Preview Review

Next Review

MBNA Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
MBNA Website
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

I got this MBNA Mastercard several years ago because they offered good rewards (cash back). Then TD Bank bought the card and the rewards were immediately significantly reduced. Their website is not very good and as of yesterday and today March 20, 2019 I cannot get into the section that deals with rewards balance. I can believe all the other horror stories from posters about trying to deal with these people. But look at it this way: How would you like to have to work for a company that is so badly run? LOL. I will be eliminating my use of this card ASAP.

Replies
MBNA Balance 0 Transfer Card
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALGARY -- The card is described as a way to have zero interest for a year to help clear out debt. The process was easy simple and approved. Transferred $7500 to their card (not including the transfer fee on the amount.) Made payments not worrying about the interest and always made sure to pay more than I should. Turns out I "missed a payment" on the very start. They said I missed a payment. Monthly payment was due 15 days after owning the card. Little did I know this $50 canceled the ZERO interest policy and now owed interest on the balance. So I made $500 in payments that paid the interest on the entire amount.

So they did say they could "Make something work to solve this issue all I would have to do is pay $250 to reinstate the balance zero and you can benefit from the promotion." So that nonsense with the fact they unleash the most aggressive people for identity theft, balance insurance, please lets us charge you for something useless, phone calls. I would never recommend them to anyone.

Replies
Worst Stupid Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Hi, very worst bank, nothing to do with rewards points. Every day rules changing no customer respect, cheap worst service.
Customer service representatives are with high attitudes, they don't listen, don't understand just keep talking. I request if you have an account kindly close it ASAP. If you want to know what happened with me pls call me on ** or you can reach me at **. Thanks.

Replies
Worst Company to Transfer Credit Card!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OTTAWA -- Transferred $14,000 expecting 0% interest charge. Copy of my statement! 01/07/2019 01/07/2019 INTEREST CHARGE $186.60. 01/07/2019 01/07/2019 INTEREST CHARGE $9.14. 01/07/2019 01/07/2019 INTEREST CHARGE $63.17. 01/07/2019 01/07/2019 CREDIT INSURANCE PREMIUM ** $156.42. 01/07/2019 01/07/2019 CREDIT INSURANCE SALES TAX $12.51. Really? I never was late and paid over $500 a month but never hit the principal. And the website sucks. Do not trust these guys. I called and they claimed I was a high risk even though I've been paying my debt. Such a big scam! Avoid at all costs.

Replies
Advertisement
Card Placed on Hold
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO -- I have had this MBNA card since 2001. I use this card occasionally to treat myself and have always maintained a small balance. TD bank purchased MBNA in the last 2 year. Recently I had a scam telephone call saying that there had been an unusual charge on my TD credit card. I was skeptical about the call since the caller was asking information that I wasn't comfortable giving so I decided to call MBNA customer service to check this out directly.

After being on hold for a considerable time, the agent who answered immediately told me that there could not have been a charge against my card because it was placed hold for late payment. I was surprised at this since I made online monthly payments consistently. I realized before the call that I had missed one payment in October but made a payment in early November to make up for it. (This payment was not counted as being within any payment period because it was made between the 1st and the 9th of the month.)

She went on to ask rude and personal questions like "What is the reason that you didn't make the payment." I was becoming irate by this time because she was not interested in answering my question about the unusual charge against my card. When I said it was ridiculous to have my card on hold after one late payment she repeated that this is policy.

End of story. I was concerned about how this would affect my credit rating which is excellent after working many years to get it that way. I asked to be transferred to customer service to question this and after considerable time on hold again I talked to someone in customer service with no satisfaction. This was policy and he just questioned when I would make a payment. I have in fact made a payment by this time but it was not posted to their system.

After the call I looked back over statements - going as far back as 2014. Each and every month I made a payment which always exceeding the minimum required. It seems that MBNA, after TD Bank took over, chooses to ignore payments that are made between the first day of the month and the statement date, 9th day of the month, so that they can count a payment on the 5th or 6th as a missed payment. This way they can claim you missed payments and can use this as a reason to increase the interest rate or limit the spending limit. I have had this experience before with TD bank. I do not trust them and I would caution anyone to be very careful to watch.

Replies
Alaska Airlines Credit Card
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO, ONTARIO -- No longer fly Alaska, made a payment over a year ago, to them instead of Royal Bank, told them to cancel, HAD to speak to 3 persons, ALL asking same question... I made a mistake, sent to wrong account... want my $456.81 back!
Account cancelled, still get info on my expired Alaska account, which MBNA had not sent any info of any kind but now an inactive fee charged of $25.00 charged, with still no intention of monies to be returned, but if I owed they would have charged 19.99% monthly...

When with Bank of America in charge no problems, when these incompetents took over their internet failed to work for weeks, then was troublesome for a while. Reason I terminated account, was Alaska a great airline MBNA a dishonest bank to deal with. I shall now inform Alaska Airlines of this sad excuse of neglect!

Replies
I Have Room On My Card But They Won't Let Me Use It
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CANADA -- My internet bill comes off my credit card. Despite the fact that I have more than enough room on the card to pay my bill, they won't let my internet company charge the card because I have $9.00 in overdue payment that I didn't even know about from my last bill. So now, even though I have plenty of room on the card, they won't let my internet company charge the card and I'm about to have my internet cut off.

When I called MBNA customer service, they kept me on hold for an hour at midnight, and then the young male on the phone who finally answered was incredibly rude and condescending, and just told me there was nothing he can do to help me. For $9.00 I didn't even know I still owed, I will be losing my internet tomorrow. I will be cutting up my MBNA credit card immediately and NEVER using MBNA again. They are unhelpful vultures.

Replies
Shady Business
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CANADA -- They offer a zero-percent promotional rate. But watch out. They push different charges from insurance to interest charges despite making an automatic payment, and you have to pay any overdue before you can even speak to customer service. SHADY BUSINESS.

Replies
Advertisement
Just testing this 'bank'
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

I have recently received a card from MBNA on the promise of 'no interest' for a year, in order to reduce my higher-interest debt elsewhere. Their initial transfer of funds worked. However, so far, I haven't been able to even access their online banking page.

Three efforts resulted in 3 messages indicating the site is 'down'. Telephone contact is virtually impossible - the automated system that 'sets up phone banking' will ask you a barrage of questions, some of which are impossible to answer, e.g. "what form of personal ID did you use when setting up your account" (I used none). Any sign that they are debiting my account for any unauthorized 'interest' or fee will result in my closing the account. Remember, you can always prevent a firm from debiting your accounts (if you have a Pre-authorized withdrawal) by asking your home bank to freeze the creditor out.

Replies
MBNA Credit Card - Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OTTAWA -- MBNA has re-designed their system and sent everyone new credit cards that work for about a month and then you get declined and the explanation is the pin is locking. We have had 3 credit cards in the last few months because their transition did not go well to their new system. Each time I waste at least an hour on the phone with them, then wait for a new card, then it only works for about a month.

They are rude, hung up on me when I told them what I thought of their current system. They will not let you speak to anyone of authority and they offer you 2500 points for your troubles and surprise you never get the points added. They are the most ridiculous people to deal with and I am done. Anyone have a good credit card company to recommend? I plan on never using MBNA card again.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

MBNA Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 12 ratings and
35 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
MBNA
1100 N. King St.
Wilmington, DE 19884
800-441-7048 (ph)
302-456-8541 (fax)
www.mbna.com
Compare Banks