Choice Home Warranty

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 34 ratings and
51 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Choice Home Warranty
1090 King Georges Post Rd
Edison, NJ 08837
1-888-531-5403 (ph)
Compare Warranty Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Beware of Choice Home Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EVERSON, NEW JERSEY -- I have had nothing but problems with Choice Warranty. I bought a 3 year contract from them, as it seemed like great value. It apparently is not, and CHW is not a company that is ethical or keeps their word. Firstly they do not replace with a new item like specified. They offer you a buyout and you cannot buy a new item with the stupid amounts they offer. They offered me $250 for a new dishwasher. I said "I could not get a new dishwasher for $250" and they said "Sears outlet stores have them for that." Well no they did not. And including tax and delivery installation it was going to cost me double their buyout.

Including also, I had paid the $45 service fee, to be told it was broken beyond repair. When I said I would buy a secondhand one, they said they would only cover a new one. When I said it was going to cost me $130 to cover installation and delivery, they said they do not cover that although they do state that they do. This is the third time they said they would do a buyout. The other two times they said they would send me $200 (in six weeks) to cover repairs and it was cheaper for me to go and purchase a good second-hand one and I cannot get a clear answer on if the second-hand ones are covered.

When I wanted to cancel the policy, they said they would take off the full amount the policy would cost up to the time I cancelled (not the discounted amount I paid), so if it cost me $30 per month I had used, they were going to take off the full $42 per month I had used. Then to top it off, they were going to take off any money that they had paid for repairs or buyouts for the months I used even though they were keeping my money for the months I had used already. They are deceptive, they find ways to fight you for everything, they have bad customer service and they lie.

They have reviews on their website which they offer you free months for, however the two reviews they asked me to write, which were negative, were not put up on the site. They are selective of what they do put up on their website. I told Choice "You should be ashamed of yourselves, your service sucks, and you do not do what you promise to do". BE WARNED, CHOICE IS A HORRIBLE HOME WARRANTY COMPANY AND NOT WORTH THE MONEY YOU PAY INTO IT! Apparently you have to give a minimum rating of one star, I would rate them 0 stars.

Deceptive Crooks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON -- Choice Home Warranty is a TOTAL RIPOFF... I have first hand knowledge of many claims they screwed their customers on. We were forced to discontinue our relationship with Choice so we could "sleep at night." We as a contractor, saw a terrific amount of lies and denials of repairs that were well within warranty guidelines... We are a 45-year-old family owned and operated business for 46 years and NEVER have we seen such blatant ripoffs!!! Oh and these clowns hardly ever pay their service contractors should they honor a claim.

Buyer Beware
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- I have had Choice Home Warranty for 3 years now. I have been relatively happy until now. Previously, there had been a couple of bumps, but I had felt that they made good on it. Recently, however, I feel they dropped the ball and did so in a BIG, BIG way. It's a longish story, but necessary to understand.

I made my claim and was contacted right away with a service representative. I had a hard time contacting the service rep - every time I called, I never got an answer or voice mail. Finally, the representative contacted me and we made an appointment. He then no-showed. Choice Home Warranty called the original "preferred provider" to find out what happened. The "preferred provider" then contacted me. He forgot about our appointment. He wanted to set up another appointment in a few days.

I called Choice Home Warranty, they apologized and gave me the name of new service representative. Again, I could not get a hold of the representative. The representative finally called me and told me that he would be at my house the next day in the 1-4 pm window. I told the representative I had another appointment, and I could not be there until 2 at the earliest and 2:30 would be more reasonable. The representative just told me that he would call and see if I was there, but my window was 1-4 tomorrow. He would not set up another day or time. He showed up at 3:30.

When the representative showed up, he had no tools. How are you going to fix an appliance (built in microwave) with NO tools? Before he even stepped foot into my kitchen, he offered to turn it in as non-fixable if I wanted. This is point one: what kind of service reps does Choice Home Warranty contract with? These are the people coming into your home! They are not reliable or trustworthy. The service representative was not happy when I stated I wanted it fixed. He then got a screwdriver and a drill. He removed the microwave and began to leave with it.

When I questioned it (remember, he has already proved to be "iffy"), he then said he would need to look at it at the warehouse. I objected. I didn't want wires hanging out of my cabinet for 1-2 weeks, especially with small children, and I didn't trust the guy. I didn't know if I would ever see the microwave again. The service representative threw a fit. Looked at the microwave, said he needed to order parts and would contact me in 5-8 business days to make the repairs.

3 business days later, I received a phone call from Choice Home Warranty saying the representative said that the repairs weren't worth the cost of the microwave. It was going to cost about $200 to repair and the microwave wasn't worth that. Choice Home Warranty offered me a buyout of $205. While on the phone with Choice Home Warranty, I looked up the cost of my microwave - $969, $899 at Sears (the lowest price). I told them that $205 wasn't acceptable and why. The representative on the phone agreed and said he would pass me on to someone with more authority.

The someone "with more authority" said, basically: Too bad, so sad. That I didn't need to have a stainless steel, built-in microwave with features (that needed repair), I could buy a basic, counter-top microwave that wasn't stainless steel and had no features instead for $200-$300. That's what they are priced wholesale. I'm a consumer, I can't buy wholesale. I kept complaining, so he upped the price to $250 to cover my service fee.

Choice Home Warranty says (straight from their website): "CHW will replace your unit with a similar or like feature model, or even send you a check to buy a new item!" as their advertising pitch. The contract states: "We are responsible for installing replacement equipment of similar features, capacity, and efficiency." $205 is only 10% of what the SIMILAR or LIKE FEATURE or SIMILAR FEATURES, CAPACITY, and EFFICIENCY model would cost. The person "with more authority" claims they don't have to match features, just wattage. Not according to their contract.

I don't expect a full replacement fee on a 6 year old microwave for a brand new one, but more than 10%. I would expect at minimum 50% and probably closer to 75%. I do have friends with different companies that get 90-100%! Here is point two: Choice Home Warranty does not honor their agreements. I've tried contacting Choice Home Warranty several times (phone, online form, email), but they won't work with me to solve the problem. And it was a darn good thing I did not let the guy take my microwave because then I'd really be out of luck.

Will not fix my A/C unit
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, FLORIDA -- On October 10, 2015 I filed a claim for my air conditioner not cooling. On October 16, at approximately 830 pm Burgess A/C Sales and Service came to my house. He was very nice, stayed until my unit was cooling, he made every effort to complete the job. I would recommend this company for service.

He replaced a blower cap, and stated there was no Freon in the unit. The unit had a leak in the evaporator cooling coil. He would need to get approval to put Freon in the unit and he would need approval to replace the evaporator cooling coil. He also stated that it would be expensive to do this because it was R-22 Freon and the unit would need to be converted to the new type of Freon. He suggested for the unit to be replaced because it was not economical to repair the coil.

We both tried to contact the service department at 1-888-531-5403 and did not get an answer. The Warranty Agreement states 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. He put 3 lbs. of Freon in the unit and I paid an additional 130 dollars. He stated it would leak out; and this was a temporary fix; just to get the unit cooling until the repair was approved.

I called, spoke with Jennifer on Monday October 19, 2015, and she stated he had not submitted the diagnosis. I called back Wednesday October 21, and spoke with Karina, she also stated he had not submitted a diagnosis but had been approved for the blower cap and Freon. I told her I paid for the Freon and wanted to be reimbursed. I asked her to call him while I was on the phone to resolve this matter. She called him on the phone and stated he only said the blower cap needed to be replaced, and that he had put Freon in the unit.

I called on Thursday October 22, and spoke with Sue; she was very rude she made several statements: They were not going to fix my unit, they did not have any information on the coil, first lie, that if I didn't stop arguing with her she would just cancel my account, she had the right to cancel it anytime she wanted, (second lie) that the unit was fixed and if it stop cooling I could call them back. When I started question her about what she knew about A/C she stated: "Are you sitting in a hot house? We are not going to fix anything else." It was only 3 lbs. of Freon (that means it was empty, duhhh).

When I asked to speak to a manager she said, "I am the manager." When I asked to speak to her boss she sent me to the cancellation department and I spoke with Aaron. When I tried to explain what I was angry about he told me he wasn't finished talking and to be quiet. I explain: that being from the south as I was, and apparently he was from the north and didn't respect women, that when a woman is speaking the respectful thing to do is stop talking until she is finished. I AM THE CUSTOMER. I PAY their salary… I am not happy with the service, my A/C unit is not fixed and I want it fixed, as promised in the advertisement.

STATEMENT I heard while on hold waiting on him to get on the phone: Regardless of the age of your appliance, no home inspection is required; we take the worry out of home warranty. I called and spoke with Mr. Burgess. He was told by the service department that he was not approved to put in the Freon and should not have done it. When he asked what should he have done he was told he should have got into his vehicle and drove away. The gentleman he spoke with told him to give me the check back to the customer; he stated he had already deposited the check.

He also stated he told the company the coil was leaking. They said they were not going to approve it to be replaced or fixed. I just called the sales department for Choice Home Warranty as a new customer: I asked “What exactly is cover under your warranty?" He gave me a list of items. I asked, "So if my refrigerator goes out?" He said “It cover all components." I said, "And my a/c, it is 12 years old. What if it goes out and can't be fixed?" He said “Well with that age we would replace it with a brand new make and model with the most comparable unit on the market. It covers; compressor, condenser, cooling coil, all major components, at that age a new A/C.”

False advertisement... Lie to get people to buy the product and then not follow through when they try to make a claim. Since that last call with Mr. Burgess I have had several conversations and emails concerning my repair. I have had the same rude conversations with the service department, have been treated very disrespectful.

I received an email Friday that a company called Gulf Breeze Mech. LLC was going to come look at it. I set up an appointment with this man for Monday, explained what the issues were. And he stated that Choice Home Warranty Company have been very difficult to work with concerning air conditioning units that the coil was leaking on. They did not want to fix them or replace them and he had to jump through a lot of loops to satisfy what they required, that they might just deny the repair, they had over the summer with him and he had calls of upset clients.

Saturday I was email, he declined to come because it was 2 hours away and out of his service area. I spoke with the gentleman and he stated Choice is the one that called him to cancel. They were going to get Burgess AC Sales and Service to fix it and they did not want to pay him the additional millage, no more than 25 miles. It is 32 miles and takes 40 minutes to get to my house.

Again lies… so either there are two service people who your company has hired to fix my unit that have lied, or your service department has been taught to lie to the customers... Burgess has not been assigned to fix the unit, I have not heard from anyone as to when my unit will be looked at or repaired.

Claim Denied
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- I filed 2 claims on April 29, 2015, one for my broken front loading washer and the other for my oven. Let me just say they denied both, but the oven claim is where they really got creative. I was told that the technician reported that the control board of my oven went out. This caused the oven to malfunction while self-cleaning and catch fire. Get this they denied the claim based on the secondary fire (which is not covered) even though the technician reported the malfunctioned (brain).

After I complained enough they offered me $91 to replace the control board of a totaled oven that the firemen, had to break the glass and door to put the fire out on. The technician reported the stove as a total loss. So after arguing with them to no avail, I told them as soon as my claim was settled I would be cancelling my policy. I was told by Warmesha that even though I was paid for the entire month of May, if I canceled then on the 9th of May, not only would I not receive a prorated refund, they also would not honor the existing claim and send me the $91 check.

I argued that the claim/ incident happened during a time that I had coverage (April 27, 2015) and in fact I am still covered. They insisted that their policy stated that if I canceled they didn't have to honor my claim. So I said send me my check and then cancel my policy. Warmesha stated it didn't work like that, if I had any intention of cancelling, I would not be paid. Warmesha then stated that SHE was going to cancel my policy. I explicitly told her not to cancel, just send me the money ($91) for my claim and disconnected the call. This was 5/12/2015.

I called today 5/19/2015 to check the status of my claim and was informed that my policy had been canceled by WARMESHA at MY request. After speaking to Michael ID # ** I was told that my policy would not be reinstated and my claim would not be paid since I was no longer a customer of CHW. I requested a manager and got Jose ID# ** and was then told that they never should have offered me any compensation and he was rescinding that offer. He also stated that he would try to reinstate my policy. I declined that offer and instead asked for a refund of my May premium.

Jose stated that even though Warmesha canceled my policy against my will, they had not assessed me the $50 cancellation fee, if I insisted on a refund of the 3 unused weeks he would then apply the $50 cancellation fee. I then informed him again that this call as well as ALL previous calls regarding this claim was being recorded. He promptly hung up.

This company is a SCAM, they are in business to collect premiums ONLY. Their motto is “you get more and pay less,” the truth is you pay less and get NOTHING. Unfortunately, I didn't check online reviews BEFORE signing with the company. Do yourself a favor and check ALL reviews and complaints and GO WITH ANOTHER REPUTABLE company.

All the complaints are the same premium collected, claim DENIED. I am contacting the AG, the BBB and any other legal recourse possibly available to me. I am going to diligently try and get a class action lawsuit filed against this fraudulent company. I f I could give ZERO stars I would, unfortunately like everything about this company you have to give them something.

First Home...First Experience With Home Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

All I can do is laugh, only because I should have read all of these reviews before choosing Choice Home Warranty. I have now done plenty of research and have seen pending government action them in New Jersey through the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs and a NBC news story in Chicago highlighting very disturbing and consistently bad service and business practices provided by Choice Home Warranty. My wife and I are one month into our first house together and Choice Home Warranty was our first home warranty company. The compressor in AC unit have stopped working due to wiring issues.

I believe they were melted at the connecting point. So we call to make the claim and CHW sends a company out that does a great job and fixes the issue with no problems. All it took was a new replacing that set of wires with a new set apparently. A $75 claim after the $60 service call we have with our "premium plan". I get a call from our service company saying the CHW has denied our $75 claim on the basis that it was a "pre-existing issue". I'm confused. How the hell do you know this is a pre-existing issue if no one has ever serviced this unit before? And by that logic you could possibly say that any issue we have moving forward was a "pre-existing issue".

After reading all of these poor reviews and stories, it seems that Choice Home Warranty makes a habit of using this "pre-existing" claim consistently to get out of covering services that are the WHOLE POINT OF HAVING HOME WARRANTY! I laughed again at this though because I figured that they would at least buy us a cheap drink before they tried to screw us! This was our first claim with them and it was for $75! If you're not going to cover a simple $75 claim, what on earth would give us ANY confidence going forward for you to cover ANYTHING ELSE down the road which basically makes you WORTHLESS!

I called this morning to cancel our contract with Choice Home Warranty with every intent to let them know how disappointed we were with their decision to decline our first claim and try to get a better understanding of their reasoning. I get transferred to the cancellation team, which is usually the team at most REPUTABLE companies that wants to know why you are canceling and will want to figure out if there is a way to not lose you as a consumer.

This is the moment that all consumers use to air their grievances and give feedback on why we no longer want to use your services in hopes that the company will fix the issue, maybe make a note of the issue, or at the VERY LEAST listen to the issue. NOT WITH CHOICE HOME WARRANTY. They stayed consistent with every other bad business decision and proceeded to cancel my policy with not one question being asked about why I was canceling our policy FOUR days into it becoming active and told me I'd be charged a prorated fee of $33 for the month (which seemed high for four days of coverage) and an administrative fee of $50.

It's sad to say but after he told me that I actually felt I was getting the better end of the deal only having to pay $83 to never have to deal with them again! Haha. They also said I would be getting $321 credited back to my account for our deposit. I fully expect for them to stay consistent with their business practices, which means I will most likely have to call them a couple more times to receive my money back. Hopefully they prove me wrong. We are very fortunate and lucky that our first problem at our house was a very small and inexpensive one.

I really feel bad for all of the other people on here and off that have had to go through this experience with much more expensive repairs. It's not right and can really change a family's fortunes for the worse, which is the exact opposite of what a home warranty is supposed to do. There are plenty more stories like this with Choice Home Warranty and you won't have to search too far in Google to find them...

Bad Business and Bad Service
By -

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- Choice Home Warranty practices Bad Business. Numerous complaints on this company as well as an F rating from the BBB. Do your research before using this company. Below is my letter to the president (James Moss) of Choice Home Warranty:

Mr.. Moss,

This is in regards to our claim #49167121. We had signed up with your company last year for piece of mind that when our appliances/hot water heater/furnace/AC ever went out or needed to be replaced, we were covered in cases such as these. We were thrilled to know that we had protection for a monthly fee in instances where if something went wrong, it would be fixed or replaced.

Well, come to find out were my wife and I ever wrong...Our A/C unit went out this past Tuesday evening. We contacted your company, your company sent a contractor out (Sunshine Heating and Cooling). The contractor told us we needed a new A/C unit. Your company has now refused to pay the claim because you need our last 3 years of service invoices. Huh really? Well let me check the Home Service Agreement regarding where it specifies this. Hmmm...I don't see it. Let me read it again. Hmmm...Not there. So, calls to Customer Service....Oh and I use the term 'Customer Service' very loosely when dealing with your company. Let me just say as I have been in Customer Service for over 20 years in various positions including management, that if I had hired any of the people you have working in your Customer Service department at my company, I would have received a pink slip and a grade of 'F' for talent evaluation. Speaking of 'F', I noticed last night that is your grade from the Better Business Bureau...Shocking! But more on that later...So, I call Customer Service yesterday to explain to one of your CSRs, who actually sounded like he was about 15, but I digress...To let him know (Shaun) that we have a friend who comes out and does that on the side for us and we pay him cash. I won't bore you with the details of my conversation because from what I can see doing a search of complaints by other consumers towards your company, looks like you have your hands full...

So, I call once again to speak to a manager (Jim). Told by one of your Customer Service Reps that they will have a manager call me back. Call me back? What? Why? When? Your CSR tells me in about 4 hours...4 HOURS!!!!...Seriously??? Oh wait, now I know why it took such a long time (oh and by the way, I had to call back because I never got the return call from a manager) because they have so many other complaints they have to deal with. So, finally get a hold of a manager (Jim) explain the situation about the refusal of the claim, why do you need the last 3 years of Service invoices, explained we have a friend of ours do it on the side, nowhere in the Home Service Agreement does it state this, etc. etc. Then he interrupts me that he is trying to explain the agreement and rattles off all of these section numbers in the contract where it states this...OK, I went through this agreement twice, don't see this...So, I raise my voice because quite frankly, the runaround is ridiculous. He then says to stop raising my voice and well, I raised it again and then he hung up on me! Yet another shocker! Let me tell you why I raised my voice...It has been between 98-100 degrees here for the past several days! So, let's see...NO AC + hot temperatures + poor service + lack of empathy = TICKED OFF!!!

OK, this gets better...So we speak to Randy at Sunshine Heating and Cooling. He says that when he spoke to someone at your company, Randy had told them twice that our AC unit was well maintained and simply put, just died....This is where the whole piece of mind thing comes in, but obviously not with Choice Home Warranty.

So, Mr.. Moss, let me ask you some questions:

Do you not trust the contractors you hire? In other words, if they tell you something has been well maintained why do you need 3 years of service records? Form the looks of the complaints I saw, doesn't look like your contractors don't trust you very much either
So what about all the other consumers who have people fix stuff for them on the side or actually do it themselves? Do you deny them as well? Especially ones who self-maintain their stuff. Can they send in a hand-written piece of paper that says the did it? Does that suffice? According to your manager (Jim), it must be serviced by a bonded and insured contractor. Really? Where does it say that in the Home Service Agreement? Yeah, Jim your manager's response..."Well it doesn't..." Yet another shocker...
So here is a scenario...My fridge is on the fritz...Call CHW...Service Contractor comes out says need a new fridge....Call CHW, are they going to tell me to provide 3 years of service invoices? Really? What about a stove? Hot water heater? Washer? Dryer? Mr.. Moss, do you have your fridge serviced every year? How about your stove? Dishwasher? Washer? Dryer?

Back to that whole 'F' grade from the BBB...Yes, we have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

So, here is what my expectations are...I want a phone call from you to discuss remuneration. And when I say phone call, I don't mean me having to call you, you need to call me! I am not in the mood for any East Coast BS...Born and raised in New Jersey myself, so let me just say I am up to the challenge. My number is 314.479.2304.

If I do not hear from you by end of business Monday August 9th, I will be contacting my attorney.

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY, FLORIDA -- Please DO NOT BUY CHOICE HOME WARRANTY!! This is one of the biggest and more legit scam out there, and is so easy to fall for it. These people will be stealing your money month after month. This company's main claim and promise is to sell you their insurance. Then after 30 days after you became one of their member, if any of your appliances in your home has a failure such as refrigerators, washer machines, cooktops, garage doors, water heaters, air conditioning units and many others, they will pay for the full repair or the replacement of the unit if there is no repair available except for a small 45 dollars amount which has to come out of your pocket.

Well, after been a member with them for almost 4 years, I was able to find out that this company is a big scam and I found out the hard way - taking my money and yours too again and again. And when it's time to take care of you, there is a big hand with a huge index finger which comes out from this company's phone system who says "NO, NO, NO. We are not fixing or replacing your faulty unit, and thank you very much for all your money very well sent to us." Let me explain. About 3 days ago my beautiful glass cooktop went out of business. 3 of its burners are inoperable, and I said not a problem. Went called the scammers and opened a claim.

Well there was no problem with that. After they opened the fake claim, and after two days waiting time, they sent me a technician. As soon as I opened the door the technician asked me for a 45 dollars cash or check up front. All this happened even before the technician got inside my kitchen where my cooktop resides. "No problem" I said. I paid the 45 dollars to the technician which by the way is a legit South Florida Appliances Repair Company. The technician didn't even diagnosed the cooktop. He just asked me what was wrong with the unit, and I explained him that 3 of the 4 burners went out.

Then he just concluded that the cooktop was out of business and needed to be fully replaced. He advised me that he was going to contact CHOICE HOME WARRANTY and tell them what was going on, and then arrange how to proceed. Well, the next day I was contacted by the technician. Only this time to give me the bad news that CHOICE HOME WARRANTY was not going to cover for the fix or for the replacement and to please contact them so they could explain me. I then contacted them immediately in which I was transferred to the claims department.

I spoke to a supposedly Supervisor in which he proceeded to tell me that CHOICE HOME WARRANTY was not going to cover my unit because my cooktop failure was a pre-existing condition. I said “What?” I thought for a moment that I got confused when I purchased the insurance. Instead of buying an appliance insurance coverage I bought a health insurance for myself. I then told them that I never reported a failure of any kind in regards to this cooktop or any appliances in my house, and they insisted that this was a pre-existing condition. I kept explaining that this was a 3-year-old cooktop and never had a problem before.

And I never had contacted CHOICE HOME WARRANTY for any repair in my house. Then for a few moment, my mind played a trick on me, and I thought for a moment that this people was spying or placed a bug in all my appliances, but specifically inside my cooktop via Wi-Fi. And I said, "I am stupid but not that stupid," then to quickly realize that this is a huge scam. So final answer from the so called “Appliance CHOICE HOME WARRANTY Supervisor”, “No, this is a pre-existing condition and the company will not pay.” How about that?

I encourage you NOT to buy a fake warranty policy from this Scam Company. You will lose your money like I did for all these years. I also encourage you to spread this message as much as possible on Facebook and every other social media network out there to prevent casualties like me to get scammed the way got scammed. So please help me out to pass this around and share it on your wall. Thank you. Best regards.

Poor Service and Will NOT Honor Their Agreement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- On my first claim, my water heater was leaking. Due to the urgency, the Choice representative suggested I pay for the repair and submit a reimbursement form. I did. The claim was denied without any reason. I tried for several weeks to get a reason. None was given. My AC went out and I called to file a claim. The first company I was told to call informed me they don't work with Choice anymore because Choice won't pay them. I called back to get a different repair company. Company 2 didn't work with Choice either. Company #3 didn't either.

Finally, company 4 did accept Choice. Each time it took Choice a day to get me a new company so this is 4 days without AC in August in Mississippi. My 18 month old washing machine sounded like a freight train. I called Choice and submitted a claim. The repair man said he would order the part and install it for free when it came in. 30 days later I called Choice for an update. I was offered $200 for my 18 month old front loading washing machine because it was too old to repair. When he finally agreed it wasn't too old - giving him the date I purchased it and registered it with Whirlpool - he said he would order the part.

A week later I called for another update. Choice said the part was discontinued. I called Whirlpool Parts Department and found the part. I then went online and placed the order on hold. I called Choice and told them it was NOT discontinued. Then I was offered $300.00. I told them the machine was still financed and no - fix it! Another week later I called and was offered $400.00 and was told take it or leave it. I talked to everyone at that company to figure out why it was $400.00 and no one would talk to me.

I filed a Better Business Bureau complaint and Choice cancelled my warranty for both houses. Of course it has been 35 days and I still don't have the refund for either house. Check out the NJ Attorney General's office. They are investigating Choice for selling warranties and add-on warranties then denying the claims. I jumped on that bandwagon quickly!

Choice Home Warranty--Buyer BEWARE!! Scam!!
By -

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- Our complaint is a repeat…repeat…repeat of all the complaints listed here. Legit contract, paid for months, first claim ever…needs repair…requested records…provided it to them…even phone numbers of our maintenance company so they could ask any questions they want…stories changing all the time…lies told…information made up…degrading comments made by Michael Scott…accused us as well as our maintenance contractor of fraud, based on nothing but lies he made up…threatened us legally…same, same, same, ditto, ditto, ditto.

In reading all other comments I found one from the president of CHW himself. Here is what it says:

Please be aware that CHW is a legitimate business. All home warranty companies deny claims on items that are not covered under the warranty agreement. Please read the contract for specific coverage, limitations, & exclusions. My name is James Moss and I am the President of CHW. If anyone ever has a problem with our service I would love to know about it. At CHW we pride ourselves on providing outstanding service, and when problems arise we pride ourselves in working efficiently to rectify the problem. Please e-mail me at JMoss[at] with your concerns. Thank you, James Moss President visit my blog @ blog.

Soooo…before posting this comment I certainly went to that blog site to attempt to deal directly with Mr. Moss. No shock to find that all comment sections are disabled. Went to the Facebook page…no commenting available there either!! So surprised. Tried the email address…rejected…shocker. We have sent everything by fax. We will be pursuing delivering all of this by certified delivery in person to Mr. Moss and his company as well. Based on all of this we will pursue through the BBB as well.


Top of Page | Next Page >