Alienware

Star Star Half star Empty star Empty star
2.3 out of 5, based on 3 ratings and
28 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Alienware Has No Honor! Do not buy from Alienware
Posted by on
Aloha, I purchased this very expensive $5,000.00 computer from Alienware in 2007. It has been a nonstop battle with them over the phone with tech support and sending the laptop back and forth to them through the mail. The warranty will run out in April of 2010.

I have been wronged greatly by Alienware. It has never worked properly and all I have done for the last three years is trouble-shoot it with them over the phone. I have had to send it back to them at least 10 times. Every single time it has come back, there is either something new wrong with it, or they actually made the computer worse. A constant problem of dead pixels is one problem. No matter how many times they replace the LCD screen, more dead pixles seem to pop up only a week after I get it back. One time they actually replaced the LCD screen with dead pixles with another LCD screen that already had dead pixles in it. Another time they returned the computer with the hard-drive wiped out. They accidentally erased my whole computer and I had very valuable pictures of the first year of my daughter's life on it. Yes I know I should have backed up my files, but the DVD drive on this computer has always had a problem with it and Nero will not work. It errors out most of the time when I try to burn to a DVD using windows. I have always told them of this, but time and time again they forget to replace the part. They never ever completely fix it and there is always more problems.

Even after all of their mistakes and bungles, they refuse to build me a new system. I even told them I would accept a desktop tower. It would be less expensive than the $5,000.00 I paid for the laptop. It probably would also be easier to repair. They have also told me that a refund of my hard earned money is out of the question as well.

What can I do? This is so unfair to me and I deserve better customer service that I have received. They sold me a very crappy computer and they have the additute of not really caring or trying to do what is right. I have sent the computer back to them about 10 times. It is obvious that this is a very defective computer at the core and cannot be fixed, unless they have tech repair people that absolutely do not know what they are doing. I don't know what I can do.

I am currently researching Falcon Northwest computers and I am already impressed. I have not been able to find any significant bad reports about them. Is there hope in the battle for a nice computer that works like it should in the world now?
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Alienware Tech Support Run-Around
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
UNKNOWN -- I bought a M15x laptop June 2010 and roughly one year after I experienced an overheating problem, just the beginning of my problems I assure you. I called tech support, after all I had never had a laptop last me longer than 2 years; I expected a problem or two. After 2 hours on the phone I was assured that everything was fine. Even though the area around my mouse and keyboard was so hot it was burning me. I knew what was wrong it had happened to every other laptop I'd every used around the same time. Its fans were clogged with cat fur; I own two cats both long fur. Yet they refuse to listen to me and told me I just needed to get it air conditioning. I was deeply offended.

Over the course of the last year (2012) I experienced crashes, blue screens, unexpected shutdowns, overheating, problems with my internet connection (that were not modem related; every other connection in our house was fine), my screen would just suddenly go black and my battery wasn't charging. I didn't want to call tech support I was afraid I would get dismissed again. I considered going to another computer repair center but didn't want to break my warranty so reluctantly I called around January 2013.

They seemed friendly and helpful. Quickly diagnosing that my computer needed to come in for repair. They sent a box and pre-paid postage. However when the box got here I quickly discovered that my computer was too big for the box. I called and asked if they had a bigger box, they said no, that I should find one and send it as soon as I could as it was important for it to be sent in. I didn't have one and I didn't want to buy one (I'm a student and rely on my parents for money). It seemed kind of pointless for me to buy a box when they had sent me one. I managed to stuff it into the box they had sent to me. I shipped it all the while hoping it would be returned in relatively good shape.

I was expecting to be without my computer for around a week. That is what they told me after all. Alas, it was returned a couple days later. I couldn't help wonder if I had stuck the stickers on wrong and if it they were returning to sender. I checked the addresses and it had come from Alienware/Dell and was being returned to me. Wow, that was fast. I opened it, excited to have it back and working again. Well almost working, the battery still wasn't charging, but if that was my only problem I'd live with it.

A few days later while working on my laptop, it starts screeching at me and it pops up with a very familiar blue screen stating that my computer has crashed. I brush it off thinking that it was a fluke. Except it happens again the next day and again a few days later. A very familiar pattern emerges over the next several months and I get angrier and angrier. Weren't they supposed to have fixed this?

