Preview Review

Next Review

Choice Home Warranty

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 43 ratings and
60 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Choice Home Warranty
1090 King Georges Post Rd
Edison, NJ 08837
1-888-531-5403 (ph)
www.choicehomewarranty.com
Compare Warranty Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Claim Denied
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- I filed 2 claims on April 29, 2015, one for my broken front loading washer and the other for my oven. Let me just say they denied both, but the oven claim is where they really got creative. I was told that the technician reported that the control board of my oven went out. This caused the oven to malfunction while self-cleaning and catch fire. Get this they denied the claim based on the secondary fire (which is not covered) even though the technician reported the malfunctioned (brain).

After I complained enough they offered me $91 to replace the control board of a totaled oven that the firemen, had to break the glass and door to put the fire out on. The technician reported the stove as a total loss. So after arguing with them to no avail, I told them as soon as my claim was settled I would be cancelling my policy. I was told by Warmesha that even though I was paid for the entire month of May, if I canceled then on the 9th of May, not only would I not receive a prorated refund, they also would not honor the existing claim and send me the $91 check.

I argued that the claim/ incident happened during a time that I had coverage (April 27, 2015) and in fact I am still covered. They insisted that their policy stated that if I canceled they didn't have to honor my claim. So I said send me my check and then cancel my policy. Warmesha stated it didn't work like that, if I had any intention of cancelling, I would not be paid. Warmesha then stated that SHE was going to cancel my policy. I explicitly told her not to cancel, just send me the money ($91) for my claim and disconnected the call. This was 5/12/2015.

I called today 5/19/2015 to check the status of my claim and was informed that my policy had been canceled by WARMESHA at MY request. After speaking to Michael ID # ** I was told that my policy would not be reinstated and my claim would not be paid since I was no longer a customer of CHW. I requested a manager and got Jose ID# ** and was then told that they never should have offered me any compensation and he was rescinding that offer. He also stated that he would try to reinstate my policy. I declined that offer and instead asked for a refund of my May premium.

Jose stated that even though Warmesha canceled my policy against my will, they had not assessed me the $50 cancellation fee, if I insisted on a refund of the 3 unused weeks he would then apply the $50 cancellation fee. I then informed him again that this call as well as ALL previous calls regarding this claim was being recorded. He promptly hung up.

This company is a SCAM, they are in business to collect premiums ONLY. Their motto is “you get more and pay less,” the truth is you pay less and get NOTHING. Unfortunately, I didn't check online reviews BEFORE signing with the company. Do yourself a favor and check ALL reviews and complaints and GO WITH ANOTHER REPUTABLE company.

All the complaints are the same premium collected, claim DENIED. I am contacting the AG, the BBB and any other legal recourse possibly available to me. I am going to diligently try and get a class action lawsuit filed against this fraudulent company. I f I could give ZERO stars I would, unfortunately like everything about this company you have to give them something.

Replies
Advertisement
First Home...First Experience With Home Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

All I can do is laugh, only because I should have read all of these reviews before choosing Choice Home Warranty. I have now done plenty of research and have seen pending government action them in New Jersey through the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs and a NBC news story in Chicago highlighting very disturbing and consistently bad service and business practices provided by Choice Home Warranty. My wife and I are one month into our first house together and Choice Home Warranty was our first home warranty company. The compressor in AC unit have stopped working due to wiring issues.

I believe they were melted at the connecting point. So we call to make the claim and CHW sends a company out that does a great job and fixes the issue with no problems. All it took was a new replacing that set of wires with a new set apparently. A $75 claim after the $60 service call we have with our "premium plan". I get a call from our service company saying the CHW has denied our $75 claim on the basis that it was a "pre-existing issue". I'm confused. How the hell do you know this is a pre-existing issue if no one has ever serviced this unit before? And by that logic you could possibly say that any issue we have moving forward was a "pre-existing issue".

After reading all of these poor reviews and stories, it seems that Choice Home Warranty makes a habit of using this "pre-existing" claim consistently to get out of covering services that are the WHOLE POINT OF HAVING HOME WARRANTY! I laughed again at this though because I figured that they would at least buy us a cheap drink before they tried to screw us! This was our first claim with them and it was for $75! If you're not going to cover a simple $75 claim, what on earth would give us ANY confidence going forward for you to cover ANYTHING ELSE down the road which basically makes you WORTHLESS!

I called this morning to cancel our contract with Choice Home Warranty with every intent to let them know how disappointed we were with their decision to decline our first claim and try to get a better understanding of their reasoning. I get transferred to the cancellation team, which is usually the team at most REPUTABLE companies that wants to know why you are canceling and will want to figure out if there is a way to not lose you as a consumer.

This is the moment that all consumers use to air their grievances and give feedback on why we no longer want to use your services in hopes that the company will fix the issue, maybe make a note of the issue, or at the VERY LEAST listen to the issue. NOT WITH CHOICE HOME WARRANTY. They stayed consistent with every other bad business decision and proceeded to cancel my policy with not one question being asked about why I was canceling our policy FOUR days into it becoming active and told me I'd be charged a prorated fee of $33 for the month (which seemed high for four days of coverage) and an administrative fee of $50.

It's sad to say but after he told me that I actually felt I was getting the better end of the deal only having to pay $83 to never have to deal with them again! Haha. They also said I would be getting $321 credited back to my account for our deposit. I fully expect for them to stay consistent with their business practices, which means I will most likely have to call them a couple more times to receive my money back. Hopefully they prove me wrong. We are very fortunate and lucky that our first problem at our house was a very small and inexpensive one.

I really feel bad for all of the other people on here and off that have had to go through this experience with much more expensive repairs. It's not right and can really change a family's fortunes for the worse, which is the exact opposite of what a home warranty is supposed to do. There are plenty more stories like this with Choice Home Warranty and you won't have to search too far in Google to find them...

Replies
Will not fix my A/C unit
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, FLORIDA -- On October 10, 2015 I filed a claim for my air conditioner not cooling. On October 16, at approximately 830 pm Burgess A/C Sales and Service came to my house. He was very nice, stayed until my unit was cooling, he made every effort to complete the job. I would recommend this company for service.

He replaced a blower cap, and stated there was no Freon in the unit. The unit had a leak in the evaporator cooling coil. He would need to get approval to put Freon in the unit and he would need approval to replace the evaporator cooling coil. He also stated that it would be expensive to do this because it was R-22 Freon and the unit would need to be converted to the new type of Freon. He suggested for the unit to be replaced because it was not economical to repair the coil.

We both tried to contact the service department at 1-888-531-5403 and did not get an answer. The Warranty Agreement states 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. He put 3 lbs. of Freon in the unit and I paid an additional 130 dollars. He stated it would leak out; and this was a temporary fix; just to get the unit cooling until the repair was approved.

I called, spoke with Jennifer on Monday October 19, 2015, and she stated he had not submitted the diagnosis. I called back Wednesday October 21, and spoke with Karina, she also stated he had not submitted a diagnosis but had been approved for the blower cap and Freon. I told her I paid for the Freon and wanted to be reimbursed. I asked her to call him while I was on the phone to resolve this matter. She called him on the phone and stated he only said the blower cap needed to be replaced, and that he had put Freon in the unit.

I called on Thursday October 22, and spoke with Sue; she was very rude she made several statements: They were not going to fix my unit, they did not have any information on the coil, first lie, that if I didn't stop arguing with her she would just cancel my account, she had the right to cancel it anytime she wanted, (second lie) that the unit was fixed and if it stop cooling I could call them back. When I started question her about what she knew about A/C she stated: "Are you sitting in a hot house? We are not going to fix anything else." It was only 3 lbs. of Freon (that means it was empty, duhhh).

When I asked to speak to a manager she said, "I am the manager." When I asked to speak to her boss she sent me to the cancellation department and I spoke with Aaron. When I tried to explain what I was angry about he told me he wasn't finished talking and to be quiet. I explain: that being from the south as I was, and apparently he was from the north and didn't respect women, that when a woman is speaking the respectful thing to do is stop talking until she is finished. I AM THE CUSTOMER. I PAY their salary… I am not happy with the service, my A/C unit is not fixed and I want it fixed, as promised in the advertisement.

STATEMENT I heard while on hold waiting on him to get on the phone: Regardless of the age of your appliance, no home inspection is required; we take the worry out of home warranty. I called and spoke with Mr. Burgess. He was told by the service department that he was not approved to put in the Freon and should not have done it. When he asked what should he have done he was told he should have got into his vehicle and drove away. The gentleman he spoke with told him to give me the check back to the customer; he stated he had already deposited the check.

He also stated he told the company the coil was leaking. They said they were not going to approve it to be replaced or fixed. I just called the sales department for Choice Home Warranty as a new customer: I asked “What exactly is cover under your warranty?" He gave me a list of items. I asked, "So if my refrigerator goes out?" He said “It cover all components." I said, "And my a/c, it is 12 years old. What if it goes out and can't be fixed?" He said “Well with that age we would replace it with a brand new make and model with the most comparable unit on the market. It covers; compressor, condenser, cooling coil, all major components, at that age a new A/C.”

False advertisement... Lie to get people to buy the product and then not follow through when they try to make a claim. Since that last call with Mr. Burgess I have had several conversations and emails concerning my repair. I have had the same rude conversations with the service department, have been treated very disrespectful.

I received an email Friday that a company called Gulf Breeze Mech. LLC was going to come look at it. I set up an appointment with this man for Monday, explained what the issues were. And he stated that Choice Home Warranty Company have been very difficult to work with concerning air conditioning units that the coil was leaking on. They did not want to fix them or replace them and he had to jump through a lot of loops to satisfy what they required, that they might just deny the repair, they had over the summer with him and he had calls of upset clients.

Saturday I was email, he declined to come because it was 2 hours away and out of his service area. I spoke with the gentleman and he stated Choice is the one that called him to cancel. They were going to get Burgess AC Sales and Service to fix it and they did not want to pay him the additional millage, no more than 25 miles. It is 32 miles and takes 40 minutes to get to my house.

Again lies… so either there are two service people who your company has hired to fix my unit that have lied, or your service department has been taught to lie to the customers... Burgess has not been assigned to fix the unit, I have not heard from anyone as to when my unit will be looked at or repaired.

Replies
Scammers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY, FLORIDA -- Please DO NOT BUY CHOICE HOME WARRANTY!! This is one of the biggest and more legit scam out there, and is so easy to fall for it. These people will be stealing your money month after month. This company's main claim and promise is to sell you their insurance. Then after 30 days after you became one of their member, if any of your appliances in your home has a failure such as refrigerators, washer machines, cooktops, garage doors, water heaters, air conditioning units and many others, they will pay for the full repair or the replacement of the unit if there is no repair available except for a small 45 dollars amount which has to come out of your pocket.

Well, after been a member with them for almost 4 years, I was able to find out that this company is a big scam and I found out the hard way - taking my money and yours too again and again. And when it's time to take care of you, there is a big hand with a huge index finger which comes out from this company's phone system who says "NO, NO, NO. We are not fixing or replacing your faulty unit, and thank you very much for all your money very well sent to us." Let me explain. About 3 days ago my beautiful glass cooktop went out of business. 3 of its burners are inoperable, and I said not a problem. Went called the scammers and opened a claim.

Well there was no problem with that. After they opened the fake claim, and after two days waiting time, they sent me a technician. As soon as I opened the door the technician asked me for a 45 dollars cash or check up front. All this happened even before the technician got inside my kitchen where my cooktop resides. "No problem" I said. I paid the 45 dollars to the technician which by the way is a legit South Florida Appliances Repair Company. The technician didn't even diagnosed the cooktop. He just asked me what was wrong with the unit, and I explained him that 3 of the 4 burners went out.

Then he just concluded that the cooktop was out of business and needed to be fully replaced. He advised me that he was going to contact CHOICE HOME WARRANTY and tell them what was going on, and then arrange how to proceed. Well, the next day I was contacted by the technician. Only this time to give me the bad news that CHOICE HOME WARRANTY was not going to cover for the fix or for the replacement and to please contact them so they could explain me. I then contacted them immediately in which I was transferred to the claims department.

I spoke to a supposedly Supervisor in which he proceeded to tell me that CHOICE HOME WARRANTY was not going to cover my unit because my cooktop failure was a pre-existing condition. I said “What?” I thought for a moment that I got confused when I purchased the insurance. Instead of buying an appliance insurance coverage I bought a health insurance for myself. I then told them that I never reported a failure of any kind in regards to this cooktop or any appliances in my house, and they insisted that this was a pre-existing condition. I kept explaining that this was a 3-year-old cooktop and never had a problem before.

And I never had contacted CHOICE HOME WARRANTY for any repair in my house. Then for a few moment, my mind played a trick on me, and I thought for a moment that this people was spying or placed a bug in all my appliances, but specifically inside my cooktop via Wi-Fi. And I said, "I am stupid but not that stupid," then to quickly realize that this is a huge scam. So final answer from the so called “Appliance CHOICE HOME WARRANTY Supervisor”, “No, this is a pre-existing condition and the company will not pay.” How about that?

I encourage you NOT to buy a fake warranty policy from this Scam Company. You will lose your money like I did for all these years. I also encourage you to spread this message as much as possible on Facebook and every other social media network out there to prevent casualties like me to get scammed the way got scammed. So please help me out to pass this around and share it on your wall. Thank you. Best regards.

Replies
Advertisement
Deceptive Crooks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON -- Choice Home Warranty is a TOTAL RIPOFF... I have first hand knowledge of many claims they screwed their customers on. We were forced to discontinue our relationship with Choice so we could "sleep at night." We as a contractor, saw a terrific amount of lies and denials of repairs that were well within warranty guidelines... We are a 45-year-old family owned and operated business for 46 years and NEVER have we seen such blatant ripoffs!!! Oh and these clowns hardly ever pay their service contractors should they honor a claim.

Replies
Worst Home Warranty Company I Have Ever Used
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GRAPEVINE, TEXAS -- My first claim to Choice was for a blocked sewer line. The toilet was backing up into the tub. The plumber assigned was Ajax Plumbing who could not come out for 5 days. I called to see if I could get someone sooner and was told no one could come sooner. Ajax missed the first appointment and set another one 2 days later.

One week after I reported sewage sitting in my tub, Ajax came out and said they couldn't clear the line. They wanted to use a camera to see what was clogging it and dig up my front yard. I called Choice and complained and complained. They finally gave me permission to use my own plumber who came out the next day and used the outside cleanout to clear the line in 15 minutes.

My next claim was the washer drain. Because the sewage sat in the line for a week, it had backed up into the washer drain and I could not use my washer. My first call to Choice I was told it was not covered. My second call I was told it was and I was given permission to use my own plumber. Again he cleared it the next day in an hour. After 2 weeks of asking about my claim, I finally had to fax it to the claims department and was then told the $60 claim was not covered because there was no outside cleanout on the washer drain. Since the plumber charged a standard service call fee, I didn't understand why it mattered how the drain was cleared.

The manager over claims told me her job was to enforce the policy and it was suspicious I was calling again in such a short time for another blockage problem. It's obvious Choice Home warranty isn't a company that wants to repair anything. They want to collect a yearly policy and get out of paying anything for repair services. The plumber they sent out knew the system was to get the homeowner to pay through the nose for something a good plumber could do in minutes. NEVER USE THIS COMPANY!

Replies
Deceptive Practices - DO NOT BUY.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISION, NEW JERSEY -- Have been a homeowner for over 20 years and have had home warranty coverage for over 10 with 5 different vendors - by far this is the WORST HOME WARRANTY COMPANY. Here are some of the reasons:

1 - Contract riddled with exclusions - Did you know CHW will not replace your water heater, they will not pay for wire trace and most of their contractors don't even show up. I had an incident over Christmas break with some of the lights not working, CHW assigned a contractor and when I called to schedule he clearly stated he doesn't service my area and won't be available for 5+ days, they have a lot of fine print.

2 - When I enrolled I was told there would be no cancellation fee, which is true but CHW charges you a $50 processing fee once you decide to cancel.

3 - I had 5 accounts with them and called to cancel 3 of them, 1 was already expired and another one expiring in 2 months. CHW insisted that they need to cancel the one that was expiring in 2 months and I would not be given a refund because of the $50 processing fee.

4 - When I did call to cancel CHW Customer Service (which was an absolute joke) stated that I and CHW have to come to a mutual agreement as to why I should cancel and it's written in the contract - Can you believe that farse!!

5 - When contractors are unavailable CHW does state that we can hire a contractor and have them call the help line to get authorization. I followed procedure to the bone - waited 60 days and the check still isn't here. When I cancelled CHW stated that they will stop processing of the check and I am ineligible for the $120 claim that I filed.

6 - All in all I am out $270 just because I cancelled the policies.

I DO NOT RECOMMEND GOING WITH CHW EVER. I have used 4 other companies in the past and by far CHW is the worst, would have given them a 0 star if possible.

Replies
Beware -- Company Has a Judgement Against Them by the NJ OAG
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- Stay away from this company. A judgment was recently brought against them by the Attorney General of NJ for unethical behavior. My AC quit cooling this summer. Choice sent out a tech on a Friday who said the compressor went out. On Tuesday, he calls me to tell me that the claim was denied. I called Choice to find out why they denied the claim. They said they didn't deny the claim -- the tech hadn't sent the report in yet, which was a total lie (it's an electronic submission through an iPad app which was done at my house). If he hadn't turned in the report, how could he know the claim was denied??

Long story short, Choice left me without AC for a week (in the Texas summer) -- keeping with their story about the tech not sending in the report. They finally told me my claim was denied (didn't see that one coming) stating a compressor can only fail for a few reasons -- improper maintenance, lightning strike, power surge, etc. None of those are covered under their policy. In other words, your compressor goes out, they always have a way to get out of fixing it.

The technician told me he wrote on the report that compressors are electric components and can fail at anytime for many reasons and it wasn't caused by improper maintenance. He wanted my AC fixed and wrote the report as best he could to get it approved.

As I mentioned, they have a judgment against them per the Attorney General's office. I submitted a dispute with them and the BBB of NJ. Choice finally agreed to refund the cost of my warranty ($400 is cheaper than $2000) but when I called to get my refund, they sent me papers I had to sign and get notarized stating I won't say anything negative about their company and if contacted by 3rd parties, I have to say the dispute was handled satisfactorily. So, they screw me out of a promised repair, and I have to be quiet? I refused their refund. Beware. This is a very unscrupulous company using scare tactics (notarized agreements) to silence people they've screwed over.

Replies
Advertisement
This Company Is a Total Scam!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, NEW YORK -- I never review things because I don't have the time. But this company is a total scam. Stay away. My house is 15 years old and things were starting to wear down. My daughter had a great experience with American Home Warranty when she purchased her house and I figured I would try it too but AHW does not service my zip code so I thought I would try this. They were nice on the phone. You have to pay up front for a year which was over $500 with the options I wanted to add. I was a little hesitant but they said "don't worry. You can always cancel and get your money back."

Then I made my first claim. My washer was leaking water. Guess what? The seal on the front door is not covered by them. I said, "I want my money back. This is ridiculous." So they said they'll work something out. They paid $100 of the $400 job to fix my washer and did not charge me a service fee. Then about a month later I made 2 claims. 3 out of 4 burners on my stovetop weren't lighting without a match and the ice machine was not working on my very expensive sub zero refrigerator.

I call them and they say guess what - ice machine is not covered. Also they won't cover my stove top because this was a pre-existing condition. The burners just stopped working so why is that pre-existing? Because it happens over time. And it's 15 years old so it must have been going bad before I purchased the policy. Are you kidding me? This policy is supposed to cover old appliances. They don't even come to check out your appliances before they cover you. Every appliance starts breaking as soon as you start using it. So basically they cover nothing. A million exclusions in the fine print. Totally not worth it.

They were nasty on the phone and when I canceled the policy after 3 months they would only refund me $90 of the $500 because they charge a $50 cancellation fee. They charged me for $50 of each month and then they charged me for the coverage of the washing machine which I paid for. Once you cancel you cannot get through to them. I am fuming! Stay away! I wish the Better Business Bureau would get after them and close them down before other people get sucked into this scam.

Replies
Deceptive Trade Practices
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- I entered into a home warranty coverage plan with Choice Home Warranty on 08/19/2015. At the time that I entered into the coverage plan, I was told by Adam ** that the plan would go into effect in 15 days due to having an existing plan. At that time my current plan with American Residential Warranty was in effect. I was not told that I needed to cancel the policy immediately. In fact I was told to leave it in place until the new contract went into effect with Choice Home Warranty.

I called on 09/17 to submit a claim on an A/C unit that failed and was told that my contract was not in effect until 09/19/2015. I explained the above and was told that I would need to provide proof of coverage under the American Residential Warranty plan at the time that I signed up for the Choice Home Warranty plan. I had purposely not paid the American Residential Warranty plan for August due to the new Choice Home Warranty plan. American Residential Warranty would not send me a copy of my contract until I made August which I did in order to obtain proof of coverage at the time I signed up for Choice Home Warranty.

When I sent the proof of coverage in I was then denied coverage with Choice Home Warranty due to not terminating my contract with American Residential Warranty at the time of the A/C failure. This is a complete double standard. They required me have existing coverage then denied due not having cancelled my coverage prior to the failure of our A/C.

When I called back a fourth time that supervisor told me that all I needed was proof that the contract was in place at the time that I signed with Choice Home Warranty. Then I was told that I needed to show a bank statement showing payment for August. When I stated that I could do that I was told it wouldn't matter due to the failure being previous condition. Even though the equipment failed on 09/16 and the policy should have gone into effect on 09/14. This company is nothing but a bunch of crooks practicing the bait and switch routine at every opportunity.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >