Preview Review

Next Review

Bill Me Later Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
They Are Working Together
By -

MONTANTA -- May of '06 - Newegg gave my son a $2000 line of credit to purchase computer parts - 6 months interest free. June of '06 - my son received his shipment - started opening packages - we stopped him - repackaged all that had been unopened - returned to Newegg with an RMA. They waived restocking fees. Promised Newegg a check for the full amount when a corrected bill was received for the opened items that we kept. Received the following refunds - note the dates of the last three - after the 6 months of no interest has elapsed.

  • $169.99 On 7/10/06 (transaction # **)
  • $383.07 On 7/10/06 (transaction # **)
  • $199.95 On 1/24/07 (transaction # **)
  • $129.99 On 1/29/07 (transaction # **)
  • $208.76 On 1/30/07 (transaction # **)

Not done yet: Final refund issued 14 mos. Later - countless e-mails in between - $199.95 On 8/15/07 (transaction # **). In doing the math - me not them $1949.65 - $1292.38 = $657.27. Have never received a bill for less than $1200.00. Talk to Newegg - it's a Bill Me Later issue! Talk to Bill Me Later - it is a Newegg issue! Now it is a Penncro issue - they are the collection agency that it has been turned over to - to the tune of $1300 plus. Not that it matters - my son's credit is not an issue due to personal matters I won't go into.

Have been reading all the negative reviews for all 3 companies - amazing they are still in business. Would be different if we were skirting the issue - but all we have been trying to do, for almost 2 years now, is pay our bill! Have also been reading about settling for pennies on the dollar. Would they go for that instead of just accepting what we owe.

Replies
Advertisement
Fraudulent & Deceptive
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I started using BML in October 2012. My first charge was for Toys R US and was a deferred payment until May of 2013. During that time, I used BML for some smaller charges. I made another deferred payment charge with Toys R Us in January 2013 and one more from Ebay in May 2013. I noticed my balance of current charges wasn't getting paid off so I went back and looked over all of my statements.

Well, I noticed that my DEFERRED payments were being paid on every month! The first deferred payment (not due until May 2013) was paid OFF before I received my March/April Statement. My second deferred payment (not due until August 2013) was paid OFF before May. My third deferred payment (not due until December) is also having payments applied. I emailed them and received a response that basically told me I had to call. They told me they were applying my payments according to some credit card act, blah, blah, blah. They also said that payments will start being made on a deferred payment if it is within 1-2 billing cycles of when the payment is due.

I called this morning and the gentleman I spoke with started rambling on about my payments. He told me I had to call and allocate how I wanted my payments made. WHAT?! Apparently, a DEFERRED payment takes on another meaning with BML. I told him I wanted the money that was applied to my December payment removed and applied to my current charges.

I also told him how upset I was that I had to CALL before making a payment to make sure the money gets applied to my current charges. He told me I didn't have to do that since my deferred payment wasn't due until December and it didn't fall into the "1-2 billing cycle rule" and that all payments would be applied to current charges. I had to reiterate that the purpose of my call was because that payments ARE being applied to the December deferred payment so that "1-2 billing cycle" rule doesn't apply here. He told me he would have to call me back.

I feel this company is very deceptive. If a payment is to be deferred, then payments being made should be applied to current charges and not deferred charges until the due date that is listed. I had been making extra payments so I could pay off my current charges. I am very frustrated and irritated as I now have to make EXTRA payments to pay off current charges that should have already been paid off but were instead applied to deferred payments. I will never use this company again.

Replies
Bill Me Later Solves Your Problem LATER
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- I purchased an iPad using Bill Me Later's deferred payment process/promotional billing. Of course when you make your regular payments it's applied to the principal balance not a particular balance, which I understand and Bill Me Later informed me that I just had to contact them and say I wanted a payment applied to that particular balance. Fine, so I made a payment due in 10 days and notified them I wanted the impending payment applied to that balance. Too soon, have to tell them within 7 days. Fine, within 7 days informed them, they confirmed they would do it. In the mean time I had enough money for a second payment to pay off the balance, again, informed them I wanted that payment to be applied to the balance, again they said OK. What happens? Neither applied.

I call them and am told, no problem they can apply it up to 30 days and they will do both payments. Check back several times, nothing. Finally, the large payment is applied, the other is not. Several more emails asking them to do, I'm told they will and it will be reflected soon. Still nothing. More emails. Am told it will be applied. TO THIS DATE: 14 EMAILS!! Every time I'm told they will apply it and when I log in??? Still shows the balance. This is not worth the bother! Do not use on them for promotional balance payment defer program!

Replies
FRAUD!!!!! Beware of Being Steered to Bill Me Later Without Knowing
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK -- I purchased digitizer for fixing Apple phone for my daughter for $6.94. I set up to pay out of my bank account. 2 months later I was checking if one of the PayPal payments was returned to my account and found that my Bill Me Later account is 2 months past due and I owe them 20.94. Original 6.94 plus 2 late fees $5 X 2 and 2 minimum finance charges $2 X 2.

I called and asked "How is that possible?" and if I set payment out of my bank account. Rep kept saying that Bill Me Later is my default payment method and I have to check my statements. They agreed to remove 5 dollars only in late fees. It feels like a joke - they made triple on 6.94 purchase that I was not even consider making with Bill Me Later. FRAUD!!! FRAUD!!! FRAUD!!! Disgrace!

Replies
Advertisement
I'm not even a customer!
By -

So I started getting calls from Bill Me Later on my cell phone. At first it was annoying, mostly because the calls would come and I would wait on the phone just to learn that the call came either after or before business hours. How can a company call you when there's no one there to take your call? I only stayed on the line to explain that the person they were trying to contact wasn't me, didn't live with me, and they had the wrong number.

After a couple days of this I got tired of it and found a customer service number. I finally got to talk to someone about this, explained that I was not the person on the account and that they were calling my personal cell phone which cost me minutes every time they called. At this point I thought it was over, wrong. I get a call the very next day, I talk to someone about the problem again, they saw that it was noted that this was the wrong number and noted it again.

I get a call the very next day and talk to someone a third time, this time they told me there was notes on the account stating they had the wrong number, but because they didn't have the right number they would keep calling me until they get the right number.

Now how can you do business like this? I'm obviously not the right person, I don't know the number, I don't even have an account, you have no right to call me, and yet you're telling me it's in my hands to get you the right number? To me this just screams fraud, they waste my time and money and have the audacity to tell me I'm responsible to get them the right number? Do your job and get it yourself! Stop bothering me about it! I will never do business with this company ever! I would suggest the same to everyone else as well, unless you like being bullied by people over the phone.

Replies
Bill Me Later WILL Screw-You-Later
By -

"Bill Me later" will end up "Screwing-You-Later" if the situation arises. Here's what happen to me. Bill Me Later has this sweet deal. You buy your stuff and they defer all payments and interest for 6 months on selected items. I couldn't resist so I bit. Well turns out I'm the sucker fish now.

One of two of my laptops went south a week after I had it. The vendor agreed to have it exchanged. The way they do it is, they process the return and order another one as new. When they went to charge the new one on my "Bill Me Later" account it was declined. I have an A++ credit rating across the board. I have more credit than I'll ever use and when I do use it, I've never missed a payment. Oh yea I'm employed and I make well above the average salary. So what's the friggin problem here?

Hp was nice enough to call "Bill Me Later" with both of us on the phone and they flat out refused to allow the transaction to go through stating that I didn't have enough credit history with them to allow another $2300.00 charge on my account. Well if that's the case, then why did you allow the first one go through for $4500.00+!! This is without a doubt the most insulting company I've ever dealt with.

The follow day I got an email from them stating that they're not a credit company and they don't set credit limits. This tells me that they didn't even attempt to get it authorized; rather, they just denied I for no apparent reason. I guess they don't bother to even call the original credit company that they used for me for an approval. What kind of crap is that?

So be that as it may, I wiped out a credit card and charged the new laptop on one of the six on Visa credit cards I have. So because of this, now I lose big! Instead of having deferred payments and interest for 6 months, I have to belly up the cash to pay off one of the two laptops by the end of the month. Never again will I ever use “Bill Me Later”. It's not worth it!

Replies
Unexplained Late Fees
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- I purchased an elliptical trainer with Bill Me Later and have taken more than 6 months of interest free months of payment that are offered. I am absolutely OK with paying interest. My issue is with the payment options with Bill Me Later. My payments are due on the 9th of every month and I have set-up a bill pay with my bank so that the payments are made on the 5th of every month. Last month, I just happened to look at my bill and noticed that for the last 3 months I have been charged a late fee.

I called the representative from Bill Me Later to inquire about these late fees and basically the representative gave me a long-winded excuse about my personal bank's policies and how these charges couldn't be avoided. The thing is that the deductions are taken out on the 5th from Bill Me Later, but my statements from Bill Me Later state that deductions take place on the 12th of the month. They are complete and utter liars. Period. I was excited to take advantage of this option because I wanted to purchase an item that I couldn't really afford and the 6 months of interest free payment sounded like a good option.

In the end, I would not use this company in the future. I have wasted a lot of time on the phone with rude, unhelpful representatives. And the lesson learned is that (1) I shouldn't buy things that I cannot afford and (2) never do business with Bill Me Later again because they do take advantage of people.

Replies
Phishing Scam Practice
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EL PASO, TEXAS -- I had the same experiences as other reviewers. I had my Paypal account, then I enrolled in Bill Me Later. They were supposed to send me statements for my purchases. But, they didn't until they were past due so they can charge me interest and late fees.

When I use my Paypal, beware, they don't ask you if you want your credit or bank set up in your Paypal account or if you want to use Bill Me Later; it just automatically goes to Bill Me Later so they can charge you late fees and interests. I called them and was told that this was just the way the computer is set up. So I would not recommend this service to anyone. Just a big headache and time-wasting. On second thought, I may recommend this to my worst enemies.

Replies
Advertisement
Bill Me Later Review - Worst Experience Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I would not recommend it either. I used their service once and it was the worst experience I've ever encountered. I wanted to dispute an item but because it was unauthentic but since it was out of the time frame (by 2 or 3 days), the dispute got declined. I resubmitted it multiple times only wanting them to contact the seller but all their responses were "I'm sorry there's nothing I can do" even the supervisor said that. Not only that, I got charged $300 in interest after 6 months, thinking that my account was on hold.

I wanted to talk to their corporate but there's no number, the only thing you can do is write a letter and fax it in. Did that and it got declined. I asked them to explain the reason again the representative said "It's past 6 months" and "There's nothing I can do from end". I realized there's not a lot they can do for you. It's been a very frustrating half year with them and not only do I have to pay over 2k for an inauthentic item but an additional $300 interest charge, definitely one of the worst customer service I've ever experienced. You would be better off getting a credit card with 0% Apr and they offer better service.

Replies
Deceptive Advertising - Bait and Switch
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MANCHESTER, NEW HAMPSHIRE -- I have had two bad experiences with Bill Me Later and hope to never do business with a company like this again. They are clearly a corrupt organization who uses deceptive advertising and Bait and Switch tactics to lure their customers in and then screw them out of as many fees and as much interest as they can. I don't want to go into much detail because I have written so many complaint letters on the internet, my fingers are sore, but rest assured, this company, WebBank, is deceptive and corrupt. They even tried to claim that it was Tiger Direct who should have honored the deferred interest financing. How ridiculous is that! More appropriate is "Bilk Me Later".

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bill Me Later Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 30 ratings and
80 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bill Me Later
9690 Deereco Rd., 7th Fl.
Timonium, MD 21093
443-921-1900 (ph)
443-921-1985 (fax)
www.billmelater.com
Compare Financial Services