Preview Review

Next Review

Blue Cross / Blue Shield Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Refuse to pay for covered claims
By -

OKLAHOMA -- I had an accident when my grandson was sitting in my lap and jumped backwards and got me in the mouth and nose, he broke 2 teeth and knocked the rest of my front teeth lose I went to a dentist and had an exam and x-rays but after being total 12K to repair damage, I told them I was going to get a second opinion and I found a wonderful dentist. They fixed my mouth for 9K. I filed it on my dental insurance and called blue cross and blue shield to see if this was covered on my policy they said yes, that I just needed to download a claim form and send it in that it takes 30-45 days to process a claim, I said OK. That was in August 2009 and that claim still has not been paid.

I have done everything they have asked and sent copies after copies but still they have not paid the claim. I received a letter from them telling me that the dentist that fixed my mouth was not the first dentist I seen. I told them the same thing, he wanted too much to fix this damage 12K and I found another dentist that fixed everything for 9K and I paid out of my pocket. What the dental insurance did not cover which was almost 5K and I was told it was covered by my policy but now they refuse to pay my claim. I have been fighting this from August 2009 and still am.

They said they will be willing to pay the 196.00 for the exam and rays that the first dentist did but not the treatment and surgery. This is crazy! Then I went to see the surgeon about fixing my nose I was not going to get bit by that dog again so they sent in a Pre-authorization which I have a letter that says they received it on Dec. 17 2009, surgery to be done on Dec. 29th 2009. They came back on that one and said Oklahoma got it on Dec 17th but California did not get it until Dec 31, 2009, so it was denied. I lost coverage on Jan 1 2010 due to leaving the company I was working for.

Now I have a preexisting condition that no insurance company will touch and a claim they refuse to pay that was covered on my policy. I still can't breathe out of my nose which causes me serve sinus infections and my savings is gone. I paid my half of my insurances which was 360.00 per month and then had to use everything I had in savings to pay for what my dental did not cover which is what I was told my medical with blue cross and blue shield would cover, that it was a covered item on my policy accident injury. I have tried to play their games and tired of the excuses. I have been left with nothing to do but call and hire a lawyer. Thanks for nothing blue cross.

Company Response 06/13/2017:

There are other options outside the ACA that can and will give you great coverage. US Health Advisors underwritten by Freedom Life insurance.

Replies
Advertisement
Blue Cross Lies
By -

CALIFORNIA -- My wife was in rehab at calif rehab to learn how to walk, talk and think after being hospitalized for over a month. My wife was doing well, but still need close supervision when out of bed. One night she was left unattended and fell (Friday evening) took them almost 6 hours to take x-rays & get results (they say nothing broken.) The days following my wife is in pain, a lot of pain. That Sunday her doctor, ** saw her, she observed that my wife couldn't lift her legs and was in a lot of pain. The doctor said she would order stronger pain meds and some pain patches.

A day later my wife still hadn't received this pain medicine. On top of it they refused to keep ice on her, I had to purchase our own ice pack so my wife could get some relief. The minute we complained that she wasn't getting the treatment she should due the fall the director called facey and had someone there within an hour stating my wife was fit to be released from rehab. When I called this person representing my wife doctor she told me she witnessed my wife get from bed to a wheel chair and that was all that was needed for her rehab to be complete.

We asked for a doctor to look at her, they refused, we requested a 2nd opinion, they refused. We were told our 2nd opinion was doctors reviewing her records. No doctor saw my wife, or witnessed that she couldn't function in or out of bed. Then 3 pig women from blue cross got on the phone with me and told me there would be someone there every day to make sure my wife was taken care of, and that my wife would receive all the therapy she needed at home. GUESS WHAT, we got nothing. All this time my wife is in so much pain she is crying all day and night. We go to her HMO doctor, he takes x-rays and sees 3 fractures.

Now these pigs at blue cross stated there were no broken bones so she can go home, they told us my wife would just have to work through the pain. Now that they know they did wrong, are they trying to correct things? Nooooo, in fact they are making sure any service my wife should be getting takes as long as they can make it before she receives this service. Trust me you do not want to have Blue cross as your medical provider. All of this is documented, I would love to provide you with all my notes, names, phone numbers and x-rays to prove what I am saying is correct.

There is more, because we complain they are refusing any treatment any doctor puts in for her to have, they have gone so far as trying to say I am abusing my wife. I have done nothing but fight to make sure my wife gets the medical treatment she deserves and everyone will tell you that. Do I get mad? Yes. Do I get in their face? Yes. But they think they have so much power no one can touch them. Trust me they will be touched, everyone that hurt her, left her for dead will pay, god see's all and they will get what they deserve.

Replies
Refills for Pre-Authorized Drugs
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- I have had so many problems getting refills for my drug that has to be pre-authorized. Even when the drug is pre-authorized I have to call to get it sent. They seem to make excuses every time I ask for a refill not to get it to me on time. I suppose they have to cut costs somehow to enable the CEO to get $60 million a year. I have no option but to use Blue Cross so I can't even do anything about it. Blue Cross blames Express Scripts and vice versa when anything goes wrong.

Replies
Billing error
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ARIZONA -- My husband set up our payment as an automatic monthly payment. We got a notice in the mail on the 25th dated 22nd stating we had until the 29th to pay for coverage (27th and 28th were weekend)?!? When I called customer service the recording stated that we were paid up by auto payment and owed no money. I stayed on for the operator and she said we owed that month because a mistake was made on setting up the auto payment. We were set up to fail! We ended up sending the check overnight/certified. Don't trust these guys!!!

Replies
Advertisement
High Deductible Out of Pocket
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI -- Beware of Blue Cross & Shield hidden charges high deductible, so outrageous. It's ridiculous just go to see $100, out of pocket. Then Blue Cross will say "that's not in the coverage plan. You will have to pay extra." What is in Blue Cross plan - to take your money, don't pay the medical coverage, leave you with big expenses that will take you forever to pay the medcial expenses off. Some insurance Blue Cross is leaving you with medical expenses so Blue Cross can save money. All Blue Cross is is a bunch of money hungry vultures who will clean out your savings.

Replies
Blue Cross Only Pays 20% of Medical Bills
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI -- I went to the doctors 3 times. I paid my $40 co-pay 3 times in a row. I get one bill for $158. Another bill for $105, $263 that blue cross did not pay, which blue cross did bother to tell me that this was not covered. Blue cross is only paying 20% of your medical bills. Then blue cross raise my insurance of me 2 times in a row. Blue cross CEOs salaries alone $200000 a year. Blue cross will not tell you about deductible and the co-pay just go to the doctors' offices.

If your doctor's bill is $300, Blue cross will only pay $50. Then you got to pay $250 out of your own pocket. Why? Blue cross only pays a little bit of money, then you got to pay the rest out of pocket. Blue cross is nothing but a bunch of money hungry vultures draw your life savings.

Replies
Worst Customer Service.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- They have the worst customer service. Ask you for all details for 10 minutes and transfer to another department. There, you will repeat the details for 10 minutes and then again transfer. How frustrating. With the changing advanced technologies, these type of services don't help. A smarter system with smart people is needed. Worse.

Replies
Outstanding Customer Service
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

ALLEN, TEXAS -- I lost my job and my insurance ends in 3 business days. I was having a difficult time find doctors that were available and accepted my plan so I called Blue Cross to get a list of doctors to call. The lady assisting me went above and beyond! She placed me on hold and called doctors for me and gave me a list of the ones that could see me before my insurance ended! I wasn't expecting that and I wish I had her name because Blue Cross is lucky to have an employee like her representing them!

Replies
Advertisement
The Worst, Most Incompetent Customer Service Imaginable
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GRAND RAPIDS, MICHIGAN -- My employer assigned my family to blue cross/blue shield recently after being with another provider for 15 years. We had dropped blue cross/blue shield 15 years ago because of extreme incompetence in their billing and customer service. I had suffered a back injury that required a lot of procedures and rehab 15 years ago. Blue cross/blue shield couldn't process the bills that my approved doctors submitted and failed to enter the right billing codes, etc..., then proceeded to send the bills directly for me. Then came the late notices.

Meanwhile, myself and the doctors worked to get it straightened out and the next thing that came in the mail were notices from Blue Cross/blue shield indicating the bills would be forwarded to a collection agency. That did it for me. The stress of dealing with this POS company was a negative factor in my healing process. It took about a year to straighten things out with these idiots, the whole time it took for my back to heal. I think I would have healed faster if it wasn't for BCBS. Now, though no choice of my own, we are assigned again by my employer to this so-called health care provider.

Earlier today I went to their website to register my new health card and set up an online account. Their site would not allow me to complete the registration so I called their toll free number. That's when the flashbacks of 15 years ago began. After going through their pathetically long menu, waiting and waiting and waiting, I talked to somebody for a few minutes, mostly answering inept questions and waiting, to find out she couldn't do anything. So she sends me off to somebody else. Same thing. After the 4th person, I finally got registered. The main problem was their system had a totally different Id # than what is on my Id card. Figure that out.

I then had a few questions about my coverage. She couldn't find the answers and transferred me to someone else. Same thing, so she gave me a phone number to call. I called it and after talking to 2 more people I was transferred back to the same people who gave me the phone #. The next person couldn't help me and suggested the phone # I had already been given and tried. I told her that phone number was not helpful. She then transferred me to somebody else. Same problem.

I hung up, called customer service again and was finally talking to somebody, after much difficulty, who dug in a little deeper and found the simple answers I needed about the copay required for x-rays and MRI's, lab work, and surgical procedures. Nothing difficult. After all, they are a "healthcare" company, aren't they? Hardly. They're no more than a profiteering company with the word healthcare in their name. They are an incompetent organization that should be involved in something else than healthcare.

Replies
How Messed Up the Entire Medical/drug Industry Is in General and How Stupid Obamacare Is
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TRAVERSE CITY, MICHIGAN -- Basically my family is pretty healthy and we've always seen naturopathic doctors or treated things ourselves. Which means that we take responsibility for our own health and wellness and take care of ourselves. But then Obamacare came on the scene and we decided to go with health insurance. So because insurance doesn't cover our usual naturopathic doctor, we had to get new doctors and we picked the best ones we could find in our area covered by our insurance. And I suppose for the industry they are doing a good job and being thorough. But every time I interact with drug industry-trained doctors I am frustrated by their limitations.

They don't seem to understand health or eating right, or herbal supplements or anything that I regularly turn to for good health. What's more, if I pick up any drugs they suggest and read their labels, I cannot bring myself to take them because the possibility of negative side effects (worse than anything I am suffering) are huge. Basically with how expensive insurance still is and how little use I have for it (insurance doesn't cover useful things like nutrition supplements) and how much I still have to pay before the deductible gets paid off - it just doesn't make any sense financially.

If anything catastrophic happened the hospitals in our area let us get on a payment plan with 0% interest. Insurance might be useful if they covered the naturopathic doctor and the nutritional supplements recommended by the ND. A single payer instead of regular insurance would be even better (like the Green Party suggests - the same plan as our good senators and their families get). I have had so many bad reactions to pharmaceutical drugs that I don't dare take them, and herbal supplements work so well for me, that it just doesn't make any sense at all to have insurance or see a regular doctor.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Blue Cross / Blue Shield Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 42 ratings and
91 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Blue Cross / Blue Shield
225 N. Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60601
312-297-6149 (ph)
312-297-6609 (fax)
www.bluecross.com
Product/Services
Compare Health Insurance Companies