For the last few years I had been managing my mother's and my sister's Purity Products accounts. Neither of them really take the product anymore, but wanted me to keep their options open for later and preserve their pricing (which you only get if you are on auto-ship). Purity wouldn't let me suspend the auto shipments, so I had to move the shipping date every 3 months. In the beginning I had to call in and talk to a representative to do this... a hassle... and then later I changed the date online. My shipping date was August 5th and I went online on July 28th and moved the date ahead as usual.
This morning I was awoken by my bank telling me I was overdrawn. I don't keep much money in that account, but I knew I wasn't overdrawn. I went online and saw that Purity had sent my order even though I had changed the date. When I contacted a representative (and then a supervisor) they said I hadn't changed the date and they sent out almost $130 worth of products. They offered me 25% off or a shipping label to send it back. All fine and dandy, but that means a refund weeks from now and no reimbursement of the $70 bank fee they caused.
I usually take a screen shot of every time I move the date but this time I didn't. Of course... they told me that their system tells them when someone logs in and it didn't show that in July. Well, if that's the case how come only one of the orders shipped, my mom's, and the other order, my sister's, was accurately canceled????? Sorry guys, that one obviously doesn't fly. So anyhow... I finally got them to cancel my accounts and they are sending me a return postage. Refund hopefully to follow in a few WEEKS (If not I will post it here). SOL on the bank charges.
Told them I would review the company - they didn't care - so here it is for what it's worth. Just remember folks, any company that lures you in with a free sample and then requires you to do auto-shipments is usually not reputable and you WILL get sent something you don't want sooner or later. Save yourself a lot of hassle, and possibly bank fees - go down to a good health food store and buy what you need, when you need it. I have no indication that their products are superior to anyone else, or that their prices are better. Save the hassle, the unwanted shipments and possibly the bank fees.
We apologize for this experience. We hope everything was resolved. If not, please call our Customer Care Coordinator, Joel Joseph, directly at 516-301-5023 or our customer care line at 888-769-7873.
It is almost impossible to cancel their automatic shipping/billing. You can tell it's a scam when: You send them an email, and they tell you can't cancel by email - why not? You can't cancel by calling the "order" number - why not? The only way you can cancel is by calling the "customer service number". The automated customer service system will allow you change your automatic shipping quantity, etc, but it won't let you cancel. For this you have to speak to a "customer service rep". I was on the phone for 15 minutes before anyone picked up. I'm sure this delay is purposeful also.
The customer service representative wouldn't stop talking - told me all sorts of BS: account was fully customizable (who cares?). Told me they just wanted to make sure that I got all the CO-Q10 I needed, and since it was a "natural" product I may need more than the free 30 day supply for it to take effect. I said no thanks. Then began all the other offers and discounts. I had to be rude, and said I want to cancel and I don't want to buy anything! This is the worst high pressure, dishonest experience I've ever had with Internet/Mail Order products. My advice is don't do business with these people.
Give these guys a break, folks. I have had nothing but fantastic customer support from this company. They are direct marketers and they do their job exceedingly well and with the utmost professionalism. They give you free product in exchange for the opportunity to sell you more - you should know that before you sign up and you should also know that they will fight for your business.
You should be HAPPY about that, not pissed. However, if your intent is to cancel, just politely listen to their pitch and if it doesn't work for you, they will happily cancel your account and accept the return of any unopened product, as they did for me. In fact, I was so pleased with their professionalism, I felt compelled to write this review. Moreover, if I thought supplements would benefit me, I would not hesitate using Purity.
PLAINVIEW, NEW YORK -- I have an account with these folks, but was shocked to discover that I CANNOT cancel the SuperSaver automatic orders on-line AT ALL. Even when calling into their frustrating automated customer service line, all the options are to change delivery dates, or quantities, etc... No way to cancel, except remaining on hold for a person. After waiting on hold for 10 minutes, the guy kept selling the product. Asking me how I used it, when I last used it. Kept telling me how much it would help my health.
Basically, kept arguing with me, about my decision to cancel. Unbelievable! I had to additionally wait on hold after all this 'discussing,' to get a confirmation number. Then he came back telling me his 'supervisor' wanted to extend a free offer for another product. I got another 3 different sales pitches before I was finally granted a cancellation number. Absolutely ridiculous! Avoid at any price.
MANTENO, ILLINOIS -- They said they were giving out a free trial offer - if you liked it you could make future orders. But to receive the trial, you only have to pay for the shipping. How dare they!! The method they use here is to get a hold of your credit card number. They took my credit card and ordered numerous amounts of their product that I did not approve!! And debited my account for something I didn't even order. When I tried to cancel no one would pick up for a long time - 24/7 hour service is just an answering machine. I tried to delete my credit card information and cancel this order and their online site would not let me do neither!!!
SHAME ON THE RADIO STATIONS FOR ADVERTISING THEIR PRODUCT. People are sick and looking for alternative methods hoping they will get some relief of their illnesses with these products. Tired of getting prescription medicines that are toxic to our bodies from doctors who won't take the time to fix the root of the problem but only to cover up the symptoms. People are really sick!! It's sad that professionals take advantage of the weak and who are hopeful...
SURPRISE, ARIZONA -- I ordered the OJC Plus formula after a friend of mine tried it. I was sent a shipment and only had to pay for shipping. After that I received the auto shipment. I wasn't sure I was going to use it so I called to cancel. The representative on the phone offered to reduce the price and delay the next shipment if I considered keeping it. I agreed to it and am glad I did. I love the juice cleanse. It is easy for me to keep up with juicing by doing it this way instead of trying to juice fresh everyday. I'm a nurse and I work long days. It's very easy for me to take my juice with me now. It doesn't go bad like fresh juicing can.
I think the people in the customer service department are very friendly and helpful. I love the website too. It's very easy to use and navigate through. I think people here complaining are being very negative or just had a bad experience. It happens with every company you deal with. A few bad apples can spoil the bunch. Just give Purity Products a chance. I am waiting to see what kind of results I get as far as pounds lost. I will post an update.
PLAINVIEW, NEW YORK -- I ordered green tea and had a free bottle, which I had to pay $4.95 shipping and in two weeks when I get my order I can cancel. I received the bottles September 13th and I had a doctor's appointment September 14 and I went to see my drs. He saw the bottles and he said I cannot take them and he threw them away so when I gotten home I called and I knew had 2 weeks to cancel.
So I called and talked to a sales representative which he was nasty. I told him my bank statement and it has a charge for those bottles of tea. I was lied and when I told him I want my money back on my card he told me something that I was not getting it back and that's how the company works. I will keep writing and I will find others this has happen to and we will get a lawsuit for this company.
We are sorry to hear you had this experience. We would love the opportunity to take care of this issue for you. Unfortunately, we do not have enough information from your post to locate your account. Please call 844 713 7181 or email us at email@example.com. Please include your name, address and zip code along with any phone number associated with your order. We look forward to assisting you in resolving this issue. Thanks, Purity Products.
After several of days I noticed I had terrible bathroom issues on the soft side of things. The only thing that had changed was I had ordered the ** and they gave vitamin c melts in addition only to pay the shipping. I stopped one then the other. It turned out to be the vitamin c that was doing the job. I cancelled that by automatic phone voice, and then decided to cancel the **. But then they offered me another discount from super saver $39 down to $24, so I continued taking it and changed the date so I could keep trying to see if it was worth it.
It does kind of suck that you have to threaten to cancel to get a better price, while others who are happy continue to pay a discounted price they think because they are on super saver. They should have one price for all. That does put me off the company because a lot of people are pay way more than they have to and I wish they would try to cancel so they could get a better price too.
It isn't fair. You pay for 3 months upfront. You should pay the cheapest price. They obviously are still making money or they wouldn't offer it. I wish you would be more sincere, because I thought you were more of a more quality company than that. I'm yet undecided to keep my super saver.
LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- I heard the radio advertisement about the free bottle of Green Tea CR, just pay for shipping so I thought I would try the product with such a small investment, couldn't hurt. I checked online to find out if there were any problems with the company and I came across so many stories of people having unauthorized money taken out of their bank account after signing on to the "free" bottle of various products. I will not order from these people. And I will spread the word. Yes I will prefer to buy at a vitamin store where if I buy a product once that doesn't work, at least that is all I have invested into it.
MINNESOTA -- Here is what these people do. They offer a "Free Sample Bottle" where you only pay for shipping and handling for $4.95. Then when you call in, you discover that the bottle is enough for.... 15 days!!! Not even enough of the product to enable the buyer to do a trial equal to the time frames they presented in their radio pitch. Soooo when I asked to buy a second bottle so I could actually purchase have enough product to do a fair test, they quoted an astronomical price and would only offer the product at a normal price if I committed to their quarterly shipping program where you have to buy $125 worth at a time.
"But I just want to buy enough extra of the product to do the test which you want me to do...!" "Sorry but to actually receive that much of the product you have to sign up for our quarterly auto ship, or pay $2 a day!!!" I was so surprised at the utter stupidity of their marketing reasoning that I decided to write this and call my station.
Hey Purity, you just spent the precious goodwill that you advertised, promoted and spent money to earn. A new client calls in.... what an opportunity to have someone pick up the phone wanting to give a fair trial to your product (and your company) and then... you blew it. Instead of making it easy for people to fairly try it out, you instead immediately want to expand the sale and sink a deep long term hook. Shame on you!
Thank you for your comments. We aspire to create a win-win relationship with our special free bottle offer and with all of our customers. We are sorry that your experience was not what you had expected. That is unfortunate, as we are devoted to creating very satisfied customers. Please know that even one displeased customer upsets us. Below are a few points that we hope will clarify our position, and we look forward to helping you in the future if you are so inclined.
When you dial into one of our 800 numbers that offer a free bottle, we will sell the free bottle only with no prerequisite to go onto any continuity program. The customer merely pays for shipping.
o If you should choose to save money and try our advertised product on the continuity program we do invite people to join our super saver program – and you can cancel anytime.
o On our auto-ship program, the product typically costs about $1.25 a day.
We have a dedicated, well trained customer service team standing by to please our customers. Any questions or comments can be easily managed thru customer care at 1-888-769-7873. The hours are Monday-Thursday 9am-9pm ET, Friday 9am-7pm ET, and Saturday 9am-5pm ET. With an A+ rating from the BBB, we can assure you we take customer satisfaction very seriously.
We are proud to do business in America, employing many people locally here on Long Island. We is quite charitable as well. We are devoted to product innovation and do not compromise for quality. We embrace good values such as integrity, respect, consideration and more. We serve our community and sponsor events to raise awareness for health and charity.
We donate money locally, nationally and globally – taking our civic responsibilities seriously.
We has a mission to make America a healthier place to live through health aging. We enjoy incredibly high customer satisfaction ratings, and we are dedicated to providing elite nutritional supplements, which follow the science.
Our superior quality vitamin formulations are scrutinized by our leading Quality Assurance department. We follow all cGMP regulations and guidelines.
We believe we offer people a terrific opportunity with our free bottle offers. Some are 15 days and some are 30 days. You just pay for shipping, and get to put the supplement to the test. We feel this is a very fair arrangement. Win-win. If a customer is not fully satisfied, we are pleased to provide a refund or cancel all future orders. We're not sure why this is being perceived as a “bait and switch.” It is perceived by most of our customers as a fair and generous offer. And that is our motive.
We have legions of very satisfied customers, and hope by better understanding our approach to conducting business you will see it as a wholesome, fair, friendly way to introduce our products to customers. We hope you might even consider one of our supplements in the future. If you have any questions, feel free to call me direct at 516-301-5023.
Customer Care Coordinator