Preview Review

Next Review

Carnival Cruise Line Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
My Letter to Carnival Cruise Lines That Has So Far Gone Unanswered
By -

I hate writing a letter of this sort, but I feel that I need to in order to defend my brother, ** and his wife, **. For over a year they planned/paid for in full, a wedding on your Carnival Cruise Sensation. The wedding date was to be March 28th, 2010. Unfortunately, on this day a supposed disgruntled (as described by one of your crew members) passenger on the previous voyage made a drunken bomb threat. I understand and appreciate the severity of this situation and truly appreciate any safety precautions that occurred because of it. But the events that followed once your ship was cleared of any danger, was all entirely uncalled for.

(Please keep in mind when reading, we were told we had to be OFF the ship by 5:30 pm). We were supposed to board the Sensation around 10:00 am the morning of March 28th, because of the bomb threat we were told we had to wait until further notice. Around 1:00 pm (ceremony time was to be at 1:30 pm) we were able to board a shuttle that took the wedding party and most of the guests over to the port where the boat was waiting. We waited outside for quite sometime while your staff tried to figure out what to do with us.

We were then bussed to another location, which seemed to be another terminal and were told we had to fill out a health questionnaire and would be cleared for entry onto the ship, also that the ship would was being repositioned and would pull up to the terminal we were at to pick everyone up. We then waited until 2:50 pm before hearing anything else and were told we were to get on a "€œVIP"€ bus to take us back to the original terminal to board. This venture took over an hour due to heavy traffic and a drawbridge that we had to wait for.

Once we entered the original terminal and made our way through the metal detectors, we were handed the same health questionnaire to fill out (Why couldn'€™t we have just filled it out at the original terminal??). We did not get to board the ship until almost 4:30 pm. When we boarded not only did the ship smell like stale urine, it had an overall feeling of being dirty. We were told we could get food in your main cafeteria as a courtesy since we had all been waiting around for so long and hadn'€™t eaten (mind you, breakfast was supposed to be served to the wedding party and guests at 10:30 am on board that was paid for by the bride and groom).

We noticed people swimming in the pool and lounging in the hot tubs and lounge chairs while being rushed through towards your cafeteria (and how long had they been on the boat for before we were able to board? Come to find out, at least 2 hours). No sooner did we get a plate of food where we told we had 5 minutes to get to the room that the ceremony was in so we could have the ceremony and get off the ship. So, we left our uneaten plates of food and rushed for the room. Well, here we did more waiting, waiting and more waiting. Finally at 5:25 pm my brother'€™s fiancee was finally able to walk down the aisle in order to get married.

The wedding official spoke extremely fast through the entire thing so we could be off the ship by 5:30 pm, which resulted in an over all feeling of being rushed. We were then taken to the room where the reception was supposed to be held. The reception was non-existent. It was a joke. The bride and groom were rushed through a bite of cake. The HORRIBLE piano player played Elton John'€™s "€œYour Song"€ twice in a row then stopped. Next, the announcement was made that the safety drills were starting.

In filed the passengers that were assigned to our reception room, they made a beeline for our hors d'oeuvres table, hors d'oeuvres that we were not able to try for ourselves. When they were told that the food was for the wedding party more than one passenger said something to the tune of "€œOh well, the food is out and we'€™re hungry."€

We also were not able to experience the open bar service that was paid for, so why could these random passengers indulge in what we were paid for and were supposed to enjoy ourselves but could not? And what in my opinion is the best part of any wedding; the cake; only the bride and groom were able to have a bite, just one bite. The ice sculpture on display that was paid for by the bride and groom was dripping all over because it was melting. Who knows how long it was really out for waiting for the reception to start?

We left the ship around 5:40 pm. When we were off the boat, one of the security guards grabbed my arm and rudely said to me (because she overheard me talking about our experience) "€œGet over it, no one got hurt."€ Seriously? This had NOTHING to do with the bomb threat from earlier in the morning. The disorganization and lack of concern for a party that was paid for in full on your ship was very disheartening. This was supposed to be one of the happiest day of my brother'€™s and his wife'€™s life. Instead it was filled with stress and worry.

I feel that out of the $2,800 wedding package my brother and his wife paid for, the measly $1,111.30 is a slap in the face. The disorganization, lack of concern and rudeness by your employees was uncalled for. $1,000.00 refund for food? Seriously? You think that is generous? Especially after everything I explained. Then a $111.30 for the piano player who honestly, I do not see how you can charge anyone to listen to his horrible rendition of an Elton John classic not once, but twice in a row before he stopped should never have been billed for in the first place. Talk about a slap in the face.

I would hope that after you review all means of records from the day of March 28th, 2010, you would see that we were more than cooperative and tried to keep composure and a positive outlook on things. But what it comes down to is that it was just a mess based on Carnival Cruises part. A refund in full, not just part, is beyond expected and is just overall the right thing to do considering the mishaps on Carnival'€™s part.

Word of mouth is everything these days. Do you think out of the 27 guests, along with the bride and groom, any of them will have something nice to say about this experience? I already talked one good friend out of having a destination wedding through your cruise line after describing our issues. I have 391 friends on Facebook; I have already updated my status more than once in regards to thinking twice before using your cruise line.

Carnival Cruise Line Complaints Carnival Legend
By -

We purchase a cruise on the Carnival Legend leaving Tampa, Florida on December 13, 2009. First problem was the balcony stateroom we purchase had an obstruction in it after being told it had none. Our representative was rude, lied constantly he represent the cruise line not another agency. For weeks prior to our cruise he refuse to adjust our room but demand we pay hundreds more for another stateroom. I specially asked him several times if there was an obstruction. Later he denied it saying he told me there was an obstruction. When I went to file a complaint they switch around to their colleagues and you get nowhere.

On our second night while dining on the Lido deck my spouse ate large shards of glass dinnerware in his food. The shards of glass broke one tooth in half, chipped another. He filed a report immediately at the table, I witness the report. Several staff members were there saw what happen. The manager took the dish away and security came to the table to file the report. After our return they have refused to pay for crowns or any dental work which is all my spouse asked to be done.

They demand he sign a mental health release, medical release and a dental release before he could even address that insanity they wrote saying they would not honor the claim at all. We understand that he has to file a claim in court in Tampa, Fl. We live in CA within six months. It's not February. We're on our second month since returning. His tooth is still broken in half, still chipped as we have no dental insurances. The cost of these two items will go into the thousand dollar category.

From then on our trip went downhill. We had security following us all over a very large ship. We'd find them behind us all the time. Then my spouse was searched. He was the only person singled out when we re-board the ship. He was ordered by this same person many times to empty his pockets. Suddenly for no apparent reason the buzzer would go off when he enter security. There was nothing metal on him. It became quite obvious to us.

At night around three in the morning our stateroom door would every night be pried, someone trying to open it or scare us. At first we thought it was a mistake. It continue throughout the trip.. We end up barricading ourselves in our cabin every night and while using it. We kept the exterior door to the balcony locked. We felt very uneasy.

On the same deck as the restaurant but outside my spouse ordered a drink which spilled over. The staff brought him another one which he handed to me instead then ordered one for himself. This was the only drink that I drank that day, I mainly drink water or juice. This one was the special of the day. After consuming the drink within about a half hour I began to laugh hysterically, and could not stop laughing, I could barely walk to our room for about the next four hours or more. I could not stop laughing hysterically. The world got really crazy for me. Nothing in my lifetime has ever happen like this from drinking alcohol, later I would vomit for hours.

The night prior to departure I had a tally run of all our expenses, I compare that the next day against their tally.. We noted lots of beverages that we could not account for charged directly to our bank account but said nothing out of fear. When we arrived home approximately another thousand dollars was charged by Carnival directly on our account. Carnival refuse to answer my emails regarding the funds, or calls. Our bank reversed all the charges thereafter. Carnival did nothing to repair the problem of over charging my account.

Carnival Destiny Disaster 1/16/10
By -

I recently took a cruise on your cruise line and I was grossly disappointed. The cruise was the Carnival Destiny which set sail on Saturday January 16th 2010 from Miami, FL. This was my second cruise and I was expecting a great experience, especially since I was cruising with a self-proclaimed leader in the cruise industry.

The misery began when we boarded the ship and found out that we would be delayed in our departure from port. After not leaving on time we were advised that there was a problem bringing potable drinking water onto the ship. I find this to be disconcerting knowing that there was enough time to reprint that day's edition of “Capers”, this indicating that the problem was known well in advance.

Considering what happens in the next several hours one has to question whether your staff was being completely honest with the passengers about the true problem. Once we left port, nearly four hours late, we set out to sea only to be told that there was a problem with the ship's propulsion system. Here is where one might ask if the true problem was being dealt with at the port? Although only a mere passenger, I am very well aware that if that ship were to never leave port, your cruise line would stand to lose a substantial amount of capital and suffer quite a tarnished reputation.

However once the ship sets sail all passengers now become prisoners of the fine print of the sailing contract. To be brief, this cruise never made the two original ports of call, which I was planning my vacation around seeing as I had never been to these places; this is why I selected this itinerary. What transpires next is the complete addition of insult to injury.

In an attempt to compensate the passengers for this “technical problem”, you offered each passenger $75.00, which was deemed a refund of the port taxes for the non-visited ports of call. No other compensation was offered. This money, by law would have to be returned, as these ports were never called on. During the nearly three days at sea, the mood of the passengers was, as expected terrible, with no help from the staff to pacify the passengers. No offering of a complimentary cocktail or even a smallest token of apology from your cruise line.

One particular instance to make note of was the insults delivered to audience by one of your entertainment staff during a karaoke performance. The staff member while moderating karaoke, tried to make jokes about the missed ports of call and, when booed, told the audience, “I'm not the captain and you can just leave”. My mother called Carnival cruise lines and asked where our location was and she was told we were in Grand Cayman, meanwhile we were in Nassau, Bahamas.

I think this bothers me the most especially since a 5.8 magnitude earthquake was felt on Grand Cayman the day we were supposed to be at that port and my mother was scared for my safety. All of these experiences combined with the fact that the two original ports of call were missed made for what I consider the worst vacation of my life. On top of that, this was my second cruise experience with Carnival, which has brought me to never want to board a cruise ship ever again.

I am incensed at the fact the Carnival made such a feeble attempt to compensate passengers for such a major problem. I am also concerned by the idea that this problem was known, prior to the ship's departure however the ship still set sail. Seeing as Carnival is refusing to offer any other compensation, I find no other alternative than filing a class action lawsuit against your company.

I also plan to file complaints and inquiries with maritime safety authorities regarding the sailing of this vessel, especially considering the same problem occurred in September of 2009. I am grossly disappointed in the business practices of your company and plan to enlighten the world and show them that you are clearly not the leader of the cruise line industry. I have already made contact with several news station investigative reporters to share this experience with them. If you truly are the leader of the cruise line industry you will try to make good on this and show the industry that you stand behind your commitment to quality.

Carnival Cruise Mobile Disaster
By -

Never, never again on Carnival! We booked a 5 day cruise December 14th out of Mobile as a Christmas gift to our kids. We drove 4 hours from Chicago and arrived around 10:00 A.M. to find that the ship was delayed coming back due to fog. My complaint is not about the weather conditions which Carnival couldn't help but how often they lied to us regarding ship information.

They put all passengers into a dome facility in Mobile. We stayed in the dome from 10:00 A.M. until 8:00 P.M. It was very cold in the dome and pouring rain outside. For several hours we were told by Carnival representatives that they didn't know where the ship was! Imagine a major cruise line not knowing that! Impossible! At about 2:00 P.M. they brought in sack lunches for the crowd. Still with no information as to whether the we would be boarding today or not.

Their spokesman "Mark" would give us updates. Most of the day they didn't have any information at all, so the reports that people went out shopping to to see a movie couldn't possibly be true, as you couldn't leave the dome less you missed the information. People were tired and angry! Carnival's bright idea was to bring in liquor and set up tables to sell it to the crowd at ridiculous prices! A 25 cent bag of potato chips was suddenly $3.00 to purchase. By 6:00 P.M. they finally told us that even if the ship did dock that night, it would take three hours to make it down the canal and another 2 hours to disembark the passengers.

They made no offers of any kind of evening meal. At approximately 7:00, Mark went on stage to tell people that the boat was not expected to dock until the next day that the cruise would be one day shorter. Carnival did not offer any kind of an evening meal. You were on your own. At first Mark told the whole crowd that Carnival would pick up the tab for hotel rooms. He told us all to get in lines. One for those wishing to cancel, one for those needing hotel rooms and one for those who wished to continue on the cruise the next day.

Everybody got into the very long lines and waited for an hour. Nothing happened. Mark told us that Carnival had let all of the employees go for the night and he only had three workers to collect the information from all 2,000 of us. Then he told us that everybody should go to the terminal to pick up our luggage and return to the dome. We went back to our car, and got into the very long line at the terminal to pick up our luggage, only to be told by the police that the terminal was not open and that there were no Carnival workers at the terminal to hand out luggage anyway.

We again waited in the long lines of traffic to go back to the dome where Mark told us that we were wrong. He had information that the terminal was in fact open and we should go back and get our luggage. We kept trying to tell him that the terminal was not open, but he openly laughed at us. By this time, the crowd was getting angry... Thanks to Carnival's decision to make sure there was plenty of booze available, but not food or water! We should have figured Carnival would use the opportunity to make more money from all of us!

Then Mark got back on stage and said Carnival has changed their position and will now offer hotel rooms. But only at a 10% discount. The Holiday Inn rooms they were offering were $99.00 per night and you had to stand in a 1,000 person plus line to get them. It was now almost 9:00. The crowd was really angry now. Many folks didn't have the money to pay for dinner that night, a hotel room and breakfast the next morning. There were some college kids that didn't have that much.

One women with two small children asked Mark if she could get her hotel now so that she could find something to feed her children who hadn't had anything to eat since 2 pm. He told her that if she left the hotel line, she wouldn't get one of the blocked rooms. She was angry and asked Mark what she should do? Several people in the crowd were yelling also. So Carnival's representative solved the problem by having the police threaten to arrest her and her children if they didn't "shut up".

Our group found our own hotel rooms as we were not going to wait 2-3 hours in that line. But I did feel terrible for the many folks who had nowhere to go that night. Carnival's representative was clearly not very well trained. I think what inflamed the crowd the most was Mark's constant smiling and laughing at the people. How could anyone do that? Why did Carnival think it was a good idea to sell liquor in that kind of prediciment?

It gets worse. When we did finally get on board, we received incredibly bad service the whole cruise. When we put the luggage under our bed a half eaten and seriously moldy apple and a Carnival cup with whatever was in it was under the bed! Our carpet had nail clippings on it that were never vacuumed up! Our dining room waiter never remembered our names, forgot what we ordered, brought out the wrong food and one night, just didn't bring our coffee order at all. It was the worst service I have ever experienced on a cruise. We've been on both NCL and RC cruises and have always had a good experience... NEVER, NEVER again on Carnival.

Stranded in Mexico
By -

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- My wife and I were on a Carnival Cruise this past year. The first night on the cruise, a drunk passenger came over to where I was at and grabbed a girl's drink that was sitting next to us and chugged it down. We had been watching this guy for thirty minutes trying to agitate other passengers. And three security persons were there and did not attempt to confront the guy and prevent an incident from occurring. When drank the girl's drink, I told him that wasn't his drink and he should buy the girl another one. Well this set the guy off to where he was yelling obscenities at me. I told the guy to forget it and asked him just go away.

The guy would not go away and persisted to continue cussing. After 5 minutes of yelling at this guy with security standing no more than 15 feet away, he started mocking me both my words and actions. I asked him how old he was, 12. He then stepped so close that he was only inches from my face. At this time I felt physically threatened and took one hand and moved him back to gain a more comfortable distance away. Because of the obvious extent of his drunken state, he lost his balance and fell down on his butt. That was when security decided to intervene.

I know they had to be standing there watching the whole incident because they were right there as soon as he landed on the dance floor. I told one officer to just get him away from us while he was fighting with the other two officers. Through the whole process of writing reports and giving statements which lasted for two days, I cooperated completely and thought that was the end of it. When we docked at our first port and my wife and I were getting ready to go ashore we were, I was told to disembark. Their reasoning was they have a no tolerance policy on passenger confrontations that was in the ticket contract. Two people involved, two people leave.

There is no such contract clause of that sort cause I've read it three times. There is a clause that I'm sure most people don't know because it is hidden in there pretty well. Carnival holds itself not responsible for any actions taken by any employees off duty, any of the vendors on the ship or other passengers, or any services contracted through Carnival. That means that if you accept this contract and board their ship, you can't sue them for anything that happens to you on the ship or on shore with any of their contracted excursions. Sweet deal huh? My wife was told that she could get reimbursed for her cruise since she was not asked to leave.

They have since denied that to her. They set us up to meet with a travel agent on shore to assist us in making arrangements to get home maybe even stay in port a couple of days we liked or needed to in order to get to the desired destination. When we got off the ship, this agent had us sit in the sun in the public eye waiting on transportation. To we assumed would be his office to go make appropriate plans to go home when after 30 minutes of sweating in the sun he rushed us through alleys to meet a van. Once in the van, he told us there was one flight out of the country and we would make it in time to make the plane.

I asked where it was going to and he said Texas. I told him we didn't want to go to Texas, we needed to go to either Orlando where we already had return tickets home or Cincinnati. He said only one flight out for US would be on it. I've researched it. We could have flown to Cancun, spend one night there and flown to Orlando the next day for less than $400 and we could have salvaged our vacation somewhat.

Instead we given no other choice but to fly to Dallas then home for over $1750 and getting home broke. I've contacted Carnival twice and they deny any responsibility for any of the unfortunate incidents. See again their clause of not responsisbility for anything (but taking as much of your money they can get.)

Not Satisfied at All
By -

The ships decor and atmosphere is terrific. But every activity costs a fortune and you have to use a sail and sign card (no cash accepted). The fine dining wasn't that fine. They had alternate dining of crappy food with fancy names, like fresh eggs that were powdered eggs, and only unsweetened tea and water and coffee to drink. They only have coke products for your fountain card, and they only come in can form. I didn't purchase one and I had tea or water all day, and oj in the morning. When I asked for oj in the day they wanted to charge me. So if you don't enjoy water or tea you will be thirsty.

Their 24 hour pizzaria offers pepperoni that I'd never pay for so thank god it was included, and the five deli options never change. The other pizzas offered had weird things on it like artichokes and anchovies, and the pizza maker loved to ignore customers. My fine dining was awful, wrecked by some redneck with no shoes always coming to dine drunk and loud, and even though we asked the waiter to ask him to calm down they did not, and I didn't want to return for a third try at "fine dining" in which the food portions are so tiny and they bring you coke in a can to sit next to your fine silverware. Overall it did not feel fancy at all.

The bingo offered on the ship is $20 for three tiny squares, and everything seemed to have a hidden motive to get you to spend money. I felt so hungry at the end of everyday that I ordered room service (inclusive) but the ten options on room service were awful too, and I ate pbj all week. It didn't seem like we ever ported long enough to spend a true day at either destination, and you can't swim in the two pools onboard because they are super tiny and full of children.

The nicest person I met was Greg, our housekeeper, and the best activity offered was the casino and the comedy acts. The song dance shows they put on are good if you're into that kind of thing, but all the free giveaways come with long seminars that push you to buy things from them. They had cheaper alcohol onboard but you can only order it and receive it when you get OFF the ship, and if you have access to any military posts you get the same price because it's tax free.

Overall I had an awful time and wasted enough money that I could've gone on four other vacations. I'll never cruise Carnival again. I'd rather spend the same amount flying to the same destinations to visit. And be careful of the hidden gratuities they try to sneak on your sail and sign bill, and the 2 dollar gratuities tacked on to every alcoholic drink. I had more fun in Jacksonville before boarding the cruise, and I had more fun on my ten hour drive home than my five day all inclusive but so inclusive cruise.

Please research carefully before choosing your vacation on the water. The pictures and excursions are not what they seem, and they offer things you can experience and buy anywhere else for cheaper or the same price. Although I cruised Fascination, I feel that I was deceived and do not feel as though their other ships would be any better.

Carnival Happy to Leave Mother and Daughter Behind While Rest of Family Cruises!
By -

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- We recently booked a cruise out of San Diego with Carnival. We booked in late June through Expedia. We worked with an Expedia agent over the phone and he also worked with a Carnival agent over the phone because we needed two cabins near each other. We are a family of five, including three kids (ages 12, 12 and 15). After forever on the phone, we gave our credit card to the agent and our reservation for two cabins was confirmed.

Fast forward to August 3rd. After flying from our home in Florida to the West Coast for the Mexican Riviera cruise, we learn *the morning* of embarkation that we actually only have one room for three (husband and two sons) booked and that the room for my daughter and I was cancelled in late June because the payment "was declined". Interesting in that we gave our credit card over the phone at the time of booking and when we hung up, our reservation had been fully confirmed.

The Carnival agent we spoke to the morning we were supposed to embark on the cruise said:

  1. "We sent an email informing you of the cancellation." --> False. The agent actually gave the husband my email address. It was correct, but there is nothing in any email folders including the Spam folder from Carnival - or Expedia, even though the agent said Carnival had emailed us.

  2. "Your credit card company denied the payment transaction." --> False. Our credit card company has confirmed that there was one successful charge from Carnival (which turns out to be only one of the rooms - God only knows why). There were no denied transactions against our card, nor any other attempts from Carnival to charge the card. We have now called our credit card company twice to verify this and have asked Carnival for the unique transaction ID related to this charge. Carnival has yet to provide that information.

  3. "Sorry. We are fully booked and have no solution for you. Call your travel agent." --> How's that for customer service? There wasn't even an attempt by the Carnival agent to get us on the ship as a family.

So, Carnival Cruise basically gave us the bird. The agent knew full well that for some bizarre reason half of a reservation had been cancelled and now - *two hours* before embarkation - there is a situation where a mother and 12-year old daughter are going to be left 3000+ miles from their home while the father and two sons cruise for 5 days to Mexico.

We called Expedia. They managed to find a room on the ship that Carnival agents told us was 100% sold out. Of course, we had to pay Carnival $570 more due to an increased room rate and the loss of $150 in shipboard credits that were a part of our original reservation price. Of course, Carnival won't refund even one penny of that.

At this point, our options were:

  1. Cancel the cabin reserved for my husband and two sons and lose $1300+ that we know we'll never see again. *And* scramble to find - and pay for - a place to stay for 5 days in San Diego until our August 8th flight back home to Florida.

  2. Pay $570 more so that my daughter and I can be with my husband and sons on what was to be the highlight of our summer vacation, our "family fun cruise."

  3. Wave goodbye to Dad and the boys and then hope that my daughter and I can find a place to stay in San Diego while the boys are on our family vacation (would have been miserable for all involved and, of course, costly.)

Repeated emails with Carnival's "Customer Care" representatives have gotten us nowhere. We still don't even know why this happened. I requested the transaction ID of the supposed failed credit card attempt and the representative sent me a denial code that is in no way unique to "my" transaction and one that my credit card company doesn't even recognize. I have a feeling that Carnival knows exactly what happened, but prefers that we do not.

How does only one of two cabins in a reservation get paid? How is half of a family reservation cancelled? How does no one find the time to notify the family that their vacation has been ruined? We still don't have any answers to these questions. We are repeat Carnival "cruisers" and Carnival had all the information for our family on file.

Bottom line is we will NEVER cruise again on Carnival or any of their sister companies and will advise all friends and family to do the same. It's a shame as my husband and I were planning to take a Yachts of Seabourn cruise for our upcoming 20th anniversary. But, that's another Carnival company so we'll be going with another cruise line. Fortunately, there are many other cruise lines that I'm sure would be happy to have us as customers.

Cabin Bedding
By -

My wife, mother-in-law and myself took a 4 day Mexico cruise on the Carnival Paradise from Long Beach on Aug. 3, 2009. We were to have a handicap accessible cabin (my mother-in-law is 87 and needs a walker/wheelchair to be mobile) and to have 3 adults in the cabin. The cabin we were given had no 3rd bed (usually a bunk-type bed) or handicap access. What it had was a bed that perhaps my 7 y/o grandson would be alright with. The bed was about 7" high from the floor to the top of the mattress and was only about 5' long. I'm 5'10" and everything longer than 5' extended beyond the end of the bed into the hallway.

During the night, I had to be aware if my wife or mother-in-law was getting up to go to the bathroom and be sure that I pulled my legs out of the hallway so they could safely pass to the bathroom. Needless to say, my sleeping was not restful.

I brought this to the attention of the ship staff at the information desk and was informed that there was nothing they could do since the ship was full. I have contacted Carnival through the travel agent who arranged our trip and Carnival has informed her that there is nothing that they are going to do. My feelings are we paid for a handicap room and if they had none available, we should have been informed. Needless to say, never again Carnival.

For those who were so negative in their comments regarding my review. First of all, our travel agent had requested Carnival for a three person stateroom for handicaps. My wife even contacted Carnival prior to our cruise to confirm this. I took this complaint to the ship's purser when we were onboard the ship only to be told there were no other cabins available.

This cruise was to be a family cruise to hold a memorial for my wife's Aunt Fern who had been planning to have her 100th birthday celebration with 30+ of her family. Unfortunately, Aunt Fern passed away a couple of months before the cruise, but her 3 daughters said for all of us to go and we would have a memorial for Aunt Fern instead. We did not plan to have this cabin, our cabin was to hold 3 and have handicap access. My mother-in-law needs her walker to travel about, she is not an invalid and is capable of walking the distance required.

My wife and I are seasoned cruisers on HAL, Princess, NCL and even Carnival, we paid for a handicap accessible stateroom for three, what we received was a stateroom for 2. Some of you folks appear to have no knowledge and some of you are downright ignorant of life itself. This is for kenpopcorn: The room was not designed for handicap, I slept on the cot, my mother-in-law is 86 y/o. I did not chose this stateroom, Carnival assigned us to it. Just what gibberish does your last sentence mean? This is for Doctor Charlie: You are an idiot, we went on a cruise ship, not a hotel. This is for spiderman2: Read what I said to kenpopcorn.

This for pepperelf: I spent 7 years in the Navy, most of them at sea, I won't even compare Navy cruising with cruising on cruise ships. This for Eloise: You don't need to get a suite to have a 3 person stateroom. Most ships have a bunk that hangs from the ceiling (read overhead pepperelf) and the room stewards arrange it when turning down the beds in the evening. Handicap does not mean a accessible bathroom, it means a stateroom designed for persons with the need of a wheelchair. The entire stateroom, not just the bathroom (read head pepperelf).

Dangers of Shore Excursions
By -

COZUMEL MEXICO -- My wife and I cruised on Carnival's ship the Valor, 3/8-3/15/09 (just married in Aug 2008) and on 3/12 we went purchased the Zip line excursion in Cozumel, Mexico through the ship. My wife was badly injured when the guide failed to catch or slow her down coming into the 4th tower at @25mph. She crashed into the split rail log fencing, full force hitting her knees and shins. I was the behind her waiting to zip over to her, could see she was hurt and so did the guide in my tower. The guide in her tower was unaware of how badly hurt she was, I saw the bleeding and immediate swelling (hematomas on both legs).

My new wife has intense threshold of pain, this was about a 9 on scale of 1-10 and she was trying to hold back tears. Had to get her down from tower and back to start of excursion office for emergency first aid (used a golf cart to transport). Did not have any ice for swelling, used and antiseptic and gauze, did not trust hospitals in Mexico, so had them rush her back to ship's infirmary.

Ship nurse could only X-ray one leg due to equipment not working properly (did her left leg), and gave her pain medicine and asked her to come back later. They should have immobilized her leg just in case for precaution but did not. Within less than 2 hours we were back down at infirmary due to right leg swelling up twice the size from above the knee down to her ankle.

They did not X-ray her right leg till Fri. and basically heavily medicated her for the pain. She slept most the day and evening on Thurs. Her legs were swollen and started to see how bad bruising as they turned black and purple, even the lacerations felt hot to the touch. She had a slight fever.

While she was resting I went to guest services who gave me a hard time about getting a refund for the unsafe excursion and filed a complaint immediately. I wrote a letter to the captain and cruise director to inform them what happened, but no response.

This ruined the rest of our cruise and since returning home she has had to have follow up medical care; ultrasound for blood clotting, blood work, and an MRI with several doctor visits totally @ $4000.00. We filed a formal written complaint to Carnival hoping they would take care of medical bills and partially compensate us for loss of time on cruise. They responded by blowing us off claiming no liability for their recommended off shore excursion operators from whom they make a profit when you book on the ship.

I would never recommend Carnival to anyone, they did not care or show any concern or compassion for my wife after her injury. I did receive a call from the cruise director and he basically told me indirectly and off the record that I would probably have to sue them to get any compensation.

Carnival Cruise From Blankety Blank
By -

NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA -- This happened to us years ago, and I've been angry about it ever since. I know there's nothing I can do about it now, but wanted others' opinions on this - even if it's just to make me feel that I was justified in being angry. For our 10th wedding anniversary, my wife and I decided to go on a cruise and with the help of a travel agent, we settled on Carnival Cruise Lines "Celebration", sailing out of New Orleans, LA on Nov 7, 2000.

We arrived at the port in New Orleans in the early afternoon, only to find that it was jammed with people. The ship got into port late because of rough weather and they were still unloading and restocking the ship. After standing/sitting/leaning for about 4 hours, we were finally able to get aboard and go to our stateroom. Nice enough accommodations, even though our departure was going to be delayed because of how long it took for everyone to get aboard.

Our departure was further delayed by the captain's (or cruise line's) decision to wait for a group of 20 people from the MidWest whose flight was delayed. OK, I can understand this, I'd have been bummed too if we had missed the cruise. We finally got underway, and started down the Mississippi. It was unusually chilly and windy on the deck, and we hadn't brought warm clothes, so we stayed indoors.

Once out in the ocean, we experienced 17ft seas that had the ship 'shuddering' from time to time and the staff posted sickness bags to all of the elevator shafts. People were getting seasick everywhere. I spoke with someone at the purser's desk and they told me that there was a hurricane in the area, but that the captain had all of the latest weather equipment aboard and we'd reverse our direction if we had to to miss the storm. Several times the passengers were 'reassured' by the staff that we were going to miss the storm. Um, nope, we went right through it.

We arrived in Jamaica much later than anticipated and our tour of the falls in Och Rios was canceled due to lack of time. And in order to make it to the Grand Cayman's on time, we had very little time to do anything else in Jamaica. Once we got to the Grand Cayman's, the weather was bad enough that only one tether boat company was running (with three 50 passenger boats) and they were trying to service 4 cruise ships - two that were planned and two that stopped because of the bad weather. We elected not to go on the snorkeling excursion because of the weather, so we had now missed out on two excursions.

We kept telling each other that as long as we got to Cozumel, we could just make the best of things...well, that didn't work out so well either. Another ship that had docked in Cozumel had been slammed up against the dock, damaging the structure, and all of the passengers were being flown home. So we headed back to New Orleans a whole day in advance.

Now the worst of it... While we were aboard the boat, when it wasn't raining and windy, the crew was on deck sanding and refinishing the railings, etc, as the boat was to be dry-docked two weeks later and reassigned to Galveston, TX. The fumes and noise were so bad that we couldn't even sit on the deck the 1.5 days that it was nice enough to. The only area on the deck that you could have been comfortable on was blocked off. We were also asked to be out of our room for approximately 5 hours the one day so that they could rewire the electrical outlets in the room.

I went to the purser's desk again, expressed my displeasure with the whole cruise (politely), and was told that there was nothing they could do about it, I'd have to wait til I got to the States and call the main office number. I tried calling the customer service number, didn't get anywhere with the rep and asked to speak to someone higher up. A very self-righteous employee that was supposedly a manager got on the phone and told me that the best he could do was to offer me 10% off my next cruise. After all, the cruise line was 'gracious enough' to refund our port fee for Cozumel. Gracious? We didn't go there, so why should we be charged a port fee anyhow?

After several conversations with Customer Service employees/managers that told me the best they could do was 10% off my next cruise, I not-so-politely told them that my next cruise and those of any friends/family members would most certainly NOT be with Carnival. I understand they can't control the weather, but we were repeatedly told that we would sail around the storm and we didn't. And the inconvenience of the whole refurbishing of the boat while we were aboard was absolutely the last straw. Sorry to rant, but does anyone else feel I was justified in my anger at Carnival?

Top of Page | Next Page >

Carnival Cruise Line Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 14 ratings and
128 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Carnival Cruise Line
3655 NW 87th Ave.
Miami, FL 33178
1-800-929-6400 (ph)
Compare Cruise Ships