Preview Review

Next Review

USAA Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Lies, Lies and More Lies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- We have a claim against USAA Auto... Three of their agents told us that if we would supply measurements showing our front end is not narrower than our side fenders (where the damage occurred) they would reopen the claim and review the evidence. They contend that their client's door was open and we ran into it...

We claim she opened the door as we drove past. Our evidence is there is NO Damage to our front end!! They then claimed that our front end is narrower than the side fenders as to why we have no front end damage. Heather Pace, Wesley Pate and a Victoria all said this. The last two said they would instruct their repair facility to take those measurement. Our first visit, they had NO instructions and just did a repair estimate. Victoria then said she would give precise instructions...

Our second visit they only had instructions to measure the side fender width. Our last call to USAA..a Ursula, stated right out that we shouldn't bother ourselves because they had NO INTENTION of looking at any evidence that would prove their client responsible and to basically...SUE US!! They lied to us repeatedly and strung us along with those lies hoping we would just go away. So now, to take them to court, our insurance company says we have to fix the vehicle ourselves and then they will try to recover the money. We can't afford to fix someone else's damage!!

Replies
To them Safety dont matter
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- I decided to swith to USAA since I am prior service since I heard a lot of good things about the company and they seemed like they cared about their customers. Everything seemed well. That is until I actually had to use my insurance. I was in a motor accident at 55 miles per hour at 10 pm at night. A deer jumped in front of me on the highway and was right in front of me. I had little time to react. It was a terrible situation that went worse when I panic swerved before I had time to actually process what was going on.

Long story short I ended up slamming into a electric pole. There was nothing left of the electric pole. Air bags deployed my truck is mangled but at this point I am happy to be alive. An ambulance came and checked me out and said to keep an eye on everything and make sure the pain does not get any worse. My truck was towed away and I filed a claim with USAA the following day. They reassured me not to worry I am in good hands.

A couple days passed and USAA told me before I go to the doctor or hospital to give them a call first. That Saturday the pain in my ribs was so bad that I had to go to the hospital. However before I could go in I had to call my insurance as they stated or it may not be covered. In extreme pain I called them and went through the terrible process they implemented before I could be seen and was told a agent would call me on Monday. A week passed and still they never called to see how I was. Clearly they do not care.

I requested to be available during the inspection and was told I would receive a call. However 4 days later I received a email stating the vehicle was done and they are doing a front frame sectioning on my truck even though there is visible damage on the frame elsewhere and they are leaving it anyway. They tell me it was a minor accident. My entire front end of my truck is gone. The drive train components are all messed up and the appraiser they sent out didn't even know what he was doing. After all he is a paintless dent repairman, it even said this on his appraisal. Also he said he requested to have roughly 3 ft of frame cut from the truck and replaced. I explained to him that this is not what he requested for in his appraisal he sent me. He argued it is. I showed him the part number as well as the part from General Motors website and he said wait a moment and walked into the bodyshop for half an hour. He finally returned only to say he was wrong. Earlier before this he said this is a all new procedure. Before this procedure they just replaced the entire frame. Now that he was caught in a lie he said they used to replace 3 to 4 ft of frame but now its like 13 inches of frame they replace.

I explained my concerns about safety and he just did not care. He refused to have any heart at all. I even showed him the tear in the frame that would be left unfixed and he said oh that is nothing to worry about at all. I explain how a frame sectioning can change the deployment of the airbag and he continued with this procedure would not be in place if GM did not recommend it. Again General Motors recommends this for minor fender benders. Their instructions are to cut away the bad part of the frame. However I have about 3 feet of bad frame. The sectioning is roughly 12 inches of frame. The appraiser USAA sent to represent them did not care one bit.

He finally told me he would be right back and he would see what he could do. After a little more than an hour and him not coming back I walked to the front of the building and noticed his vehicle was gone. I then searched online for Doss and Associates which is him, one man only to find out he has a one star and no positive reviews. I see why. I called him and asked if he was still there and he said no he had something come up and had to leave. Just like that he left me outside waiting for over an hour. I asked what he was going to do about the tear in the frame and he said nothing. His recommendation will not change.

I asked about the integrity of the frame and was told over and over it will be back to pre accident condtion. However they are cutting a section out and making 2 new welds in the frame. They left a tear in the frame and multiple cracks in the back which he told me my accident free truck had preexisting. He was rude and when I asked what I should do if I let them fix it and in the future get into a accident and my airbag does not deploy on time. I am told to file a lawsuit with the shop who does the work and it is their fault not his. I asked what if I am killed in the accident due to the airbag not deploying at the right time and he says well then a family member will have to file a lawsuit. These are the companys USAA hire to represent them.

