Preview Review

Next Review

Choice Home Warranty

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 134 ratings and
151 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Choice Home Warranty
1090 King Georges Post Rd
Edison, NJ 08837
1-888-531-5403 (ph)
www.choicehomewarranty.com
Compare Warranty Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Dryer Repair. Disastrous. Buyer Beware
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- Our dryer between 5 & 6 years old stopped heating. Dryer ran perfectly just didn't heat. Dryer was in our master closet had never has a service call on it. Looked like new. We called Choice home warranty 12/25/2017. They sent a man out on 12/27/2017. He came from bowling property maintenance LLC. East Sparta Ohio. He did not know how to get into dryer so looking on my husband phone he started. He literally tore our dryer apart.

My husband was in the room with him when he broke an electrical clip off control panel wire harness. He stated he would take back to shop and fix. Finding he couldn't fix. He took other parts from dryer with him. Then called back and stated he would not be back. He sent a report to choice lying about the condition of our dryer. Stated the screws was missing, parts missing, dryer issue was not normal wear and tear. All lies.

In turn choice called and stated they would not pay to fix. When I looked the company up where the man came from his co. Description was lawn mowing, mulch, leaf removal, mulching, tree pruning, the list goes on. Outdoor things none of which are appliance repair. Choice sent him here... he walked in our home... tore our dryer up. I feel like we been robbed. Choice advertisements sound good but beware. They don't do what the advertisement says. I also don't think they know who or what they are sending into our homes. Beware.

Replies
Advertisement
Will Lie to Not Cover a Claim and Then Not Refund You the Full Amount!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- I just moved into a new house in June of 2017 and purchased a home warranty through Choice Home Warranty for peace of mind, even though everything checked out with the home inspection (I had to provide a copy of the report to Choice Home Warranty). At first, I was satisfied with the service; however, I had only had small, minor claims (e.g., broken shower arm, broken garage door opener) up until this month.

My grievance is with a claim for a broken furnace. Given that I know your Choice Home Warranty is very particular about making sure equipment is serviced, I scheduled an appointment with an HVAC company (Horizon Services) to perform a furnace tune-up.

On October 6, 2017, the Horizon technician examined the unit and discovered a crack in the heat exchange. The technician requested a second technician to come immediately to verify the crack. I was told that the Heil furnace, installed in 2000 by the previous homeowner, was now inoperable. I immediately called Choice Home Warranty to make a claim.

On October 10, 2017, their representative contractor, MW Service Company, came to inspect the unit. The technician, Rich, asked if I had paperwork from the company that identified the crack. I provided it to him and he stated, “I'll take their word for it this time because it's a Heil furnace. If they get older than 10 years old, they are junk.” The technician never actually examined the heat exchange.

On October 17, 2017, I received a message stating that I should call Choice Home Warranty regarding my claim. I spoke to a Senior Claims Specialist named Jessica. Verbatim, she stated, “The reason the heat exchanger cracked is poor or improper or incomplete insulation. Wait. That doesn't make sense. Let me check on that.” Jessica intended to put me on hold, but accidentally hung up. I immediately called back and reached Denise who told me she would transfer me to Jessica, but she didn't.

Next, I spoke to another Senior Claims Specialist named Elizabeth. She told me that Jessica was trying to contact the authorization department to check on the status of the claim. Elizabeth told me that “the reason for the crack was that the heat exchanger was not combusting properly due to surface rust” and that per the policy, issues involving rust are not covered. So, you can image my surprise that Choice Home Warranty is refusing to cover the unit due to rust in the heat exchange when your technician never looked at the heat exchange! The “surface rust” excuse is clearly a lie.

When I explained this to Elizabeth, I was told that I could pay to have an additional technician through Choice Home Warranty come out to “re-examine” the furnace and assess for rust. At this point, I asked to speak with a supervisor and was transferred to Greg. He stated that he could have another technician from a different company come out at no cost to determine the cause of the crack.

I decided not to have a second Choice Home Warranty affiliate company come out to examine the unit again. The employees showed the true colors of Choice Home Warranty by providing a fake excuse to get out of paying for an expensive replacement. This is not a company that I can support. I will not provide Choice Home Warranty with any more of my money so that they can go on ripping people off.

I sent a signed letter to Choice Home Warranty to cancel the policy as the contract states that it must be cancelled "in writing," and received an email stating that I had to call them to cancel the policy. So, after waiting on hold for 20 minutes I was told that even though I paid for 3.5 years coverage and only used 5 months of that, I would not be fully refunded for the unused portion... that I would only receive less than half of what I was owed. Choice Home Warranty is a scam and should be ashamed of the service it is providing.

Replies
Fraud, Lies and Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- It's a consistent battle to get anything you paid for. I was promised calls back every day for nine days. And every day, when I didn't get one, I called back in. They kept changing the accounts on the claims (first there was an issue the tech didn't know how to fix, then there was no issue at all. I guess the two feet of water in my garage was a mirage I made up because nothing makes me happier than wasting my precious time.) which isn't just lying: it's fraud.

Getting anyone on the line to help is impossible. When I said I wanted to cancel, they put me on hold for FORTY MINUTES. I hung up and called back and got someone right away so I knew it was on purpose to have that person tell me the department that handles that wasn't open and I had to call tomorrow. So you people put me on hold to wait for someone who was never coming? Are you kidding? Level of incompetence, intelligence, and ethics is zero. I will be paying my own way from now on. This is a scam and I am disappointed business like this are allowed to operate.

Replies
Choice Home Warranty Is a Complete Rip-Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- Do your homework before doing business with Choice Home Warranty. DON'T GET RIPPED OFF! They are NOT a member of the BBB for a reason. Even if they were a member their business practices are so disreputable they could not maintain their membership. They have been prosecuted by the Attorney General Consumer Affair division of States that found them guilty of various kinds of dishonest business practices. Their advertisements are also false and misleading.

For example, they promise to cover the repair or replacement of your appliances, but here is my experience: After needing to wait on the phone for around an hour each time I call, they offered to replace a $1200 cooktop for $150 and an $800 dishwasher for $175. And that is after you put the $65 per claim to diagnose the issue. The replacement cost they offer wouldn't even cover the cost of manufacturing.

I was also denied a claim for an A/C unit that went bad. They claimed it was bad from an improper install for a leak where it had been welded. They cover wear and tear, but not "improper install". I asked them if it was improperly welded then why would it have worked without leaking for an entire year? Sounds like wear and tear to me. They said I was free to get a second opinion on my own dime and that they would "consider it". Instead, I am filing a claim with my Attorney General's office.

I'm complaining to Google, Bing, Yahoo, and Facebook about their deceptive and misleading claims in advertising and untrustworthy business practices, because frankly their PPC advertising accounts should be suspended so they can't use these platforms to scam more people. And remember on Facebook they can delete your comments from their site, but they can't delete comments on their ads.

Do yourself a favor, look elsewhere. Don't allow get duped into taking your realtor's recommendation just because Choice Home Warranty is giving them a kickback. As a buyer make sure you specify a different home warranty in the RE contract. Choice Home Warranty the home warranty company you are looking for.

Replies
Advertisement
Awful Company-Run!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- Horrible company, stay away! I switched from One Guard to Choice because it was much cheaper—HUGE mistake! I am switching back to One Guard. Choice is a dirty company and I don't know how they are even still in business. They find some way to weasel out of paying any claims. We had One Guard for years and never had trouble with them—and they paid for a new oven, washer, A/C, etc. I wish I would have never left them. We had A/C issues after we switched to Choice, but Choice would not pay anything for it because they said we could not prove we had done annual maintenance to the unit.

On the other hand, One Guard repaired the SAME unit in the past (for a different issue), they never said a word about the fact that we didn't do annual maintenance. Our water heater went out after we switched to Choice and Choice refused to pay for a replacement because it had rust on it. I finally got fed up with Choice and decided to cancel and switch back to One Guard. Even the cancellation process demonstrated how far superior One Guard is to Choice.

I spent about 30 minutes on hold—a common occurrence at that company—and then had to argue with a guy on the phone for about 10 minutes after that to get them to cancel my policy. When the representative finally gave up on trying to get me to stay, he told me they would only give me back about half the money I should have been refunded because of fees and the cost of any services they did to our house! Which, I assume, must have simply been the cost of sending people out to tell us that they can't do anything for us—UNREAL!

When I canceled my One Guard policy (once again, big mistake), I simply sent them an email telling them what day the cancellation would be effective. They promptly sent me an email back confirming the cancellation and told me they were sorry I was leaving. Done. No hassle, no waiting on the phone for a half hour, no arguments, and they refunded ALL my prorated money back with no hassle. Choice may be the cheapest, but you would be better off with no home warranty company at all. Spend the extra money and go with One Guard.

Replies
Unprofessional
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- I placed an inquiry online. After reading the reviews (other than the ones from the company owned website) I decided not to use them. I made several requests to be removed from Robo Calls, Emails and Mail. I was hung up on 5 times after I asked to be removed from their calling list.

When I asked for a manager I was told the hold time was 13 minutes. I opted for a call back instead of waiting. The so-called manager who called me back had the same nasty attitude as the salespeople. I guess they are training in rudeness! The manager told me there was no guarantee I would be removed from the calling list, but wait 72 hours and "SEE"? I can't imagine actually paying these nasty people for service and having to file a claim!!! Buyer beware is an understatement with Choice Warranty. My advice: Choose to stay away!!!

Replies
Trying to Cancel Contract. Unable to Get Them to Send E-Mail Confirmation.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- This company showed up in my E-mail. Went on the site and just beginning to fill in my information, when my work phone rings. Chris a salesman starts his sales pitch and I tell him to give me a little time to talk with my wife. Got his phone and ext. No more than hang the phone up and Miles calls, same company, tells me he can give me a better deal than Chris.

Long story short I bought 1 year policy with understanding of 30 days to cancel with full refund. After I hang up I looked at Better Business. Bureau rating and see they have a very poor rating. Called them back right then and told them to cancel our policy, after very much hassle was told they would and were to send me E-mail confirmation which I have not received. Called them 7 times they lie every time. DO NOT DO ANY BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY!!!

Replies
Worst Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- Every time I call in and they send someone out I'm always told it is not covered. Once again they are not helping with the leaks in my plumbing system. I understand sewer breaks aren't covered but the actual leak I've reported to them they are once again denying. Same with the A/C unit having a leak and losing Freon and I have to pay for the $600 to put Freon back in and then told I need a new unit which they don't help cover.

We do the maintenance on our equipment and then told that proper maintenance wasn't done and deny my claim. We take good care of our stuff but never good enough to them to pay a claim. Same when my dryer went out they would not cover fixing and was told that if I buy a new one they would give me $100.00 which that's what I ended up doing. I switched to this company and it has been a nightmare with them ever since. Now I see why they have a C Rating and that's too good for this company. Their own service contractors they send to my house tell me they deny almost every claim so not a good standing with them either.

Replies
Advertisement
Ripped Off. Will Not Repair or Replace Due to "Lack of Maintenance". Just Purchased the House
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- Purchased house 8/2017 plan CHW 9/2017. First problem 12/2017, no heat. Tech repaired but too long time to get part as unit is 1998. Commented maintained well to still be running since most units at beach last 10 years. Had routine serviced on my own 12/20/2017. Commented may have problems in future due to a leak but okay for a while. 3/18/2018, no air. CHW sent tech. Again said in good shape for unit of that age. Several problems. Tech stated CHW will find a way not to repair or replace.

CHW refused to pay for repair or replace on 3/20/2018, same day tech sent in report. Called, complained, sent to resolution dept. SAME story about it not being maintained...SO, if one is buying a house, and CHW doesn't inspect the unit in question, HOW can they use the "maintained" excuse. It is not listed as an exclusion in the booklet they send.

Replies
Beware, They Will Deny Everything.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOUSTON TX, TEXAS -- We have continued to have poor experiences with this company. They deny most things, they send out incompetent service people, and their customer service is poor. We have now been waiting for 3 weeks to get our refrigerator fixed. The serviceman no showed, then didn't have the part, then after we waited two weeks to get the part, it turns out he had the wrong part. This is unacceptable and the CHW refuses to do anything to fix the problem.

Then when we had the hot water heater go out and flood the place, we had to get someone out right away. CHW could not come out quickly enough so we had someone come out and fix it and now CHW refuses to pay for it. Save yourself the stress and go with a more reputable company. Their abysmal star rating is deserved. Check out their BBB profile as well. There are a lot of complaints and disputes with this company.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >