Preview Review

Next Review

Bill Me Later Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Should Be "Screw Me Later"
By -

BEWARE! Bill Me Later manipulates your PAYMENT DUE DATE so it does not correspond to the date your 6 MONTHS NO PAYMENTS offer expires! When I open my bills, I look to see when the payment is due. Right? I'll bet you do that too, because woe to the poor schmuck these days who pays their bills late. So my final payment to SCREW ME LATER - I mean Bill Me Later is due on March 8th. But wait! Elsewhere, I find the offer expires March 1st. So even if you make your final payment on time, you'll get socked with the interest payments that accrued on the entire balance! Is this a coincidence? Of course not.

Bill Me Later relies on an inattentive consumer to TRICK them into paying the heinous 19+%. They want you to overlook their underhanded scheme so you're trapped. AND THEN THEY further trap you by making it difficult to make a payment quickly to avoid paying the interest. Can you make a credit card payment? YOU CANNOT. Can you make a PayPal payment? After all, this company is owned by PayPal! YOU CANNOT. The only way you can make an emergency payment is by ACH debit to your bank account - and I'll bet they manage to delay that payment until your "no Payments" offer expires.

I always respected and trusted PayPal before this - and I've funded thousands of dollars in transactions, both buying and sell via PayPal - but they jumped the shark with this scheme. PayPal will rue the day they started this devious business. Oh, I almost forgot: their "customer service" personnel are trained to mindlessly repeat "Your statement is printed correctly - it's up to you to blah blah blah.." In essence they are saying "You got screwed, but we have our asses covered, so we're not going to help you."

Replies
Advertisement
Not Honest At All!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OAK PARK, ILLINOIS -- I had my Bill Me Later account for about 7 months and already I don't like their services. Something told me not to make another purchase with them. When I first opened my account there was an issue with them honoring my 6 months no payment and it clearly states so when you log in to PayPal. So, I brushed it off, then recently I moved into a new apartment last month. So, I need a couch and a rug. I paid them the money I owed them and I decided to use it again. I purchased my couch and rug through Wayfair. I

wanted to do it under 6 months no payment & no interest which I thought I done because on PayPal it states "Do you want to put this purchase on 6 months no interest and payment and it applies to a purchase over 250?", so I click yes. So this was a easy way for me to purchase furniture because I was short on cash and just moved.

I thought it was OK, but when I went to check my account it said I had a payment due from that purchase. I thought maybe it was a mistake, so I called Bill Me Later for them to resolve the issue. They said "OK we will submit it to be reviewed". So then I received an email that said my review has been processed look for changes within 24-48 hours, if any. So then I checked it again still no change. I then called them, gave them my account info and everything... The girl says well we contacted Wayfair and they said you had to make a purchase of 500 dollars (my purchase was 427).

This was unfair because I was under the impression that I was under the promotion for purchases over 250 not 500. Wayfair never said I had to purchase 500 dollars worth in furniture. I'm so angry because I want to pay in 6 months and that was misleading. I will never use them again because they don't know what they are doing. I wouldn't recommend anyone to use them.

Replies
Bill Me Later uses bait and switch as an unethical service
By -

ONLINE, CALIFORNIA -- Hello. In April of 2011 I purchased a $109 item for my pool on eBay. I used my PayPal account. Fast forward to Jan. of 2012 and I get a call from Bill Me Later on a Friday threatening to send me to collections. I Google Bill Me Later and find out they are owned by PayPal. I log into my PayPal account and after an hour or so find no help, other than complaints about Bill Me Later. Next I try to set up an account on Bill Me Later, this never works. Finally on Monday I talk to a human being at PayPal without help and then Bill Me Later. She tells me I need to set up an account with Bill Me Later.

I ask her "How can I have an outstanding bill from Bill Me Later and NOT have an account with them?" She says I just need to activate it. At this point I have wasted 3-4 hours dealing with this since the phone call 4 days ago. I finally get to see my account status and it shows my purchase of $109 and then my current balance of $184! The $75 (80% interest!) is all due to extra fees and interest due to non-payment since Nov of 2011. This is the first time I get any information from anyone about this - 9 months after the purchase!!! This business is a bait and switch via eBay and PayPal.

The transparency is utterly lacking and they are using the power of eBay & PayPal to abuse their customers. I have been purchasing items regularly on the internet since the 90's and this is the worst case I have come across to date! I use mint.com to track 99% of my purchases and this business is obviously abusing the "bill me later" concept to add on massive interest after the purchase of a product.

