Preview Review

Next Review

Bill Me Later Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Blocked From Using Bill Me Later - Pay Pal Account
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK -- As a Member of PayPal for many, many Years, I opened up a Bill Me Later PayPal account, just 4 weeks ago. I Bought a few things from Ebay using Bill Me Later, had a small Balance of 150.00, decided to make 3 payments earlier thn waiting a month when it was due. Now er I have a Balance of only 30.00, which is not due till next month. I made a purchase on Ebay yesterday for 18.00, and was trying to pay for it with Bill Me Later, and it would not be accepted. Kept saying error in RED. So, I paid for it with my PayPal account.

Now I call Bill Me later, and discuss this problem, asking them why I am blocked out from my own account, and told them that I just opened up this account which they personally verified and approved since I have been an outstanding PayPal Customer forever, and they could not answer me in one sentence. I got the runaround, and NO one answered why this happened. I Went from one person to another all Day?

Now, Having Excellent Credit my entire life, having Paid my Bill Me Later Balance within 3 weeks of opening this account, Having an online Business which I use PayPal everyday for over a Decade to receive payments, etc. Finally when no one had an answer, I was told that I was chosen as a Random person fraud check and that the only way to unlock/unblock my account was to show proof of who I am for their Fraud whatever? I said "Did anyone make an attempt to use my account?" Their answer "NO". I said "I only used it 4 times, and you accepted my early payments with no problems", They said: "Correct we Agree".

I was then Told to fax: my Driver's License, and a Bill from my Home address to prove who I was, in order to unlock this Bill Me Later account. I faxed the 2 items over, called back today to see if they received it. I Was told, "Well, we don't know if we received it." Then Told when they do receive it, whenever they will look at my fax and get back to me in possibly 3 days. I spoke to PayPal, Bill me Later, and a Total of 15 people, and was treated with nasty and disrespectful people, still doubting WHO I was, still after explaining that I was chosen randomly for their fraud experiment.

I personally think they had a Glitch, and screwed up!!! I will wait for their email, or call, I will pay my Balance of 30.00 in full, which isn't even due for another 3 weeks, I will close this account, and pursue this legally. How Dare they treat me like a ** Criminal. I've had outstanding Credit my entire life, and have never been treated with such disrespect. I remained pleasant talking to each person, I even had a Lady from PayPal, try to intervene with Bill Me Later, and they talked ill about her too Saying she shouldn't get involved, this isn't her business even though we had a case number from PayPal, and Bill Me Later.

I answered Multiple choice questions, to 3 people, and I answered them all correctly. I gave the last 4 digits of my SS #, My address, my Everything on file, and still I was being badgered. I have just read all the negatives on Bill Me Later, and I can tell you, if this is the way people have been treated, then I believe them all. The last Lady said to me from Bill Me Later, "Well look at it this way Honey, suppose someone was really trying to get into your account, Wouldn't you want us to treat them the same Way?" WTF?? Are they Joking? They just approved me a month ago, and then they pull this BS.

Replies
Advertisement
Not Bill Me Later Run Through Your Checking Anyway
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have had satisfactory use of Bill Me Later in past. My balance was paid in full. Attempted to use at Christmas and payment was run through my bank account instead. Attempted again and once again ran straight through my account. I called customer help and my only advice was to send package back and attempt to again use Bill Me Later. I don't think so. If I wanted to run the payment through my account I would have done so and not chose the Bill Me Later tab. Closing my account with Bill Me Later because it's just not worth the mix up.

Replies
Wins A Prize For The Most Misinformed And Misstated Information
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I complained to Bill Me Later (r) that I always pay my bills on time, and that I didn't know how my payment on PayPal got routed in this direction. To my knowledge, I never gave my permission and never received a statement. When asked about what my balance and specific charges were, Josh couldn't give me the source of two of the charges. He said they were 6 months before I found out they had occurred; instead I also owed on something I paid by a previous credit card.

When asked why I wasn't charged interest, he said it must be because of a promotion and that I had until April 2014 before my charges would occur. All this information was wrong; I canceled my Bill Me Later, which had to be done on the phone. I think this company for should be investigated for misleading the public.

Replies
Closing My Paypal Account Because Of Bill Me Later Tactics
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Bill Me Later was created by Paypal to make money. Obviously, that's the point of being in business. But it's a free service. How do they make money on it? Two ways, late fees and interest. When they designed this "totally free" Bill Me Later program, they designed it not just to maximize the number of people who use it, but to maximize the number of people who are charged late fees and interest.

Paypal's methods when "asking" you to sign up for their Bill Me Later (BML) program are absolutely ridiculous and underhanded. Since they began offering BML, it seems like I've had to be very careful not to ACCIDENTALLY sign up for the service. Every time I use Paypal now they will sneak one or two opportunities to join and use BML into my payment process, which wouldn't be a problem, but they really and truly try to be sly about it.

The BML language will be small and easy to miss, the yes box will be highlighted, the check box will already be checked and you will have to un-check it, and so on. BML is really a line of credit, and any offer to open a line of credit should be very clear and should not be slid in their when I'm simply trying to purchase an item with money that I have.

Apparently their slyness worked on me, because a couple of weeks ago I accidentally agreed to sign up for BML! Of course my own negligence is largely to blame for the mistake, so I was upset with myself as well, and I decided that I would continue using Paypal, but avoid using BML. Well today I made a purchase on eBay using Paypal, and I accidentally made the payment using the BML service! I did not know until the purchase was done that I was using BML, and I certainly never knowingly chose to make BML my preferred payment method.

So I went to the Paypal website with the intention of paying off the balance. When I sign in, my account overview immediately comes up showing the purchase I had just made, and under "payment status" it simply says "completed". At this point I was confused because I expected it to say "bill me later" or something like that, reminding me that I still have to pay for it, but it was really made to look like I had already paid for it.

When I clicked on the "details" link for the transaction, it was a full page and a half that said nothing about BML until the very bottom of the page. I clicked on a very small link there at the bottom of the page that said "schedule a payment", which took me to the BML payment page. Finally, I can pay for this stuff and be done with it!!! But no... it says there is no payment due, and I cannot make a payment until a payment is due!!!

Paypal says that BML is a free service, and there is no way they would try to push a program on customers if they were not going to make any money off of it. It is not free. Read some of the other reviews on here. They want you to use it, they want you to be late on paying it back, and they really want to charge you as many fees and as much interest as possible!!!

I know some people think it's OK for businesses to do anything they want to make a buck as long as its technically legal, but when a business tries to trick me into using and defaulting on a line of credit just to squeeze some late fees and interest out of me after I have been a loyal customer, then I will do business with them no more.

Replies
Advertisement
Bill Me Later = Bill Me Forever
By -

SPRINGFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS -- Bill Me Later (i.e. I4 or "Idiots 4ever") may be one of the worst-run organizations since the Soviet bloc collapsed. Here is my saga with this Citi, Chase, CIT, I4, etc.-backed loanshark. I bought a GPS from OfficeMax on 11/26/2006 and opened up a Bill Me Later account at that point. Product was $229.99, $241.99 after MA tax/shipping. I returned the item and OfficeMax (a great company) immediately issued a credit for the full amount ($241.99), including shipping and tax. Outstanding service on their part.

OfficeMax told Bill Me Later about this credit to my account, but Bill Me Later decided to start adding late fees. This is despite the fact that the only product I ever bought on their service was returned for a full refund. Yet the Bill Me Later braintrust could not resist billing me late payments and interest ON late payments and interest. I called and asked what purchase I was late on paying and they went "Well, Sir, I's thinks this a problem." Could we speak some regular English, please? Anyhow, a rep took off everything and brought it down to a $0 balance (as required by the credit agreement).

So I got another bill with ANOTHER late fee and interest after this was supposedly fixed. I called a rep and was told that the notes showed I was correct and this should be fixed. So the rep again took off the charges and offered to close the account. Yet ANOTHER bill arrived with MORE charges. I finally asked to talk to a supervisor who again took off all the charges. She said that this would be the end of the matter and apologized. SO, now, over a year later, Bill Me Later has once again aced its SATs by putting me into collection with Penncro and Associates. I almost laughed when I called Penncro and found out that Bill Me Later was after me for $120 or so.

The Penncro person asked for proof of the return and I had OfficeMax fax it right over (they seem to be the only ones who cared about the customer). The Penncro rep also suggested that I deal with Bill Me Later directly. Fair enough. So I called them up and Bill Me Later's work-release staff told me that there was nothing they could do because the account was charged-off. I talked to a supervisor who said the same thing.

She didn't know where her boss was at the moment, so I couldn't go any higher. I said "So you initiated the collection but you can't stop it?" They said yes and agreed that I didn't owe anything. But they didn't offer to contact Penncro and said that they had no access to my account. They told me to contact Penncro again... just circles and runarounds. I checked my credit report and there is an inquiry from Penncro a few months ago. Great. Now the remedial reading staff at Bill Me Later is going to affect my credit score too.

These Bill Me Later fools wouldn't talk to me about my account? Yet they send a collection agency after me without being able to review my account? They had a collection agency call me at home, so I called up their entire Executive Board at their private office lines and left voicemails. If you call me at home, expect the same in return if you are in the wrong. Oh, the internet is a wonderful thing. I have an attorney who says that I'm on rock-solid ground. I have documentation that cannot be disputed. I will do whatever it takes to get this straightened out and to ensure that everyone knows how Bill Me Later has misbehaved.

It's always good to know the producer of a major network news magazine. Bill Me Later promised to fix my account three times and all three were lies. Now they are trying to collect based on an order that was returned. The merchant is on my side! I gave the Nobel laureates at Bill Me Later so many chances to resolve this... they only have themselves to blame. I have spent so much time on this that could be spent on other things. Now I see that I may be paying higher interest rates due to their credit inquiry.

How do you spell L-I-A-B-L-E? Maybe I come across as harsh, but what did I do wrong? I ordered something, followed the return policy (which the merchant gladly honored), got a credit, and moved on with my life. Maybe I should have sent a babysitter over there to keep an eye on my account. You can't mess with people's credit and expect them to take it sitting down. They should send me a $500 for the trouble.

If you think that this is as big of a scam as I do, give their CFO a call at (443) 921-1900 x. 1922

Replies
What a Hassle to Deal With
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MORENO VALLEY, CALIFORNIA -- Very inconvenient to change names and have customers get stuck with all the hassle of opening and creating new accounts through PayPal credit. So many technical problems when switching to PayPal credit. This company is really wrongly managed and does not think about customers first.

Replies
Should Be "Screw Me Later"
By -

BEWARE! Bill Me Later manipulates your PAYMENT DUE DATE so it does not correspond to the date your 6 MONTHS NO PAYMENTS offer expires! When I open my bills, I look to see when the payment is due. Right? I'll bet you do that too, because woe to the poor schmuck these days who pays their bills late. So my final payment to SCREW ME LATER - I mean Bill Me Later is due on March 8th. But wait! Elsewhere, I find the offer expires March 1st. So even if you make your final payment on time, you'll get socked with the interest payments that accrued on the entire balance! Is this a coincidence? Of course not.

Bill Me Later relies on an inattentive consumer to TRICK them into paying the heinous 19+%. They want you to overlook their underhanded scheme so you're trapped. AND THEN THEY further trap you by making it difficult to make a payment quickly to avoid paying the interest. Can you make a credit card payment? YOU CANNOT. Can you make a PayPal payment? After all, this company is owned by PayPal! YOU CANNOT. The only way you can make an emergency payment is by ACH debit to your bank account - and I'll bet they manage to delay that payment until your "no Payments" offer expires.

I always respected and trusted PayPal before this - and I've funded thousands of dollars in transactions, both buying and sell via PayPal - but they jumped the shark with this scheme. PayPal will rue the day they started this devious business. Oh, I almost forgot: their "customer service" personnel are trained to mindlessly repeat "Your statement is printed correctly - it's up to you to blah blah blah.." In essence they are saying "You got screwed, but we have our asses covered, so we're not going to help you."

Replies
Not Honest At All!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OAK PARK, ILLINOIS -- I had my Bill Me Later account for about 7 months and already I don't like their services. Something told me not to make another purchase with them. When I first opened my account there was an issue with them honoring my 6 months no payment and it clearly states so when you log in to PayPal. So, I brushed it off, then recently I moved into a new apartment last month. So, I need a couch and a rug. I paid them the money I owed them and I decided to use it again.

I purchased my couch and rug through Wayfair. I wanted to do it under 6 months no payment & no interest which I thought I done because on PayPal it states "Do you want to put this purchase on 6 months no interest and payment and it applies to a purchase over 250?", so I click yes. So this was a easy way for me to purchase furniture because I was short on cash and just moved.

I thought it was OK, but when I went to check my account it said I had a payment due from that purchase. I thought maybe it was a mistake, so I called Bill Me Later for them to resolve the issue. They said, "OK we will submit it to be reviewed". So then I received an email that said my review has been processed, look for changes within 24-48 hours, if any. So then I checked it again still no change. I then called them, gave them my account info and everything... The girl says, "Well we contacted Wayfair and they said you had to make a purchase of 500 dollars." (My purchase was 427.)

This was unfair because I was under the impression that I was under the promotion for purchases over 250 not 500. Wayfair never said I had to purchase 500 dollars worth in furniture. I'm so angry because I want to pay in 6 months and that was misleading. I will never use them again because they don't know what they are doing. I wouldn't recommend anyone to use them.

Replies
Advertisement
Bill Me Later uses bait and switch as an unethical service
By -

ONLINE, CALIFORNIA -- Hello. In April of 2011 I purchased a $109 item for my pool on eBay. I used my PayPal account. Fast forward to Jan. of 2012 and I get a call from Bill Me Later on a Friday threatening to send me to collections. I Google Bill Me Later and find out they are owned by PayPal. I log into my PayPal account and after an hour or so find no help, other than complaints about Bill Me Later. Next I try to set up an account on Bill Me Later, this never works. Finally on Monday I talk to a human being at PayPal without help and then Bill Me Later. She tells me I need to set up an account with Bill Me Later.

I ask her "How can I have an outstanding bill from Bill Me Later and NOT have an account with them?" She says I just need to activate it. At this point I have wasted 3-4 hours dealing with this since the phone call 4 days ago. I finally get to see my account status and it shows my purchase of $109 and then my current balance of $184! The $75 (80% interest!) is all due to extra fees and interest due to non-payment since Nov of 2011. This is the first time I get any information from anyone about this - 9 months after the purchase!!! This business is a bait and switch via eBay and PayPal.

The transparency is utterly lacking and they are using the power of eBay & PayPal to abuse their customers. I have been purchasing items regularly on the internet since the 90's and this is the worst case I have come across to date! I use mint.com to track 99% of my purchases and this business is obviously abusing the "bill me later" concept to add on massive interest after the purchase of a product.

Replies
Bill Me Later Late Fees
By -

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- Complaint Description: In August of 2009, I made the required payment to my account then at the end of August 2009, I set up automatic payments through my bank, which made my next payment. It was received a couple days early so the computer did not include it for the next month, September. I made my October payment at the end of September, November payment at end of October, Etc... Since it was done automatically I was unaware of the late fees that were being attached. I called on December 29 2009 and was told to send a letter in to their fax, 443-921-1996. I did so and received no reply. Called again on 1/16/10, was told same thing. Faxed again, no reply.

1/26/10 spoke with **, refunded 1 late fee, refused rest, I asked for a manager, was told "no" and hung up on. Called back and was transferred to **, Supervisor in collections. He made another refund of 1 late payment, but refused rest, and would not let me speak to his supervisor. Called back again and left message for Supervisor to call me. ** called me back and informed me there was nothing she could do. Refused to give me next supervisors number but said she was ** and I left message for her to call and she never did. ** acknowledged fax was received. I sent one on 12/29/09, 1/16/10, 1/26/10.

Called again on 2/2/10 and left message for Supervisor ** to call, no response. My account is paid in full minus late fees/finance charges for late fees, and they have received a payment for every month without fail, even early, but they refuse to correct this and sent me a bill for $109.92. I called today and was told nothing could be done, refused to give me a supervisor and was told to make another Written request to remove the fees they charged me due to their acknowledged mistake.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bill Me Later Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 30 ratings and
80 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bill Me Later
9690 Deereco Rd., 7th Fl.
Timonium, MD 21093
443-921-1900 (ph)
443-921-1985 (fax)
www.billmelater.com
Compare Financial Services