Preview Review

Next Review

Total Protect Home Warranty Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
30 Days And Still No A/C
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ELGIN, SOUTH CAROLINA -- A claim was started the week of May 12, 2018. A repairman came out and determined that the compressor was not working. It is now June 12, 2018 and we still do not have AC. Total Protect was told that there was a critically ill person (stage 4 liver failure) living in the home and this needed to be considered a medical emergency.

The house has averaged a temperature of 85 degree with an outside temperature pushing 95. We offered to pay outright for the repair and wait for a refund and they will only reimburse $853. In a nutshell once you purchase this warranty they have you by the **... you are at their mercy. Stay away... put that money into a separate account and save up for your home repairs.

Replies
Advertisement
Failure to Comply With Contractual Requirements
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORIDA -- On Dec 15th 2017 my washing machine was not spinning to extract water, claim called in. Serviceman came out 12/16/17. Then nothing happened, I called back. Was on hold over 20 minutes. Was told no decision. I made repeated phone calls and eventually on 1/6/2018 I was told the parts had been ordered. The next day another phone call. Parts were back ordered and would be in 1/12/18.

Parts were received 1/16/18, 2 parts of the same kind were sent and waiting would continue, I waited another week still no parts, called Total Protect. They seemed to be unaware of the problem with the parts and I was told they would contact the service company again. I waited 2 more days. Still no resolution, called Total Protect again to cancel. Spoke at length with claims. I was told a manager would call me within 2-3 days with a resolution. I then canceled the coverage. By this time I had been a customer for 2 yrs 6 months.

I had called twice before and always received satisfactory service but something had happened with this company since my service requests in 2015. I have shared these comments with Total Protect and have requested that they return my last service fee as the service company did not complete the service, so far the silence has been deafening. I believe this company slow walked my claim.

Replies
False Security Insurance
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Garbage product. Signed up, no claims first year. Premium increased 20% upon renewal. Filed 1st claim, they dispatched plumbing service tech who barely spoke passable English so direct communication was difficult (I don't speak whatever East Euro dialect he was native in). The option I was given was, they could authorize the plumber to cut a hole through my wall, inspect the pipe and then I would be responsible for the cost to repair hole and pipe. My response (No!) I had to pay deductible for service call. Called to cancel contract and agent answered with the wrong company name. Stay away from this sham.

After my poor experience with Total Protect, I received a performance survey that I opened that contained only one question regarding whether my request was closed to my satisfaction. I clicked "no" but that was it, no additional questions or dialogue box to add comments, that was two weeks ago. Within hours of posting my first negative review, the company reached out to "make things right". Sorry, I already canceled but thanks for proving that the brand and money grab are what's important, not the poor saps like me buying false security.

Replies
Dont Waste Your Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- They lied. They don't answer. They put you on hold so you get desperate and end call. Nobody know nothing about your claim. I have open claim from 3/03/18 still waiting. Just open another one and no one show up. Don't waste your $$$.

Replies
Advertisement
Very Bad Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA -- I have had this warranty for awhile and have always had trouble getting service. Once I waited a week I called to cancel and they wanted to charge me $25.00! Really? I just waited 40 minutes on the phone to do this too. Get another company, not this one. I have absolutely nothing nice to say about this company.

Replies
Total Ripoff. Do Not Use Them.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- This company is a ripoff and finds reasons not to pay. I signed up in January and my plan became effective February. I called when there were loud noises from my AC unit. They took a few days to reply after the claim. You continuously have to call and push to get help. They finally had Four Seasons come and the guy was very rude. He ended up rescheduling because he couldn't fit in my attic. After he came back they told me the insurance needed to pay for a new compressor and he would let them know. I signed the paper and he left.

A week goes by and no reply so I called the insurance for them to say I need to send in my home inspection to show my unit was okay when I purchased the house. I sent the paperwork and they said allow 3 business days. 7 days goes by no reply so I called again. This time the excuse was that although the inspection showed my unit was fine when they checked that the service tech said it looked like my unit was tampered with. This is not true and why wasn't I told this last time. I asked for a supervisor who told me the tech said my contractor was 10 days old so this is pre-existing. Each time I speak to someone it's different.

They said we could pay for a second opinion out of pocket so we did. They advised we need a new contractor. I sent the report in and a week later no reply so I called. They said it will still be a pre-existing condition and the claim is still denied. Why let someone get a second opinion if you're still going to deny. I asked if they even called the second tech and the representative said no they did not. But they called the first guy. I need the information from the second tech.

They are very unprofessional and give different reasons to prevent them from having to pay. I asked for a corporate or upper level contact and they would not get one. I am going to file a complaint with BBB. I have an infant and 8 year old who are without heat. February is when it started getting cold. We had to buy heaters. This is unacceptable. I am beyond angry. I was given inaccurate and inconsistent info. Bad customer and tech service.
Paid out of pocket for second opinion and still denied.

