Preview Review

Next Review

AirTran Airways Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
AirTran Scamming the Public
By -

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- So by now, everyone knows that many airlines are charging baggage fees for checked baggage. My daughter recently flew on AirTran with 2 suitcases. We paid $15 for the first and $25 for the 2nd online at time of check-in. Upon check-in at the airport, we were told that although they were both under the allowed weight, one of the suitcases would be considered "OVER-SIZED" because it was over 62 linear inches; it supposedly measured 63" (H+ W +L)..... Although I measured it at less than 62". It is a standard full size suitcase which I have flown with at least 30 times on various airlines....without any problems...including 2 days later on another major carrier.

The problem is that they stand the suitcase up against the edge of the scale and then measure from the wall of the scale all the way around to the other wall. This measurement process adds AT LEAST 3-4 inches to any suitcase meaning it is ALWAYS measures too big. I pointed all this out to the supervisor and customer service managers etc.....to no avail. In fact they were rude and condescending. I was told that this is the process that they are taught for measuring.... No doubt the most beneficial to Air Tran and the most disadvantageous to consumers.

We finally paid a $39 penalty for being "oversize." NOT A GOOD WAY FOR AIRTRAN TO BUILD A CUSTOMER BASE. SO A WARNING TO ALL: They are essentially MISLEADING customers in order to collect extra baggage fees. In addition, there is NO explanation of exactly how the measurement will be done in advance. Most normal people would assume that you would measure the three dimensions of a suitcase and simply add them together! IF YOU PLAN TO FLY AIRTRAN AGAIN, BE VERY CAREFUL ABOUT EXACTLY HOW YOU MEASURE YOUR SUITCASE.... It really isn't as simple as you think!

Replies
Advertisement
Charged additional fees
By -

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA -- On April 25, 2009, my family and I had flights booked through Expedia for flights from Minneapolis, MN to Orlando, Florida. Our flights booked on March 30th 2009 showed our entire round trip at about $200 per person. Upon check in at Minneapolis gates, we were told by AirTran employee that there was still $485 outstanding bill on our flights. We argued that the flights were paid for and we were told that we would not be able to board until we paid the outstanding balance. We did not have time to argue for we had cruise we were going on and could not take the chance of missing our flight and therefore missing the cruise.

I called Expedia right away and the representative told me "They have been doing this a lot lately. Just fax us your paperwork when you get back to Minneapolis and we will contact AirTran." Of course the AirTran Rep we spoke to blames Expedia for booking the flights incorrectly which I disagree with for I have an itemized receipt which shows our flights were paid in full. Also, when we were checking in at Minneapolis, we were told "Your bag is nice. Just make sure you don't over pack it or you'll be charged overweight fees."

Upon checking in at the Orlando Airport for our return flight to Minneapolis May 4th, the ticketing person, did not even greet us or make eye contact. She took out her tape measure and went to work at measuring our bags. She told us that "yes" the same "nice bag" is now not overweight but "oversized." She was the most unpleasant person to deal with and charged us extra $39 "oversize" bag fee. She left us standing at the check-in counter for 30 minutes, because of the argument I had with her and we almost missed our flight.

I still have not heard from Expedia regarding our refund. I will continue to pursue this matter with the BBB if Expedia does not respond by the end of the day May 15 2009. I just wanted to let the public know that the customer service with AirTran is the worst I have ever experience and they are making it their business to rip off other hard working people. They don't accept responsibility for their actions and it's always the customer's fault or problem.

I will NEVER fly AirTran again. I have been sharing my experiences with their company representatives/employees with my co-workers, family and friends and anyone else who will listen. Please take the time to read all the similar complaints against AirTran before booking your next flight.

Replies
Stranded In Georgia - You Won't Believe It
By -

PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- May 15, 2008 - We were to fly from Ft. Myers to Atlanta to connect to Phila. We left Ft. Myers at 5:5PM and were told we would be at the gate before our scheduled 7:40PM arrival time. At 8:00PM we were still circling Atlanta. We had to divert to Columbus, GA as we're running out of fuel. We got to Columbus. No fuel available. We sat in the plane until 10:00PM (2 hours) waiting for a fuel truck. We were fueled by 10:30. We were then told the plane had a mechanical problem and we could not get back to Atlanta. They secured 3 buses from ALABAMA to take us to Atlanta. The buses arrived after midnight. Atlanta is 95 miles away. 40 miles into the bus trip, the bus broke down.

We waited on the side of the road in Georgia at 2:00 AM for a replacement bus. The bus showed up at 3:00 AM. We were told an "official" from AirTran would meet us upon our arrival. We got to the airport at 4:00 AM. NO ONE from AirTran was there to meet us. We found the ticket counter. The ticket reps were amazingly rude and inconsiderate. We waited 4 more hours in the airport for a connecting flight to Philadelphia. We were told our luggage from the canceled flight would be sent to the new flight.

We touched down 45 minutes late in Philadelphia (14 hours after the original flight was to arrive). To no one surprise, the luggage did not arrive. AirTran does not have a luggage tracking system, so they could not tell me where my bag was but promised it would arrive today. Today is just about over, still no bags. AirTran never offered us food, water, or any type of apology for their behavior and incredibly poor decision making. More to follow as this saga continues to unfold.

Replies
AirTran - Delayed for Eight Hours With No Explanation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OTTAWA, KANSAS -- Last year my SO and I took a wonderful vacation to Cancun and to try and save some money, we flew on AirTran. Getting there wasn't terrible but getting back... Worst experience with any airline I have ever had. On the day we were scheduled to go home, we get to the airport to find our flight delayed. I was a bit frustrated but I figure it's a minor setback. Since Hurricane Karen was nearby, I figure it's probably due to that and we just have to wait. We do go to the ticket counter for our gate to see if there is any info on our flight and we hear this, "I don't know." 2 hours go by and no plane. We ask again and we hear "I don't know." This process drags on for eight hours.

Eight hours with no explanation for why our plane is delayed for that long. All we hear from the ticket agent when we ask is "I don't know." We are told of what happened when the plane finally arrives and as we are boarding the plane. Apparently they were shorthanded and there were a few maintenance issues and that's why it took eight hours. I do understand that delays like this can happen, it's frustrating but it is understandable. However, failing to inform passengers of a delay that can take up to several hours to fix and leave them essentially stranded at the airport is extremely poor customer service and there is no excuse for it. None.

I was furious that they chose not to inform us of this and made us wait in the airport for hours on end. Why would you not inform passengers of problems like this??? If they were upfront about it and told us about the delay and kept us updated, then this wouldn't have been an issue. Keeping passengers out of the loop is an issue! Long story short, we managed to get back in the US but we didn't make it home until the next day. I am never flying with AirTran again and have told my friends and family to avoid that airline like the plague.

Replies
Advertisement
Involuntary Bumping vs. Involuntary Denied Boarding by AirTran
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- I booked flights for myself and spouse on Oct 20, 2013 from BWI to Punta Cana, Dominican Republic - Airtran Flight 817; depart at 9:08 am on Sunday, Dec 22nd 2013; arrive Punta Cana at 1:52 pm, a four-hour flight, and returning on Dec 28th, 2013. I also purchased two advanced seating assignments for the round trip tickets.

AirTran called on Oct 31st, asking if we were willing to take a later flight on Dec. 22nd from BWI to Punta Cana, DR because AirTran sold us an overbooked original scheduled flight. They offered two flight options that were both incomparable and unacceptable because of the departure times, one leaving at 7:55 am from BWI connecting through Atlanta with a six hours layover, and arriving Punta Cana at 8:57 pm. I did not accept the offer to be put on any alternative incomparable flights.

AirTran called again on Dec. 19th, informed me that my flights have now changed leaving on Dec. 22 from BWI at 7:55 am, arriving Atlanta. When I stopped the caller (agent) and asked her why they are changing my flights, the agent's answer was that our original scheduled flight leaving BWI at 9:08 am is overbooked. I called AirTran and spoke a supervisor, ** (agent **), who offered a refund of two one-way tickets and fees for advanced seating assignments.

Because we were not given any alternative comparable flight choice and our trip is scheduled in two days, Dec. 22nd, we were forced to take FLT 133 - departed BWI on Dec. 22nd at 7:55 am, arrived Atlanta at 9:55 am, over 7 hours layover in Atlanta, departed at 5:40 pm, arrived in PUJ 10 pm! All day of our first day family holiday vacation wasted!

** informed us that the Involuntary Denied Boarding (IDB) Rule does not apply because we were involuntary removed (bumped) from our original flight 2 days prior to Dec. 22; subsequently AirTran avoiding DOT rule for IDB, which is legal business practice by AirTran! Overbooking flights is also legal business practice!

DOT defines involuntary bumping. AirTran has the right to involuntary bumped lucky passengers from any of their flights any time, except that we were involuntary bumped on Dec. 19, so rule does not apply to us in terms of 400% compensation; our flight was on Dec 22! What are our rights as customers and as consumers?! DOT is reviewing my case!

Replies
AirTran NOT Friendly to Family Needs
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I booked a flight for my entire family (including an infant) with AirTran. We have previously flown with Delta and United with the baby and they have allowed the stroller and playpen free of charge (which we were happy to find out). The playpen is a necessity as it allows the baby somewhere safe to sleep at our destination.

Just before travel with AirTran, I decided to review their policy regarding infant items. It turns out that they do not allow a playpen as free baggage, but they do allow a stroller and car seat. I would not be bringing a car seat (we will be renting one at the destination). So I contacted customer support through email to inquire about bringing the playpen instead of a car seat (the collapsed playpen is much smaller than a car seat but 2 1/2 inches longer than carry-on allows) and told them that other carriers allow playpens for no additional charge.

I received an email on a Saturday that stated their baggage pricing structure and stated I would have to pay $75 (each way) in additional costs, nothing more. When I called customer service the same day to address this email, I was told that the customer service department was closed on Saturdays. I did manage to speak with a customer service representative who seemed wholly annoyed with me. She asked if the playpen was over-sized (over 61" or over 50#). It is neither.

When she started huffing, I asked to speak with a supervisor. The supervisor was slightly more agreeable but the complaint seemed to have hit a wall. I asked if my concern could be forwarded on to someone who could reconsider this policy as it made family travel much more costly and difficult. She halfheartedly agreed to forward it on. Ultimately, we have decided to buy a playpen at our destination as $45 (to buy a basic one) is cheaper than the hassle and cost of dealing with AirTran's policy.

Throughout the process, I felt that AirTran was not interested in my concern and was reluctant to forward my complaint to the proper department. I will not choose to fly AirTran in the future and I will discourage those with infants from flying with AirTran.

Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

?, FLORIDA -- Oct. 2012, purchased a round trip ticket from Pensacola, Florida to Houston, Texas. I was going out to Houston to stay with a relative for two weeks who had suffered a stroke. First disappointment was when I checked into AirTran. I was told my agent to put suitcase on scales. At 68 years of age and having had a double mastectomy 8 months prior, I could not lift the suitcase. The agent's attitude was apparent that he didn't like to assist me with the luggage.

On booking my ticket online, I had paid extra ($6.00) to have a window seat. A week before I was to leave to come back to Pensacola, I called AirTran's toll free number to request a window seat. I was told by the agent on the phone that she needed a credit card number to reserve a window seat, another $6.00. I gave her all the information from my debit credit card and was told I would receive an email with the confirmation within 48 hours. 48 hours later, I had not received the email.

I called Air Tran and found out they had no record of my calling to reserve a window seat. This immediately sent up a red flag. Went online to my bank and found out their agent had gone on a shopping spree with my debit credit card and had purchased $1,037.00 in merchandise. Needless to say, this almost wiped my account out. I live on SS and was left with very little monies to make it back home. I had to arrange for a trip to Wells Fargo to cancel my card, and file a complaint. I had to make a police report in Houston and was told to make one back in Florida when I got home.

I did receive my $1,037.00 back from the bank and had requested my airfare ticket cost back from AirTran for all the aggravation, but have had no response. I would like to warn you to not give out any credit card information to anyone on the phone when requesting a seat with AirTran. I am not sure they have gotten rid of the person who did this so beware.

Replies
Major Disappointment
By -

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- In the first place, on Friday, May 20, before 9 am we learned that our flight #112 at 12:21 pm from Dallas to Atlanta was cancelled, presumably due to weather in Dallas. However, the Dallas weather was perfectly fine until late afternoon, so I do not see why this decision was made. It was the only Atlanta flight of the five on their schedule that day that was cancelled, but they couldn't find us space on another flight until the next day. In addition to causing us to miss an entire day with our grandson, we were subjected to several other stressful situations involving our prepaid hotel and car rental arrangements.

The next day we got to Atlanta just fine, but then my husband and I were passengers on flight 278 from Atlanta to Boston. That plane was not able to land in Boston due to fog. We understand that kind of thing to be unavoidable. My complaint centers around the decision to divert to Providence, where AirTran has no facilities, in order to refuel. This does not qualify as a well-thought-out contingency plan, in my opinion.

While we were on the tarmac in Providence, several passengers became insistent to be allowed to leave the plane and the pilot agreed to accommodate them, which caused even more of a delay because they had to negotiate for a gate and then verify exactly who was still on the plane. As a result, the rest of us wound up staying on the plane on the ground for five hours. Instead of arriving in Boston at 7:19 pm, it was closer to 1 am when we finally deplaned.

By that time, we had lost our car rental reservation, our hotel room, and half the time we were planning to spend with our grandson who had to go to school on Monday; and we started our vacation in a state of stress and exhaustion. The AirTran personnel were pleasant and professional throughout. I feel that the errors were made at a level above them.

Replies
Advertisement
Air Tran Airways Treats My Military Son Badly
By -

My son left today, 12-28-10, to go back to his military base in Florida. His AirTran flight was scheduled to leave from Chicago Midway at 2:39 pm. I dropped him off about three hours before his flight. Within minutes, he called me to advised me that he did not have a seat in coach for his flight to Atlanta or Jacksonville, Florida. I said what happened, and he said that he entered his confirmation number into the kiosk and it told him that there were no seats in coach for his flights. Feeling pressured, he asked a lady with AirTran and was told that he would have to upgrade to get his flights that he had paid for.

I booked his flights and realized that AirTran had a policy that if you wanted to confirm your seat, you could pay an extra $15.00 and your seat would be held. I also read that when you checked in, you could get your seat assigned to you. So, my wife calls the airline and the airline blames the seating on my military son saying that he is the one who upgraded. My wife told the lady from AirTran that he had to upgrade to get his flights back tonight to fulfill his orders. The lady from AirTran asked my wife if he showed anyone his orders or was he in uniform.

My wife responded, "Would that have made a difference because my son did show his military ID," and the lady from AirTran said, "No". Again the lady from AirTran stated that it was my son's fault and that he did not confirm his seat. My wife asked the AirTran lady, "So his ticket purchase did not mean anything?" The lady from AirTran said again that he did not confirm his seat.

We have flown with Air Tran twice before, United Airlines, American, Northwest, Delta, US Air, Frontier, and Continental and have never, never had to pay additional to the ticket purchase to confirm a seat. They told my son that there would be no charge for his bag because he was flying first class so he was saving money. On other airline, his bags are not charged due to him being in the military. We will never do business with AirTran again and would suggest that military personnel stay away from them as well.

Replies
Return flight issues
By -

My spouse and I recently flew round trip from Atlanta to Cancun on AirTran Airways. The flight to Cancun was uneventful. The return flight was a joke. I have flown both charter, as well as commercial flights for over 30 years, and find this particular service deplorable. The first problem arose when AirTran in Cancun declared our checked bag was over the limit by 1 1/2 pounds. We chose to redistribute the weight to or carry on bags, right there at the check-in counter. As we discovered while waiting in the terminal for the flight, the majority of ticket holders had the same issue. Coincidence?

After sitting at the departure gate for nearly 45 minutes, we were informed there was a gate change. Everyone had to relocate to another gate. After that move, I thought I heard the AirTran check in person mention my name to someone on the telephone. I approached the desk and asked her if there was an issue. She confirmed the seats we had been assigned were going to have to be used by the flight attendants, as the jump seats were broken. We were assigned one seat in business class, and one seat in economy. Therefore, my spouse and I were not able to sit together on the flight home. We had no choice because the flight was full.

We waited 30 minutes to be re-ticketed. Not a big deal until we walked on to the plane and the business class flight attendant had the gall to tell me, "we have been waiting for you". I took the business class seat, and my husband took the economy seat. We were only 4 rows from each other, but not one of the AirTran flight attendants even made an attempt to even offer my husband a cocktail or "business class" snack for the inconvenience. Because we had boarded last, my husband was forced to stow his carry on in one of the rear overheads, even though he was sitting in the 2nd row from the front.

About an hour before landing he retrieved his carry on and placed it in the overhead above my business class seat, so that we would not be separated while deplaning. The business class flight attendant told him he was not a business class customer, and did not belong in the business class section. He ignored her, and went back to his seat. My husband is a Vietnam Vet, and did say, on his way back to his seat, "if we had her in the Nam we would have won". I believe her behavior was unacceptable, and she should be reprimanded.

I can honestly say, I would not fly AirTran again, however, I won't have to worry about it for long since Southwest, which is a far superior airline has bought them out. The flight was AirTran 45 out of Cancun to Atlanta at 12:00 noon.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

AirTran Airways Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 13 ratings and
168 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
AirTran Airways
9955 AirTran Boulevard
Orlando, FL 32827
407-251-5600 (ph)
407-251-5727 (fax)
www.airtran.com
Compare Airline Companies