Preview Review

Next Review

Verizon Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
The Most PATHETIC Customer Service I Have Experienced
By -

I have been a Verizon customer since they acquired Air Touch Cellular in 2000. I was an Air Touch customer for 3 years before that. At first I was impressed with Verizon's customer service, but in the past 3 years I have had the WORST experiences with the people I call in customer service. The issues are so simple, but Verizon's customer service operates on a 3 call minimum. I have to call at least 3 times before I am able to get someone smart enough to dress themselves.

I sent a complaint letter to the VP of customer service, and he is too busy hiding from irate customers to reply to the letter. He just sends it to the "make this guy go away" department (The Executive Response Team). These people in the Executive Response Team are the engineers of the stupid train.

I wanted to upgrade using their new every two offer. I talked to the customer service representative on the phone, and he said he needed a credit card for a phone that was at no cost for me. I ask why he needed my credit card for an upgrade that was free, and he fumbled for words and said it was for Identification purposes. I told him I have been a customer for 10 years and why did they need my Identification. I hung up on this rocket scientist.

The next call was with another representative equally as dumb, but she did tell me that she needed a credit card because of a past due balance of $27.84. My bill for 4 lines is around $200 a month and I haven't a clue where this $27.84 number came from. The real interesting part is I have been on auto pay for 5 years, and there is no way to have a past due balance when they tap my checking account each month (auto pay). I was so angry at this stupid bunch I should have canceled all 4 lines that instant.

I was contacted by the Executive Response Team after sending the VP a letter regarding this issue. This idiot that called me did nothing but offer excuses and apologies. It turns out it was Verizon's mistake (which I knew) and they did absolutely NOTHING but give me apologies and excuses. I terminated one of my lines instantly. Now here I am with a similar problem with one of my JUNK LG phones that neither LG or Verizon will do anything about. The phone is 6 months old and the screen is froze up and will do nothing. I guess it is time to give another line to AT&T.

A few months ago Verizon boasted having over 70 million customers. I just checked online and they have just short of 67 million customers now. Where do you think over 3 million customers went in just a few months??? Every day at each of Verizon's customer service call centers they must have a big dump truck full of stupid delivered. Some customer service reps get more than others, but most of it goes to the Executive Response team!!!

BEWARE!!! Keep track and document your communications with these people. It is terrible you need to do this, but trust me it is necessary. I give them money each month and they should meet my needs and take care of my business without me needing to keep a constant watch on them. I pay them to supply a network and customer service. One out of two is not acceptable.

Replies
Advertisement
FCC and NC Atty General complaint against Verizon Wireless
By -

The following is an active complaint with the NC Atty General and the FCC regarding Verizon Wireless deliberately crippling the connectivity of customers who elected to stay on Alltel data plans. This would mostly affect people in fringe areas (though advertised as full coverage areas). An update to this complaint is that Verizon is retaliating by removing credits that we had been given because of previous service failures. Please spread this information around, especially to any Verizon customers you know who may be having connectivity problems. It COULD be deliberate.

FTC complaint # 25257585 NCDOJ Complaint # 5407 FCC complaint 10-C00194123. This may need a technical person to understand the details. Verizon Wireless bought Alltel and the Alltel customers could remain on Alltel plans. Verizon is now deliberately crippling the connectivity of smart phones that are on the Alltel plan instead of the more expensive Verizon plan. We came over to Verizon Wireless when they purchased Alltel. We were/are on a data plan with one "smartphone" and the rest regular phones.

I was expecting to get better phone reception once the transition was done to merge Alltel etc. Instead I found that my phone (the smartphone) would not work well as a phone. I was advised that the smartphones don't get as good of reception (why don't they advertise that, eh?). I have endured months of poor phone service and have gone through several phone changes (which meant wasting hundreds of dollars in accessories that I had purchased for my original smart phone).

The event that prompted me to change phones and lose my investment in accessories was an event where my wife was desperately trying to call me because our grandson was bleeding and it would not stop. My son was with me and she was able to call him to contact me, but what if he had not been there? (I thought). For months we would be in the same car and she would be unable to call me but his phone would work just fine (same plan but his is not a data phone).

Verizon tech support suggested going to another brand of phone and one on the Verizon system so that I could get a "hybrid" PRL (preferred roaming list) so that I could get phone reception. After several more phone swaps and wasted time I was finally advised of the cause.

Verizon Wireless is deliberately crippling the smart phones which are on an Alltel plan instead of the more expensive Verizon plan. This is only the smart phones that are being crippled. My phone has a PRL of 40059 which deliberately limits my connectivity even though I am in the advertised full coverage area. You can imagine my anger at discovering that all these months Verizon had been deliberately crippling my connectivity to try to get me to move to their more expensive plan. The Verizon plan data PRL starts with a 6.

I believe that their actions may well be criminal as they are discriminating against former Alltel data phone customers. It was a tech support manager who revealed this to me because they are very frustrated in trying to give support to people whose phones are being deliberately disabled by a crippled PRL.

This deliberate crippling of smartphones that are still on Alltel plans could cause public safety issues such as the incident when my grandson was bleeding. Imagine when I discovered that my phones failures and poor reception was a DELIBERATE marketing strategy by Verizon.

Update 2/17/2010 I was contacted by one Karen ** from the Verizon Wireless President's office stating that because I was on an Alltel plan that I was not entitled to the same connectivity that I would have if I was on a Verizon plan. She basically confirmed my allegations. Also she advised me that I was not entitled to the credits that had been applied to my account by an earlier customer service manager and that they were going to remove the credits. I had been concerned about this retaliation by Verizon Wireless.

If you are a smart phone customer who is on an Alltel plan with Verizon wireless and you are having connectivity problems please note the complaint numbers at the beginning.

Replies
Verizon Placed Ad In Superpages Without My Permission And Harassed Me For Money
By -

DWF AIRPORT, TEXAS -- Here is documentation I took to record my experience with Verizon. The main thing to note is that **, who works for Verizon collections, used profanity while harassing me. This is illegal, a fact that I found out much later. Though what can a small guy do? Verizon Sucks. Ad was placed in Verizon phone book without my consent.

A Verizon representative, **, called to inquire whether I would be interested in buying an Ad in Verizon Yellow Pages Phone Book. I agreed to listen to his offer. He mentions he could produce a proof for the ad for me to consider. He said that the ad would not go in the phone book without my approval, but in order to get the ball rolling, he needed a third party confirmation. Again, he said this was just to get designing the proof started but that it would not be printed without my permission. He said I would receive proof and then I could give the yes or no answer. I never received proof.

A friend and business owner, **, recommended that I should call back and ensure they did not put my ad in the phone book. He mentioned he had similar problems with a sales representative from a phone book. I called ** (972-719-3649) who ensured it would not be put in. Received call from solicitors who said my ad was in the yellow pages. Called ** 3rd week in October after finding out ad was in yellow pages. ** gave me the number of his manager ** (972-719-3630). Called ** and left message for him to call me back

4th week October, left another message on ** voice mail. 5th week October, called Verizon billing, 1800-445-9050 x4575. Talked to ** who said I would need to talk to **. She said she e-mailed Nov 2nd him a message to call me. 1st week November 5th called ** and left voice mail.

2nd week November 11th, called Verizon billing, 1800-445-9050 x4575. Talked to **. Requested her to send another e-mail since ** had not contact me yet. Called 2nd week in November (11/18/04). Called 1-866-451-9905 talked to ** at collections. Told me that District Sales Manager was sent an e-mail. Offered me ** representative supervisor. Told her I already had it, I had called him but no answer. Also explained how I was deceived regarding the ad. Mention the info in ad was wrong. She said I could talk to customer service for an adjustment.

12/06/04 Called and talk to customer service. Informed them that the information in the ad was incorrect, and a brief history of my problem with their sales representative. She said that they will look over ad and give me a call back.
Received VM from ** from Verizon. Called him back at 1-800-445-9050 ext 4590. He listened to my complaint and mentioned if I choose to use Verizon, I would deal with ** again. I informed him I had decided a few months ago not to use Verizon.

12/22/04, Called Verizon billing at 1-800-445-9050. no answer 4575. Talked to **. 12/28/04. Called ** (972-719-3630). Was out of office. Called ** at 800-336-3407, extension ** – left message on voice mail regarding questions to my account.

12/29/04 ** called me back (** gave her my info). I mention the info in the ad was mostly incorrect and would like to see if I could have the billing cancelled. She said I should talk to customer service to about the incorrect listing. Informed her customer service told me to get into contact with **.

Called Verizon billing at 1-800-445-9050. ** answered the phone. I informed her information was incorrect in the ad. She mentioned a ticket had already been opened. Transferred me to ** (1-800-445-9050 ext **) who had closed my ticket. Was cut off. Tried calling again a few times but was not able to get through. ** from Verizon Collection Department, treated me with contempt and threatened to take me to court. Without provocation, she said to me “** you”.

Submitted complaint to BBB online. 2/17/05 Received call from Jan (Verizon customer service: 972-518-2700 or 800-445-9050 ext **) inquiring about complaint sent to BBB. I explained the basis for complaint. I have a more detailed account of what happened. My financial credit is strong. This is the first instance in my life I had to write to an agency such as the BBB.

Update: Fours years after all of this, Verizon Sucks tried to collect money. I consulted with my lawyer who said since 4 years had passed they could not legally collect. What was owed did not matter; it was a small amount. What did matter was the principle. How could one pay for something he did not authorize. Verizon is an unethical company that abuses people, bullying them out of their money. Sad. Sad. Verizon Sucks! Final Note: After all these bad experiences, I created a website to fight da powah!

Replies
Piss Poor Service And Deception To A Loyal Customer
By -

MONTEREY, CALIFORNIA -- I would like to bring to your notice the unacceptable, extremely frustrating and appalling business practices in dealing with the Verizon customer service team. I manage a busy and successful medical practice and one of the keys to our success is that patients have access to my cell phone at all times and some of them are senior citizens with acute medical needs and having a cell phone that works is a necessity and not an option. We manage more than 6000 active patients. All my staff that work for me and have cell phones with AT&T, Sprint, T Mobile etc have excellent cell phone reception in the office.

I have been a loyal customer of Verizon for more than 5 years (from 2004) and have not called customer service even once in that time prior to January 20th 2009 because I had no complaints about my service. I was so happy with their service and have included my wife and children on my account from 2005

On January 20th 2009 we moved to our new office and my cell phone service was nonexistent inside and outside our building. I went to the Verizon store on Del-Monte Ave. and waited for more than 1 hour and complained about the lack of cell phone service in my new location at **.

The store Manager said that Monterey was on an all digital network and I was using an old LG phone and recommended that I upgrade my phone model as that was the problem. I paid $ 300 and upgraded to a Verizon Storm on the Managers recommendation, because he was confident that this would solve my problem. At that time I also upgraded my phone service to include internet.

Unfortunately to my disappointment my service did not improve either inside my office or outside the building. I made an additional visit to the Verizon Store in Del Monte Ave and complained about the lack of cell phone reception and customer service immediately blamed the type of building and recommended that I buy a Network Extender SCS-26UC4 for $ 200 which they assured me would solve the problem.

I installed the Network extender and installed it and to my disappointment it would only work 1 day in the week. I called the 1800 number customer service for the Network extender and explained to them my concerns and they immediately blamed my office computer network as the problem even though the customer service representative had no logical explanation for his theory

I spent $ 450 for a Network Specialist to check my firewall and network and everything was working fine. Finally when I communicated to the Network extender team of the results they felt my Network Extender and I finally figured out that the Network Extenders sensor is very direction specific and will need to be mounted on a specific window to work, and not on any window as the instructions recommends. I spoke more than 25 to ** and his team, who assured me that a team was scheduled to visit my area at the end of January 2009 to verify signal strength. I never did hear from ** or his team.

To cut a long story short I have called your customer service every day (more than 50 times) to address the issue of no cell phone connectivity or speak to a supervisor (**) all I got was lies and pushback's saying they will investigate or have opened a trouble ticket etc. and they will call me in 24 hours etc. Nothing has happened and not on supervisor has ever called back.

I requested a refund of all my cell phones and accessories for me and my family which they flatly refused saying it was past the 30 day cut-off. Finally a customer service supervisor called me ** to tell me there was marginal signal in my area.

Conclusion: I have been played by Verizon and its customer service staff by up selling equipment and services and not providing any value for defective nonexistent service. I have wasted more than 50 hours of my time and more than $1000 to work with Verizon to fix the problem.

Verizon customer service were deceitful and were only interested in delaying my problem past 30 days so I would be stuck with the cell phone hardware and monthly fees. My frustration with Verizon was getting worse with the lies and deception of your supervisors and I let them know how I felt, constructive criticism and it was not personal but a reflection of their pathetic corporate culture.

Replies
Advertisement
Verizon Nightmare
By -

MUSCATINE, IOWA -- Verizon, unbelievable is the first word that comes to mind related to the experience...the nightmare, that dealing with Verizon has been for myself. After pursuing the endless calls to their Customer Service, Verizon and their inability to provide Broadband service. Here is some of the things that's going on.

I have 2 broadband wireless cards. Unfortunately I can't walk away from them. I'm out in the county were there is not any other service around. I got the 1st one and it worked great so I got a 2nd one for my kids. Things were going good until the speed started going down. I started calling their Customer Service for slow service. Until it was slower then dialup. And this is what they told me, on an unlimited plan, that after a year they slow me down to dial up speed because I went over 5 GB.

Customer Service told me I went over my limit. I said I have an unlimited plan. She said yes I have the unlimited plan BUT I went over my limit so they slowed me down. Then I said, "Did you understand what I just told you?" She said yes. I then asked her what plan do I have, she said again I have the unlimited plan. I Said OK, then why did you slow me down. She said because I went over my limit. Verizon must Only Hire The Absolute Dumbest People. How can you deal with ridiculous Customer Service when they don't understand what's they're talking about.

This happened on a Saturday night 2-21-2009 and had to call this 1-888-483-7200 Monday to get my broadband back. When I called them, they slowed me down because I used over my limit. OOH KNOW my 2nd Customer Service Experience From Hell. They told me in my contract if I go over 5GB THEY CAN SLOW ME DOWN. I told
them when I got my broadband I did not sign any contract. I have never seen one. All they wanted was my credit card. Sign the credit receipt and I was in and out of the door in about 9 or 10 mins. Then I asked if they were making the rules up as they go along. Then I said my usage was under 3 GB when I looked, not even close to 5.

They said this was just to let me know if I go over my 5GB on my unlimited plan they will slow me down. Unbelievable is the first word that comes to mind related to the experience...the nightmare, that dealing with Verizon
has been for myself a start of a Nightmare.

After pursuing the endless calls to their Customer Service, Verizon and their inability to provide Broadband service. It has been going downhill for over a year. Most of the time it is slower than dialup. When we first got it, we were downloading at 1200 to 1500 downloads. Some nights it been. 0 to 29 to. 0 then 122 then .0 and sits there until the page times out. I have reported my complaint over 30 times about how my internet service has been unreliable, slow speed or times out. Or it switches from broadband access to National access.

There has been times of no-problem-service, and times of no service. I have done online tech chats. All of them run the same diagnostic. I got to the point where I was telling them on what I did before they asked. They put in a work order to have the tower check and they would call me back. I never got a call back. After two week of dialup speed I called them back, and to my frustration they said the work order was closed by the field service tech. Could not find anything wrong. I ask if I could talk to the field service tech and was told no. They don't talk to us. So I opened a new work order for slow service.

I'm paying their high monthly fees for a service I do not get, and their best saying is waive their early termination fee. Because they CANNOT keep their end by giving me broadband service. With some common sense and decency to return my money and maybe offer an apology. I pay my bill each month if I don't, do you think they would not turn me over for their money. Just Another Faceless Verizon Victim here.

Gee whiz-- The only good thing I have to say about my experience with Verizon is that, I had their cell phone service, it works fine. But heaven forbid if you have any issues where you have to deal with an actual person or have a problem solved. Am sick over the way Verizon has treated me. I have reported my complaint with the BBB and FTC and I hope all frustrated Verizon customers do the same. We need to tell these big Companies that us consumers deserve true customer service representatives. They're too big to deal with the little person they think they're god and can do what they want to do. And paying their high monthly fees for a service we do not get.

Replies
Internet (Unlimited Broadband 5GB)
By -

MONTICELLO, GEORGIA -- This being my first computer bought the PC card from Verizon after telling the Verizon sales representative I wanted the best plan available. As it turns out they hyped this plan up as being the best thing since sliced bread, emphasizing "unlimited, unlimited" pointing out everything but a cap on usage.

Please if one Verizon person comes on and says "you should have read your paperwork" this is the truth the sales receipt plainly states at the top type of plan "unlimited" usage "undefined" last time I checked unlimited meant no cap only when it goes down it says Broadband5GB.

This being my first computer was foolish enough to believe that Verizon was a truthful honest company and their sales reps are their to help the customer get the best plan based on his or her needs and was their to make the customer happy, but no that old fashioned treating your customer honestly and fairly is not allowed by Verizon. They employ liars and basically steal money and will offer rudeness over the phone, untold waiting on a supervisor I'm convinced is sitting by smiling while listening to your complaints.

I bought the card for 59.99 a month this was around Christmas 08, I also purchased some software to download at a well established electronic chain. while downloading it would go into error and the PC usage came on saying I shouldn't be charged for this software time. I thought this was strange " how can you be charged usage for an unlimited plan impossible" well I tried downloading this about a half dozen times over my trial period I noticed when it errored the PC card usage number would spike it went from 3GB to 9.14.

I never received a bill (the 30 day trial is a crock, I purchased Dec 23rd first bill due Feb. 1st). I went to store and paid cash (they don't accept anyone's check) balance due exactly what my first estimated bill was supposed to be 122.00. Mid January I'm still under the impression I'm dealing with an up and up company so I buy an " unlimited cell phone plan" for 99.00 a month that was the greatest plan and would save me money, paid cash everything is fine, and I had mentioned the time it happened but again reminded Verizon about not getting a bill. "We'll get it straightened out don't worry" I was told.

March 8th I remembered they had not sent me a bill for cell and PC. Verizon has an interesting way of billing you instead of doing it the old fashioned way of mail, they just wait for you to pay on your own, and the only notice you get is a disconnected cell phone. I called Verizon and was put through to a representative. She wanted to know was I going to pay balance in full. I said yes thinking my first bill would be about 280.00 and they would drop the disconnection fee.

She put me on hold and I was sent to a "red flag" that was a bad check department and my file was located their. I said you made a mistake but I have only paid in cash and I don't write bad checks". transferred back to Verizon who took my banking info for check by phone system, we went over numbers twice to make sure it was right. I got ahead of myself before she gave me the balance 911.12 for 1 month. I seldom talk on the phone how can this be "unlimited" she said I had 700.00 in internet usage going over 5GB. I argued that I had unlimited usage but anyway I paid half the bill in protest.

I told her about the error on the PC card while downloading, a tech came on and said nothing they can do and actually I had occurred 900.00 and they knocked some off. I can't tell you how thankful I was to have someone cut my phone off for no reason, spend now about an hour and a half on the phone and to not charge me for something I didn't use.

Phone reconnected, next day I call back and thought I could get someone with reason to clear this up but to my good luck I got a rude, nasty obnoxious representative who accused me of streaming music, I said no but since you know what I'm doing you will see the card errored, again she was awful. Next day phone was disconnected and internet shut off. I called Verizon and they transferred me to the"red flag girl".

She agreed we talk a lot but we don't know why, back to Verizon and they said they had trouble with my bank and for me to call my bank and have them send written statement verifying my account. They said I had given them an account that was closed. I'm angry because everything they do or say is a lie. I call my bank. They look into it and tell me that Verizon had never attempted to make a transaction.

I call Verizon, angry but was told I shouldn't be angry because they shut my phone and internet for no valid reason charged me a mortgage payment for 1 month internet for service I didn't use and spend almost two days on the phone, and yes destroying my credit how thoughtful of Verizon and then I'm paying (under protest). They don't want to let me do that either.

They did draft out of my account but instead of one draft they slit it 127.00 for one and 377.12 for another so the bank could charge me an extra 6.50 again. How thoughtful of Verizon not to mention 20.00 worth of ringtones I never ordered and about 45.00 in disconnection fees and 611.00 of internet usage on an "unlimited" plan and will not send a bill. It seems you must scream loudly to get one and then itemized internet usage I asked for was this PAST DUE 611.00 again thanks for your trouble Verizon.

I packed your card and phone up you will be receiving it very soon as you know because I don't hide my agenda I'm telling you then and now you can take your card and phone and shove it where... all 2000 complaints would love to put it. Verizon my friend. I hope there is a class action lawsuit and your forced to pay back with interest and every store during this time should have a sign that states the truth "We're Verizon we hate you. We're here to mislead you and steal your money cause so far the government lets us and we wish we could destroy you're credit some more."

Verizon listen up. I'm GOING TO DO WHAT EVER WITHIN LEGAL MEANS TO SINK YOU INTO BANKRUPTCY. IF THEY CLOSED THE DOOR ON YOU YESTERDAY IT WOULD BE TOO LATE, and the owner and shareholders do you have any morals at all? Maybe rename it Lucifer's wireless seems to fit.

Replies
Seriously Silly Reason to Lose Long-Time Customer
By -

BURKE, VIRGINIA -- I have been a Verizon customer for many years. I have Verizon wireless, phone service, and FiOS. But I really feel like I have to consider other options due to the trouble I had last week trying to get someone at Verizon to listen to me or address my request honestly or respectfully.

The problem, simply and clearly stated: I do not send text messages of more that 160 characters or with graphics or formatting. However, every time I send a plain text message, even the messages "Test," “Call me” or “?.” Verizon calls me back with this message: “FREE_VZW_MSG: Messages sent to non-VZW customers with graphics/tones/formatting/and/or160+characters are sent as plain text with only the first 160 characters.”

Each time I tell Verizon this, I am told “it's impossible to turn off the alert that you receive when a message exceeds 160 characters." ”Great," I say. "Simply fix it so that I only get it when I do send a message of more that 160 characters and I will be a happy Verizon customer again.” Instead, Verizon has apparently cancelled my texting plan in retaliation.

The last person I talked to said his boss wasn't available and would call me. She eventually did leave me a voice mail message. Guess what it said? Yep. “We are unable to turn off the alert that you receive when a message exceeds 160 characters.” Next I received an email telling me my texting plan had been cancelled! At my request!

I'm still trying to figure out a way to get past the way I've been treated recently and keep being a Verizon customer, but I begin to think Verizon would rather not have the few hundred dollars a month I'm paying them now. And I wonder if it's wise to do business with a company with such poor customer service training, personnel and practices. I've worked in public affairs and customer service myself for 30 years and this seems to be a pretty badly-run operation and a seriously silly reason to lose a long-time customer.

Replies
Misinformed, Misled, and then Backstabbed.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- We began our Verizon service in May after signing a 6 month lease at our apartment. Our customer representative told us if we moved we could just transfer service at no cost. Just call and it would be moved. So we agreed to a two year commitment: $99.99 for Basic TV Bundle, with internet (15/5) and phone. Perks included free DVR Box for 12 mo, a "Standard Definition Set Top Box free for as long as you remain a customer," and a $200 gift card. We were told by our local representative that the channel NESN National was included with this package.

Come to find out, it wasn't. It is only included in the Ultimate Package which costs $40 more per month. After hours of speaking with customer service representative (about 7 hours over the course of 3 days) a supervisor in retention named ** said it was ridiculous for us to pay $40 extra for just one channel so she said she would give us 2 recurring Valued Customer $20/12 mo credits to offset the price difference. She also said this would expire after a year but to call back and we could renew it for year two and she would be sure to note this in our account.

We also chose to add HBO to our account for the current promo price of $9.99. Our monthly bill is typically $117 after the credits. The second $20 dollar credit was never made recurring so we literally called every month to have our bill adjusted. The employees said they saw the note in our account, made the adjustment and all claimed they would manually adjust this moving forward, though no one ever did.

When time to move came, we called and asked for a transfer of service. However, we were then informed that moving is the equivalent of terminating our contract, that we would have to renegotiate our package and that any discounts or credits would not transfer. We were offered the new "great deal" for the ultimate package for $159.99 a month. The HBO offer was no longer available but they could give us a premium channel bundle for $15 bringing out new total to $175/month for the first year.

This new Bundle was priced at $119. However, unlike our current package equipment was not free for the first year. But the employee kept saying he was beating our current price because the Ultimate package we were receiving was priced at $139, but that didn't take into account our $40 dollar credit we had on the original account.

So because we were moving, we could no longer keep our current service, which is the most absurd policy I have ever heard, and furthermore our only option would be to pay $40 more per month. They said that our bad customer service issues were linked to our first account, but because this was a new account they could not transfer the Value Customer credit because of the new great deal we were receiving.

We were then told we never should have received the credits we had been receiving because it was against company policy for those to be given out and that if our account were ever to be audited, there would be problems. The supervisor for retention then told me my choices were to cancel with Verizon completely or pay for the new package price. That he could not honor the prices I had been paying.

So even though if we move, we keep the same account number, and don't need to pay a termination fee, we have somehow broken the terms of our current contract and are forced into new pricing and are expected to act as if all of our terrible experiences were only with our past account and not with the terrible policies and the different story we got from every employee every time we called.

Oh yeah and that (and I quote) "Standard Definition Set Top Box free for as long as you remain a customer" that is printed on an invoice directly from Verizon? We are now told we have to pay a $5.99/mo rental fee for that. I told them I had in writing on a bill this statement and that it would hold up in any court. The supervisor then told me that Verizon has a great legal team who would have made sure that whatever was printed on my invoice was only applicable at our current address.

Yup. Great customer service. They messed up. Finally fixed it, and then in one swift kick to the groin decided take back their shred of decency and then, hey, force us into a new bundle and charge more money. Great customer service is ensuring that customers remain loyal, are treated with respect, and are shown value. Apparently Verizon's only concern is money, and how much they can rob you on these hidden technicalities.

Replies
Advertisement
Verizon - TV/Internet/Phone service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GARDEN CITY, NEW YORK -- We have switched our TV/Internet/Phone service to Verizon 4/15/2013, since we did not like the service so we switched back to Optimum on 5/2/2013. On that day we have returned all Verizon equipment back to their store nearby. The clerk told us they are only responsible for equipment, we have to call Verizon to cancel the service. So we did as told!

A few days later, I received a full bill so I called the customer services to explain to them I have switched to another company, and is waiting for my final bill. They told me the bill was generated automatically, there is no way they can do it sooner. I just have to wait for the next billing cycle to see the adjustment. About two weeks later, I received another bill - next month bill so I called again. They told me I have to wait for the next billing cycle. There is nothing they can do until the credit was credit back to my account. Sounds reasonable - you have to give people time to resolve the problem, so I wait again.

Then I received an e-mail about my account and bill. At this time I feel a little uncomfortable for owing people money so I called again. This time I got a gentleman, he was very nice. He told me the bill will be adjusted soon, and I don't even have to call again, they will send the corrected bill to me within a week to 10 days. He told me because I had cancelled my account within 30 days I will not be billed for early termination fees. I thank him and thinking about the bill will be coming soon. I don't have to worry about I still owe Verizon money.

Well, my waiting has come to a big surprise today. I have received not only the full bill, but plus an early termination fees. Of course I called again, and this time the customer service lady had a totally different tune. She told me she looked at my account, my phone was canceled on 5/24 (?) so the early termination fees will not be waived. What amazed me is every time I called they always ask for my permission to look at my account, and from the conversation I have with different reps. I was wondering if they are looking at the same account?

Some representative would tell me they see my account had been canceled on 5/2/13; some told me I don't have to worry about early termination fees as I have follow their instruction to cancel within 30 days. But, today must be my unlucky day as I have encountered a representative who I was not able to communicate at all. She kept telling me what she wanted to say instead of listening to my problem and resolve the problem for me.

I told her that many companies have phone recording system, it shouldn't be hard to find the phone conversations I had with other reps. But, she just wouldn't listen to me. Her attitude makes me wonder if a big company like Verizon has to trick their customer and make money this way? It's really a simple issue for every party, why Verizon has to make it so complicated? I really believe only customers are happy you will have a good business. I know I will never do business with Verizon ever again.

Replies
No Service in Mexico
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN DIEGO/MEXICO, CALIFORNIA -- I did finally speak to ** but that's not the whole story. As he said I have had service with them since ‘99 and have always had reception here in Mexico (**). The problem is that I'm not able to make, receive calls, or even access my voice mail with a land line. I get a busy signal and so does every one else that tries to call me. When I'm at the above address, the call just cuts off.

So I'm basically stranded within a 3 block radius from this address. Again a very populated area with the second busiest intersection in Tijuana within 3 blocks. Now I explained to him that I also have a Telcel number here in Mexico and I have no problems using at this address and never had a problem. It's **. If you dialed both the US cell and the Mexican cell only the Mexican cell will work if I'm at the above address.

The funny thing that I have informed them that I have been able (on about 6 different occasions) to make maximum of 3 calls when I first arrive at the above address, mostly just two calls but right after the 2nd or 3rd call everything dies. No making call, no receiving calls, and no access to voice mail even if the call is coming from the US. The call just disconnects or people get a busy signal.

Like ** said he offered me to do their work for them by having me contact Telcel myself to file a network trouble ticket. So I said “so you want me to do the work for you?” and he replied that all he was offering was information (phone number for Telcel) for me to fix the problem with Telcel which to me is the same thing.

I'm sure Verizon does not care that I recently lost my job. Since I had no fault for the loss of employment maybe I can give them my old boss' number and they can try to collect their payment from him since communication has been affected with my income source, though no fault of my own, and I have done all I could from my side so maybe they should deal with my old boss for their monthly payment, because it sounds to me like they want me to fix this problem for them.

If I fix theirs maybe they can fix mine. I pay my phone bill on time and have done so for the past 11 years. I have nothing to do with Telcel. Verizon is the one that contracted with them. They need to fix this problem themselves. I think it's only fair, but since I'm not a giant corporation with all kinds of lawyers and money to burn, who out there could care what ** thinks?

** may consider this case closed but I don't. I have been missing calls from potential employers again because my voice mail does not work when I'm in Mexico at the above address and I have to leave this area in order to be able to make a call. So where do I go from here? If anyone else has this problem I would like to hear about it, maybe something can be done. Please contact me **.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Verizon Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 80 ratings and
680 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Verizon
1095 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10036
800-621-9900 (ph)
www.verizon.com
billingservices@verizon.net
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services