I call tech support and after a few test am told that I have to reinstall window 7. Alright I can do that and I don't have to send my computer away to do that, a plus. I'm handed off to a manager to do a survey. They say goodbye and I'm faced with reinstalling Windows.
I Google it and get started. I back up my system and follow the instructions I found on how to reinstall windows. The whole process takes me two days. I get frustrated. When it comes back the screen isn't the same, and the most important thing I can't control how bright my screen is. Having chronic migraines this is a big problem, my screen is to bright and I'm trying to figure how to adjust it.

Again I turn to the ever faithful Google. I'm no where after hours of trying and worse I've now triggered a migraine with the light.
I'm beyond frustrated. I shut the computer off and go to bed with a pounding headache. I've given up on adjusting the light for now. I think maybe reinstalling some of the Alienware software may provide the answer so I start reinstalling everything, Skype, Acrobe, Microsoft Office and everything else I could think of. Friday night I again have a migraine and am no closer. On top of everything else, the crashes have returned. I'm angry.

This shouldn't be happening, tech support assured me that reinstalling Windows would fix this problem. It should have been fixed four months ago when I sent it in.

I call tech support the morning of 4/20/13. After an hour wait I get a person and explain my problem. I'm asked how I reinstalled Windows and then told I did it wrong, that I was supposed to be walked through the process by a tech. I was told to restart my computer, then press F12. After I did that I was told to insert the re-installation disk and to select the option with CD/DVD/BD-rom.
I was not asked if I would like to back anything up before we started this process, and feeling rushed, didn't think to ask.

The first few steps were self explanatory, the tech asked me to tell them when I got to a certain page and I did. They then gave me a set of instructions I didn't understand, after asking them to repeat themselves several times they got very frustrated with me and I made a mistake with the instructions.

I am not great with computer and defiantly not good with computer terms. I felt very lost during this step and felt the tech was very frustrated and angry trying to explain it to me. When I made the mistake, I felt very harassed and just wanted to get off the phone with him as quickly as possible. We got to the end of the re-installation and I was told to call back when it was done.
About half an hour later my computer was back to its normal screen so I called, as instructed. I had a wait time of 45 minutes. I am told that they will call me in around an hour. I agree. I ask for an address so that I can file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and am talked in circles, I never get an address.

I wait an hour and half before calling back. I'm told that they were just about to call me. I'm led through instruction on how to get aliencontact. I'm then passed from one tech on the phone to another tech online. Before hanging up with the phone tech I again ask for an address, and again I'm talked in circles but given an email address. I was passed to the online tech, who would be installing all the drivers.

They took control of my computer for about an hour and a half and when needed something asked. They reinstalled almost everything that came with my computer. They didn't reinstall Microsoft Office 2010. They called when done and disconnected. As of right now (an hour after) everything seems to be fixed. Well almost everything. The battery still doesn't charge correctly, and the screen does still go black if you touch the monitor, at all.

     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Very POOR Customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
Hi folks - I thought you might want to know about a customer service nightmare I'm having with the Alienware Solution Station. My son is 13 and saved up to buy his Alienware M18x. He had a problem and tried to resent to factory settings and made a mistake. His bad...should have looked on line for instructions first. Still, we called Alienware and asked for help. For a fee, they said they would take care of it.

That was five weeks ago. Fourteen phone calls later. Four technician appointments - three of which had NO technician show up. First, they did the basic re-install. However, they couldn't get the wireless card to work and came to the obviously incorrect conclusion there was something wrong with the wireless card (it was working fine before we called them). I waited for a technician a few days later. He showed up, replaced the wireless card and it still didn't work. I called back. They worked on the software some more (remotely) and still couldn't fix the wireless. So, they decided that the replacement wireless card was bad and needed to be replaced again.

I received two confirmation calls from Dell but the technician never showed. When I called, I was told it was because the part was backordered. Nobody ever called to tell me (these are three hour time windows I'm waiting).

Then, two more confirmation calls for a couple days later. The technician never showed and lied about calling me and waiting 20 minutes. At that point I said that I wasn't going to wait again for a wireless card that was unnecessary in the first place. The Alienware support person asked what I wanted him to do - so I said I wanted him to fix the software. After about an hour, he did. He discovered that the technician who did the initial work (a month had passed at this point - and about 10 calls) did it incorrectly and nobody ever went back to check it. Then, however, it turns out we had a problem with graphics that we didn't have before.

He couldn't solve it and instead said that we needed a new graphics card. So, today, I waited again. I got two confirmation calls from Dell and the technician didn't show up. Again, because the part is on backorder, but nobody told me. So now, I've spent countless hours working with my son at times (of course, he has to go to school at some point), taking up time in my working day, and most of it wasted because the support people did the job incorrectly the first time, told me I needed parts I didn't need, and have on-site technicians who lie and don't call customers to tell them they aren't coming.

Today, I asked to talk to someone who might be interested in hearing about this. Tech support transferred me to customer service. They wanted to transfer me to tech support. Finally, I got the woman to understand that I thought they might want to know that their tech support has been terrible and their on-site technicians don't show up. She told me her manager would call me. Who is good for a bet that I don't hear a word?

So...I wait...with my frustrated kid...for the part that is on backorder and the technician who doesn't call and there's nothing I can do, except let other Alienware users know, just as a heads up and just in case someone who cares is looking.
     
Replies
Ditto, Ditto and more Ditto!
Posted by on
MIAMI, FLORIDA -- Dear Readers:

I ditto everything that has been said about Alienware Customer Service, or lack thereof.

I purchased a new Alienware Area 51-M17 supposed gamer screamer in 2006. Have had nothing but headaches with it since.

Ordering, delivery to spec and all was fine. Problems started about 3 months after I got it. Started acting up with boot problems and video glitches. Called CS. I was told the OS was the problem and needed to be reinstalled. This problem continued over the next 9 months with CS telling me I had to reinstall the OS. I was also haveing problems with the RAID controller and hard drives.

I got them to send me a replacement hard drive about the 6 month point but it did not change anything.

Finally just after the warranty expired, the laptop did also. I called Alienware and their answer was the warranty had expired, the repairs would be on me. I argued to no avail at this point, and sent the computer in for repairs. I was told the computer needed a motherboard, again at my expense.

I argued over a 6 week period until finally they repaired the computer and refunded the charges. I also asked for and received another year of warranty coverage, that I had to pay for.

About six months go by and the video starts to go again. All the while, the computer is performing as if it has molasses for silicon. I call CS. Again with the reinstalling of the OS. I finally get them to troubleshoot over the phone and they decide the video card is bad. They arrange for an onsite repair from a local contract computer guy who does a nice job.

Another 6 months go by and the thing starts acting up again. Same song and dance about reinstalling the OS. By now I am an expert in OS installs.

It dies again. This time when I send it to Alienware for repairs (at my expense, second warranty has expired), they tell me I need another motherboard but sorry, they don't have any and can't get any. I find this to be unbelievable. I am told they don't manufacture the computer parts, just assemble them and their supplier doesn't make the boards anymore. And by the way, they can't replace or upgrade my computer because, you guessed it, the warranty has expired.

I find a repair place in TN that has parts. After receiving it back from ALienware, who BTW is in the Miami area, I live in AK, I send it to the TN guys for repairs. They do a nice job at less than the Alienware quote for the same repair, if they had parts.

It lasted about a year and guess what, same OS issues. I had about given up on it when I got a copy of WIN7 and thought what the heck. I installed the WIN7 and after struglling with a couple of driver problems, particularly the InProComm 2220 Wireless card, it was acting like a new computer. That was about 6 months ago. And guess what? Yup, the video is dying again.

I have just boxed it up to send again to laptop repair to see if it is salvageable. I have owned the thing for about four years and half of the time it was in repair status. That classifies this chassis as a "lemon" by any definition.

I don't think Dell has been able to clean house at Alienware yet with their reliability and CS issues. If that ever happens, maybe the Alienware laptops will be a item worth acquiring. Until then, steer clear!!
     
Replies
$5000 POS
Posted by on
FLORIDA -- December 2008, I purchase an Alienware M17 laptop with all the bells and whistles costing right at $5000. The machine arrives two weeks later and seems fine.

We moved and a couples weeks later I start to play with it more. I find that the visual recognition software has stopped working and is asking for a license key. I call tech support and explain the problem and the tech has no idea. After spending three hours on the phone and multiple re-installs of the software I find that it works fine until you log in using the finger print reader at which time it stops working. The tech tells me he has to research it and get back to me. To this day I have not received a call back.

The next issue starts mid January. The machine has two hard drives in a RAID 0 stripe. Upon boot one of the drives does not appear in the RAID array. After rebooting the drive shows up but the array is not accessible. After rebooting a second time the computer will find the OS.

I call tech support, which tells me I need to back up all my data because we have to break the array to test the drives. I get the chance to do this and call them back a month later. We spend four more hours on the phone while he has me test the drives and he figures out that one is bad, so he sends one to me, but I have to pay to have it shipped in advance to me. After receiving the drive I open the box to find it is a refurbished drive they sent out for my three month old computer.

I install the drive and install the data back and guess what, upon reboot it does the same thing. I call them back and I am now told that I have to send the computer back. Oh and I did pay extra for the on site warranty. After waiting three weeks for a shipping box and two additional calls to get it sent to me, I ship it back.

I get a call from a woman telling me she works directly for the CEO of the company and that she will be handling my case from now on and that she will ensure me that my laptop will be repaired correctly and come to me like new. I told her that I wanted a new hard drive put in to replace the refurbished one they had sent and she told me no problem.

Two weeks later she calls and tells me that my computer was shipped and will be to me in a couple days. I asked her if they replace the hard drive and she told me yes they did.

It arrives and I turn it on, WOW it fails to find the hard drive in the RAID array. Rebooting it finds the drive but no OS, rebooting again and the computer boots. (sound familiar?)

The computer boots to Windows and low and behold the OS was not a new install (which was one of the reasons they said it had to be sent back and they promised to replace the hard drive which would require a re-install)

I shut the computer down and pulled out the hard drive bay that I had installed the replacement drive in and guess what the refurbished drive was still there. I know because I marked it with a sharpie.

I called her back and told her what was going on, she told me that she wanted me to send it in to her and that she would personally repair it. I told her that I wanted it replaced since it was only six months old and it had not worked for four of those months. She told me she would send me two new hard drives and if that did not fix it that I needed to send it to them for repair that they would not replace it.

Buyer beware do not by Alienware.
     
Replies
Alienware = Defective Laptops
Posted by on
LEVITTOWN, PENNSYLVANIA -- My husband purchased the Alienware m9750 in February 2008 as a gift for me. The system worked fine for a few months, but then began having problems keeping time. We contacted Alienware and they sent us a CMOS battery to replace. That did not fix the problem so October 2008 it was sent into their repair depot. After 2 months in the repair depot we stop receiving communication about the status of our system. We were unable to get a response for a month. It was returned to us January 14, 2009 and were told that the Motherboard, Hard drive, Wireless Card, and TV tuner card were all defective and replaced. However we received it back with all the same hardware issues as before the repair plus the optical drive no longer worked. On January 16, 2008 we were contacted by a representative on behalf of Alienwares CEO. She informed us that they shipped a new optical drive and to let her know if it fixed the problem. It did not of course since the motherboard was defective.

On January 26, 2009 she issued a cancellation of our system and told me to pick out a new system which matched the cost of our original since she could not issue us a refund. Which is what we requested. We ordered the Alienware m15x. Which we were forced into as none of their other systems came with windows XP which is what we had originally and wanted. That system was delivered on March 6, 2009. Immediately open using the brand new system it had hardware problems. It was locking up, crashing and overheating. It was also not shipped with correct specs. It was supposed to have an upgraded LCD and did not. I contacted the representative and explained the situation.

She was extremely apologetic and though extremely hesitant, I agreed to have it returned to the repair depot. She guaranteed me she would personally test the system to ensure it was functioning perfectly and that the LCD would be replaced with the correct one. And that if I had any problems she would do everything in her power to get us a refund. The system was returned to us on March 14, 2009. On March 18, 2009 the system began turning itself off immediately upon going to battery and the system was getting red hot to the touch. I sent the representative an Email about the situation and also left her a message on March 19, 2009.

I was in contact with her on March 20, 2009 where she once again despite her earlier promise wanted it shipped back to the repair depot. I told her that this was simply unacceptable as the system was just returned to me and should not have been sent to me in this condition. I requested she keep her promise and issue us a refund. She told me it was not an option. All she could offer me was to ship it back to repair depot and upgrade my memory. This has been an ongoing matter that seemingly has no resolution. We have been trying desperately to work with the representative to get our money back since we cannot get a working laptop from this company and to no avail. This system is under warranty until February 2011 and I am getting the impression that all I will be doing until the end of warranty is sending it back and forth to the repair depot and still not have a working system. This laptop has been at the repair depot more than it has been in my possession. This is a $3,666.95 laptop that has not worked properly since its purchase.
     
Replies
Alienware Sucks
Posted by on
MIAMI, FLORIDA -- My husband and I bought a refurbished laptop computer on April 10, 2008 and when we received the computer it did not work. We bought this computer for $1033.98 through EBay Alienware Outlet Store. I now believe that we received a computer which had been returned to them broken and was then roughly patched up and passed on to us. I called their technical support on eight separate occasions and spent at least eight hours on the phone trying to get the computer working. Their best solution was to have me, a person with no computer experience, take the computer completely apart and try to fix the problems. Technical support had me remove the hard drive, install all drivers, take the keyboard off, and remove and replace almost every essential component of the computer. When I repeatedly asked to send in the computer for repair they refused and instead had me (again) remove the hard drive and mail it in. They then sent me a “new” one. What we received several weeks later was password protected for some other person’s user profile with no password. I called them again and again their best answer was to have me take apart my computer and re-install all the drivers. The warranty is now expired, but the computer still does not work. I had asked on several occasions, within my warranty, for them to take the computer back and fix the unit properly. Alienware refused. We now believe this was done intentionally to cause the 90 day warranty to expire thus requiring us to pay for the parts.

We had saved for a year to buy this computer. All we want is that which was promised to us when we purchased the machine, a working computer. We have called Alienware and asked them to please take it back and repair the unit. They refuse unless we pay for all the repairs. We took the computer to Falcon Computers here in Waimea to see if they could fix it. The technician looked at it and immediately knew that the problem was probably a faulty motherboard and stated that there would be no reason any computer technician would not be able to diagnose this repair.

This further cements our feelings that Alienware purposely and knowingly ran out our warranty to avoid paying for this repair. We want either a working computer or our money back.
     
Replies
Alienware Is a Big Disappointment
Posted by on
It took Alienware two weeks after my order was paid for to tell me they had no cases on hand for this featured laptop model. When it was finally shipped from the factory, two of the three boxes were missing; the laptop arrived but the software and peripherals did not. FedEx never took possession of them, this was confirmed over the phone. But it took another week to get Alienware to admit this.

When I finally received the rest of the order I get everything set up and connected and turn on my new laptop for the first time. I had been waiting for the Norton security software, Works Suite, and the mouse, bluetooth adapter, external floppy drive, things like that. So it would be done right and all together.

Well, the drivers for the internal hardware were not installed, in fact a lot of the drivers were not installed. The wireless card would not connect, even though I had a very good signal on my WiFi Finder. And both of the installed CD/DVD drives would not open -- the light would flash and I could hear something but the doors wouldn't open on either one of them. That's just what I've found wrong so far. Not much I can do with it if I can't install from CD or get on the Internet.

Alienware brags about being based in Florida and having all of their computers built on-site in Miami. Well, their tech support is in India -- but they won't tell you that. These guys all gave American names but I could hardly understand what they were saying. Never did get the wireless to work, that guy just passed me off onto some other department to deal with the drive bays problem. This new guy wanted me to turn the laptop over and open it up, at which point I was supposed to remove the drive bays and do something to them. I didn't understand what he was expecting me to do, I couldn't even figure out which panel I was supposed to remove. And besides, I didn't have a screwdriver to fit those tiny little Philips head screws.

See, I'm in a wheelchair, paralyzed from the chest down, and I can only use one hand at a time because I need one in my lap to support myself so I can sit up straight. It was very hard to turn this laptop over, it weighs like a slab of lead. I told the tech on the phone, I'm going to need on-site service for this, and why I can't do this. And I do have an on-site contract with them. But I was told that's not possible. In fact, I've been told not to call them again unless I have someone here with me that knows how to work on this thing.

I am a disabled veteran on a disability pension. I never should have financed something so expensive just so I can have something to do. I know now that I could have bought two Dell XPS gaming laptops and got change back for what I've committed to for this thing... this thing that I have yet to even use. Don't make the mistake I did, don't buy from Alienware. You'll only be sorry you did.
     
Replies
StarStarStarStarStar
Alienware/Dell is Finally Stepping it Up!
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
I first contacted Alienware sales support through the online chat thing. I built my setup, and spoke with James Williams on the chat. This happened on Tuesday, 07/17/2012. I received a quote via email, but told him I had to think about it. On Friday 07/20/2012, I decided I would purchase, so I emailed James directly, and he responded INSTANTLY and said the quote is still good, and would have a financing person contact me in one hour. Got AMAZING deals with the $100 off and the Dell Advantage program with free 2nd day shipping.

Just before an hour passed, I got a call FROM AN AMERICAN SALES person to process my order. I got the confirmation email and my order was already passed the processing stage, and into the production stage THE SAME DAY!

Again, I purchased a customized Alienware M14X R2 on Friday, 07/20/2012 with custom nameplate and everything. It is now Wednesday, 07/25 and my M14X is already halfway here! Fedex estimates it will arrive tomorrow, 07/26. From order date of Friday, 07/20 with a delivery date of 07/26 for a customized M14X with custom nameplate all within ONE week!?!?

Alienware/Dell is FINALLY stepping it up!

I still have my M15X, and it is still running STRONG! I can't WAIT to play with my M14X R2 tomorrow after work! I will keep this updated, but with my experience with Alienware/Dell so far, I have never had a down moment yet!
     
Replies
Alien to Support - What I'm doing
Posted by on
I purchased an M17x in 2009 - after Dell had acquired Alienware. This purchase followed two other negative experiences. Why did I buy a third, you may ask? Because I was promised that Dell's influence had changed the juvenile Customer, Technical, & Warranty Support previously provided by Alienware.

Guess what - it seems they have actually gotten worse.

The M17x has experienced all kinds of problems. It seems that there was a period where it was experiencing power issues and needed a new BIOS update. Unfortunately, the BIOS update hadn't been developed and it took "them" 3 months to develop it. All the while, my purchased warranty ticking away.

When I made requests for my warranty to be extended during the down periods, the company laughed at me.

Further problems ensued. There have been too many problems with this system to reasonably document.

So, I made the request that the company buy back the machine - to which they also laughed at.

I made a call back to the Florida Division of Consumer Protection, and it seems that my case on the past two machines was "just closed". I was not notified . . . no calls . . . etc.

Since, I have sent letters to the Governor, and the State Attorney General asking why the Division of Consumer Protection is not supporting Florida residents.

Also, I have been in contact with a supervisor from the Division.

My complaints are:

Dell/Alienware advertised an In-Home/On-site Service for which it is not possible to get.
Dell/Alienware did not provide the warranty support for which I paid
Dell/Alienware has denied me periods of Customer Service/Tech/Warranty Support for which I paid.

There's much more, but the key is that I did not get what was advertised; what I paid for; and I'm tired of feeling ripped off.

This lemon and the related experience has soured me to the point that there will never be another Dell product in my home.

My opinion, from reading other reviews . . . in this forum and others . . . is that it is great to vent about your experiences. By doing so, you make other consumers aware that they are not alone.

However, my time and money is important to me. I don't like being jacked around by Dell Alienware Customer Support after paying a premium for their product.

And the bottom line, if all of the complaints listed in this forum and others, found their way to the State Division of Consumer Protection - I think a lot of Alienware's foolishness would stop.

But, it will take consumers organizing - and not just complaining.

I wish you the best - but stop throwing away your money, and just taking the ensuing proverbial butt raping. Make it stop!

Yours,
The Ant
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >