Preview Review

Next Review

Toyota Financial Services Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Sleazy, Terrible Accounting, Completely Unhelpful
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CEDAR RAPIDS, IOWA -- We've had two leases with TFS, first for a Prius 2010 and then for a 2015 Prius. They constantly confused the two lease records, and sent us, randomly, "past due" notices with interest for the 2010 years after it had been paid off and title was in our hands. This year we leased a new 2018 Prius through a Toyota dealership that does NOT use TFS (part of the reason we bought there). We turned in the 2015 at the same time... and then the fun really began.

For over three months, TFS refused to acknowledge our 2015 had been turned in and refused to end our lease, despite my notifying TFS of all details within 10 days of the turn-in. 3 1/2 months after I first notified TFS of the turn-in, TFS staff member ** actually insisted that since I hadn't talked to her *personally* she didn't know anything about the turn-in. Took me three tries to get her to admit that, yes, my call was in the record she was looking at when we talked, and, well yes, they do keep notes of conversations (** is in the TFS "Loyalty Department", which was truly ironic.).

Summary: TFS will tell you anything and do nothing. You can talk, but they aren't interested. Anything that they profess not to know about is your fault and your problem. You know what? I've done business in Japan. TFC sleazy business practices would cause senior management resignations in Japan. This is truly an appalling US version; Toyota should be embarrassed that the word "Toyota" is in TFC's name. Stay away. The cars are fabulous; just make sure you buy from a dealer who does NOT use TFS.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Customer Service Ever!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- My vehicle was stolen on December 4, 2015. It is now January 26th, 2016 and I still do not have a new vehicle due to Toyota Financial Service incompetent, unreliable, rude, unprofessional staff. They received a $22,000 check from my insurance company, wanting me to continue making payments on the remaining balance owed, until my GAP Insurance claim went through, the one they were supposed to start after they received payment, which they did not.

I had to start the process. I had to send the paperwork in. The 2 pieces of paperwork that Toyota had to provide was still not given to them a week later, yet they still want me to make payments when they are not doing their job!!! They have not called me once. They have not sent one piece of paperwork to the GAP Insurance as requested over a week ago. But I can assure you, they dinged my credit as fast as they could.

I will never, ever deal with this company again after this. I have looked into filing a lawsuit against them, and I have recorded every single phone call I have had with their so-called staff. ** this company, and the idiots they have working for them shouldn't even say working, more like schooling. If I didn't have to select a star I wouldn't. These idiots don't even deserve stars to show!!!

Replies
Harassment From Representative
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA -- Though a period of hardship, I had fallen behind on my payments. I called this morning to bring my account up to date. What ensued was a 45 minute episode of being told I was a liar, that I didn't know how to manage my money, and many other insults when I just wanted to pay my account. It was the most insulting and humiliating exchange I have ever had with any sort of customer service. I am not surprised that I see so many other complaints. I will never buy another Toyota ever again because I never want to go through an experience like I had this morning.

Replies
After Lease Turn-in I Received a Bill for $405 for a Key Fob With a Dead Battery.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BEDFORD, OHIO -- I turned in my 2011 Camry SE at lease end and under mileage with no excessive wear or damage. Toyota accepted the vehicle no questions asked. 1 of the key fobs I turned in had a dead battery but otherwise worked. 4 weeks later I received a bill for $375 for a key fob replacement plus tax. The fob probably takes a $3-5 battery which I would gladly replace, but Toyota won't allow it. This is all because I signed my lease months before Toyota started the disposition fee, so it didn't apply to my lease terms. There is no chance I'm paying this! Anyone with experience and any suggestions for recourse please help.

Replies
Advertisement
Toyota Financial Services - Leasing
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- We leased a Toyota Camry back 3 years ago. I have leased cars for several years. I have never paid any money at the end of any lease I have had. I kept the cleaned and is a reasonable shape. We did drive them. At the end of this Toyota Financial lease, last 3 years, the car has 30,000 miles and has had dealer maintenance. I guess they charge for tires being worn, which makes me wonder, are 3 of tires they worn after 30,000 miles. What kind of tires do they provide? Also the front end, which if driven will have tiny dings in it no matter who you are.. imagine that.. not dents, tiny paint chips, hmmm, I don't if I ever had a 3 year old car without tiny dings in the front.

Needless to say Toyota Financial wants their cars back from the lease after 30,000 miles, which again is 5,000 less miles than I was allowed on the lease, with absolutely NO wear at all. Means I'm giving them money basically for nothing. Just a note to remember, don't lease from Toyota financial. I have leased 4 other cars in my life including an Acura and several others and have NEVER owed anything at the end of any of the leases. I guess the Toyota company, needs to over charge its customers maybe they're broke, maybe the cars are manufactured cheap now.. no quality I guess.

Replies
Given quite a runaround
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I am buying a Toyota from someone that has a loan through Toyota financial services. It has been 3 weeks since I transferred the money to the owner, and Toyota still has not issued a lien release. Because of this, I have been unable to title my new car. The first time the owner called, TFS made it seem like everything was fine and that the money was going through. The owner even had her online account closed. Days later when the release had not arrived, she called and found out the representative wrote down the wrong bank account number. Thus, the loan did not get paid off. No one at TFS thought it was necessary to call anyone to fix that issue.

Fast forward another week. After being told that a certain method of payment was the fastest by two different people, we come to find out that it will be another 10 days before the money is cleared. Overall, the experience with TFS has been terrible and very frustrating. Customer service has not been helpful, was rude on numerous occasions, and had conflicting answers for our questions. Do not go with TFS!

Replies
I hate TFS
By -

FALLBROOK, CALIFORNIA -- I leased a Vehicle 5 years ago from Toyota Motor Corporation. 2 and 1/2 years ago I was forced to file bankruptcy thanks to a fraudulent debt consolidation company. I decided to go ahead and keep my vehicle so I continued making every payment on it and calling once a month to make sure they received my payment. 14 months ago I decided I might as well pay off my lease so I don't have to call them every month to make sure they got my payment. So within 1 week, I called TFS 3 different times to talk to them about paying off. 3 times they gave me a payoff amount that would satisfy my lease until the maturity date.

So I went ahead and wrote a check in the amount of 4805.55 (which they told me I need to pay 3 times) and wrote Paid In Full in the comment section of the check. 2 days ago I find a man in my driveway towing my car. He was from a repossession company and he said TFS sent them because I had an outstanding debt of 1805.00 that wasn't paid. I called TFS to resolve this matter and they say there is nothing they can do. The lady named ** that gave me my payoff gave me the wrong figures 3 times in a row. She failed to add 4 months of payments into the figure she gave me and now it's my fault.

They say their computer notes don't say that she ever quoted me those figures and that the only thing they have is that she told me I had 14 more pymt. When you call to get a payoff you don't ask for months. You ask for dollars and cents right? I have no proof because they would not send me anything giving me my payoff balance due to my BK. They will not help me. They are rude, and obviously they don't care if they lose a customer. I have bought 3 vehicles from them and my family has bought 7 total from them. My mom co-signed for me and now her credit is showing a repossession as well.

I have spent at least 48000 on this vehicle that only had a sticker price of 27995 and I was even going to refi the maturity amount and pay it completely off. I advise anybody out there that are considering buying a vehicle from Toyota to get their own financing and even better don't buy your Toyota from Toyota. By the way I hate TFS.

Alright here is the latest. TFS just sent me my rights letter, which tells me what I have to do to get my truck back. I have to pay 13,990 to get my truck out of the repo yard. They will not finance the residual for me. They want me to go get my own financing, which who is going to finance me for something that isn't even worth how much I need the loan for. So I guess I'm **.

Replies
Beware - They Seek Your Full Social Security # - Illegal!!
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

NATIONWIDE -- Toyota Financial Services provides a panic message on my answering machine to call within 24 hours. I call and give the last 4 numbers of my Social Security number. The computer provides full details on my loan. I then press 0 to speak to a service representative on two occasions. Both times they insist on my full Social Security number or will not proceed. This is against federal law so beware and report your problems ASAP. Manager agreed they need to retrain reps so please monitor and report problems. Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Unethical, immoral, disappointing.
By -

MARINA DEL REY, CALIFORNIA -- I made the biggest mistake to lease a car with Toyota Financial Services. I just finished paying the FIVE year lease. Never late, never missed a payment. They run my credit and want to charge me $10,600.00 more just on interest to loan me $10,700.00 do to my credit. They don't care if you have great history with them. All they want is to make their money... I don't know what I'm going to end up doing. I know I had a tough time with my credit cards but I never missed a car payment.

Replies
TFS BLOWS
By -

TFS are crooks. They haven't repossessed anything, but they are claiming that my payment is late when it is in process and it shows in process on their web page. Bottom line don't buy a Toyota.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Toyota Financial Services Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 7 ratings and
13 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Toyota Financial Services
19001 S. Western Avenue
Torrance, CA 90501
800-874-8822 (ph)
www.toyotafinancial.com
Compare Financial Services