Church's Chicken

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 19 ratings and
41 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarStarStarStarStar
Honey BBQ boneless chicken done right!
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
For those of you not familiar with my previous review on Church's Chicken, please refer to www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=111170 and it should help explain this review.

I stopped at Church's Chicken yesterday after work. I went inside the lobby to use my "Be My Guest" cards, courtesy of Carol. Since the voucher cards weren't for the product that originated these reviews, I decided to add that to my order...just to see if anything was done about it. Since I was inside the lobby, I was actually able to watch them make the Honey BBQ Boneless Wings this time around.

I can now see why and how they were made the way they were the first time. They have a giant squirt bottle sitting next to the prepping station. They take the squirt bottle and add it to a mixing container w/ lid. They then shake & toss the chicken inside the container, evenly distributing the sauce. I have a feeling the time before, that they just grabbed the squirt bottle and gave it a few quick squeezes over the top of the chicken. But not this time...instead, they came out looking and tasting great!

Now, just to make sure my visit wasn't influenced or tarnished in any way by the fact that I was using the voucher cards, and thus tipping the employees off that something was amiss...I decided to use their drive through today, during a different shift. I could see them through the window using the same procedure again today, shaking and all, and I once again received great looking and tasting Honey BBQ Boneless Chicken!

I wanted to thank Carol for following through and making sure this location was following protocol. She asked for the chance to make it up to me, and hopefully regain my business. JOB WELL DONE CAROL! You are an example to how all businesses should be run. Thank you!
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Skye on 2012-03-20:
Good review. Glad your visit went so well this time, and kudos to Carol!
trmn8r on 2012-03-20:
I assume these were all the same location, and it sounds like they have taken corrective action. Thanks for posting the update!
madconsumer on 2012-03-20:
very helpful review!!
MRM on 2012-03-20:
Thank you, Justice, for your excellent investigative report on Church's chicken!
Laurella on 2012-03-20:
Those do look good. I don't care for Church's chicken though.
JISCal2 on 2012-03-20:
Awesome review! Just goes to show letting someone know there is an issue gets things done!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
You call this BBQ?
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
FARMINGTON, NEW MEXICO -- I recently stopped at the local Church's Chicken to pick-up some wings for my wife. The wing selection in our town is somewhat limited, so we ordered from here out of convenience. Never again. Not if this is the quality of product being churned out to the masses. I realize that no one can live up to the advertised pictures on the order screen, but this is borderline ridiculous.

If one of the savvy My3cents members will leave me a link to Church's, I very much intend on forwarding this along to their offices. This is simply unacceptable.

UPDATE: On 3-16-12, I received these coupons in the mail. Out of respect for privacy, I pasted over Carol's last name.

What I'm having trouble understanding is why would they send me coupons for food other than what I ordered? Should that lead me to believe that the issue hasn't been resolved, nor is there any intention to fix the problem, and that instead they would like me to move on to a different menu item that is less visually susceptible to such scrutiny? That would be the equivalent of having McDonald's mess up on a Big Mac, and then offer me chicken nuggets as compensation. Just doesn't make any sense to me?
     
Read 28 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Slimjim on 2012-03-07:
Have you tried looking for the corporate website to obtain a feedback link?
Anonymous on 2012-03-07:
I'm on it Slim. Just curious if I can attach a picture? The picture speaks volumes all by itself.
Anonymous on 2012-03-07:
I submitted a complaint to their "Contact Us" section of their website, and invited them to stop by My3cents and look at the review by leaving them the link to this review. I'll keep you all updated if I receive an email.
Churro on 2012-03-07:
I would not call that BBQ, it is not Pig. I would not call those wings, they have no bones. I'd call those chicken nuggets. If you want some good chicken nuggets give Chic-Fil-a a try. They'll serve them with BBQ sauce or wing sauce or both.

DebtorBasher on 2012-03-07:
Basher doesn't eat armpits!
The advertised pic looks like pieces of brain and the received pic looks like something Ejack flushes down the toilet.

YUCK!
Anonymous on 2012-03-07:
I wish we had a Chic-fil-a in our neck of the woods. I've never ate at one before.
Anonymous on 2012-03-07:
Those look disgusting. I go to church's every now and then only for fried chicken. And its only good fresh out of the grease.

I get my wings from the local Wing Stop pretty good.
Anna Molly on 2012-03-07:
Aah! Gross! I would not eat that. I agree with Churro, wings have to have bones, because the meat closest to the bone is the best :)

Anonymous on 2012-03-07:
Gross indeed...but at the very least they could've smothered the entire meal in sauce. Instead, it looks as though they had a squirt bottle nearby and just gave it a quick once-over.
Anonymous on 2012-03-08:
I submitted a complaint to their website. I wonder what type of response time I should expect? Days, weeks, months, years?
Anonymous on 2012-03-12:
UPDATE ON REVIEW!

I received an email from their company. It is as follows, with names deleted of course:

Dear Mr. ********,

Please accept my sincere apology. I went to my3cents.com and saw the picture you posted.
I was very embarrassed to see the product that you were served.

Can I make this up to you by sending you a "Be My Guest" card to use at your convenience?
And would you please consider giving us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Carolyn ******


I sent them a Thank You email for responding to me in such a timely fashion. I will be interested to see what happens when I return to the same location and use the voucher. Will I receive the same quality of product? Has the situation been corrected? Or am I simply being shined on? I will post a follow-up review to that visit as well. I'll keep ya'll posted!

trmn8r on 2012-03-12:
Yay, I wouldn't really know how to feel about being given a "Be My Guest" card after viewing what went on a month ago in the pics above.

I'd like to hear something more along the lines of "we will address quality standards with the operator of this location."
Old Timer on 2012-03-12:
Excellent review and info. An alert to stay far away from this product.

Keep in mind they spend tens of thousands of dollars on the pics of their products. No FF delivered junk will ever look like the pic you ordered it from. They spend days staging one product for a pic using toothpics, glue, paint, air brushing, lighting etc... Often the pics are made from fiberglass and other products then painted as they can't get a good pic no matter what of the crap they push over the counter at us.
JISCal2 on 2012-03-12:
The picture on the left is pretty appetizing. The one on the right (no offense to the photographer) makes me want to hurl. Good review!
madconsumer on 2012-03-12:
I have had the churches bbq chicken before, and it IS as advertised. and yummy!
JISCal2 on 2012-03-12:
Based on the proof in this picture (after all, a picture is worth one thousand words) it is not as advertised and appears anything but yummy.
Old Timer on 2012-03-12:
Have to agree 110% with that John!
Anonymous on 2012-03-12:
Well, I'm giving them a chance to correct the situation and "make things right". My question is what their interpretation of making things right will be? Is it simply to hand out a free voucher to temporarily keep the customer happy, or will they actually contact this particular location and correct it at the source? Time will tell, since I intend on taking a picture of our replacement meal.
madconsumer on 2012-03-12:
I guess members have different service from chain restaurants.

my order appreaded as pictured on the left.
Laurella on 2012-03-12:
The wings on the left are just chicken strips with a spoonful of sauce. Real wings are tossed with the sauce in a bowl so that every inch of the wing is covered.
trmn8r on 2012-03-12:
Correct J4A - that was the concern I had. A voucher to return and receive a complimentary plate of slop isn't a step in the right direction.

As I have posted often, this is what has happened mostly to me at chains, and why I have given up on them. Waste time having food prepared a second time, waste time speaking with management/writing complaints, and then go back for a redo at management's cost but my time expense to experience the same treatment. Seen it happen way too many times.
Anonymous on 2012-03-16:
IMPORTANT UPDATE:

I reconfigured the picture to show the compensation I was offered, and added some commentary in the body of the review near the bottom.
Anonymous on 2012-03-16:
Wouldn't it be cool if all reviews had follow-ups like this? That would definitely make things a bit more interesting. If nothing else, it might give some folks peace of mind and closure...lol!
Nohandle on 2012-03-16:
Justice I enjoy members notifying others they have made a change to their initial review. If others had not been following it they might wonder about some of the squirrely responses (yours was not in that category)that made no sense. It's great we on M3C's can edit or even delete our reviews at any time but sometimes it's taken to the extreme after replies begin.
trmn8r on 2012-03-16:
Peace of mind and closure aren't terms that immediately come to my mind (yet) in this story.
Anonymous on 2012-03-16:
When corresponding with the Church's Chicken representative via email, I was under the impression that they would send "open" vouchers for products of my choice. These vouchers pretty much dictate what I'm going to buy for my family to eat. Now instead of giving me vouchers to replace the meal in question, I'm now being told which food I have to order as a replacement instead. I'm not sure if I should be satisfied or insulted? Maybe a little bit of both...
Slimjim on 2012-03-16:
Considering the infraction was a visual thing and you still ate the dinner(I assume), I'd go with satisfied and close the book on this.
Anonymous on 2012-03-16:
I sent the rep a follow-up email thanking them for their response and prompt delivery of vouchers, but I voiced my displeasure and disappointment in receiving vouchers for menu items other than what I had originally ordered. It's almost as though it was their way of saying, "This is what we serve and how we serve it, and since you didn't like it, then here are some vouchers to try something else." The only problem with that, is the rep stated that they were "embarrassed" of the product that was served. Then why not try and redeem yourself by letting me try them again, hopefully with better results.

Because we live nearby, I may visit them again out of convenience, but never because they're my first choice for quality food and service.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Filthy Dining Area, Expired Food, Poor Management
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
GLOBE, ARIZONA -- My family and I as well as a couple close friends of ours had decided to go grab dinner, so we headed to our local Churches Chicken, ( a place we had vowed to never go back to after a bad experience) but we hoped with time, things had improved. Well we were wrong. When we arrived, there were at least 6-7 employees, all running around the kitchen, throwing things around, including chicken at each other, then laughing about it, they were running in and out of the restaurant, meeting up with friends outside, touching the doors, fiddling with their hair, etc, then coming back in, without washing hands, or wearing gloves, and handling food.

When we got our order, we went to sit down. There was not 1 clean table in the hall, yet, no customers were there. We had to clean a table ourselves to have a clean place to sit down and eat. We were there for about an hour, and there was a stack of 60 plus pieces of chicken that sat there the whole time we were there, and there were no actual customers but us, ( the rest were there for freebies, the workers friends)

Towards the end of the dining experience, people started coming in, they were served that hour old chicken, and also had to clean their tables to have a clean place to sit down, not one time, did ANY of the employees come out to dining area to clean, rather, they were running around, in and out of restaurant, hanging out with friends, and two of the workers, even looked high, and a smell of marijuana was prominent on their clothes when they came upfront of the store,

This place is an unsanitary, ill managed, very unprofessional, breeding ground for food poisoning, that needs to be investigated ASAP before someone gets very ill!
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Customer Service
Posted by on
GARALND, TEXAS -- I decided I would go to Church's Fried Chicken on Broadway Blvd. yesterday after church. It is store number #1564.When I pulled into the drive through and was waiting to order after about 5 minutes of sitting there this lady asked if she could take my order. In the middle of ordering she asked me to hold on. I said okay. So I sat there for about 5 minutes and in the meantime another car pulled in behind me.

I sat there about another 5 minutes (I didn't want to go anywhere else because my family wanted chicken for lunch. The lady behind me screamed to me, "Is the drive through working?", so I answered yes, she told me to hold on a minute. So the lady answered well, that sure is a long minute!

So, I decided to say something to the order microphone. I said, "hello"! The lady came back on and said "Just a minute, We are short handed today"! So I said okay ma'am. Finally after about 15 minutes sitting at the drive through she took my order and I pulled up to the window. When I pulled up, the lady looked at me and said, "wait a minute, I've got to fix this lady's order". I didn't know if she had put my order in wrong or someone else's order in wrong. Then she said pull up and I will bring your order out to you. I said okay, so I pulled up and turned my vehicle around facing the building. I looked at the ticket and she had placed my order wrong. (order # 286134). I had asked for the mixed special with just potatoes. She put in all dark meat as my order. I decided since it was taking so much time, and I was very hungry and my family was waiting that I would just take that and go hopefully. As I sat there, 3 or four cars came and went with their orders filled, and 2 people had gone through the window with their orders filled. By then, I had had enough. So I went to the window after waiting behind two more people and asked for my money back. The cashier at the window, whose name was Phillip, asked me if there was a problem.

So I said yes, and pointed to the lady I didn't get her name), who looked like she had eaten my chicken, and said she told me to pull up and she would bring my order out. I had been there 45 minutes by then. Phillip looked at the woman, and asked her what the problem was, and she said Oh, I just forgot about her! By then, I was very upset. To think I had sat out there, and to boot, she had totally forgotten about me! Church's Fried Chicken just lost a good customer. Phillip who was a very nice young man, showed me where he had subtracted my order out of the system, because I had paid with my debit card. It is midday and I am still waiting to see if my account shows where they refunded my money. It has not been put back in my account yet. We love chicken, but I know one thing, Church's will not be getting my hard earned money anymore!
     
Read 18 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Doc J on 2006-07-10:
Don't let one bad employee ruin you on cheap chicken at Church's. I hope "Phillip" had some clout. It would have been better to find a member of management. BTW: Did you eat the "wrong" order? You got your money back...that was nice.
gazelem67 on 2006-07-10:
Even better than finding a member of management, I'd contact Church's corporate office. I know that when I used to work at Subway, our managers and owners HATED to get complaints sent down by corporate.

Regardless, you might (and should) get some sort of "I'm sorry" coupon from them for it. In fact, you may consider demanding it, given the poor customer service you had.
jan2006 on 2006-07-10:
Yes, I'm going to call corporate. In fact, when I was looking to see if there was a complaint department for Church's, this site came up. At least it made me feel better to be able to vent about the bad customer service I received. As far as Doc J's comment, I thought it was rude.
Three people working in a chicken house, you are not going to find the "manager". As far as cheap chicken, you go to any "restaurant" or "fast food" joint and I don't think you are going to find "pricey" chicken. I never received my order in the first place so how could I have eaten the wrong order? Yes, the "ticket" showed where she had put in the wrong order,and I was even willing to overlook that fact. I would have been happy with the wrong order therefore; I would not have been asking for my money back and at least my family would have had lunch at a decent hour!
Anonymous on 2006-07-10:
Find another Church's to goto after church that was nice of Philip give 'em another chance, though pay with cash and ask for that receipt.
Doc J on 2006-07-10:
There's always SOMEBODY in charge. Pardon the pun but even three workers in a "chicken house" have a pecking order. Sorry I didn't give you the solicitous answer you were pining for and "cheap chicken" doesn't refer to the price. You got crummy service and patiently sat and waited 45 minutes waiting for it. Commenting on that would be rude.
Anonymous on 2006-07-11:
Don't you just hate it when someone wet behind the ears messes up your favorite place? I hate that with a passion!. Who do they think they are? Do they all come from the same mold? My employees would be fired in in a minute! I only visited churches chicken twice(none in town) and found it an OK place to eat.
cockroach on 2009-04-13:
MY SON AN I ATE AT CHURCH'S IN TAMPA OFF OF FLETCHER AVE, AN WHILE WE WERE EATING OUR LUNCH A BEGGER COME IN AN ASKED MY SON FOR A PIECE OF HIS CHICKEN,I RE-PLIED AN TOLD MANAGER THAT WAS LIKE TALKING TO MY SELF,,,,,,SO EITHER I KICK BEGGER'S ASS AN GO TOO JAIL OR JUST LEAVE AN SAY THE HELL WITH CHURCH'S FRIED CHICKEN MY LESSON I LEARNED MANAGER DON'T GIVE A DAMM IF WE COME BACK OR NOT-------BUT NEITHER DO WE
spark911 on 2010-06-29:
I think we must think about the kind of people that are working at fast food places and there locations. The pay is 7.30 and some of them don't come from the subs....I think we need to be a lttle more patient..dot be so quick to call the 800 number to get them fired...the chicken is cheap...cheap...and you do have another option...stay home and cook.
jktshff1 on 2010-06-29:
cockroach, one of the nice things where I live is that I can open carry my weapon. Keeps 'em away.
PepperElf on 2010-06-29:
wait, you're blaming the staff because someone begged from you?


what did you want them to do, beat him up with a stick to keep him out?


chickenboy on 2011-05-23:
I totally understand your frustration I hope that you were taken care of, however I there was one comment that was kind of immature on your behalf, and that was you saying that the employee looked like she ate your chicken. Come on now, its okay to be upset but to ridicual someone on there weight cause of where they work?? Chill out...
jen on 2012-06-04:
I am a night manager at a churches chicken...and while I understand totally why you are upset...I'll let you in on a few things..for one I know what it is like to be short handed..that is how my store is ran all the time. is the owners decision to have only 3 people doing the work of 6. it is very stessful and frustrating. in my experience it is very stressful to make a drive through customer wait to order. but when you are doing multiple oreder..drive through and counter you have to take who was there first...no matter how long it takes. and while you don't need a college degree to work fast food, I'll have you and anyone else who thinks different know that fast food workers are not bottom of the barrel peopple..that is such a nasty steryotype,and I for one resent it. I am a hard working mother of two. and fast food is not an easy job. I am not excusing her of forgetting you. but I do know how it can get..I have been doing churches for 7 years and if it gets hectic and backed up , I would not be shocked if the same thig happened to me. and it's unfortunate you happen to be that customer. but why allow this one bad time to stop you from ever enjoying churches chicken again?? be it that location or another?? and on a side note...you said you were coming from church?? hasn't serving our lord and allowing him to live in you tought you to rise above?? and I'm talking about your little insulting comment you made about how she looked like she ate your chicken. what a childish immature thing to say... a little un christ like if you ask me.
johnny thompson on 2013-06-02:
I was told that I would be a hour and a half for spicey chicken and they were cositrating on origenal chicken chicken only, and was on a Saturday on 06-01-2013 at 7
maria howell on 2013-08-20:
What time do you open regularly on Sunday I went at 11 and the store was close the cooker was outside waiting and I was ordering 300 piecs for a church and I'm a regular customer and every time I go there the manager is always on his phone or smoking the store is always dirty and I heard a conversation between Workers saying that his father used to work thereand that he quite and he is still he is still had his father on pay roll and he takes money from the sage box. Store address is 115 plantation lake jackson tx 77566
Ricky on 2014-01-02:
Every time I go to Churches I had to wait 15 mins for fried chicken what's the problem
Donna Massey on 2014-01-11:
The coupon said two can dine for $5.00 ea. She said only one can dine. For that price. I wanted the 5.piece chicken tenders. Two times which would have come to $10.00 plus tax.. She would not honor my coupon. I told her I would send complait in. Their reply was go ahead. I don't want her job. I just wanted my coupon honored.Churches Chicken in Okc OK. 6.30 pm. Please if they cannot honor coupons don't put them in the paper. Your only wasting my time.
Ric on 2014-01-12:
The Texas Health Department need to close
the one on 11910 Perrin Beitel, San Antonio,Texas. This place could not be at
any Services anyone. very dirty, food not cook,
floors very dirty cooking area and eating area,
the front was open, than close, than open
all within 10 min. I paid for my food at the
window for a total of $ 9.94 got 06 back
with no return ticket, went inside after me
knocking on the door for them to open the
door I got my ticket wait for my order 20min
or more. got home and the chicken was
not cook, and notice the ticket had a female
name on the ticket (Nina ) 1/12/2014 3:55:08
your manager was working clean the floor
were foods was being cook. he got little
from two young man maybe 16or17 these
boys walkin I have no idea if they clean there
hands they tried to make fried chicken
with glove this was dirty.

This Store Need to be Close !! or Change
new mangement and new Employees
clean up your act: DO NOT SALE FOOD
THIS NOT NOT SAFE.

RIC
Adrean Bryant-Hooper on 2014-02-25:
I called them in December and put in a change of address for my W2's and called them again about 2 weeks ago and still haven't received them.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Dirty Filthy Establishment
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
NEW BOSTON, TEXAS -- Firstly, the staff portrayed a large amount of incompetence and a bad attitude towards customers. No one attended to me for about ten minutes, and when the food service worker finally showed up, she showed a severe lack of interest. She had to take my order three times, but even so, she still presented me the wrong food!

Secondly, the service was very slow & poor. I ordered tender strips and this dork gave me 2 thighs and 1 leg. I asked her the if she understood my order and she still messed it up. What made matters worse was that after waiting for so long, the food service brought the wrong food and she had to take it back, she became loud and angry. I stood my ground and let her know she will not talk to me without respect. The female is the rude one who wears loud ruby red lipstick and a jewel between her eyes. I called back to speak to the manager who is a female name (Alexis) and she was very unconcerned about this issue and showed no interest in what I was reporting to her about the incident. I decided to take matter in my own hands and report it.

Thirdly, the food itself was of very poor quality. It was quite cold and tasteless. Immediately I reached home, I suffered from very bad diarrhea which lasted for two days.

All these things considered, I feel I need to be compensated. In addition, I demand that you improve the service at particular churches chicken restaurant or improve the quality of the food, as the service being offered is hazardous to the health of your customers. I have notified the local health department, therefore I will be reporting it to the authorities myself.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Joshua on 2013-10-11:
I'm sorry, but when you resort to calling the employees names like "dork", all credibility goes out the window. You demand respect, but it seems like you don't show much yourself.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
This is too bad
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
HOUSTON, TEXAS -- My family love churches chicken and we love them more because their chicken is bigger than any other chicken place. BUT for the past few times we have been disappointed with Churches. The first time we got some chicken they gave us the wrong order. We ordered Mix chicken and they gave us all dark. We had to drive a 20min drive back for them to fix it. Then we got one piece that was either sour or left out to long because it stunk, after you bit into it. We immediately called and let them know. The manager said when we come back in to let them know and he gave us his name. So the second time we went we forgot to let them know and we order the same thing. This time we checked it before we left. BUT! again when we got home and taste one piece it was sour or had been left out to long before cooking. We called again and the manager said he couldn't believe it so he wanted us to bring it back and said that he will replace it. Of course it was a 20min. dirve and we told him that and we explain to him this is the second time and why would be lie when we order a 12 piece and its only one piece. So again he said he would replace it when we come in. NOW!! on March 27th, 2012 we stopped there and got an 8 piece mix with a side of mashed potatoes which is their advertise special. The location is

Churcehs Chicken
(713) 434-0916
13350 Alameda Rd. Houston, TX 77045

we left and went home to eat and they gave us all dark meat again. By this time of visiting them I was mad. I had to dive the 20mins back to get the order corrected and the ladies there wanted to argue with me that if they give me at least 3 pieces of white meat that it's mixed. I told them that is not true according to their manager which I have forgoten his name, and had to describe him to them so they could know that I spoke to him, that its supposed to be 2wings, 2 drumsticks, 2breasts, and 2thighs. She again wanted to tell me that I was wrong. I told her again the samething and asked for her manager. She said he was not there and she gave me the correct combination and I then explain that I also wanted to get my other to pieces, for the inconvenience they have put me through. I really hate it because we did love Churches. We have now decided that we are not going to Churches again.
Debora J.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Skye on 2012-03-29:
You should let corporate know about this fiasco.

http://www.churchs.com/company-contact.html
Old Timer on 2012-03-29:
Best advice Skye, I doubt corporate will ever see this review.
Skye on 2012-03-29:
I think the op just needed to vent here. I doubt they were hoping corporate would see it. But you never know, because companies and businesses do read here. Some just don't offer any help.

Anonymous on 2012-03-29:
I posted a review about Church's Chicken. I also contacted corporate, but I went a step further by copying and pasting the link to the exact review, and including that in my email to corporate. It was easy for corporate to find and click-on, then the complaint was handled quickly and to my satisfaction.
Close commentsAdd reply
Never Go To Church's At Night!
Posted by on
GRAND PRAIRIE, TEXAS -- My husband and I went to the Church's Chicken on Carrier and Jefferson and got there about 15 minutes before they were closing. We were cutting it close, but all we ordered were two of the double chicken sandwiches to go so we figured no big deal. We pulled up to the speaker, and they took our order, no problem.

Then, we drove around and paid for our food. The lady at the window left to get us change. We waited. And waited. And waited. About 10 minutes had gone by when we started to wonder if anyone was coming back to the window. Then, we saw an employee come to the back and start bagging up our sandwiches, so we are thinking that we're finally getting served. No, she was bagging up "extra" food, and LEFT THE STORE with the sandwiches we just paid for.

Then, they turned off all the outside lights, as we're still sitting out there with no food and no change. My husband gets out and knocks on the drive through window. The employees actually look at us, turn their backs, and continue going about cleaning the store as if we aren't there. This infuriates him, and he starts honking the horn.

Finally, another 10 minutes later, and the manager comes over to inform us that they are closed and we need to leave. He tells her that we just ordered two sandwiches, they took our money, we watched her employee LEAVE with our food, and we want our money back, NOW. She actually starts to argue with us that she never saw us come through and order anything, and we went back and forth with her arguing that she needed to give us ten dollars that we gave one of her employees for our food.

Finally the person that actually took our change came to the window and told the manager that she did in fact take our money and then forgot to put our order in. How do you forget to put an order in for the only customer at the place?? They tried to apologize and give us coupons, but we promptly informed them there was no need, because we were never going back to that store again. We did call into the corporate office and made a formal complaint as to the way we were treated, and they sent us gift cards but we just threw them away.
     
Read 11 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2008-09-25:
I only go to Churches on Sunday
Anonymous on 2008-09-25:
Churches chicken tastes like cardboard and is waaaaayyy to greasy.I hate it about as much as I hate comcast cable.


wow! nice employees and manager
Anonymous on 2008-09-25:
TW, Comcast must be doing a better job now, you don't call them Comcrap anymore, LOL.
Anonymous on 2008-09-25:
Comcrap,Comcrud,Comcast,its all the same POS cable company.

LOL!
Anonymous on 2008-09-25:
Bad experience? Yes
Did the employee fess up to their mistake? Yes
Did Church's try to compensate you for the mistake and poor treatment? Yes

So, over one poor experience you determine that you will never eat at Church's again and threw out the coupons? I bet you will go back once you're done having a tantrum and realize that it was just a mistake.

ringostar on 2008-09-25:
I agree with justcuz, one bad experience OK but they did handle the situation. Besides why are you complaining if the solution wasn't good enough???
naomitx24 on 2008-09-25:
they did try to handle the situation but this was the "last straw" experience that put a bad taste in my mouth with that particular church's. they have a history of rude service, bad food, and taking forever. at this point no amount of coupons would have made me want to keep eating there. this actually happened a couple of months ago and trust me, I really won't ever eat there again. it wasn't so much a tantrum as a heads up to anyone wanting to go to that location.
jktshff1 on 2008-09-25:
I have to agree with just in this particular instance, the employee deserves kudo's for admitting the mistake and Churches for trying to do the right thing.
Anonymous on 2008-09-25:
they gave you a coupon that would be enough for me.
Starlord on 2008-09-27:
As an old R&B number admirably done by Dan Ayckroyd on the BLues Brothers album 'Briefcase Full of Blues.' says, what you want? Rrrrrrrrrrrrrrubber biscuit?
Anonymous on 2009-09-27:
Naomix, I feel if a company gives you bad service and you continue to frequent their place of business, you have no right to complain.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Employee's Not Putting Your Food in Your Order From Talking.
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
DAYTON, OHIO -- I ordered 2 chicken Tuesday specials and 2 peppers a a order of fries, I had to wait about 5 minutes the chicken I ordered was not ready yet so I was given a soft drink because I had to wait, that was nice, but then I got my order and left for home get home no peppers so I called and the manager said what her name was and told me the next time I come in and ask for her, I wasn't able to make it back the following Tuesday but did return the 2nd Tuesday and I asked for her, the new manager looked in a notebook and said he didn't see that she had written it down, and said she was at another store, which I was not driving across town for 2 peppers, so he said he couldn't take care of it, also the are so unorganized, you go to one window and stand they say we are not taking orders at this window, let the customer know from the beginning where to go and stop the horse playing, I worked for Churches in 1972 to 1974, and our motto, was our customers were 1st and not to give them the wrong items or forget items they paid for, the problem is, very very poor managers who don't care enough to train their staff, that the customers are their meal ticket and they should take pride in their job, and remember a customers order, which they will ask you 3 or 4 times take your order and forget they just took your order.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Was Treated Extremely Rudely by the Two Hispanic Cashiers
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LAS CRUCES, NEW MEXICO -- My husband and I went into the store june 8 12:20 pm, ordered a 10 piece meal extra spicy, or "spicy spicy" waited a few minutes, was given the box of
chicken in a little tiny plastic bag, proceeded to taste the crispy part, and told
the clerks, "this is not spicy" the actual cashier just looked at me and the woman standing behind her piped up "you said half and half" and of course the
cashier said "yes", well not more than two pieces were spicy at all, and I said,
"no I did not" (guess I'm being called a liar") rude tone of voice, lousy attitude,
the boxed was opened by the mouth behind the cashier and said it's dark so
that means it's spicy spicy, called me a liar again, that's what you ordered, called me a liar again, and rude, at that, I am obviously an older person, and they seemed to be enjoying their power over the customers? (Sick), also asked about the 2 sides and biscuits, I re-inquired, and the clerk who had mentioned this to me in our initial order just looked at the woman standing behind her (must have been a manager or whatever) and just stared back at me and said nothing, then ignored me and turned toward the manager? And the rest of the crew about 3 more all just standing around doing nothing, but all seemed pleased with themselves and enjoyed their lost sale, and total rudeness toward me as a customer, if this were my store, I would find at least 2 or 3 new employees who could treat folks with respect, and politeness, things all these women seem to lack.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Church's Chicken - Danger- Extreme Health Hazard to All Customers
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
WHITEHALL, OHIO -- Danger - Extreme health hazard.
I entered late 6:48 5/26/14. These people did not care, the floors had free standing water from the front counter right under their ovens and deep fryer. This water had to be at least one inch deep, over 30 foot area during operating hours. All the employees were walking trough this and tracked it all over the back area where they were working, and into their refrigerated walk in. After we were given our food, they got it wrong, had to repeat ourselves many times. The register person who was running the window gave us empty cups when their soda machines were broken down for the night. A black lady was telling us "Seriously, I'm telling you cannot eat here." This is a freaking restaurant, we walked in and our food took them nearly 40 minutes to serve us. The worst thing I seen was a black employee putting his hand in the flour bare handed, mixing chicken for the fryer. The counters were clean, but the back was a disaster area, I have never seen a place that needed employees fired such as this place did. I'm surprised they have not seriously injured anyone yet by serving food out of a kitchen that should have been shut down by the health department. Pure and utter filth floated on the water with garbage floating in it as they walked through it. GAWD! Water evaporates, it was hot inside. They even had the back door propped open with their mop and bucket. Flies buzzing their dinning area. There is no customer service at this establishment, if you value your health. Stay away. This place deserves no stars, if anything. They should be shut down
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >