Preview Review

Next Review

Woodforest National Bank Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Debit Card Hacked... I Guess I'm the Criminal and Not the Actual People Who Stole My Funds... Poor Treatment
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORPORATE OFFICE, TEXAS -- Upon opening this account, I called approximately 3-4 days straight to be allowed access to mobile or online banking by phone, as well as by inbox in the portals message center. I explained that when I attempted to log into online banking with my username that neither my checking, nor savings account were visible. I also pointed out that I was not receiving any alerts, and I could not complete the text message authentication because of some sort of system error.

To protect my balance I asked was I able to do a transfer to my savings account that would move the bulk of my funds to an account with no card access, I was told I could not transfer a large amount over telephone banking & I was not able to get to a Woodforest branch. Finally, after calling at least 5 times, on 3-4 separate days, the issue was resolved & I was granted access to online and mobile banking on Thursday August 8th, 2019. Upon logging on I noticed that my balance had diminished by a great deal. I immediately called to cancel my debit card & dispute this transaction that I did not recognize or complete.

My information was taken, card cancelled and at that point we were somehow disconnected. While still reviewing my account, I noticed that several other unauthorized charges were made as well. I again immediately called Woodforest back and made the representative aware that more debits had been made to my account without my knowledge or authorization. My card was in my possession the entire time, and I was in Denver, Co on business on the dates this card was used in Biloxi, MS. I departed from the airport in New Orleans on Tuesday morning at 5:45 am and was not in Houston, TX on the Monday prior to my departure.

I have returned the signed affidavits to Woodforest's Debit Card Dispute Department & called in to confirm that they were received. I am writing this summary of events to also add to my file. I have enclosed the receipt from my trip, as well as boarding passes & hotel receipts and it is also on my statement for this month. I can be reached at any time with any questions or information needed.

UPON FURTHER REVIEW. TOTALLY UNHAPPY WITH HOW I HAVE BEEN TREATED AS A CUSTOMER: considering going to the Office of the Comptroller of Currency. This experience has been unreal. Please refer to account history. I am still not able to perform text message authentications that will enable me to fully use Woodforest's online & mobile banking.

Now, when calling into customer service I am told that my debit card has been revoked after completing the steps to receive a new card after being a victim of debit card fraud. Can someone please reach out to me here, or by phone at. I have had so many issues with these accounts since opening them and I should not be penalized for the issues that I have experienced. Can someone please help me? Management preferred, but anyone who can help me will do.

Company Response 11/01/2019:

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent experience. We'd like to take a closer look into what happened. Please send an email to SocialMedia@woodforest.com with your contact information.

Replies
Wrong Account
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEWBURGH, INDIANA -- So I went to the bank on three separate occasions to deposit money into my account which they then deposited into somebody else's account and it took me three days to get my money in my account which was cash and they told me cash would deposit on the same day. One of those times I thought the money was in my account so I tried to pay bills and I couldn't use my debit card so I had my husband go back into the bank, talk to the bank again. They said they fixed it.

Checked my online banking. It still was not in there. He went back in again and talk to them. They said they fixed it. It was still not in there so after the third try I told him to ask them for $60 back out of my account then they turned around and charge me an overdraft fee for that $60 of my money that should've been put in my account not in somebody else's account.

Replies
Mobile Deposit Useless
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- I have made numerous mobile check deposits using the app and EVERY deposit I made in the afternoon have posted the same day. Now that I've made one in the Morning (9:30am) my money won't be available until the next day.... This money was to get me home.... NO MORE!!!!

Replies
Disputed Claim Denied
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MOBILE, ALABAMA -- I am so so disappointed in this bank. We have had accounts for at least 10 years, no issues. My daughters have all had accounts. One of the online accounts got hacked, we disputed the charges, the bank denied the claim and kept over $200 of her income tax return for the NSF fees. We will all be closing all accounts and we will no longer be promoting this bank, we have encouraged lots of people to open accounts with this institution. Now we will turn people away. It is not right for the bank to keep her money.

Replies
Advertisement
Bank Sucks and Not Fair
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BROWNSBURG INDIANA, INDIANA -- So I have had Woodforest bank for two years. I got behind on my account. It went into the negative so I'm trying to get it turned back around. So my daughter opened up an account. She is 17 and been putting her checks in there. Well they took her check and put it in my negative account to try and make it positive. My daughter's checks that she work so damn hard to get. I will be changing banks negative or not.

Company Response 02/01/2019:

We hear your frustration. We'd like to get a few more details. Can you send an email to SocialMedia@woodforest.com with your contact information, so we can reach out?

Company Response 02/20/2019:

We hear your frustration. We'd like to get a few more details. Can you send an email to SocialMedia@woodforest.com with your contact information, so we can reach out?

Company Response 06/07/2019:

We'd like to gather a few details. Please send an email with your contact information to SocialMedia@woodforest.com.

Replies
Pissed Off Military Wife
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA -- I am an ex-military wife, my ex-husband was in the Marine Corps 1st then U. S. Army retired after 24 yrs in. He was deployed to Iraq after 9/11. He stayed there for 5 years then came home for 2 weeks then retired in them 2 weeks and went back over as a contractor working with Special Forces. He has now been there 10 years. All the time he has been there he has sent me money for me to take care of the household bills and to take care of the 3 kids. We divorced in 2004 and he still sent me money till yesterday 06/15/2015 and he would send by way of wiring from his bank account with USAA & Capital One, into my Woodforest account for the last 3 yrs since I moved to Louisiana.

I had been with other banks before and NEVER had any problems. Today I tried to use my debit card and couldn't so I went to the bank to find out what was wrong. They told me my account was closed for suspicious activity on my account and "due to the extensive monitoring required for the activity on your account we regret to inform you your account will be closed."

I called and spoke with the corporate office and they said they are not obliged to tell me what was suspicious activity was on my account. We have the same last name and the wires come in his name to my name and they can also see I pay all my bills with my debit card, so they are thinking I am a drug dealer or money laundering so they closed my account.

My 3 kids have accounts with them that now we are closing and I advise you to NEVER bank with them. My ex-husband and best friend fights for this country and I can't even have him wire money to me from his bank account to pay bills and take care of the kids as long as I was with Woodforest National Bank. Because to them I am obviously a criminal and not a mother & ex-military wife of 24 years!!!

Company Response 06/28/2015:

At Woodforest, we take every concern seriously and make every effort to resolve issues promptly. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you regarding your experience. Please contact sedn your contact information to CustomerAdvocacy@woodforest.com. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Replies
Rude and Disrespectful Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- Good morning, I received an email on July 3rd from you bank concerning my bank account being compromised. This is the email I received:

"Woodforest has recently learned that your Woodforest Debit MasterCard® ending in ** was used at a merchant whose records may have been compromised. To best protect your account Woodforest has lowered your ATM daily withdrawal limit to $100 per day; meaning, your card will continue to work on transactions that require your Signature to perform POS (Point of Sale) transactions as well as any ATM withdrawal that is $100 or less. We have also ordered a replacement Debit MasterCard® for your account in which you should receive in approximately one week. Your new card will have the same PIN as your current Woodforest Debit MasterCard®.

You may continue to use your existing Woodforest Debit MasterCard® until either (i) 08/05/2015, or (ii) until you activate your replacement card, whichever occurs first. If you have automatic payments set up on your existing card, you will need to inform the merchant of your new card number. You will receive an automated call and a postcard notification in the mail with additional details. Please contact our Customer Care department at 1-877-968-7962 immediately if you suspect unusual or fraudulent activity on your account."

The problem I have is that I visited my local branch and they were to stop the fraudulent activity. As of today, whoever compromised my account is still taking money out, so I call the 1-877-968-7962 number to your customer service. I spoke to Shemekia who was very friendly and sympathetic to my situation, but when she transferred me to a manager the whole tone of the conversation changed. The lady spoke to me as if I was running a scam and as if I was the person stealing money out of my own account.

She kept asking me the same questions over and over like I was stupid or lying. She was very rude and has no customer service skills and should not be working at a bank. I will probably cancel all 4 of my accounts with Woodforest, that would include my business account. This person has wiped out my Checking and Saving account. I am currently -$511.31 in my checking and $0.00 in my saving account. Not only do I not have money I have to listen to a rude manager in customer service. I am TOTALLY DONE WITH THIS BANK.

Company Response 09/30/2015:

We apologize for such a difficult experience. We would like to look further into your situation. If you'll send an email with your contact information to SocialMedia@woodforest.com, we will get in touch with you.

Replies
Closed My Account without Notice
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BAYTOWN, TEXAS -- This is the worst bank company EVER. They charge you $15 for a debit card... RIDICULOUS. The debit card is a flimsy POS. My account was overdrawn a few bucks because of their fee policy even though I had direct deposit last month so it shouldn't have charged the fee. So I transferred some money from my PayPal to cover some of the negative balance. That was last week. Friday, I transferred $117, and then $17 on Saturday from my Amazon account. Sunday night, Woodforest decided to close my bank account, without emailing me or calling. NOTHING. NO RESPECT.

Customer service is outsourced in India or something. The first representative told me to deposit money into the account which I did. Today a representative informed me there's nothing they can do to reverse the closed account. If I want a checking account I need to go into a branch. And pay another $25 opening fee and $15 debit card fee? No thank you.

My husband called the branch manager and she didn't offer to help. Just said the transfers should bounce back to Amazon. Hello? She doesn't want my business or the $6.95 back that the bank paid to close the account? WTF, any major bank would offer to help. I banked with a major bank for years and never had an issue. They always bent over backwards to help me. Not this lady. She couldn't care less to even offer to help as a branch manager. And my money is still floating around in limbo. Thanks Woodforest Bank. You suck.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Bank To Deal With!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JACKSONVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA -- I called because I have a legal fee on my account. They took $150 and would not refund my account back when they stated multiple times that I would be getting my money back. Legal department is a joke and the same with this bank! Instead of waiving the fee like they stated they would and they didn't! When I opened an account I was never told of this legal fee account ever!!! They are heartless and I will make sure to close this account and I will make sure none of my family or friends even do business with this bank ever!!! Very very poor customer service and horrible people!

Company Response 08/14/2018:

We hear your frustration. We'd like to get a few more details. Can you send an email to SocialMedia@woodforest.com with your contact information, so we can reach out?

Company Response 03/19/2019:

We hear your frustration. We'd like to get a few more details. Can you send an email to SocialMedia@woodforest.com with your contact information, so we can reach out?

Replies
Online Banking
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILLIS, TEXAS -- I opened an account in October... I did not want online banking period. I was under the understanding I did not have it. I decided to enroll in online banking in January. Went to the branch and they said it was active since 2007. I had an account with Woodforest around that time with my ex-husband.

Woodforest kept the info. And when I opened my new account they added my new account to the old online banking. I don't remember the username from that long ago and they wouldn't give it to me again... I would go to my branch and they told me to call the 1-800 number.

The 1-800 number told me to go the branch. I finally got logged on after 2 months and all my info. had been changed. Phone numbers I didnt recognize showed up on the account, phone numbers taken off. Email address' changed. So I called the 1-800 again and that number is just a call center. They will not let me talk to a bank employee, or fraud department... I see fraudulent activities on my account but the bank doesn't see a problem.

I'm so upset about this mess. I could not log into my account but someone has and changed all my information. The bank never called me to let me know anything!!! I cannot talk to a supervisor because they won't let me. I'm not sure who governs banks but when I find out, someone is going to be in real trouble over this... Still at this point I have no answers.

Company Response 02/22/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent experience. We'd like to take a closer look into what happened. Please send an email to SocialMedia@woodforest.com with your contact information.

Company Response 02/28/2018:

We'd like to gather a few details. Please send an email with your contact information to SocialMedia@woodforest.com.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Woodforest National Bank Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 15 ratings and
24 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Woodforest National Bank
P.O. Box 7889
The Woodlands, TX 77387-7889
1-877-968-7962 (ph)
www.woodforest.com
Compare Banks