ACER

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 7 ratings and
49 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
ACER Computers SUCK
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
TEMPLE, TEXAS -- Thinking buying an ACER computer? DON’T!

If you are going to throw money away, throw it my way. I made the mistake of buying an ACER Aspire 722 Netbook and within 3-4 months, the case split and a piece fell out. Not only that but the keys stick, it’s slow even with 2 GB RAM and the touch pad has a mind of its own. Some programs I get a flickering line that doesn’t go away.

ACER will not back their warranty. When I called customer service, I got some East Indian guy that does his best to void your warranty starting with the case is not covered under warranty. Then he wants you to mail in your computer (at your expense) while they evaluate it for CID (customer induced damage) to void your warranty, but the excuses are endless.

I took it to a local repair shop and they said they would have to remove the screen and take the case apart which would void my warranty and recommended I contact ACER, which I did. I ended up contacting a corporate office in Texas and was given an email address of cicserviceops@tx. Acer. com where I addressed my issues with ACER.

Not only did I get no response, when I emailed again, my mail was returned. They will make it impossible for you to have them honor their warranty. They will make you jump through every hoop imaginable to not honor their product. My computer guys also said that ACER was their #1 for repairs.

Another friend of mine had endless problems with her ACER also.

Searching for ACER complaints, at this site 94% rated it horrible out of 418 reviews.
http://www/. consumeraffairs. com/computers/Acer. html

This site has 3 page of complaints and about 60 reviews, all bad.
http://www/. complaintsboard. com/bycompany/Acer-a27149.html

At this site there 27 more complaints cost the consumers over $5200
http://acer/. pissedconsumer. com/

At this site there are 462 bad reviews out of 501 reviews or 92% bad reviews.
http://www/. customerservicescoreboard. com/Acer+Computers

At this site there are 10 terrible reviews
http://www/. screwedbyforums. com/Acer-product-reviews-consumer-complaints-reports/

This site has 71 complaints and most are about quality, repair and customer service
http://www/. my3cents. com/reviews/Acer

This site has a long list of complaints
http://www/. akosha. com/Acer-complaints-77.html

This blog had 34 bad reviews
http://betanews/. com/2006/10/30/what-s-behind-Acer-s-Vista-complaints/

This complaint, ACER refused delivery for service
http://www/. Ripoffreport. com/computer-service-repair/Acer-aspire-one/Acer-aspire-one-computer-died-8e4d2.htm

This Better Business Bureau in Temple Texas had 963 complaints of which 136 were complaints of warranty and 80 about service. And this only one of thousands of BBB’s.
http://www/. BBB. org/central-Texas/business-reviews/computers-dealers/Acer-America-corporation-in-temple-tx-47518

This site is a PERFECT example of the BS you will get trying to get your ACER warranty/service
http://www/. notgoodenough. org/viewtopic. php?p=329829

This website’s survey rated ACER as the WORST
http://ctwatchdog/. com/finance/2012-computer-reliability-report-Lenovo-most-reliable-Acer-least-reliable-apple-declined

This site has 2227 complaints out of 2923 or 76% hate ACER
http://amplicate/. com/hate/Acer

How bad ACERS SUCK!
http://acersucks/. wordpress. com/

Notebook Forums has tons of complaints
http://www/. notebookforums. com/newsearch?search=ACER+complaints

This site boycotts ACER and has 1769 views
http://www/. boycottowl. com/Acer+Computers/100

These are you tube videos that are self explanatory.
http://www/. youtube. com/watch?v=iH3_umP5c2E
http://www/. youtube. com/watch?v=8dvEufWpjD0
http://www/. youtube. com/watch?v=PpREX4XgGgU
http://www/. youtube. com/watch?v=4qKRHW680qw
http://www/. youtube. com/watch?v=DgsZ_NGMAcE
http://www/. youtube. com/watch?v=KsW1DURTHco
http://www/. youtube. com/watch?v=zDtic9L126o

This site is a computer reviews
http://compreviews/. about. com/u/ua/support/AcerSupport.02.htm?success=1#ua_form

This site also says ACER SUCKS
http://www/. direct-laptops-guide. com/Acer-laptops-suck. html

And you think this review is bad? Check this one out?
http://www/. urbandictionary. com/define. php?term=Acer

Complaints from around the world
http://ask/. metafilter. com/164353/I-need-a-decent-touchpad-not-an-ALPS-touchpad-from-Acer

About. com has 127 complaints about ACER
http://compreviews/. about. com/u/ua/support/AcerSupport.02.htm?r=un2

So here are 22 websites, 7 YouTube videos and thousands reasons of dissatisfied customers and these are the ones that actually took the time to write about their complaints. There are many, many, more so if you are thinking of buying an ACER product, you are simply throwing your money away.

I would HIGHLY recommend Samsung as they back their warranty 100%. On a personal experience, I sat on my new dual LCD camera and broke the lens. I called Samsung and they only asked for my serial number and said it was under warranty. NO OTHER questions asked. The sent out UPS to pick it up and it was repaired 100% within 10 days.

Karl_ike@Hotmail. com
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
nikalseyn on 05/07/2013:
All computer manufacturers have complaints about them. Acer does make cheap computers, and as such no doubt have more problems than a good, expensive one. I have had good luck with HP and Toshiba for laptops/netbooks. But, that might just be me. Personally, I always spend more to get more quality. Buying a cheapo brand you takes your chances.
jktshff1 on 05/07/2013:
Good research. Betcha wish you had done it before purchasing.
heartland on 05/07/2013:
I've had a little refurbished Samsung notepad for a couple of years now and at the $150 I paid for it, it's been worth every penny. Would buy another, also love my Samsung TV. Thanks for good review and specifics, for my next PC think I will head straight to Samsung.
CrazyRedHead on 05/08/2013:
2GB of ram is really low. It takes just 1gb for Vista to work properly and with all the other programs in there I'm surprised that with 2GB it even runs at all. Acer is a cheap computer anyway. Have you read your warranty to see what is and isn't covered. I wouldn't be surprised to see that the case and screen isn't covered and considered cosmetic. Most, if not all, computer mans don't cover cosmetic damage under warranty, regardless if it is customer or normal wear and tear damage.
Aceristerrible on 11/29/2013:
I bought a ACER desktop 1 year ago, within 6 months I had already done one factory restore. Had to ship it to Texas , which I paid for. They put in new hard drive. 6 months later experiencing blue screen/won't shut off/won't start up. Your better of buying a prostitute for the night
Close commentsAdd reply
Poor customer service and repair service
Posted by on
I am extremely disappointed with the customer care service provided by Acer Computers. I received my computer back today after its second visit to the repair center. It would not start as there was no hard drive in it. The situation now is that myself and the technician at the local computer shop are 99% sure that the hard drive was in when it first went to be repaired now over a month ago.
Initially I bought the product from a reliable shop and within two months it started going into sleep mode. After this happened 3 times it did not start up at all. I took it back to the local shop where the technician informed me that it was a hard ware problem and so would have to be returned to the manufacturers. He transferred my information off my hard drive onto another computer. I watched him replace the hard drive and seal the unit up again. I can remember the situation very well.
I tried to return the computer to Acer in early January. DHL did not turn up on the first scheduled day and did not call to explain why. I rearranged the pick up and the computer arrived with you on 14th January. I was told it would probably take a week to resolve.
After two to two and half weeks, I emailed the customer service department. The email bounced. I tried again and after a week of not receiving a reply I tried to call. I have still not had a reply to my email.
The first time I called I was told Acer were waiting on spare parts and I should continue to wait. I called again a few days later and after getting fed up with the same phrases being read from a card I asked to speak to a manager who quickly decided that I shouldn't have been waiting for so long. He told me he would call me back within three days but when he did I was out and he did not leave a message on my machine.
I called again and was told that the computer would be back with me within 3 - 7 days. I asked why the manager had not called me back and it was it explained that he had. I left my mobile number this time and asked for the manager to call me back the next day - he did not.
The computer was returned from Acer last Thursday and still had the same problem. I called Acer again was told that nothing could be done other than send the computer back, the manager at the Indian call center told me the same so I finally insisted on being put onto someone else. I spoke to Jo in Plymouth who seemed particularly disinterested in the situation. She suggested, if I was not happy with the computer, I should take it back to the shop I bought it from. She said she would send details of how to get it back to Acer, which she did, and details of how to complain, which she did not. I returned her email asking for the email address of where to complain - not realising it was the same email but she has still not replied.
I wrote my first letter of complaint and was told that I would hear from Melanie Knight in ‘about 10 days’. I have also asked to speak to Ms. Knight on the telephone but she is always too busy to speak with me.
As I have said above I now have the computer back but not working. I phoned Acer to ask what the problem might be and they could not help. I had to go to the local computer shop to be told that the hard drive was missing. I rang Acer again, and spoke to Jo again. She was again spoken to in a patronising manner. She claimed must have been taken out when I took it to have the hard drive copied because the machine could not be tested properly because the hard drive was missing. As I pointed out though if the machine had been tested properly on its first visit they would not have been able to test the machine and so either the hard drive was mislaid at their repair center or it was not tested properly the first time it was with them. I was told that they did not need the hard drive to test it properly but that raises the question as to why they needed it the first time but not the first. Is the testing inconsistent? There was no note of the hard drive being missing the first time it was with them.
My most recent conversation was with Rick who stated that it was no longer their problem and they were no longer prepared to help with this matter. So I am left with a laptop and no hard drive. The local shop have scoured there place and there is no sign of the hard drive there.
I think you would agree that the overall level of service has been very poor, not just from one area of the Acer business. I have repeatedly asked for help as I run a small business and this has caused a lot of extra time, expense and stress.
I have had to wait in on four occasions now from 9 - 5 each time for collections or deliveries from DHL. This means I have to cancel teaching work and so lose money.
I have spent approximately 4 hours on the phone at different times which stops me getting on with paid work
I am struggling to do my work on a very old, slow computer which results in me spending more time on each piece of work and having to wait until 10 - 11 P.M. for this computer to be free for me to do my work.
I am always met with the same attitude that 'there is nothing you can do'. Well in my business that pathetic attitude does not hold water. There are things you could have done but chose not to. They could have arranged for a local company to supply me with a temporary computer, compensate for any inconvenience, replace the hard drive at no cost, or actually do what you say you will do in the first place.
Please advise as to whether you think you will be able to help me in this matter. Thank you for your time.
I look forward to your reply.



Louisa Bain

     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Acer Aspire S3
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
PHNOM PENH -- I am living in Cambodia and I brought a new laptop computer Acer AspireS3 just six weeks ago. I found out the color of the monitor (Resolution) is more shade, more white compare to other computers. When I compare my new computer (AspireS3) with my previous computer (HP ProBook) the color differences are well visible.

My job is mostly related to Website designing. I am very much concern the color resolutions of the computer. Since I am not very professional on the computer field, I borough the computer back to shop (According to them they are Acer Authorized Dealer to Cambodia) where I bought my computer. According to the technician of the shop, my VGA is not support with the window-7. So, I installed the Window-8 deleting my window-7 license version. However, the resolution of the monitor is not gave any changes the shop re-installed the Window 7 License version. The shop technician told me that my computer color resolutions are the same in comparing with the other computers (only Acer AspireS3). But he told me that HP computer colors are much better than the Acer.

Since the computer purchased not more than 6 Weeks and it is still under the warranty period, I asked the shop whether there is any possibility to change my computer to the new one. They did not agree to do it. As there are no any other options, I asked them to buy my computer back under a reasonable price. They agreed to buy the computer back with offering me only 350 US$. I did not agree with them since I bought the computer in the same shop within the price of 850 US$.

So, I am writing this to ACER company consider they will have other options.

Thank You.
--------------------

Computer Name: HP ProBook
Processor: Acer intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU @ 1.6GHz M350 @ 2.27 GHz
Installed memory (RAM): 4.0 GB
System Type: 32-bit Operating System

My New Computer
Computer Name: AspireS3
Processor: Acer intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2476M CPU @ 1.6GHz
Installed memory (RAM): 4.0 GB
System Type: 64-bit Operating System
     
Add reply
Acer Customer Service (or lack thereof)
Posted by on
SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- I purchased an Acer Aspire AS-5738PG laptop back in February 2010 and was very excited to upgrade to a newer laptop since I have been using a 3 year old machine and it was not cutting it. I received the laptop and unpacked everything and it looked good. Started it up and followed all the instructions to burn the recovery DVDs. Lucky I did so since the hard drive died within 2 weeks of use. I would typically put the machine into standby and I noticed a clicking noise every time it went into standby. Two weeks in and one day it just froze on me. I restarted it and that is when the hard drive started clicking a lot and the computer said no hard drive found.

Prior to this happening, I also noticed the audio would stutter every so often. I had updated all of my drivers to the latest version according to the Acer website. I had even logged a service request for help regarding the issue and all they could tell me was to do a system restore. Okay, been there done that. I did some more research and found out that there was a Deferred Procedure Call (DPC) latency that would cause the audio to skip. This is typically due to poorly written drivers and so I was out of luck since I had updated everything per Acer tech support and performed a system restore. All they would tell me to do was to send in the computer to their repair depot.

