted, we stood up, told him "Thank you for wasting our time," and departed the dealership while ignoring their pleas for us to take their offer. Such deceitfulness and dishonesty! It bothers me to deal with people/companies like this and I hate to see anyone succeed with such dishonesty. Be warned and very aware of their bait and switch game.

Do your research and find out a good price to pay for the vehicle you want before stepping foot in any dealership - and always be prepared to walk away! This was my second negative experience with Lustine in 20 years so I think I will just avoid them forever and maybe even the Toyota brand. There are well too many competitors rather than taking Lustine's nonsense. And if Toyota condones that type of business, I will certainly pass on that agony.

Replies
Random Call After Normal Business Hours
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

WOODBRIDGE, VIRGINIA -- Tonight I got a call from someone "following up" with me about an inquiry I made on a Scion TC in 2010... It's 2014! It was a little after 7pm and there was a lot of noise in the background. He wanted to know if I was still interested in that car, why not (because I said no). He wanted to know what kind of car I have now (I only told him the maker), and if I was interested in trading in my car and getting lower payments (I said maybe in the future). He asked me to keep them in mind if I changed my mind.

Has anyone ever gotten a call from Lustine or other dealerships like this and after normal business hours? He sounded confused and like he didn't know what to say. Do they hire people to make calls like this at random times? Aren't they supposed to do this during normal working hours, 8am - 5pm for example? The number they called from, **, doesn't seem to be associated with Lustine Toyota in Woodbridge or any Lustine Toyota dealership. Has anyone received a call from this number before from someone claiming to work for Lustine Toyota?

Replies
Advertisement
Buyer Beware - Deceptive Pricing
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBRIDGE, VIRGINIA -- I received in internet price and after shopping around determined that they were giving the best deal. I sent an email verifying what my price was to be and that I would have a bit of a drive, so I wanted to make sure we were on the same page before I came down. When I got there, they informed me the price quoted had $1,500 worth of incentives that I did not qualify for. I then told them that I verified "my" price before coming down and they said they couldn't sell at that price.

I wanted to give them a chance to "save the deal" so I told them to beat my "next best price" by $300 since I came all that way. I showed them the email with the competing price (to verify what another dealership was offering) and they came back with a price $700 more than that price rather than $300 less. THE NERVE!! Needless to say, I walked, taking my $30,000 purchase with me along with a potential sale because I had brought my daughter to look at Corollas while as well.

Replies
HORRIBLE Place!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBRIDGE, VIRGINIA -- I got my car from there a few months ago. You can't get in touch with the people there because no one answers the phone in service. Parts will answer their phone before the people in services will. In addition to that, the guy that was assigned to me, **, wasn't there for my appointment. One of his colleagues had to help me because they couldn't FIND him.

THEN, while I was waiting for my oil change, the men there are trying to sell me another car. Um...I just got this car from you guys and you're trying to sell me another one. I hate this place and, if you buy a used car, they don't care about you at all. You're nothing to those people but a dollar sign. I was so mad. The guy that referred me got an earful too. I was so pissed. I hate that place.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Lustine Toyota Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 10 ratings and
25 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Lustine Toyota
14227 Jefferson Davis Hwy
Woodbridge, VA 22191
866-984-6839 (ph)
www.lustinetoyota.com
Compare Auto Dealerships