Replies
Bill Me Later Late Fees
By -

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- Complaint Description: In August of 2009, I made the required payment to my account then at the end of August 2009, I set up automatic payments through my bank, which made my next payment. It was received a couple days early so the computer did not include it for the next month, September. I made my October payment at the end of September, November payment at end of October, Etc... Since it was done automatically I was unaware of the late fees that were being attached. I called on December 29 2009 and was told to send a letter in to their fax, 443-921-1996. I did so and received no reply. Called again on 1/16/10, was told same thing. Faxed again, no reply.

1/26/10 spoke with **, refunded 1 late fee, refused rest, I asked for a manager, was told "no" and hung up on. Called back and was transferred to **, Supervisor in collections. He made another refund of 1 late payment, but refused rest, and would not let me speak to his supervisor. Called back again and left message for Supervisor to call me. ** called me back and informed me there was nothing she could do. Refused to give me next supervisors number but said she was ** and I left message for her to call and she never did. ** acknowledged fax was received. I sent one on 12/29/09, 1/16/10, 1/26/10.

Called again on 2/2/10 and left message for Supervisor ** to call, no response. My account is paid in full minus late fees/finance charges for late fees, and they have received a payment for every month without fail, even early, but they refuse to correct this and sent me a bill for $109.92. I called today and was told nothing could be done, refused to give me a supervisor and was told to make another Written request to remove the fees they charged me due to their acknowledged mistake.

Replies
Advertisement
Bill You? Heck, We Won't Even Give You Credit!
By -

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- I have been a BML customer since May 2007. My first purchase was about $400. I promptly paid it off before my deferred payments ran out. Since then, I've increased the amount of my purchase and then paid off my balance in full before the deferred payment timeline ran out. My largest and most recent approved purchase was in the $1200 range. All went fine, and I recently was happy to pay it all off, before my deferred payment time frame ran out. Wanting to pick up an anniversary gift for my hubby, and still anticipating my tax refund, I used my BML account on a purchase at newegg.com. The total purchase was just below $500. I was declined.

I was really taken aback. I then put the purchase back through for a bit less than $400 and was again declined.
Bill Me Later has the right to decline a transaction for any reason, and I understand that. But this is TERRIBLE service. They are making money hand over fist, as they should be, but not treating their customers with respect or valuing their business. There's no reward for being a repeat customer, and in the past they have said on their site and through customer service that they review your BML history in relation to every credit decision. Well, not in my case.

While I can't prove it, I have a feeling that I have been declined simply because, over the past 2 years of being a client, they've not made a dime from me on interest. Asking Bill Me Later yields only this reply: "You tried to purchase something too expensive, lower your purchase amount." Or: "It's the economy." Neither of which make sense if, indeed, your overall relationship with BML is taken into account and is positive.

Customer Service will not help, no matter how nice (or angry) you become by their inability answer even basic questions. You will only get boilerplate responses and form email replies. And if you call, don't be surprised if you hear what sounds like a party going on in the call center.

Based upon my experience - I would advise against using Bill Me Later. Use your credit card or debit card, get points and know exactly your credit limit and how the rules work. Let your credit card company report your good behavior to the credit bureaus, as Bill Me Later won't do that for you - and they really don't care about service. The poor service alone makes the extra few months to pay something off completely not worth it.

Replies
Bill Me Later Is A Ripoff Company
By -

Well here's my review of the biggest scam operation I've ever known. Bill Me later, and here's what happened. I got an email dated 7/8/08 from Bill Me Later which says my statement was available to view online. Upon viewing it I see there is a late fee attached for what said that the payment was due on July 3rd. So they send me a payment update 5 days after the payment was due. So with that, my late fee was $19.00, upon which they increased my APR from 19.99% to 53.19%. Very criminal to me and very scammy, they sent me a payment due 5 days after the payment was due and then increased my interest rate 33%.

I have proof too (see below), as soon as I saw that I took a screenshot of it and I also have the email from July 8th which can be shown as the date the email for me to make a payment. They never called my house telling me my payment was past due, nor did they tell me through email either. They WAITED 5 days after the payment was due to tell me this, and I'm always making my payments on time. Don't use this scam operation, matter of fact I'm beginning to believe that all banks or lending institutions are scam operations who don't care about anything more than making a quick dollar. So if you've ever thought of using this garbage service, don't.

I should have just used my CC, which I had the option of doing, but even now I believe that Visa and MasterCard and all these banks are all crooked. Just remember one thing, THEY COULDN'T CARE LESS ABOUT YOU. They don't care, period, they only want to get your money, never forget this.

Replies
They Are Working Together
By -

MONTANTA -- May of '06 - Newegg gave my son a $2000 line of credit to purchase computer parts - 6 months interest free. June of '06 - my son received his shipment - started opening packages - we stopped him - repackaged all that had been unopened - returned to Newegg with an RMA. They waived restocking fees. Promised Newegg a check for the full amount when a corrected bill was received for the opened items that we kept. Received the following refunds - note the dates of the last three - after the 6 months of no interest has elapsed.

  • $169.99 On 7/10/06 (transaction # **)
  • $383.07 On 7/10/06 (transaction # **)
  • $199.95 On 1/24/07 (transaction # **)
  • $129.99 On 1/29/07 (transaction # **)
  • $208.76 On 1/30/07 (transaction # **)

Not done yet: Final refund issued 14 mos. Later - countless e-mails in between - $199.95 On 8/15/07 (transaction # **). In doing the math - me not them $1949.65 - $1292.38 = $657.27. Have never received a bill for less than $1200.00. Talk to Newegg - it's a Bill Me Later issue! Talk to Bill Me Later - it is a Newegg issue! Now it is a Penncro issue - they are the collection agency that it has been turned over to - to the tune of $1300 plus. Not that it matters - my son's credit is not an issue due to personal matters I won't go into.

Have been reading all the negative reviews for all 3 companies - amazing they are still in business. Would be different if we were skirting the issue - but all we have been trying to do, for almost 2 years now, is pay our bill! Have also been reading about settling for pennies on the dollar. Would they go for that instead of just accepting what we owe.

Replies
Bill Me Later Solves Your Problem LATER
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- I purchased an iPad using Bill Me Later's deferred payment process/promotional billing. Of course when you make your regular payments it's applied to the principal balance not a particular balance, which I understand and Bill Me Later informed me that I just had to contact them and say I wanted a payment applied to that particular balance. Fine, so I made a payment due in 10 days and notified them I wanted the impending payment applied to that balance. Too soon, have to tell them within 7 days. Fine, within 7 days informed them, they confirmed they would do it. In the mean time I had enough money for a second payment to pay off the balance, again, informed them I wanted that payment to be applied to the balance, again they said OK. What happens? Neither applied.

I call them and am told, no problem they can apply it up to 30 days and they will do both payments. Check back several times, nothing. Finally, the large payment is applied, the other is not. Several more emails asking them to do, I'm told they will and it will be reflected soon. Still nothing. More emails. Am told it will be applied. TO THIS DATE: 14 EMAILS!! Every time I'm told they will apply it and when I log in??? Still shows the balance. This is not worth the bother! Do not use on them for promotional balance payment defer program!

Replies
Advertisement
FRAUD!!!!! Beware of Being Steered to Bill Me Later Without Knowing
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK -- I purchased digitizer for fixing Apple phone for my daughter for $6.94. I set up to pay out of my bank account. 2 months later I was checking if one of the PayPal payments was returned to my account and found that my Bill Me Later account is 2 months past due and I owe them 20.94. Original 6.94 plus 2 late fees $5 X 2 and 2 minimum finance charges $2 X 2.

I called and asked "How is that possible?" and if I set payment out of my bank account. Rep kept saying that Bill Me Later is my default payment method and I have to check my statements. They agreed to remove 5 dollars only in late fees. It feels like a joke - they made triple on 6.94 purchase that I was not even consider making with Bill Me Later. FRAUD!!! FRAUD!!! FRAUD!!! Disgrace!

Replies
I'm not even a customer!
By -

So I started getting calls from Bill Me Later on my cell phone. At first it was annoying, mostly because the calls would come and I would wait on the phone just to learn that the call came either after or before business hours. How can a company call you when there's no one there to take your call? I only stayed on the line to explain that the person they were trying to contact wasn't me, didn't live with me, and they had the wrong number.

After a couple days of this I got tired of it and found a customer service number. I finally got to talk to someone about this, explained that I was not the person on the account and that they were calling my personal cell phone which cost me minutes every time they called. At this point I thought it was over, wrong. I get a call the very next day, I talk to someone about the problem again, they saw that it was noted that this was the wrong number and noted it again.

I get a call the very next day and talk to someone a third time, this time they told me there was notes on the account stating they had the wrong number, but because they didn't have the right number they would keep calling me until they get the right number.

Now how can you do business like this? I'm obviously not the right person, I don't know the number, I don't even have an account, you have no right to call me, and yet you're telling me it's in my hands to get you the right number? To me this just screams fraud, they waste my time and money and have the audacity to tell me I'm responsible to get them the right number? Do your job and get it yourself! Stop bothering me about it! I will never do business with this company ever! I would suggest the same to everyone else as well, unless you like being bullied by people over the phone.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bill Me Later Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 30 ratings and
80 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bill Me Later
9690 Deereco Rd., 7th Fl.
Timonium, MD 21093
443-921-1900 (ph)
443-921-1985 (fax)
www.billmelater.com
Compare Financial Services