So finally, with the hard drive dead and the audio stutter problem, I decided to try out their repair depot. I submitted my service request and they issued an RMA to me, but I had to pay for the shipping to the destination. Naturally, I was unhappy with this since this is all happening during the 1 year warranty period. But since I had no choice, I had to pay for the shipping. After waiting for a week or so, I received the laptop back and the hard drive had been replaced. Great. But still there was audio stuttering. To this day, there has not been a single driver update from 2010 despite the fact that there are obvious issues with the existing drivers.

My main complaint is that we the consumer are at the mercy of the laptop manufacturers to provide software/driver updates since drivers are usually customized to hardware, especially in laptop computers. Other companies like HP and Lenovo are much better at addressing driver issues. I realize that hardware faults do happen, but I am extremely disappointed that Acer apparently does not keep consumers updated with the latest drivers and/or BIOS updates to fix any issues. It seems innovation stops after the sale of the computer. I just want other consumers to be aware of the issue of manufacturer support of the machine driver-wise and how important that can be. This Acer Aspire 5738PG has not lived up to my expectations of a dependable computer and I actually regret this purchase. I hope that my review will give others pause before buying an Acer machine. Hopefully the company will change its ways.
     
Add reply
Acer Is Bad Bad News... Stay Away
Posted by on
Acer's advertising campaigns punch line is "Life is busy, Acer make it easy". Well, in reality owning an Acer product is completely the reverse which goes like this "Life is easy, Acer makes it difficult"

Acer's cheaper and good looking laptops are tempting, but please consider other factors like product Quality and Service. Here's my ordeal:

I purchased a Acer Aspire 5920 Laptop, and in less than a month, 20 days to be exact, I started getting "memory failure" errors. I tested the RAM with memtest 86+ and found the ram to have defects. I called the call center, and after three 45 minute calls which included being taken through the same diagnostics and being asked the same questions over and over again, I was refused a case ID as they were not convinced that there was a problem with the ram. The, technically clueless, advisors at the call center insisted that I take the laptop to the nearest service center (which happens to be very far from where I live) and have it checked by the technician and then have the technician call the call center with the results. Despite the long commute involved, I took the laptop to the service center and guess what, in less than five minutes the technician comes to the reception and informs me that the RAM is defective and needs to be replaced. I am told it will take 2 to 3 days to have it fixed and will be contacted as soon as the job is done.

So I leave the laptop at the service center, and wait for three days. On not hearing from the service center, I contact them only to be told that the replacement parts have not arrived from Acer and will take another 5 days. I wait 5 days and contact them again only to be told, that the parts have still not arrived and I need to wait another 2 days. Two days later the same story, so I called Acer call center and after a whole lot of discussions and being transferred to several different people, I am told they will look into the matter and I will be contacted with the results, but nobody calls. I waited another 4 days and then contact the service center only to be told that the new replacement parts had arrived, "but were found to be defective" and had to be sent back and so I needed to wait another 5 days.

Twenty five days have passed and I am still waiting for Acer to get their act together and come up with functioning spare parts.

Not only are brand new laptops fitted with defective parts, but even new replacement parts are also defective. Imagine the quality of hardware being used by Acer. All these problems, in the first month of operation, of a brand new laptop which functioned only for 20 days.

Acer offers lower prices and better configurations at the cost of Quality and service. I may have saved some money on the cost of the laptop, compared to other popular brands, but I am paying a much bigger price now.

If my ordeal does not convince you, go to Google and type "Acer sucks" and you can read many more similar experiences. YouTube even has videos of people smashing their Acer laptops, in frustration.

I leave it to potential customers, considering purchasing a Acer product, to decide if they want to invest their hard earned money in sub-standard products from Acer.

As for me, I will never ever buy an ACER product again.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 09/15/2008:
Does ACER use proprietary RAM? Rather doubtful. I find it hard to fathom that a repair facility has no RAM in stock. Seems to me that the shop wanted to be paid for the RAM and labor before doing any work. Replacing RAM on a laptop can't take more than 15 minutes.
MRM on 09/15/2008:
Go to Newegg.com and order RAM for your laptop. You can install the memory yourself as it is not a difficult task.
Close commentsAdd reply
Bad Product And Worse Customer Service (best Buy & Acer)
Posted by on
Today, I decided that trying to get this desktop fixed by Acer is a lost cause. I've had a problem with this computer since purchasing it a year ago from Best Buy.

This is my history with this product and I hope it is helpful to others. This computer was purchased on 6/29/07.

1) Within two months after purchase, the computer would power down and turn off and restart on its own. Then one day it powered down and would not come back on so I took it back to Best Buy on 8/24/07 for repair. After 15 days of purchase the computer cannot be exchanged at Best Buy so they sent it out to be fixed. The Motherboard and Power Supply were replaced.

2) After this last repair the computer began to freeze up, sounded very noisy and error messages began to appear. The computer was taken back to Best Buy on 9/15/07. Best Buy disassembled the unit and inspected it and "reloaded, restored, repaired" the software for the unit.

3) The computer then began to freeze up not too long after it came back. Sometimes it would freeze up immediately when turned on after getting to the welcome screen and other times I would be working on the computer and it would freeze up. On 11/2/07 I took the computer back to Best Buy. The hard drive was replaced.

4) A few weeks later the computer began to freeze up again and I lost internet connection. I decided to deal directly with Acer and contacted them by phone to relay this lengthy history. I sent the computer out via FedEx on my own dime because they wouldn't pay for it. They received the unit on 11/28/07. The computer came back two days later and the defective modem was replaced. Wasn't long after that I realized that the computer had the same problems. The holidays, life, work and everything else happened. I secured a laptop from work to use and pretty much gave up on it.

5) At the start of June 2008 I thought I would give it one last try before the warranty from Acer expired. The computer went out to Acer and came back on 7/3/08. The computer was turned on and immediately froze up. I contacted Acer immediately and they said that Best Buy needed to repair the hard drive and the problem was not with them. The customer service agent also said some pretty ridiculous and contradictory things.

In summary, Best Buy has less than mediocre customer service but I expected much more out of Acer. Besides the obvious of having a broken computer, there is a very long wait time to get through to customer service via telephone...in some cases 20-30 minutes. I requested to speak to a manager and the last representative I spoke to said that there are no managers available and just customer service reps available. A lot of personal time has been wasted trying to get a product working that was never really used.

Imagine having to take my computer to Best Buy each time, wait in line and describe the problem over and over again. Imagine having to tell the same story to Acer, over and over again, after being on hold for a long time. Imagine the frustration of just giving up after repeatedly expecting that the unit would be repaired.

I've decided to copy this complaint to any and every consumer blog that I can find. If Best Buy or Acer would like to resolve this problem they know how to find me just use your technology. Resolve at this point means a brand new computer which is nothing compared to my frustration. After I finish blogging I’ll send a letter to both companies with all of the sites in which I’ve posted my complaints.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 07/05/2008:
Check with your state to see if they have a lemon law for consumer goods.
Anonymous on 07/07/2008:
Do you have a full suite of anti-virus and anti-adware software on your machine? A lot of your problems sound suspiciously like you are getting malware on your machine, which would explain why they go away temporarily when you reload the hard drive from scratch.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Terrible
Posted on
Rating: 1/51
I purchased my Acer E1 touch screen in February 2014, within a month the touch screen no longer works and by August the hinge just popped out of the case (mind you with moderate use, not opening a million times a day, never dropped etc) So I called and they tried telling me I must have dropped it etc, finally after 1/2 an hour I got through to someone that actually spoke English, I now get to send it in and they will see if I broke it or if it's really a manufacturers defect (which it entirely is man. defect) The customer service was terrible. Let's see what they say. All I can say is I will NEVER buy an Acer again.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Got Screwed Again By Acer
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MARIETTA, GEORGIA -- I purchased an Acer Laptop three months ago, Dec 2013, at Walmart. It was a left over from previous year sealed in box.

Had technician install it. Constant problems with Blue Screen and Black Screen. Lose internet constantly. My technician said it is a problem with the hard drive, it is defective.

Acer will do nothing. I am stuck with a defective computer. This happened to me in 2007 as well. I bought new Acer in 2007 it never worked. I exchanged it for a Sony with no problems. When I had to replace the Sony, I heard Acer improved and was reliable. WRONG!

I was given eight different phone numbers by customer service. No Help....They all want $200.00 Dollars to "fix" a computer that is under warranty. The computer is under warranty and they demand fee to "fix" it. Moreover, it cannot be fixed, the hard drive is defective.

Stay away from Acer unless you like to flush good money down the toilet. How do they get away with this?
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Weedwhacked on 03/05/2014:
Of course it can be fixed. Change the hard drive and move Windows over to the new one.
Weedwhacked on 03/05/2014:
By the way you are giving Acer a "compliment" with your posting.
DebtorBasher on 03/05/2014:
Thanks Weedwhacked, I corrected it.
Annette on 07/29/2014:
I do not know who are making "replies" but it is not me. My first Acer was a total and absolute bomb from day one. It NEVER worked and could not be fixed. Acer did nothing. Had to replace it with a Sony which was amazing. When the Sony went I replaced it with another Acer because I heard they improved. WRONG. STAY AWAY FROM ACER. CS wants $200.00 just to see what the problem is with a BRAND NEW ACER COMPUTER. It is crazy to put more good money after bad.

Close commentsAdd reply
Absolute Rip Off
Posted by on
GRAYLING, MICHIGAN -- ACER LAPTOPS HAVE SUBSTANDARD CAPABILITY - SCREENS BREAK, KEYBOARDS ARE NOT RESPONSIVE, BATTERY LIFE IS 20 MNS, THE LIST goes on and on. Then you call for help and they want 200.00 - this is the worst company I have ever dealt with and would NEVER deal withthem again - they could send me a dozen replacements and I would send directly to a juckyard where they came from. Lesson learned - do your homework, do not be attracted to a low price - try calling these scam artists and see what they say, they won't be doing business in my state much longer - attorney general is already investigating and ACER - will not exist in another year - what a disgrace.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
ok4now on 12/07/2011:
Sorry to hear about your bad experience with Acer. Judging by the numerous complaints they are now in the cesspool with Dell. If this was a recent purchase dispute it on your C.C. If not you're in for a fight with customer service. Let us know how you make out.
Petulance on 12/07/2011:
Sorry that you have had a bad experience with Acer. TBH thought I have had a great experience with them. I have 3 laptops that have been running for almost 3 years now w/o a problem (aside from one that was dropped and I replaced the screen myself for less than $100), and a 20" Acer lcd monitor that has run error free for over 4 years.
Nicole on 05/17/2012:
I have a ACER laptop, and I agree that their products are mediocre and they do not take responsibility for their products. I bought my ACER laptop from Best Buy who were even worse when it came to helping their customers. I brought my laptop to them, and at first they said they couldn't do anything because it was not under warranty any more, and that is because of a misunderstanding about the date. If they had explained that when I bought it I would have got it to them sooner, but I only had it for about a year and the cd/dvd drive stopped working. So I argued with Best Buy and told them what was wrong, and they said they would check it out for free. When I went back to get it they said the drive was fine (a lie) but there were some viruses they could remove for just a small price of almost $200- right just a small fee for something I could do myself, and that has nothing to do with the drive problem. Now I have also been talking to ACER people about this and have gotten nowhere with them either. A few hundred dollars for a laptop that breaks in less than a year? Come on ACER, do something about your products, and help your customers or they will tell the world until your name is in the garbage.
Close commentsAdd reply
Acer Lap Tops
Posted by on
I purchased an Acer in mid 2009. I've had probs from the beginning, yes, of all places, WALMART. They wouldn't take it back, I had pho number where to send it, paid that price, then described the probs, it would just go dead, finally they put in a new mother board, got that back, seemed OK, it was a place in Temple, Texas by the way....just in case someone wants to know...then, the back light went out, by then the warranty was out, had to pay dearly to get that fixed. But after that, the cursor ''floats". What I mean, in typing to someone, the cursor all of a sudden, jumps to where it wants to, I have to back up, delete where it went, start my letter again, AGAIN, AGAIN, to where I won't even use it. Why in the world didn't I check those computers from the beginning. It's a ASPIRE 5315-2326. When we travel, it's good to keep up with folks, but when typing, it where I get so friggin' mad, I just give up.

All other things, such as the DVD player, etc, seems OK, but don't use it that much. It's mainly for wife doing genealogy when we are traveling. It's the worse I've ever seen. My home computer, a Sony, I've had it since 2001 and had only a few problems, generally just from use. Sorry I ever bought this and spent so much money on it. VERY DISAPPOINTED.

J in North East Texas
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 08/06/2011:
I looked at some reviews for the AS5315-2326 and saw that some people had experienced problems with it (lack of computing power?). There was a suggestion in one that said something about possible driver problems and difficulties running software, but that's about all I could find specifically related to this machine.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >