Preview Review

Next Review

Bill Me Later Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Closing My Paypal Account Because Of Bill Me Later Tactics
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Bill Me Later was created by Paypal to make money. Obviously, that's the point of being in business. But it's a free service. How do they make money on it? Two ways, late fees and interest. When they designed this "totally free" Bill Me Later program, they designed it not just to maximize the number of people who use it, but to maximize the number of people who are charged late fees and interest.

Paypal's methods when "asking" you to sign up for their Bill Me Later (BML) program are absolutely ridiculous and underhanded. Since they began offering BML, it seems like I've had to be very careful not to ACCIDENTALLY sign up for the service. Every time I use Paypal now they will sneak one or two opportunities to join and use BML into my payment process, which wouldn't be a problem, but they really and truly try to be sly about it.

The BML language will be small and easy to miss, the yes box will be highlighted, the check box will already be checked and you will have to un-check it, and so on. BML is really a line of credit, and any offer to open a line of credit should be very clear and should not be slid in their when I'm simply trying to purchase an item with money that I have.

Apparently their slyness worked on me, because a couple of weeks ago I accidentally agreed to sign up for BML! Of course my own negligence is largely to blame for the mistake, so I was upset with myself as well, and I decided that I would continue using Paypal, but avoid using BML. Well today I made a purchase on eBay using Paypal, and I accidentally made the payment using the BML service! I did not know until the purchase was done that I was using BML, and I certainly never knowingly chose to make BML my preferred payment method.

So I went to the Paypal website with the intention of paying off the balance. When I sign in, my account overview immediately comes up showing the purchase I had just made, and under "payment status" it simply says "completed". At this point I was confused because I expected it to say "bill me later" or something like that, reminding me that I still have to pay for it, but it was really made to look like I had already paid for it.

When I clicked on the "details" link for the transaction, it was a full page and a half that said nothing about BML until the very bottom of the page. I clicked on a very small link there at the bottom of the page that said "schedule a payment", which took me to the BML payment page. Finally, I can pay for this stuff and be done with it!!! But no... it says there is no payment due, and I cannot make a payment until a payment is due!!!

Paypal says that BML is a free service, and there is no way they would try to push a program on customers if they were not going to make any money off of it. It is not free. Read some of the other reviews on here. They want you to use it, they want you to be late on paying it back, and they really want to charge you as many fees and as much interest as possible!!!

I know some people think it's OK for businesses to do anything they want to make a buck as long as its technically legal, but when a business tries to trick me into using and defaulting on a line of credit just to squeeze some late fees and interest out of me after I have been a loyal customer, then I will do business with them no more.

Replies
Advertisement
Fraudulent & Deceptive
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I started using BML in October 2012. My first charge was for Toys R US and was a deferred payment until May of 2013. During that time, I used BML for some smaller charges. I made another deferred payment charge with Toys R Us in January 2013 and one more from Ebay in May 2013. I noticed my balance of current charges wasn't getting paid off so I went back and looked over all of my statements.

Well, I noticed that my DEFERRED payments were being paid on every month! The first deferred payment (not due until May 2013) was paid OFF before I received my March/April Statement. My second deferred payment (not due until August 2013) was paid OFF before May. My third deferred payment (not due until December) is also having payments applied. I emailed them and received a response that basically told me I had to call. They told me they were applying my payments according to some credit card act, blah, blah, blah. They also said that payments will start being made on a deferred payment if it is within 1-2 billing cycles of when the payment is due.

I called this morning and the gentleman I spoke with started rambling on about my payments. He told me I had to call and allocate how I wanted my payments made. WHAT?! Apparently, a DEFERRED payment takes on another meaning with BML. I told him I wanted the money that was applied to my December payment removed and applied to my current charges.

I also told him how upset I was that I had to CALL before making a payment to make sure the money gets applied to my current charges. He told me I didn't have to do that since my deferred payment wasn't due until December and it didn't fall into the "1-2 billing cycle rule" and that all payments would be applied to current charges. I had to reiterate that the purpose of my call was because that payments ARE being applied to the December deferred payment so that "1-2 billing cycle" rule doesn't apply here. He told me he would have to call me back.

I feel this company is very deceptive. If a payment is to be deferred, then payments being made should be applied to current charges and not deferred charges until the due date that is listed. I had been making extra payments so I could pay off my current charges. I am very frustrated and irritated as I now have to make EXTRA payments to pay off current charges that should have already been paid off but were instead applied to deferred payments. I will never use this company again.

Replies
Unexplained Late Fees
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- I purchased an elliptical trainer with Bill Me Later and have taken more than 6 months of interest free months of payment that are offered. I am absolutely OK with paying interest. My issue is with the payment options with Bill Me Later. My payments are due on the 9th of every month and I have set-up a bill pay with my bank so that the payments are made on the 5th of every month. Last month, I just happened to look at my bill and noticed that for the last 3 months I have been charged a late fee.

I called the representative from Bill Me Later to inquire about these late fees and basically the representative gave me a long-winded excuse about my personal bank's policies and how these charges couldn't be avoided. The thing is that the deductions are taken out on the 5th from Bill Me Later, but my statements from Bill Me Later state that deductions take place on the 12th of the month. They are complete and utter liars. Period. I was excited to take advantage of this option because I wanted to purchase an item that I couldn't really afford and the 6 months of interest free payment sounded like a good option.

In the end, I would not use this company in the future. I have wasted a lot of time on the phone with rude, unhelpful representatives. And the lesson learned is that (1) I shouldn't buy things that I cannot afford and (2) never do business with Bill Me Later again because they do take advantage of people.

Replies
Blocked From Using Bill Me Later - Pay Pal Account
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK -- As a Member of PayPal for many, many Years, I opened up a Bill Me Later PayPal account, just 4 weeks ago. I Bought a few things from Ebay using Bill Me Later, had a small Balance of 150.00, decided to make 3 payments earlier thn waiting a month when it was due. Now er I have a Balance of only 30.00, which is not due till next month. I made a purchase on Ebay yesterday for 18.00, and was trying to pay for it with Bill Me Later, and it would not be accepted. Kept saying error in RED. So, I paid for it with my PayPal account.

Now I call Bill Me later, and discuss this problem, asking them why I am blocked out from my own account, and told them that I just opened up this account which they personally verified and approved since I have been an outstanding PayPal Customer forever, and they could not answer me in one sentence. I got the runaround, and NO one answered why this happened. I Went from one person to another all Day?

Now, Having Excellent Credit my entire life, having Paid my Bill Me Later Balance within 3 weeks of opening this account, Having an online Business which I use PayPal everyday for over a Decade to receive payments, etc. Finally when no one had an answer, I was told that I was chosen as a Random person fraud check and that the only way to unlock/unblock my account was to show proof of who I am for their Fraud whatever? I said "Did anyone make an attempt to use my account?" Their answer "NO". I said "I only used it 4 times, and you accepted my early payments with no problems", They said: "Correct we Agree".

I was then Told to fax: my Driver's License, and a Bill from my Home address to prove who I was, in order to unlock this Bill Me Later account. I faxed the 2 items over, called back today to see if they received it. I Was told, "Well, we don't know if we received it." Then Told when they do receive it, whenever they will look at my fax and get back to me in possibly 3 days. I spoke to PayPal, Bill me Later, and a Total of 15 people, and was treated with nasty and disrespectful people, still doubting WHO I was, still after explaining that I was chosen randomly for their fraud experiment.

I personally think they had a Glitch, and screwed up!!! I will wait for their email, or call, I will pay my Balance of 30.00 in full, which isn't even due for another 3 weeks, I will close this account, and pursue this legally. How Dare they treat me like a ** Criminal. I've had outstanding Credit my entire life, and have never been treated with such disrespect. I remained pleasant talking to each person, I even had a Lady from PayPal, try to intervene with Bill Me Later, and they talked ill about her too Saying she shouldn't get involved, this isn't her business even though we had a case number from PayPal, and Bill Me Later.

I answered Multiple choice questions, to 3 people, and I answered them all correctly. I gave the last 4 digits of my SS #, My address, my Everything on file, and still I was being badgered. I have just read all the negatives on Bill Me Later, and I can tell you, if this is the way people have been treated, then I believe them all. The last Lady said to me from Bill Me Later, "Well look at it this way Honey, suppose someone was really trying to get into your account, Wouldn't you want us to treat them the same Way?" WTF?? Are they Joking? They just approved me a month ago, and then they pull this BS.

Replies
Advertisement
Not Bill Me Later Run Through Your Checking Anyway
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have had satisfactory use of Bill Me Later in past. My balance was paid in full. Attempted to use at Christmas and payment was run through my bank account instead. Attempted again and once again ran straight through my account. I called customer help and my only advice was to send package back and attempt to again use Bill Me Later. I don't think so. If I wanted to run the payment through my account I would have done so and not chose the Bill Me Later tab. Closing my account with Bill Me Later because it's just not worth the mix up.

