Preview Review

Next Review

Apria Healthcare Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Oxygen for a Lung Cancer Patient
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALBUQUERQUE, NEW MEXICO -- My father was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer on 5/18/2013. He needs to be on oxygen 24/7. We live in a rural part of New Mexico and have to dive 100 round trip to visit the doctor. He has 1-3 doctor's appointments a week. He uses the "D" tanks that you roll behind you. He goes through approximately 3 tanks every trip to a doctor visit. The first 2 months we were able to order tanks when we needed.

After the 2nd month they told us they were moving to a homefill system. We agreed to try the equipment out, but as we found, my father was unable to carry the tanks provided since the cancer spread to his bones. When we called to have them pick up the system, they didn't even have the records stating he was on this new system. After that every time we call Apria we do this merry-go-round dance about why he doesn't have the homefill system and they try to deter us from continuing on the tanks he has now by telling us that they can not deliver tanks for over a month.

They also are very good about double billing patient. We will pay with a credit card over the phone, but when we call they need a payment from is every time. I am totally fed up with this company. After everything my father and family has been through this is just another hurdle in his recovery. I am very disappointed.

Replies
Advertisement
Apria Doesn't Care About Your Life
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI -- Once again, I get to hear my mother who is on 24 hour oxygen screaming and crying to her Apria Healthcare representative because he, **, is incapable of helping her. A prescription was sent in by her pulmonologist LAST Friday, a representative was supposed to bring it to her tomorrow. Now they tell her the prescription does not exist, that they are NOT ABLE TO HELP HER BREATHE? You have got to be kidding me. The level of incompetence is outstanding. Clearly these representatives couldn't care less about their customers. Who, might I add, DON'T WANT TO BE CUSTOMERS.

They claim to not have the supplies, they don't know the correct address even though we moved 2 years ago, they bring the wrong supplies, they ship the wrong supplies. Aren't you the one who is supposed to be making it easier for her to breathe? Yet, she is hyperventilating from being so unbelievably stressed out for the lack of care you offer.

You say one thing, turn around, blame my mother for your mistakes, poor work ethic, and tell her to figure it out. Good job Apria, for being the worst home health care provider in America. A special shout out to ** for wasting my mother's time and upsetting her to the point of tears. Great job team!

Replies
Do Not Use Apria in Any State
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHANDLER, ARIZONA -- 1st and only order for monthly home care supplies from Apria: I provided manufacture part numbers via a fax for equipment and supplies I needed. I received 2 correct items of 7 ordered and 1 item that was not part of my order... The 5 items that I did order that were incorrect, only 1 was corrected and 1 of the 5 was unusable and very expensive, several hundred dollars. After a half dozen calls, none of the remaining incorrect items were corrected, including the very expensive item.

I contacted Apria's Corporate Office and submitted a formal complaint. Their corporate office did nothing to assist or get the items corrected. My insurance paid for everything, including the wrong items. BCBS... I complained to them also, for paying.

I cancelled all future orders and I am now ordering the items I need directly from the manufactures. I buy in bulk and everything is great. Though I am paying for everything myself, but it is well worth it, not having to deal with Apria or any other company that is paid by insurance. If you haven't used Apria before, please don't... If you are currently using them, please find a back-up so that when they mess up, you or your loved ones don't have to pay the price of wrong or missing supplies when they need them.

Replies
Unbelievably Bad
By -

Apria Healthcare. Sept 2, 2011, these folks were contacted by my doctor's office to supply me with an oxygen machine. I wouldn't even hear from these folks until Sept 12th. I don't remember exactly the gist of the conversation. Since they never followed up by coming to my place, I called a few days later. Evidently, they felt a need for an oximetry test (this is totally painless).

I explained I'd had such a test fairly recently. Maybe I didn't need the test? On Sept 16, a Friday, my doctor's office called me, explaining that I really need to just take another oximetry test. OK, no big deal, its totally painless. I woke up on Mon, Sept 19, 2011, wondering why this company still had not contacted me. I called my doctor's office. They told me I was impatient, it was only the previous Friday that I'd agreed to take another oximetry test.

What they're missing: at this point 17 days have passed since Apria Healthcare had been contacted by my doctor's office. Why did it take 17 days to get to this point, a point of nothingness? Still nothing has been done. I told my doctor's office that I would not allow any of Apria Healthcare's people in my place.

I called a friend, talked about stuff. During this call, my call waiting showed an incoming call, which I didn't take. After the call with a friend was over, I followed up on the caller who wanted to interrupt my phone call. I went through a lengthy listen-to menus thing that made no sense. I finally got through to this company, it turned out they were NOT Apria Healthcare. I had to call the number, as I'd been called by this number so many times. If that number were Apria Healthcare's, then shame on me, the fault is mine, for not picking up on Apria HealthCare's calls.

Well, it was NOT Apria Healthcare that had been calling. When you wait weeks for a company to call you, you need to answer your phone pretty often, you never know when it might be that company. Then, of course, there's that feeling of profound disrespect you get, you can't believe people would treat you that way. My doctor says I should have an oxygen machine. I really don't think I need one, but occasionally my asthma does scare me. And really, whose opinion is more important in deciding to take or not take an oxygen machine? Of course, my doctor's opinion matters most.

Anyway, on Mon 19 Sep2011, after talking to my doctor's office, then calling this recent caller, who had called so often, I realize that Apria Healthcare has made no attempt to contact me. (Except for the call on Sep 12th, on which they never followed up.)

On the Apria Healthcare website, they make a claim that they often have necessary medical equipment in a patient's home on the same day as the doctor puts in the order. When my doctor's office put in the order for an oxygen machine, it was the morning of 2 Sep 2011. Seventeen days later, these people at Apria Healthcare have done NOTHING, not even arranged for the mandatory test before I could get the machine.

For simplicity of understanding, and for me, should I go back to this, here are the dates: Apria Healthcare was first contacted by my doctor's office Friday, 2 Sep 2011. They called Sep 12, I really don't remember much about the call. A few days later, I called them, asking what they were going to do. On Monday, 19 Sep 2011, when I finally lost my patience, I did finally call Apria Healthcare and told them I wanted nothing to do with them. This was most likely a waste, as I doubt they would have EVER called, anyway. I'm fairly confident of that.

Customer "service" answered, they had no explanation for the long delay. I asked them if they had ever intended to call me. Their answer: "Of course!" I thanked her for her willingness to lie, then hung up. Yes, I was wrong. I probably should have given them a few more months to see if they would ever call.

I searched for reviews of Apria Healthcare, found some at "Yelp" but these were for Apria Healthcare out in California, in 2 different California cities. I was reading some of the most awful things -- insurance in some cases had picked up the cost, yet Apria Healthcare tried to double bill the patient. This seems to be a common complaint. There were a few other complaints of being sent wrong supplies, and even after Apria Healthcare was informed that the supplies sent were for the wrong machine, they continued to bill the patient's credit card.

Maybe I'm lucky Apria Healthcare won't help me. What price would I pay in the end? DON'T, under any circumstances, give these people a debit or credit card number if you don't need to. From the reviews I've read, they're none too honest. I don't imagine Apria Healthcare will attempt to bill me or Medicare for providing me with absolutely nothing, but I'll be watching Medicare statements closely.

I would turn them in for fraud in a heartbeat. I can probably survive the lack of an oxygen machine. Can you, or the people you care for, survive without their medical equipment/supplies? Ask yourself that question. To help you remember the name of this company, to hopefully avoid them, think of a little orange apricot. Then think "Apria", as in "Apria Healthcare".

Replies
Advertisement
Incorrect Billing Again. Billing Number Goes to Full Voicemail Box
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

PEARL CITY, HAWAII -- Incorrect bill, again. Called to correct. Billing number goes to voicemail box. Voicemail box is FULL. Incompetent billing, incompetent phone system. I am now calling my doctor to see if we could get CPAP machine from ANY other provider. I would pay more, if the bill were just accurate! Google "Apria billing complaints" and see that this bad business has been screwing customers for more than 10 years, and they are apparently getting worse, not better. But the employees tell me they get free cookies.

Replies
Lousy Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NATIONWIDE -- It's impossible to contact Apria's billing department to resolve a simple payment problem. I paid my wife's invoice on time, but it got credited to my account instead of my wife's account. Now I'm receiving continual overdue notices. They didn't respond to my written explanation, and they don't answer their computerized phone system, so it is impossible to talk to anybody who could resolve the issue. Completely worthless customer service system.

Replies
Terrible Customer Service and False Charges
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOUISVILLE, KENTUCKY -- If you need a CPAP machine, choose anyone BUT Apria. Bottom line, we were charged hundreds of dollars for things we did not authorize, had to cancel our debit card and our flexible spending cards, and are STILL fighting to get our money back. It's just not worth it. This has been a nightmare for months.

Replies
The Worst Customer Service I Have Ever Had.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PARMA, OHIO -- My insurance company changed and they assured me that the new one Blue Cross would be accepted by them. Well it's out of network. They had a claim that was in their system for 6 months and is to date not resolved. This is completely unreal and to top things off they continue to call me asking money for a claim they have not sent to the correct insurance company. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY. They are a big joke!

Replies
Advertisement
Apria Healthcare Has Incompetent Customer Service
By -

JACKSON, TENNESSEE -- On 2/9/11 I ordered CPAP supplies and gave my FSA card info. I asked if they accept FSA, they said if it did not go through, they would not ship supplies. We received the CPAP supplies and thought all was well. Call #1… "This is Apria. The card you used did not go through. Please call us with another card." I called my FSA. Apparently, unknown to me, because I am a postal worker I have to manually submit the charges. I called Apria and explained this. They said they would send a bill for me to pay and then submit to FSA. 3 days later received the bill.

Call #2: One day later received phone call, "This is Apria. The card you used did not go through… yada, yada". I called again. Explained "I just got bill yesterday." I reminded them they should not have even shipped product. I gave them my Visa info and I submitted bill to FSA. Guess what??? Call #3: Week later got call, "This is Apria. Your card would not go through". I thought they meant my Visa. I called Visa. It was put through on 2/21/11. I called Apria. They showed payment went through. I asked "why the call?" They said "it could take up to 7 days to reach system." I said "it had been 9 days!" They assured me I would not be called again.

Call #4: One week later, "This is Apria. Your card did not go through". Called them again. Why do they keep putting it through FSA card when it is already paid in full. Asked where they are located - a call center in India. Asked that they stop calling. Assured it would not happen again. Call #5: One week later. After being transferred 3 times and explaining the situation I finally got a representative. I asked if the computer showed my previous calls. "Yes ma'am". I asked if they showed my payment. "Yes ma'am".

I asked why they were still trying to bill my FSA. No answer. I asked "why I have been called 5 times." No answer. I asked "how we can stop this." She deleted the FSA card info, made a note to stop automated calls. She said that the next time we ordered supplied it should not be a problem. I agreed as there would not be a next time. They had lost a customer. If I receive one more call, the BBB is getting my next phone call! Stay away from this inept company. Pathetic!

Replies
Not Customer Friendly - More Like Incompetent
By -

I have had a CPAP since September 2010. When I need a new mask seal in the start on January 2011, I received one and paid my co-pay. Near the middle of February I received a voice mail from Apria that they had tried to collect on an outstanding balance. I called and after a 20 minute phone conversation with an Indian who had a difficult time understanding English, I finally figured out that my insurance had not paid for the seal and that I was said to still owe them the balance.

I told them I would call my insurance and confirm that they had not paid and why. This was on a Friday night and on Tuesday morning, I received another call when I was on the phone with my insurance. It was a voicemail from Apria that they had once again attempted to collect payment.

I called Apria when I got home from work and after a 30 minute wait on hold listening to terrible music I was once again talking to an Indian who was unable to understand me. When I asked to speak to his supervisor he grew belligerent and after several heated exchanges with him he transferred me to his supervisor, who promptly hung up on me after saying she couldn't hear me. I work in a call center and qc phone calls as part of my duties.

I think I would fail the customer service representative and the supervisor, and any company associated with these people. I am mailing in my payment and am switching to another CPAP supplier. I don't mind speaking to call centers in foreign countries but I do expect quality service, but this was a case of getting what you pay for. By the way the supplier I am using is located in the USA.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Apria Healthcare Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 26 ratings and
46 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Apria Healthcare
26220 Enterprise Court
Lake Forest, CA 92630
800-277-4288 (ph)
www.apria.com
Compare Health Providers