Replies
Heat Exhaustion!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- I have been a Total Protect customer since May 2015, a friend recommended them. In August 20th (Thursday) I submitted a claim regarding my air conditioner. Claim number and a telephone number for a vendor was given. So I want to share this whomever would like to read it.

August 21st a very nice Customer Service Agent from Total Protect cancelled the first vendor (a one-man company with a full schedule. I am in Florida. 95 degrees outside, 105 inside, no A/C) And conferenced me in with a new vendor, Healthy Home Heating and Air Conditioning, that asked to treat my request as an EMERGENCY. I believe they have more technicians. One went to my house, diagnosed the problem and left. He told my son he was going to order the part and be back Saturday August 22nd; unfortunately my son forgot to ask of what year.

I called several times and no one knows anything. All they know is that they ordered the part and have no idea when it will arrive or if it has arrived at all. I don't understand how they can't track a package in this day and age when I can track a letter and they post all the information on the web. Maybe they used Pony Express.

I had specified that this was an emergency. I live in Florida where it goes to 95 degrees daily and it gets hotter inside my home. I could have dealt with that for a day or two but not a week or more. I've had to send my Dog to a friends because she couldn't handle the heat. My son and I have also been experiencing heat-related issues, medical problems which are obviously starting to cause problems. As of today, August 26th, we are all clueless as to why we haven't even received an ETA on the work that needs to be done or even when the part is to arrive. Again anything can be track nowadays.

Replies
Beware. Does NOT Honor Policy. Bound to Find Loopholes
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Service call placed on a AC unit in the house we purchased 7 years ago. AC the heating tech said is about 15 years old which in WI is at the high end. 5 days before we got info on who to call after I called them 3 times. Tech confirmed that the unit shows well maintained and nothing he sees is outside of normal aging or code, filters are clear. He noted that this is their first call with TPH and he never had any of the other companies he works with insist so much on taking pictures of everything, got 3 emails about it. When I heard that I should have seen this coming. We are in WI a AC outside has a expectancy of 7-15 years so that we had ours that long is very good.

Well long story short after I heard about the pictures I got curious since this was our first ever call. Sounds like they have a pattern of finding a needle in a haystack to deny your claim and make it LOOK as if it's legit. So a tech of 27 years tells us this unit was well maintained and these young yahoos claim it's not based on... wait for it 'a few cobwebs' that after a first use in this 6 months winter period apparently showed up and aged lines. They seriously told us the tech of 27 years does not know what he was talking about. There is not enough room and time to go into this more and I am done wasting my time but all I can say is DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY.

Those that post and review that they try to pull a fast one on you have it right. I tried to give them the benefit of a doubt and should have listened to my higher inclination on this one. If it's too good to be true it is and the pattern is across of these companies listen to it. Never mind for a repair and $60 a pound of Freon. They would only cover a miserly $10??? Seriously.

Just glad I did not pay the policy in advance and we paid monthly because we are done with the yahoos and canceled this. I rather do this the traditional way and save my emergency funds. Unless they are going to uphold the policy and address the way this claim was handled sufficient by either fixing or replacing the unit. Don't waste my time.

Replies
Advertisement
Total Protect is RACIST
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOUISIANA -- I called them for an appointment. The representative put me down for an appointment and lied and said she could not give me Sears phone number to confirm it. The following two RACIST also lied. When no one showed up, I called back and they DENIED me an appointment over and over again - at least eleven times for the appliances I was calling to get repaired. After they finally came to assess one of the appliances and said they would have to replace it, they lied and DISCRIMINATED against me and never brought it. They kept pushing the date back weeks at a time. They were so RACIST that they disregarded all of their policies in their booklet.

After my clothes started piling to the ceiling and they are still piled to the ceiling, I requested the credit check since it was an option by their own admission and since they failed to deliver me a washing machine repeatedly on the days they promised. As of this day they are so RACIST, that I still do not have the credit check, although they are continuing to debit my bank account for $62.95 every month and the deductible is $125.00 for each service visit if and when they come out. Of course I paid my service visit.

However, that didn't stop the RACIST service man from DISCRIMINATING against me. He lied and said he needed a part for the ice maker and said he'll be back in a week and never ever came back to this day. I guess it wasn't the right area for him. I had to call the company to find out why I had another no show. He was so RACIST, he didn't even bother to call and lie as to why he was DENYING me service I was paying.

This claim has been open for two months with still no resolution on my behalf. Total Protect has undermined their integrity and I will continue to make my complaint known in every means possible every day and to every outlet possible until justice is served for this blatant RACISM in America.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Total Protect Home Warranty Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 46 ratings and
62 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Total Protect Home Warranty
1625 NW 136 Ave., Bldg. E, #200
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33323
954-835-1900 (ph)
www.hmsnational.com
Compare Warranty Services