Also on the phone with USAA has been a total nightmare. They never have someone who can actually do something. I have been told for over a week I would get 4 different calls. However, I didn't get a single call until I told USAA the injury specialist never called me a week ago and threatened legal action. I received a call within 30 minutes.

My truck is not safe and will not be safe and USAA does not care. All they care about is staying profitable even if it means doing a terrible job fixing customers vehicles and not making them safe. They would rather lose a small percent of their customers due to deaths from their negligence and refusal to return a vehicle to pre existing accident condition and save money putting customers back into unsafe vehicles. I wish I had never switched to this terrible company and I warn you all. Call reps are rude. They hang up on you. They say you will get a phone call just to get you off the phone. They have no real abilities to help you at all and ignore the estimates of other body shops.

Replies
My biggest mistake in years, joining USAA
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- I recently enrolled into USAA. I opened a savings account and moved several thousand into that account. I talked to a financial adviser and created an IRA into which to rollover my 401k. I then initiated the rollover, which hadn't occurred at the time that this happened.

This morning I attempted to login and found that I was locked out. I contacted support and after MANY handoffs I learned that USAA has decided that I was doing something fraudulent. They will do no business with me, and they won't explain the decision. And there is no way to have them reconsider that decision. They closed all accounts and restricted all access.

So now I have 10,000 in a savings account that I can't reach and I had a rollover started into this IRA. Fortunately I was able to cancel the rollover. What a nightmare this would have been had the rollover been done.

When they decided to cancel my account they made no effort to reach out to me. What a mess!

They told me on the phone that it was not possible to tell me why they think I am doing something fraudulent. Everything I told them was 100% truthful.

Also, their web software is extremely buggy. I attempted three separate operations online on three separate days. All three operations failed due to buggy software (becoming a member, opening savings account, changing profile). I kept encountering pages in which the "Next" button would not work. All three operations had to be done via phone. I complained about the terrible software and think that my complaints may have prompted my problems.

Was on the phone many times and spent most of that time listening to their USAA jingle.

I strongly suggest that you avoid USAA. This was my biggest mistake in many years.

Replies
Usaa Is A Horrible Organization - Not Military Friendly
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I am a retired 27-year Air Force member who had USAA about 7 - 8 years ago. I had mistakenly added my step-son on to my auto insurance 1 week prior to actually being married. He had gotten into an accident and reported it to USAA. USAA discovered he was not actually eligible for the auto insurance because his mother and I weren't married at that particular time and the dropped me. 7-8 year later I tried to see if I could resolve the issue and USAA treated me like a common criminal. The representative told me they would not discuss allowing me to be a member because of this issue.

When I asked if I could speak to someone the representative simply ignored me and remained silent. They tout themselves as a benefit to the military, but if you accidentally make a mistake they have NO SYMPATHY and will not work with you to bring you back into good standing. My advice to all military is NEVER make a mistake with USAA. If you do they will treat you like a common terrorist or less than human. HORRIBLE ORGANIZATION! NOT A MILITARY FRIENDLY ORGANIZATION!

Replies
Advertisement
Accident Claim Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENSACOLA, FLORIDA -- I was hit while stopped at red light. The other driver was ticketed and was deemed 100% at fault. I was wearing my seat belt. I received serious injuries to back including a displaced disc and a bulging disc due to accident. After a year and a half of chiropractic care and injections in my spine to relieve pain as well as taking pain meds, I was advised by my attorney that it was time to start the process of suing for my injuries. I decided not to opt for surgery as an orthopedic surgeon friend of mine told me that surgery could leave me in worst shape than I was currently in.

I was sending all bills related to my accident to my attorney since the accident. During the first sit down with my attorney he asked me if I had checked my credit any time recently. I told him no. He said I would be greatly disappointed. Florida is a no fault state and USAA was responsible for paying the first 20,000 thousand dollars of expenses in a car accident independent of who was at fault. He said he forwarded all bill he received including the ones I gave to him, and USAA had not paid the first dollars worth. He said my credit was shot big time. I told him that had to be impossible.

He then with a tone of anger that USAA was notorious for not paying. He then directed me to two stacks on a desk behind the desk he was sitting in. One stack was about 6 inches high and another over two feet high. All were cases where he had to sue insurance companies for not paying the immediate costs as required by the state of Florida under no fault insurance. He said the 2 foot plus stack was USAA insured clients and the 6 inch stack was all the other insurance companies combined. I could not believe it. He said he would send USAA notice that he was going to sue them for said costs.

Shortly after him doing so he called me and said I had an appointment to be examined by a doctor as I was being questioned as to the validity of my injuries. My attorney had collected reports from all doctors concerned and I was surprised that this was even an issue. I thought it was expected as the other insurance company was trying to deny any responsibility for my claims.

I showed up at the given time and place and was seen by a chiropractic doctor instead of an MD. He saw me for a total of fifteen minutes, examined me and told me he was finished. Some two weeks later my attorney handed me a detailed description of numerous test that had not been performed over a two hour period that stated I was in perfect health and they were denying any claims I was making and they would not pay a dime. I was in total shock.

And then I was even further in disbelief when was told that it was not the other insurance company that ordered this test, my own insurance company, USAA, that did so. They were trying to get out of paying the initial PIP payments required by the State of Florida even though they would be reimbursed by the guilty party's insurance company when the matter was finally solved.

My attorney said USAA was absolutely the worst insurance company he ever had to deal with. Shortly thereafter the other insurance company settled the claim for the price asked by my attorney, with no trouble whatsoever. USAA destroyed my credit for years to come, & tried to pay nothing even though they would be reimbursed for every single dollar paid. Needless to say I switched to the other insurance company. USAA is TERRIBLE.

Replies
It Has Been 18 Months And I Still Have An Open Theft Claim And A House The City Would Condemn
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN ANTONIO, TX, MISSOURI -- Please forgive any typos. I am working with a broken laptop. This is the 4th time that I have typed and lost all of my information. First round of asking for help. On 6/26/11, I walked into my home to find that it had been burglarized. I had been in and out of town, and it is an unusual case, as the police say that someone had been living in my home.

I have an insurance policy with USAA insurance. I have been through 4 or 5 adjusters; I have given way too much information about my life, I provided information from slavery, on all four sides of the family until now, as I was asked by one adjuster, and I have it in writing, "How could people of color afford such things?" and that of my February of 2008 to help care for my mother.

Janice, my mother, passed away in July of 2008. She had renters insurance in my home. My sister, Holly and I cared for my Grandmother at home until my sister moved back to Michigan to work for the Department of Commerce in October 2009. I stayed in Missouri and worked for US Bank through Kelly. After my job ended, I traveled around. I helped my sister pack up her apartment in Michigan and move to Atlanta, GA in January 2011. The home was never vacant for more than a few weeks.

I traveled back and forth between, Michigan, Georgia, and Missouri. In February of this year, my step-grandmother, who had lived in my home until she went to Beauvais, after my mother's passing (she lived in my home, until October 2009, at that point she moved to Beauvais nursing home, on Magnolia, in Saint Louis, MO) in February she passed away.

On the same date of her funeral in March, my maiden aunt, Barbara left the funeral for the emergency room, where she was diagnosed with Uterine Cancer and subsequently had surgery. She has been going through chemotherapy and my sister Holly and I have been up and down the highways taking care of her, as we both work to rebuild our lives. Again, the home was my primary residence and was never vacant for more than a few weeks. On June 26, 2011, I returned to my home to find that it had not only been burglarized, but it appeared to have been lived in.

A realtor who was selling a home down the street had a sign in our yard, with a for sale sign, with the arrow pointing to a home down the street (it gave the appearance that my home was for sale). At one point, I let the mail collect when I was caring for my aunt, and the post office put a vacant sign on the mail box. We think that this is when thieves moved in and burglarized and trashed the place.

I have neighbors who have witnessed strange people and reported this to the police on the day of the burglary and have called twice since to report people lurking about my home. My mother was an OCD neat freak and the house was so torn apart that it looks like an episode of Hoarders. I had many high-end handbags, as did my mother, lots of crystal, and jewelry. I inherited a lot from my mother and grandmother.

I have answered questions about my lifestyle, worked with USAA's insurance investigator. I have receipts for over $14,000 of jewelry that I purchased when I worked on Wall Street. I have bank statements of things that I owned, credit card statements of what my mother owned, and copies of credit cards that my grandmother had. I have provided pictures.

My sister Holly has answered questions (she had to establish that she had a home in Michigan), answer questions about what she received and why it looked like I had more (I did not, Holly's things were not stolen, mine were). My mattresses have been slashed, the fridge broken, the oven broken, thousands of gnats in my home, as USAA asked me to keep the broken fridge, as I went through 5 claims people. I thought that I provided way too much information on.

In some instances, I have the receipts for items, pictures, and have located them on the bank statements and have been asked to provide more documentation. My home is unlivable. If the city came in they would condemn it, the thieves left urine, chemicals (perhaps Meth) fecal matter, and more all over the entire house. The house was black and thick with gnats. 18 bug bombs later, millions of gnat bodies covered everything in my home, and the poison permeated everything.

And now my aunt, in addition to the chemotherapy that she is enduring, has diabetic issues, that may cause her to lose her legs. As an update, her leg was amputated, and she has since died. My sister Holly and I are her only relatives. After the tornado, here in Saint Louis, I looked at my policy and upgraded it.

USAA sent a letter to homeowners advising that we do so. I think that between what I purchased, what my grandmother and my mother left me, I had $100,000 in jewelry. I may have had $10,000-$45,000 in jewelry coverage, when I upgraded the policy, I added the jewelry on. USAA sent a letter that do to my credit. They were disallowing the jewelry coverage.

After reading my policy I pointed out to my public adjuster that this was illegal in the state of Missouri, over $20,000 in silver was taken. I may have had $10,000 in coverage, it would depend on how the multiple policies that I paid on the same residence plays out. I had a total of $299,000 for one policy of coverage for personal items and with damages. My claim may be between $270,000 - $280,000. The claims investigator is telling me everything is in the hands of the adjuster, just get in my receipts and pictures, and the adjuster is stalling that he must turn everything over to the investigator first.

I have spent me, that should have been spent on family and getting my home and life back in order jumping through hoops. I would like to retain your services, as I have made a commitment to communication with USAA Part, get everything to the claims investigator and the insurance company over the weekend. I do not want to do this all in vain. I feel like I have been violated twice. You have a good reputation on and I would like to hire your firm to assist me in finishing this claim.

I was contacted this morning, Friday, September 30, 2011 by another Claims Investigator, out of Las Vegas. This will be my 3rd claims investigator assigned to my case. To date, I have only spoken to one, Kyle, and I no longer feel comfortable communicating with the insurance company without someone on my side. I have had coverage with USAA since 2006, however, the day after the tornado in Saint Louis, I updated the policy. As you will note, I did not adequate jewelry, silver, or fur coverage. Second round of asking for help Details of complaint: My original policy began with USAA in 2007.

Since my emails to Mary the state of Missouri Department of Insurance Regulation. They have not been able to help much either way, to date, although USAA has retaliated, and although they have stalled, said they were too busy with other perils of nature, they are now trying to put me out on the street, although my home is unlivable, and put me out for Christmas and New Years. They also went in and purged much of the data off of my web account, including emails and policies. All the policies have been purged.

I purchased this home in 2005. At the time I lived in New York and had renters insurance on my New York Apartment, my mother lived in the house full time I traveled with my job and I had a policy on the house. In October 2007, my mother was diagnosed with ALS, Lou Gehrig's. My sister lived in Michigan and had a ranch style condo covered through USAA. All USAA policies held by my sister, my mother, and myself, fell under my dad, Ronald.

My sister walked away from her job to care for my mother. During that period the pipes burst. USAA paid her about $15,000 and then dropped her, and her claim, stating that there was an invoice from the cleaners that had a weight on the Unsavable clothing they returned to her. For that reason they dropped her claim, stating that she added an Unsavable clothing box, even though USAA sent her the invoices. They closed her banking account, everything. As my sister was the only one caring for my mother, she lost everything and had to declare chapter 7.

My Dad, a diehard ex-military man had USAA on his two homes and 5 or 6 cars. There was never a claim. On February 14, 2008 I walked away from my job in New York to help care for my mother. I notified USAA. In July 2008 my mother, a nurse, passed away. I notified USAA and continued to care for my grandmother in my home until October 2009. At that time my sister got a job, as the assistant manager for quality assurance in Dearborn, MI. She did not have much to move, as she lost everything to water and mold when the pipes in her home in Michigan broke in several locations.

