Comcast Corporation Cable TV Reviews

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 7 ratings and
115 consumer reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | By Date | More Options >
More filter options:
Comcast-Beware of sneaky, added on charges.
Posted by on
COLORADO -- When people write complaints against Comcast, I can sympathize with the original author, but at the same time, I've posted how well things go whenever we have had Comcast issues. Well today is my turn, to write a complaint.

On April 6, 2010, we had a technician come out to our home, again. We have had the ON-DEMAND service, since 2007. We have had Comcast, since 2000, when it was first called Adelphia, and service has been fine, until we ordered the ON-DEMAND service, which included the box. We have had nothing but touble with the box, in our family room, since 2007. They have always come out to our home, replaced the box, and things would work awhile, before the trouble, and many error messages begin. I started to think, maybe it was our TV, so we went and bought a new TV for the family room, in August of 2009. The technician came out, said the box was bad, and replaced it, again. We are very used to that. He was late, and they gave us a $20.00 credit, along with another 3 months of free HBO, due to all the issues this one box causes us. They have also tested the outside wiring, and it's all good. All the other digital boxes in the house work fine, so far anyway. I probably just jinxed us, by saying that.

Here is my complaint. I just went to pay my bill, and it was much higher than normal. I use the automated service, to pay by phone. I then take the option for a customer representative. She goes over my bill, and says, Oh, I see the extra charge, which is $29.99. I ask, what was that for? She says, oh for the service call on April 6, 2010. I ask why, after 3 years, and many many service calls are we being charged. She says they only charge for the service call, if the problem in on your end, and not with their equipment. I say, it was your equipment, again. The digital box was bad. How is that our fault?? She says, well for an added amount of $1.45 a month, you can get their service protection plan. I said, no thank you, I do not want that. The problems we have with Comcast are not on our end, it is due to their equipment. She was very nice and said she would credit us the $29.99, it would take up to 72 hours. I said thank you, and when I get the credit, I will pay my bill.

I think it was a sneaky charge that was added. I always check over my bills, because of things like this. I understand it was an error, on their part to charge me, I just wonder how many other people do not actually read their bills, just pay what the amount for the month is due.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
I Want What I Pay For
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
WASHINGTON, PENNSYLVANIA -- Before Comcast came into Washington Pa, we had another cable provider, which we never had any problems. Well when Comcast rolled into town they promised all these great services and great cable. Well that lasted for a very short time. The cable on a few channels started to go out or tile (small blocks across the picture and also effects the sound), which we called and the service representative would have me go through a series of trouble shooting procedures to try to handle the problem myself from home. Sometimes it would work, but for only a short time, and the problem would return. And if we did get a visit from a service tech. we would ask them if they knew why they were here and they said they had no idea and we would have to go through the explanation all over again, I do understand that I would have to explain the issue to the service personnel however to show up and have no idea of what the problem is, if they had to bring certain items to do the repair well they would not have them, not a good business practice.

Well any how this has gone on for over a year now, and the issue has not been addressed correctly. They have replaced all the cable in the house, the connection at the pole, the box at the pole, they have also replaced the cable to the house with cable triple the size of the previous 2 cable lines, oh I'm sorry they had replaced the line to the house last year, but this year they determined that the cable was not large enough because of the distance to my house from the pole, oh the cable from the pole to the house in underground. I explained to the individual who sets up the service calls to please try and remedy the problems because I am tired of paying for a service that I have not received.

This evening I was on the phone with Comcast to set up yet another service call for Saturday morning, I told the Comcast representative that the service tech should not be here very long because everything in the house and cable from the pole to the house has been verified by the other service tech to be in perfect working condition, therefore it should be a quick fix. What I did tell the Comcast representative was that the only thing I believe could be wrong is the cable coming down the road to our pole, because that is the only thing that has not been replaced, the answer the representative gave to my wife was, "Well we have had no complaints from any other customers on your street". Really! I am seriously thinking about dumping Comcast and going with another provider, I've never experienced such poor service from any other items that myself or my family has purchased or used.

But my complaint is not all negative when the service personnel show up to fix or try to fix the problem they are there when they say and they do seem knowledgeable and courteous, however good manners does not fix the problem. Once again, I want what I pay for...........
     
Replies
With Comcast You'll Be Out of Business fast...
Posted by on
LIVERMORE, CALIFORNIA -- This is a WARNING rather than a review.

If you are financially dependent on your computer working in order to carry out business transactions that require your immediate attention like I am DO NOT USE Comcast.

CAUTION DO NOT ATTEMPT STOCK TRADES!!!

If you are dependent on your phone service for Medical Emergency Response, a security system or simply having a working phone DO NOT USE Comcast.

If you like your TV BEWARE it can stop at anytime either by system failure or by vindictive employee tampering (Proven and confirmed by management) which was just one of the reasons our TV went off!

These experiences occurred weekly in a home already equipped with and using all of Comcast's premium services.

In order to incorpoate an office into the extra room Comcast was called. This required getting a phone line added that would be separate and attached to a Medical Emergency Alert System required by the user. For the purpose of conducting serious business negotiations and trades a separate computer internet service was installed. For TV a new connection. This was beneficial to Comcast financially and they were more than happy to accommodate with the assurance these products would work reliably.

The first week all the computers stopped fuctioning and all the phones went dead. Having no phone service was a serious matter in this household as is the case in many homes and was expressed to management. I explained that someone needed to come out immediately or I would have to make preparations to have someone here in case of an emergency. Comcast Management said and PROMISED they would send someone out that evening. Guess what...No one came. Comcast Lied. Comcast employee confirmed this the next and "apologized".

When I complained to a Comcast employee retaliation in form of losing my TV service immediately after I hung up. Now we had no phone, no Internet and no TV. I don't like cell phones so I had to go to the neighbors to use their phone. It soon discovered and it was confirmed the representative had utilized his power to disconnect our service. I had his identity which I recommend you always get when spending valuable time with these people.

Although the Manager was very apologetic, promised to disipline this man and do everything to get all our services working this has not occurred. I found out today no discipliary action was ever taken to correct or end this behavior.

I have no complaints with the technicians who have been very friendly and tried to help. One free lancer confided that Comcast "treats their workers badly" I could see for myself how pressured and inadequately trained these techs are.

When the owner of the home asked for reimbursement they refused. Today I spoke again with a Manager who agrees they really "lost it on this one" adding that in "some" areas the system doesn't work well. I countered by telling him this property is in the big city of Santa Rosa. Further North in Healdsburg where this might be possible and where my home is located Earthlink works just great. Their excuses don't make sense.

It has been over a month and service has not gotten better. Although they do send Techs out the problems remain. The phones have gone dead a minimum of once a week, the Internet service fails on a daily basis and the TV reception comes and goes.

Today was the last straw. I lost a very important business transaction this morning for the third time. They have had so many opportunities to get it right and I even joked we were going to charge rent because the techs practically live here.

I am told by a Comcast employee that this is not the way my computer should be working it is their system and they need to fix it. He assured me they would get it right.
Well there efforts are lost on my loss of Money, Time and Peace of Mind. Remember the medical emergency alert system was dependent on the phone line working and Comcast was well aware of this priority assuring us the phone would work before they were commissioned to come out. To add insult to injury this company literally lied when they promised to fix the phone and we were lucky there wasn't a tragedy. Then one of their vindictive employees tampered with our equipment in an effort to create even more discomfort and frustration.

My friend is stuck with this mess. I get to go back the my Heavenly home in the wine country where my Dish TV service is working and always has. My phone has never gone out and I use Earthlink a company that has never failed me and continues to earn my respect.

For a mere $17.00 a month I get high speed internet service that far exceeds anything in speed I ever had using Comcast's most "elite" service.

Until now I never felt good about using a company that employs foreign workers however Comcast has changed my opinion completely. I believe the "Best man deserves the job" and my experience with Earthlink has by far exceeded my expectation. These employess handicapped with a language barrier and constantly abused due to prejudice perform remarkabley and have earned my respect and admiration. They work harder, are so polite, take abuse as par for the course and overcompensate with an astounding desire to please. Their manners are impecable and show remarkable tolerance even in the most challenging circumstance. With Comcast I am hung up on, transferred in circles, rudely assaulted and my equipment is disconnected as punnishment for complaining.

If this is the service I get for supporting an American corporation I can do without. Without guilt or shame I gladly take my money and my praise to the people who earn it..

I truly appreciate the efforts of the technicians for their efforts and honsty. As to the company itself who believes appropriate compensation is a robotic apology and despite the evidence to the contrary assure me they are the best available I say "actions speak louder than words.

Today after demanding to be connected to Dennis a manager who promised to "do everything he could for us" He had the nerve to say "It looks like you got a lot of service for very little money" I responded asking him "What service"? reminding him the service I received is a lot more expensive even if it worked than Earthlink and I have not lost any business deals with Earthlink. Little money? To be clear we have not received any credit from Comcast and pay the premium rate no discount. The funniest part of all this was while the owner of the home was on the phone with management the phone went out twice! Hard to argue with that and still no credit!

What is undeniably apparent with Comcast is that neither the employees or the company care one bit for the customer, their business, their service or their comfort and satisfaction. To Comcast the customer is like a herd of cattle and slaughter is par for the course. Today we were told we would be credited for "today" Wow! "Thanks for choosing Comcast" Well I didn't and I DON't!
     
Replies
Request to upgrade to HDMI box? Good luck!
Posted by on
CHATTANOOGA, TENNESSEE -- The following exchange is cut and pasted directly from an online chat session I had with Comcast customer service.

All I wanted to do was have Comcast come to my home to switch out our old non HDTV box for a new HDMI box.

Prior to this chat I had contacted Comcast online the day before with no resolution. I had also called Comcast to speak with a customer service rep, also to no avail.

The time I spent engaging Comcast on this issue is approximately 2 hours.

My personal chat information has been deleted for privacy reasons. Please forgive the typos. "Enjoy"....

user ROb_ has entered room

Rob(Wed Feb 27 10:51:02 EST 2008)>Place order

analyst Paul.25710 has entered room

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 10:51:05 EST 2008)>Hello ROb_, Thank you for contacting Comcast Live Chat Support. My name is Paul.25710. Please give me one moment to review your information.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 10:51:12 EST 2008)>I will be happy to assist you with your questions today.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 10:51:39 EST 2008)>May I have your Comcast account number please?

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 10:52:41 EST 2008)>Thanks. I'd like to place an online order for a DVMI box to be delivered to my home when available for swap out with our old cable box. we just bought a LCD HD TV and upgraded our service for that so we need the newer box. can you help me w that? I don't have my home bill but my home phone is xxx-xxx-xxxx

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 10:53:19 EST 2008)>Thank you for that information.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 10:53:24 EST 2008)>For identification, could you please verify the last 4 digits of the social security number listed on the account?

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 10:53:31 EST 2008)>xxxx

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 10:53:44 EST 2008)>Thank you for that, Rob.

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 10:54:55 EST 2008)>OK

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 10:55:39 EST 2008)>Let me pull-up your records for me to be able to give out the right information for you. Okay.

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 10:55:58 EST 2008)>OK

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 10:57:14 EST 2008)>Rob, regarding your request what I want you to do is to personally visit your local office in your area so that they can see the box that you would like to replace.

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 10:57:31 EST 2008)>why?

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 10:57:42 EST 2008)>Do you know the address of your local office.

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:00:00 EST 2008)>yes. they have the box information on file. I am not going to unplug the box, drive to Comcast just so they can look at the box. we need an hdmi box what does it matter which box we have? doesn't Comcast have a record of the tuype box we have in its records.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:01:50 EST 2008)>What I can do for you is to schedule a taechnician for you to insatall the box but I cannot assure you that the box you are requesting for is available in your local office.

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:03:19 EST 2008)>I know they don't have the boxes now that much we have figured out.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:03:37 EST 2008)> So you really need to personally visit your local office to verify that the box that you are requesting for is available.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:04:53 EST 2008)> Yes, we have a record of your boxes but we do not have a records of what model of boxes are available in your loval office.

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:07:27 EST 2008)>Do you know how ridiculous this exchange we are having is? This is a multibillion dollar company, and what you are telling me I cannot place an order to have an HDMI box delivered to my house when it becomes available from my local office. INstead, you are advising me to "take the box out to my local Comcast service provider -- a 45 minute round trip for me -- which doesn't include my time waiting in line etc. When I get there I will be told "we don't have those boxes in stock now." And then what? Come back another day?

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:10:23 EST 2008)>It would be best for you to call your local office for this issue like what I said I canschedule a technician for you but I cannot assure you that the box that you are requesting for is available.

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:11:33 EST 2008)>See, that is a great idea. ONly problem is there IS no local phone number for my Comcast service provider. Instead, when I call I get routed to a call center that tell me THEY do not have a way to contact my local service provider directly.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:11:38 EST 2008)>As much as I would want to helpn you, Rob, I really am unable to grant your request as my resources through chat is limited.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:11:55 EST 2008)>We are in a national call center.

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:13:31 EST 2008)>Right. You have other more important customers to help. Right. So here's what I'm going to do. I'm going to cut and paste this excahnge with you to the INternet everywhere I can find anything to do with Comcast complaints. This is what happens when you have a telecommunications monopoly and you don't have to answer to your customer base, or provide a minimum level of service. By minimum level I mean at least "D" level service.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:13:45 EST 2008)>Hold on I can give you a phone number in your local office.

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:14:06 EST 2008)>423-855-4300

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:14:26 EST 2008)>that goes to the call center.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:15:13 EST 2008)>Battlefield
Address: Hours:
2205 LaFayette Rd.
Ft. Oglethorpe, GA 30742
Phone: 423-855-3900 M - F 9am - 5:30pm, Sat 9am - 1pm

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:15:24 EST 2008)>I apologize for the frustration and understand how you feel.

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:16:29 EST 2008)>LOL I'm sure you do. However, your "feeling my pain" is no substitute for Comcast helping me do something as insanely simple as scheduling an appointment to switch out a cable box. Right?

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:17:08 EST 2008)>BTW that location is NOT my local Comcast office. That is located on Polymer Drive.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:17:20 EST 2008)>Rob, I actually want to assist you in this matter but this process can be resolve by codordinating with your local office.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:18:05 EST 2008)>Chattanooga
Address: Hours:
2030 East Polymer Dr
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Phone: 423-855-4300 M-F, 8am-6pm. Sat, 9am-1pm

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:19:01 EST 2008)>There is NO WAY to contact my local office without getting in my car and driving out there. THAT is why I am contacting Comcast online. To place a simple service call. The number you have provided goes to A CALL CENTER in Memphis. THEY cannot contact my local Comcast office. The don't have a telephone number for them.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:21:22 EST 2008)>Okay, I will schedule a technician for you to replace your box, However I will be unable to guarantee that the box you are requesting for is available.

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:23:38 EST 2008)>It is NOT available. So the way a service ticket SHOULD work, I would think, is it goes into backorder status such that when one DOES become available Comcast can notify me and say "we have a box for you". Is this multibillion dollar company not capabable of processing simple customer service tasks like that?

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:25:55 EST 2008)>Do you know who Rick Germano is?

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:26:05 EST 2008)>Your local office will be the one who will request the box that you are requesting for to our main office.

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:28:01 EST 2008)>So you can schedule a box to be switched out and Comcast will contact me if it is not available and let me know when one is available and coordinate a time to reschedule? Correct?

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:29:44 EST 2008)>Yes, that is correct.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:31:22 EST 2008)>Did you receive my last message?

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:32:07 EST 2008)>Are you still there?

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:32:43 EST 2008)>That was in essence my original reason for contacting Comcast online. Why it has taken us 20 minutes to get to this juncutre escapes me. Irrespective of that, I would then like to place an order to have an HDMI box delivered to my home to replace the non HD compatible Comcast cable box we currently have. Please advise what information you need from to facilitate that, along with a tracking or reference number for the order (I am presuming you will give me that.)

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:35:06 EST 2008)>One moment please, While I process this one for you.

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:37:26 EST 2008)>You understand my ire is not directed at you personally. You are simply implementing the standard of service that is determined from the top down at Comcast. You are doing what you can do with the tools and resources afforded you. This is not your fault ... it is Comcast management that sets the tone and standards.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:38:16 EST 2008)>The available slot for you is on Monday that is March 3,2008 between 8am to 11am is that okay with you?

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:39:03 EST 2008)>Because I am posting this transcript to the INternet, and further sending it to Rick Germano, Senoir Vice President of Comcast Customer Operations, I am for the record going to post the following into this transcript from Comcast's page "Custmer Care Improvements:

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:39:23 EST 2008)>That page is located at: http://www.comcast.com/Corporate/Customers/customercare.html?CMP=KNC-1TO1092007GOOGLE4&s_kwcid=comcast%20complaint|849143647

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:39:49 EST 2008)>That page begins:

We are constantly working to serve you better.

Dear Comcast Customer:

We want to let you know that customer service is our highest priority. Your feedback is very important to us, and we use it to improve the way we deliver service. We are writing this letter to update you on the steps we have taken to provide better service to you. We are putting a tremendous amount of resources into making it easier and more convenient for you to do business with us.


ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:40:04 EST 2008)>Yes, the date you have indicated will work.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:40:16 EST 2008)>Okay, I understand if you feel the need to do that.

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:41:39 EST 2008)>If the box requested is not available I presume Comcast will contact me to reschedule? Correct? Also, can you provide me a tracking number to reference this order should I need to contact Comcast about it?

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:42:07 EST 2008)>Your appointment has been scheduled for March 3,2008 between 8AM and 11AM. Please ensure that someone who speaks English and over the age of 18 years old is present. The technician will call you 30 minutes before coming to your home.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:43:21 EST 2008)>Yes, that is correct, your tracking number for this transaction will be your account number that is xxxxx-xxxxxx-xx

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:43:49 EST 2008)>Is there anything else I can assist you with at this time?

ROb_(Wed Feb 27 11:44:22 EST 2008)>It's been an amazing journey. I'm glad to have finally arrived. Thank you for your assistance Paul.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:44:43 EST 2008)>If you need assistance in the future,please do not hesitate to contact us through Live Chat or E-Mail us at www.comcast.net to help you reach a resolution independently.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:44:46 EST 2008)>Thank you for contacting Comcast! Where you are a Valued Customer.

Paul.25710(Wed Feb 27 11:44:49 EST 2008)>Have a great day! Bye!

****

Will Comcast actually deliver the box as scheduled? I certainly hope so since I will have to take the morning off from work to be there when they show up.

****

How can Comcast get away with such horrific customer service. It's simple. They are a monopoly and have no accountability. To wit: There is no alternative in the marketplace if you want cable and want to switch. By the way Comcast is a Bill Gates company.

     
Replies
Cannot Make This Up
Posted by on
My first round with Comcast was in 2007. One of their contractors was installing new fiber through my front yard. Ended up piercing my water line & cracking my driveway. Cost to fix? More than $6,000. You would not believe what I had to do to get reimbursed. Despite the photos of the actual 'dig line marks in my grass lining up with crack in driveway, waterline, and cable box (in addition to my water bill going from $20/mo to more than $200 immediately after the dig), you'd think that it wouldn't take almost 4 months to get it replaced. Additionally, a tech disabled my virus while trying to 'work' on my connectivity, allowing malware/virus on my desktop to the point it took in excess of FOUR hours from powering on to simply load Windows. Of course, Comcast would not reimburse me for that.

Round 2. My company required non-wifi, non-DSL internet for telecommuting. At the time, Comcast was running a special in March 2009. Internet was $24.99 with basic cable for $10 more a month for a year with free installation. Pretty good deal that (stupidly) made me try again.

Four different installation techs. 3 were complete idiots. The first one tracked mud through my home - staining my carpet. Another insisted my cabling was feeding in 'through my attic'. Now I'm not a cable installation tech, but I know the cable is fed through the side of my home. The third one was just stupid. The forth one finally got it done - said there were no problems and the previous 3 people did not know what they were doing. Additionally, he 'swapped out' my own personal modem (meaning he took mine) for a new one.

That was a hurdle. But it was installed and smooth riding now, right? (Laughing, not a chance.)

First, I was charged for FOUR separate installation fees. Secondly, I was not given the promotional offer advertised. Seems simple enough to call and get it corrected, right? (Not a chance)

EVERY month, I mean EVERY month, I had to deal with incorrect bills from late charges, to incorrect fees. I got tired of dealing with the regular service, started just beginning by asking for a supervisor. (Four weeks later, that return call hadn't happened). Service shut of several times when I paid the amount I was told to over the phone but credits were not applied.

Then I learned that Comcast has a team for "reputation management" for Twitter. I tweeted "Comcast sucks" and got someone give me an email address to 'fix' my problem.

The problem was not fixed (on a monthly basis), but at least I did not have to sit online for god knows how long, and I had everything in writing. (Thank heaven for that)

I emailed the one person I had interacted with ongoing that I had advised them I was canceling Internet service, I had gotten another provider and was fed up with the crappy internet access. But I was charged for the following 3 months, despite regular repeated email insistence to cancel service.

In early March, I'm having my future In-Laws over for brunch. First time I'm meeting them. Big deal. KNock at my door. A Comcast tech is there to collect $149 immediately or they are shutting off service. I tell him he's incorrect and show him the last email exchange advising me that credits had been applied (but weren't). I was absolutely MORTIFIED by this experience and it utterly ruined my brunch.

Promises made yet again, but all talk. TWELVE bills. Not one correct. Not one. I'm still being charged an 'inactive modem fee' in addition to a 'modem fee' - I have told them they are happy to have this one back but they need to require the one they took. I was assured more than a month ago that the situation would be 'resolved' once and for all, but 4 weeks later, still not a peep. I've also advised them to cancel my TV - as it was constantly 'shifting channels' requiring me to reprogram the TV channels (a 3+ hour process with my particular TV). I checked yesterday - more than 3 weeks ago, I notified them to cancel service, but they have yet to cut my service.

I have been interacting with supposedly one of the senior customer service people at corporate. It is completely unconceivable how a company can be so consistently inept?

I would rather go without TV at all before dealing with Comcast again. I've fortunately got everything documented for more than 8 months of the cluster_uck of service I've received. I will be working with a local Consumer Reporter later this month to do a story on how atrocious Comcast is. I look forward to sharing my experience with as many people as possible.



I am going to digital antenna at this point.

After canceling my
     
Replies
Just another Comcast story
Posted by on
I have had Comcast phone, internet and cable service problems since they took over from Time Warner. I finally cancelled my phone and internet because at any given time some or all of the services did not work. I have complained to customer service constantly and they have yet to resolve any of those issues. They lie just about all the time when confronted with the complaints and often try to put the blame on other department personnel. Customer service blames the techs and the techs blame customer service and the problem or issue is never resolved. They are well adept at keeping the customer in limbo and all the while you are paying for services you never receive without any adjustment to your monthly bill.

In the few years with with Comcast I have been double billed for $244.00 and had to fight with them for three months to resolve it. Charged me for an NSF EFT because they entered my bank account info incorrectly, then did not want to refund it even when I provided a letter from my bank stating that the charge was never applied to my bank account. I have been lied to at least a few times or more within all levels of the company including management. Lost wages taking off work to meet them for appointments, in which on two occasions they never showed up and have yet to offer a credit as per their commercial claims. They have sent technicians to my house at least 7-9 times for a cable card problem. On one occasion the tech sat on my couch and watched basketball on ESPN till I finally told him I had to leave. They have come poorly equipped with multiple cards that aren't programed properly, or, are for their cable boxes and not TVs. They've stayed for hours at a time, bickered with personnel who are operating the console and some techs have had little or no experience with cable cards at all.

They intended to bill me for a service call when in fact they caused the problem by removing a code from the system and didn't know how to correct it. I had no premium channels since Dec.2009 and only able to receive about 20 or so of the lower tier channels. Three techs came to my house, one in Jan. and two within one week in Feb for the same problem. I finally asked the last tech to remove the card from my account and requested to have my services downgraded to expanded basic. He said he would pass the information to someone and hopefully get them to prorate my account due to the lack of service. Shortly after he left, I received a call from a lady representative assuring me that she could get my problem resolved if I would give her a chance by re-scheduling a tech to come with more cable cards. She said she felt sure they could get one to work. I declined to which she then offered me an HD box and asked when she could schedule someone to install it. I reluctantly said yes and asked for an evening appointment reminding her that I had already missed enough work because of this situation.

She apologized and assured me that my bill would be credited for the inconvenience and loss of service. The appointment time came and went without anyone showing up. I called the next day to find out what happened and was informed that I never had an appointment after all. I then called to get my bill prorated and after about 30-45 min. of back and forth discussion finally thought we had come to an acceptable amount and I paid the agreed amount immediately after our call ended. Today, 10 days later, I checked my account only to find that they added all the charges back on my bill and listed them as previous balance due. Looks like they have lied again...I don't know why I believed them in the first place. Now I will cancel my services completely and refuse to pay them another penny. Bottom line...If you are not being treated fairly drop them, they will realize the importance of their customers when the company loses them all.
     
Replies
Set Top cable box burnt out TV's PCB
Posted by on
VANCOUVER, WASHINGTON -- When I bought my new HD TV, I upgraded to the Premium HD Cable TV service from Comcast last year after having regular TV service with them for the previous 2 years. I soon discovered that there were still some "manufacturing defects" in their new HD Cable TV set top box. At times my TV would change channels inadvertently, or would "freeze frame" the picture, or loose the sound entirely. Thinking this was a problem with my cable box, I went to Comcast and exchanged my defective box for another one. But, to my surprise, the same problems started within a month of getting the new HDTV Cable box. A call to Comcast tech service cleared this up. But, the problem would come back in a few days to a week. This got to be very frustrating. After a few complaints to the customer service department I was finally told they were aware of defects in the HD Cable box and that Comcast and the manufacturer were working on them. In the meantime the tech support recommended that I leave the Comcast set top box ON at all times (even when the TV is off)... this will keep the box from getting "de-tuned". I resolved that I would just have to put up with this until the fixes were made. But, after 3-weeks of keeping my cable box on 24/7, the TV suddenly showed a scrambled signal on all channels. I called Comcast who sent a tech out to find the problem. The tech determined that the problem was in the TV, not in the cable box. Comcast charged me $25 for the service call, since it wasn't cable related. So, I called a TV repair service and they discovered that the cause was a burnt out circuit board on my TV... the power circuit board (PCB.) Fortunately for me, this was a warranted repair. Over the next 5 months, I watched my TV keeping the Comcast cable box on 24/7. Then, suddenly, again my TV showed a scrambled signal just as before. This time I called the TV repair first. They determined that I had the same PCB problem as before... only this time I was over the warranty date. I had to pay for the new PCB, but the labor was still covered under my warranty. The repairman asked me if I had any input power to my TV other than the power cord. I told him that Comcast has me keep the Cable set top box on all the time regardless of TV on or off. He said that a lot of customers have experienced problems including circuit board problems from keeping their cable box on. So, I discovered it was the Comcast cable box, with its "manufacturing defects", that was the cause of my TV problems. I called Comcast with this information to get redress for my out of pocket expenses, including a refund of the $25 service charge they hit me with. Comcast denied any knowledge that their equipment caused any problems with customer TV sets. I wrote a letter of complaint to Comcast, but did not receive an answer. I have now canceled my Cable TV service and switched to a satellite service. If you have had any similar problems please leave a comment here and do as I did and quit Comcast and write a letter to the FTC.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
I Hate Comcast. They Take Your Money and Deliver Horrible Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
PORTLAND, OREGON -- Every few months I have had problems with my cable TV service. From set top boxes that don't work to channels that just disappear.

Every time I call for service, I get to talk to someone in a foreign country. Not only I can't understand what they say, they don't know anything about my problems. Instead of sending a technician to fix my problem, to save money, they ask you to talk to a computer voice and then if you are persistence, to someone on the phone. It takes hours to reach a person and then they ask you to do things on your TV and cable box that only a technical person would know and their solutions don't work.

It has taken me 10 days and 4 different people to talk to and none have been able to help. They just resist to send a person to fix the problem. Finally they agreed to send a technician 4 days from now. That is two weeks that I will not be able to use the service that I am paying for.

They are very good in getting your money. They have all kinds of real people on the phone to get your money. But when it comes to delivering service, they are the worst. I have missed most of my favorit shows and sport events. I am trying to take them to court to get my money back. I will go back to Dish Network now in a heart beat. DO NOT USE COMCAST.
     
Replies
Do your homework before switching from your current cable provider to Comcast Cable.
Posted by on
FROSTPROOF, FLORIDA -- I had Dish network for over 2 years and seen what I thought was a good deal from Comcast Cable. I called Comcast several times and spoke with a representative about the cost involved with the service I was seeking. When I felt we had a firm understanding amongst myself and the representative with the service and fees associated with switching to Comcast I proceeded to order Comcast cable services. After ordering the service I was told they wouldn't be able to have a person come out and set up the services for 2 weeks. I should have known at this point that nothing good was going to come from this change of service. Someone came out and finally hooked up the service. Then I received a Bill for the first months service. When I ordered Comcast the representative told me I only had to pay for the second DVR. The first one was free. Then she told me I would only have to pay 9.95 per room for installation on 2 rooms. Well to my surprise I was charged 9.95 for one room installation then had to pay 20.00 for having cable turned on, 29.95 for the internet being activated, and 35.00 for the phone activation. And I had to pay for the DVR I was told I wouldn't have to ( to boot). When I called Comcast to ask why I was being charged for all that when the representative clearly told me I wouldn't and the other charges were never mentioned and they told me sorry for the representative giving you the wrong information but you have to pay what is billed and found an excuse for every problem encountered. Now I'm locked in with this company for 12 months at which time I will change providers and never do business with or recommend Comcast Cable to anyone. All I can say is if it seems to good to be true then it probably isn't true. Make sure of all the hidden fees before changing services.
     
Replies
Sorry Excuses
Posted by on
KINGSTON, TENNESSEE -- Hello,

I have recently been on the phone with your Comcast Center in Knoxville, Tn., and on several other occasions I can't even remember how many times. I could go on to write hate mail as to the kind of service I am given with most I speak to, but it wouldn't do any more good than not.

My problem with your representatives is not as bad as the quality of service my television gets. It is an everyday occurrence that something is wrong with the reception. There is not one particular channel high or low, time of day, or condition of weather that affects it. My picture will turn into pixels and lose sound. This can occur constantly, one time right after the other, or it will come and go or completely black out. It also does this sometimes on all three boxes I have, or it may only do it on one, depending on the circumstances. The cable was connected in March of this year and we have had nothing but trouble since. They supposedly have most, if not all, of my calls noted on my records. The many attempts made to resolve this issue have done nothing. They recently came and completely rewired this home in July, putting in all new cable lines. I am still having problems with interference of my cable reception, and frankly I am all but fed up with it and the Customer Service Center.

I will be the first to admit that after all of the waiting time and then talking to someone that has no idea of what I'm saying, I can turn into a real "witch". But you should hear some of the excuses I hear and some of the things they say are wrong. It truly amazes me that they can honestly sit there and believe themselves what they are telling you. They have also been trained very well to hang up on you if you get aggravated. This is even if you don't say bad words to them. It's like they just get tired of hearing your story, so they just hang up knowing you'll never get "them" back on the phone. In the past two weeks, I have asked to speak to a supervisor, and was told that one would call me back within 24 hours. Well, I'm still waiting. As for the trouble-shooting people that come to your home, when they call, they ask if your service is still acting up. If it hasn't or isn't at the time, they say they can't know what to look for. I can understand this, but I don't understand why the lines in my area can't be checked for that "hair-line" split in one of your lines.

I guess my biggest qualm with all of this is: Why should I be the one paying you all of the big bucks for service, get poor reception, and then have to wait at home for someone every time I call in, only to be told, if there is nothing wrong at the time, there's nothing they can do. My time is as valuable to me as yours is to you. I don't mind having to wait for a repairman, but I certainly don't want it to be an every other week thing. It's been three times in the last month. I'm sick of it.

I do realize my bill is not in the best standing, never has, but it always gets paid, and you make sure we pay dearly for it being late. BUT....... you do get your money. The lady I spoke with today, the second time after the first one hung up, told me my cable was on "soft shut-down" and that was the reason for the interference. I know what a "soft shut-down" is. My television is not out of service as of this moment, nor the computer service. You may have it listed for this, but as of right this moment, it is still in working order. Is this lady right about interference on my television because it is "scheduled" for soft shut-down? This makes no sense to me. Another one of your representatives had me to disconnect my cable and run it straight to the television set, even though all 3 T.V.'s were doing the same thing at the same time, she told me all three of my boxes had gone bad at once. After this explanation, I just asked her if she was "BLONDE". DUH! My boxes seem to be just fine, it's the reception I am getting interference with. Another night we were having an "end of the summer" slumber party. We stay up all night, play on the computer and watch movies. But not that night. Right in the middle of our movie, the whole service shuts down. No T.V., no internet and 6 kids here with nothing to do! I called again. This time it was for scheduled maintenance. I was informed there was nothing that could be done. It would be off for 2 hours. I asked why customers are not informed about this scheduled maintenance, and they just told me they didn't have to inform us of it. If we had known this was scheduled to happen, we would have planned a little differently. But since we weren't even given the chance, it ruined a really nice time for the kids. Did you compensate me for this inconvenience? I don't think so. Furthermore, you never compensate me for my outages, my trouble, my time or anything else. But just let my bill get behind and you compensate yourselves for that! Plus every time I am inconvenienced by your service, I am still paying for it anyway. How fair is this? Your company makes a killing from your customers. You are forever giving specials to new customers, but what about your faithful customers? What do you do for them? My answer, just the runaround I've been getting for the last 5 months, and still bad reception, rude customer service representatives and no compensation for my trouble.

You may have the market cornered on cable, but hopefully one day there will be someone bigger and badder to take you down and give you some competition. I'm all for another cable company to come in and take your customers. I'd be one of the first to go. In turn, I would ask my family to do so also, because if it wasn't for me referring them to you, you wouldn't have them. Your "refer-a-friend" program screwed me on this also. Even after speaking to a representative about referring someone, they still wouldn't allow me to collect on my free month for referring them. Your reason, even with the email I kept from your representative, was, you didn't recognize it in my area. What a rip-off. This was the one question I did ask the representative about and she wrote back saying as long as I was a Comcast customer, I qualified.

Sorry, I just had to stop writing. Why? My channels are going in and out again. I had to call your service center in Knoxville, again. Now I have to wait on someone tomorrow, AGAIN! Give me a break! I can't even get a letter written to you without my reception messing up.

Do you intend to compensate me for my time, my inconvenience and my loss? It would be fair to say I've lost at least a month's worth of cable in the last 5 months. Plus the two people I've referred to you at a month free for each. Looks like I'm out about three (3) months "WORTH" of cable. So, tell me what's fair about this situation? Why should I not be mad? I am mad at the whole thing. But is there anything I can do about this? NO! Except send this letter to everyone or anyone that will listen. I love my cable & internet service----WHEN IT WORKS CORRECTLY! But that is so very little that most of the time is spent HATING IT!

If anyone has a solution, I wish you would let me in on it. I want to keep my services, I even want to upgrade to the phone system you are offering. BUT.... not if things continue the way they are going. I know for a fact that I am not the only dissatisfied customer you have. But for some reason, we seem to keep getting pushed to the back of the line, and it stinks!

I appreciate anyone brave enough to figure this out, and help me with the problems I have experienced.

p.s. Now THEIR site is telling me my letter has too many characters in it and to shorten it? Why is this allotment of only 1500 characters not listed on here BEFORE I wrote the letter? Is this just a FLAW? AN OVERSITE? JUST PLAIN STUPIDITY IF YOU ASK ME!
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >