Preview Review

Next Review

Verizon Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Off-the-Wall, Unhinged, Cynical and Exploitative
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JASPER, TEXAS -- (Note: You cut off my service beginning of December, approx. the 10th I believe, but you continue to bill me!) I am extremely astonished at the way Verizon continues to harass and attempt to extort me. As it appears there is no resolution in sight, as it appears the situation is escalating, and as Verizon fundamentally and cynically does not care about its customers, I am documenting my grievances.

It appears now more likely than ever that this matter will escalate into a lawsuit from me against three parties, to wit: A) Verizon, B) your appointed agent, “Mobile Destination”, C) the MD Retail Sales Manager, ** at **, Jasper, TX, 75951. I therefore raise for your records and mine these aspects of what is becoming something of an Olympian farce.

I had ongoing problems with Wi-Fi charges and service from Verizon. Previously I never paid more than $100 a month for Internet service from your competitors. The Verizon charges were through the roof. Low earth orbit, in fact. I was initially told by staff at the Mobile Destination office at **, TX 75951 that a data package of 10 GB was enough for most people. It was not. I was getting overage charges. After a while, I was advised 20 GB should be enough. Time went by. It was not. I was getting overage charges. I was advised to check with technical services.

I spoke on the phone numerous times with the service desk. They were seemingly sympathetic, but never called me back. A waste of time, as far as I could see. I was back and forth to the shop at **, TX. There I would spend time waiting, and then the assistants, all of whom were pleasant, with the exception of **, would dial up the account, do things I did not understand on their computer screens, wait for connections (they were always complaining about how slow their connection speed was) (in your agent's shop?) and, in the end, advise me to call technical support, or up my data plan.

In this way, I ended up at a 30 GB data plan for Wi-Fi. More, and more expensive! 10GB will be enough… 20 GB will be enough… 30GB will be enough…. And STILL the overage charges kept coming in. Sometimes the emails were timed 19 and 20 minutes apart. 2 GB in 19 or 20 minutes? Some expensive Wi-Fi. I was now being told by one of the ladies there, that my Internet charges exceeded costs being incurred by many local businesses. Something had to be wrong.

On November 19, I went into the shop again, and it looked like I was going to have to raise my package once AGAIN. From 30 GB up to the next level. It was now becoming outrageously expensive. I asked for the Manager, because I wanted to seriously get to the bottom of what was going on. Several of the assistants had asked me if somebody might have my password, and be using my account, because the charges were so high.

This interview with ** on November 19, 2015, I will now describe. It was simply unhinged. Off the wall. I am a 64 year old gentleman, soft spoken, I don't shout, raise my voice, or wave my fists. I am a published author, I read and write voraciously, and I am capable of expressing myself quietly and fluently. I have no urge or inclination to compensate for poor education or poor language skills, by using loud, obscene or threatening language.

** is an unsmiling, un-charming, cold person, who simply does not listen. She has a pre-rehearsed speech in her (limited) repertoire, and it seems she is well used to falling back on this speech. I suspect she uses it a lot. Barely had I walked across, smiled, and spoken ONE sentence about the continuous problems that I was having, then she just hit the nuclear trigger.

I was treated, to my astonishment, to a 4 to 5 minute hysterical tirade, quite unhinged, delivered at decibels, audible around the shop, with other customers present. Playing to the gallery, as it were. I was asked how dare I come in there, shouting and screaming (which I wasn't), how dare I come in there abusing the staff (which I wasn't), how dare I… etc, etc.

We were standing. Her outburst occurred within seconds. I sat down, calmly. Most persons would have interpreted this as a signal that I wished a calm discussion. A person wishing only confrontation would have remained standing. I wished to de-escalate the situation. No dice. **, glaring and angry, remained standing. And ranting. Instantly angry.

Eventually, there was a pause. Phew. All I managed to say quietly was something along the lines of: “Can I say something now…?” And off she went again. Virtually the same tirade as described above. She was now looking very foolish, because clearly, I was not playing the role I was supposed to play. To wit, become angry. I was very calm. Disgusted, but calm.

This bizarre, not even rational cycle repeated five or six times. She would rant on about ‘how dare I come in there, shouting and swearing' (when I wasn't), carry on for five minutes, playing to the gallery (other staff and customers in the shop), and glare furiously at me. I got the impression the lady had some serious issues. I worked in Law Enforcement, and I know how to conduct myself faced with such hysteria. Stay calm.

The situation was ludicrous. We had now gone down the same road at least a half dozen times. I would speak one sentence (“Can I say something now….?”) and ** would trip off on her (customary?) speech. It was now obvious that rational communication was not going to be achieved. I said I would like to speak to her supervisor, and I requested that person's name and telephone number. At that, she became clearly furious, and her face went dark. She spoke a name furiously, which was unintelligible.

No phone number. I said I did not catch the name, could she repeat the name, and give me a phone number. Her reply was that she would get her supervisor to call me. That was not acceptable, but that could be anybody calling, her boyfriend or husband, or whoever. I repeated my request. She repeated that she would get her supervisor to call me.

I decided we were getting nowhere. I saw her visiting card facing me, in a plastic tray. The way you do, when you want customers to take a free card. There is a whole stack of them, facing the “customer”. A droll concept apparently, that ** does not understand. I took one. Big mistake.

She immediately screamed that she wanted her card back. That is was HER card. I was holding it in my hand, and she literally endeavored to reach over and SNATCH the card out of my grip. I slid it quickly in my back pocket. I stayed calm, and assessed. I transported prisoners and high risk felons for years. I sensed the possibility of an assault. She seemed to serious struggle with maintaining her self control. She is a much younger woman, maybe thirty years younger than I (I am 64) and such an assault would have been a serious event, to put it mildly.

I said I wished to speak to her supervisor. To my astonishment (if that were possible, after what I had witnessed so far, she then went off on a rant, and shouted that if I mentioned her name anywhere, she would sue me personally, and take everything I owned, and leave me (sic) “sleeping under a bridge”. She was obviously pleased with that speech, because, for emphasis, it was repeated to me multiple times. The “bridge thing” appears to be a cornerstone of her thinking. Apparently, she “knows a good lawyer”. She may need one.

I was then (high decibels) ORDERED OUT OF THE SHOP. It seemed pointless to stay. I left. I was thus unable to arrange a yet higher rate plan, 40GB I guess, which would have dramatically reduced the overage charges. (cycle ended 23 November) I was there in good time, 4 days before the end of the cycle. I have explained this to various Verizon reps. Yes, I can do that on the Internet, but having spoken to Verizon reps, and the whole charging system being under investigation (so I was told) I thought that was in hand. Apparently not. Pay up, Mister.

I have now explained to a veritable phalanx of “very concerned” Verizon representatives, my concerns. Nothing has been done to address my grievances. The only thing that continues is attempts to collect debt. Total current charges due by December 17 were $553.39 for ONE MONTH. I hardly used the telephone. Most of that is Wi-Fi. Clearly, something is wrong. During that time I started going to the Jasper Public library quite a few times, to use their Wi-Fi for free. No difference. Still charges occurring. There was balance forward due of $370. Combined, this bill dated October 23 – Nov 22 shows accumulated $923.48.

I then spoke by phone to multiple Verizon representatives. That time wasting continues to this day. Some of those calls were an hour long. The Verizon system does not allow full names, or call back phone and extension numbers. Thus you have a great big long call with “Vicky” or “Kyona” or “Randy” (over an hour that one) or “Mirabelle” (sweet lady), but you cannot call them back. It's all recorded, with my permission, so anybody at Verizon that truly (truly) wanted to investigate this Monty Python style farce would be able to do so.

I described what I describe above in writing, multiple times. We went over the accounts. I never paid more than $100 for Wi-Fi per month. Since Verizon cut off service approx. December 10th, I have a different telephone service, and a different Internet provider. They charge me $65 for unlimited, and I have BETTER SERVICE. Why should I pay $350 to $553.39 a month for Wi-Fi? Something is clearly wrong.

The degree of heartlessness and callous indifference of Verizon is revealed to me in a number of ways. I had a stroke beginning of December. I have been quite ill. I spoke to Mister ** (for over an hour) who said the problem was that “Mobile Destination” was an agent. These are not Verizon employees. Verizon has little oversight or clout. My input: How, as a customer, do I know that? That's not my problem. I'm paying Verizon. I'm lost how this is in any way a valid excuse.

I said to Mr ** that I had been 4 days in ICU with a stroke. That I needed my phone, for emergency use, because I live on my own. I said (it's on tape) that I would like to resolve this issue, that I was willing to work out a compromise, that I would negotiate and make a part payment, but that I was anxious not to have my telephone cut off. He assured me he had made notes on the file, and THAT WOULD NOT HAPPEN. He understood. Two days later, Verizon cut off my phone! My input: “Nice.”

After all these phone calls, the last call I had was some truly aggressive lady in Verizon debt collection, who interrupted me rudely every few seconds. At that stage, I realized I was wasting my breath. On 1/22/2016 I received an email, telling me my charges are now $1,298.20. Charges continue to occur? You cut off my service beginning of December, despite promising not to do so, and I have a different telephone company, a different Internet provider since then, but, by Jiminy, you are still charging me?

The only thing I can see there, is those phantom charges from beginning of December up to now show DATA, then that CLEARLY demonstrates that, all along, SOMETHING WAS WRONG. Conclusion: I have now written 2,000 words, spent several hours on this, and I realize I could go on. I should mention that I told ** I wished to speak to her supervisor (no response) and I told multiple Verizon staff that I wished to speak to somebody in the chain of command at Mobile Destination. No response.

I suspect that this will expand into a lawsuit. It seems the only way to bring to an end a farce of truly epic proportions. Finally, I shall mention that ** is a morbidly obese, large black woman. And comes across as poorly educated, with a humongous chip on her shoulder. That should not have anything to do with it. But I suspect it does. I suspect she has a history of stamping her foot, squawking, and getting away with murder. Because nobody in her chain of command, or Verizon's chain of command, has the bottle to stomp on outrageous treatment of customers, REGARDLESS of anything else.

I remain willing to negotiate a fair compromise settlement. But I suspect Verizon will just keep billing for a non-existent phantom service, make platitudes, obfuscate, and eventually, we will have to sue. That will include my emotional distress.

Replies
Be Careful When Switching Cable Company's
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WAYNE, NEW JERSEY -- This letter will detail the problem I am having with Verizon over the billing on returned equipment after I had cancelled my contract with them in the beginning of August 2012. I cancelled my contract with Verizon and switched to optimum online because of pricing. The service was to be disconnected on August 6, 2012. On August 10, my bill showed that the service was still intact. On August 21, 2012 at 3:30pm I called Verizon and spoke to **. He told me the service was not cancelled and he would cancel it back to August 6th.

I also spoke with a supervisor Mrs.** who told me that it would take up to 2 weeks to get the return boxes for the equipment to come with the return labels. She told me to return the two boxes, two remotes but to keep the modem in case I wanted to come back to Verizon, they would not have to send someone out to re-hook me up. I was given a reference number.

I received the boxes on August 27, and packed all equipment, 2 boxes, 2 remotes and 1 modem and brought to the UPS store located in the valley shopping center in Wayne. I have a picture of the box on the counter of the store and the label. I received the October bill and it showed an amount due of $588.50. I call on October 18, 2012 at 5:30pm and spoke to **. She said they showed that some of the equipment was checked in, but not all. She said to give it more time.

I received the November bill and it showed an amount due of $588.50. I called on November 14 at 3:25 pm and spoke to ** told me the amount showed it was reversed on October 1, 2012 and should be clear in a couple of days. I called back on November 20, 2012 at 4:30 and spoke to **. He told me he would put a dispute on the account. Then I asked to speak to a supervisor and was transferred to ** He told me that the items showed that they were returned on September 4, 2012 and he would issue a trouble ticket.

I received the December bill which showed an amount due of $588.50. I called on December 20, 2012 at 8:25 am. I spoke with **. She also told me she showed that the equipment showed that it was returned and she had no explanation as to why the account would not clear. She gave me her supervisor's name of ** and a phone number 1-800-244-4770. She assured me like everyone else that this would be taken care of. She issued a new ticket # **. She told me that a credit was going to be issued for the full amount and the account would be zero balance.

Well yesterday, I received a letter from a collection agency the CBE group. Regarding VERIZON. CS number **. For the amount of $38.50 which is on the October bill for taxes, governmental surcharges and fees. I CANCELLED MY ACCOUNT AND SENT BACK MY EQUIPMENT IN AUGUST 2012. By the way, when speaking with anyone at Verizon, I tell them I have a trouble ticket number and they all tell me, “we can't use that number or look up anything with it." I took a picture of the return label and the box on the counter at the UPS store. I should have taken a picture of all of the equipment labels in the box. Although I don't think it will matter.

Replies
Misinformed, Misled, and then Backstabbed.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- We began our Verizon service in May after signing a 6 month lease at our apartment. Our customer representative told us if we moved we could just transfer service at no cost. Just call and it would be moved. So we agreed to a two year commitment: $99.99 for Basic TV Bundle, with internet (15/5) and phone. Perks included free DVR Box for 12 mo, a "Standard Definition Set Top Box free for as long as you remain a customer," and a $200 gift card. We were told by our local representative that the channel NESN National was included with this package.

Come to find out, it wasn't. It is only included in the Ultimate Package which costs $40 more per month. After hours of speaking with customer service representative (about 7 hours over the course of 3 days) a supervisor in retention named ** said it was ridiculous for us to pay $40 extra for just one channel so she said she would give us 2 recurring Valued Customer $20/12 mo credits to offset the price difference. She also said this would expire after a year but to call back and we could renew it for year two and she would be sure to note this in our account.

We also chose to add HBO to our account for the current promo price of $9.99. Our monthly bill is typically $117 after the credits. The second $20 dollar credit was never made recurring so we literally called every month to have our bill adjusted. The employees said they saw the note in our account, made the adjustment and all claimed they would manually adjust this moving forward, though no one ever did.

When time to move came, we called and asked for a transfer of service. However, we were then informed that moving is the equivalent of terminating our contract, that we would have to renegotiate our package and that any discounts or credits would not transfer. We were offered the new "great deal" for the ultimate package for $159.99 a month. The HBO offer was no longer available but they could give us a premium channel bundle for $15 bringing out new total to $175/month for the first year.

This new Bundle was priced at $119. However, unlike our current package equipment was not free for the first year. But the employee kept saying he was beating our current price because the Ultimate package we were receiving was priced at $139, but that didn't take into account our $40 dollar credit we had on the original account.

So because we were moving, we could no longer keep our current service, which is the most absurd policy I have ever heard, and furthermore our only option would be to pay $40 more per month. They said that our bad customer service issues were linked to our first account, but because this was a new account they could not transfer the Value Customer credit because of the new great deal we were receiving.

We were then told we never should have received the credits we had been receiving because it was against company policy for those to be given out and that if our account were ever to be audited, there would be problems. The supervisor for retention then told me my choices were to cancel with Verizon completely or pay for the new package price. That he could not honor the prices I had been paying.

So even though if we move, we keep the same account number, and don't need to pay a termination fee, we have somehow broken the terms of our current contract and are forced into new pricing and are expected to act as if all of our terrible experiences were only with our past account and not with the terrible policies and the different story we got from every employee every time we called.

Oh yeah and that (and I quote) "Standard Definition Set Top Box free for as long as you remain a customer" that is printed on an invoice directly from Verizon? We are now told we have to pay a $5.99/mo rental fee for that. I told them I had in writing on a bill this statement and that it would hold up in any court. The supervisor then told me that Verizon has a great legal team who would have made sure that whatever was printed on my invoice was only applicable at our current address.

Yup. Great customer service. They messed up. Finally fixed it, and then in one swift kick to the groin decided take back their shred of decency and then, hey, force us into a new bundle and charge more money. Great customer service is ensuring that customers remain loyal, are treated with respect, and are shown value. Apparently Verizon's only concern is money, and how much they can rob you on these hidden technicalities.

Replies
Verizon - TV/Internet/Phone service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GARDEN CITY, NEW YORK -- We have switched our TV/Internet/Phone service to Verizon 4/15/2013, since we did not like the service so we switched back to Optimum on 5/2/2013. On that day we have returned all Verizon equipment back to their store nearby. The clerk told us they are only responsible for equipment, we have to call Verizon to cancel the service. So we did as told!

A few days later, I received a full bill so I called the customer services to explain to them I have switched to another company, and is waiting for my final bill. They told me the bill was generated automatically, there is no way they can do it sooner. I just have to wait for the next billing cycle to see the adjustment. About two weeks later, I received another bill - next month bill so I called again. They told me I have to wait for the next billing cycle. There is nothing they can do until the credit was credit back to my account. Sounds reasonable - you have to give people time to resolve the problem, so I wait again.

Then I received an e-mail about my account and bill. At this time I feel a little uncomfortable for owing people money so I called again. This time I got a gentleman, he was very nice. He told me the bill will be adjusted soon, and I don't even have to call again, they will send the corrected bill to me within a week to 10 days. He told me because I had cancelled my account within 30 days I will not be billed for early termination fees. I thank him and thinking about the bill will be coming soon. I don't have to worry about I still owe Verizon money.

Well, my waiting has come to a big surprise today. I have received not only the full bill, but plus an early termination fees. Of course I called again, and this time the customer service lady had a totally different tune. She told me she looked at my account, my phone was canceled on 5/24 (?) so the early termination fees will not be waived. What amazed me is every time I called they always ask for my permission to look at my account, and from the conversation I have with different reps. I was wondering if they are looking at the same account?

Some representative would tell me they see my account had been canceled on 5/2/13; some told me I don't have to worry about early termination fees as I have follow their instruction to cancel within 30 days. But, today must be my unlucky day as I have encountered a representative who I was not able to communicate at all. She kept telling me what she wanted to say instead of listening to my problem and resolve the problem for me.

I told her that many companies have phone recording system, it shouldn't be hard to find the phone conversations I had with other reps. But, she just wouldn't listen to me. Her attitude makes me wonder if a big company like Verizon has to trick their customer and make money this way? It's really a simple issue for every party, why Verizon has to make it so complicated? I really believe only customers are happy you will have a good business. I know I will never do business with Verizon ever again.

Replies
Advertisement
Verizon Landline Repair Service No Longer Exists
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have had a bad phone line for over 3 months, and Verizon isn't doing a thing to help me. Due to the storms last year, the power line got wrapped around the telephone cable down the street. Something else must have happened, because I was left with an annoying hum on the line that the VZ technician says is unrelated. Two different technicians couldn't clear the hum, and then a "splicer" was sent out. He claimed to fix the problem, but in fact he didn't do a thing in the 45 minutes he was on the street. The next morning he returned and agreed there was a hum on the line. He gave me his supervisor's phone number.

I called the supervisor's number several times in one week in late November and received no return call. Then I got another supervisor's number and he came out, heard the hum, and said multiple things needed to be done: he put in a request to cut a large tree off the main cable down the street (been sitting on it over two years), he put in a request for the power company to get their (ground) wire off the cable, and he put in a request for the cable company to get their cable away from the phone cable. He also stated neither of these was the problem in his opinion - that there must be a bonding (grounding) problem along the way, and he would have to test them at various points.

Today, nothing has evidently been done. People I call are saying "you'll have to call back, we have a bad line." No, I have a bad line. Then two weeks ago the line started going open during calls, with an extremely loud hum replacing voice (on both ends). This would last for 30 minutes at a time - callers get a busy signal, and I get the very loud hum if I pick up the phone. Two of these were while I was speaking with my attorney who gets $200/hr.

A week ago, I went out at 3am and set scaffolding up to get the power line detangled from the phone cable, because the power company never came. They are now 2 feet apart. Today I am preparing to cut the (very) large tree off the phone line. The hum is still there, and last week my phone was busy to callers several times when nobody was on the phone. I don't have the expertise or equipment to check the bonding, which everyone agrees is the real problem and should be something VZ splicers can do. And remember the supervisor told me he was going to get started on that in late November. I've looked, and in fact there are only a handful of bonds along the 1/4 mile of my street.

The supervisor has not replied to two calls I placed in the past two weeks to get an update from him (and update him on the more serious problem). If I log a new problem report at the 800#, the supervisor previously told me he will simply delete it from the system because they know it needs more than a technician to fix it. So there is nobody to call at this point, and my phone line is totally unreliable.

I started to write a complaint here, then found a VZ Community Forum where it *looks* like reps actually assist people posting problems. I spent over half an hour attempting to register and login, without success. It is just as bad as the phone menu system at VZ, and actually appears to have been set up by the same offshore people - evidenced by broken English on a few web pages.

The entire Verizon system is now set up to push landline customers directly into the gutter of society. Fios will not be coming to my area ever, is what I hear now, but VZ also won't be selling the landline infrastructure in my area to Frontier, etc. So we're stuck together like doodoo on a stick, forever and always. I've often stated VZ service is great when it works, but when it doesn't for 3 months AND nobody cares it makes you wonder if the misery will ever end.

Replies
Terrible Service, Equipment, and Customer Care
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILMINGTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- The people working for Verizon are MORONS and the company is a piece of garbage. Apart from providing sub-par service and junky equipment while charging you an arm and a leg for it all, they cannot even perform a simple task as qualifying a new construction home in a new development for service. We purchased a new construction home in a new development. Three weeks ago I called Verizon Fios to ask them to find out if our new construction home in a new development qualifies for service. After being on the phone for an hour with some idiot guy, he says to me I am all set and yes my property does qualify for service at which point we scheduled an installation.

Yesterday was the day of installation. I took the full day off (I get paid by the hour not salary) cause they said installation on a home that has never had Verizon could take between 4 to 6 hours. That's all fine and dandy. The Verizon contractor comes by on time and the poor guy was on the phone for an hour with Verizon reps and looking around the property in the heavy rain so he figures things out. Finally he tells me he cannot install Verizon Fios on my property because Verizon never installed any fiber optic cables in this new development and therefore my property should have never been qualified for service.

I am done with these idiots. Bad service, bad equipment, and completely incompetent customer service people. What a waste of time and money. You guys are absolutely pathetic to have customer service reps lie to customers about qualifying a property like that. And yet that Verizon Fios representative that set my appointment and lied to me about my property qualification is still employed by Verizon and he will make the same mistakes on other poor customers. Pathetic!!! You are not even worth one star!!!

Replies
Attempt to Up-Sell Turns Into Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- I came to the store to have Verizon end the service with the android phone and begin the same phone number and service with the iPhone 4 I had purchased used. I specifically asked if they could transfer the contacts from the android to the iPhone, which they have done for in the past with absolutely no problem. The service agent who greeted me and proceeded to "help" me said I would need to purchase iCloud for an added $2.99 a month in order to have the contacts saved and transferred.

I told him I understood the concept of having a backup for the contacts and that since it was connected to Gmail as well as my own capability to download information on my phone to my MacBook Air laptop I did not want to add even $2.99 to my phone for an application I do not need. His attitude was one of exasperation as he sighed and rolled his eyes with a further explanation why this app was necessary and included saving my pictures should anything happen.

When I was firm about just wanting the phone turned over with contacts to the iPhone, he said I would need to wait for the next available salesperson and immediately I was handed over to a woman who had been standing there the whole time listening to everything and whose attitude was of disinterest of my questions about the contacts being saved.

She was not rude but she was in no way friendly and again tried to sell the iCloud app to me. She proceeded to lead me through the process of typing in the original phone number, soc. sec. identification and then when it came time to see the contacts on the phone, she said to have a technician at the University of Arizona where I work help me to do this. I was amazed! This is the worst customer service I have experienced in years.

I just want to conclude by saying that I went home, YouTubed how to transfer contacts, downloaded a FREE app called Bump and by bumping the android into the iPhone I was able to immediately transfer all my contacts to the iPhone. Verizon might want to find out who was working on Saturday November 16th, 2013 at store #349567 in Tucson AZ on cross streets of Speedway and Campbell at 2pm and have an educational meeting about the effects of poor customer service for Verizon and Apple.

Our family plan is pricey and better service and options are coming out all the time. This whole experience has me looking at my other laptop and phone service options for the upcoming year since my contract ends with Verizon soon.

Replies
Verizon Wins for Worst Mobile Provider
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAFAYETTE, LOUISIANA -- I bought a hotspot several months ago to use for internet on my laptop and was assured by the salesperson that when I would run out of megabytes that a screen would automatically pop up and give me the opportunity to charge up my account with credit from my credit card.

Well last month I ran out of bytes and the screen pops up. First it asked for user ID, phone number or e-mail. Next the password. I entered my phone number and it said to enter something else. So I entered my e-mail, then it said to use another option. By now I have only one option to use my ID and then it locked me completely out. To make a long story short, I had to drive 30 miles to get to a service representative to get me back on the internet.

Well I used the service for 3 weeks and I ran out of megabytes and had to charge up account again. The same screen came up and finally got to sign in this time. They give you 2 passwords and 3 ID's... so it is a rubik's cube just to sign in. The page then says that I have no credit card showing in my account. I was fuming mad. I had given them my credit card when I originally bought the unit. Now again I am going through their obstacle course trying to add credit to my account. Again I got nowhere and clicking on every button the page.

They never even give you an option to add a credit card if you want to do that. I could have just re-entered my credit card info but they don't give the option. Such a low life, low mentality, ignorant, uneducated, inconsiderate group of people that seem like they got an education at Ghetto University on 00000000000 Nobrain Trail, Dumbcluck Craphouse. So I had to get in my vehicle and go get some assistance. So I talked to one of their no brain assistants who told me that my credit card info was on their system. But he tries to tell me that I must have been doing something wrong. How could I be doing something wrong when it said that I had no credit card in my account.

So If you want a lot of headaches, I strongly recommend for you to sign up with Verizon Wireless. Their website was constructed by expert ADS (Acquired Deficiency Syndrome) patients or so it seems. You talk about a group of YO Yo's... Big time incompetents.

Replies
Advertisement
Should Get a Prize for "Worst Customer Service"
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VIRGINIA -- I called to get a better price on my Verizon Fios phone, internet, and TV since they have all these great deals for new customers. They offered me nothing so I cut my landline phone service to save money. That whole process took a long time, much of it on hold. Later I received a bill for my "old" account (TV, internet, phone) and a few days later a bill for the new service (minus the phone). The first bill said in capital letters "attention do not pay this bill" on the bill but at the bottom it said the amount due. On the bill for the "new" account, Verizon had changed my name to my maiden name as opposed to my married name.

I called to confirm whether I should pay the first bill or not and to clear up the name issue - went through several customer service reps. including one extremely rude guy who asked me why I changed my name on the account (I didn't - they did) and told me finally that he would change it back. Customer service representative (lady) told me to ignore the first bill and just pay the new bill but also told me to check with billing department (she connected me only for me to get a message that billing was closed).

I called back later because I was unsatisfied with the first call and not sure about the bill or name change. Second lady told me to pay both bills - gave me some convoluted explanation for the bill amounts and discrepancies in billing periods and also said that name change was not done on the system. Called billing the next morning. Billing explained that the phone had been billed separately from the TV/internet and there were different billing cycles on one bill because my account went back more than 2 or 3 years; thus, the inconsistency in billing dates, etc.

Billing said that lots of people complain about this. Hello?? Billing also said name change was not done and I should just leave as is. Very frustrated with the long waits for customer service and getting shuffled from person to person with no real answers. Billing also told me that most of the customer service reps. don't understand the billing process at Verizon, lovely.

Decided later to drop Verizon TV services and just stick with upgraded internet. Getting that accomplished was another customer service nightmare. Hoping to find another internet provider in two years when my contract runs and also planning not to renew my wireless contract with Verizon. The less I have to do with them, the better for my health.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Verizon Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 86 ratings and
684 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Verizon
1095 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10036
800-621-9900 (ph)
www.verizon.com
billingservices@verizon.net
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services