Preview Review

Next Review

Verizon Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Off-the-Wall, Unhinged, Cynical and Exploitative
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JASPER, TEXAS -- (Note: You cut off my service beginning of December, approx. the 10th I believe, but you continue to bill me!) I am extremely astonished at the way Verizon continues to harass and attempt to extort me. As it appears there is no resolution in sight, as it appears the situation is escalating, and as Verizon fundamentally and cynically does not care about its customers, I am documenting my grievances.

It appears now more likely than ever that this matter will escalate into a lawsuit from me against three parties, to wit: A) Verizon, B) your appointed agent, “Mobile Destination”, C) the MD Retail Sales Manager, ** at **, Jasper, TX, 75951. I therefore raise for your records and mine these aspects of what is becoming something of an Olympian farce.

I had ongoing problems with Wi-Fi charges and service from Verizon. Previously I never paid more than $100 a month for Internet service from your competitors. The Verizon charges were through the roof. Low earth orbit, in fact. I was initially told by staff at the Mobile Destination office at **, TX 75951 that a data package of 10 GB was enough for most people. It was not. I was getting overage charges. After a while, I was advised 20 GB should be enough. Time went by. It was not. I was getting overage charges. I was advised to check with technical services.

I spoke on the phone numerous times with the service desk. They were seemingly sympathetic, but never called me back. A waste of time, as far as I could see. I was back and forth to the shop at **, TX. There I would spend time waiting, and then the assistants, all of whom were pleasant, with the exception of **, would dial up the account, do things I did not understand on their computer screens, wait for connections (they were always complaining about how slow their connection speed was) (in your agent's shop?) and, in the end, advise me to call technical support, or up my data plan.

In this way, I ended up at a 30 GB data plan for Wi-Fi. More, and more expensive! 10GB will be enough… 20 GB will be enough… 30GB will be enough…. And STILL the overage charges kept coming in. Sometimes the emails were timed 19 and 20 minutes apart. 2 GB in 19 or 20 minutes? Some expensive Wi-Fi. I was now being told by one of the ladies there, that my Internet charges exceeded costs being incurred by many local businesses. Something had to be wrong.

On November 19, I went into the shop again, and it looked like I was going to have to raise my package once AGAIN. From 30 GB up to the next level. It was now becoming outrageously expensive. I asked for the Manager, because I wanted to seriously get to the bottom of what was going on. Several of the assistants had asked me if somebody might have my password, and be using my account, because the charges were so high.

This interview with ** on November 19, 2015, I will now describe. It was simply unhinged. Off the wall. I am a 64 year old gentleman, soft spoken, I don't shout, raise my voice, or wave my fists. I am a published author, I read and write voraciously, and I am capable of expressing myself quietly and fluently. I have no urge or inclination to compensate for poor education or poor language skills, by using loud, obscene or threatening language.

** is an unsmiling, un-charming, cold person, who simply does not listen. She has a pre-rehearsed speech in her (limited) repertoire, and it seems she is well used to falling back on this speech. I suspect she uses it a lot. Barely had I walked across, smiled, and spoken ONE sentence about the continuous problems that I was having, then she just hit the nuclear trigger.

I was treated, to my astonishment, to a 4 to 5 minute hysterical tirade, quite unhinged, delivered at decibels, audible around the shop, with other customers present. Playing to the gallery, as it were. I was asked how dare I come in there, shouting and screaming (which I wasn't), how dare I come in there abusing the staff (which I wasn't), how dare I… etc, etc.

We were standing. Her outburst occurred within seconds. I sat down, calmly. Most persons would have interpreted this as a signal that I wished a calm discussion. A person wishing only confrontation would have remained standing. I wished to de-escalate the situation. No dice. **, glaring and angry, remained standing. And ranting. Instantly angry.

Eventually, there was a pause. Phew. All I managed to say quietly was something along the lines of: “Can I say something now…?” And off she went again. Virtually the same tirade as described above. She was now looking very foolish, because clearly, I was not playing the role I was supposed to play. To wit, become angry. I was very calm. Disgusted, but calm.

This bizarre, not even rational cycle repeated five or six times. She would rant on about ‘how dare I come in there, shouting and swearing' (when I wasn't), carry on for five minutes, playing to the gallery (other staff and customers in the shop), and glare furiously at me. I got the impression the lady had some serious issues. I worked in Law Enforcement, and I know how to conduct myself faced with such hysteria. Stay calm.

The situation was ludicrous. We had now gone down the same road at least a half dozen times. I would speak one sentence (“Can I say something now….?”) and ** would trip off on her (customary?) speech. It was now obvious that rational communication was not going to be achieved. I said I would like to speak to her supervisor, and I requested that person's name and telephone number. At that, she became clearly furious, and her face went dark. She spoke a name furiously, which was unintelligible.

No phone number. I said I did not catch the name, could she repeat the name, and give me a phone number. Her reply was that she would get her supervisor to call me. That was not acceptable, but that could be anybody calling, her boyfriend or husband, or whoever. I repeated my request. She repeated that she would get her supervisor to call me.

I decided we were getting nowhere. I saw her visiting card facing me, in a plastic tray. The way you do, when you want customers to take a free card. There is a whole stack of them, facing the “customer”. A droll concept apparently, that ** does not understand. I took one. Big mistake.

She immediately screamed that she wanted her card back. That is was HER card. I was holding it in my hand, and she literally endeavored to reach over and SNATCH the card out of my grip. I slid it quickly in my back pocket. I stayed calm, and assessed. I transported prisoners and high risk felons for years. I sensed the possibility of an assault. She seemed to serious struggle with maintaining her self control. She is a much younger woman, maybe thirty years younger than I (I am 64) and such an assault would have been a serious event, to put it mildly.

I said I wished to speak to her supervisor. To my astonishment (if that were possible, after what I had witnessed so far, she then went off on a rant, and shouted that if I mentioned her name anywhere, she would sue me personally, and take everything I owned, and leave me (sic) “sleeping under a bridge”. She was obviously pleased with that speech, because, for emphasis, it was repeated to me multiple times. The “bridge thing” appears to be a cornerstone of her thinking. Apparently, she “knows a good lawyer”. She may need one.

I was then (high decibels) ORDERED OUT OF THE SHOP. It seemed pointless to stay. I left. I was thus unable to arrange a yet higher rate plan, 40GB I guess, which would have dramatically reduced the overage charges. (cycle ended 23 November) I was there in good time, 4 days before the end of the cycle. I have explained this to various Verizon reps. Yes, I can do that on the Internet, but having spoken to Verizon reps, and the whole charging system being under investigation (so I was told) I thought that was in hand. Apparently not. Pay up, Mister.

I have now explained to a veritable phalanx of “very concerned” Verizon representatives, my concerns. Nothing has been done to address my grievances. The only thing that continues is attempts to collect debt. Total current charges due by December 17 were $553.39 for ONE MONTH. I hardly used the telephone. Most of that is Wi-Fi. Clearly, something is wrong. During that time I started going to the Jasper Public library quite a few times, to use their Wi-Fi for free. No difference. Still charges occurring. There was balance forward due of $370. Combined, this bill dated October 23 – Nov 22 shows accumulated $923.48.

I then spoke by phone to multiple Verizon representatives. That time wasting continues to this day. Some of those calls were an hour long. The Verizon system does not allow full names, or call back phone and extension numbers. Thus you have a great big long call with “Vicky” or “Kyona” or “Randy” (over an hour that one) or “Mirabelle” (sweet lady), but you cannot call them back. It's all recorded, with my permission, so anybody at Verizon that truly (truly) wanted to investigate this Monty Python style farce would be able to do so.

I described what I describe above in writing, multiple times. We went over the accounts. I never paid more than $100 for Wi-Fi per month. Since Verizon cut off service approx. December 10th, I have a different telephone service, and a different Internet provider. They charge me $65 for unlimited, and I have BETTER SERVICE. Why should I pay $350 to $553.39 a month for Wi-Fi? Something is clearly wrong.

The degree of heartlessness and callous indifference of Verizon is revealed to me in a number of ways. I had a stroke beginning of December. I have been quite ill. I spoke to Mister ** (for over an hour) who said the problem was that “Mobile Destination” was an agent. These are not Verizon employees. Verizon has little oversight or clout. My input: How, as a customer, do I know that? That's not my problem. I'm paying Verizon. I'm lost how this is in any way a valid excuse.

I said to Mr ** that I had been 4 days in ICU with a stroke. That I needed my phone, for emergency use, because I live on my own. I said (it's on tape) that I would like to resolve this issue, that I was willing to work out a compromise, that I would negotiate and make a part payment, but that I was anxious not to have my telephone cut off. He assured me he had made notes on the file, and THAT WOULD NOT HAPPEN. He understood. Two days later, Verizon cut off my phone! My input: “Nice.”

After all these phone calls, the last call I had was some truly aggressive lady in Verizon debt collection, who interrupted me rudely every few seconds. At that stage, I realized I was wasting my breath. On 1/22/2016 I received an email, telling me my charges are now $1,298.20. Charges continue to occur? You cut off my service beginning of December, despite promising not to do so, and I have a different telephone company, a different Internet provider since then, but, by Jiminy, you are still charging me?

The only thing I can see there, is those phantom charges from beginning of December up to now show DATA, then that CLEARLY demonstrates that, all along, SOMETHING WAS WRONG. Conclusion: I have now written 2,000 words, spent several hours on this, and I realize I could go on. I should mention that I told ** I wished to speak to her supervisor (no response) and I told multiple Verizon staff that I wished to speak to somebody in the chain of command at Mobile Destination. No response.

I suspect that this will expand into a lawsuit. It seems the only way to bring to an end a farce of truly epic proportions. Finally, I shall mention that ** is a morbidly obese, large black woman. And comes across as poorly educated, with a humongous chip on her shoulder. That should not have anything to do with it. But I suspect it does. I suspect she has a history of stamping her foot, squawking, and getting away with murder. Because nobody in her chain of command, or Verizon's chain of command, has the bottle to stomp on outrageous treatment of customers, REGARDLESS of anything else.

I remain willing to negotiate a fair compromise settlement. But I suspect Verizon will just keep billing for a non-existent phantom service, make platitudes, obfuscate, and eventually, we will have to sue. That will include my emotional distress.

Replies
Advertisement
Verizon Landline Repair Service No Longer Exists
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have had a bad phone line for over 3 months, and Verizon isn't doing a thing to help me. Due to the storms last year, the power line got wrapped around the telephone cable down the street. Something else must have happened, because I was left with an annoying hum on the line that the VZ technician says is unrelated. Two different technicians couldn't clear the hum, and then a "splicer" was sent out. He claimed to fix the problem, but in fact he didn't do a thing in the 45 minutes he was on the street. The next morning he returned and agreed there was a hum on the line. He gave me his supervisor's phone number.

I called the supervisor's number several times in one week in late November and received no return call. Then I got another supervisor's number and he came out, heard the hum, and said multiple things needed to be done: he put in a request to cut a large tree off the main cable down the street (been sitting on it over two years), he put in a request for the power company to get their (ground) wire off the cable, and he put in a request for the cable company to get their cable away from the phone cable. He also stated neither of these was the problem in his opinion - that there must be a bonding (grounding) problem along the way, and he would have to test them at various points.

Today, nothing has evidently been done. People I call are saying "you'll have to call back, we have a bad line." No, I have a bad line. Then two weeks ago the line started going open during calls, with an extremely loud hum replacing voice (on both ends). This would last for 30 minutes at a time - callers get a busy signal, and I get the very loud hum if I pick up the phone. Two of these were while I was speaking with my attorney who gets $200/hr.

A week ago, I went out at 3am and set scaffolding up to get the power line detangled from the phone cable, because the power company never came. They are now 2 feet apart. Today I am preparing to cut the (very) large tree off the phone line. The hum is still there, and last week my phone was busy to callers several times when nobody was on the phone. I don't have the expertise or equipment to check the bonding, which everyone agrees is the real problem and should be something VZ splicers can do. And remember the supervisor told me he was going to get started on that in late November. I've looked, and in fact there are only a handful of bonds along the 1/4 mile of my street.

The supervisor has not replied to two calls I placed in the past two weeks to get an update from him (and update him on the more serious problem). If I log a new problem report at the 800#, the supervisor previously told me he will simply delete it from the system because they know it needs more than a technician to fix it. So there is nobody to call at this point, and my phone line is totally unreliable.

I started to write a complaint here, then found a VZ Community Forum where it *looks* like reps actually assist people posting problems. I spent over half an hour attempting to register and login, without success. It is just as bad as the phone menu system at VZ, and actually appears to have been set up by the same offshore people - evidenced by broken English on a few web pages.

The entire Verizon system is now set up to push landline customers directly into the gutter of society. Fios will not be coming to my area ever, is what I hear now, but VZ also won't be selling the landline infrastructure in my area to Frontier, etc. So we're stuck together like doodoo on a stick, forever and always. I've often stated VZ service is great when it works, but when it doesn't for 3 months AND nobody cares it makes you wonder if the misery will ever end.

Replies
Terrible Service, Equipment, and Customer Care
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILMINGTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- The people working for Verizon are MORONS and the company is a piece of garbage. Apart from providing sub-par service and junky equipment while charging you an arm and a leg for it all, they cannot even perform a simple task as qualifying a new construction home in a new development for service. We purchased a new construction home in a new development. Three weeks ago I called Verizon Fios to ask them to find out if our new construction home in a new development qualifies for service. After being on the phone for an hour with some idiot guy, he says to me I am all set and yes my property does qualify for service at which point we scheduled an installation.

Yesterday was the day of installation. I took the full day off (I get paid by the hour not salary) cause they said installation on a home that has never had Verizon could take between 4 to 6 hours. That's all fine and dandy. The Verizon contractor comes by on time and the poor guy was on the phone for an hour with Verizon reps and looking around the property in the heavy rain so he figures things out. Finally he tells me he cannot install Verizon Fios on my property because Verizon never installed any fiber optic cables in this new development and therefore my property should have never been qualified for service.

I am done with these idiots. Bad service, bad equipment, and completely incompetent customer service people. What a waste of time and money. You guys are absolutely pathetic to have customer service reps lie to customers about qualifying a property like that. And yet that Verizon Fios representative that set my appointment and lied to me about my property qualification is still employed by Verizon and he will make the same mistakes on other poor customers. Pathetic!!! You are not even worth one star!!!

Replies
Business Ethics
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILMINGTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- They advertise up to $1000.00 to pay off old cell service to switch. What they don't tell you is that you get half in a debit card and the other half in a few dollars credit on your Verizon bill for 24 months. You are let to pay off the $500.00 balance to the previous cell company.

They do not bill as quoted. Quit your job and spend weeks going around with them to get the credits you deserve.
Be sure you have your attorney. Look at their contract before you sign if they offer you a contract. Do not expect anyone at Verizon to do what they say they will do nor will they follow up on an issue. What they do is probably not illegal but certainly sleazy and unethical. You will NEVER speak to management to resolve an issue. They hide behind their $8.00 an hour underlings to fight their battles.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor and Horrid and Repeating
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

WARREN, NEW JERSEY -- I am 66 and have paid thousands of bills by this point (estimated 10,000). All were on time except when the check was lost (rare) or the vendor forgot to bill me or billed me incorrectly. I would estimate about 4 were lost in the mail. 6 were misbilled (vendor changed their address). 65 were misbilled by the vendor. Of the misbilled 95% were by cell phone providers such as Verizon and AT&T (not T-Mobile!).

Why are companies like Verizon and AT&T so inept at billing! Yes all were corrected in my favor but I waste about an hour every month with these firms. So the issues are always resolved but I end up with unresolved resentment. I would use other vendors but I cannot for a variety of reasons. The most important reason is that all the involved firms are equally inept.

Replies
WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I had a final account with VERIZON RESIDENTIAL from August 2015 with a credit due to me. They never bothered to just send me the refund. I had to call and request the refund. Whomever issued the refund check apparently errantly issued 2 refund checks in the same amount. I received ONE check and deposited that check. I NEVER RECEIVED A SECOND CHECK. But the second check made it look like I owed a balance on the account. I called in to explain that there had been an error and that 2 checks had been issued, that I had deposited one and that should I receive a second check I would destroy it.

So what did VERIZON do? They debited my credit card on file for the account 4 months after the account being closed to settle the balance. That was December 23, 2015. I have been contacting them since January in an attempt to settle this and get MY MONEY BACK!!! I have been hung up on, told numerous times that a supervisor would call me, lied to, and ignored.

Today is March 11, 2016. Verizon has issued a refund to my credit card account. Guess what? I HAVE A BALANCE DUE AT VERIZON!!! This has been the absolute WORST customer service experience EVER. I hope to never, ever have to deal with these incompetent idiots ever again!!! But will persevere until I get my money without a balance due.

Replies
Be Careful When Switching Cable Company's
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WAYNE, NEW JERSEY -- This letter will detail the problem I am having with Verizon over the billing on returned equipment after I had cancelled my contract with them in the beginning of August 2012. I cancelled my contract with Verizon and switched to optimum online because of pricing. The service was to be disconnected on August 6, 2012. On August 10, my bill showed that the service was still intact. On August 21, 2012 at 3:30pm I called Verizon and spoke to **. He told me the service was not cancelled and he would cancel it back to August 6th.

I also spoke with a supervisor Mrs.** who told me that it would take up to 2 weeks to get the return boxes for the equipment to come with the return labels. She told me to return the two boxes, two remotes but to keep the modem in case I wanted to come back to Verizon, they would not have to send someone out to re-hook me up. I was given a reference number.

I received the boxes on August 27, and packed all equipment, 2 boxes, 2 remotes and 1 modem and brought to the UPS store located in the valley shopping center in Wayne. I have a picture of the box on the counter of the store and the label. I received the October bill and it showed an amount due of $588.50. I call on October 18, 2012 at 5:30pm and spoke to **. She said they showed that some of the equipment was checked in, but not all. She said to give it more time.

I received the November bill and it showed an amount due of $588.50. I called on November 14 at 3:25 pm and spoke to ** told me the amount showed it was reversed on October 1, 2012 and should be clear in a couple of days. I called back on November 20, 2012 at 4:30 and spoke to **. He told me he would put a dispute on the account. Then I asked to speak to a supervisor and was transferred to ** He told me that the items showed that they were returned on September 4, 2012 and he would issue a trouble ticket.

I received the December bill which showed an amount due of $588.50. I called on December 20, 2012 at 8:25 am. I spoke with **. She also told me she showed that the equipment showed that it was returned and she had no explanation as to why the account would not clear. She gave me her supervisor's name of ** and a phone number 1-800-244-4770. She assured me like everyone else that this would be taken care of. She issued a new ticket # **. She told me that a credit was going to be issued for the full amount and the account would be zero balance.

Well yesterday, I received a letter from a collection agency the CBE group. Regarding VERIZON. CS number **. For the amount of $38.50 which is on the October bill for taxes, governmental surcharges and fees. I CANCELLED MY ACCOUNT AND SENT BACK MY EQUIPMENT IN AUGUST 2012. By the way, when speaking with anyone at Verizon, I tell them I have a trouble ticket number and they all tell me, “we can't use that number or look up anything with it." I took a picture of the return label and the box on the counter at the UPS store. I should have taken a picture of all of the equipment labels in the box. Although I don't think it will matter.

Replies
Verizon Customer Abuse: A Complaint and Cautionary Tale
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I was a Verizon (VZ) customer from 1996 through 2011 (15 years!), and I paid every VZ bill in full immediately as I received it. Although there's never much to like about the phone company, when things went wrong VZ always made things right one way or another. About a year or two ago, I noticed a significant decline in VZ customer service generally.

In September 2011 my service bundle fee went up by $15 without warning, and I called VZ several times to try to get back the rate I had. Failing in that, on September 17, 2011, I called to disconnect my phone service, but keep my Internet service. Little did I know that would start a four month nightmare. After dozens of phone calls and dozens of wasted hours on the phone trying to resolve the same problems over and over, problems that never should have occurred in the first place, I ended my VZ services completely. But that did not end my VZ nightmare...

The Internet consumer complaint boards (see below) are full of complaints by thousands of customers ranting about the horrific abuses they suffered across all VZ businesses. My experience is echoed again and again in nearly every post, so I won't recount my personal VZ nightmare in detail here. The question is why does a company with $110B in annual revenue and 200,000 employees treat customers so poorly? I will attempt to answer this by sharing what I learned about VZ during countless infuriating encounters.

VZ accounting systems are a mess, with multiple account numbers for one customer. Despite the much touted “OneBill” and “My Verizon”, VZ systems do not communicate with one other. Neither is the “My Verizon” (Verizon.net) website connected to VZ's phone, Internet, and wireless billing and payment systems. Repeatedly I made payments online but would not get credit even though I could see my payment and confirmation number on the website.

I kept getting billed for the same amount, and when I called, the conversation typically went like this: “I made that payment two weeks ago, here is the confirmation number”. “I'm sorry, I don't see that payment.” “I can see it on Verizon.net, why can't you?” “We have a different system.” “That's not my problem, how are you going to fix this so I get credit for my payments?” “Click.” Back I went into the phone queue.

VZ phone answerers (they provide no “service” or “support”) are generally poorly trained, apathetic, and hostile; some even lack basic phone skills like getting your ten digit account number right within three tries. And every now and then you will get a real thug (see below).

When you call VZ, the phone answerers either don't bother to write detailed case notes, or can't see case notes of others. Therefore calling VZ means transferring around two, three, or four times, telling your story from the beginning each time. Hang-ups are the preferred way VZ phone answerers resolve problems; a question they cannot answer, or a customer who says the wrong thing the wrong way, will get hung up on and sent back into the queue.

The VZ billing and payments department is only open until 6 PM weekdays, and never on weekends. I frequently had to waste valuable time at work trying to resolve problems that never should have occurred. They hang up the phone at exactly 6 PM, even if you had been working with them for 30 minutes to resolve a problem. On several occasions I had to speak to three phone answerers before finally getting transferred to a payments specialist who could solve my problem.

After spending 15 minutes with her, and making some progress, the phone went dead -- at exactly 6 PM. The next day I had to start all over with a new crop of idiots. If you try to call the payments department directly, you either wind up with a phone answerer and then spend 15 minutes on hold, or payments doesn't pick up the phone at all.

VZ supervisors and managers never answer their direct line with customers, do not return phone calls, and never do what they promised they would do. Asking to “speak with a supervisor” is a complete waste of time and will not get you satisfaction any quicker than battling VZ's legions of idiot phone answerers.

VZ doesn't feel obligated to provide service at the price they agree to on the phone and they will change the amount you owe on a whim. On several occasions, after I paid a bill in full and had a zero balance due on the website, I would get another bill with a new balance due because “the price went up”. Funny how the price went up twice in the three months I had my VZ Internet.

VZ uses an undecipherable hodgepodge of charges and “adjustments” to make it impossible for you to understand your bill and how your balance was corrected, and they can recalculate or reverse these adjustments retroactively at any time. This is their preferred method of charging you again for a period for which you already made payment, or reneging on a concession made by a VZ "supervisor" on the phone.

If you call and select the phone menu “Disconnect” option for a VZ service, you will get transferred around in the phone menu ether until you invariably arrive at a dead line or the recording “No one is available to take your call, please try again later...click.”

If you tell the phone answerer you want to disconnect your service, they will transfer you to a thug who will try to lie and intimidate and strong-arm you into keeping the service. If that fails, he will attempt to pry information from you like your cell phone number or what other services you have before he dumps you back into the phone queue. Etc. etc. etc.

Fast forward to December 19, 2011. After three months of calling VZ two or three times a week, I finally managed to clear or pay off the last of the billing problems and have the last of my VZ services disconnected. Just when I thought my VZ problems were finally over, during the week of January 6, 2012 I received three more VZ bills, one each with a balance due of $15.50 (which I had paid months earlier and had straightened out several times), zero, and a credit balance of $7.50.

I had to call back another three times to get this resolved. Finally, I begged the VZ idiot in billing, “Look, keep the $7.50, just zero everything out, close all the accounts that used to be in my name, and leave me the ** alone!” We'll see if it worked; I may yet get another bill from that horrible company, if not in reality, then in my worst nightmare.

By the way, on December 16, 2011, I called Cox and inquired about High Speed Internet. Young, polite, and well trained, the Cox customer service guy explained the service tiers and promotions. He told me which package was most popular, and which would be the best deal for me. He told me about equipment options and pricing, and gave me deals on the installation and wireless router. And the cable guy would be there tomorrow between 1 and 3 PM to hook everything up. Wow, I thought, I'll believe it when I see it.

Sure enough, the Cox cable guy showed up when he was supposed to: “We're going to have your high speed Internet up and running before I leave today.” About 45 minutes later, everything was set up and working as advertised. For the same price that Verizon tried to extort from me, I now had fifteen times the speed (46 Mbps vs. 3 Mbps). Pingtest.com confirmed that I now had an A- quality connection with Cox, compared to the D- quality third-world connection I had with Verizon. And my first Cox bill? Exactly what the guy said it would be. And only one account number. Verizon – it feels so good when it stops.

Read thousands of other Verizon customer abuse horror stories on the consumer websites below. On the home page search for ‘Verizon'. If that doesn't work, Google ‘Verizon' and the site name (e. g., “Verizon complaintsboard”). The number of Verizon complaints posted is shown for the most popular websites.

Replies
Advertisement
Verizon Will Ruin Your Credit and Customer Service Is Horrific!
By -

MARYLAND -- CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS LIE, ARE RUDE AND CAUSE FURTHER FRUSTRATION. WARNING: If you ever have a billing problem they will ruin your credit and not rectify it even when it is their mistake. The customer service reps lie to you to get you off the phone and have you call another Verizon dept with even crappier people who just add to your frustration. I have been a Verizon customer since they started in Maryland. NEVER paying LATE. EVER. Except when I cancelled the landline. They never sent me a final bill until I received a collection notice. I paid it right away and called Verizon to ensure it did not get on my credit. They said it would not. LIED.

It did get on the credit report and dropped my credit score 100 points. For an ** $60 paid 2 months late. I called Verizon to have it removed from credit report. First off the ignorant, rude representative named Inez said "I doubt they'€™ll take it off the report once it's on there"€ in a foul attitude. I explained about the credit score, how I was an on time paying customer forever, the past 20 years. I was calling for my husband and I had to give her the exact amount of the last payment to verify security. I was unable to at the time. After all that she said she could not help me anyway.

I had to call collections and have the security information with me when I called. I called collections 5 minutes later when I found the amount. The next Rep in collections Cecilia was even more foul than Inez. She said "€œThe customer service representative just told you we could not talk to you about this account€." This is what she wrote on my account, that she told me they could not discuss my husband's account. Inez LIED AGAIN. I kept trying to tell her this was not what Inez told me, that she told me to have the information when calling collections. But Cecelia kept stressing the conversation by cutting me off and kept repeating "Ma'am, Ma'am." Pointless.

I ended up just hanging up on her in frustration. She couldn't care less that the previous person flat out lied to me. God only know what she wrote in my transaction with her. That'€™s another thing, you don't know what comments they are putting on your account. They lie about the conversation on your account. To get anywhere with this I had to call the credit reporting agency and they filed a dispute. Gladly this representative was polite, correct and informative. The Better Business Bureau will get this report next.

This is horrible and so frustrating. These customer service people just take so much joy in slamming the door in your face. Right off the beginning, both were just abrupt, rude and abrasive. They are like Comcast used to be when they were a monopoly. Well Verizon is not a monopoly and I am shopping for a new internet service provider. The problem is that my $30 DSL line a month will not put a dent in their pocket. They will not miss me and they will continue to sabotage their customers because I am just a grain of sand to them. This will happen to you to!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Verizon Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 80 ratings and
679 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Verizon
1095 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10036
800-621-9900 (ph)
www.verizon.com
billingservices@verizon.net
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services