Holly got a Uhaul and moved her things to Michigan. Holly has a lease, a business card, and paperwork, from December 2010 where the moving company picked up her furniture for storage, and then where to deliver it when she found a place in Georgia. My grandmother was 110, she loved Xmas. We left the Xmas tree and lights up from Xmas 2010 and had a special 2nd Xmas for her and my Aunt Barbara, the cancer, in February 2011.

Holly and I actually missed the first Xmas in December, we were in Michigan packing her apartment. Lena was staying in Beauvais Manor by that time, but she could come for a day home as well as my aunt who was utilizing rehab to get better. My step-grandmother is in the photo below along with how the house looked just months prior to the break in. There was a lot of sorrow. We lost my mother in July 2008, my sister Holly paternal Grandmother (who always treated me as a grandmother) six weeks later.

In October, 2008 we lost Holly's paternal Uncle. Then in July 2009 we lost Holly's paternal, youngest aunt, it was just too much. Holly's job was over, I came to Michigan for a while in April, I had been working for US Bank in Saint Louis and working through Kelly Services so I was in the home alone. Holly decided to move to Atlanta. Her things were picked up by the movers and were to be placed in storage until she found a home in Atlanta. All this information was given to USAA.

After the death of my grandmother, on the very same day as her funeral, my Aunt Barbara was diagnosed with Uterine Cancer. Literally, we left the funeral for the emergency room. My aunt had surgery. After a recovery period she was to start chemotherapy. I joined Holly, who was living at an extended stay hotel to find a home. She decided to find something that my aunt could stay in. I went to Michigan with her, helped drive the car from Michigan to Atlanta, and we looked for a place for her to live.

After finding one, we returned to Saint Louis as my aunt was starting chemotherapy or had started and I was taking her to her chemo sessions. So I was back and forth out of town a few times. I do know that in April there was a major tornado that hit Saint Louis, Missouri and ripped the roof off of the airport and left devastation following highway 270.

I received a letter from USAA about the tornadoes and asking if I had enough coverage. I really took that to heart and I changed my policy. The primary changes were for the structure of the house, but I did add a jewelry Ryder. I inherited much from my maternal Grandmother, my maternal step-Grandmother (she is the one who passed in February 2011) and my mother, as well as my own things.

I received a call asking if I was going to cancel the other policies on the home and the renters insurance. I let them know that had been canceled long ago. The customer service person indicated it was not. USAA will not send a copy of this update. I did add $40-$45k in jewelry coverage and was still woefully under covered.

I received a letter stating that due to my credit history, which took a traumatic hit during my mother's illness, the policy was changed. What I did not know was that I continued to pay for 3 policies after USAA was told time and time and time again. After the report of the theft, I was under investigation for 6 months. I was never notified officially and I cooperated spending time, that I was told that I would be reimbursed for, due to my cooperation. I was paying out of pocket for everything.

I sought assistance and got a Public Adjuster Inman and Associates, who have been a sad disappointment. It has been 18 months since my claim. Missouri law and my own policy have not been followed. Since USAA does not give money back, but gleefully took it and continues to take it, then I should have additional coverage. As credit score cannot be utilized in Missouri, my jewelry rider should be acknowledged. USAA has had a spreadsheet of stolen items for 6 or 7 months. The public adjuster and C are still ambling around on the dwelling. This is my claim and I want to replace my stolen items. I would like my ALE that is due.

This company has put such a financial strain on me that it has taken its toll on me, my sister, and my aunt, who passed away November 19. Additional family members six of seven have passed away during this time. Our Aunt was our mother's older sister. I do not want to spend another Thanksgiving (which ended up being a trek to get my aunt's body. Medicare wanted to know after her amputation that she had a place to go (prior to all of this she lived on her home). Barbara had too many steps to return to my home and it has been 18 months and Josh is in charge of stolen items.

It has been 18 months since the theft. The criminals were living in the home, they defecated, urinated, stole the motors or some workers from all 3 fridges in the home. Since it took USAA 3 months to come to the house it was filled, like a horror movie, with millions of gnats. Over 18 bug bombs were set off, there are gnat bodies and poison in everything. The police found tons of medicine boxes and pots with stuff stuck in them, I was told my home was possibly used for meth.

ARRS the restoration service deemed almost everything as unusable. Now USAA is questioning ARRS and there has been no movement on the home. Furniture that was in the home was broken and almost ALL household items placed in the garage. The gnats are back. If items were save-able, they are not now. All furniture in the home down to the dishes were purchased new when I bought the house for my mother.

Her partner and fiancé had died and this was a new beginning. The only things not new, were the dining room set, the master bedroom set and the 2nd bedroom set and one television in the basement. All other furniture was purchased in 2005 along with the carpet for the basement. Except for the China, all dishes, mixers, toaster, microwave, pots, pans dinette set, living room furniture, basement furniture and patio furniture were new. As well as all decorations.

My grandfather fought in WWII, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War. There were many heirlooms that he sent home. I had photos and I had to show what I inherited verses my sister. There was much silver, Waterford, and Japanese ivory and such, there are pictures of the items in the home, and I had to account why I had photographs of the items and the photographs were clearly years old.

USAA has put me in a financial bind. I could lose this home. I want to know why we cannot work on replacement of theft which is what I asked for from day one, the house really needs to be gutted, disinfected and fixed. I need to know how much I have in coverage since I was paying for 3 policies. I have read the policy and found all the breaches, not Inman and Associates, my public adjusters, they seem to be inept. I am begging for any assistance as rules in my policy have been ignored, Missouri law, and it is 18 months, this is crazy.

I don't want to live in a hotel anymore. I want funds immediately for replacement of stolen items and a clear answer of how much coverage I have since I was paying for 3 policies until 6 or 7 months ago. I will email all information instead of attaching it. USAA has been busy since I contacted you purging documents that have been on file since 2007. I believe Josh, the San Antonio Adjuster for USAA may have gotten rid of everything with his name on it.

My Aunt Barbara died, her memorial service was Friday, December 14, 2012 and according to Chris and his boss Kevin, USAA adjuster and his supervisor, they are trying to put me out, even though I have unlimited Dwelling, and it was USAA dragging their feet, and then on the theft, I have about $ 50,000 in replacement receipts, USAA gave me $20,000 against the theft, now Josh is saying not one more dime until the CLAIM is ESTABLISHED. What have they been doing for almost two years?

Update: USAA stopped paying for my dwelling, although I have unlimited dwelling. It has been established that from 2007-2012 I was paying multiple policies on the same home. The city has condemned the home and I am seeking a lawyer and media coverage.

Replies
USAA should not be allowed to sell car insurance in Florida
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN ANTONIO, FLORIDA -- July 15, 2018

I am making a formal complaint about a claim I have with USAA Auto Insurance Company.

Background

On May 23, 2018, my car (2008 Ford Mustang), was struck in Jacksonville, FL.
The driver of the other vehicle was charged with running a red light and was insured by USAA. No charges were made against me.

USAA was notified by both parties on that day and USAA reported to that they would handle the claim and issued a claim number.

Since that phone call, I tried contacting USAA several times and left several messages, and they did not returned my calls. Neither did they send a claim adjuster to review the damages nor make an offer to repair the damages.

After reporting USAA to the Better Business Bureau on June 24, I received an email from the Office of the CEO at USAA (on the evening of June 26) requesting my USAA claim number. That information was emailed on the morning of June 27. Since that time, I have been contacted by several people at USAA (by voice messenger). I returned their calls shortly after I receiving them, but none of my voices messages were returned to discuss my claim.

On July 6, I was requested to resend the estimated cost of repairs and photographs of the damages, which on did on July 6.

Seven weeks after the accident, my repairs were completed on July 12, and I paid the repair shop (which is on USAA's approved list of approved repair shops) $9,259. On July 13, USAA's Total Lost and Salvage Claims Division notified me that the value of my car was worth only $5,639 and they would be willing to pay that amount if I gave them title of the Mustang.

In Summary

It took USAA over 7 weeks to notify me what portion of the damages they were willing to pay. I waited nearly 3 weeks before I started the repair work, and the Mustang was in the garage for nearly 5 weeks for repairs. After over 7 weeks since the accident, USAA finally prepared an estimate, as to what they were willing to pay for the collision. During that 50 day period, USAA neither made an offer for a car rental nor to offer compensation for the inconvenience of not having the use of a car for 50 days.

Recommendation

USAA should not be allowed to sell insurance in the state of Florida.

Thomas R
(I am a disabled veteran)

Replies
No service on my claim after over a month
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- June 24, 2018

I am making a formal complaint about a claim I have with USAA Auto Insurance Company.

Background

On May 23, 2018, my car (2008 Ford Mustang), was struck in Jacksonville, FL.

The driver of the other vehicle was charged with running a red light and was insured by USAA. No charges were made against me.

USAA was notified by both parties on that day and USAA reported to that they would handle the claim.

Since that phone call, I have tried contacting USAA several times and left several messages, and they have not returned my calls. They have neither sent a claim adjuster to review the damages nor have they made an offer to repair the damages.

My out of pocket costs for the repairs will be $9,200 when the repairs are completed. I have been without a car for over a month.

Recommendation

USAA should not be allowed to sell insurance in the state of Florida.

Thomas F. Riley
(I am a veteran)

Replies
Advertisement
Incompetent Management
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- Earlier this month, I decided to switch my primary bank account to be USAA. Upon that decision, I closed my other checking account, and submitted for new direct deposit with my company. However, it was too late in the pay period, and instead of direct deposit, they gave me a payroll check. With the payroll check, they gave me my bonus check, both from Paylocity (a very large, easily verifiable payroll company.)

I went to deposit these checks in an ATM around 4:30pm on January 20th. When I got my deposit receipt, it noted that I would have $500.00 available for immediate use. Naturally, I scheduled a few bills that were due to be taken out the following day. When I went to look the following day, much to my surprise the $500.00 that had been available was also on hold, and that the entirety of the money would be on hold until February 2nd, which is 13 days, or 8 business days and completely unreasonable.

I contacted the bank to find out what was going on, and they said that sometimes the available amount changes (which doesn't make much sense.) I spoke with a supervisor who said that any payments that had already gone through would not be reversed. I filed a grievance with USAA online, and waited for someone to contact me.

Over the weekend I checked on the account and, lo and behold, all of the bills that had been paid were reversed (including one for another USAA account) despite the Supervisor telling me they would not be reversed. USAA also charged me $15.00 for the account that the charges had been reversed on. Both AT&T and Chase also charged return payment fees.

Finally, on January 25th a person from the CEO & Executive Staff Offices called me back. He barely discussed the fact that the funds were made available, and then the availability rescinded, AND the supervisor giving me incorrect information. Instead he said that he would “investigate” and that he would “hopefully” get back to me by week's end, which would be the 29th – NINE days after the deposits were made. I told him that I needed these bills paid, and asked that he release the funds on February 1st, just ONE day sooner than the scheduled date. He was INCREDIBLY rude, and said that he could release the funds, but he wouldn't because that would mean he has to do it for everyone. The man told me multiple times that he was as high as I was going to get in the company, and that no one else would help me. Basically he said he can help, but he won't. He also hung up on me, and did not actually assist with my complaint.

I doubt that USAA will do the right thing and make the funds available within a reasonable timeline, or pay for the fees incurred due to their Supervisor giving out inaccurate information. That's just the kind of company this is. As of now, nothing has been resolved.

Replies
Company Has Changed
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

I've been with USAA for over 33 years. Throughout this time I've had 4 auto claims (2 hit by others) and 2 home claims (hail storm damage to roof of house). Claims in the past have been handled from great to not so good. If the claim was against another insurance company and I went through USAA for my vehicle, they have paid basically Kelley Bluebook or better. Other auto claims (vehicle hydroplaned on wet road, no one else involved) USAA offered me approx. 30% less than Kelley Bluebook. I had to battle with them to get the vehicle up near Kelley Bluebook.

I'm currently going through an auto claim, not at fault, and once again USAA is offering me 40% less than Kelley Bluebook. They use a company called CCC One to determine the "fair market value". This company has reportedly had over 10 class action law suits filed against them for unfair market value process. When I approached USAA about the numerous errors in CCC One's process on my vehicle, i.e. allowing .03 cents per mile comparable vehicles but only allowing .01 cents per mile for my vehicle, they simply stated "we stand by CCC One's value AND PROCESS".

Google CCC One for yourself. I've been paying full coverage on my vehicle for over 10 years, when it wasn't needed (I owe nothing on it), and my rates have climbed $10-$20 per vehicle every year only to be offered 60% of the average value according to both Kelley Bluebook and NADA and when compared to local like vehicles. I will be cancelling my auto insurance (5 vehicles, home owners and condo insurance) as soon as this is settled. Sure their rates are low, but now it makes sense, you're only going to get 60% of what you should. BEWARE!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

USAA Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 41 ratings and
81 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
USAA
9800 Fredericksburg Road
San Antonio, TX 78288
210-531-8722 (ph)
www.usaa.com
Compare Banks