Cox Communications Inc

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 17 ratings and
69 reviews & complaints.
www.cox.com


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Your Lying Thief in the Digital Age
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
EL CAJON, CALIFORNIA -- More like "A huge lying thief in the digital age."
Similar to a prior review, when signing on with Cox it had been recommended that I get a bundle package so that technically even though I didn't need my land line it would be the cheapest route. My bill has never been the originally agreed price!!! Since Mid January.
So for the first couple of months my bill was 20 bucks higher because I was on the installation payment plan for original hookup (5 payments). After that, in my original order I had requested an HD Cable Box with DVR, but by the time I had gotten to sit down and look at my cable setup after the clueless tech finally left I realized the box had no DVR or HD for that matter.
After 2 more weeks for waiting for someone to come out and trade it with a HD/DVR one they still had [snip] messed up on my account!
On my next bill they thought I was paying for 2 DVR boxes and I was getting charged for 2 because the technician hadn't turned in the old one correctly and removed it from my account. So by the time this was figured on my bill I was already sick of Cox.
.I actually got it credited back 2 billing periods later, better late than never, but still wondering when the dust would settle and I could get to sticking to my budget!!! What pissed me off the most is the run around, transfers and wait times to tell them they messed up again. I value my time as much as anyone else but the wait times for every phone call was at least 10 minutes no matter when I called.
So now being on a tight budget and ready to save $$ I was like OK....I know my bill will be $152, no extra on demand movies or fights, bundled "cheapest" package and my installation paid off....then BAM!
For no reason (they still have to explain to me) my cox promotional discount decreased from $35 to $20..all of this within 6 months of initial hookup...so this is another unforeseen increase and is killing my budget!! And my taxes and fees stayed the same-Yes $20 is a big difference in this house. Even if was rich it would be the principle of the situation, but since its slim pickings I take this quite personally...this money takes away from other things that my family could enjoy hella more than cable...
As of last night I bought a Roku4, set it up all up by myself thank you very much, and have at least 3-4 media devices streaming from it and couldn't be happier. I D/C my Cox half an hour ago and proudly told them Roku...they didn't seem surprised.
Wish I would have pulled my head out of my ass earlier and saved me over $400 bucks, a lot of frustration and time wasted listening to terrible hold music. That is at least an hour of my life I will never get back....not being from this area I thought this was the company to go with, after research I know I have more independent options. Hope this review helps anyone else out there who are having similar problems with "your friend in the digital age"
     
Replies
Stole My Credit Card Information
Posted by on
From the get I should have known this company was a crock of you know what. Not only does every website that offers reviews have horrible horrible things to say about it, but I've even encountered some of their own employees who dislike their job.

Unfortunately for us and where we live there are no other cable companies in the area YET. So we have no choice but to stick with these scumbags or not watch TV, and have Internet.

When we first called, I spoke to a man who sounded like he knew his stuff, we told them of offers other companies were trying to sell (not telling them we have no choice but to go with them), and this man offered us a deal. A "bundle" if you will. So for the "fastest Internet, DVR boxes, movie channels, and more" our deal was 89.00. No contract. SO we said SOLD. He then transfers me to someone in a different STATE...who clearly stated he could not help me (NOW remember this last bit of info because this transfer to another state will play a crucial part into my fiasco with these people)....the man then transferred me back to a Cox representative in my area....NOT the same man as the first time naturally. So this employee then tells me the "DEAL" we we offered doesn't exists. AT ALL. So we said OK well what can you do. He offered us...the basic package I assume. Internet, and cable. ALL movie channels for the first 3 months, and then after only HBO for 100.00 a month. We said fine. Now its time to get our stuff, meaning cable box, remote, all that jazz. We go to a cox building, get our stuff, set everything up, and somethings not right. The picture wasn't coming in correctly. So we called. They sent someone out who told us they gave us FAULTY WIRES. Lovely. he fixed it and went on his way.
Time to sit, relax and watch TV with my family. NOT...think again. We turn on the TV and we have channels 10 through maybe 36....without ones in between. I call. They say this was a misunderstanding, and they would reset our box. Which they did. Turn on the TV...NO MOVIE CHANNELS. So I call AGAIN. They tell me there was something wrong with the reception and I will have the movie channels shortly. SHORTLY meaning in about a week because that's how long it took. Turn on the TV rather anxious to watch my movie channels. And all we have is HBO. (I am NOT kidding you people) I call. AGAIN. They explain to me how sorry they are and they will fix the problem. Within 24 hrs I had my movie channels, and was a happy camper.

Now its time for our first bill....176.00!!! I call. At this point these people should know me on a first name basis. They say I am being charged for having the guy come out to fix our wires!!! And also THE MOVIE CHANNELS. Now....we hadn't even had COX for more than 48hrs when this "guy" came out...so with that being said they credited our account. As well as the movie channel mishap. First bill is now 98.00. Thank you.

For the following 3 months bill is about anywhere between 98- 105. Perfect.
Here we are now...July 2010. I am starting to notice some weird activity on my personal bank account. 10 dollars here, 5 dollars here, 20 dollars here. So I call my bank and they say all they see is its a Tech Support company who works with Cox out of Florida. I am from New England...not even close to Florida. So I call up the lovely, most welcoming, understanding people at cox. HA. They inform me that they do not HAVE A TECH SUPPORT TEAM, and they do not know how this could have happened. And when I say this is all they said to me...THAT IS ALL THEY SAID TO ME! That's it. I called my bank who informed me there had indeed been fraud on my account. These people in Florida had mine and my husbands personal information including SSN. Thankfully, my bank went quickly into action and credited my account all money due back to me. Totaling in at over 100.00. I call Cox back and get pretty nasty with them cause now...after everything else that I had kind of gotten over you people steal my personal information! I had to get a whole new bank account. And you know how that goes. Everything came out of that account. So I had to call my mortgage company, my credit cards, EVERYONE to stop payments. The women whom I spoke to informed me this would be looked into and how sorry they are.

Here we are....August 16, 2010. Have not heard a THING back from COX. Not even a call as to how things are. But my bank has made about 7 to me. Get my bill for this month its 140.00. Call up for when I tell you the millionth time I kid you not. They inform me that it went up because the "PACKAGE" we were offered expired. We were never offered a package. We were told 100.00 a month no contract for a year. Its been about 5 months, although it feels like an eternity. So her I am thinking that after the stress, the BS, and what not they would offer me maybe something. At this point I would take a coupon to Dunkin Donuts. ANYTHING. They had nothing. Nothing to say. Nothing to offer. Nothing to comment on. NOTHING. NOT A THING!

I am disgusted with this company, and its lucky for them my husband and family enjoy their TV time and we cannot leave because FiOS isn't in our area, but when that day comes we will be sure to say ADIOS to this waste of a company. Please people BEWARE of this company. Beware of who you talk to. And keep and eye on all accounts. I was told this was an inside job from my bank. They told me an investigation is underway on their end with several employees from Cox, and that Cox has not cooperated with them in any way. SO please. Times are tough. And the world is a rude rude place. Read reviews before you purchase anything cause I would hate to see this happen to anyone else. Thanks for your time and I hope my experience helps others when deciding in a cable company.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Never The Truth!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- I had been having issues w/ Cox about 4 months, mostly 'trying' to pay my bill.
The worst was December 2013 when payment was REFUSED!

I had signed up for auto pay on the phone w/ a rep, but I got a bill in the mail, something said 'call cox' & I came to find out customers CANNOT sign up for auto pay w/ a representative on the phone, so it was not in effect. So I wrote out a check & took it to 750 Rancho Dr store. When I walked into store I was told there was no drop box (which used to be there), so I walked over to counter on left & put it on counter in front of representative who said "I'm not accepting this". I left it none the less, but I was pretty pissed, so I went to building on Martin Luther King & Vegas Dr.

This was after 2 phone calls & all telephone reps telling me Rancho WAS a payment center. Last night my modem died, so I called & was told a tech would come out today to replace it -LIE- they DO NOT replace modems. So the representative told me Rancho was open till 7p so I quick drove there & it was closed at 6p. So tech finally showed up at my residence after I had again been to Rancho to *rent* new modem/router combo.
Through all of this I never saw 1 human [though]' I was at Corporate [headquarters] Martin Luther King.

I was consistently given false/bad info, different info from last representative I talked to. This Communications Company has no way to call their retail centers...
WHAT!?

In 2014, are you serious?I am going to change to a different ISP as soon as I can, I suggest the reader also find a provider that actually can communicate w/ itself & its customers.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
CEO and VP's
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
PHOENIX AND ATLANTA, ARIZONA -- Well it began on Friday night when my mom decided to purchase internet service. We called the sales department and placed an order and paid the 30 dollar install fee. We were then told that we would have service the next day, Saturday. I call on Saturday to make sure that the service is hooked up. No you are scheduled for Sunday, I was told. No we were told it would be today, so the representative says I will send form to get it escalated. I then asked to speak to a supervisor . That's when the fun begins. Ryan a sales "supervisor" then informs me because of my previous bill, which I admit I did not pay, my mom could not get her service until I paid it or has to prove I don not live at her residence. Now when does my SSN and debt under that SSN belong to my mom. NEVER that's when.

So needless to say after finally losing it on Ryan and several other sales "supervisors". My mom was forced to pay my bill.I was then promised by another "supervisor " Benny that my moms service would not be connected as promised Saturday but Sunday and if I didn't like he would cancel my moms work order and would make sure that she would not get her refund until 6 to 8 weeks. So come Sunday and about 100 calls later the tech finally shows up at 7 pm which is messed up, but I guess since my mom wasn't paying the 60 bucks for an in home install she gets shafted. Every "manager"/ "supervisor" stated that it was very simple to hook up outside the home and that's why it was taking so long. Really? If it is that simple would that be first? Needless to say after a couple of calls to COX Headquarters, I get a very nice call from the CEO's flunkies telling me that I interfering with business and that if I keep harassing them that I will be sent to corporate security and banned for life.

Now I guess I am supposed to be scared but all this does strengthen my resolve to make life as unpleasant for this pissant and I will I promise you. I now realize why we could not get any assistant from these people because it starts at the top with the CEO and rolls down hill to the underpaid representative BAN ME FOR LIFE !!!!! I WILL NOT STOP!!!!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Cox thieves and scammers
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MISSION VIEJO, CALIFORNIA -- These cox thieves and scammers came to my home to fix a cable did not wear the appropriate shoe covers, spread dog poop all over my carpet because they did not wear covers, then not only did not want to pay for it but first harassed me and then they terminated my service when I complained. I called the corporate offices in San Diego and Atlanta and this is a private company owned by filthy rich scammers who made their money stealing from the American people and probably bribing local, state and federal politicians through lobbying. In fact American small businesses and consumers are hurt by cable companies daily as they have a monopoly on high speed internet and entertainment and work in collusion with phone companies and satellite companies. I have seen Direct TV market their services in the same place with cable companies and Verizon that is supposed to be a phone company offers Cox communications to its customers in south orange county. By the way their billing practices are scammers' practices too; they bill and charge in advance and they always try and put fake charges on the bill and then you have to spend hours to fix it. I have been paying regularly my cable service for years, recently I had downgraded my service to internet only with a promotional rate and since I was no longer a profitable customer for them these scammers terminated my service. I even wrote the CEO of the company in Atlanta and he appears to be a scammer too like the local general manager who heads their Southern California operations in San Diego. They are a private company and not accountable to the public. Cox employees should be ashamed to work for such a scamming organization. Also, beware of fake reviews that say that cox is great; companies pay other companies to write them great reviews on the web.

Cox and the cable companies are masters are bribing politicians both locally, statewide and nationally that is why there is no competition and cable companies are working together with satellite companies and phone companies to keep prices artificially high. For example in Mission Viejo California, FiOS is not available and Verizon sells cox!! AT&T has limits on bandwidth and horrible customer service
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Rebate SCAM
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- We contacted Cox Communications to sign up as new customers in the hope of saving money on our internet, TV and phone services. Not only were the bills overcharging us every month, but the rebate promised to us never arrived. We called to correct the billing, and would request information on our rebate. Each time, we were told it was being processed, until we received a postcard saying we did not qualify.

We again called Cox and were told that an error had been made, and that they would "send an email" to correct the situation. SIX months later, we were told that we did qualify, and that they would again send an email. I suggested, that they keep the rebate, and just credit our account the $200 that they owed us. I was informed by the Manager, that they couldn't do that. I asked what they would be willing to do to satisfy a very upset customer. The Manager stated, that they had no customer promotions to offer us. I then told them that they would lose a good customer, his reply was that we had that option.

I signed up for service with another company (the one I had been with for eight years prior) and had all services switched over the next week. We are saving about $50.00 each month, but the best part is that we now do not have to worry about the continued billing errors, rude customer service, and to be honest....the lies. It has now been seven months, still no rebate, but no headaches as well. I would not, nor will I ever recommend this company to anyone. If you want a good company, switch to Direct TV... email me and I will give you my account number, and we both could save $10.00 per month on our bill, and they really will honor that promotion. Good luck.
     
Replies
Customer Service
Posted on
Last week, we turned on the TV and noticed there was no sound. The picture was there but the sound wasn't. We turned to a few other channels. A few had sound, a few didn't. So I called Cox and they said they had just done an upgrade and walked me through fixing the settings on the TV so that all channels had sound. On Monday, my brother turned on the TV and discovered that some of the channels weren't showing a picture. I called Cox again and they said it was our signal and they said they needed to send a tech out. Their tech came to the house the next day, but the problem had fixed itself. All he did was turn the TV on and all the channels were fine. He said there was no charge and left.
Last night, I logged into their website to pay the bill and saw a $49.95 charge for sending the tech out. The guy didn't fix anything! So I called Cox and the CSR said they always charge a fee to send someone out. She wouldn't waive the fee. I asked to speak to a manager. The manager came on and I explained that the tech didn't do anything so why should we have to pay? She said she'd waive the fee if we bought insurance for $5 a month. I put my sister in law on the phone and she explained all the problems we had been having since their upgrade. The manager still refused to waive the fee unless we bought insurance. My sis in law said to cancel our service. The manager put her on hold.
After 20 minutes of waiting, my sis in law handed the phone to me in frustration. After another 5 minutes, someone came back on the line. It wasn't the manager it was a CSR! The manager had put me back to customer service. I explained my situation to the representative and asked to speak to a manager. The representative was very nice and put me through to a wonderful woman in their Retention Department. I explained for the fourth time what had happened. The woman was very apologetic for everything that had happened. She said the tech didn't write any notes when he came to the house so she was taking my word that he didn't do anything and she waived the $50 fee. I thanked her and told her not to cancel the service.
An hour later, the picture went out on all channels. I called Cox AGAIN and spoke to someone in technical support. The representative reset the system from his computer and all the channels started working. Now why didn't they just do that the first time I called on Monday?
Overall I am happy that I got the fee waived and the channels fixed. I just hate getting the runaround. I am glad Cox did the right thing in the end and they have kept me as a customer.
     
Replies
Cox Communications Deceptive Practices
Posted by on
P.O. BOX 9001087, KENTUCKY -- On January 30, 2007, my husband, an active duty military member, and I, went to Cox office at Williamsburg and filled up papers to get phone, cable and Internet services to be installed in a house we rent that month, because my husband identity was stolen, we were following the advise of JAG, not using our social security numbers on applications for utilities, specially, when still in doubt how this companies used customers personal information.

In order to obtained the services we had to deposit $250.90, supposed to be used as follow: $150.00 security deposit, $39.99 to buy a Modem, and $60.65 for advance payment on February's bill, before services were connected. Cox supposed to come to my house to installed the services on the morning of February 2, 2007, but didn't came, so the same day I went to the Williamsburg Cox office at 4:30 p. m., anyway they didn't came until February 6 at 2:55 P.M. still the cable only worked on the master bedroom, not in the living room were we usually watch TV. Cox was unable to connect my telephone, they came 3 times, but said were unable to connected, I kept calling until March 1, 2007, they found out that my phone line was not working! As March 19,2007 we were without phone service, but charged for, every time I called I was told that our account was not active on Cox system, but the $250.87 was cashed already. finally On March 20 my phone service was installed, I was told that Cox would credit my account for the amount of $25,84, but I never saw the refund.

I never been satisfied with Cox services, but because they are in totally control of the communications in this zone, they think they can do as they please. I been calling Cox many times because they overcharged me for the same mediocre services and always been unable to explained the reason, I don't blame the employees, they follow orders. I been to overcharged that my bill in June 2007 came for the amount of $554.87 on my statement for Cox digital telephone service said" Your current IntraLata carrier, including Internationals calls is Cox, I requested previously a plan for my international calls, I the only international calls I made is to my elderly, handicapped mother in Colombia, the cox employee told me that my plan was. 29 cents a minute, but when the $554.87 came I was told that I had changed the plan, which is not accurate because I keep a detailed record of every single call, including date, time and the name of the service representative, 13 of this calls was 1 to 2 minutes calls that not went through, Cox representative, explained to me that all 1 to 2 or 3 minutes was charged the minimal which is 3 minutes, not matter if was a second, and also I was not aware that each time a number is dialed a minimal is charged ( 3 minute ) it's why I was charged 13 calls to Colombia ( there was not communication, but charged anyway ) I felt so frustrated with Cox that I requested the limited basic, the cost $13.65 (from September 2008 )but I been charged also $32.35 which I don't know what is, so anyway I been charge for the limited basic cable and taxes a total of $46.72, but I only have the limited service! By the way when I requested the limited cable, Cox sent a man to put a trap to block the signal from the roof antenna, which cox charged me $40, it's not funny? ( Every house on this little subdivision has the same roof antenna), then my 36" TV stop working, I called Cox, they sent a guy and I was charged for the house call service, but my TV is broken, the Cox employee don't understand neither found the cause of the damaged to my TV. even they do the damaged. I disconnected the cable and I am disconnecting the internet and the phone because I don't want to deal with Cox anymore! I will be using my cell phone and go to the public library to use the Internet, a great service FREE.

To end this letter, I want to add, that I called Cox to found out that my security deposit is gone! Cox employee thought my English was not proficient ( maybe true ) he offered me to put a Spanish speaker on line for me, I spoke with the Spanish guy, I asked for my security deposit, he told me that Cox used that money for my June 2008 bill!!! When I told him to go to the June 2008 records, he was unable to said nothing else, because I was charged $554.87 amount I paid in full, to avoid been harassed by Cox, the taxes for this bill was $71.88, check this surcharges 0.07, $2.30, 0.83, 0.75, something called my attention is this: Federal Universal service Fund $45.20, Communications sales tax $22.73 I don't have a minimal idea what I been paying for. My security deposit is gone, not word from Cox.

I am getting ready all my documentation from 2007 to 2009 and I will send it to BBB, the Federal Trade Commission, my Congress man and to a Senator in Washington, and to the news papers, we can't let Cox go away with all they are taking from us!

Sandra
     
Replies
How Do You Spell "Nightmare"? Cox
Posted by on
NEWPORT, MICHIGAN -- When I decided to move my business from one location to another in Newport, I investigated both Verizon and Cox to see who had the best rate for my needs: telephone, television, internet. At my prior location, I had a Verizon Centrex system and Cox cable services. Cox convinced me they could save me money, so I gave them the go-ahead. And then the nightmare began.

Based on their promise that their technicians would complete their work between 1 P.M. and 3 P.M. on a Tuesday in February, I scheduled my IT company to move the computer network into the new space at 3 P.M. The first team, evidently, thought this was a residential transfer (!) and decided they were not equipped to do the work. My IT technician showed up as scheduled and did what little he could at that point, as he had no lines to work with.

The next morning another team showed up, stood around with their hands in their pockets and said they would be back after a third team finished running the necessary cable. They disappeared and nobody came back that day, except my IT technician, who happened to be working in a nearby town and decided to stop by to complete the job for me. Right.

All this time I am without telephones, without access to my customers, without access to my website (e-commerce), and I’m spending time outdoors in the freezing cold making all these calls to Cox on my cell phone. When on Friday of the week I decided I had had enough and was virtually spitting blood into the telephone, a dispatcher took the situation seriously and decided she COULD get a team back to my store before Monday. I was staring at a retail weekend unable to service customers -- not a good thing in this economy, and a layer of stress I definitely did not need.

Verizon had in the meantime installed my “four” lines and left the premises the day before. Later on the same day we discovered Verizon had left us with only two of the four lines functioning. To their credit, Verizon sent a technician right away to correct the situation.

Fast forward to the next Friday. Cox had shown up during the week in order to port the Centrex system over to their digital bundle I had purchased. They did that and left for the day. Then I discovered my merchant terminal would no longer work. So I couldn’t scan credit cards and the morning sales (when we were still with Verizon) would not be able to autobatch at 11 P.M. that evening.

Once again I called dispatch, who said a technician would meet me the next morning (Saturday) at 10 A.M. I showed up at 9:15 A.M. and hung around waiting. The technician never showed up, nor did I receive a call from anyone.

At noon, with families visiting our marketplace for the festival we host each year, I finally called dispatch to see where the technician was. The dispatcher was as upset as I over the whole mess that had begun a week earlier, and told me the technician was still on his 8 A.M. to 10 A.M. call and she'd call me right back. I guess my crystal ball was down for the day, otherwise I guess I would have known that, right? She added to my misery by telling me when she called back that the on-call technician wasn’t answering the page.

Long story short, someone finally showed up in the middle of the afternoon and had no idea what to do. He did, however, have the sense to call someone who understood merchant terminals and guessed our problem was the “9” required to access an outside line with Centrex was never removed from the merchant terminal. After calling my merchant service provider’s tech support, we got the problem straightened out and my merchant terminal now works.

As of today, two weeks after the first phase of the nightmare, I still cannot set up my voice mail as I had it before, with separate boxes for store hours, private messages, etc., etc. Although I’ve called telephone support in the commercial division three separate times, I’m left to decay on the telephone while they put me on hold in order to learn on the job. The final insult today was I was told I needed to speak to someone in sales and they would connect me. They actually disconnected me while I waited.

So another weekend is upon us, with another business limping along compliments of Cox, our friend in the digital age. My advice to anyone considering Cox? Run, don’t walk, in the opposite direction. The incompetence throughout that organization is astounding. Nor did I receive a phone call or letter of apology for the loss of sales or the additional stress caused by their mindless work.

One thing all dispatchers and I agree on: Cox has definite problems in levels of expertise among their road crew. Maybe instead of holding customers hostage by stuffing all those cute little commercials with robots down our throats, Cox should consider investing money in training everyone from the CSRs and support staff (who keep us holding far too long on business phones) to the road crews. The one thing that is definitely missing is a simple concept called "courtesy".

Should a business customer have to call 25 times during the course of two weeks?

Then there is the email server that goes down how many times a year? But that's story for another day.
     
Replies
The Thief And Terrorist Of The Common Person
Posted by on
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- This is only my point of view of this major communications conglomerate, but with that being said, I believe they should be brought up on charges. If you take anything from this tale, it should be “DO NOT SIGN UP FOR AUTOPAY WITH COX!”

My story starts in a rather benign way with purchasing COX Communications to supply my TV and internet access to my household. I have had them for years since they were my only choice. (Can we cay monopoly?) Only recently my husband and I reviewed our bill to find that we were paying a lot more and getting way less compared to various new satellite communication companies. We thought what could be better than getting more and paying less in this newly monetarily restrictive climate. Making the decision to change from COX to Satellite TV we made the calls and settled on a new provider. All that was left was to call COX and cancel. Sounds simple enough, right?

Here is where COX’s dark noxious cloud settled over our household.

On a Saturday afternoon, after 5 PM, I called COX to cancel my account. They tried to argue that I never called in to complain about the service so why should they need to cancel my service. Working in a service industry, this was absurd to me! Why would I need to justify my dislike of a product to get it canceled? I don’t want it any more… I have moved on… this is a break up and no we can not be friends… this it is in my right to cancel? After the COX representative forced me to come up with some bogus answer involving conspiracy theories, aliens and the need to wear tinfoil hats, she finally let me cancel the service. [This reason for canceling was for my amusement only; we all know aliens come through the toaster ;)] I had five days to return their battered cable boxes and I would even be getting a refund of $75 for part of the month.

Monday morning, I got up and doing my usual Monday routine I grabbed coffee and got on line to read the news and check my bank account. The need for coffee became no longer needed when I found that COX had gone into my checking and withdrew over $600 for no viable reason. After getting the household off to summer camp and work I got on the phone with COX to ask them the ever elusive question of “what the hell!”

After speaking with a high number of doltish moronic representatives I was finally transferred to the credit department. The credit departments response boils down to “oops, so sorry, this debit is our fault, but we will refund your money in 5 to 7 days”. It has always amazed my how they can withdraw funds overnight but it takes an act of congress to put the stolen money back.

It is now Wednesday and still the account sits empty of the $600+ so I being proactive decide to call them and check on the progress. The all new doltish representative tells me they are waiting on the collection of the cable boxes to even process the “oops, so sorry, this debit is our fault, but we will refund your money in 5 to 7 days” deposit. When I exclaim, in a slightly panicked and pissed off state, you have your stupid boxes and remotes I am once again placed on hold. After what felt like 10 minutes, she came back with the comment of “oh, here they are. We can process your refund now”. It is everything I can do to maintain my composer and not release a tirade of expletives and adjectives that would probably just make her ears bleed.

Now, maybe to you $600+ is not that much money but to our household it was to cover groceries, gasoline and the power bill for the house let alone a little bit a cushion till payday. Now I find myself pawing through the pantry looking for anything I can put together and call dinner (in the looses sense of the word) and coasting the best I can if I have to drive anywhere to save every drop of gas I can till either COX replaces the money they stole or payday, which ever comes first.

Thank you for reading my rant and I hope at the very least you do not sign up for autopay with COX. (Or cancel before it’s too late).
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >