Preview Review

Next Review

Whirlpool Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Defective and Poorly Built Washers and Dryers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Whirlpool Oasis HE top loaders model 110.28062800. If you have this model they have many issues. Do not pay to have fix put towards a better machine (not Whirlpool). Bought 5 years ago, now both are scrap. On washer tub replaced only 2 yrs. later. Now electrical control panel gone, dryer drive is gone too and noisy as hell. No kids living here just me and my wife. Yes as described by service techs on the show market place Whirlpool holds the monopoly on appliances and they are built to fail.

We can blame Sears all we want but Whirlpool is the culprit. That's my 3rd Whirlpool in 9 years. I have very good luck with (Bosch) my dishwasher 13 years old and running strong. PS. My Whirlpool high end fridge is only 4 yrs. old and is the age for that for crapping out too.

Replies
Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA -- My trash compactor, which is less than 1 year old, stopped working. I thought no problem, still under warranty. So I called Whirlpool. They have now sent out a technician to my house on 4 separate occasions. So I have to take a half day off work 4 times. The technician was here today for 2 hours and it has gone from bad to worse. Nothing works. He is ordering more parts (I've heard that before) and looks like I am headed for another half day off work.

The customer service department is terrible. You call, get put on hold, transferred to someone else, sometime disconnected, and then get to repeat your story all over again. It has been a very poor effort by Whirlpool. I would not recommend them to anyone. Problem still not fixed and no one seems to care on their end.

Replies
Oven Door Glass Shattered. KitchenAid "Approved" Vendor Cannot Find a Non-Defective Replacement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- My KitchenAid oven door glass shattered. I called and got the name of their local "approved" vendor. I paid for the replacement part but when the technician tried to install it he found that it was defective! The glass was not centered in the stainless panel and there was a 1/8" gap on one side and the glass overlapped on the other so that the part was too thick for the attachment screws to hold the door together. They had the same defect on several other replacement parts and were going to call Whirlpool for help.

That was over six weeks ago. STILL NO PROPERLY MANUFACTURED PART IN SIGHT! Whirlpool obviously negotiated the lowest cost vendor -- probably in China -- and KitchenAid owners have to suffer as a result! KitchenAid was a good brand when Hobart owned it. Whirlpool is trying to milk the reputation but is unable to support their products. They certainly are no longer worth the premium price. CAVEAT EMPTOR (let the buyer beware), select another brand and make sure that Whirlpool does not own that brand too.

Replies
Defective Product - Pathetic Customer Service - Warranty ignored
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MICHIGAN -- On June 11, 2014 our one-year-old cooktop failed, flashing error F47. We called 18002350065 and were told we'd be called back within 5-7 business days, that the unit needed to be replaced, and that it would be scheduled. No call back came.

On June 26, 2014 we called 18002350065 and got an apology for the delay and a promise of a callback within a day. No callback came. On June 27, 2014 we called 18002350065 and were told that it would take 10-14 days for someone to call us to schedule a replacement. I called corporate headquarters, trying to reach you, and was shunted to a voicemail that promised a callback. None came.

I posted a nasty note on the Whirlpool Facebook wall. Two days later I got a sincere sounding apology from Amber in their digital department, who asked for the model number and serial number, and promised to do what she could. I e-mailed the information promptly. Two days later, nothing has happened. I called a local appliance repair place that does work for Whirlpool - they said they've been replacing the model ICI1500XB 00 (sold by Ikea) in homes all over the area...that it apparently is a product with a serious problem.

Whirlpool? They're absent, ignoring their responsibilities to customers like me. We have tenants who haven't had a cooktop for three weeks, and are being told it will take weeks more to repair. To say this is unacceptable warranty service does not even begin to describe it. Anyone who buys a Whirlpool appliance (they're IKEA's supplier) does so at their own peril. Serial XPU1000422. Model ICI1500XB 00.

Replies
Advertisement
Whirlpool Products Are Garbage
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- We purchased a Whirlpool range in 2011. The day it was installed it did not work. They sent a repair tech to fix it. One year later, the same problem happened. They tried telling us it was actually a different part that went bad. Not true and it cost us $200 to fix it.

One year later, the same problem happens again. We again contact Whirlpool. Their answer was to sell us a $279 extended warranty plan. Great. The oven will stop working again as soon as the extended warranty expires then they will sell us another one. The extended warranty is more than the repair. This oven is a joke. Whirlpool is a joke. Do not buy Whirlpool products. They do not stand behind their products.

Replies
Beware Whirlpool Extended Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

UNKNOWN -- I called Whirlpool to buy an extended warranty on my Jenn-Air refrigerator. I was honest with the customer service representative when she asked if there were any issues with the fridge (big mistakes, I know, honest people get done over every time). The doors need adjusting, I told her, but everything else is perfect. They said I could only buy a 5-year plan ($232) and they normally cover adjusting doors if they don't close properly but because I was honest and told them, they wouldn't cover them for me.

I could still buy the contract, they told me, but just for me (how special I am!) they wouldn't cover that service call if I requested it. If you do, they'll cover it. But not me because I was honest with them. I called 1-800-874-4698 and they transferred me to their extended warranty department. So here's the lesson folks: lie. What a shame that this is what this company does to good people like me.

Replies
Whirlpool branded hot water tank issues
By -

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- In August 2008 we purchased a gas, a 40 gal. hot water heater from Lowes that was branded as "Whirpool". We have had great success with Whirlpool appliances in the past, so we thought this was a no brainer. This past week, the tank started to fail. Each morning we woke up to no hot water and found the tank not functioning. Each day we called Whirlpool and had them walk us through relighting the pilot light. The tank would heat up normally. When we got home from work, the tank would still be functioning. Then, the next morning we were back in the basement, on the phone with Whirlpool trying to get the tank relit.

Why did we call Whirlpool instead of just relighting it ourselves? We called and had them walk us through it so there would be a record of the problem, the frequency, etc. Yesterday, the operator had me light the tank then shut it off and so we could pull wires and test the firing. With the phone to my ear, she had me pull the white and black wires to the thermocoupler, hold the wires together, then with the other hand expected me to push the RED button down, hold it and then concurrently click the spark switch rapidly.

After a minute, the tank failed to relight relight. She then had me plug everything back together, and try the relight process again. Nothing. And again we tried, and nothing. I just got fed up, and said to the operator on the phone - who, I have to say was super nice as are all the people at Whirlpool who we've spoken to - and said that this wasn't acceptable, and that this was apparently a larger problem than just a pilot light going out. She said that the tank was covered for parts, but not service. I said that when you buy a Whirlpool, you expect something better than that solution considering the unit was not even two years old.

The operator immediately said that Whirlpool would cover the repair - meaning parts and service costs. They gave me the name of a local heating contractor and I scheduled the replacement for the defective part which happened today. The repair man said that they could NOT guarantee the part, and that there were problems with the replacement parts as well.

I looked up "Whirlpool gas hot water tanks" sold through Lowe's and I discovered that not only were tanks NOT made by Whirlpool, but were "branded as Whirlpool". I also found that many, many people have ongoing issues with parts failing. Most of the complaints have stated that the parts failed shortly after installation - our failed after approximately 20 months. But in all fairness, when the unit operates properly, it performs in a flawless manner.

So we are going to watch this appliance very, very carefully. If it fails again in an unreasonable amount of time, we will replace the tank with high efficient on demand system from a reputable plumber, and we won't be quite so certain of future appliance purchases from Whirlpool.

I am really disappointed in this product. If the product is as problem riddled as I have found, and those complaints are accurate, then Whirlpool needs to make it right to everyone who bought one of these units. As I said, when you buy Whirlpool, you expect peace of mind. I'll no wonder every morning IF we have HOT water, or IF we'll have to go through this again.

Replies
Extended Service Plan Ripoff and the Big Fat Liars Who Work For Them
By -

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- At 1:30, March 11, 2010, I was told by ** (who conveniently no longer works for Federal Warranty Service Corporation, according to his supervisor, "**-I-cannot-reveal-my-last-name-for-security-purposes" when asked for his last name..."**" is probably made up, also) that the KitchenAid Extended Service I was purchasing on my 3rd KitchenAid in the last 5 years was for 10 years if I purchased that day. I was to receive an email verifying the length of time within 24 hours. "**" even put me on hold to verify it with his supervisor... came back on and said, "yes" it would be for 10 years, expiring 12/08/2020.

March 15, 10:30 A.M. spoke to "**", CSR, looks on computer and says, "Yes, it is for 10 years"... puts me back over to Sales to see why my confirmation has not been emailed. "**" in Sales @ 10:32 A.M. tells me that as of March 15, I have a 10 year extended total replacement plan. Still nothing received by 11:40 on 3/16/10 and "**" reconfirms in the CSR Dept. that the computer shows that a contract for 10 years was sent to me.

"**" on 3/26/10 @ 10:00 A.M. said the actual contract was sent to the "wrong place" by the CSR Department and that a new contract would be sent and take 7 to 10 days... and yes, confirms again my contract expires in 2020. "**", on March 29, 2010, is from the same town where I live (40 + miles from the Indiana office on the Kentucky side of the Ohio River) and works in CSR office, I believe. He also confirms that the computer screen shows that my contract is for the 10 years.

I know his family, so he will tell me the truth... he went to the same school as my children and we know the same people... he will not tell me something that was a lie. He told me that I should get a cover letter for the contract that states that my Total Replacement Plan is for 10 years.

May 14, 2010, receive another contract with a THREE YEAR TOTAL REPLACEMENT PLAN... NOT THE 10 YEAR I WAS SOLD!!! Call @ 11:45 A.M. and speak with "**" who says it is for 10 years and puts me in touch with the Sales Dept. and tells "**" the situation and she says that it shows that it is for 3 years and cannot be changed, but she will ask her supervisor,"**", and explain the situation. "**" tells me it is for 3 years and it cannot be changed. I ask to speak to the supervisor's supervisor (this is now going on for 45 minutes).

NOW, get this...I have had 7 (seven) plus the original approval from a supervisor who say my contract is for TEN (10) years...the "I-cannot-give-you-my-last-name" supervisor today tells me that the company NEVER had a ten year contract...PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE...WOULD SOMEONE TELL ME HOW I KNEW ABOUT THE 10 YEAR CONTRACT AND 7 PEOPLE EMPLOYED AT THIS OFFICE SAID I HAD IT...BUT TODAY, I AM TOLD THERE WAS NO SUCH THING??? When pushed, the latest "final" supervisor told me they had had a 10 year contract in January, but I could not get that one...

Now, get this... when I told him the number and names of the employees who had verified that I had a 10 year contract with them, he told me they were all lying to me... why would 7 different people lie to the same caller on different days, months, etc.? He told me he was going to go back to all of them and tell them they should not lie to me.

I was not born yesterday, but this little weasel said he would not change it even though that is what I was sold... he then tried to explain that verbal agreements were not contracts... I asked if he happened to have a law degree, as he was making incorrect law determinations... the monies were sent from Kentucky and sold over the state line as a 10 year contract from Indiana... they have not only broken a moral code (this young generation generally has no idea what that is) BUT they lied and cheated a customer to get my funds.

I am going to Shout the following: DO NOT BUY ANYTHING THAT HAS TO DO WITH WHIRLPOOL, FEDERAL WARRANTY SERVICE CORPORATION, KITCHENAID EXTENDED SERVICE PLANS LOCATED IN INDIANA AND LOUISVILLE, KY. The supervisor is now telling customers they do not get what they were sold... it is their "code" of conduct.

I am contacting the state attorneys general in Kentucky, Indiana, and their location is also, according to their contract, in Atlanta, Georgia. What I thought was funny was the Complaint Dept. for this Indiana branch is not in Indiana, but across the bridge in Louisville, KY. They refuse to give you a street address, but the supervisor gave me a post office box and incorrect zip code... when I questioned him on the zip code, he then gave me a correct one... I guess he was trying to pull a fast one again. When asked for the President's name, he fumbled and gave me J. F.'s name, the President of Whirlpool... but he did not have an address or a phone number...

Replies
Advertisement
Quality and Customer Service Nightmare
By -

In April of 2009 we purchased several Architect Series stainless steel KitchenAid appliances from a local authorized dealer including a diswasher, microwave, stove, warming drawer and a 36" cooktop and downdraft unit (~$10,000 of product). When the cooktop unit arrived, it was installed by the local dealer's service technicians. During the installation we discovered that a number of pieces were missing from the cooktop including burner tops that prevented us from using the cooktop.

After 3 to 4 phone calls to Whirlpool and about 2 weeks later, we finally received the parts and discovered that Whirlpool (owner of KitchenAid brand) had sent the wrong parts. After several more phone calls, we were finally sent what we thought were the remaining correct parts. After the technician arrived to install them, he found that we were missing more burner parts from the high capacity burner and that using the burner without these parts had scorched the cooktop slightly.

At the same time we discovered that the downdraft system activation button was not working correctly and more new parts for both items were ordered by the technician. A new cooktop was ordered and then installed about 3-4 weeks later by the local dealer. After the cooktop was installed, we discovered that it was scratched badly and ordered another. About 2 weeks later the parts for the downdraft arrived and were installed by the local dealer technicians. The next day the downdraft system got stuck in the up and on position and could not be turned off. Another cooktop arrived several weeks later and was installed.

I called the local dealer frustrated at having paid for a new cooktop in April and still not able to use it fully in late July and was told by the owner that we had to wait to have a Whirlpool authorized 3rd party technician come to our house to evaluate the unit before Whirlpool would do anything to replace or repair the downdraft unit. Meanwhile, after 4-5 phone calls and being transferred around in Whirlpool's "customer service" bureacracy of divisions, we tried to get a replacement unit and were told by Whirlpool that they would send us one, but that they were on backorder and it would be mid-August before one could be delivered to our home.

We asked them if they could find one at a distributor or retailer and have that unit sent to us and were told by the "customer service" person that they don't do that. They furthermore said that we could try to do that on our own but that they would only refund exactly the discounted price that we paid from the local retailer and not what we would have to pay to get one delivered from somewhere else in the country to our home.

I run a manufacturing business that sells products in the same price range as these appliances through distribution to retail stores. We occasionally make mistakes as do all companies. When a customer has a problem, our customer service ensures that the customer is taken care of immediately either through a local retailer or directly from us. We see a problem as an opportunity to have customers rave about our service levels to other potential customers and realize that service attitude and responsiveness pays for itself several times over in the positive word of mouth versus the negative that would occur if we didn't do this.

Whirlpool had a huge opportunity to have my wife and I telling a wonderful customer service story that would have positively influenced other potential customers in an affluent community where many of our friends and neighbors are upgrading kitchens. Instead, I will be telling as many people as I can both verbally and online about my experience and the impact to their sales will be 10-100 times what it would have cost them to be nice to us and try to solve our problem.

I hope that someone in the management of Whirlpool someday gets this message and uses it to change the company for the positive. Meanwhile, I suggest that if you can, you should avoid buying any of the brands that are made and serviced by Whirlpool.

Replies
Back to Basics
By -

08753, NEW JERSEY -- I've read through some of the reviews here, and I'm not degrading the manufacturers or the people on here, but I think we the consumer need to "GO BACK TO BASICS" when it comes to appliances. I am a service tech, and work mostly on laundry appliances. I see machines all day long, I average about 10 machines a day, all brands all, and all years. The reason I'm writing is to share my opinion, I see lots of problems and I believe they stem from the person behind the machine just as much as the company who makes the machine. I've seen several machines fail, because of poor designs, I've also seen them fail from the customer. I'll give some examples.

The front load washer, its gonna change how we do laundry... but it doesn't. Everything is the same, we load the same, we soap the same, and we misuse the same... yet its a completely different machine. And has to be treated that way! The normal washer has in the area of 20 gallons of water, a front load has maybe 4 or 5? Yet we still put a cap off soap in it??? The average washer spins at 600 rpm, a frontload goes 1000+ yet we don't group our clothes by material as well as color to balance the machine. The normal soap is "new improved, ultra, better than ever, super dooper". If it's better, why are we still using a full cap?

In my area the directions on the soap are wrong. We have soft water, why don't the soap companies advised on water quality when determining how much soap to use? In my home a normal washer works just fine on a 1/4 cup of soap, in 20 gallons, that means the frontload machine needs only a 1/4 of that it only uses 5 gallons on a good day. So a 1/4 of a 1/4, that's 1/16th of a cup of soap, why do we still use a capfull and then complain when the machine smells. Why is there a special soap for frontload washers, and people refuse to buy it? If you bought a high end car that needed super, would you use regular?

If you don't rinse the clothes you don't rinse the machine either, yet you blame the machine and not yourself??? The average washer spins around 600 rpm, a frontload washer spins close to double that speed, it needs simular clothes to spin smoothly, yet we toss everything in the machine at once... got to get it done, everyone is rush rush. Think back to your childhood when your mom grouped her clothes, she took pride in making them clean... now get it's get it done, and blame the machine when theres a problem. I'm not saying the people who make the machines are perfect, they make plenty of mistakes at our expense, and that also is a "lack of pride" issue.

The point I'm trying to make is people as a whole need to slow down and take time to do it right. I feel the manufacturers need better quality control, they make them cheap to save money... its all about the money.
I also believe the chemical companies are guilty in the problem. They crank up the strengh on the soaps, and never tell you to use less. Its all about the money, the power companies also have a stake in your machine failures, the power grid in the US is under-rated and week, causing voltage spikes and drops, computers cannot tolerate this, but you don't see them upgrading our power system... that too is all about the money!

"Back to basics" it what America needs form its people to its manufactures. Ponder this... how dirty are you??? Next you put soap in the machine, ask, how dirty am I?

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Whirlpool Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 46 ratings and
130 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Whirlpool
2000 North M63
Benton Harbor, MI 49022
616-923-5000 (ph)
616-923-5038 (fax)
www.whirlpool.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies