Preview Review

Next Review

Days Inn Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
The Sleaze and Dirty Motel
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALBION, MICHIGAN -- Dec 26, on my way home to Oregon, WI from Toronto Canada. It's a blinding snow storm outside and I have driven 300 mi. Many people are in ditches now and things are getting pretty bad so I get off and check the GPS for a motel. There is a Days Inn right there so I checked in. I go to the car and load myself down with things I need and go to the room. I can see already that I have made a bad choice in motels. I proceed but I can't get into my room. I trudge to the office with all my things because in this hotel you would not leave anything unattended.

The desk clerk comes and flings herself against the door and opens it. I leave the room and do the same thing when I return and it works, but the next time I leave, I can't get in. While on my trips to get things from my car I meet some of the residents of the motel. Strange people who live at this motel and want to help me take my things in and tell me why they are living here.

I go to the desk and explain that I can no longer get into my (very nasty) room and they give me another (nastier) room. This room has two chairs, the other none, that are so dirty and spotted that no decent person would ever sit in them. There is no shampoo, half of the towels needed (manager brings me one) and a coffeemaker but no coffee, which I get at the desk later. The carpet is so dirty that when I took off my shoes my white socks became very dirty. My bedroom slippers are in my car so each time I get off the bed I have to slip my feet into my tennis shoes.

When I checked in, I forgot to ask for my senior discount so I asked on the way to get some food and the manager said no because I was charged $60.00 and the rack rate is $70.00, even though the clerk said the savings would be $5.00 if approved. After seeing the first room, I checked to see if any other hotels were in the area but there were none for a number of miles and I-94 was so bad I had to get off. There were many people in the ditches and I could not drive any further.

I am 71 and really a world traveler, from South America to Alaska and yearly trips to Europe and the UK. I have friends and family in many places and have stayed in many hotels. This hotel is the second worse I have ever stayed in. The first was a hotel in Quito, Peru, a jungle city but it cost only $12. My friends and family usually stay at Marriott hotels and you cannot go wrong there. I will never stay at a Days Inn again. There may be good ones but this experience will always keep me away from Days Inn.

They Take Things Upon Themselves and Cause Havoc in the Process
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

My husband booked 2 nights for my son using his credit card, which means the room was under my husband's name. I booked 2 nights after the first 2 nights under my son's credit card. I then called the motel and spoke with the clerk who made sure my son would continue to stay in the same room. She informed me they had the new credit card number. At some point, the manager canceled the booking I made under my son's name and then charged the next 2 nights under my husband's credit card which put in an over limit stage.

I called Days Inn at their 800 number and spoke with 3 different people. The first one I couldn't understand a word she said. I asked to speak to someone who speaks English clearly. She told me I'd have to call back to get a real English speaker. When I called back, "amazingly" the person who answered the phone spoke English quite well and could understand me as well. She decided she couldn't help me and put me in contact with Customer Care. Of course, I was on hold forever before another woman responded and could actually speak and understand English.

When I completed that call, I called the hotel and asked to speak with the first woman I spoke to. Of course, she wasn't available. The woman who informed me also could not speak English well. Plus all she wanted to do was talk and not listen to a word I was saying. I'm almost of the opinion that people who don't understand English or speak it well, talk to avoid resolving the issue.

I asked to speak to the manager after I had explained the situation several times. She then added insult to injury by informing me she is the manager. I again explained the situation to her, and she goes into another diatribe. By this time I am more than frustrated because all I wanted was to have my husband's credit card credited for the 22 & 23 and my son's credit card debited for those days.

At this point I told her that she wasn't doing a very good job of either talking and she certainly wasn't listening to what I was saying. She asked me to hold. She didn't put me on hold. Only she didn't. She walked away from the phone and spoke to someone. While I couldn't hear what was being said, I could voices talking. Soon a man came on the line.

Initially I thought I was going to have the similar problems because he wanted my husband's credit card information. I don't have that information. My husband doesn't have a cellphone. We had a big hullabaloo because he naturally wanted to make sure everything was on the up and up but I couldn't help him. I finally told the man all I wanted done was to have the charges for the 22 and 23 on my husband's credit card reversed and my son's credit card charged for the 22 and 23. He said that was good and took the necessary information.

This situation should never have happened if the female manager had left things as they were rather than deciding for herself there was a problem. Plus she needs to keep her mouth shut until she can do a good job of speaking English.

Bed Bugs and Roaches! Stay Away!
By -

ASHLAND, VIRGINIA -- Checked in at around 11 pm after driving over 2 hours for our Anniversary-- weekend at Kings Dominion! Well... not so much. We were in our car driving back home within two hours of check in. First- Ghetto. I'm not from the nicest part of town myself, but pulling in the parking lot made me a little nervous. It was very dark, people loitering/staring you down as you pass by them, etc. Again, I've been to the ghetto many times, but this was uncomfortable!

Second - The SMELL! Yes, it was a smoking room, but NEVER have I been so overwhelmed with the smell of ashtray! Even the CLUB never smelled so bad! When I booked the room off of Priceline I requested smoking, not realizing I was pregnant at the time-- by the time the date came around to stay, I had just found out and already was having "smell issues," so this took me over the top. I agreed with my husband it was late and we'd be leaving in a few hours for K. D. so we would switch rooms in the morning.

15 minutes later, my husband came out of the bathroom and said "lets go... just saw a roach in the bathroom." So he grabbed the bags and noticed another dead roach at his feet. So, we drove 2+ hours home at 1:30 am, exhausted and irritated. So irritated we didn't even stop at the office to check out or complain. Got home and called the next morning to complain.

Two weeks later-- WE HAVE BED BUGS! 4 Terminix treatments later, 6 months later, and over THREE THOUSAND DOLLARS on new beds/treatments/etc, living in our living room (two adults, 1 child) - WE STILL HAVE BED BUGS!!! I have now been sleeping on the couch, 8 months pregnant, HIGH RISK pregnancy, delivering a premie here soon… sleeping on a couch. Nice! I JUST moved our new beds in 2 nights ago, and again saw a bed bug crawl past my face this morning. WTF???

Called the office to complain AGAIN this morning and although the lady is very nice and seemed to care - she never once DENIED they had a bed bug issue, in fact she CONFIRMED that she remembers my complaint and does know of one complaint of bed bugs in a room, "but the issue has been resolved." She tells me her big boss will call me back.

30 minutes later, SHE calls me back and says she spoke with her big boss and he had no suggestions b/c their exterminators deal with it, not him. Umm... Okay? I don't want suggestions, I want reimbursement! And she says to me-- she has no record of me complaining about bed bugs, just roaches. DUH! I didn't know about bed bugs until they started biting me two weeks later.... Thanks though! All in all, DO NOT STAY HERE! It will ruin your life. I am SO psychologically damaged and in extreme debt due to 2 hours at a filthy hotel. I don't know how these people sleep at night knowing they are infesting others-- its inhumane!

Beware of Their Accounting Practices!
By -

We spent one night at the Days Inn in Glen Burnie MD and even though we booked over the phone and was quoted one price, upon checkout there was a slight difference and the price was higher. I mentioned this to the desk clerk and asked why (well, of course, it is hard to explain when they appear to not understand fully what you are trying to say IN ENGLISH). Nonetheless, she agreed to charge us the lesser amount and made a correction to our account.

However, upon arriving home, I noticed on my bank account (online) that both amounts were debited to our account (which is not acceptable since we use our checking account for paying bills only and do not carry large amounts of excess funds in the account and a "double charge" would cause a deficiency to our account. I called the Days Inn directly and told them about the situation and that my bank (TD) said that all they needed was a fax from the hotel stating that it was okay to release the funds (for the second charge to the account) and that would clear up any deficiencies to our account.

I called the Days Inn directly and spoke to Mr. ** (a very, very common name [I found] in the hotel/motel industry - must be a very large family), and he said he would fax a statement to my bank immediately saying it was okay to release the funds. He did that and my bank confirmed receipt of the fax. Well, guess what? Later on the same day, someone else at the Days Inn in Glen Burnie MD re-charged my card for the same amount that was supposed to be credited and released. I called the Days Inn back the next morning only to be laughed at by another non-English speaking desk clerk who kept repeating that she didn't do it, it was the night shift person.

So, fed up, I called the corporate customer care number who took down all of my information and assigned a "case number" and said they would have a supervisor call me back. Guess what? They referred me right back to the Glen Burnie general manager (last name **) who said "So sorry we don't want to keep your money but we have to go through our financial process and we could not release funds so we have to credit your account again - it will be okay in a few days."

In the meantime my account is overdrawn and my bank is trying to work with me to clear this up. I called again to the corporate customer care office and insisted on getting a "higher up" person/number to talk to and was finally able to ascertain that there is CEO/President and I was also able to ascertain that the Days Inn along with several other chains are all under the "Wyndham Group" and all the motels/hotels are franchises.

Well, I intend to contact the CEO/President and let him/her know what kind of people they are issuing franchises to - (maybe they have money but that does not mean they are projecting a very nice image for the corporation). I wasn't even offered a free fork, knife, spoon, napkin or cup of coffee for all the aggravation I went through with this franchise owner in Glen Burnie MD. I was already warned by my daughter and several other friends/family to beware of any Wyndham owned hotels/motels especially if you call and they answer with a non-English accent! Well, now I know what they were all talking about.

On top of all this, the room we stayed in was dirty, we didn't even have plastic cups for water (had to call room service) and then they screw up my bank account too! STAY AWAY FROM DAYS INN AND ANY OTHER HOTEL/MOTEL UNDER THE WYNDHAM GROUP ESPECIALLY IF THEY DON'T SPEAK FLUENT ENGLISH.

Don't stay at Days Inn Airway Heights
By -

AIRWAY HEIGHTS, WA -- I checked into Days Inn in Airway Heights on Thursday, the 12th, after making reservations weeks in advance. The front desk and service staff was polite and friendly. Since I had a lot of things I had to do, I just pretty much put my suitcase in the room and got dressed for the event I was attending. I got back, went to bed, and the next day had a hurried shower, made coffee, went to breakfast (which was okay) and left by 8 am. I came back that evening around 9 pm and noticed that my bed was the same, the ashtray was dirty and the floor had not been vacuumed. I figured that since I was a stay-over, it would be done the next day.

In the morning, I noticed that the coffee maker had not been cleaned and there was no coffee or cups and no new water cups, (both of which I had used). I went and asked for coffee and cups and the front desk clerk pointed across the lobby to the coffee maker and said, "cups are over there" and gave a couple of coffee packets. The next morning, I left early again in the same manner. I came back in the afternoon and noticed the ashtray and coffee maker had still not been cleaned and the carpet still had little bits on it, so I called down to the desk and asked what the policy was. They don't vacuum your room if you are staying over.

The next am, I had more time and got in the shower and noticed that they had not cleaned the tub since day one of my stay. I then looked around and noticed that the bathroom walls looked as if they had been urinated on, there were nasty little brown dirty thingys on the walls above the tub. I reached for a towel and there were blackish spots all over it. I called corporate and while on hold, noticed there were coffee splashes on the walls by the phone. Corporate said I would be contacted in 3 days.

Today is day 3, and no contact yet. The water pressure is next to nil (I have very long hair and I had to rinse shampoo out under the faucet). There was only one chair, a straight backed chair, the numbers on the phone stuck, so I had to pry up the zero so it would ring to the front desk. The bathroom light switch was next to the room door, roughly 6 feet from the bathroom. There was not a light you could turn on/off while in the bed. While Days Inn claims to provide clean, functional rooms, they do not do so at that location.

I will say this, they took $20 off my bill, which, in my opinion, having worked front desk for Travelodge, was not nearly enough to compensate for dirty carpet and towels. I also would like to say that I have stayed at other Days Inn locations (OK city) and it was worth every penny. Airway Heights, WA, however, is not.

