Preview Review

Next Review

Target Credit Cards Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Unethical and Customer Service Is a Joke!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I was charged by Target for a return payment fee ($28.00) and called into Target Customer Service who said the payment was withdrawn from an old bank account. I let them know that the account it was withdrawn from had been closed almost a year and I had made subsequent payments on my Target credit card multiple times from the correct/active bank account. They could not tell me why the payment was drawn from my old bank account.

The Supervisor I spoke with asked that I log into my account to delete the old bank account - when I logged in and told her it was already removed, she told me that they had removed it already for me. I asked how I could be refunded the return payment fee and she said that it could only be removed if it was a processing error on their end. They were not able to tell me why this didn't constitute as a processing error or why it had been withdrawn from an old account. Since they were not able to refund the return payment fee, I elected to cancel my credit card immediately.

Replies
"How a $1.15 error cost one Target store over $8000 a year in sales?"
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA -- A difference without distinction! That's what you'll run into if you ever have a problem with Target's branded charge card. Several weeks ago I received a letter from Target. It stated that my Red Card account had been incorrectly credited approximately $50 due to some unexplained internal error. Fine, except on the next month's statement there was an interest charge of $1.15 for my "borrowing" that $50 while it was showing as a credit in my account.

So now I have to take time out of my busy day to get this cleared up. Not only didn't I want to pay the interest charge, but with so much identity theft going on I wanted a true explanation as to what prompted Red Card to credit my account in the first place and then charge me a fee for it. Here's what I did and what I want to share about Target and the Red Card: (1) The Call Center is way off shore. By that I mean I couldn't cut through the CSR's accent and I don't believe she could understand me… not to mention the static and poor sound quality on the cheap VOIP lines.

(2) After 3 disconnects and over 2 hours I got my $1.15 back. However I felt I was scolded for this being my fault. CSR said if I hadn't requested the original credit this would have never happened and Red Card was doing me a favor by letting me off the hook. Remember, I never requested the credit in the first place and had received a letter of apology from Target alerting me to their error and apologizing for the mistake.

After my scolding, I became even more concerned about identity theft and requested an explanation and details surrounding that mysterious credit. I was told only one person in the universe could answer that question: **. I asked to be transferred to ** and got his voice mail. I left my daytime number and my cell phone number, but ** only called back my daytime number at 7pm and left me a voice mail and a return number to call him back.

In his message he also scolded me for not leaving my home number so he could cross reference my account info before he called. When I returned the call to his direct line, guess what? Back to square one. I got another low-level CSR who wanted to start at the beginning again before transferring me to **. Nonsense. I hung up.

(3) I called my Target store to discuss with manager on duty. She said she would research and get back to me. (4) Three days later no response so I stopped by store. Manager said she had been off on scheduled break and left note for another manager, so nothing had been done. She would get right on it.

(5) Later Manager notifies me Target Red Card is a different company from Target Retail and there is nothing they can do to help me find out what happened. They cannot even request a person with authority at Red Card contact me. Not the same company??? Wait a minute. They're the same company to me. What are they doing to distinguish themselves as different entities? The Target cashiers are the ones who pushed the card on me every time I checked out, they have their name & logo on the card, and the call center answers phone as Target. Surely Red Card adds a little something to Target's bottom line.

Not believing what I was hearing I crafted the following email and sent to admin@Target.com, customerservice@Target.com, webmaster@Target.com and a few other email addresses I guessed at.

"How can a $1.15 error cost one Target store over $8000 a year in sales?"

$8000 is approx how much my household spent at our local Target pharmacy last year. That doesn't include the tens of thousands we've spent on RX over the past several years. Nor does it include all the toys, bicycles, groceries, home goods, cleaning supplies, toiletries, etc. we've purchased. Every bit of that business is about to depart forever... all because of a buck and some change. Your store manager says she is helpless to resolve my issue. Call me if you're interested in discussing retaining my business or even if you're just curious. Or you can simply wait until I share my experience on the internet.

END OF LETTER

I can't say I was too surprised but the Next Day I heard from **. I had to call her back so the number was good. She told me she was not in customer service but actually in the corporate office. But ** only repeated what the manager had told me. Credit Card and Target are separate entities. If I wanted answers I was on my own. I requested that she have someone from Red Card call me since I did not want to start with a low-level CSR again. Nope. Please call that same number (you've already spent hours getting the run around on).

You would think even if Red Card was another company, Mr. (Just google Target CEO) ** or his board might have some clout to push Red Card to contact me. But ** and CEO Bob decided to stand their ground without escalating my issue. So me, my cash and my insurance walked with our $8000 of business.

So beware. Don't sign up for or use the Red Card. When this unknown Credit Card company makes an error on your statement, or if you suspect identity theft, you are on your own. You are at the mercy of some offshore CSR whose Americanized name will be Mary or Eric but will barely speak or understand English.

I guess $8000 wouldn't mean much to CEO who Forbes reported made $39.63 million last year. But ask the part-time pharm tech how many hours she'll be cut back due to the loss of revenue at her pharmacy (She told me her hours were based on # of scripts filled. Our 10 RX per month would be tough to replace and she expected to be cut back). I wonder how many retailers would chomp at the bit to acquire an $8000/yr account. Not Target. They are having a record year. The board will be too busy deciding how many bonuses to pay themselves and how much more they can charge their employees for those official red shirts they're required to wear.

Replies
Rude phone call regarding late payment of Target Visa Card
By -

MINNESOTA -- I received a phone call on January 19, 2012 from Target Financial Services regarding a late payment. The female was pushy and rude and did not inform me of payment options. I pay online and had planned to pay the first of next week when I got paid. She was so pushy, talking very fast, that I made a mistake when agreeing to a date for payment. She had an accent and did not treat me with respect. I have a good payment record with Target. I have corrected my payment date online. Your company needs to help your "shark attack" employers with social skills and appropriate tact. I do not plan to use this Visa card again when my account is cleared!

Replies
Target Attempts to "Legally" Steal Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WHITE PLAINS, NEW YORK -- About 15 years ago I took out a Target card in upstate NY in return for a 10% discount on items totaling less than $25. That day I paid in cash since the card was supposed to be mailed. About 6 months later (after NEVER receiving the card through the mail) I get a call from Target. They had an incorrect address and agreed to send another card which I never received and never used. A week after the call I got a bill in the mail saying I owed almost $4,000 for unpaid merchandise. They claim I left the store without paying which I would never do.

I called and told them there was a mistake because these charges are illegal. They said they would look into it. Every 6 months or so I would get another bill offering a settlement if I paid a few 1,000 dollars. Over the years this amount has been reduced. The last offer (about 2 months ago) was a settlement offer for a few hundred dollars. My only regret is that I didn't save all letters and report it to the proper consumer fraud authorities.

In conclusion, Target perpetuates scams, fraud and illegal unauthorized charges. Although this is well documented (it's posted all over the internet) they continue to get away with illicit activity. It's just a matter of time before they will be fully exposed and completely OUT OF BUSINESS for good. According to a very reliable source this will definitely happen before 2015. BUYER BEWARE when shopping at Target because you do so at your own risk of being scammed!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Red Card - Huge Hassle and Really bad customer service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COON RAPIDS, MINNESOTA -- Finally was guilted into the Red Card since I shop there three to four times a week. From the start, I have had PIN issues... even though I made a simple choice. All you get is the shrug of the shoulders and "call the number on the back of the card." What's worse, is they then declined my bank card.. I look like a stupid loser -- three times. Every time I call, I am "disconnected" until I sit on Zero. When I get an answer - all I can say is ATTITUDE and this person was NOT Minnesota nice. The best was "Your zip code shows Minneapolis - not Coon Rapids - I cannot help you." Great company.

Replies
Red Card Accounting Office Cost Me $600
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

FRIDLEY, MINNESOTA -- Last year I noticed a withdrawal from my checking account by using Target's Red Card. I hadn't been in the store on the day of or day before the withdrawal showed up in my account. I called Target and asked to speak with an individual in accounting. My mistake was not getting the individual's name. But according to this male accounting person, "No, I hadn't made any purchases in that amount, even dating back to the first of the month." So I called my bank and put a stop payment on the amount.

Six weeks later when I went to use my Red Card at Target it was declined. Turns out that banks, unlike checks when a "Stop Payment" is put into effect, they will put the stop payment on the ENTIRE bank debit card. I called Target, asked them why they let six weeks lapse before contacting me, allowing $600 worth of charges pile up. Nope, they don't do that. They were 'nice enough' to drop the fees down to $300. That made me feel OH SO MUCH BETTER - yea right!

So no don't trust Target's RED CARD and their accounting department. AND do read the fine print on any or all of your debit cards.

Replies
Very slow to post payments
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CUMMING, GEORGIA -- My complaint with the Target Red card is that they are slow to process payments. I use my card weekly and weekly I have the full balance paid to them from my checking account. I noticed the payments were not being posted and I was told by more than one representative that they would hold my payment up to 15 days (3 weeks!) "in case my bank wants the money back". I was invited to bring cash into the store to make my payment or schedule a conference call with my bank (for every payment) so they could make sure the bank didn't want the money back.

I am baffled by this. I pay all my bills online and no one else holds the payment in case the bank wants it back. I have excellent credit, so no problem there. I find this a huge hassle for 2012, it sounds like something from the dark ages. I will take my business elsewhere to avoid this hassle. I felt like they couldn't care less when I talked to them.

Replies
Customer Service
By -

I did a balance transfer from my Target Visa to my Bank of America Visa. I did this for two reasons first the interest rate on my Bank of America Visa was lower and second I was planning to make a purchase that I planned on paying off by the end of the payment cycle. Which would have allowed me to borrow the money interest free. However Bank of America made a mistake and paid off the transfer balance twice. I caught it while the second payment was still pending and when I called Bank of America's customers service they assured me that the second one would drop off.

Of course it didn't, when I checked a couple of days later the second charge had gone through putting me over my credit limit. I was told that I would have to contact Target and request that they reverse the balance transfer. Which I did right away, Target said that they could not reverse the transfer but would send me a check for the total of the transfer. I ask them if the purchase that I had made the day before would affect the amount of the check that I received since I had just made a purchase. I was told "no" since they saw the double payment and they would request the check that day which was March 14, 2008.

They also told me that I should received the check within 10 to 14 days. On March 24, 2008 I called to tell them I had not received the check yet. At that time I found out that the change of address that I had put in (via internet) had not taken effect and that the check which I was told was sent out on March 14, 2008 would probably reach me by the end of the week. But if I didn't get it by March 28, 2008 to call.

On March 28, 2008 when I checked my mail I got my statement which had been forwarded from my old address and hadn't closed out until March 17, 2008 ,but still no check. When I called them the first customer service representative again told me that the check had been sent out on March 14, 2008 for the full amount of the second balance transfer which had been made in error.

When I questioned her about my balance being zero and not the amount I had charged, she claimed to look into it a little more and stated that the check had gone out on March 14, 2008 for the difference between the balance transfer and the purchase that I had made. At this time I told her I wanted to close my account.

She then transferred me to someone who I suppose was her supervisor. The supervisor main concern was did I really want to close my account. She almost immediately went into the what great benefits the Target credit card offers. When I tried to explain the situation to her, her condescending response was that I made a purchase. I told her that I was aware that I made a purchase but that when I called on March 14, 2008 I was told that they understood the problem that my purchase would not affect the check they were to send me for the balance transfer.

I then told her that I was told that I should have received my check (no matter the amount) within 10 to 14 days. She then told me that's right but how could I expect the check already it was only sent out on March 27, 2008. After repeatedly having to tell her that I was told that the check had been sent out on the March 14, 2008; she finally checked and admitted that she did see the request for the check on March 14, 2008 and the call back on March 24, 2008.

Needless to say that I have closed my Visa account with Target. More than losing a credit card customer though, they have lost a customer in me period. I used to work for Target and am well aware of how this company stresses its superior customer service. Not only was this lady condescending but argumentative. It has to be one of the worst customer service experiences that I have had in quite a while.

Replies
Advertisement
Payment rip off
By -

OK so I signed up for a credit card with target back in early December and bought 98.00 worth of merch. Well late January rolls around and still no bill! So I call them and they said "your bill isn't due till feb 8 and we have the address wrong in our system." My address is 601 they had 610... so they sent me a bill and I didn't get it till after the due date so they called me to see about making a payment over the phone and they'd waive the late fees, so I said "sure why not..." Gave them my checking info and made a payment over the phone for 40.00 meaning my balance would be 58.00 since the late fee was waived due to their stupidity on entering the address wrong...

Two weeks pass and I get another bill saying I had a late fee and a nsf fee... I called them and they said "our mistake we didn't enter your checking acct info correctly but we will waive it if you give a payment over the phone again"... I said "no go ahead and waive it but I will make the payment in store with cash today," They agreed... March comes around another bill... I decided OK what the hell I'll give payment over the phone another try, mind you I am a very busy person so I can't always make it into the store to make a payment... so I paid 40.00 and that would bring my total after interest to around 10.00... that was on March the 8th...

The next day March the 9th I signed up to access my acct online so I could start paying my bill online... and guess what I saw a 25.00 late fee for Feb and a 20.00 nsf fee for Feb... and a 25.00 late fee and 20.00 nsf fee for March.. wtf I thought so I called the 800 number on the back of the card and asked for a manager who by that was was extremely rude!!!! And what do you know the ck acct number was once again entered wrong but she is trying to tell me that is my fault and that I purposely gave it to them wrong and that they don't make errors more than once.

I said "apparently you do because you did with my address and again with my ck acct" and while she admitted that the service agent just copied my info from Feb for the March payment instead of making the correction she said that doesn't matter because I provided the wrong info the first time (Feb) which I insist I didn't I gave it to them correctly their employees just can't copy numbers down correctly... And no they wouldn't waive any of the fees so now my bill is nearly 200.00 in fees and only 10.00 in charged merch.

So I advise everyone to either not get involved and get a target card or never make payment over the phone because obviously they have a bunch of idiots working at the call centers...

Replies
Red card
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

CHAMBERSBURG, PENNSYLVANIA -- In applying for a red card I found it very upsetting that you needed my ssn# and my yearly earnings. By swiping my Driver's Lic. you get all the info you need. So because of this I am forced to not use one of your services in saving money. I really like shopping in your store for children's clothes.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Target Credit Cards Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 8 ratings and
58 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Target
1000 Nicollet Mall - P.O. Box 1392
Minneapolis, MN 55403
888-304-4000 (ph)
612-304-6073 (fax)
www.target.com
Product/Services | Related Resources
Compare Superstores