Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Kenmore Elite Appliances Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
My Most Terrible Investment Was a $1899.99 Kenmore Refrigerator With a Master Guarantee Plan $755.99 on 5/28/2016 With Multiple Re
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HATILLO -- This is the worst experience ever, not only with the "Lemon” refrigerator Kenmore Model 10651773510 ($1889.99 + Master Guarantee Plan $755.99), but with the “used to be” excellent Sears Warranty Service. This refrigerator had been fixed six times in one year and a half! However, Sears computer system just has four times (they deleted one reparation service on December 2016 and the recent one on May 25, 2018), which is very convenient for them, since the protection agreement in order to replace the equipment needs four times (Against with PR customer affair laws).

NOWADAYS the refrigerator still doesn't work. This “supposed” to be the last service, so if the refrigerator didn't work, then Sears will take out this LEMON REFRIGERATOR from my house. I have to point out that the service is awful always, so I had to wait for the technician all day long (May/ 9/2018, among others) in my house and he never came (as already expected)! Then another technician came on May 23, he tried hard to fix the refrigerator. He installed two boards, but the motor and compressor didn't work.

He told me and wrote in the system that the REFRIGERATOR DOESN'T WORK ANYMORE, BECAUSE IT HAS INTERNAL NO REPARABLE MALFUNCTION. So, I call Sears warranty services and they told me that the refrigerator will be replaced with a new one, but as per their bureaucratic system the technician should call from my house to start the replacement process.

Then, they send another technician on May 25. The technician starts to check the refrigerator and I asked why (because he supposed to come in order to make a call, not to try to fix the refrigerator!). So, he told me that he needed to do so in order to call Sears. He did checked and told me that the refrigerator is “dead”. He made the call and after many unsuccessful attempts to repair the refrigerator, somebody at the phone told him to order a new part.

I felt in shock, I told him to call the Sears Protection in order to start the process of devolution, because he came tried to fix and anyways this was the 4th attempt and the warranty terms were accomplished. Because I was in almost a panic attack (have to say that I never said any bad word or do anything against the technician), the technician left my house with the refrigerator boards and motor and compressor areas exposed, all the screws in my kitchen floor and apparently he never closed the order in the system.

Then, I called Sears Protection Agreement again. One RUDE (as almost always!) Customer service assistant - answered (Jose **), and told me that I need to do the reparation in order to have a new refrigerator. Afterwards exchange for almost an hour I asked for his supervisor. I have to said that Jose ** closed the conversion by telling me almost that "I work for eight hours, so I received a salary, just to hear the people scream and suffer", so meaning mostly I DON'T CARE ABOUT YOUR PROBLEM”.

After that, Kenneth (Jose ** supervisor) took the call. He told me that because I have only three repair services in a one year, I have to fix the refrigerator and wait for another repair service. I explained Kenneth as well as at the anterior complaint the repair history of the LEMON [refer to Repair History Box. However, Kenneth told me that the visit on 05/02/2017 to 05/30/2017 (#**) didn't count in this “Sears new year”, because it was on 5/23/2017, he alleged that the year continuity was broken for two days.

Seriously! I told him that I had to wait for the horrible services up to two months and they are punished myself for two days, which is not true! The final outcome of this call is well known, NOTHING GOOD. Subsequent to, I received an email to inform that one technician will come on Thursday 5/31/2018. Though, my surprise today was that a new technician came to made the stac call, again (refer to Repair history box last bullet - 5/29/2018). The technician told me that Sears doesn't allow them to inform the true: This is LEMON REFRIGERATOR, with multiple recalls and I added that the "trash" that I have in my house is one of the worst!

REPAIR HISTORY. 12/09/2016/ to 12/16/2016==~deleted from the system on purpose~ Ice Maker repair. 05/02/2017 to 05/30/2017 ** Ice Maker replacement. 07/07/2017 to 07/18/2017 ** Ice Marker repair. 11/04/2017 to 12/30/2017 ** Inverter Box installation. 03/21/2018 to 05/23/2018 ** Main Control Board and Power Supply Module installation. Refrigerator no reparable!

3/28/2018 Alternate Technician (from a Recognized Company-“Reparaciones 24 Hrs”) indicated that this Refrigerator is indeed a Lemon one, with multiple recalls in the system and that the “adjustment” made to the icemaker on 07/07/2017 is not true, since the icemaker can't be adjust, but repair or replace. 3/29/2018 Sears Technician visit two parts ordered. 05/23/2018 See #5. 5/25/2018 another technician came and order a new part (unknown). The visit doesn't appear in the system, which is very convenient for them!

5/28/2018 Call received from SPA to informed that one technician will come with a new part to fix the refrigerator, because I didn't expect on a Holiday and same day call and service, I cancelled the service. 5/29/2018 another technician came, but without any part! He told me that he didn't know about any part (HOW COMPETENT they ARE!!!) He told me that he came to make a call (as the other technician). Hence, I let him to check my LEMON again. He call “stac” and after almost an hour checking the LEMON, they decided that the refrigerator just need the Main Control Board, Motor Condenser, Motor Evaporator and the Inverter Box.

To summarize my most terrible investment was a $1899.99 Kenmore Refrigerator with a Master Guarantee Plan $755.99 on 5/28/2016 with multiple repairs, long waiting time for bad/irresponsible service, four replacement parts already and they want to add four more parts. So, now we are talking about my LEMON FRANKENSTEIN REFRIGERATOR. I started then to call my lawyer and DACO (Departamento de Asuntos al Consumidor - in Spanish - “Customer Assistant Department”), as well.

After posted this review (Google maps) I received a call from an automated system to inform that they will give a $1600.00 credit. I want my money back, including the MAP policy! I don't want to deal with Sears and its fraudulent Protection Plan, anymore! The case against Sears will continue…

Replies
Advertisement
Refrigerator
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW MEXICO -- Purchased a Sears Kenmore Elite refrigerator July 2015. Took delivery several months later, when house was completed installed this refrigerator December 2016. September 2, 2017 this refrigerator quit working. It is under manufacture warranty. Sears has not repaired it nor have they replaced it. I have spent untold hours trying to resolve the issue. Sears customer service and customer care have been useless and six weeks later still no resolution.

Replies
Low-Balling and Deceit on Cost of Installng a Kenmore Range
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Consumer Reports highly rated a stand-alone electric range. I went to the store to see it. The sales person, when I asked, said that the delivery/installation charge (waived if sale over x$ or on a Sears charge) included taking out my old built-in range. That evening, I showed the range to my bf online and discovered it was @ $60 cheaper with the same free installation. Over a couple of days of discussion, between my bf and I we talked or chatted with 5 Sears.com employees who confirmed that the delivery/install charge included taking out my old range. (There would be an addition charge for taking it away.)

I ordered the range. Sub-contractors delivered it on time but said they could not take out the old range and left it in my kitchen. They gave me a customer service number. Over the course of 2 hours, I called 5 phone #'s the various Sears people told me to contact, talked to 7-8 people and they were not at all helpful, saying dumb things like I hadn't paid for installation, that it wasn't included (despite my protestations that I had been told repeatedly that it was).

My bf and I finally went to the store, asked to see the manager, got the store manager. At first he said he couldn't help because Sears.com and the store were not the same company, then he informed me that the sales person who told me the removal was included was uninformed because she usually sold mattresses. Then he decided that for a $160 non-standard installation, he could arrange to have it installed. We adamantly refused to pay.

When my bf and I began talking about returning the stove to Sears.com and contesting the charge on my charge card, he decided that he would pick up that charge. First we had to agree to the $160 charge so the (more sub-contracted) installers could be scheduled but he would cancel it after the installation - he refused to put this in writing but I said I could challenge the charge after if he didn't cancel. (In fact, we were able to cancel the charge after the installation.)

When the installer called the night before, he informed me that to take out the built-in would cost about $100 more than the non-standard installation. That's when my bf and I decided we would do that ourselves, which we did before the installer arrived. So for the $160 all the installer did was shove the range into place, level it, and make sure the burners/oven worked. He took away the old range but there was a $25 charge (also credited in the "deal" with the manager) for the take away.

All in all, I would say that Sears.com and Sears stores and their customer service personnel are not up to the task of being dependable retailers anymore. Don't know how the range will work. My bf has lots of Sears shop and yard equipment and hand tools and has been satisfied BUT I intend to never buy from Sears.com again (notice also that they are a "marketplace" online and that some of the stuff they sell comes from other companies, just like Amazon) and to let people know that Sears.com in their online materials and in what their staff say do not tell the truth (or maybe they justify what they say by using some other definition for the word "install"). Whatever, be very wary!!!

Replies
Oasis HE Kenmore Elite Washer - Awful Machine!
By -

3333 BEVERLY RD., HOFFMAN ESTATES, ILLINOIS -- We purchased an Oasis HE Kenmore Elite Washer from our local Sears store in 2006. At the time of our purchase we also purchased the extended warranty for both the washer and matching dryer. We had done loads of homework prior to our purchase and were convinced that this was the pair that would meet our needs.

Over the past several years we have had service calls for both the washer and dryer. I unfortunately did not call as often as I should have called for service as I am not a complainer and just try to make things work even if not all parts are doing as needed. The final straw concerning our washer happen on June 21, 2011. The washer did its normal beeping noises and my son said, "Mom your washer is at it again". So I tried to make magic happen once again and force the machine to complete the load of laundry but my efforts did not work.

So reluctantly I called Sears service at 1-800-469-4663, to my amazement they were able to offer service on the following day. I was sure that luck was with us on this issue with the washer and we would be back-up and running in no time. My son arranged to be off work so that he could meet the service man sometime between 1:00 and 4:00. The service technician did come to the house around 1:30 and supposedly replaced the defective part (the washer's brain) and assured my son that the washer was as good as new. When he called to report the news I was thrilled and looked forward to getting my laundry caught-up as soon as I got home after 6:00 pm.

I started a load of whites (bleach added of course) and thought all was good until the dreaded beeping sounds started again. I tried my magic yet again but nothing worked. I immediately called Sears service to request that the technician return to correct the issue. After several calls, request to speak with a manager, more calls to Sears's service and messages left for a manager I was still out of luck until Wednesday, June 29th.

Please remember that I have good white clothes sitting in bleach in a washer that will not work that was serviced and pronounce good as new. I also want to mention that the Sears Manager has yet to call me back. Not good Customer Service. I was also hung-up on during one of my calls. I never used profanity or even got nasty. I was only insistent that I needed help.

On Thursday, June 23rd I called Sears Service yet again and still got lots of run around from everyone. I spoke with a gentleman named Gerald at 9:03 am in the complaints escalation department. I repeatedly asked to speak with a manager but he said, "A manager cannot do any more than I have done" he refused my request. He finally gave me the address for the corporate office but refused to give me a number. He stated that there was no number to give me. This is funny as I looked one up on the internet while I was on the phone with him. Lied too again!

I then proceeded to call the corporate number and talked with **. Her number is **. Please call and ask to hear the taped conversation. You will find it very interesting. I was informed that a washer is not an essential appliance and I would have to wait. She did offer however to force a new service time of Monday, June 27th. Still no one is willing to own my problem of poor service and washer that will not work. My husband and I discussed the issue and finally decided that a new washer was our only option. We purchased a new washer from Lowe's on Thursday, June 23rd. I have washed multiple loads and am now finally caught-up on my laundry.

My next concern is that when my husband and son removed the Kenmore Elite Oasis HE washer that was pronounced "good as new" only the day before from our home it literally fell apart. I have pictures that I will attach (unable to attach my pictures). Please email me and I will be happy to send them your way. I am appalled at how we have been treated as once loyal Sears Customers. My home is full of all Sears sold appliances and has been for more than 25 years. I am no longer able to give my hard earned dollars to Sears! What a sad day.

Replies
Advertisement
Air Units
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SIOUX FALLS, SOUTH DAKOTA -- WE called Sears in March to fix a new Air condition Kenmore we purchased September 2014, which isn't three years old yet and it has broken four times, and the Tech who they are sending have no knowledge of what he is doing! He came in March 2017 to fix this unit, and he couldn't fix it, and he has come three times and it is still not fixed. He was supposed to come back July 22, 2017, after came in June 28, 2017, but he called and he canceled. He said that he would come on July 25, 2017, yet he never came. So I called the repair center on July 26 to see why he didn't come and he didn't call.

I was given an appointment for July 28, but because I hung up on the Rep. John whose phone number at the repair center is **, he decided that he would cancel the part that was ordered for united and the service. But I am suing them! I have a warranty with them and they refuse to honor our warranty! "Do not buy anything from Sears because they are not reliable, and the Reps. treat you like crap when you call them to report things that needs to be repaired! My husband is sick, and he has been to the doctor several times because we have no air!

This representative who I name and number should be fired for making such a bad decision when it comes to trying to punish me because I hung up on him since he was rude to me. He called me back and threaten me, by telling me "he is not the one that I want to hung up on!" This is a rude man and he should not be allowed to threaten customers and stop them from getting the service that they need! Sears sucks, so don't purchase anything from them! I will close all of my accounts with them because of how John the Rep. treated me, including another representative who was a nasty woman!

Replies
Refrigerator Warranty and Repair Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Bought a Sears Kenmore Elite 18 months ago, warranty was over after 12 months. Freezer stopped working. Followed the instructions in the manual about calling their number for trouble shooting. They have a system in the fridge where it will send signals to their computer by your phone giving any problems the fridge is having.

Naturally being over the warranty they would not help me, so I made a repair appointment. They gave me a 1pm to 5pm window 4 or 5 days later. Waited till 4 and then checked online. They changed the window till 545 and 745. At 6 I called and cancelled. Online they give you your phone number if there is problem, but good luck if you get a call. Lousy fridge, bad customer service and lousy repair custom service.

Replies
Sears Won't Honor Lifetime Warranty on Dishwasher
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OCEANSIDE, CALIFORNIA -- *Please note my UPDATE above indicating successful resolution to this problem. Sears replaced my tub and swapped out all parts from my old tub to the new one at ABSOLUTELY NO CHARGE to me! Many thanks for the assistance from California Department of Consumer Affairs within the California Attorney General Office which helped me force Sears to honor their warranty. Here is my complaint concerning my Kenmore Ultra Wash Dishwasher, Model No. 665.16039400, Serial No. FR4704571, purchased 01/08/2005.

The tub developed a small crack and leak on the inside where a screw on the outside of the tub attaches a metal bracket to the tub. This leak allowed water to accumulate on the floor under the dishwasher, eventually soaking and ruining the toe kick portion of one of our kitchen cabinets. My owner's manual shows the dishwasher tub has a FULL (not limited) WARRANTY for the life of the dishwasher against leaks. The owner's manual states the following:

"FULL WARRANTY FOR THE LIFE OF THE DISHWASHER, ON ULTRA LIFE TUB MODELS, AGAINST LEAKS IN THE TUB AND INNER DOOR PANEL. For the life of the dishwasher, if a leak should occur as a result of failure of the polypropylene tub or inner door panel due to cracking, chipping or peeling, Sears will replace free of charge the tub or inner door panel."

I called the Sears 1-800-4-MY HOME customer service department and talked to two representatives. The first told me that the dishwasher was only covered by a one year warranty. I explained to her that my owner'€™s manual stated the dishwasher had a lifetime warranty on the tub. After checking with her manager, I was told that if the tub is defective, they will replace it for a $129 charge. This charge is for the Technician Service Call to diagnose the problem.

At first, I scheduled a technician, but called back immediately after hanging up because I was confused. I wanted to know if the $129 service charge would be waived when the technician verifies the tub is defective and under warranty. The second representative also said the $129 service charge would apply even if the tub is under warranty. Since I was not satisfied, I canceled the service call. I then went to my local Sears store where I bought the dishwasher and talked to the appliance manager. He could not help me, but did give me the 1-800-549-4505 corporate number to discuss the problem.

I called this corporate number and talked to a representative. She again told me that the $129 service fee would apply. Again, I tried to explain that the tub had a full lifetime warranty, so she put me on hold to check. While on hold for an extended period, I was hung up on.

So I called back again (now a fourth time) and talked to another representative. She understood my problem and frustration, and looked up the warranty information on my dishwasher. She verified that the tub was covered with a lifetime warranty. When I asked why I would be charged $129 for a service fee, she tried to explain to me that the PARTS were covered by the warranty, but the LABOR was not. She said the $129 service fee was a flat rate labor fee to install the free parts.

At this point I became quite frustrated and explained to her that she was incorrect. I quoted the actual FULL (not limited) WARRANTY language (a copy of which she had in front of her), stressing that it said "€œSears will replace FREE OF CHARGE the tub or inner door panel"€. She insisted that this was "œpoorly worded"€ and that it only covered PARTS, not LABOR. I disagreed and told her that this is a legal contract AS WRITTEN for a FULL (not limited) WARRANTY between the manufacturer and the customer. As such, it is not limited to parts only. I also told her that nowhere in the tub warranty paragraph does it stipulate ONLY PARTS, NOT LABOR is covered.

She sympathized with me, but said "€œmy hands are tied"€. She said she could only offer a technician to replace the tub for a flat $129 labor fee regardless if it took 30 minutes or 30 hours to fix. Realizing I was getting no satisfaction, I asked to speak to a manager that could offer me something that would be beneficial to both of us. She responded that she was a supervisor and has the ability to authorize action, and there was no higher authority.

My response was that she was not offering any solution different from what the other customer service representatives were offering. She then provided the contact information to me for the Executive Customer Relations department. So I wrote a letter, took pictures, scanned the owner's manual, and emailed all of this to the Customer Solutions Department at Sears Holdings Executive Customer Relations Department at the following email address: shc@customerservice. Sears.com

The first email response I received said the dishwasher was not under warranty. So I replied that they were wrong, and stated that their own customer service representatives on 3 occasions had verified that the dishwasher was under warranty.

Their second email response to me said they verified that the dishwasher did have an "exceptional parts" warranty, but that a technician would be required to examine the dishwasher and the claim to verify that it is covered by the warranty. The email also said that Labor would not be included for this service. I responded again and said this was a FULL LIFETIME WARRANTY, and as such Parts and Labor should be included. There was no response to this.

At present, the dishwasher has been out of service for over 2 weeks, and I have heard nothing back from Sears Holding. So I forwarded this complaint to the California Department of Consumer Affairs, and the Illinois Attorney General Consumer Fraud Bureau for their investigation and assistance. In the meantime, I am posting this to various online consumer protection websites to share my negative experience with Sears, and to declare that I will never purchase another Sears branded product ever again.

Resolution Update 04/14/2012:

UPDATE -Success via CA Attorney General 4/9/2012

On 3/14/2012, since I live in CA, I entered my complaint with the California Department of Consumer Affairs, which is a department within the California Attorney General Office. I also sent a copy to the Illinois Attorney General Office, since Sears HQ is in Illinois. On 3/15/2012, the CA Dept of Consumer Affairs sent me a letter saying they were investigating the complaint and asked me to send additional information. On 3/27/2012 I emailed them a copy of my original complaint letter I wrote to Sears (similar to this complaint I documented here), plus copies of my emails back and forth with Sears, plus a scanned copy of my warranty and original purchase receipt.

On 3/29/2012, I received a call from Sears. A customer service representative told me that the CA Attorney General Office had sent my complaint to the Sears Legal Office. The Sears Legal Office then instructed the customer service department to contact me to offer to replace my leaking dishwasher tub "free of charge". This customer service rep was VERY accommodating and offered to send a technician the next day to inspect my dishwasher so the proper parts could be ordered. Since Sears was now willing to honor their warranty, I scheduled the technician.

On 3/30/2012, the technician arrived and immediately opened the dishwasher and knew exactly where to look for the leak. He then pulled up his pc, found the parts, and ordered a new tub. When I asked him if he had ever seen this problem before, he said yes and showed me a service bulletin on his pc from the manufacturer that documented my issue EXACTLY, and how to correct it. The root cause was an improperly designed heating element for this machine. My machine has a somewhat rectangular heating element that runs essentially around the bottom perimeter of the tub, where as the redesign has a smaller round heating element that only runs around the center drain console. The technician said the problem is the heating element weakened the plastic tub where the support bracket is screwed into the tub, causing a crack to develop over time. The technician said that the heating element is used to heat the water for washing and rinsing, as well as to dry the dishes, so even though we never used the heated dry, the tub still failed.

The parts were ordered, and a second technician scheduled to do the repair. I received the parts and the technician arrived on 4/9/2012 and worked on the dishwasher for about 2 hours. Everything seems to be working fine. I ended up needing a new tub which included a new heating element, and a new door seal. All this was provided to me under warranty at "No Charge". All other parts were swapped from my old tub to the new one.

I am sharing this so that others might consider contacting your State Attorney General Office when all other attempts to work with the manufacturer fail, and you feel that your legal warranty is not being honored. This also shows the value in keeping your owners manual, warranty, and original purchase receipt.

One last note. I had to sign a receipt for the work done. On the receipt the labor cost was $147, and the retail parts cost was $424.70, for a total of $571.70. Even if the wholesale cost of the parts were only 1/2 what the retail cost is, the cost to Sears is over $350. In my original complaint letter to Sears, I suggested that they provide me a $200 voucher towards the purchase of the new dishwasher at Sears, provided it was not a Sears branded model. My reasoning is that a dishwasher should last at least 10 years, and since mine was 7 years old, I thought a 30% prorated discount was fair. A new dishwasher with similar features retails for about $600-700, so 30% works out to about a $200 discount. But Sears never took me up on my offer, even though one customer service rep and one of the technicians said they have done this before, even up to as much as $500. So I guess Sears just wanted to pay more money than was needed to throw away a loyal customer. No wonder Sears Holdings is in financial difficulty. So sad what an iconic American brand has sunk to.

Replies
Kenmore Model 795.5137 refrigerator
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- Purchased a Kenmore elite refrigerator freezer side by side model number 795.5137. Took delivery on a Wednesday. The doors were taken off for entrance into the house. Plugged it in about 3pm after putting the water line on and taking off the tons of tape used in shipping. Four hours later still as warm in the fridge as outside. Called tech service after being transferred three times to an expert on this fridge I was told I must wait 24-36 hours. I explained I had food sitting in ice chests and on my counter, he said do not put food in. I waited 24 hours and did not open the doors at all.

When I checked the fridge was still warm, the fan was blowing warm air. I called the tech service transferred three times to the EXPERT this guy had me press a few buttons and asked that I hold my phone up to a small speaker on the door. The speaker let out what sounded like a fax machine. The expert said from that sound he could tell the fridge was in fact cooling down and that the inside temperature was 74. I explained that in my house and outside the temperature was 70 so I would be better off leaving my food outside. I then was told wait a few more hours which I did.

At somewhere after 11:30 pm I had had it I called again and was told to call delivery service and have the fridge exchanged. I had to wait until the morning. I called delivery service and was told I could not get a new fridge delivered for three days. I raised hell and got a next day delivery. Next day new fridge arrived at 3pm delivery guys took off doors brought it in and took the old one. I asked delivery guy if taking the doors off may have had something to do with the problem he said no way. So I hooked up the water line peeled off the tape and plugged it in.

Four hours later nothing fan blowing warm air. Called tech same transfer three times finally got tech said I must wait 24 hours do not open doors. I tied a string on the handles so nobody would open this thing up. 24 hours later untied the doors expected to find a fridge waiting to cool my food and guess what yep warmer than outside, called tech service again told I should check outlet voltage which I did and it was perfect, I even ran a heavy duty extension cord to an air condition outlet in the living room and no difference.

Tech said I need to schedule a repair man, was told 10/24 first available I explained to tech on phone that that is over a week away she said nothing she could do. She then said if you have medication in the fridge it will be considered an emergency. I said I do have medication in the fridge and she made the appointment for three days out. As I write this my wife is on the phone getting nowhere with Sears. I will not be waiting for a tech I will be getting this back to Sears and purchasing a reliable fridge from somewhere else. I'm done with Sears if I could I would drive this fridge to the CEO doorstep and leave it there. I have been a lifelong Sears customer no more

Replies
Advertisement
To the County DUMP!! Worthless wine cooler & Master Protection Agreement
By -

You be the judge. I want your feedback before I file a claim in County court next Monday. I stupidly made the ASSumption the Master Protection Agreement was for the customer. In reality it is the, "€œSEARS Master Protection Agreement"€, NOT the "Customer Master Protection Agreement."€ The MPA is pure profit for Sears and they throw enough hurdles in the way it is worthless insurance. 28 years as a customer purchasing appliances for rental houses, 14 refrigerators, 6 washer/dryers, and 3 vacuums, big screen TV:

And beginning in March 2008, I finally began 2 1/2 years of buying high end appliances and squirreling them away into storage for my own kitchen remodel. The remodel took us forever doing it ourselves for cash. 1st appliance we installed on a hot August day in 2009- since it was a simple plug-in was the wine cooler. 16 months old by the receipt date, but never used by us- it won't work. On 8/15/09 out comes the service technician under the $190 Master Protection Agreement who puts a big ugly fluorescent green sticker on the $515 wine cooler as "Scrap product, not repairable."

The techie says the cooler still has a "test piece"€ on the end of a missing copper pipe and never should have been sold to us. He also tells us he knows we didn't do it because we can't buy the "test piece" he's looking at. The tech told us to take it to the Thurston County dump. (Sears owes me $10 for that too.) A few days later, I received a phone call suspiciously chastising me for waiting more than a year to use the product, then grudgingly telling me I have a $500 credit toward another cooler.

I kept buying other appliances as they became available and when I was paying, I was told by Sears' staff I could ONLY use my postcard to buy another wine cooler. Knowing we still have at least another year on the remodel and not wanting to get chastised twice, I waited patiently until the kitchen was done (hallelujah) in August 2010 to go buy another cooler with the $500 credit (and prayed during those long remodel months the new appliances in storage would work when the time came.)

Guess what? When I went to buy in July 2010 a much more expensive GE Profile wine cooler and presented the postcard for the $500 credit, the Lacey Sears store wouldn't honor it. Sales staff told me I needed a "œPA #". The staff called a phone number, 800-479-6351 handed the phone to me, whereupon ** gave me PA # **, but told me it was useless because I had had only 90 days to use it. First I'd heard of that, especially after getting chastised for buying too early the last time and getting rejected multiple times to use it on other appliances!

** offered to send a 2nd techie out to verify the wine cooler was indeed broken. (Now what good would that do? The 1st tech sent to me was incompetent? I found this was a "€œred herring" to side track me as Sears corporate and I, both had the 1st tech'™s laptop print out that said the unit was defective.) I explained the cooler had gone to The Dump under the 1st tech'™s instructions. I tried explaining that denying me the credit toward purchase was a stupid decision since the $500 credit was against a $1055.99 item and I would be paying them an additional $600 for the GE Profile cooler.

So Sears has my money for the very last kitchen I will ever buy from them. Over 2 1/2 years I bought a Kitchen Aid frig, Jenn Air double ovens, a Kenmore range, a Kenmore Elite gas cook top, a Kitchen Aid warming drawer, 2 Maytag & Kenmore Elite dishwashers, 2 Kenmore Elite washers & 2 dryers.

I have just gathered all of the receipts, notes, 1st tech computer print out, green Replacement Audit Tag, and post card for proof of every word of this and next Monday I am going to file in small claims court for the wine cooler, dump fee, and Master Protection Agreement fee. We'll see what a judge thinks is equitable. At the very least, I want refunded the $515.93 wine cooler, 8.8% sales tax, $10 dump fee, and the $190.43 MPA fee. P.S. In August 2010 we bought a Danby 2-door combination wine cooler and beverage center from Walmart for $990 and are very pleased with it!

P. S.S. 10/24/2010 I received a response from Sears Cares- another mockery of a phrase. Their offer is re-issue the authorization code to shop Sears for a new wine cooler: "While I would encourage you to keep your Sears wine cooler and perhaps return the purchase made elsewhere, you would not be required to keep the wine cooler obtained with the re-issued authorization code. You would be welcome to give it as a gift, or perhaps sell it for profit."

No thanks Sears Cares, I have a set of values & morals. In this poor economy, I would sooner gift $500 worth of food. Furthermore, Walmart earned their sale with a good Danby product that worked. Why would I stick it to their profit margin with a return of a perfectly good product 4 months later?

I am fleeing the Corporate relentless pursuit to the bottom by thrashing and abusing an excellent, long term customer- me. I have found a reason Sears/Kmart went bankrupt. My mission and sport now will be to use every avenue available to me to tell future customers the ailing Goliath has suicidal depression and will abuse them too without regard or regret.

Replies
Dissatisfied with product and service
By -

On October 6, 2009, we purchased a Kenmore Elite stove/oven. In the 8 months that we have owned the appliance it has broken twice. With both instances a part needed to be ordered and we were without the full use of the appliance. All together, in the 8 months we have owned the appliance, we were without full use of the appliance for approximately 30 days. When we purchased the oven, we also purchased a refrigerator and a dishwasher. We purchased all 3 appliances and had faith in the brand and the products. Since the oven has now needed repair twice we have since lost faith in the product.

When we contacted Sears Customer Solutions they were no help. My husband spent 2 hours on the phone with customer solutions, talked to at least 5 different people and still received no resolution. All he wanted was to speak to someone that had authority to either give us a replacement unit or a free 5 year warranty. 2 people flat out refused to give him their supervisor's name and contact information. My husband was asking for reasonable information.

Once he found out the initial person could not help him, he wanted to talk to their manager. After being transferred to that person and it became apparent that they could not help him, he asked to speak to their manager. At this point ** refused to give us the name of his supervisor, corporate address or phone number.

Initially we were asking for a new stove to replace our appliance; no upgrades, no compensation for the 30 days we did not have full use of it. After spending $1600.00 on an appliance, you do not expect to have it break 2 times in 8 months. Our reasoning is that if we continue with this track record, in 4 months when the oven breaks again, it will be out of warranty and we will need to pay out of pocket. Both repairs involved electrical parts and we feel that there is something wrong with this unit's electrical system. It's like replacing your tires because of uneven wear.

The tires may be new but the alignment is still out causing the same tire wear. During our conversation, ** our case worker, put my husband on hold to write down some notes. He asked ** to have a copy of his notes to make sure he was writing down the correct information. He flat out refused to fax or email us a copy. Then my husband politely asked ** to read his notes to him and again his request was denied. At this point my husband's frustration level was on the rise. He had been on the phone for 2 plus hours and been placed on hold several times.

He couldn't figure out why ** would spend so much time on the phone so he asked him if he was allowed to hang up on him, again he refused to answer my husband's question. He tried to explain to ** that if they had pride in their work and believed they were selling a good product that there shouldn't be any problems with giving us an extended warranty.

He also explained to ** that we would be without an oven for a week and how would we cook. He suggested for us to rent an oven and he could send us a $25.00 voucher. My husband asked ** for our case number so we would have a reference number; again ** refused to give it to him and then hung up on my husband as he was in mid sentence.

This has been a very frustrating and eye opening experience for us as consumers. Our old GE oven was over 15 years old and we had never needed service on it. We are truly regretful that we did not buy a new GE oven instead of the Kenmore brand. Furthermore, it is absolutely ridiculous to spend 2 hours on the phone with customer solutions and not receive a SOLUTION! In closing, you have lost us as Sears consumers and we will be telling our family, friends, neighbors, business associates and internet contacts about the unpleasant customer service we received from Sears.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Kenmore Elite Appliances Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 72 ratings and
238 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sears
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
www.sears.com
smadvisor@searshc.com
Product/Services | Related Resources
Compare Department Stores