Replies
Wins A Prize For The Most Misinformed And Misstated Information
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I complained to Bill Me Later (r) that I always pay my bills on time, and that I didn't know how my payment on PayPal got routed in this direction. To my knowledge, I never gave my permission and never received a statement. When asked about what my balance and specific charges were, Josh couldn't give me the source of two of the charges. He said they were 6 months before I found out they had occurred; instead I also owed on something I paid by a previous credit card.

When asked why I wasn't charged interest, he said it must be because of a promotion and that I had until April 2014 before my charges would occur. All this information was wrong; I canceled my Bill Me Later, which had to be done on the phone. I think this company for should be investigated for misleading the public.

Replies
Beware of Clicking on the Wrong Circle and Using Bill Me Later
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

ATLANTA, MAINE -- I have used PayPal for years. It was a good and fast way to pay for products in a safe manner. But PayPal began their Bill Me Later program and, at first, it appeared to have some usefulness. As time went on, they began to change their entry choice field to make Bill Me Later to be the default circle choice and by doing so get the consumer get in debt when the consumer's intent was to pay directly through the credit card. Once you inadvertently don't change the default, you end up in their quagmire of weird payment times, amounts, and you have to call to get it corrected... if you can.

The default change I believe is a subtle variation on the "bait and switch" and may be illegal... but this company probably has very good lawyers to just get by the intent of fair practice. If they are honest, they should clearly make the default PayPal and the other choice, Bill Me Later, as a condition to be chosen specifically by the user.

Replies
Paid Account in Full then I received a "new" statement saying I owe $100. REALLY?!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- I wanted to pay this account off in full. I called Bill Me Later to verify that my online statement balance was the correct balance on my account so that I could pay it in full. The assistant assured me that was my correct payoff. The assistant then took my payoff. The next day that payment cleared my bank. I go look at the statement to be sure it was at a 0 balance and it was. Days later I received a new statement stating I owe them another $100.00. Really?! Bill Me Later!! Never again! I do not recommend them to anyone. Please take this advice.

I am an honest person and believe in doing the right thing. At the payoff time I would have paid that balance if I owed it. I do not feel I owe them any more money. I also contacted the merchant and the merchant also assured me I did not owe them any more money. They have not heard the last from me.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Pathetic, Unreliable, Brain-Dead Service EVER!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TIMONIUM, MARYLAND -- I regret applying and getting approved for a Bill Me Later account. I have been using PayPal for years; transferring, paying and receiving money, and making purchases every month with no problem at all. My transactions were detailed and in plain sight, easy to read, etc. PayPal kept showing this advertisement asking me to apply for Bill Me Later. I finally did. It has been a nightmare since then. The moment I choose to use Bill Me Later, the money comes out of my PayPal account and my Bill Me Later account...both, then credited back to my PayPal account later, on the same transaction. It is too crooked, too misleading and completely unnecessary.

When dealing with the service on the phone, they have been nothing but total idiots; obviously with no skills at all. They need to be shut down. Their business is crooked to say the least. I was given a measly $1250 limit when opening the account last month. I used nearly $1100 and paid it off right away. The spending/usage experience with extremely unpleasant from the beginning. This company is a SCAM!

Replies
BML Messed Up Bill and Difficult to Resolve
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

TIMONIUM, MARYLAND -- I made a deferred purchase in May 2013 and then made various charges each month. For several months, all was fine. I paid off all the new purchases and a little towards the deferred purchases. Then suddenly months before the deferred purchase promo ended I am being charged interest and the separate promo value seems to have disappeared. I called once and got the interest charges removed. They had mistakenly used my last payment towards my deferred purchase first rather than my new charges (despite doing fine for several months).

The customer service was frustrating, the lady went on and on before she understood the problem. But even though the interest was removed, the website still had my promotional value tied up with my new charges. I called again and the customer service person was very nice, but after several days the problem still had not been fixed. I called again and again got a customer service person that goes on and on without understanding the problem.

I finally spoke to a manager who was helpful and HOPEFULLY the problem will finally be resolved. This is the only time I have had a problem with a credit card and from other reviews this seems to happen a lot with BML. Either the company is trying to defraud customers or they are incompetent. I strongly advise people to not use BML.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bill Me Later Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 30 ratings and
80 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bill Me Later
9690 Deereco Rd., 7th Fl.
Timonium, MD 21093
443-921-1900 (ph)
443-921-1985 (fax)
www.billmelater.com
Compare Financial Services