Scam!! Beware
By -

KITTERY, MAINE -- We travel a lot and never have a problem with any hotels we stayed before until now… We make the reservation online to stay at Days Inn, Kittery Maine and after we read the reviews, we decided to cancel the reservation. Shouldn't be complicated, right? WE call the night before the reservation date and told them that we would like to cancel the reservation and they told us they can't cancel our reservation since they don't have our information… then told us to call the customer service number to cancel it (The policy stated that if we want to cancel we must do so by 4 pm the day of the reservation).

We called and be able to cancel the reservation (the operator gave us the cancellation number and told us we are all set). 2 days later, We check our credit card statement and found out that we got charged by Days Inn Kittery, so we called the hotel to ask what's the deal… Here's what we have so far: The first time we call, the staff woman told us they don't have our information, don't have our credit card number (yeah, right!) and when we asked to speak to the manager, the woman told us that SHE's not in and told us that she will call back. (They never called back once).

The next day, we called the hotel again. The different woman this time… We told her our problem and she did look into the hotel computer and find our reservation and cancellation are all legit (so, why the first woman we spoke to tell us that she doesn't have our info!!??) Anyway, she still insist that she can't refund our credit card but she will speak to the hotel manager and tell him (again… we still not be able to get a hold with their manager).

We wait 1 day and called them again to hear the progress. This time, the Indian woman pick up… She told us that she couldn't find our information!!!??? So we told her that the last time we called, one of the staff can be able to pull out our info include our credit card… After talking in circle for while, she then told us that she found our reservation but it was on the different date and policy. We told her that we have all the reservation and cancellation info printed in our hand and asked her if she want us to faxed her that.

Anyway, after catching her lies after lies, we asked to speak to the non-exist manager again. First, she told us the manager was not in here today (again), then 5 minutes later she told us that the manager was in India and there was no way to contact him (what if the hotel burn down… What are they going to do??!!). We are so fed up with their lies so we told her that we will get our money back one way or another. She hung up!!?? Anyone have any suggestion? What should we do next?

By -

ATLANTA,, GEORGIA -- My grandson and I stayed two nights at the Hotel Days Inn in northwest Atlanta located at 1701 Northside Drive this week. There are no sufficient words to state how appalled I was at several facets of the motel, service, employees, etc. The attendant at the front desk acted as though we were truly doing him a favor by being there. There were no smiles, no gestures of hospitality, no friendliness.

The motel was evidently an older structure, which is o.k., but even the older ones can be cleaned and updated to an extent. The room had a horrendous odor. There was chair-molding on some walls. It had not been dusted in some time. The bathroom floor had not been mopped. There were no plastic liners in the wastebaskets. I chased and kills four insects, one of which was up on the vanity where we placed our ice bucket and brushed our teeth.

The first morning we arose, I discovered that the cold water did not work at all. I ran some hot water into the tub and waited for it to cool. The maintenance man was the only "pleasant experience" we had while we were there. He expediently came to our room when we phoned the front desk and offered to make the appropriate repair while we were out, which he did. He came the next morning and inquired as to whether the repair had pleased me. He also gave us much needed directions @ town. KUDOS to him. He was a bright light in an otherwise dismal stay!!!

Let me begin please @ the adjoining Waffle House. It, also, was not clean. My grandson asked where there health department grade sheet was!!! We sat in a booth. There was some sort of long pink thread or string on the seat behind him. No one had noticed or removed it. A loud, boisterous group of young people arrived (customers), composed of a man and four or five women. The women would come and go. They yelled at each other and did all the "jiving" singing type of music that so many people can do these days. The noise and commotion went unnoticed by the WH employees.

It did not stop until two "adult, older male customers" walked in. That seemed to squelch the noise. The silverware was laid down for us. A spoon had dried food on it and I mentioned it. I DID receive another spoon, but was told by the waitress that the steam machine just makes them look like that. It was not dirty. The waitress stood over us, asking, "Are you ready to order?" She did not leave until we had placed our order.

There were at least two flies gliding and fluttering around inside the restaurant. No one made an attempt to grab a fly swatter or put forth any effort to kill them. The tea was "brown sugar water." I have never tasted a beverage so sweet. There were no offers to refill our glasses. I would not attempt to rate this entire business with the exception of the maintenance man. It would rate below a "1." He would receive a top rating. Whoever he is, Days Inn should give him a raise and request that he "run the place."

Not Happy
By -

SPOKANE, WASHINGTON -- On Monday March 16th, I called Days Inn to reserve a room for this past weekend in Spokane. My daughter and I were going to be there for the Washington State Music Educators Association Junior High School Honor Band performance. I had looked through all the hotels near the high school where they would be playing at. Days Inn City Center was 0.3 miles away. I called and set up the reservation. I told them I would be paying with cash but would reserve the room on my debit card as they requested.

Check in time was 2 pm on Saturday afternoon. I reiterated that I would be paying with cash, so that I could use my debit card for dinner and fuel. I asked that they put a note on the file so that there would not be a question when I went to check out. The assistant said "no problem." She gave me my key card and room #. I drove down to the room only to find that the room had not been made and pillows in the chair and sheets on the floor. One of the maids came along and asked if everything was OK. I said, "This is the room I was checked into, however, there seems to be a problem." She looked into the room and then agreed.

She called the front desk and spoke to someone and then sent me back up to the office. When I got to the office I was asked what room (the same assistant that assigned the room) I had been given. She apologized with a half-hearted laugh and then rescheduled my room. This one was cleaned as it should be. While in the office, another maid came in and asked about the Maid I had first spoke to. "Was she rude? She has a tendency to have a mouth on her and I just want to make sure she wasn't rude to you." I told them the maid was very nice and I had no problems with her.

Fast Forward to Check out Sunday morning. I went in to check out, and again said, I would be paying by cash. The assistant (different one) said, "Oh your debit card was charged this morning." I start to hyperventilate. (I am out of work and have been since August. My parents had given me some money for the hotel, food and fuel. My dad had put money into my account for food and fuel and my mom had sent money to cover the hotel by cash.) I had charged dinner to my debit card the night before so there would not be enough $ in the debit card account to cover the Motel costs. Hence, the cash option.

The assistant didn't really apologize and made a comment to the effect of "Oh, the night clerk must have put the charges in early this morning. I can credit your account so you can pay by cash but it wouldn't be in the account for a few days." Now call me stupid, but how in the ** was I supposed to drive home with no $.

I asked again about the Note that was supposedly put on when I had called on Monday, and then again, when I registered the night before that I would be paying by CASH. She said no note existed on the reservation. Needless to say I was ticked off. I have thought several times about posting this "should I or shouldn't I?" I would have liked an honest apology for the room debacle or the debit card issue, but I didn't receive it. At this point I will not be staying there again after this. I will find somewhere else to stay.

Don't Ever Use Travelocity or Book In Days Inn!!!
By -

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- I Booked two vacation packages for a sudden death of a family member. These reservations were for 4 nights 5 days. One reservation for my Two adult children and my 23 Month old granddaughter. The other for myself and my husband. We all got to NC, dumped our luggage in the adjoining rooms and went to see family. We did not return until about 11 PM. Upon returning, to the room we found the door ajar. I know for a fact I personally checked that the doors was locked. Thankfully nothing was missing.

We put my granddaughter to bed and we sat in the other room talking. When my daughter went in to join my granddaughter to sleep, she found a roach crawling above my granddaughters head. Needless to say, that door was closed and we all slept in one room. The next morning my daughter observed pubic hairs in the bath top (which was painted with white wall paint) and we found that the rooms were really disgusting. Cigarette burns in the sheets and blankets, torn blankets & filthy rugs.

I called Travelocity at about 9 AM on Thursday to say that the accommodations were not what we were expecting. I was put on hold for about 20 minutes and was told by Travelocity that I must speak to the manager of the Days Inn Beltline (**). My husband and I went down and spoke to **, we explained why we were not satisfied. He offered us other rooms to look at. They were not much cleaner and were not adjoining. We told him that the hotel was not able to accommodate what we needed. (A clean room and adjoining rooms.)

I again called back Travelocity and told them that we did in fact speak to ** and that we would be checking out and trying to find a clean place to stay. We found a Holiday Inn. I called Travelocity back and they said at this point there is no refund so I would have to book a new vacation package. I just booked the rooms myself.

On Friday, I was on the phone with Travelocity for about 2 hours. The outcome was that I was being charged 432.00 for the two rooms for one night, and my refund would be 250.00 for the remaining three nights for both reservations. (My reply!) “What kind of math do you do! How am I am getting charged 432.00 for one Night!!!” I have to say, at this point after many many hours, I just hung up. I returned home and contacted the credit card company and stated I did not receive the service I was expecting and feel I should not have to pay even for the one night. When you book hotel you expect it to be clean and habitable. THIS WAS NOT!!!

The response from Visa, we cannot go against the DAYS INN cancellation policy. Which is to charge $50 and fees and taxes even if you don't use the room. So I had to Pay 432.00 to stay in that pig sty with no other means to get my money back! I cancelled that Barclay Visa for sure!

Don't Even Think About Booking Days Inn!
By -

WEST PALM BEACH, FLORIDA -- We recently decided to book a room at the Days Inn North, West Palm Beach Florida. We booked through When I originally made the booking, I requested a non-smoking room. I was given a smoking room. Once I called Travelocity, they called the Days Inn, requesting it be changed. I was told that they could NOT change the reservation, as they would have to book a whole new room and reservation, therefore charging me again. This is not acceptable, as I am traveling with a 5 month old baby. I was told they would 'put a note on the reservation' and IF it was available, we would get a smoking room.

I attempted to call Days Inn myself, to see if I could get a change. A woman answered the phone, and I said, "I'd like to change my reservation." The woman promptly hung up on me. I called back. I said, "Hi, this is the woman you just hung up on" and she hung up on me AGAIN! I called a third time, and got a little farther with her. I asked several times to speak to a manager, and the third time I asked she said, "Well, I AM the manager", then hung up on me AGAIN. By this time I was furious. I attempted to work with Travelocity on this issue, and was told by them that only Days Inn could cancel my reservation.

By this time, there was NO way I would stay in this hotel with this woman. Travelocity informed me that only Days Inn could authorize a refund. I called Days Inn customer service, and was informed by ** there that only Travelocity could issue the refund. I called Travelocity AGAIN, and was again told it was only Days Inn who could issue the refund. I called Days Inn CS AGAIN, and this time spoke with **. She was one of the nastiest customer service people I have spoken with to date. She rudely informed me that only Travelocity could issue the refund AND hung up on me.

By this time, I was so furious I couldn't even speak on the phone anymore. I asked my husband to try to deal with this further. He called Travelocity, and after much time, spoke to a manager there. He attempted to call the manager at Days Inn himself, and was told he was not in, to call back in an hour. So, we called Travelocity back an hour later, and went through the same thing. Called back another hour later, and finally got a man named ** on the phone. He 'claimed' he was the manager.

After much time going round and round with him, we find out that ** is indeed NOT the manager. He tells us that there is nothing he can do and we need to speak to the manager, which is what we were TOLD ** was. We were then directed to a voice mail (brushed off AGAIN), and left a message. This is where we currently stand with this. I have already booked another room with a different hotel, because I refuse to stay at such a place. We at no point were ever rude with anyone at Days Inn. This company needs to be put out of business. I know for sure I will do my part to tell EVERYONE I know to never, ever stay at a Days Inn.

Top of Page | Next Page >

Days Inn Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 38 ratings and
204 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Days Inn
9 West 57th St.
New York, NY 10019
212-413-1800 (ph)
Compare Hotels/Motels