Preview Review

Next Review

ACER Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
ACER Will Do Everything to Make the Repair the Customer's Fault - Very Unscrupulous Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEMPLE, TEXAS -- I purchased my Acer Aspire U5-620 on February 14th, 2015. Less than 2 months later the touch screen stopped working. First I went to the Acer website to see if I needed to update a driver or something - nothing - Acer support website is pretty much useless. I finally had to call Acer support organization in India and after having to call back at least 4 times, the only thing your support team can say is to "Restore" or Refresh" your computer and lose all your installed programs. When that doesn't work I'm told I have to send in my computer to get a driver updated. Really this is Acer Support's response => send us your computer so we can update a driver - come on.

Then I'm told I have to pack the computer as per your 4 pages of instructions. Seriously - all the other computer companies I have dealt with send you the box to ship it in so they can be assured it will arrive safely. In other words, they take responsibility for their products and actually want their customers to be satisfied and happy with their products.

Why doesn't Acer do that? Well I know why now. So Acer can blame their customers for damage they didn't do and charge them for repairs. I was told I didn't pack it properly and there is an "internal" crack in the LCD. I packed that computer exceeding Acer instructions using bubble wrap and Styrofoam but it's still my fault.

I had to pay $400.00 to repair a computer that I have had for less than 90 days because your internal driver cracked due to my not packing properly. This is just an Acer scam – sell poor quality products and make the consumer pay for any repairs regardless of whether you have owned the computer for 1 day or 1 year. Acer does not stand behind their product quality. Buyer Beware – if you have any problems with your Acer product (I guarantee you will); Acer will find a way to falsely claim “customer induced damage” and you will have to pay for any repairs.

Replies
Advertisement
Lousy Acer Products
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEMPLE, TEXAS -- Have you ever been burned by ACER when you bought their crappy products? If you have had to deal with their customer service and found it basically nonexistent? Well here's a heads up, especially if you live in the USA. But even if you don't live in the USA, but have SKYPE, Messenger or other ways to call around the world with your computer, call ** at ACER USA customer service at ** and complain to her personally. She probably won't answer, so leave a message but at least you will be getting your message across.

If that doesn't work you can always FAX her at ** and leave her a nice pile of complaints to read thru. And if you want to complain in person, their address is 1394 Elkhart Road, in Temple Texas. Another good avenue to complain is with the Federal Trade Commission in the USA. This is a government agency and with enough complaints, the FTC will come down on their ass and have the power to shut ACER down and/or possibly get you a refund. It's an easy, quick, fast complaint form to fill out online at www.FTC.gov.

Another one I would highly recommend is the Better Business Bureau in Temple Texas as they will attempt to get a resolution or refund for you. You can file with them online at info@centraltx.bbb.org. Then at Complaintsboard.com you can add your complaint to the other 878 ACER complaints there. When you file a complaint there, all the other 878 complainers will see your complaints as well.

Then add your complaint to Customerservicescoreboard.com where out of 582 reviews, 538 are complaints. And there are other websites like CT watchdog, my3cents and notgoodenough.com. For USA electronic websites, there is Best Buy, Walmart, Target, Sam's Club, Radio Shack, Office Depot, Frys Electronics for starters. Just look for their website and Face Book pages and post there.

Run an Internet search for “ACER Complaints” and the list is endless and other websites to complain at. I have personally been complaining about ACER worldwide since 2012 to electronic vendor websites directly, ACER and vendor Face Book pages and have posted and messaged tens of thousands of their customers about their shitty products. As a result, their sales from 2012 to 2014, their sales have dropped $89 MILLION dollars in sales, so the word is getting out about their crappy products. Join me and let's drop them another $89 million this year.

Replies
Terrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased my Acer E1 touch screen in February 2014. Within a month the touch screen no longer works and by August the hinge just popped out of the case (mind you with moderate use, not opening a million times a day, never dropped etc). So I called and they tried telling me I must have dropped it etc. Finally after 1/2 an hour I got through to someone that actually spoke English. I now get to send it in and they will see if I broke it or if it's really a manufacturer's defect (which it entirely is man. defect). The customer service was terrible. Let's see what they say. All I can say is I will NEVER buy an Acer again.

Replies
Got Screwed Again By Acer
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARIETTA, GEORGIA -- I purchased an Acer Laptop three months ago, Dec 2013, at Walmart. It was a left over from previous year sealed in box. Had technician install it. Constant problems with Blue Screen and Black Screen. Lose internet constantly. My technician said it is a problem with the hard drive, it is defective. Acer will do nothing. I am stuck with a defective computer. This happened to me in 2007 as well. I bought new Acer in 2007 it never worked. I exchanged it for a Sony with no problems. When I had to replace the Sony, I heard Acer improved and was reliable. WRONG!

I was given eight different phone numbers by customer service. No Help... They all want $200.00 Dollars to "fix" a computer that is under warranty. The computer is under warranty and they demand fee to "fix" it. Moreover, it cannot be fixed, the hard drive is defective. Stay away from Acer unless you like to flush good money down the toilet. How do they get away with this?

Replies
Advertisement
Acer Customer Service (or lack thereof)
By -

SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- I purchased an Acer Aspire AS-5738PG laptop back in February 2010 and was very excited to upgrade to a newer laptop since I have been using a 3 year old machine and it was not cutting it. I received the laptop and unpacked everything and it looked good. Started it up and followed all the instructions to burn the recovery DVDs. Lucky I did so since the hard drive died within 2 weeks of use. I would typically put the machine into standby and I noticed a clicking noise every time it went into standby. Two weeks in and one day it just froze on me. I restarted it and that is when the hard drive started clicking a lot and the computer said "no hard drive found."

Prior to this happening, I also noticed the audio would stutter every so often. I had updated all of my drivers to the latest version according to the Acer website. I had even logged a service request for help regarding the issue and all they could tell me was to do a system restore. Okay, been there done that. I did some more research and found out that there was a Deferred Procedure Call (DPC) latency that would cause the audio to skip. This is typically due to poorly written drivers and so I was out of luck since I had updated everything per Acer tech support and performed a system restore. All they would tell me to do was to send in the computer to their repair depot.

So finally, with the hard drive dead and the audio stutter problem, I decided to try out their repair depot. I submitted my service request and they issued an RMA to me, but I had to pay for the shipping to the destination. Naturally, I was unhappy with this since this is all happening during the 1 year warranty period. But since I had no choice, I had to pay for the shipping. After waiting for a week or so, I received the laptop back and the hard drive had been replaced. Great. But still there was audio stuttering. To this day, there has not been a single driver update from 2010 despite the fact that there are obvious issues with the existing drivers.

My main complaint is that we the consumer are at the mercy of the laptop manufacturers to provide software/driver updates since drivers are usually customized to hardware, especially in laptop computers. Other companies like HP and Lenovo are much better at addressing driver issues. I realize that hardware faults do happen, but I am extremely disappointed that Acer apparently does not keep consumers updated with the latest drivers and/or BIOS updates to fix any issues. It seems innovation stops after the sale of the computer. I just want other consumers to be aware of the issue of manufacturer support of the machine driver-wise and how important that can be.

This Acer Aspire 5738PG has not lived up to my expectations of a dependable computer and I actually regret this purchase. I hope that my review will give others pause before buying an Acer machine. Hopefully the company will change its ways.

Replies
Poor customer service and repair service
By -

I am extremely disappointed with the customer care service provided by Acer Computers. I received my computer back today after its second visit to the repair center. It would not start as there was no hard drive in it. The situation now is that myself and the technician at the local computer shop are 99% sure that the hard drive was in when it first went to be repaired now over a month ago.

Initially I bought the product from a reliable shop and within two months it started going into sleep mode. After this happened 3 times it did not start up at all. I took it back to the local shop where the technician informed me that it was a hardware problem and so would have to be returned to the manufacturers. He transferred my information off my hard drive onto another computer. I watched him replace the hard drive and seal the unit up again. I can remember the situation very well.

I tried to return the computer to Acer in early January. DHL did not turn up on the first scheduled day and did not call to explain why. I rearranged the pick up and the computer arrived with you on 14th January. I was told it would probably take a week to resolve. After two to two and half weeks, I emailed the customer service department. The email bounced. I tried again and after a week of not receiving a reply I tried to call. I have still not had a reply to my email.

The first time I called I was told Acer were waiting on spare parts and I should continue to wait. I called again a few days later and after getting fed up with the same phrases being read from a card I asked to speak to a manager who quickly decided that I shouldn't have been waiting for so long. He told me he would call me back within three days but when he did I was out and he did not leave a message on my machine.

I called again and was told that the computer would be back with me within 3 - 7 days. I asked why the manager had not called me back and it was it explained that he had. I left my mobile number this time and asked for the manager to call me back the next day - he did not.

The computer was returned from Acer last Thursday and still had the same problem. I called Acer again was told that nothing could be done other than send the computer back, the manager at the Indian call center told me the same so I finally insisted on being put onto someone else. I spoke to ** in Plymouth who seemed particularly disinterested in the situation.

She suggested, if I was not happy with the computer, I should take it back to the shop I bought it from. She said she would send details of how to get it back to Acer, which she did, and details of how to complain, which she did not. I returned her email asking for the email address of where to complain - not realizing it was the same email but she has still not replied.

I wrote my first letter of complaint and was told that I would hear from ** in ‘about 10 days'. I have also asked to speak to Ms. ** on the telephone but she is always too busy to speak with me. As I have said above I now have the computer back but not working. I phoned Acer to ask what the problem might be and they could not help. I had to go to the local computer shop to be told that the hard drive was missing. I rang Acer again, and spoke to ** again. She was again spoken to in a patronizing manner. She claimed must have been taken out when I took it to have the hard drive copied because the machine could not be tested properly because the hard drive was missing.

As I pointed out though if the machine had been tested properly on its first visit they would not have been able to test the machine and so either the hard drive was mislaid at their repair center or it was not tested properly the first time it was with them. I was told that they did not need the hard drive to test it properly but that raises the question as to why they needed it the first time but not the first. Is the testing inconsistent? There was no note of the hard drive being missing the first time it was with them.

My most recent conversation was with ** who stated that it was no longer their problem and they were no longer prepared to help with this matter. So I am left with a laptop and no hard drive. The local shop have scoured their place and there is no sign of the hard drive there. I think you would agree that the overall level of service has been very poor, not just from one area of the Acer business. I have repeatedly asked for help as I run a small business and this has caused a lot of extra time, expense and stress.

I have had to wait in on four occasions now from 9 - 5 each time for collections or deliveries from DHL. This means I have to cancel teaching work and so lose money. I have spent approximately 4 hours on the phone at different times which stops me getting on with paid work. I am struggling to do my work on a very old, slow computer which results in me spending more time on each piece of work and having to wait until 10 - 11 P.M. for this computer to be free for me to do my work.

I am always met with the same attitude that 'there is nothing you can do'. Well in my business that pathetic attitude does not hold water. There are things you could have done but chose not to. They could have arranged for a local company to supply me with a temporary computer, compensate for any inconvenience, replace the hard drive at no cost, or actually do what you say you will do in the first place. Please advise as to whether you think you will be able to help me in this matter. Thank you for your time. I look forward to your reply.

Replies
Acer Is Bad Bad News... Stay Away
By -

Acer's advertising campaigns punch line is "Life is busy, Acer make it easy". Well, in reality owning an Acer product is completely the reverse which goes like this "Life is easy, Acer makes it difficult." Acer's cheaper and good looking laptops are tempting, but please consider other factors like product Quality and Service. Here's my ordeal: I purchased an Acer Aspire 5920 Laptop, and in less than a month, 20 days to be exact, I started getting "memory failure" errors. I tested the RAM with memtest 86+ and found the ram to have defects.

I called the call center, and after three 45 minute calls which included being taken through the same diagnostics and being asked the same questions over and over again, I was refused a case ID as they were not convinced that there was a problem with the ram. The, technically clueless, advisors at the call center insisted that I take the laptop to the nearest service center (which happens to be very far from where I live) and have it checked by the technician and then have the technician call the call center with the results.

Despite the long commute involved, I took the laptop to the service center and guess what, in less than five minutes the technician comes to the reception and informs me that the RAM is defective and needs to be replaced. I am told it will take 2 to 3 days to have it fixed and will be contacted as soon as the job is done. So I leave the laptop at the service center, and wait for three days. On not hearing from the service center, I contact them only to be told that the replacement parts have not arrived from Acer and will take another 5 days. I wait 5 days and contact them again only to be told, that the parts have still not arrived and I need to wait another 2 days.

Two days later the same story, so I called Acer call center and after a whole lot of discussions and being transferred to several different people, I am told they will look into the matter and I will be contacted with the results, but nobody calls. I waited another 4 days and then contact the service center only to be told that the new replacement parts had arrived, "but were found to be defective" and had to be sent back and so I needed to wait another 5 days. Twenty five days have passed and I am still waiting for Acer to get their act together and come up with functioning spare parts.

Not only are brand new laptops fitted with defective parts, but even new replacement parts are also defective. Imagine the quality of hardware being used by Acer. All these problems, in the first month of operation, of a brand new laptop which functioned only for 20 days. Acer offers lower prices and better configurations at the cost of quality and service. I may have saved some money on the cost of the laptop, compared to other popular brands, but I am paying a much bigger price now.

If my ordeal does not convince you, go to Google and type "Acer sucks" and you can read many more similar experiences. YouTube even has videos of people smashing their Acer laptops, in frustration. I leave it to potential customers, considering purchasing a Acer product, to decide if they want to invest their hard earned money in sub-standard products from Acer. As for me, I will never ever buy an ACER product again.

Replies
Bad Product And Worse Customer Service (Best Buy & Acer)
By -

Today, I decided that trying to get this desktop fixed by Acer is a lost cause. I've had a problem with this computer since purchasing it a year ago from Best Buy. This is my history with this product and I hope it is helpful to others. This computer was purchased on 6/29/07.

1) Within two months after purchase, the computer would power down and turn off and restart on its own. Then one day it powered down and would not come back on so I took it back to Best Buy on 8/24/07 for repair. After 15 days of purchase the computer cannot be exchanged at Best Buy so they sent it out to be fixed. The Motherboard and Power Supply were replaced.

2) After this last repair the computer began to freeze up, sounded very noisy and error messages began to appear. The computer was taken back to Best Buy on 9/15/07. Best Buy disassembled the unit and inspected it and "reloaded, restored, repaired" the software for the unit. 3) The computer then began to freeze up not too long after it came back. Sometimes it would freeze up immediately when turned on after getting to the welcome screen and other times I would be working on the computer and it would freeze up. On 11/2/07 I took the computer back to Best Buy. The hard drive was replaced.

4) A few weeks later the computer began to freeze up again and I lost internet connection. I decided to deal directly with Acer and contacted them by phone to relay this lengthy history. I sent the computer out via FedEx on my own dime because they wouldn't pay for it. They received the unit on 11/28/07. The computer came back two days later and the defective modem was replaced. Wasn't long after that I realized that the computer had the same problems. The holidays, life, work and everything else happened. I secured a laptop from work to use and pretty much gave up on it.

5) At the start of June 2008 I thought I would give it one last try before the warranty from Acer expired. The computer went out to Acer and came back on 7/3/08. The computer was turned on and immediately froze up. I contacted Acer immediately and they said that Best Buy needed to repair the hard drive and the problem was not with them. The customer service agent also said some pretty ridiculous and contradictory things.

In summary, Best Buy has less than mediocre customer service but I expected much more out of Acer. Besides the obvious of having a broken computer, there is a very long wait time to get through to customer service via telephone...in some cases 20-30 minutes. I requested to speak to a manager and the last representative I spoke to said that there are no managers available and just customer service reps available. A lot of personal time has been wasted trying to get a product working that was never really used.

Imagine having to take my computer to Best Buy each time, wait in line and describe the problem over and over again. Imagine having to tell the same story to Acer, over and over again, after being on hold for a long time. Imagine the frustration of just giving up after repeatedly expecting that the unit would be repaired.

I've decided to copy this complaint to any and every consumer blog that I can find. If Best Buy or Acer would like to resolve this problem they know how to find me just use your technology. Resolve at this point means a brand new computer which is nothing compared to my frustration. After I finish blogging I'll send a letter to both companies with all of the sites in which I've posted my complaints.

Replies
Advertisement
ACER Vista Upgrade Redemption Fraud?
By -

NEW YORK -- Acer doesn't take any responsibility for the Vista Upgrades that they pledged with the purchase of any of their laptops and PC's. Acer offered Vista upgrades for the cost of shipping when Vista was late to market and it was the big holiday sales season of 2006/7. Acer is blaming Moduslink for all the Vista Express Upgrade problems and Moduslink wants nothing more to do with the program and is unreachable. Moduslink was unprepared to deal with the volume and this resulted in a substantial number of complaints.

If you talk to Microsoft they say talk to Acer. Though I get some comment from Microsoft that many other vendors that used Moduslink had unhappy customers. The difficulty is that Acer who made the promise isn't honoring their promise when a subcontractor like Moduslink lets down their customers. I'm sure the lawyers have crafted all sorts ways to avoid liability, however this is a much bigger issue than the fine print or mechanics of how I was to receive the upgrade. In my opinion it was Acer's sale and their responsibility, however they act and feel like Moduslink gives them some sort of deniability.

I suspect the whole problem is related to redemptions rates. No vendor expects everyone will redeem their right. There is good reason to suspect the redemption rates were higher that estimated and this resulted in not enough to go around.

Typically vendors create a number of hoops to jump through for redemption programs, so that many get exhausted by the process and fail to follow-through. The next time you look at any redemption, you should verify what sort of aggravations they'll demand from you and of course the reputation of the company offering it. You may jump through all the hoops only to find it was a huge waste of time. For example when Acer Reneged on the Vista Upgrade they offered me. These are good things to know before considering any redemption offer from this company.

In my case Moduslink sent me an email with my order number and advised it was shipped. They charged my credit card as well. So everything was in order June 15. Then I didn't get the shipment so I patiently waited. Then the next thing I get from Moduslink is an e-mail saying they are no longer involved in the Vista Upgrade program and I've been trying to get this fixed ever since. Moduslink is hiding, Acer is denying and I'm amazed that companies behave this way in North America. Now I really understand why Dell is so successful.

After my initial response to an e-mail support inquiry, I get a request for info from Acer, I have to dig up copies of everything I sent last winter, a time consuming effort. This was provided though it quickly became apparent that this was just another hoop to jump through. Then I received this message the day after the info was provided.

The reality here is that Acer has reneged and this is no different then steeling from their customers and hiding behind Moduslink. It is plainly greed and the belief that if they simply make it difficult enough and long enough a process then people will simply go away defeated and that their self serving bad behavior will be ignored. Shame on Acer.

Replies
Flimsy Screen, Useless Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Less than 6 weeks after I bought the Aspire ES1-511-C0DV-US laptop, the LCD broke for no apparent reason. Acer automatically refuses to honor the warranty because it is a screen issue. Apparently the screen is exceedingly fragile and cannot handle normal use. They lost a loyal customer on this one.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

ACER Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 10 ratings and
52 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
ACER
333 West San Carlos Street Suite 1500
San Jose, CA 95110
408-533-7700 (ph)
www.acer.com
Compare Computer Companies