Preview Review

Next Review

Netspend

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 124 ratings and
202 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Netspend
PO Box 2136
Austin, TX 78768-2136
1-866-387-7363 (ph)
www.netspend.com
customerservice@netspend.com
Product/Services Related Resources
Compare Banks
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Unreasonable Hold of $4500!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- MetaBank, I suspect/know why you MetaBank & Netspend are holding my $4500. Due to ending of year 2019, pushing a campaign to bump up stock value. Therefore, "target" cardholders with large balances. Thousands, not hundreds. Mine was over $5000. So instruct subsidiaries, Netspend, other prepaid cards you finance, to send out phishing pop ups $3995, $4995 (suspiciously the cap amount can be withdrawn by Netspend) to Chrome Google browser, so cardholder sees, calls to check balance, Netspend phishers, "we've got a live one" but placates everything is fine. Then cardholder runs scared to bank or other institutions to withdraw all, or as much funds as can in single transaction.

However, Netspend monitoring sees NOW negotiable order withdrawal come up, and thus immediately place "cancelled" on card. Once transaction is refused by bank, Netspend knows bank will advise call card issuer. But Netspend won't answer call 7X, but now with chump change of $2-500. Hundred in account turns card back on to ACTIVE, knowing will likely try other means to get some funds, i.e. ATM $300. I have receipt and Wells Fargo bank employee as witness, Natalie, who assisted me with ATM touchscreen, as I was so upset and distraught over Netspend "cancellation", so unable to properly engage a simple touchscreen.

Let's reason together, if I had card/account info from online, or was a skimmer (as for me I don't carry card around with me so no need of RFID) how could I possibly pull off presenting card ** with my name Duncan ** and commercial driver license picture ID to bank teller, as I've done a few times before, but not at end of year when the Netspend MetaBank stock value campaign was in progress. Then instead of immediately released hold and credited back to card/account "floats" transaction, so shows POSTED by 2:01AM the next day on 12-22-2019. But Wells Fargo Westminster CA VOIDED transaction by end of day 7PM on 12-21-2019 informed on phone by Priscilla.

Furthermore, I returned in person to bank on 12-26-2019 to request ARN (acquirer reference number). But Natalie informed transaction was VOIDED so ARN unavailable. She, Natalie also informed me had received email 12-26-2019 from Netspend corporate/dispute resolution BS or whatever, assured that I, Duncan ** did NOT RECEIVE FUNDS $4500. So why then wasn't a done deal, credit me back on 12-26-2019? Well that's easily answered as still 6 days left until end of year 2019. Gotta make sure stock value shows until end of year, and even until 1-7-2020 just for a little more buffering, or good measure.

Now Netspend/MetaBank has funds in their sordid pool, holding so can show higher asset value, thereby bumping up raising stock value, esp. near year end/final quarter. Whoopee! Then violating card agreement to hold longer even than 10 business days, until 1-7-2020, instead of within 10 business days from 12-22-2019 which would be 1-2-2020. All designed long enough even with extra measure just to make sure show assets inflated at any cost including depriving cardholder of their own money, and cold hearted ** you all are, only days before Christmas! Thus elevating stock value as higher. So you can show on paper, and to stockholders, "Look at how well we ended this year 2019!"

I fell aghast at fees of $517 for 2019 and only until end of November. But oh no, that wasn't enough for you, when even the shadiest credit card companies charge and receive around $100 tops per year! But your little, or more realistically huge ponzi scheme (how many are you compromising out of 10 million cardholders?) isn't going unnoticed. That little slap on the wrist, and nominal fine imposed by FTC on Netspend/MetaBank in 2016, is a prior infraction, that is now under investigation again by FTC, BCFP, BBB and other government agencies. This time you will be shut down, won't live to scam another day, with all your boiler rooms in Chicago, Midwest or subcontracted overseas India.

In the meantime, I want my $4500. credited back to my account #** by start of business day 1-2-2020. I don't wanna hang around for BCFP to kick me some "redress" or dip into their "civil penalty fund". Yes consider this a demand letter of return of $4500 rightfully mine. You and Netspend ought to be ashamed for all the hardship, stress, and time, effort and trouble you've caused me, and countless others. But you probably aren't, 'cause "the horseleech has two daughters, crying give! give!" And now I've been able to assign names to those two leaches: Netspend, MetaBank.

You can check facts of Visa card ** since 12-21-2019, but you're probably well aware, as was just one tadpole in your stinking scam pool. Then have audacity to refer to cardholder as valued. Don't placate me, I'm obviously a lot more perceptive, and BCFP will be using my testimony in dispute, letters and irrefutable evidence, that I've been bombarding them with, along with close contact with other aforementioned government agencies, including comptroller and state district of attorney. Veredictum, Latin "truly said". Duncan **

Replies
Netspend Prepaid Visa Debit Card
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- Do No Use Netspend! Our local grocery store now offers and promotes a prepaid Netspend Visa Debit card to purchase for $2.00, on sale for $1.00, and is reloadable for free only at the grocery store chain (otherwise, anywhere else, additional fees will apply). While it sounded nice and convenient, there are tons of fees involved even for as simple as a balance inquiry and customer service. Yes, even a fee to call customer service.

While I wasn't initially concerned with all of those silly fees, since I was only planning to use my prepaid card online for one or two purchases, it was the registration process to activate the card that just boggled me! First off, I did not like the idea of having to provide all of my personal information for a "prepaid" card that I paid cash for; but it also required my SSN! (It's not like I'm applying for a bank credit card, or buying a house from them!) So, apparently the system did not like my address that I entered, which was valid by the way. And therefore, could no longer register/activate my card online.

I had to call the 1-866 number provided, only to get a representative from another country (and provide ALL my personal information); in which I was very uncomfortable providing all of this in the first place... They insisted at this point that I had to provide proof by submitting a copy of my driver's license and SSN card either by fax or email.

I felt this was completely absurd, invades my privacy, and therefore I refused. Now my money is tied up on this Netspend card, and my only options were a refund by check (mailed to me - which would take weeks; mailed to my address that they felt was invalid!) or they could activate this card as a gift card that can now only be used in the affiliated grocery store chain, at the gas pump, or at restaurants (and fees still apply). Thanks, but no thanks! I will use my now "store gc" to purchase a Vanilla Visa gift card! This was ridiculous and just way too much personal information was needed for a prepaid card! I will NEVER use Netspend again.

Replies
Don't Use Netspend, They Will "Fee" All Your money.....SCAM Artists
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS -- My husband purchased a Netspend card and loaded $40 on it for me as a little gift from the kids in June, after an employee at Walmart told him it was like a prepaid Visa, and the back clearly states "No hidden fees". Fast forward to November and I go online to register it for the first time, and it will not complete registration without my DOB and SSN. Umm not happening, however I got an email that I would be getting my permanent card in the mail. (This should count as some sort of account activity right?) It also says that the card would be usable though in a limited capacity without registration so I tried to use it and it guess what? It was declined, and I never received a permanent card either.

Hmm, now I am forced to call the customer service number, and they try to get my SSN and DOB again. I tell them I just want to activate the card so I can use my money. The guy on the line told me that even though I didn't activate the card and thus could not use the money yet, they activated the "account" when the money was added. I told him about trying to activate the card in Nov and receiving an email that I was getting a permanent card, yet never did and how that would be account activity. However, because I didn't complete activation because they never sent me a permanent card, they claimed it was an inactive account, and they started taking out an "inactive account fee" after 90 days of $6 a month.

So, Netspend holds the money that you add to the card hostage unless you provide personal information, then if you refuse to provide that info, they will fee you to death until all of your money is gone anyway. Apparently the customer service count on people not knowing how they operate and admits that the fees are how they make their money. They refused to refund the money on the "Inactive account" that they activated despite the card never being activated. If this isn't a horrible deal I don't know what is. They also charge crazy fees from every transaction apparently. So do yourself a favor and NEVER use them.

My husband's gift was totally taken by these cheats. Bonus: after 120 days apparently they totally deactivate your card even though it has an expiration date of a few years out and there is still money in the account that they are drawing from. Watch out SCAM artist have new tricks and Wal-Mart is carrying them along.

Replies
Absolute Scam. Do Not Use/Buy
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Awful. Just the most dishonest company I have come across in years. It is a horrible insidious form of dishonesty at that. The buyer will assume this is like another prepaid card - beware - it is not! Once you load your own cash on to the card... The card is locked up immediately. Only to be unlocked once you provide three forms of id (seriously) and other personal information. I was travelling and needed the convenience of a card. However was unable to unlock as who in the world travels with their Social Security Card? That's right - it is one of the requirements.

Now, get this - they will not, however, accept a passport - even though you have to provide a social security card in order to get a passport. So, do you see the scam? And I bet most people end up leaving money on the card and just giving up... As they charge a monthly fee, even though you can't use it. Seriously... They might as well just sell the card with a bottle of lube and instructions telling their victims (ahem customers) to bend over - and that is exactly what they are doing to their customers.

Replies
Advertisement
Blocked Account for No Reason and No Access to Direct Deposit for 4 Days Now
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

METAIRIE, LOUISIANA -- Blocked account for no reason and no access to my direct deposit for four days now. And can't get a straight answer and what's going on with my money and told to get a prepaid card from store to transfer funds and did that. Then was told that they can't so now I can answer or access to my money and I am a single parent of two kids and just moved into a house. And now I have no water and I'm about to lose my lights because of no access to pay my bill.

Replies
NetSpend Works for Me
By -

I have had NetSpend for a few months now. With the economy I do not trust banks, so I was refuse to take my checks to a bank. I have been ripped off not once, but twice by a huge banking corporation and honestly was a bit standoffish about using NetSpend. Being a tattoo artist, I was making too much money to carry around in my wallet and after having my house robbed about a year ago, I don't trust leaving anything too valuable in my home.

I was talking to one of the artists I work with about giving him some money to put on his card so that I could order this really nice tattoo machine online. He pulled out his wallet and showed me his NetSpend card and said "Why don't you go buy one of these from HEB? They are like $5 and it's free to put your money on them. I've had mine for about 2 years and have never once had a problem."

So during my break I went to go buy one and was actually disappointed at first when I found out that any transaction would cost me money, but then I was offered one of the spending plans that is only a little over $7 a month (which honestly is not that big of a deal). They have to make money to stay in business. I was more happy with that plan.

I then created my account and found out all of the great things that a lot of other banks never offered me. Like you have the option of receiving a text message every time there is money spent on your card. I thought it would get annoying but it's actually reassuring. It literally tells you what time, where, and how much was spent. So if you are actually able to track your card down if you really wanted to. The texts come in immediately after you swipe the card. Also you are given an option of free direct deposit, which most banks charge you a fee for.

The company also gives you an option of free bank transfer, which is awesome because if you have a bank and you have money there, but you want to use your NetSpend card, there you go. Honestly the main problem with the bank I was going with was that my card would get stolen, and I'd be in debt even though I reported it stolen the moment it got stolen. They would still allow my account to be open. NetSpend deletes the card as soon as you call them.

Also I love that you can't possibly get any overages. That saves me a lot of money. Sure I don't have extra money that isn't mine to spend if I need it, but I don't get into debt. There are a lot of great things about NetSpend that I haven't mentioned, but you get the point. I feel safe with NetSpend mainly because of the texting option. I don't think I will go with another bank as long as NetSpend is around.

Replies
Scammed for $1,029 Told I'm Deceased
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN FRANCISCO, WASHINGTON -- They refuse to return more than 20$ from $1029 saying I'm deceased and to call the Social Security Administration.. Well I did and NetSpend is lying and won't listen to me or the SSA. They gave me the number for or even take 3 forms of photo ID including 2 state ID and passport.

Replies
Netspend Bank Card Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- Purchased card, put 25.00 on it almost 2yrs ago. The card couldn't be registered online so I went back to where I purchased it and shows card still has funds and has to be activated. After several unsuccessful attempts to register online I called number associated with business and was prompted to activate card. The prompt said enter either last 4 digits of social or card number. I entered card number and was then sent to a live person. The customer service person I spoke to asked for card number then asked for last 4 digits social, which I said I would not give because they wouldn't have that since the card was never registered.

I was asked address (which again they should not have) I gave that was put on hold then was asked my social again. I declined and asked for them to activate the card and we can conclude our business. I was told I would be transferred and given my pin number. I ended up back to initial prompt. I called back and they wanted same info, I told them I just wanted to transferred to the line to get my pin. I was rerouted again to the first prompts. I called on final time went the through explaining what I needed to be done and this time I was told that there was a social security# associated with the card and that there was already an account set up.

I explained that is not accurate and asked for the number. I was told that that is confidential. I told them if that were true they wouldn't be talking to me about the account at all without that info. I told her I will NOT provide social and said I never made an account and I want this handled now. I was then asked to provide my CID. I asked why I provide my California ID # when I didn't when I purchased the card.

I was told that CID was not California ID but was ID listed for me which is MatrĂ­culate #, Consular Identification Card (CID) is an identification card issued by the Government of Mexico. I blew my lid and told her I know she knows I am not Mexican and as such I would not know that # and that I need a supervisor now because I know this fraud now. I was switched over and gave up after about 2hrs on hold.

Replies
Advertisement
The Absolute Worst Customer Service Ever - NEVER Do Business With Them
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have had a dispute pending on this account for over a month. I was told that if this dispute is not resolved within 20 business days they will issue a provisional credit to my account while they continue investigating. I have called customer service to be told that they do not know anything until October 23. I sent emails as well - only to be met with a form letter stating the same thing. Well, today is the 23rd, I wanted to know what the status is, did they contact the vendor? Do they need any other information? Is a provisional credit to be given or no? I have sent over 10 emails - either I get a form letter saying it will be updated today - or they COMPLETELY ignore my emails. I called customer service three times.

First woman tells me to call back at 5:00 pm. Second woman tells me to call back at Midnight (they are closed at Midnight) then I ask to be transferred to a Supervisor. I was literally on hold for TWO hours. During that hold time - I called again on a different phone - was then told to call at 8:00 pm - no one has any info.

The supervisor finally picks up and tells me that there is NO information - and the credit may not even be given - depending on the circumstance. I said okay - what circumstances? She doesn't know and mumbles something about regulation - which I look up and it doesn't apply to my circumstance. She says, "I have to talk to the Dispute department." Okay - "how can I speak with the dispute department?" She tells me only through email.

I told her my emails are ignored and no one answers. She actually said. "That will have to be taken up with the dispute department." Unbelievable. I have read SO many complaints and lawsuits against NetSpend - I just wish I read them previous to doing business with them. This is a warning - DO NOT do business with this company - they are awful and frankly ridiculous.

Replies
The Worst Experience EVER!!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MESQUITE, TEXAS -- I went to a Chase ATM on Dec 3rd to get money off the card for rent because I needed to take off a large amount that I cannot get with cashback. The ATM machine had an error when dispensing my cash, which caused me to not be able to receive my funds, but NetSpend still allowed the transaction to go through. When I called the number from the ATM machine, I was told to call NetSpend. I called NetSpend immediately and was told to send the receipt I received & I would receive a credit while the claim was being investigated. The receipt I received from the ATM states, "We're sorry, but we couldn't dispense your cash", which clearly states I didn't receive my money.

The receipt also showed it took $243 from my account, which is the $240 withdrawal, plus the $3 ATM fee. I sent the copy of the receipt to disputedocuments@Netspend.com as advised to do. As soon as I got off the phone with the NetSpend agent, I sent the receipt received from the ATM. I called the next day and to check the status & was advised a chargeback was sent to Chase and they were waiting on a response from Chase. I called the next day, which is today and was told my dispute wouldn't be resolved until January 2nd, which is a month later. WHY would it take that long? They have the receipt showing I didn't receive the funds, yet I can't get my account credited!

NETSPEND IS HORRIBLE AND WILL NOT WORK WITH YOU. I have stopped my money from being deposited onto the card with this horrible company! The management is no help either! I will not do business with them if I were you, because when situations happen that are out of your control, they will not assist you as they say they will do. You will just be out of YOUR Hard-Earned Money. Times are too hard to deal with a company playing with your money! DO NOT GET A NETSPEND! GO TO ANOTHER COMPANY!!! THEY ARE HORRIBLE!

Company Response 04/25/2018:

Good Afternoon,

I understand your concern with what is going on with your dispute. Do keep in mind that because we do not own the ATM we have to wait for a response from Chase. We do have to allow them time to respond to your dispute. If you need further assistance or have any questions feel free to email us at social@netspend.com along with your phone number.

Thanks,
NetSpend

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >