Preview Review

Next Review

American Home Shield

Star Star Star Half star Empty star
3.5 out of 5, based on 174 ratings and
198 reviews & complaints.
(866) 617-9098
Call now for more information
American Home Shield is the founder of the home warranty industry and remains the industry leader with over 40 years of experience. With a national contractor network made up of over 11,000 independent home service contractors and 45,000 service technicians, AHS® services nearly 1.5 million customers across 49 states.
Company Profile
American Home Shield
889 Ridge Lake Blvd.
Memphis, TN 38120
(855) 816-0658 (ph)
www.ahs.com
Compare Home Insurance Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VERO BEACH, FLORIDA -- We have a tank-less water heater that had quit providing hot water. I went online but decided it would be better to call. American Home Shield logged in the issue, notified me who they had assigned the claim to and that I would be hearing from them. I did hear from the contractor later that day. Unfortunately, they told me it would be two days before they could get here.

So I called AHS back and asked if it's the only vendor they have and if they could call to see if they could get here sooner. The rep said no and they wouldn't do it because as long as the contractor say they'll come within 48 or 78 hours at the latest, then they're within the limits, and so there's nothing they could do. It wasn't the best solution. We would have to do without hot water for two days. I was hoping that they'd say they have two or three other vendors. "Let me see if anybody can get there quicker."

The contractor who came out here was a very friendly and nice guy. He explained to me everything that they were doing and did his work. He did very well with what he was "allowed to do." This water heater, as I found out when he took it apart, has three heating elements that are encased within a copper tubing. One of the elements had completely been destroyed. He pulled it out and it was in pieces. So he replaced it with a heating element that he had in his truck. We tried the water and it didn't get hot.

He called the manufacturer and said, “I've done what you've told me. It's not working.” They had him move the element to a different position that he was replacing, because what he found out is that all three elements were 9,000 watt elements and what AHS would allow him to do is only put in a 4,500 watt element. So he was replacing with an element that had half the power of what the system calls for. So he had to move the elements around to get them to work. We were able to get moderately warm water at that point, but not hot water.

While the contractor was here, I got on the phone and talked to the manufacturer's rep. He said it is not going to work. I am not going to get hot water and I'm not going to be happy. So I got online, found a 9,000 watt element, and bought it. I got it sent here, had it installed, and the water works fine. AHS cost me $100 for the visit, which is fine, but I had to spend another $45 plus shipping to get the thing fixed correctly.

The deal I thought I had with AHS is that they would put something in place that was as good as, if not better, than what I had and that's not what this contractor told me he was allowed to do. This is causing worry on my part that if my refrigerator or something important goes out, although I don't expect an upgrade, am I going to get something at least as good as what I have?

I moved here from Texas to Florida and had AHS for a number of years in a home I had there. I had a few issues, but I've never run into a problem like this. Things were fixed and replaced. I'm surprised I didn't get a survey from them. When I was in Texas and I had some issues and they sent someone to repair them, they would call afterwards and ask, “How did it go?” And didn't get any of it this time. Maybe the company is getting a little big and they're not able to do what they used to do.

Replies
Home Warranty Plan
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Please regard this as a warning to anyone considering entering into a contract with this company. In January 2015 I signed up for 12 month protection plans for two properties. During the 12 on this of these contracts, service was simply terrible.

Almost without exception, this company hires contractors who are in most cases incapable of repairing anything and in many cases come and collect their service fees and never actually complete the work. This situation got so bad that I simply stopped using them for repairs and paid other people to do the work as there was no point in paying the service fee to them when I was going to have to hire someone else to complete needed repairs.

Beginning in July 2015 I began to make complaints to AHS about the quality of their service. The phone reps were always extremely friendly and I am sure they wanted to assist, but sending a second incompetent contractor was anything but helpful.

From July to November I spoke to numerous AHS reps and send numerous emails to them indicating I did not want to renew my contract. In addition I made a formal complaint with the Better Business Bureau against AHS for their business practices. In November I actually got two new contracts in the mail thanking me for renewing. At that point I sent yet another email message emphasizing that I did not want to renew.

On 28 November 2015 I received an acknowledgement from them regarding my desire to not renew. Because I did not trust them, I contacted my credit card company to make them aware of the problem and initiated a block on charges from them beginning in January 2016. Upon returning from an overseas trip in February, I noted that I had been charged premiums for both properties in January. I immediately contacted my credit card company who applied credits to my account and informed me that although they did have a block against AHS, that it was not a 100% guarantee because companies had ways of getting around the blocks.

On 20 February, I received two email messages from AHS that my accounts were past due and that I needed to immediately make a payment or they would take collection action. I responded to them that I had not renewed my contracts and had correspondence from them acknowledging that from back in November. I also initiated another complaint against them with the BBB. This morning I received the same message I had received in November 2015 acknowledging that I had noticed them of my desire to cancel. I followed that up with a phone call to them (20 minutes on hold) and was assured that both contacts had been cancelled.

Please do not enter to any contract with these people. If you do, you will end up paying other people to either complete repairs or in some cases to undo damage done by their contractors. You will spend hours on hold waiting to talk to someone who while friendly will not be able to help you. And in the end, when you have had enough and try to cancel your contract, they will harass you and threaten you. If reading this saves even one person the aggravation of dealing with AHS, it will have been worth the time I spent writing it.

Replies
Home Shield and HVAC Systems
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

SUGAR LAND, TEXAS -- We had an AC problem in April 2015. The vendor said it was the capacitor, he quickly fixed it and left. Six weeks later, we had relatives in from out of town and the AC stopped working. No one could come out, they wouldn't even call us or return our calls. Five days later, someone came out and put a new capacitor on.

This vendor informed us that the last vendor spent $0.10 on the part and he said these parts don't cost anything to begin with so he could've spent a couple dollars more and gotten one that were lasted for years and everyone in the industry knows the part will not last and no one uses them. So had the right part been put on to begin with and there were some kind of check and balances with home Shield. The consumer would not deal with this issue.

Now it's 2016 and we're in the heat of the summer. I'm in Texas. And the same AC isn't working again. The vendor comes out and we notice it's the same vendor put on the cheap part that lasted only six weeks. He was in our attic not even a minute and gave us a list of things that we needed that were out of code and it was gonna be another thousand dollars at our expense. Mind you, the problem we were having had nothing to do with anything that had to do with codes and there's never been a problem with codes ever since I lived in the home.

We protested about the vendor and his skinny practices and requested another vendor. We had to go round and round with home shopping day send someone else out. Now we had no code issues but we need a new coil and of course we were going to need freon which we understood would be at our expense. What was all said and done, this gentle and found some code updates they were completely different than the first vendor's code updates.

We found out that Home Shield only pays each AC and heating vendor a flat rate of like $220 or $240 something like that I forget the exact amount now. So if there's some major problems they still just get their flat rate so to make up the difference you pay for code updates. Hope she is aware of this and they perpetuate it and they tell you have to have codes updated.

Well now we had a few cold days of winter and a vendor comes out and finds that we need a new heater which is covered under our plan. He informs us that the vendor who fixed the AC did a ** job and took out the transition in our AC which is a really big deal and took it completely out which made our AC bill go way up because it wasn't doing the job right. On top of that they disconnected the over flow switches.

So they charged us for code updates while they deliberately put us in code violations. And did I mention the installers that put in the coil that was messed up didn't understand any English? I can guarantee you they did not have a license to be doing AC work. The heat guy said they fix the heater, they'll have to fix all the things that this AC guy messed us. Then I get a letter from Home Shield with all the things that the first guy messed up as an extra expense to us to pay for.

So somehow we had nothing to do with him messing up our OC and taking out a huge piece to the AC unit and turning off all of the switches. For now thanks, affect us to pay to have all that put back together correctly even though it was their fault they send a vendor to us that wasn't competent and a fraud. And I'm saying fraud because American Home Shield is very aware that these vendors are scamming the homeowner and they don't care. Their loyalty is to the vendor. I am skipping the Better Business Bureau and going directly to the Attorney General.

Replies
Home Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

YARDLEY, PENNSYLVANIA -- I requested repairs through my warranty company, American Home Shield. They put me in contact with the repair shop. The repair shop called to set the appointment and said they would be at my house tomorrow between 10 and 1. Perfect. That was easy. Or so I thought. They didn't show. I called to see where they were and the ignorant ** on the phone said she meant to say Saturday not Thursday. They came out Saturday and did some work to my central air. It cost me $305. The air stopped working again Saturday night.

I called the repair shop, no answer. I called the warranty company Sunday and after a 45 min wait I was told that the repair shop has 48 hours to get to my house for a re-call. Nobody called me Monday to confirm so I called the service shop. They told me Wed or Thurs for an appointment. I called the warranty company back, waited another 45 minutes to talk to someone. They told me again, the policy is 48 hours for re-calls. I said I need another repair shop because the last one can't get out until Wednesday or Thursday.

The warranty company tried to explain to me that when they say 48 hours, they mean 48 business hours. Meaning there are 8 business hours in a day and they had 48 hours of business to come back out. I almost fell off of my chair. 2 business days now means 6 real days because there are only 8 hours of business hours in a day. WTF? This woman was the supervisor and she was seriously trying to convince me that a business day isn't Monday-Friday, it's 8 hours of Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. 24 hours = 1 business day.

They said they would send another service company but I would have to pay my deductible again. Obviously that's not happening. They said based on their crazy made up "business day hours model" the repair shop was following guidelines. As I'm speaking to the supervisor, I searched reviews for the company they sent out. I asked if they took feedback from their customers before considering calling the services they provide preferred. She said "We don't listen to reviews." There were nothing but bad reviews and a 1-star rating for this company.

One review describe a man that was squared up and ready to punch a woman while holding a baby. Ironically it was the same guy who came to my house. If this company uses these types of people/criminals to do service, I think I'll pass. I have canceled my warranty. I recommend you do the same and or avoid them and do your research first.

Replies
Home warranty AC
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- We live in Phoenix, AZ and our AC went out in May. It is almost mid-July and our unit is still not working. When I called to place the work order with their customer service back in May, the girl that took my call was completely incompetent and failed to answer my questions. During a 30 minute call, I spent about 25 of those minutes on hold for her to come back with a one or two word response to my questions. She finally dispatched All Star Refrigerant to my home.

The contractor with this company called me to set up an appointment for the following day but then did not show up. When he finally arrived he indicated that my unit needed refrigerant and charged me $350 with the impression that everything would be fine. And because we were in the middle of construction on our home, he told us that we needed to get up on the roof to clean the coils once we were done.

Less than a month goes by and my unit is again not working properly. I have made several attempts to contact American Home Shield, their automated system indicated it was a ten minute hold when in reality it was 30 to 40 minutes before I eventually hung up. I eventually called the contractor that came to my home hoping that he could help me. He agreed to come to my home the following day to assess the situation. Well, you can guess it, he didn't show up.

Four days went by (Monday night at 10 pm) before I got an email from him asking if he could come on Wednesday. I agreed. He showed up on Tuesday without notice or calling anyone to advise he was coming and then called me Wednesday night (at 9 pm) to say he got on my roof and that the unit is working just fine and that was what he would be reporting to the home warranty company. Part of his report indicated that the unit was cooling the house properly, which in my opinion is difficult to report when he didn't even enter my home.

We are out $350 and nothing has been fixed. In addition, my hot water heater stopped working and they sent a technician out (charged me 75 dollars) to say that he couldn't help me because lighting it was a safety hazard. They also indicated that nothing would be covered because parts were missing from the water heater.

The hot water heater was in that condition when we bought the house (in March). He quoted me $1,100 to replace the "400 gallon water heater" for my 962 sq foot house. We ended up eating the bill for a brand new hot water heater. Overall their contractors are unprofessional and flaky. It is so good to be a new home owner and know that I am protected by my Coldwell Banker recommended home warranty.

Replies
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

NEWARK, DELAWARE -- I had a claim with American Home Shield recently. The day that the initial repair was performed, after the tech had ordered, brought and installed the needed parts, the ice maker and water filter stopped working. I have called and I've been having trouble because I am being charged a second deductible. I work about 70 hours a week at a car dealer, and I'm on call. My fiancée wasn't an authorized user at the time to call AHS, so she couldn't call to let them know about the matter after they came the first time. And I didn't call right away because I figured maybe it's like a computer that's got to reset.

Days went by and it never worked. So, I called AHS about the refrigerator that had stopped working right after they replaced the parts and the young lady whom I talked to said, "It may not be covered but the way you're saying it, you shouldn't have another deductible." Then the technician also said there wouldn't be one. Even their recording says that no matter how many trips it takes, if it's for the same thing, then I don't get charged again.

I'm not asking for them to come out and fix something else. I'm asking for something that happened to the same item and it started the day that the first repairs were made. They might have caused the other thing to break or the guy might have unplugged it while he was here to get to charge me again.

What I'm upset about is I've already paid $75, but now I've got to pay another deductible for a problem that could have been handled during the original visit had I been at home to tell the guy or notice right away. They did come out and complete the repairs in a timely manner, but it feels like they are double-dipping and it just doesn't sit right with me.

So, I'm not happy with AHS right now. I want this matter resolved and taken care of by them. I even went ahead and already registered for a second year with them, but I feel like canceling if it's going to be like this. If this had happened before they offered me the second year, I wouldn't have bought it.

Replies
Not as Reputable as Advertised
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MEMPHIS, TENNESSEE -- 1/9/17. Beginning on or about Nov. 18, 2016, I submitted a service request to AHS for work on my hot water boiler. It seemed to be malfunctioning and was not keeping the house warm. Temperatures outside were dropping to teens and single digits at night. AHS assigned a contractor to perform the service, but he was unable to return calls or schedule a time to come inspect the boiler. I cancelled the request and submitted a new one approximately 5 days later. In the mean time I purchased space heaters at a cost of $300 to keep the house from freezing up.

AHS assigned the same contractor to the job, and he, again, was unable to schedule time to fulfill the contract and he cancelled it, asking AHS to assign a different contractor. I submitted a third request for service and AHS assigned the same contractor again! I was finally able to get an AHS representative on the phone on about Nov. 28 in the retention department, as I was ready to cancel my AHS Warranty. Retention (Shanikka **) advised me that I could hire my own contractor and that they would credit me with two $125 service fees, and that one would be applied to the current boiler work.

I failed to mention that the original contractor was 25 miles away in another town. AHS coincidentally was able to locate a contractor in my town after they had already approved my own contractor. Regardless, my contractor was able to fix the boiler in short order and billed me. I was instructed by AHS to pay the contractor, and that they (AHS) would reimburse me, including the $125. On about Jan 2, 2017, I received a check from Service Master which was exactly $125 less than the amount of the bill.

I have since been in email contact with retention (Kenitra), about the deduction and subsequently canceling my warranty because of the failed promise. AHS has been unresponsive now that I am requesting cancellation. I feel that they intend to either prolong the cancellation in order to lessen the prorated refund to me, or they have no intention of canceling the warranty.

Update 1/14/17 Kenitra has since e-mailed me and told me I am not due any refund after finally canceling because I had a claim. Nowhere in my contract does it state any such thing. It does state that I would be due a prorated amount, less 1 month worth of the contract cost. I explained that it would be unwise for me to cancel if that was the case, so it should be reinstated if that was true. No response of any type since.

Replies
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

WASHINGTON, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA -- My water tank was making a noise, and I called American Home Shield to have them assign someone to come and fix it. Submitting the claim was fine. The part that was problematic was I feel like the company that they sent did something to my water tank so that the problem couldn't be fixed. It took six years for this water tank to start making noise and he's now telling me that because I had galvanized pipes in other places in my house, that there's no guarantee that this is going to last. He left and 20 minutes later, the tank started making the noise again. He came back out and just stood. The tank started making the noise before he got to the front door.

When I called back to AHS, I was told that if the second opinion came back as the first one then I would have to pay for the second call. The second guy who came actually repaired whatever it was that I think the first guy did. I'm not a plumber, but I stood in the bathroom and watched him and saw that there was something else that he tweaked and the noise is gone for good.

I've been with AHS for about eight years or longer and I've never had a problem before. But having this problem recently uncovered a lot of things because I found out that the first company sent was known for doing underhanded trick. However, when I told AHS that I never wanted this company to come to my house again, at first I was told “I don't know if we can do that.” I've got to see what happens from this point forward.

Also, the very next week, I called AHS about a problem with my garbage disposal. The person on the line said, "It is making a noise, but it's running, and that's probably something that you got in it, and so therefore you won't be covered." At that point I was like, "Okay, I'm done." I had my garbage disposal fixed by another company and then I called and put in a complaint. Lo and behold, when I made my complaint, AHS rectified the problem and reimbursed me for what I had paid for the repair and so I'm still with them.

I've been very trusting and I have people within the company told me that I should pursue the matter and make sure that I kept pushing. Finally, when I told AHS that I did not want to renew my warranty with them, that's when we really started getting into a conversation about why. Although there had been some complications, AHS rose to the occasion and corrected what I felt was done unfairly. So I was very pleased with them.

Replies
2 Russian Guys in a Prius Came to Fix the A/C
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JAMUL, CALIFORNIA -- I was a customer of American Home Shield for a couple years. Never really used their services until the AC stopped working. I called and did a service request. The next day 2 Russian guys in a Toyota Prius pulled up to fix my AC. I thought it was kind of funny how they got out and pulled out their little duffel bag of tools. When they entered my garage area I explain to them exactly what was going on and one of the guys says "oh it's a leak". I explained to him I don't think it's a leak. Waters is there because it's a hot day and there's condensation. I've seen it there before.

And it was something to do with the actual motor or Freon. He was adamant to explain that it was the leak and he wanted to fix it. After he spent 20 minutes replacing a small PVC part charge me my $75 service fee and he was on his way. AC never worked! I called back American Home Shield and they said they will send him back. After he came back a second time and twiddled his screwdrivers and scratched his head, he said it should work perfectly fine now. Of course it didn't and he was on his way and at this point I had to call American Home Shield again. Also it's 100° plus in our house and we have a new baby. With no AC it is stressing out me and my wife.

After American Home Shield realize that they could not send out a capable group that would be able to fix my AC they asked me to call a professional repair man and they would cover the costs. I went and found a very good company and very professional. When the new company came out the guy instantly went inside the AC unit and pulled out something called a solenoid. He replaced it with one in his van and also another so inside my compressor. AC worked perfect and charged me $230. Before you hire or get yourself into a contract with American Home Shield you should look at the problem and get a professional out there to fix it.

It will cost you way less than what American Home Shield will charge you per year. My yearly cost was about $500 and this guy fix my AC were $230. If I were to originally never go with American home Shield I would still have $270 in my pocket instead of home shields. Is actually horrible what they do and how they treat you. They're very nice when you sign the contract and I are complete jerks when you call them and have problems. Stay far and clear of this company!

Replies
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

FRISCO, TEXAS -- I recently filed a claim with American Home Shield for my pool. They had to replace the electronics that burned out. It was the most difficult claim I had as it took 90 days for it to get repaired due to the incompetence of the vendor. They kept getting a part and telling me the part was bad. It took three weeks each time to get the new part, and they went through three different sets of parts before they realized that it was something else. They finally brought all the connectors and detectors out, which they should have done early on.

They found out that it wasn't the transformer, but the circuit board that had gone bad. They kept telling me that they'd be out in a couple of days. It was 30 days later when they finally came out and fixed it, and then the repair they did was shoddy at best. I ended up having to remove things and remount stuff because it was so poorly done. Now, the equipment is fine. They wanted me to sign off on it, and I told them I'm not signing off until it runs for 48 hours after waiting 90 days. I also asked them to show me every single component and how each works before they leave. They weren't happy about that and said it wasn't their job.

Everything is in working order. I was a little miffed that it is not a like-for-like replacement. The system I had before was much more complex and involved, and this one is about as bare bones minimum as I can get. In fact, I contacted Home Shield a couple of times and they asked if I wanted them to get me another vendor but I didn't want toi start all over again.

Normally, the vendors would come out, find the problem, and fix it. We had a couple of air-conditioning work calls this year. The guys came out in a day or two and everything was fine. It was exactly what we would expect. The claim for the pool was ridiculous.

It's too much trouble to get a service. We have been in the sense of dropping the service because of these types of issues. Sometimes, when I call, a contractor comes out after four or five days. We don't like it but understand that as long as they're confident and can identify the problem right away, that's all we care about. That's what all we expect out of any contractor that comes out.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >