Amana Company, L P

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 3 ratings and
30 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Poor Quality and Service
By -

We bought this washer in June of 2005. We decided on an Amana because it was a well known brand and the price was decent since we were getting a bit of a break buying all new appliances for the kitchen as well (not Amanas by the way) Now we know why the salesman gave us a break...to get rid of a piece of junk! This washer went belly up after exactly 4 years. I went to wash a load of laundry and it filled up fine but then when it got to the agitate cycle it just started grinding and vibrating and the agitator was not turning. We called in a repairman that told us that it was the transmission. The transmission has a ten year warranty so it was still covered, however, in order to change the transmission, a seal kit must be changed that is NOT covered and costs around $100 plus you have to pay for labor. The estimate for repair was $286, which is almost only $100 less than we paid for the machine new 4 years ago! What a rip off! Now we still have to pay a $50 service charge even though we're not getting it repaired. We called customer service at Amana and after being put on hold for almost 30 minutes (the entire call took 45) my husband detailed the situation to the representative and pointed out to her that the "warranty" on the transmission was essentially worthless since the seal kit was not being covered making the repair cost compared to the price new 4 years ago not worth it. All they would offer us was 15% off a new AMANA appliance. NO WAY! First of all, 15% is a crap offer when you have to replace a major appliance after only 4 years and second, why would we buy another Amana when we got a piece of junk from them before with a worthless warranty? The ironic thing is that a 15% discount would probably be about the same price out of their pocket as the seal kit so why not just cover the seal kit and keep your customers happy? Doesn't make sense to me. When they would not offer anything else, my husband asked them if what they wanted was for us to "go away and never buy another Amana (or Maytag since they are both owned by the same company now) appliance ever again and tell everyone we know to stay away from them" and essentially the answer was yes. Stay away from Amana. After this I have read reviews on other sites on not just their washers but other appliances and they seem to get very low reviews and are JUNK.

We had a washing machine before this one that was a hand me down from a friend that was already 17 years old when we got it and we had it an additional 4 years and never had a problem with it. I believe it was a Whirlpool. The only reason we bought a new one was that we were moving and decided not to take our appliances with us since it was a long distance move. I wish we had brought that old washer with us. It would probably still be working today! Only getting 4 years out of a washing machine is BS.

     
Replies
Amana Faulty Compressor
By -

The faulty compressor on our Amana refrigerator clunked out just days before the 5 year warranty expired. We initially had a repair person come out that we knew. He told us it was the compressor. We contacted Amana and they require a service person come out from a company they are affiliated with. The cost of the visit is our responsibility. The repair person verified it was the compressor. Of course the person didn't have one with them. It would take 7-10days to come in. This visit was on 8/19/09. I contact Amana to ask what about all the food we lost (about $300) NOT COVERED!!!What about the service visit charge NOT PART OF THE WARRANTY!! What I could get is a 15%-20% discount on another refrigerator. I asked to speak to someone higher in the corporate office. The only way I could contact them was by mail. I sent a certified letter on Monday, August 24th. Confirmation of letter received on Aug. 27th. Another week goes by -- NO PHONE CALL -- I sent an email to the CEO and President of Whirlpool, magically, one hour later I get a call from the Executive Office. I explain my experience and frustration and request to get compensated. I was given what was called a "generous" offer of 25% off the purchase of a new refrigerator (Whirlpool brand of course) or have the compressor replaced at no charge (since it was under warranty) No food loss or service visit charge reimbursed --THAT IS THE POLICY. This has left me completely baffled. If a item is covered under warranty, why is the consumer not reimbursed for the $$ they had to spend because of it. I asked to speak to someone higher NO ONE ELSE I COULD TALK TO was the response I received. During this whole time, we are without a working refrigerator. We are a family of four with two toddlers. Whirlpool corp has completely lost me as a customer, I WOULD NEVER BUY OR RECOMMEND A WHIRLPOOL, AMANA OR ANY OTHER BRAND THEY REPRESENT. We finally get a call from the service repair company on 9/10 asking to schedule an appt to replace the compressor -- ONLY 21 days after the original service visit. THERE ARE NOT ENOUGH WORDS TO EXPLAIN THE HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE WE HAVE HAD WITH WHIRLPOOL. I CAN'T EVEN IMAGINE THE EXPERIENCE HAD THE COMPRESSOR CLUNKED OUT AFTER THE WARRANTY EXPIRED.

     
Replies
Washing Machine
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WINTER HAVEN, FLORIDA -- I purchased a washing machine from Famous Tate in Winter Haven, Fl. in Feb. 20, 2014. I have had a repair person out to my home 3 times, repaired 3 time. I am waiting, again, for the 4th visit tomorrow morning, and still taking my laundry out to be cleaned. I have had to cancel appointments to accommodate them and I am tired of it all! I have tried to contact the Amana people only to be put on hold and using a lot of minutes waiting. I have tried to email them twice and they never returned my emails. I am so upset at this point. I DO NOT want this machine. This company is beyond belief. I just retired here and my family and friends are coming down slowly and they WILL NOT be buying any Amana products.

     
Replies
Plastic Cracking
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- I purchased an Amana refrigerator model #ASD2522WRDO1 on 6/21/2010. Within 6 months the shelves began cracking and the side of the crisper broke off. Upon talking to Whirlpool customer service, I was informed that they had no way of knowing what caused the problem, therefore there was nothing they could do but SELL me replacement parts made from the same inferior material.

This is a hazard as the shelves could break and cause injury to anyone opening the door. As I am not financially able to replace or repair this piece of junk, I am forced to use it. I have propped the shelf to try to keep them from collapsing. NOW.....Just this morning I noticed my Whirlpool Microwave, mdl# WMH1163XVD, is cracking all around the glass and the top of the door.

WHIRLPOOL...STOP denying this problem and pushing the blame onto the consumer.

     
Replies
Glass on oven door spontaneously shattered--twice!
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

VERNON, NEW JERSEY -- We bought an Amana smooth-top stove in 2004 and were quite happy with it for a good six years. But then one morning, while still in bed, I heard a nerve-rattling sound coming from my kitchen. I went downstairs to see, amazingly, that the outer glass on my oven door had shattered. The oven was not hot at the time (as I said it was early in the morning and the oven had last been used the evening before). Kids were sleeping, not a mouse was stirring. The glass just shattered and fell to the floor, of its own accord. Fun job to clean up. After buying a new door and replacing it, things were good for about another year and a half. Then it happened again! The glass just shattered and fell to the floor as though it had been hit with a baseball bat. Luckily our young kids were not around, and the glass does not explode out but rather cascades down, but still! It's annoying. And now we don't feel like spending another $100 for a door, so it's sitting there, functional but extremely ugly. I figure I may just spend another few hundred bucks and get a whole new oven--but not an Amana.

     
Replies
The worst appliance I have ever bought
By -

The biggest piece of junk, I will NEVER buy anything Amana ever again. This thing is constant expensive repairs, it is barely 7 years old. Now I went to open the oven door and it totally fell apart on one side and won't close. First after 2 years old, the computer for the oven temp. fell down and had to be replaced. Then after that the igniter had to be replaced. Then after that the broiler stopped working, and I have just been living without a broiler. Now this with the door, which lately wouldn't seem to close all the way and the light was always staying on.
DON'T BUY AN AMANA RANGE PERIOD! DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT!!!!!

     
Replies
Amana Ranges/Ovens Safety Risk
By -

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- If you have an Amana range that allows heat to escape from the ranges/ovens when used in their intended manner and is causing irreparable damage to other components or the ranges/oven, including but not limited to, the units' control board. This problem can discolor the units, diminishing their value and compromises the ability of the ranges/ovens to perform in their intended manner.

If so, this ongoing problem poses a significant safety risk to their users and property. I know many of you are frustrated and many of you have complained to Amana and have been told that, "There have been no complaints or that the problem does not exist". Well they won't be able to say that any more if the thousands of us come together as one and voice our concerns and complaints.

If you would like to be heard and possibly have your range replaced or fixed please send me an email of your existing problem along with your units' serial number and model number and together we will be heard. vloredo@cox.net

     
Replies
Warranty Service Fraud And No Resolution From Amana
By -

ALBION, NEW YORK -- I called Amana in 10/2012 to repair my leaking front loading washing machine. They sent out a repair man from Ben's Appliance who said that it needed a part and it would be a few weeks, but to continue to use the machine. A month passed with no word, so I called Ben's appliance and was told there was no record of us needing a part, and he would call me back. He did not call me back, so about a week later I called Amana again and was told that they show the repair man “cleaned out the pump, and told me to keep it clean.” I told them that never happened. They talked to Butch at Ben's appliance who told them they would “order the part, to make you happy.” I did not like the condescending remark. On 12/21/2011 Ben's appliance showed up without an appointment and left a tag on our door. When my husband called to schedule a time to come out Butch said “That was my last trip to Albion.” When my husband tried to schedule a date for the repair, Butch said they were not coming out until one of their customers needed them. “We are not coming out for just you.” I call Amana again, and they are not very sympathetic. They would not extend my warranty despite my concern that water leaking through the appliance for 2 months may have caused electrical damage that could cause a fire. What Ben's Appliance has done is Fraudulent. They submitted a claim to Amana for a repair that was not done, while refusing to complete the repair they know was needed. They did this to avoid having to make a second trip when they only get paid one rate for the service call.

     
Replies
Amana Junk Plastics
By -

553 BENSON RD, MICHIGAN -- In late October 2009 approx. 18 months ago I purchased this refrigerator,
immediately I started to get cracks in all plastic components such as the vegetable bins, the shelves. The plastics were not overloaded or abused as it is just myself and wife residing here. The door handles constantly slide upwards off their pins, I just spoke to the customer service but they would not do anything about the junk they are putting on the market. They generously offered to replace the plastic vegetable bins with the same brittle plastics at a cost of $121.08 each and the shelf frame not including the glass inserts at a cost of $46.66 each. Just to replace all plastics is greater than the value of the refrigerator.

I discarded a better refrigerator than this one. AMANA is not the quality product they once were, Stay away from their products

     
Replies
Refrigerator Unrepairable after 3 years????
By -

I bought this refrigerator a little over 3 years ago. It is a nice looking unit and I love the bottom freezer feature. Yesterday the freezer started not cooling and then of course the fridge did as well. I did not buy an extended warranty so I expected to pay for a repair. The service guy comes out and his diagnosis is "unrepairable"!!!! I spent $2,100 on this appliance and after 3 years it is unrepairable? Here is the description of the problem from the repair tech, "refrigerator non-repairable, compressor discharge tube leak and sucked compressor oil into lines, cap tube plugged." His assessment was that you could replace the compressor but with the cap tube plugged (which apparently is not able to be replaced) it will fail again quickly or just not work at all.

Needless to say I am not pleased at all. This will be my last Whirlpool/Amana purchase that I ever make. Why would you make a product that is unrepairable?

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >