Preview Review

Next Review

Central Security Group Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Central Security Duplicitous Billing and Contract
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- I signed an agreement to receive home security with Central Security. The agreement was for two years. However, the problem is that after two years Central Security automatically renews your contract for an additional year and each year thereafter if you don't send them written notice to cancel.

I sold my home and attempted to cancel my service after the original two-year agreement but I was told that to pay remaining 10 months of the current year. Central Security never notified me that my contract was up and according to them they do not send out notices.

It is not fair to the customer to expect them to remember two years after the signing of an agreement that they must call to cancel the agreement. If the agreement was for two years it should be canceled after two years. I know of no other business where a customer signs a two-year contract that is automatically extended an additional year unless a customer cancels. Most contracts that are extended beyond the original two years are extended month to month.

At minimum, the company should be required to contact you to inform you that an agreement you signed two years ago is nearing completion and they should ask you if you would like to renew your contract. Central Security is involved in duplicitous billing and contract. Although the contract says, you must call to cancel doesn't make it fair or honest.

Company Response 06/21/2016:

Hi Anthony,

We are sorry to hear you're unsatisfied. If you would please send us a private message or email us at csgcares@centralsecuritygroup.com with your address and phone number we'll have someone from the CEO's office contact you directly.

Sincerely,
Central Security Group.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Compassion for Customers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LEAGUE CITY, TEXAS -- I have recently had major brain/ear surgery due to a tumor. I explained to the Customer Service representative that I need to get out of contract, or at least downgrade my service due to lack of income. I was told there's nothing that can be done and the contract I signed is the final answer. How was I supposed to know I am going to develop a brain tumor and not be able to work for the next 6 months.

I am unable to understand why a company of such good stature would beat a person when he's already down. I have talked to 3 people on the phone and everyone told me "I am not sure why you were even transferred to me, I can not help you in any way." I really had some high hopes for this company. It's sad that someone who's trying to recover from brain surgery has to go through something like this.

Company Response 02/09/2016:

Yuvi,

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention! I am so sorry to hear of your health condition, our thoughts and wishes are with you and your family. Our Leadership team welcomes the opportunity to learn about your experience and address your concerns.

At this time, we are having trouble locating you based on the information you have provided us so at your earliest convenience could you please email us at csgcares@centralsecuritygroup.com? Thank you for all your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you soon!

Thank you,
Central Security Group

Replies
Charges and no compassion
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- I got this service in February 2015 and had to move back home in New Mexico to care for my very ill mother. I informed the company of my situation and was told I would still be responsible for the monthly payment. I was told to offer the service to the new buyers of my home. I did and then I got the phone call on 11/2/2015 that the new buyers opted not to continue service with CSG and I was still responsible for the monthly payment. This company has no compassion for their clients and what a deceptive manner of making money. DO NOT do business with these crooks.

Company Response 11/19/2015:

Hi Christine,

I am so sorry to hear of your mother's health condition, and applaud you for being there in her time of need. The details of your review go far from the typical experience and quality of service that we aim to provide all of our customers. At this time we're having some trouble finding you in our system based on the notes you've provided in your review, so when you have a moment please email us your account info at csgcares@centralsecuritygroup.com so we can address all your concerns. Thank you and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thanks, Jimmy

Company Response 11/20/2015:

Hi Christine,

I really enjoyed speaking with you and happy that we were able to agree on a tentative solution. The CSG family sends our best wishes and hoping to hear good news next time we talk.

Thank You, Jimmy

Replies
Horrible Company, Their Business Practices Border on Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- This is a horrible company with no integrity. They ripped me off for $250 and continue to bill me even though they are fully aware that they do not monitor my alarm. When I tried to call to straighten it out, they hung up on me, put me on hold and never came back to my call several times, and then they told me the whole thing was straightened out and that they would let me out of the contract without charging me any more. Then, they made automatic withdrawal's from my account after the service was canceled. And now they have completely reversed what they told me and send me bills in the mail.

They offered to buy me out of my contract to get me to switch services then stuck me with a $250 bill. Instead, they continue to bill me and have threatened to put a judgment on my credit. I wish I was making this up but it is 100% true. As a former customer, my opinion is that this company has no integrity (kind of important for a security company) and has business practices that border on fraud. BEWARE! They have people selling this monitoring service all over the country, not just in Tulsa.

Resolution Update 09/25/2015:

We were able to resolve this situation.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Care and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- First, they initiated service and did not inform us of a city permit requirement. When we actually had an issue, they called at work and said they would send the police. After no further response from them, called back in 30 minutes. At that point, they informed us the police would not respond because we did not have a permit. Didn't even call back!

Then, when we changed service providers, they wouldn't cancel without an email. Gave a bad email address, twice, before we finally got a good one the third time. Then received a bill for the following month. When I called a talked to a supervisor, I was told, "Per section 1.4 of the contract, we had to notify them of termination 30 days in advance."

If you want to deal with them, be sure to read the "fine print" carefully. In addition, this contract was in my wife's name, before we got married. And after over two years of marriage, they still wouldn't change the name on the account!

Replies
Wrongful Charges and Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OKLAHOMA -- I'm writing this review to inform current and future customers and hold Central Security Group responsible for wrongful charges made to my credit card. And to describe the absolute horrible customer service we received when we tried to work out this situation.

First let me go ahead and explain what led to this whole unpleasant situation. I noticed and "FC" symbol flashing on my security system so to fix it I called in to CSG (Central Security Group) on Thursday June 27th 2013 and was told by a "scheduler" that she can send a technician to correct the problem on July 2nd 2013. When I asked the "scheduler" about the charges that I will need to pay I was informed that I was under warranty and that the ONLY reason I will be charged is if the "FC" was caused by a change in our telephone service.

For the past 3 years my telephone service has not been changed so I was led to believe that I will not be held responsible for any of the charges. On July 2nd 2013 a CSG technician came to our home and was able to fix the problem, when he was done I specifically asked him if I had to pay the fee associated with the repair and his answer was, "NO since you have not changed your provider you are covered." And then he added "IF for some reason they do charge you, they will CALL you in advance and let you know about the charges."

On July 5th 2013 my credit card statement showed a fee of $89.00 charged by CSG to my surprise. When I called in to customer service I was initially handled by a person in the financial dept but after I informed this person of this problem she refused to give me any solution to fix it instead she spoke to me like I have to just deal with the charges. After several minutes I was transferred to ** (Dept: System Support) who was completely rude to me and my son who tried to explain to him the situation. Over and over again he interrupted us and kept telling us that he can't help us in anyway.

When I asked to be transferred to the "scheduler" who created this mess ** refused to do so and said if we needed to get our money back we will have to file a dispute then he HUNG up on me. This is absolutely unacceptable that a person who is paid to help solve the consumers problems hang up on a loyal customer. After that rude and unnecessary gesture I called back and was transferred multiple times till I reached a person named ** who said he worked in the Tulsa office. Just like the previous calls we made he also said he was unable to help and that the "scheduler" and the technician misinformed me.

If I was misinformed, I am entitled to a refund because the entire situation was caused by these 2 individuals who did not know what they were saying. So instead of holding them responsible I am held responsible for their mistakes and now I'm left paying $89.00. Not only that, when I asked ** about filing the dispute he told me that even if I did file that dispute it would be rejected.

This is absolutely the worst customer service I have ever received from any company that I have dealt with. I was misinformed from the beginning, charged wrongfully, treated horribly and hung up on by the customer "service" workers. This place deserves NO STAR so consider the 1 I'm giving it a huge favor. Thank you.

Replies
Contract Up but Automatically Renews
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- Been a customer for 4+ years but we are moving so called to cancel. They said, "Dorry you still have 8 months on your contract." I said, "I have been a customer for 4+ years and know I have fulfilled my 2 yr obligation." He said "no your contract stated automatically renews for full yr every yr unless you send us something in writing." Terrible way to do business and slimy way to get more money out of customers. Would never do business with them again.

Replies
Security Monitoring in Austin
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- I was contacted by Jimmy on 11/19/2015 to discuss how the company would be able to assist with my circumstance. I was put at ease that someone with this company had the compassion to reach out and talk about solutions and/or listen to me. We did come to an agreement for the time being and will revisit my situation in three months. Jimmy, thank you for your call, your time and hope I can have positive communication in the near future.

Replies
Advertisement
Crooked/ Fraudulent Business Practice
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Automatic annual renewal clause that is still in effect from 6 years ago is a little outrageous and is on the crooked side of doing business. Especially, since there is no updated paperwork inform the customer about being automatically renewed. How can a company continuing to charge the customer the monthly fee for the next 7 months and not providing any type of service is beyond me.

Company Response 11/19/2015:

Dear Customer,

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We are very alarmed at what you are describing in your review as it is far from the typical experience.

The renewal clause you referenced in your review was put in place as a safeguard feature to protect our customers. This has become an industry wide safety practice that has been proven to protect homes and loved ones.

Our leadership team would like to take a moment to walk through your experience, get your feedback and address your concerns.

Would you email your account information to csgcares@centralsecuritygroup.com at your earliest convenience. We look forward to speaking with you?

Thank you,
Jimmy

Replies
CSG has been a real blessing for our family
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

TULSA -- My entire family and also my husband's office have had CSG alarm systems installed for several years and we have all been very happy. My husband has cameras installed that he can see through his cellphone and my mother also has the medical pendant which has already helped her when she fell. As far as price and service goes we are paying about 15 dollars less than we did with ADT and with CSG our price will never go up and as far as being renewed for a year after the 3 year agreement I looked at my old contract with ADT and it seems most security companies do that. It's normally standard.

Now I can't speak for the rest of the United States, but I have family in Tennessee and Kentucky who have CSG and everyone I know it is very pleased with their service. The equipment is great and I would recommend this system to anyone.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Central Security Group Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 12 ratings and
19 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Central Security Group
2448 E. 81st St. Suite 4300
Tulsa, OK 74137
888-642-4567 (ph)
www.centralsecuritygroup.com
Compare Miscellaneous Companies