Preview Review

Next Review

Cingular Wireless Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Cingular: The Evil Spawn of Satan...It's that BAD!!
By -

NORTHERN ALABAMA, ALABAMA -- Okay, where to begin? If by chance you have read any of the other complaints...then I am sure you can feel my frustration. I have (had) been a customer of Cingular / Now the New AT&T for the last 3.5 years and at first I thought everything was great and then I changed my rate plan in Nov. 2005 and the flood gates of hell opened and out spewed an evil spawn I like to call the Real Cingular. It has been a battle to get my account squared and back in good shape, but for the life of me I have tried and tried and I just could not try any longer.

I have had bills in excess of $600.00 and to make matters worse I paid the bills and without fail and like clock work the minute they are paid, Cingular is your best friend and then less than a week later my phone is suspended (AGAIN) and it is back to the same crap I like to call: Customer Service Swap and Shuffle. When I call in I never speak to the same person (who can with call centers in every state (except mine).

The reps. never have any idea of the who, what, when, or how to correct the problem. When asking for supervisors it is always a wait time of 5-10 minutes and then the SUPERVISOR'S have no idea how to resolve the issues, but they are glad to take a payment by phone. How convenient, such sports they are. And to think, that is just the tip of my iceberg and the Cingular ship is slowly capsizing taking with it my hard earned money.

I have had services put on my account without my authorization, I have asked for services to be taken off my account I no longer needed or used these things were never done, but I have been continually charged for. My problems persisted with no resolve, I continued to get poor phone service, poor Customer service, poor response to my complaints and even more high bills which did earned my account credit, after credit, after credit and still the problems were never taken care of and steadily repeated themselves and were very problematic. I have spoken to so many customer reps and supervisors. I decided to take it to the corporate level.

WOW how stupid was I, if the reps are idiots what would make me think I would fare any better with Corporate. Idiots are born from idiots... I was told when I asked for resolve to my many long standing issues with the company that it basically isn't their problem. An executive from Corporate (**, I believe that was his name)told me that my account was riddled with notes and pages and pages of disconnects and suspension.

He then went into he has been with the company for 10 years and had never seen such notes on an accounts. Well my response was if I could have resolved many of these issues prior to today my notes would not be of any interest in the matter and furthermore I demanded as a customer he show me the same respect I was showing him. He cut me off and frankly said "The buck stops here this is the presidents office there is no one else to speak to and I should just get over it, pay your bill get your phone reconnected and things will go back to normal.

Okay so they are idiots and well my mother taught me "...fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me..." Well never again. So today, I stood my ground and I purged the Cingular / AT&T demon and moved to another carrier and I feel like I will be better off. Anything has got to be better than what I have gone through.
If you are still a Cingular / AT&T customer or thinking about becoming one please be aware and use caution.

You will have continual dropped calls, no service, bad customer service, reps who think of you as crap, and a company filled with ungrateful, disrespectful, and imperfect executives, who forget that the consumer signs their paychecks. This is not to say some of the people within the company are not good people but you sure can't tell. BE AWARE... BE CAUTIOUS... BE Happy with the company you choose to give your money to. Just think and choose wisely as long as it is not CINGULAR / The NEW AT&T!!!!!!

Replies
Advertisement
It's The Principle of the Thing
By -

I have been with Cingular (originally Houston Cellular) since 1994, but did not begin having issues until 2005. At that point, I kept getting charged for things that I should not have been charged for and had to call every month for the first 3-4 months of our family plan to get it taken care of. We had a total of four phones and two of them belonged to our young teenaged daughters (13 and 14). Because I did not want to deal with the hassle of texting and internet costs for them, I had both blocked from their phones.

Fast forward two years. We upgraded my husband's phone and renewed our contract to a more frugal plan. Evidently, this reset the blocks on our texting and internet, but I was not informed of this. My daughters discovered this oversight almost immediately and were using the internet to play games. Fortunately, my oldest has been in trouble and had her phone confiscated so she has not had much opportunity to run up much of a bill. Unfortunately, this didn't apply to my youngest.

Let me first say that our bill was nowhere near where it COULD have been, but our younger daughter ran up approximately $65 on internet usage in addition to the $10 that my older used. Let me also say that my family is very frugal (read CHEAP) and not only did I go to a cheaper rate plan just to save around $5 per month, but I also have UNLIMITED internet access in my home for only $10 per month.

In my mind, this was the fault of Cingular and they needed to "fix it". Of course I was also upset with my daughter, but she IS only 13. When I asked her why she didn't mention the fact that she suddenly had internet access, her response was that she thought it just came with the new plan and that I knew about it. She had NO IDEA that there was any charge at all for internet usage since I never mentioned that to her when I had it blocked.

I spoke with Customer NON-Service about this and explained the issue. Their response was that they had no record of the internet EVER having been blocked and "as a courtesy" would charge me only half of the cost. I explained that this made NO sense to me since there had not been ANY internet charges on their phones EVER and that now they SUDDENLY ran up $75 worth. HUH???

The supervisor's explanation was that she thought they had just discovered and started using the internet and they just weren't aware of it previously. WOW, at EXACTLY the same time that our rate plan changed?!?! How coincidental is THAT??? Not only that, but I PERSONALLY attempted to use the internet on their phones to make SURE that it had been disabled. Now I'm LYING?!?! Unfortunately, we just signed another 2 year contract with them (which initiated the situation in the first place). Anyone with any advice???

Replies
Coverage Is Misleading Lots Of Places Still Roaming!!
By -

CHARLESTON, ILLINOIS -- Before activating service in March 2006, I spoke with someone from Cingular to make sure they had service in Charleston, IL where I go to school. They assured me that I would have service. I called a couple of times to make sure of this. I wanted to make sure that there was Cingular coverage, not roaming. Charleston, IL is a somewhat rural area and other services roam here. I had T-mobile and it did not work well due to roaming. I had the phones registered at my home address where my family would have one phone and I would have the other at school.

After signing up with a 2 year contract I brought the phone to school to have terrible service. After calling multiple times the problem is still not resolved. The first time I called I was on the line with a customer service rep for over an hour talking about the situation. She claimed that Charleston, IL is a roaming area and that coverage and service is not guaranteed. I tried to explain that I was told that it would work. Also, we had a billing problem that was eventually resolved after calling several times, we were being charged 40 cents a minute for anytime minutes that were supposed to be in our plan.

It is like we were on a pay as you go plan except we were paying twice. It was resolved after a month of calling. The first person said it was roaming charges. Then finally they said "oh yes its a billing error, it will correct itself next month, our engineers are working on it now." After calling again, a representative would not even listen to what I was saying. I was trying to explain and she kept telling me that the coverage is fine in my area. She would not listen to the fact that I was in a different area, having problems. I asked if they were going to put up a tower and she kept repeating there is no plans to expand to this area since there is already (roaming) coverage.

I kept saying that it doesn't work. Finally she understood what I was saying, I had to keep repeating the zip code. She finally said "Oh yes it is roaming in that area" She said you might get a letter of termination if you roam to often. She said try not to roam. I said that I have to go into the next town 20 minutes away then to make a call?? Completely unhelpful. Basically calls are dropped, calls cannot be placed, low signal, even if there is a full signal there is still issues. Display will say call failed and/or network busy. Calls are missed and voice mails are received hours later.

Basically I just want it to work, they would not let me out of the contract and I just wanted their customer service to improve. I have been paying nearly $70 a month and it does not work well. It seems like they have trouble listening and that I know more than they know. All I believe that the advertisement "More bars in more places" and "fewest dropped calls" needs to be investigated. I think its one big lie. A big portion of their coverage area is roaming, where "coverage is not guaranteed". Just now in November they put a better map on the site.

Had that map been there in March I would have been able to see that Charleston was roaming. DesiredSettlementID: Other (Requires Explanation) Product_Or_Service: Motorola /v360/familytime 550
Account_Number: **. Date Service Started: 03/01/2006. Purchase_Price: 59.99.

I have filed a complaint since, on the BBB site, and they just put me in touch with someone from the corporate office, who was very nice, but said there was still no time frame on better service in Charleston. She did send out engineers to the area and she agreed that there is a problem there. All other CS reps seemed to have no knowledge. All I wanted was an answer. I do not like being mislead. They will be addding new towers in 2007 to the Charleston area. I would still like to see a discount since the services I am paying for are not working correctly.

Replies
Horrible Service
By -

OTISVILLE, MICHIGAN -- On December 7th, 2006 I went on line to Cingular.com and ordered a refurbished Sony Ericsson phone under a GO Plan for my daughter for Christmas. They charged my credit card $31.79 for this phone. I received the phone via FedEx on December 11th, 2006. When I inspected the phone I found that the power cord was not the cord that goes with this phone, so on Tuesday, December 12th, 2006 I called Cingular and after being transferred about 4 times they gave me a phone number 1-866-391-0749 for the Cingular.com office.

When I got a customer service rep on the line I told them that the power cord they sent me was the wrong one, could they send me the correct one and in return I would put the wrong one and the same box and send it back. I was told NO! I had to send back the entire box, phone and all and then wait 10 days for a prepaid shipping label to return the phone.

I explained that this was a Christmas present for my daughter and I didn't have the luxury of time. I told him that this was their mistake and as a soon to be new customer they should try to accommodate me. He stated that this was their policy, if I wanted another phone sent immediately I would have to pay for another one; I refused, since I already paid for one. At that point I asked to speak to a manager who also was very rude and told me the same thing. In frustration I hung up. After cooling down about the situation I called back on Wednesday December 13th, 2006 and spoke with a rep by the name of **.

I explained to ** what had transpired up to this point and asked him if I sent the phone back myself today by priority mail when they receive it could they just send a replacement phone to me, with the proper cord. He said yes! I also asked him if they would credit my account for the shipping charges and he said yes! He told me to call on Monday December 18th, 2006 to see if they received my return.

So on Monday December 18th, 2006, I called back and spoke to a female rep who told me it was in the warehouse however; it had not been scanned into the system yet. I asked her if they had sent a replacement phone and she told me NO. If I wanted another phone I had to pay for one and they would credit me back for the other one in 7-10 days.

I told her that ** had told me to avoid all that. I could send the phone back for a replacement. She said that he misinformed me. I was absolutely furious now you have my phone and my money and I don't have a Christmas present for my daughter. I said some not so nice things about how this whole situation has been handled then hung up.

I called back on Thursday December 21st. and spoke with a rep named **. I asked him if a credit had been issued for the phone and my shipping charges and he had told me NO. He said I would not see the credit for 7-10 days and as far as the shipping they would credit my account. I at that point told him I do not have an account with Cingular and I wanted it to be credited back to my credit card that I used to purchase the phone.

He said he didn'€™t know if Cingular would do that. He then told me he would submit some kind of request for the ship charges and then told me he would connect me with customer care. I was transferred to a customer care down south somewhere and they had to transfer me back to a Michigan customer care center. I was then connected to a rep by the name of ** and I explained everything that happened to me and she was very sympathetic to my situation but told me she could not help me and wished me good luck.

I have never in all my years been treated so badly by a company as I have been treated by Cingular. As I write this letter I don't have the phone or the money. I have 2 days to try to find my daughter a phone for Christmas. Your company should be ashamed of yourselves for the terrible customer service you provided to a potential customer. I will never recommend any one to Cingular and this letter will be forwarded to the Consumer Agency.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Wireless Phone Service Imaginable
By -

NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA -- Until recently, my company used Nextel as our wireless phone provider. The service was horrible. Poor coverage area, phones not working inside many buildings, dozens of calls going directly to voicemail. At the time, I wanted to switch to another carrier as did most of my co-workers. ANYTHING would be better than Nextel, right? Wrong. I never thought I would hear the words, "This is worse than Nextel!" coming out of my own mouth, but that was before we switched to Cingular.

I reel when I see the commercials about dropped calls that Cingular/AT&T is now running! The only thing I can think when I see someone talking away and the other party not hearing them is, "They must be using Cingular..." I've never had that problem with other carriers. My personal phone is through Verizon. I've been with them for about six years, and have had exactly four dropped calls. I remember each one because they happen so infrequently. With Nextel, I often didn't have service, but it was a works-or-doesn't situation with no grey areas.

Cingular will let me place or receive a call, but drops it almost immediately. I EXPECT every call I make with Cingular to drop. I get a huge volume of calls each day, and at a conservative estimate, 70% get dropped. Granted, there are areas where my calls do not drop, but those are few and far between. These areas are also small. I have learned exact places to stand when I need to make a call...move a few feet away and the call is dropped. I also have an issue with the voicemail, which does not offer any sort of time/date stamp on the incoming messages.

It sometimes takes two to three days for a voicemail to show up on my phone, and I have no idea whatsoever when it came in! I've seen several complaints in which users state that they have been told that the dropped calls are because of the other party's phone. Well, a great majority of my calls are to other Cingular customers, so explain that away. I'd also like an explanation of why I can't make calls or drop the ones I do place when my Cingular phone shows four or more bars. I think I'd be better off with two tin cans and a piece of waxed string.

Replies
Service
By -

LOUISIANA -- I'm a tech rep for Cingular Wireless now the new AT&T... I will say that I have read the complaints that customers have and must say I'm tired of people saying that "My phone works in this location but not in others." We file cases to help customers in the area in need. We have a ladder if you will to follow to get things handled such as I'm a tech rep the person in the field (your home location) who works on the tower is called a radio frequency tech or field tech. The field tech you as a customer will never talk to... Why? They are not in a call center for one.

Also this one I love in my field by the way HOW MANY OF YOU ACTUALLY KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT USING A BLACKBERRY OR TREO? Think about this... You know the slow old man or woman driver you cuss and hate and you know if they have a car they should know how to operate the car right? Same way with a phone if you don't what to do with a phone like TURN THE THING ON don't buy the most technical phone out there then call me and expect me to stay on the phone with you without you reading the guide for the phone. To me it's like a monkey doing a math problem and I shall say this too if you can work a radio you should be able to turn on the phone.

Billing... How many actually read their bill page by page? No one hardly does! You see the amount and call all pissed off and never had read the bill. How do you think we know what charges your calling about if you never read the bill? You think we can read your minds? I say NO. If and when you pay your bill, it's not us to keep up your income of how and when you paid the bill. We are not here to baby you!

All in all you never researched the company you are signing for again as well never read your contract you just signed it right? Then because you didn't read it now after the 30 days there is an issue because you get billed MONTHLY. MOST OF THE TIME A MONTH IS 30 DAYS PEOPLE DO THE MATH... Good day.

Replies
Unauthorized contract
By -

KISSIMMEE, FLORIDA -- I went into the Kissimmee Cingular because my phone broke I asked the guy if they sell replacement phones at a discount since I have been in my contract so long like some company's do. His name was Javier he said yeah, he showed us 4 phones starting at 99 dollars but they had a 50 dollar rebate. We picked out the sync phone and he took our old phone and walked away with it. Javier came back and then gave us the phone and receipt in a bag. About 4 days later I went to mail out the rebate form and looked at the receipt and it stated that there was a 2 year agreement tacked on. Which we never signed for or agreed to. We went back to the store and fought of course there is no manager. He pulled out the contract which we never got a copy of and surprise surprise it wasn't signed! He then told us that we would have to pay 175 dollars to cancel the account or pay 375 dollars total for the phone, after we never agreed to any of this. Then we called cingular phone center and they said they couldn't do anything. Well today we were told we would get a call from the manager of the store and actually what we got was a call from the rip off sales clerk. He admitted to okaying the contract by phone but couldn't answer us why we didn't talk about an agreement he said that is highly unlikely. First of all if you pay 39.99 for a contract with 600 minutes and free nights and weekends why would you agree to go to a 450 minute plan with 5000 nights and weekends . When you go into a new contract you always get more! So Javier decided our contract for us and still Cingular is doing nothing and to top this all off this phone is in my mothers name who lives in Pennsylvania and he approved the phone in Florida without any consent from the contracts owner! So don't buy from the Kissimmee Florida (John Young ) Cingular they lie and authorize contracts without permission. I am now writing on here and going to be contacting the Better Business Bureau and the news and if nothing is done from there I will be taking this all to small claims court. Buyer Beware!

Replies
Roadside
By -

SOUTHFIELD, MICHIGAN -- I have Cingular Roadside Service. On Dec 28, 2006, I had a flat in Southfield, MI and contacted my Cingular Roadside Service to come change my flat. Cingular sent a company called Rapid Response Towing (RRT). When RRT came, they called me on my cell because I told them I would be in the restaurant that my car was parked in front of. I came out, opened my trunk and gave RRT my spare, the flat was on the right passenger. I told RRT that had to go pay my bill, and I would be right back. I told RRT that I would leave the door unlocked for him to pop the trunk to put the rim & cap in, so he wouldn't put that dirty wheel in my car.

When I came back he was finished changing the tire and writing the receipt for me to sign on the driver's side of the car. I signed it and we parted. It was too late to get my tire fixed that day, but the next day when I went to go get another tire, I discovered the wheel wasn't in my car. I called Cingular Roadside and they told me to RRT because they had been dealing with them for a while and they were sure they would want to make it right. I called, and long story short, they are very uncooperative and refusing to return my calls or replace my rim and cap. I don't even know if Cingular has bothered to check this company out!

When I did talk with Stephanie who said she would replace the tire and never called me back, she mentioned that the business was operated out of her home. Is it legitimate? Does Cingular even care? I called Cingular again & they refuse to assist, they say it is between me and Rapid Response Towing that they sent out even though I am contracted with CINGULAR to send out REPUTABLE roadside services.

I went back to the site where the tire was changed, and a security guard who works in the area said he saw the rim there all of the day Before, and someone in a truck had just picked it up a few hours before I came. It has been over 3 weeks, and I am still driving on my donut tire.

Replies
Advertisement
Cingular nightmare that only gets worse
By -

I would like to enclose the nightmare I went through with Cingular Wireless and also the "attitude" they took on my complaint: Cingular Wireless - Today I had the worse Cingular Wireless nightmare - 4-1/2 hours that I personally will never want to repeat. However, I challenge every person holding a position of management from Directorship up to the CEO and COO.

If different, the Owners of Cingular Wireless to experience what I have experienced, this should include all of the adult family members who benefit financially from my hard earned $$$$. I would insist that he or she personally experience the nightmare and not one of the appointed Cingular flunkies.

Needing to get a replacement telephone for ** for my 13-year-old son - at the time I ordered the phone on December 27, 2004. I felt a need for him to have a phone. He attends an excellent Magnet School, KO Knudson on the eastside of town; unfortunately, the area leaves very little to be desired and is influenced by a gang environment.

The caution of being sure that if he is in "harms-way" he has immediate access to communicate. At the time I ordered the telephone in December, I also ordered the Media Service and extra insurance - Media Center - should he witness trouble, he can capture on camera and send immediately; the extra insurance - is it obvious, he is a 13 year old.

On January 31, I finally got around to calling Cingular for a replacement telephone - at the time, I thought that being transferred to the wrong departments, and disconnected many times was abnormal and I patiently called back each time.

My first call - I got a male agent, I gave him my pertinent information - "€œtelephone #, first and last name, last 4 digits of SS #, pass code" - he informed me that I am an AT&T subscriber. I explained that I had upgraded my service and was told that I am now with Cingular -- he put me on hold and without my knowledge, connected me with the AT&T section anyway. 5-10 minute hold.

Having to give me pertinent information again "telephone #, first and last name, last 4 digits of SS #, pass code"€ - talking with the AT&T person -- she said I needed to talk to Customer Service. 5-10 minute hold - disconnect. Called back - (5-10 hold) after giving the pertinent information "telephone #, first and last name, last 4 digits of SS #", explaining that I was upgraded service from AT&T to Cingular. This agent asked me where did I order my phone'€™s from. I told him that I saw the add in the internet, but I called in for the upgrade. She connected me to another department (?). 5-10 minute hold.

I gave my pertinent information "€œtelephone #, first and last name, last 4 digits of SS #, pass code", explained all of the above and what I was trying to do. This guy says, "œI will need to connect you to telesales". I asked "what is the telephone # to the department you're connecting me to in case I get disconnected"€. He said "€œI just came back from vacation. It is a new department and I don't have the telephone number and no one around me has it either. You just have to call back this number and you'll be connected again"€. I was amazed at this explanation. I just wanted to get it over with and he connected me.

Went through 2 songs on the radio and 3 commercials going 1/2 way through the 4th song while on hold - disconnect. Called back - 5-10 minute hold - I asked for "telesales", before I could be transferred I needed to give all the pertinent information, "€œtelephone #, first and last name, last 4 digits of SS #, pass code", I asked for a direct fon # to Telesales, and then I was transferred. 5-10 minute hold.

I gave my pertinent information "€œtelephone #, first and last name, last 4 digits of SS #"€, explained the situation, I was connected to the "œexchange by mail". 5-10 minute hold. I gave my pertinent information "telephone #, first and last name, last 4 digits of SS #, pass code", explained the situation. I was connected to the "€œwarranty line". 5-10 minute hold.

I gave my pertinent information "œtelephone #, first and last name, last 4 digits of SS #, pass code"€, explained the situation. I was told I had no extended warranty. I was , she quoted me $150 to replace the telephone and by now I just wanted a refund, and no longer wanted the Cingular Service. The agent said she would need to connect to, I believe was, Customer Service. I have to give credit to this agent - when she connected me, she did not release me, and she explained my situation to the next agent before she transferred my call.

The next agent was very nice, I explained to her the above situation and I didn'€™t want to have to pay for a replacement phone. She said because of all the problems I'€™ve been going through, she would send me a new phone at no charge. I asked if I would still need to pay for the Activation Fee, she said "€œno, I will waive the fee." I was happy and accepted her offer. I also added Media Center to the additional 3 telephones and wanted to be sure of the extended insurance on my 13 year'™s phone. She explained that my contract with Cingular would begin anew and I would receive the new phone in 10 days.

PERFECT - I had resolved the problem. It was behind me and I could start a new day. I thought I was done. Approximately 2 days later, I received a message on my home phone inquiring if I still wanted to cancel my service and I needed to call back and advise. I was surprised at the message. I had never finalized any cancellation and as far as I was concerned everything was moving forward as planned. Continued service and a new V220 replacement phone.

It wasn'€™t until there was a message on my 13 yrs old phone inquiring about the cancellation. I called and spoke to someone at Customer Service advising "œno, I do not want to cancel my service and I am waiting for a replacement phone to arrive". This agent advised that she cannot see the order because she is in Customer Service and I placed the order through "œTelesales"€ (?) and she is sure that it is on it's way.

I called today, February 9, 2005. 5-10 minute hold. Gave my pertinent information "€œtelephone #, first and last name, last 4 digits of SS #, pass code", inquired about a replacement telephone that I have been waiting for 702-856-6083 and had not received. I began calling at 10 am, 888-333-2355 - I gave the Order Number **, the agent said this is not correct there is not enough numbers after the dash. She said she needed to connect me with "Telesales". 5-10 minute hold.

Gave my pertinent information "telephone #, first and last name, last 4 digits of SS #, pass code", explained my situation she put me on hold, every 5-minute intervals returning to ask me 1 question each time - that went on for 3 questions. Then I was on hold for the longest time and another voice was on the line - it was Customer Service. I started all over again, gave my pertinent information "œtelephone #, first and last name, last 4 digits of SS #, pass code"€. She put me on hold. She said she needed to connect me with the Sales Dept. I asked for the phone number, then transferred. 5-10 minute hold.

Gave my pertinent information "telephone #, first and last name, last 4 digits of SS #, pass code"€. I explained my situation. This agent said I needed to talk to someone in the Secondary Sales Department. I asked for the phone number, then she transferred me. This hold was memorable; I started to actually time how long I was on hold - 30 minutes then DISCONNECT.

I called the number the agent gave, 800-866-1514 - this phone # is a nightmare in itself. You call the #, it gives 4 options, you chose an option, it give another 4 options, you chose an option and it gives another 4 options, etc, etc, etc - it almost seems like an "infinity"€ nightmare. "€œZero"€ is not an option just to get a live person on the line. By now I was into trying to resolve this for 2-1/2 hours. What I had forgotten about - January 31st and never had any intention of remembering it. Now I was 1 notch less happy...

Called back 888-333-2355, I asked for a supervisor, the agent would not give me a supervisor until I gave my pertinent information, "€œtelephone #, first and last name, last 4 digits of SS #, pass code" - so I gave the info, and he transferred 20 minutes hold to whom I thought was a supervisor - but it was not - it was another Customer Service Agent. Unbelievable. I asked for a supervisor and this time I refused to give my pertinent information. With some going back and forth about needing my information, he transferred me. 25 minute hold - DISCONNECT - by now I was timing every hold - 45 minutes have passed.

Called back 888-333-2355, asked for a supervisor, refused to give my pertinent information, fighting to get a supervisor without giving my information took 15 minutes alone. I was connected to a supervisor ** - I was relieved to talk with someone in authority. I explained my situation, he put me on hold, 10 minutes passed, asked a question. Another 5 minutes passed he asked another question. 10 minutes passed he said he was trying to read my record to find authorization for the free phone. I told him if he was going to transfer me. I didn't want him to release me until it was straightened out. He promised he would stay with me until it was all resolved. He put me on hold. 17 minutes hold.

A woman's voice was on the line, I was shocked. I asked what department she was in, Secondary Sales, I asked if she was a supervisor - No, an agent. I asked for her supervisor - I explained what just happened, I gave my pertinent information "€œtelephone #, first and last name, last 4 digits of SS #, pass code", put me on hold, 19 minutes pass, she asked how many phones I had? I told her 4, put me on hold again - 30 minutes hold.

Another voice, department - Customer Service, position - CSA. I asked for a supervisor - refused to give info because of the 7 and 8 situation - this battle took 15 minutes to get through - I was so flustered that I decided to call the Cingular Headquarters ASAP and apprise them of my situation - when I got the supervisor, I didn'€™t care what her name was, I just wanted to get the Headquarter phone # and address. I was surprised there was no phone number, only an address - no Quality Assurance Department to speak of.

And I thought I was smart, I would find the Headquarter phone number in the internet, NO such luck. I called Directory Assistance for the Cingular Headquarters in Little Rock, Arkansas - that was a joke. I decided to try one more time. I called feeling only someone with authority could help me and no one else, not even a supervisor, I wanted a manager. I knew I would have to battle the CSA to get a supervisor, which I did - I asked the CSA, "€œare you refusing me service by not connecting me to a supervisor?"

He connected me to ** -Supervisor. I wanted his manager - ** absolutely refused to transfer me to the Operations Manager - **. **, denied me service by not transferring me to **. I can almost bet that Lance Brewster did not want to take my call. It is 5:30 am and I haven'€™t slept yet. My head is spinning from all of this, and reliving it all over again... geesssszzzzzoooo. 4-1/2 hours - I have never had this kind of customer service - and no resolution I must say, the department that answers quickly with a 1 minute or less hold is the "€œI WANT TO PAY MY BILL"€ Department. Once you hit that option - dang - everything else is cake. You are in-n-out in no time.

As I ponder my need for a cell phone, it is no longer as important as I thought it was. Because Cingular could not nor would not resolve my dilemma - I have come to the conclusion I need to resolve it myself. SOLUTION - cancel my service completely with Cingular immediately; without any negative report to any of the credit reporting agencies. Experian, Equifax or TransUnion or any other credit reporting agency nor within the cellular industry or any other communication companies. Every attempt has been made on my part to resolve the situation with no success.

CINGULAR CUSTOMER SERVICE CRITIQUE - I recommend the following companies that have excellent Customer Service that you might emulate their style. Chase Bank - Master Card - in the 4 years that I have been with them, there has never been a time that I could not get immediate resolution, an answer to my inquiry, even if it is not what I want to hear - it is the answer. Of the 4 credit cards I have, Chase Bank is the preferred and frequently used because of their excellent Customer Service.

Hilton Grand Vacations Company - I am employed with this company and I can tell you, we work hard at a permanent solution to the problem with one call-in from the customer. A call is never transferred without it being announced and explained to the next department or agent. If a customer wants to talk to a Supervisor or Manager, the agent will try to resolve it - but the customer is never denied the opportunity to speak to a Supervisor or Manager, never.

With ** refusal to transfer my call to ** or ** refusal to take my call, it has forced me sit and relive the nightmare and now, it is documented in writing and sent to all listed below. I am, however, sure that the as big as you are, my $$$ and my time will be filed away with all the others - in the "€œto be shredded"€ file. Cancel my service immediately... Due to work related use, I am currently using the cell phones until service is cancelled, advise when this will occur. I will then turn on new service with your competitor.

Complaint 2. My reaction to Cingular's response to the BBB or S. Nevada: It astonishes me the Cingular Wireless response. On or about March 3 or 4, 2005 - my all Cingular Wireless service was disconnected, after which time; I received a message from ** to him on this same date. This is the only time I was contacted and no other time.

I can honestly say, their statement in the 1st paragraph is a blatant lie. I have anxiously waited for a call from Cingular Wireless since February 11 to resolve this problem with the hope of no interruption to my wireless service. My family knows that I have been waiting for a call from Cingular Wireless, when ** called - my Son call me ASAP to notify me when he heard it was Cingular. No call prior to this and only after my service was disconnected on March 3 or 4.

What amazes me most, why wasn't I contacted on the cell number/s? As I stated in my complaint, I use the cell phone for work purposes, therefore, must have the cell phone on me and turned on 24/7. Interesting part is in Cingular Wireless response, 1st paragraph it states "...which is the contact number located within ** complaint"€. The phone number they used to contact me, is my home phone which is no where on my complaint. The only number/s "€œlocated within... complaint"€, is the cell telephone numbers. Again another lie.

When I spoke to **, he did not acknowledge my complaint, he wanted me to verbally tell him all over again, as if I wanted to purge? I just wanted to move forward and resolve the problem. I called ** on March 3 or 4, and "€œNO"€, I was not satisfied. A whole new problem - they want to charge me $522.12. I am waiting for the bill to arrive for review. The only bill I have received from Cingular is dated 1/12/05 for $141.21 and 2/12/05 for $143.39, and no other billing statement. I am not prepared to give a full response on this matter until I am able to review billing thoroughly.

If the "Office of the President for Cingular Wireless"€ is endorsing its representatives to blatantly lie, then I have no recourse but to permanently end my service with Cingular. As I am talking to people about my Cingular Wireless nightmare, I am finding similar problems with those who had AT&T prior to Cingular Wireless. P.S. I thought it was important for me to have my cell phone for work purposes, especially because the number was printed on literature, but Cingular has showed me that having their service was not important.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service
By -

MORENO VALLEY, CALIFORNIA -- After being with Cingular for over 6 months all of a sudden my husband and I noticed that we weren't receiving our bills in the mail (causing us to be late). So after this happened about 5 times in a row I called them about it. The lady said that I had signed up for email billing. I told that I did not nor did my husband. She then went on to say that I must have since it was activated. Basically calling me a liar. After arguing with her for almost half an hour we were set up to start receiving regular bills via snail mail again. Needless to say before hanging up I found out when our contract was up. What the hell ever happened to the customer is always right!!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Cingular Wireless Rating:
69 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Cingular Wireless
5565 Glenridge Connector
Atlanta, GA 30342
404-236-6000 (ph)
404-249-5599 (fax)
www.cingular.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services