Preview Review

Next Review

United States Postal Service Priority Mail Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Priority Mail Not Delivered. Insurance Not Honored.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I mailed medical records including a DVD of images by USPS priority mail in order to hasten their arrival at the physician's office in Las Cruces, NM. Instead, ten days later the USPS delivered the packet somewhere in El Paso, TX-- they cannot say where. When I filed a claim for the $50 of insurance, they denied the value of the package and refused even to refund the cost of mailing. What good is tracking if they cannot tell where they delivered it? What good is insurance if it doesn't cover losses? I will be sure to send anything important through a private delivery service in the future.

Replies
Advertisement
Missing Priority Mail Package
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I sent a Priority Mail package (with a tracking number) from my local post office in California to Tennessee on May 14. It is now May 30, and I still don't know what happened to my package. When my package was not delivered within the specified time, I made an inquiry at my local post office. The local post office sent me to the 800 number, the 800 number sent me to the missing mail website, the missing mail website referred me back to my local post office, and my local post office referred me back to the 800 number AGAIN.

'Round and 'round it goes. I contacted the Tennessee post office who referred me to a missing mail number with an automated answering service (no human available). I left a message on the automated answering service and have heard nothing. I am living a bureaucratic nightmare. Somebody please help me.

Replies
Priority Mail
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MINNESOTA -- United States Postal Office "Priority Mail" is nothing more than a scam. As of today April 20, 2018 I am still waiting for my package that was shipped on April 16 from 4 states away. USPS just doesn't care anymore... Some days (like yesterday April 19) a mailman does not even show up in my neighborhood. That's right... NO ONE in my neighborhood received any mail. Seems like they have the same not give-a-crap attitude of most other businesses in today's world.

Replies
USPS - Greatest Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NYC, NEW YORK -- USPS ruined my life by not knowing where my package was up till now. A priority mail that contain original documents of Nigeria passport with valid UK Visa, green card, state ID, school ID, Tax documents, Bank information document and other personal documents has not been found since 3 weeks now.

The package was sent on 04/11/2016 at Brooklyn post office NYC which suppose to be delivered within 2-3 days to Arkansas State in Rogers. Was reported not found and lost after many calls. The package has a tracking number that was last scan at the origin facility metro NYC since April 11. To be honest do not actually know where to go from here, am stuck and confused. How can recover my documents, do I have to filed police report on this?

Replies
Advertisement
Priotity Mail Is a Ripoff.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PEMBROKE PINES -- I mailed my package on a Saturday. The label states that delivery will be on Monday (they refer to this as 1-day service because Sundays don't count). Tracking showed it was out for delivery at 10 AM on Monday. The first delivery attempt was at 7:54 PM. Tracking stated "BUSINESS CLOSED." Really? A business is closed at 6 minutes to eight PM. And it was on the truck for nearly 10 hours.

One would think that the Postal Service would attempt to deliver to a business during regular BUSINESS hours. Priority Mail is not a guaranteed service, so I have to eat the $8.55 for what will amount to 3-day delivery (I DO count Sundays). For less than a dollar more, I could have used UPS. Does that make me as stupid as the U.S. Postal circus?

Replies
Priority Mail Sent to MA Took 7 Days
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAKEWOOD, NEW JERSEY -- I mailed a Priority Mail Flat Rate envelope to my granddaughter in Salem MA on 12-20-2016. There has been no tracking info and all week the tracking said that label was made but no other info. After calls to Post Offices here and there - it showed up today (7 days later) and the very first tracking info was today - that it was delivered - up until today, it did not show in system or by tracking. What a scam and a ruse to get you to pay more.

I sent a card to the same address and it got there the very next day. You can't even get the money back for their scam. Luckily my granddaughter is a sweetie and told me that it was okay. Don't EVER depend on Priority Mail - I am finished - going to UPS where I KNOW the package is tracked carefully. I have had a stressful holiday because the USPS is inept and dishonest.

Replies
Delivery of Priority Mail Is NOT a Priority of the USPS
By -

Last December (2009) I was caring for my parents who were both recovering from major operations. I had been mailing via Priority Mail through the USPS, keepsakes and other personal items from my childhood and teenage years back to my home in Georgia. When each package arrived my wife questioned the manner in which I had packaged each box before mailing. She would then inform me that upon arrival each package would be damaged, and beat up with the contents spilling out from damaged seams.

On the last day of my trip I went against my better judgment, and again utilized the United States Postal Service to ship my package, this time I insured my package for $200 and again shipped it priority mail. The box contained a gift from a friend that I hadn't seen since high school, and several VHS home videos of relatives and friends who are no longer living.

To summarize the story my 'Priority Package' that I insured weighed 5 pounds when I sent it, and when it arrived a week later the box had been split on one side and re-taped, the irreplaceable contents were GONE. What was left in its place was a broken cable modem, and pile of papers from someone's class notes from school. I filed a complaint, and after further investigation I learned that Atlanta is the USPS national location to send all 'Lost' items.

Learned that all unclaimed and lost items are auctioned off to the highest bidder at a warehouse on the other side of the city. I made a visit to this warehouse in hopes of finding my belongings. I spoke with one of the employees who will remain nameless.

She told me, "If I sent something through the mail and the contents such as my home movie had no return name or address then it is thrown into the garbage." I asked if there was a way to look for my property or person to speak with about getting permission to search through the lost and found items, and was told NO, the USPS doesn't allow citizens to search for their lost items. The woman apologized for my loss.

I sat through the auction for just a few minutes because that's all that I could stomach, I just couldn't bear the thought of knowing that my families irreplaceable home videos are gone forever. To make matters worse the only money that has been forwarded to me was for the cost to send the package and the cost of the insurance. The USPS claims department has said, that since I don't have a receipt(s) for the VHS video's and other personal items they 'will not' reimburse me for my loss.

That was the day I vowed to my wife, "That whenever I have to mail another envelope I will pay the additional cost and send my mail via United Parcel Service, or Federal Express. The United States Postal Service deserves to go bankrupt because of their incompetence.

Replies
USPS 2-3 Day Priority Mail
By -

I ordered an item on Friday, July 16, 2010. The only shipping option was USPS Priority Mail. I even offered to pay for Federal Express shipping, but the vendor only uses USPS Priority Mail. I knew I would be in for trouble, but hoped for the best. As of today, no package. I just spoke to a USPS customer representative, who was apologetic, and I thanked her. They now tell me it is only an estimation of delivery, but it could actually take up to, two full weeks for USPS Priority Mail delivery. I asked her, then why do they call it Priority?? She did not have an answer, and I do not blame her. She does not own USPS, nor does she make the rules.

I am only in Colorado. The package was shipped from Chicago. Apparently my package left Chicago on July 17th, at 1:59AM. After that, no tracking information until today, which now shows, package left Chicago, on July 21st, at 1:59AM. Basically, it's the waiting game now; Processed through Sort Facility, July 21, 2010, 1:59 am, CHICAGO, IL 60701; Processed through Sort Facility, July 17, 2010, 1:59 am, CHICAGO, IL 60701; Electronic Shipping Info Received, July 16, 2010.

The package was physically shipped out on July 16th, yet now it's on a mystery journey somewhere, most likely touring Chicago. I wonder how USPS actually is able to have mail delivered out of the United States, after all, they seem to have plenty of trouble just delivering inside our country. I understand they are delivering millions of packages a day, as well as the regular mail, flyers, magazines, etc., but it seems every time I have something shipped United States Priority Mail, there is a problem. This isn't the first problem, and unfortunately, it will not be the last.

Replies
Advertisement
Priority Mail Is a Joke!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DURHAM, NORTH CAROLINA -- A letter was mail to me on a Friday using the United States Postal Service Priority Mail Service for $6.00. As of the following Wednesday it still has not arrived. When you call the 800-222-1811 the hold time is 40-50 minutes. I held for 41 minutes and no one ever answered. It's really a ripoff. They could have just put a 50 cents stamp on it and got it here quicker. Don't waste your time if you're expecting quick delivery service.

Replies
Priority Mail Not a Priority
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SPRING LAKE, NORTH CAROLINA -- Mailed a Priority Flat Rate Envelope from Spring Lake, NC to Opelika AL. Expected it to be delivered no later than 10/22/17. Even the receipt says it should be delivered on 10/21. Today, 10/22, tracking shows it still in transit to the its destination city. What a rip-off. They charge for priority and handle it like routine mail and, from what I found, I can't even ask for a refund or partial refund. A USPS scam. Next time UPS. USPS is not reliable. No wonder they're going broke and always want to raise their prices.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

United States Postal Service Priority Mail Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 19 ratings and
47 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
United States Postal Service
475 L'Efant Plaza
South West Washington, DC 20260-0010
202-268-2500 (ph)
202-268-4860 (fax)
www.usps.com
Product/Services
Compare Delivery Services