Preview Review

Next Review

USAA Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Lies, Lies and More Lies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- We have a claim against USAA Auto... Three of their agents told us that if we would supply measurements showing our front end is not narrower than our side fenders (where the damage occurred) they would reopen the claim and review the evidence. They contend that their client's door was open and we ran into it...

We claim she opened the door as we drove past. Our evidence is there is NO Damage to our front end!! They then claimed that our front end is narrower than the side fenders as to why we have no front end damage. Heather Pace, Wesley Pate and a Victoria all said this. The last two said they would instruct their repair facility to take those measurement. Our first visit, they had NO instructions and just did a repair estimate. Victoria then said she would give precise instructions...

Our second visit they only had instructions to measure the side fender width. Our last call to USAA..a Ursula, stated right out that we shouldn't bother ourselves because they had NO INTENTION of looking at any evidence that would prove their client responsible and to basically...SUE US!! They lied to us repeatedly and strung us along with those lies hoping we would just go away. So now, to take them to court, our insurance company says we have to fix the vehicle ourselves and then they will try to recover the money. We can't afford to fix someone else's damage!!

Replies
Usaa Is A Horrible Organization - Not Military Friendly
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I am a retired 27-year Air Force member who had USAA about 7 - 8 years ago. I had mistakenly added my step-son on to my auto insurance 1 week prior to actually being married. He had gotten into an accident and reported it to USAA. USAA discovered he was not actually eligible for the auto insurance because his mother and I weren't married at that particular time and the dropped me. 7-8 year later I tried to see if I could resolve the issue and USAA treated me like a common criminal. The representative told me they would not discuss allowing me to be a member because of this issue.

When I asked if I could speak to someone the representative simply ignored me and remained silent. They tout themselves as a benefit to the military, but if you accidentally make a mistake they have NO SYMPATHY and will not work with you to bring you back into good standing. My advice to all military is NEVER make a mistake with USAA. If you do they will treat you like a common terrorist or less than human. HORRIBLE ORGANIZATION! NOT A MILITARY FRIENDLY ORGANIZATION!

Replies
Accident Claim Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENSACOLA, FLORIDA -- I was hit while stopped at red light. The other driver was ticketed and was deemed 100% at fault. I was wearing my seat belt. I received serious injuries to back including a displaced disc and a bulging disc due to accident. After a year and a half of chiropractic care and injections in my spine to relieve pain as well as taking pain meds, I was advised by my attorney that it was time to start the process of suing for my injuries. I decided not to opt for surgery as an orthopedic surgeon friend of mine told me that surgery could leave me in worst shape than I was currently in.

I was sending all bills related to my accident to my attorney since the accident. During the first sit down with my attorney he asked me if I had checked my credit any time recently. I told him no. He said I would be greatly disappointed. Florida is a no fault state and USAA was responsible for paying the first 20,000 thousand dollars of expenses in a car accident independent of who was at fault. He said he forwarded all bill he received including the ones I gave to him, and USAA had not paid the first dollars worth. He said my credit was shot big time. I told him that had to be impossible.

He then with a tone of anger that USAA was notorious for not paying. He then directed me to two stacks on a desk behind the desk he was sitting in. One stack was about 6 inches high and another over two feet high. All were cases where he had to sue insurance companies for not paying the immediate costs as required by the state of Florida under no fault insurance. He said the 2 foot plus stack was USAA insured clients and the 6 inch stack was all the other insurance companies combined. I could not believe it. He said he would send USAA notice that he was going to sue them for said costs.

Shortly after him doing so he called me and said I had an appointment to be examined by a doctor as I was being questioned as to the validity of my injuries. My attorney had collected reports from all doctors concerned and I was surprised that this was even an issue. I thought it was expected as the other insurance company was trying to deny any responsibility for my claims.

I showed up at the given time and place and was seen by a chiropractic doctor instead of an MD. He saw me for a total of fifteen minutes, examined me and told me he was finished. Some two weeks later my attorney handed me a detailed description of numerous test that had not been performed over a two hour period that stated I was in perfect health and they were denying any claims I was making and they would not pay a dime. I was in total shock.

And then I was even further in disbelief when was told that it was not the other insurance company that ordered this test, my own insurance company, USAA, that did so. They were trying to get out of paying the initial PIP payments required by the State of Florida even though they would be reimbursed by the guilty party's insurance company when the matter was finally solved.

My attorney said USAA was absolutely the worst insurance company he ever had to deal with. Shortly thereafter the other insurance company settled the claim for the price asked by my attorney, with no trouble whatsoever. USAA destroyed my credit for years to come, & tried to pay nothing even though they would be reimbursed for every single dollar paid. Needless to say I switched to the other insurance company. USAA is TERRIBLE.

Replies
It Has Been 18 Months And I Still Have An Open Theft Claim And A House The City Would Condemn
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN ANTONIO, TX, MISSOURI -- Please forgive any typos. I am working with a broken laptop. This is the 4th time that I have typed and lost all of my information. First round of asking for help. On 6/26/11, I walked into my home to find that it had been burglarized. I had been in and out of town, and it is an unusual case, as the police say that someone had been living in my home.

I have an insurance policy with USAA insurance. I have been through 4 or 5 adjusters; I have given way too much information about my life, I provided information from slavery, on all four sides of the family until now, as I was asked by one adjuster, and I have it in writing, "How could people of color afford such things?" and that of my February of 2008 to help care for my mother.

Janice, my mother, passed away in July of 2008. She had renters insurance in my home. My sister, Holly and I cared for my Grandmother at home until my sister moved back to Michigan to work for the Department of Commerce in October 2009. I stayed in Missouri and worked for US Bank through Kelly. After my job ended, I traveled around. I helped my sister pack up her apartment in Michigan and move to Atlanta, GA in January 2011. The home was never vacant for more than a few weeks.

I traveled back and forth between, Michigan, Georgia, and Missouri. In February of this year, my step-grandmother, who had lived in my home until she went to Beauvais, after my mother's passing (she lived in my home, until October 2009, at that point she moved to Beauvais nursing home, on Magnolia, in Saint Louis, MO) in February she passed away.

On the same date of her funeral in March, my maiden aunt, Barbara left the funeral for the emergency room, where she was diagnosed with Uterine Cancer and subsequently had surgery. She has been going through chemotherapy and my sister Holly and I have been up and down the highways taking care of her, as we both work to rebuild our lives. Again, the home was my primary residence and was never vacant for more than a few weeks. On June 26, 2011, I returned to my home to find that it had not only been burglarized, but it appeared to have been lived in.

A realtor who was selling a home down the street had a sign in our yard, with a for sale sign, with the arrow pointing to a home down the street (it gave the appearance that my home was for sale). At one point, I let the mail collect when I was caring for my aunt, and the post office put a vacant sign on the mail box. We think that this is when thieves moved in and burglarized and trashed the place.

I have neighbors who have witnessed strange people and reported this to the police on the day of the burglary and have called twice since to report people lurking about my home. My mother was an OCD neat freak and the house was so torn apart that it looks like an episode of Hoarders. I had many high-end handbags, as did my mother, lots of crystal, and jewelry. I inherited a lot from my mother and grandmother.

I have answered questions about my lifestyle, worked with USAA's insurance investigator. I have receipts for over $14,000 of jewelry that I purchased when I worked on Wall Street. I have bank statements of things that I owned, credit card statements of what my mother owned, and copies of credit cards that my grandmother had. I have provided pictures.

My sister Holly has answered questions (she had to establish that she had a home in Michigan), answer questions about what she received and why it looked like I had more (I did not, Holly's things were not stolen, mine were). My mattresses have been slashed, the fridge broken, the oven broken, thousands of gnats in my home, as USAA asked me to keep the broken fridge, as I went through 5 claims people. I thought that I provided way too much information on.

In some instances, I have the receipts for items, pictures, and have located them on the bank statements and have been asked to provide more documentation. My home is unlivable. If the city came in they would condemn it, the thieves left urine, chemicals (perhaps Meth) fecal matter, and more all over the entire house. The house was black and thick with gnats. 18 bug bombs later, millions of gnat bodies covered everything in my home, and the poison permeated everything.

And now my aunt, in addition to the chemotherapy that she is enduring, has diabetic issues, that may cause her to lose her legs. As an update, her leg was amputated, and she has since died. My sister Holly and I are her only relatives. After the tornado, here in Saint Louis, I looked at my policy and upgraded it.

USAA sent a letter to homeowners advising that we do so. I think that between what I purchased, what my grandmother and my mother left me, I had $100,000 in jewelry. I may have had $10,000-$45,000 in jewelry coverage, when I upgraded the policy, I added the jewelry on. USAA sent a letter that do to my credit. They were disallowing the jewelry coverage.

After reading my policy I pointed out to my public adjuster that this was illegal in the state of Missouri, over $20,000 in silver was taken. I may have had $10,000 in coverage, it would depend on how the multiple policies that I paid on the same residence plays out. I had a total of $299,000 for one policy of coverage for personal items and with damages. My claim may be between $270,000 - $280,000. The claims investigator is telling me everything is in the hands of the adjuster, just get in my receipts and pictures, and the adjuster is stalling that he must turn everything over to the investigator first.

I have spent me, that should have been spent on family and getting my home and life back in order jumping through hoops. I would like to retain your services, as I have made a commitment to communication with USAA Part, get everything to the claims investigator and the insurance company over the weekend. I do not want to do this all in vain. I feel like I have been violated twice. You have a good reputation on and I would like to hire your firm to assist me in finishing this claim.

I was contacted this morning, Friday, September 30, 2011 by another Claims Investigator, out of Las Vegas. This will be my 3rd claims investigator assigned to my case. To date, I have only spoken to one, Kyle, and I no longer feel comfortable communicating with the insurance company without someone on my side. I have had coverage with USAA since 2006, however, the day after the tornado in Saint Louis, I updated the policy. As you will note, I did not adequate jewelry, silver, or fur coverage. Second round of asking for help Details of complaint: My original policy began with USAA in 2007.

Since my emails to Mary the state of Missouri Department of Insurance Regulation. They have not been able to help much either way, to date, although USAA has retaliated, and although they have stalled, said they were too busy with other perils of nature, they are now trying to put me out on the street, although my home is unlivable, and put me out for Christmas and New Years. They also went in and purged much of the data off of my web account, including emails and policies. All the policies have been purged.

I purchased this home in 2005. At the time I lived in New York and had renters insurance on my New York Apartment, my mother lived in the house full time I traveled with my job and I had a policy on the house. In October 2007, my mother was diagnosed with ALS, Lou Gehrig's. My sister lived in Michigan and had a ranch style condo covered through USAA. All USAA policies held by my sister, my mother, and myself, fell under my dad, Ronald.

My sister walked away from her job to care for my mother. During that period the pipes burst. USAA paid her about $15,000 and then dropped her, and her claim, stating that there was an invoice from the cleaners that had a weight on the Unsavable clothing they returned to her. For that reason they dropped her claim, stating that she added an Unsavable clothing box, even though USAA sent her the invoices. They closed her banking account, everything. As my sister was the only one caring for my mother, she lost everything and had to declare chapter 7.

My Dad, a diehard ex-military man had USAA on his two homes and 5 or 6 cars. There was never a claim. On February 14, 2008 I walked away from my job in New York to help care for my mother. I notified USAA. In July 2008 my mother, a nurse, passed away. I notified USAA and continued to care for my grandmother in my home until October 2009. At that time my sister got a job, as the assistant manager for quality assurance in Dearborn, MI. She did not have much to move, as she lost everything to water and mold when the pipes in her home in Michigan broke in several locations.

Holly got a Uhaul and moved her things to Michigan. Holly has a lease, a business card, and paperwork, from December 2010 where the moving company picked up her furniture for storage, and then where to deliver it when she found a place in Georgia. My grandmother was 110, she loved Xmas. We left the Xmas tree and lights up from Xmas 2010 and had a special 2nd Xmas for her and my Aunt Barbara, the cancer, in February 2011.

Holly and I actually missed the first Xmas in December, we were in Michigan packing her apartment. Lena was staying in Beauvais Manor by that time, but she could come for a day home as well as my aunt who was utilizing rehab to get better. My step-grandmother is in the photo below along with how the house looked just months prior to the break in. There was a lot of sorrow. We lost my mother in July 2008, my sister Holly paternal Grandmother (who always treated me as a grandmother) six weeks later.

In October, 2008 we lost Holly's paternal Uncle. Then in July 2009 we lost Holly's paternal, youngest aunt, it was just too much. Holly's job was over, I came to Michigan for a while in April, I had been working for US Bank in Saint Louis and working through Kelly Services so I was in the home alone. Holly decided to move to Atlanta. Her things were picked up by the movers and were to be placed in storage until she found a home in Atlanta. All this information was given to USAA.

After the death of my grandmother, on the very same day as her funeral, my Aunt Barbara was diagnosed with Uterine Cancer. Literally, we left the funeral for the emergency room. My aunt had surgery. After a recovery period she was to start chemotherapy. I joined Holly, who was living at an extended stay hotel to find a home. She decided to find something that my aunt could stay in. I went to Michigan with her, helped drive the car from Michigan to Atlanta, and we looked for a place for her to live.

After finding one, we returned to Saint Louis as my aunt was starting chemotherapy or had started and I was taking her to her chemo sessions. So I was back and forth out of town a few times. I do know that in April there was a major tornado that hit Saint Louis, Missouri and ripped the roof off of the airport and left devastation following highway 270.

I received a letter from USAA about the tornadoes and asking if I had enough coverage. I really took that to heart and I changed my policy. The primary changes were for the structure of the house, but I did add a jewelry Ryder. I inherited much from my maternal Grandmother, my maternal step-Grandmother (she is the one who passed in February 2011) and my mother, as well as my own things.

I received a call asking if I was going to cancel the other policies on the home and the renters insurance. I let them know that had been canceled long ago. The customer service person indicated it was not. USAA will not send a copy of this update. I did add $40-$45k in jewelry coverage and was still woefully under covered.

I received a letter stating that due to my credit history, which took a traumatic hit during my mother's illness, the policy was changed. What I did not know was that I continued to pay for 3 policies after USAA was told time and time and time again. After the report of the theft, I was under investigation for 6 months. I was never notified officially and I cooperated spending time, that I was told that I would be reimbursed for, due to my cooperation. I was paying out of pocket for everything.

I sought assistance and got a Public Adjuster Inman and Associates, who have been a sad disappointment. It has been 18 months since my claim. Missouri law and my own policy have not been followed. Since USAA does not give money back, but gleefully took it and continues to take it, then I should have additional coverage. As credit score cannot be utilized in Missouri, my jewelry rider should be acknowledged. USAA has had a spreadsheet of stolen items for 6 or 7 months. The public adjuster and C are still ambling around on the dwelling. This is my claim and I want to replace my stolen items. I would like my ALE that is due.

This company has put such a financial strain on me that it has taken its toll on me, my sister, and my aunt, who passed away November 19. Additional family members six of seven have passed away during this time. Our Aunt was our mother's older sister. I do not want to spend another Thanksgiving (which ended up being a trek to get my aunt's body. Medicare wanted to know after her amputation that she had a place to go (prior to all of this she lived on her home). Barbara had too many steps to return to my home and it has been 18 months and Josh is in charge of stolen items.

It has been 18 months since the theft. The criminals were living in the home, they defecated, urinated, stole the motors or some workers from all 3 fridges in the home. Since it took USAA 3 months to come to the house it was filled, like a horror movie, with millions of gnats. Over 18 bug bombs were set off, there are gnat bodies and poison in everything. The police found tons of medicine boxes and pots with stuff stuck in them, I was told my home was possibly used for meth.

ARRS the restoration service deemed almost everything as unusable. Now USAA is questioning ARRS and there has been no movement on the home. Furniture that was in the home was broken and almost ALL household items placed in the garage. The gnats are back. If items were save-able, they are not now. All furniture in the home down to the dishes were purchased new when I bought the house for my mother.

Her partner and fiancé had died and this was a new beginning. The only things not new, were the dining room set, the master bedroom set and the 2nd bedroom set and one television in the basement. All other furniture was purchased in 2005 along with the carpet for the basement. Except for the China, all dishes, mixers, toaster, microwave, pots, pans dinette set, living room furniture, basement furniture and patio furniture were new. As well as all decorations.

My grandfather fought in WWII, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War. There were many heirlooms that he sent home. I had photos and I had to show what I inherited verses my sister. There was much silver, Waterford, and Japanese ivory and such, there are pictures of the items in the home, and I had to account why I had photographs of the items and the photographs were clearly years old.

USAA has put me in a financial bind. I could lose this home. I want to know why we cannot work on replacement of theft which is what I asked for from day one, the house really needs to be gutted, disinfected and fixed. I need to know how much I have in coverage since I was paying for 3 policies. I have read the policy and found all the breaches, not Inman and Associates, my public adjusters, they seem to be inept. I am begging for any assistance as rules in my policy have been ignored, Missouri law, and it is 18 months, this is crazy.

I don't want to live in a hotel anymore. I want funds immediately for replacement of stolen items and a clear answer of how much coverage I have since I was paying for 3 policies until 6 or 7 months ago. I will email all information instead of attaching it. USAA has been busy since I contacted you purging documents that have been on file since 2007. I believe Josh, the San Antonio Adjuster for USAA may have gotten rid of everything with his name on it.

My Aunt Barbara died, her memorial service was Friday, December 14, 2012 and according to Chris and his boss Kevin, USAA adjuster and his supervisor, they are trying to put me out, even though I have unlimited Dwelling, and it was USAA dragging their feet, and then on the theft, I have about $ 50,000 in replacement receipts, USAA gave me $20,000 against the theft, now Josh is saying not one more dime until the CLAIM is ESTABLISHED. What have they been doing for almost two years?

Update: USAA stopped paying for my dwelling, although I have unlimited dwelling. It has been established that from 2007-2012 I was paying multiple policies on the same home. The city has condemned the home and I am seeking a lawyer and media coverage.

Replies
Advertisement
Company Has Changed
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

I've been with USAA for over 33 years. Throughout this time I've had 4 auto claims (2 hit by others) and 2 home claims (hail storm damage to roof of house). Claims in the past have been handled from great to not so good. If the claim was against another insurance company and I went through USAA for my vehicle, they have paid basically Kelley Bluebook or better. Other auto claims (vehicle hydroplaned on wet road, no one else involved) USAA offered me approx. 30% less than Kelley Bluebook. I had to battle with them to get the vehicle up near Kelley Bluebook.

I'm currently going through an auto claim, not at fault, and once again USAA is offering me 40% less than Kelley Bluebook. They use a company called CCC One to determine the "fair market value". This company has reportedly had over 10 class action law suits filed against them for unfair market value process. When I approached USAA about the numerous errors in CCC One's process on my vehicle, i.e. allowing .03 cents per mile comparable vehicles but only allowing .01 cents per mile for my vehicle, they simply stated "we stand by CCC One's value AND PROCESS".

Google CCC One for yourself. I've been paying full coverage on my vehicle for over 10 years, when it wasn't needed (I owe nothing on it), and my rates have climbed $10-$20 per vehicle every year only to be offered 60% of the average value according to both Kelley Bluebook and NADA and when compared to local like vehicles. I will be cancelling my auto insurance (5 vehicles, home owners and condo insurance) as soon as this is settled. Sure their rates are low, but now it makes sense, you're only going to get 60% of what you should. BEWARE!

Replies
USAA Insurance Has Become a Total Joke
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MASSACHUSETTS -- I had a cracked windshield. All of my previous insurance companies had a $50 deductible for windshield only claims. I called the USAA line which connects you to Safelite. They quoted me $494 and informed me that USAA covers windshields under the comprehensive, so I would be responsible for $250 (my deductible) of the bill. I have never had a windshield deductible over $50, so I was really taken aback.

At any rate, I have had multiple windshields replaced in the past and thought almost $500 sounded a bit high. So I went to the Safelite website directly and put in the information without USAA. They quoted me $314.95. That a $159 discount to NOT use insurance. Plus, then I don't have the claim.

But, wait! There's more!!! I went to the USAA site to double check my coverage and found that they never took off the car that I had a total loss on 2.5 months ago, So, I have been paying insurance on it this whole time. The representative I just spoke to took it off and backdated it, but...

It gets better. After she correctly removed the totaled car, I noticed that the old work truck I had listed as "in storage" was still on the policy. That was my fault. I forgot to call when I sold it. However, I had her remove the truck also and my policy then WENT UP by $60. I asked why that was, and she said it was because by taking off the car and truck I lost my multicar discount. Keep in mind that I still have TWO cars insured by USAA.

The problem (she says) is that one is registered in TN and one in MA, so USAA puts them on TWO DIFFERENT POLICIES. I reminded her that USAA serves military personnel who often have cars registered in multiple states, but she said there was nothing she could do about it. She offered to let me speak to a manager. I waited on hold a while and she came back to tell me they would have to call me back tomorrow.

It isn't tomorrow yet, so I am waiting for the call. However, since it is company policy, I doubt there is anything they can do about it. I am going to be looking for a new insurance provider - but not before I tell my many, many fellow military friends and family that USAA is now just one of the many companies that targets, rather than helps, military families.

Replies
Beware Money Goes Missing Without Reason
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- I have been with USAA since I was 17 and had signed up to be in the USAF. At first, before actually going to BMT, the bank was very good. I never had any problems until I hit check school. The first time money went missing from my account was in February 2011 for $100. I had just gotten paid that day and transferred $100 from checkings to savings. That money mysteriously was withdrawn the next day.

When I called the lady I talked to at first said it was a computer error but after talking with her manager, claimed that the money was never there and went as far as to call me a liar over the phone. She flat out refused to let me talk to her boss and ended the call by saying "Ma'am, the monies is not there. You never had the monies." and hung up. The second time, $40 went missing. USAA claimed it was for an overdraft payment. Since none of my accounts were in the negative or never had they been, the money was returned after much arguing and deliberating.

The third time, they took $50 out for a "bad check" on an account that no checks were ever deposited to. After looking through all the transaction history and seeing that there were no check deposits, he claimed my husband, who doesn't know the account number or even have a card for said account, took out a credit and he could not give me further information.

When my husband called, they said the same thing, that a credit had been taken out but that I had done it. When he gave the phone to me to talk to the rep, he said that he couldn't help us and hung up the phone. USAA used to be really great but have seemed sketchy ever since 2011, for me personally.

Replies
Went out of their way to be difficult
By -

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- My husband and I are both Active Duty and have been USAA members for 14 years. We have bought several vehicles using USAA for our financing, bought our house, have a credit card, all of our insurance, etc. In the last 5 years or so we have noticed a severe decline in quality of service that we receive from USAA. The final straw was this week when we were "pre-approved" for a car loan up to 50K (yikes) at 4.25%. I had been thinking about trading in my vehicle for something a little smaller with better mileage.

Needless to say, I did NOT need 50K, and was dumbfounded when we accepted the offer and were given terms that not only did not reflect our good credit rating but were completely ridiculous. The interest rate was 12.99%! My husband negotiated with them for over 2 hours and finally were given an offer of 4.99%. We figured that was a fairly decent rate, and off to the dealership we went. After spending a couple of hours negotiating trade in and purchase price, we were finalizing the paperwork.

Mr. Finance Guy called USAA to verify the approval on the electronic loan check, and here's where it gets really good. Apparently, USAA never intended to do this car loan because the final approval amount on the electronic check was a full 5000.00 UNDER MSRP for the vehicle! In simple terms, there was no way we were going to buy this car with USAA because they never intended to give us the amount we would need to finance it! There is a happy ending though. We applied for financing through Toyota, and were given not only an instant approval, BUT!!! Get this!!! We were given a final interest rate of 4.19%.

Moral of the story: USAA has contracted out so many of their services and on any given day you can get a nice heaping helping of crappy attitude when you call to talk to a customer service representative. Needless to say, we have started shopping for new insurance, looking into a credit union for banking services, and are working to pay off the credit card we hold with USAA. We certainly won't be recommending them to anyone anymore either.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Agency Ever! Not Veteran Friendly!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- "USAA no longer deserves to represent themselves as a company for Veterans" is a statement I read on here, and I couldn't agree more. USAA Auto and Banking have gotten so big and so automated, that the "personal touch" they so often tout is just a front for a fully-automated system that none of their employees understand, let alone can work with or around. There are no longer "any humans" that can or are allowed to intervene, and they tout "guidelines" as their reasons, yet cannot say why one guideline is in effect one week, and completely different the next.

For example, I use the deposit mobile to enter my checks every week. I am a contractor, so direct deposit is not an option from my company. For the past 4 years, I have been depositing roughly the same amount every week without issue. Twice this year I am given a notification that not all of my funds will be immediately available. Call USAA to find out why, and all you get is a run-around about guidelines and "the system".

However no one can actually give you an actual reason, and there is NO ONE in banking that has the authority to find out why, give a description of what the system found, and what's worse; no way to actually file a complaint that the findings were incorrect! This happened twice to me this year, and no one seems to know why! Average daily balance has been higher than ever before, and why now all of a sudden? No one has an answer! I came to USAA as I am a proud veteran of the US Armed Forces and still serve in a minor capacity still today.

Please understand that this company is NOT a company of Veterans for Veterans. It is just another fly-by-night company that targets veterans because there is a lot of us, and no one else is targeting veterans. I have had better banking experiences with a pre-paid card. As you look at the auto department complaints on here, I have had much, much better experience, and quite honestly rates - with other companies in the past. So why stay? I PROBABLY WON'T! Biggest joke of a company targeting veterans. How shameless!

Replies
Mortgage Department Is Incompetent
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- USAA has been amazing in all other areas with the exception of the mortgage area. I purchased a home in 2008 with USAA and the process was smooth with no issues so I thought I would have the same experience when I looked to buy another home. I was very VERY wrong.

It all started with my mortgage processor "misplacing" my sales contract and delaying an appraisal for a month since they never called me to say they needed another copy. That was just the tip of the iceberg sadly. Every call to my processor was met with the same line "I haven't looked at your file yet since it has been so incredibly busy" and she would say everything is fine and they don't need any more files from me.

Fast forward to a week before closing and the title work is still not done (because it was ordered late), the appraisal from VA was ordered late and still hadn't come back, and they keep telling me I have credit issues surrounding an AMEX card that never had a late payment and with my overall credit score above 790.

Closing day came and went, and now USAA has an issue reading the VA appraisal stating that the crawl space needs to be deeper to allow for termite inspections (a project costing in excess of $10,000 and a termite inspection was already completed) and that some damaged tiles in a bathroom need to be fixed (even though I am gutting the bathroom immediately upon closing). I am still waiting on a manager from the Mortgage processing area to help but they are insisting I call the VA for clarification even after explaining to them that the VA will not speak to anyone but the lender.

I have been a member of USAA for 6 years and have purchased almost every single product they offer. Sadly, when I call to try to get assistance from higher, I get sent into a never ending automated phone system or get sent to an operator that can't help me because the rules don't allow them to.

If you are thinking of financing a home through USAA, save yourself the hassle and go with another lender. The exceptional customer service that USAA is known for has been going downhill for years and now they are no different than any other bank but seem to have more incompetent people than normal. I am closing my accounts with USAA and moving to Navy Federal.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

USAA Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 33 ratings and
74 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
USAA
9800 Fredericksburg Road
San Antonio, TX 78288
210-531-8722 (ph)
www.usaa.com
Compare Banks