Preview Review

Next Review

Delta Airlines Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Delta Steals Young Man's Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA GEOTGIA -- The following letter that I sent, complaining to Delta, will explain our problem: Please pardon my having to contact you directly, but no one else at Delta (at least so far) has gotten back to my issue. We have a young Scottish boy who is the Delta ticket holder, ticket # **) who came to visit our church (he's 19 years old and will soon be the new choir director at our church ) and when he came into the U.S., the Immigration Dept. only allowed him 30 days to visit, and yet his pre-paid return ticket was for 90 days later. This naturally necessitated his having to change his ticket.

The travel agent in London changed his departure date and charged him $561.00 which obviously being young he simply didn't have this extra money, so I got the money together for him, and subsequently when the time for his departure came, we took him to the Knoxville, TN airport. He arrived at the air port at 4:20 on 3/24/2014 and went to check in. While he was in-line at 4:300, someone of your staff came to him and said that he would have to take another flight as that one was leaving early.

We later found out that what they had really done was to insinuate that he had something that they would only call “questionable in his pocket without saying exactly what it was that he had in his pocket (I would respectfully remind you: WITHOUT STATING EXACTLY WHAT IT WAS THAT HE WAS ALLEGED TO HAVE IN HIS POCKET). Of course, it turned out to only be some American coins that he had forgotten were in his pocket.

If you yourself were to see this fine young man then you would know (common sense would tell you) that this is not the sort of person who would intentionally carry something “questionable” on a plane. It is obvious to anyone who should meet ** that he is a very clean-cut, honorable young lad.

So being the very polite and humble young man that he is, he simply "Thanked" them, thinking that they would put him on a later flight (remember, he was told nothing except that he would have to take a later flight). He then called me when I was in-route to my home in Knoxville, TN, and he told me what happened.

Now, today when we contacted the travel agent in London to book his alternative flight they tell the poor boy (I mean "poor" literally as in orphan) that he may have to pay for a new ticket. I called the British Embassy and told them what happened, and they suggested that I contact you folks directly, for as of 3/26/2014 his thirty day stay approval by customs is cancelled, and he will be in violation of U.S. law. I hope you folks still have a heart and can do something to help this young man get home, after all he not only bought a ticket but paid an $561.00 extension as well. He simply has no money with which to purchase another expensive ticket.

Anyway, it was very arbitrary and clearly unfair in the way that your personnel handled this matter at the airport. I mean, if he truly had something “questionable” in his pocket, then why it was not specified in order to be documented as to exactly what it was that he had. They simply told the travel agent that it was “questionable,” whatever that might mean. If he did indeed have some thing “questionable” then why was he not arrested and detained.

I should think something really “questionable” would be important enough especially if you are going to take some one's money for a ticket then deny him the right to that ticket that you would have to document for legal purposes exactly what it was that he had that should cause you to deny his constitutional rights. I think any reasonable person would agree with this as being truly a mistake on Delta's part.

The way to correct that mistake and end this matter is to give him the ticket which he has legally paid for. I hope that you who are reading this email can see the mistake that has been made here and will rectify the situation without delay. Again, this matter has forced him to violate U.S. Immigration law. Please, he needs his ticket immediately so that he can get back home to Scotland.

Also, Delta has sent his bags, which were already loaded, to Detroit. I just hope Delta will do the tight thing here so that this matter can be resolved and this fine young minister can get home, as well as preventing us from pursuing other, more constitutionally legal courses of action. Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Vindictive Delta Reps
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- This complaint was met with the typical Bureaucratic talk around and no reconciliation whatsoever despite several emails back and forth with Delta's customer service department. I was basically told that they have the right to not allow anyone from boarding their planes for any reason. That is pretty sad after having to pay thousands of dollars for their services and then be denied access for the services you paid for because one of their employees has a problem with you.

My flight experience from AUH to PIT on 25 July 2013. First of all, I was not able to obtain a boarding pass for my Paris to PIT flight even my bags were checked all the way from AUH to PIT. This was a huge inconvenience, but not the reason for my complaint. After departing AUH and my layover in AMS I arrived to Paris and after walking around the airport terminals for a while I finally found the proper check in counter for my flight to PIT.

The First Delta Representative I encountered was extremely rude. I had just completed about 15 hours of travel and on my 2nd layover and was very tired. I told him that finding the right ticket counter had been very difficult; he replied that it wasn't his problem. This upset me as I imagine it would anyone under normal circumstances, let alone after traveling for so long and not having enough sleep.

After his rude and discourteous response, I proceeded to the counter to complete my check in so I could get my boarding pass and complete my long journey home. When the boarding pass was being handed to me, a Delta supervisor came over and said I had not completed the security screening and needed to go back in the check in line. I asked him if he could just complete the security questions there as I had already finish checking in and was about to receive me boarding pass. I also told him about the rude Delta Rep I had encountered and the fact he did not ask me any questions and allowed me to walk on to the counter.

He argued with me and made me go back to the line. I went back and they asked me if I had packed my own bags, etc (This was quite pointless as I had already checked my bags in AUH all the way to PIT and only had my carry on with me at the time). The supervisor and Delta Rep also kept asking me about my association with the US Military and information pertaining to my job. I answered the questions regarding security but not about my association with the US military or my job as these should not have any bearing for me to fly.

After the questioning I was then escorted back to the counter to get my boarding pass which now bore the dreaded SSSS on it. They had labeled me as a security risk and I was treated as a criminal/terrorist the rest of the time I was in France. They kept asking if I was US military and what my job was at each point I was stopped to be checked. I felt like I was being targeted because of my association with the US military.

They also searched my carry on and frisked me at every possible point on the way to the plane. I was journeying home for my sons 2nd birthday party and to attend a family Reunion that weekend as I work overseas in support of the military. I subsequently missed my sons birthday party as I was denied boarding on my scheduled flight even after being thoroughly searched as the Captain had been told I was a security risk and told them not to let me board the plane.

They waited till the plane was boarding to deny me access and embarrassed me in front of the other passengers. After the flight departed I was told I had to pay an additional $1666.13 USD in order to fly on the next days flight and if I didn't pay they would cancel my returning flights as well. I also had to purchase a hotel room for the night.

This is outrageous. Then upon finally arriving to PIT, after my sons birthday party, my checked baggage just happened to get 'lost'. It was lost until the day I left PIT and continued on my journey to Indonesia, the Philippines and then back to Abu Dhabi. It was obvious that after my experience with the Delta Reps in Paris that my luggage was lost in spite. It's too much of a coincidence to have not been on purpose. I have been traveling for years. I have visited over 50 countries and flown several airlines and this is by far the worst experience I have ever encountered.

I know that I will be made out to be the bad guy from the workers there in Paris as I was alone and have no witnesses on my behalf, but I know I was treated incredibly unfairly and targeted because of my association with the US military. I was subject to less than hospitable treatment and suffered undue stress as well as undue expenses. Most importantly I missed out on a day with my family and my son's 2nd birthday party. I only get to see my family once every 6 months for a couple of weeks and each day is very precious.

Replies
Horrible International Travel Experience With Delta
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA -- We started our trip from Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA to Delhi, India via Amsterdam. Each one of us has American Passport, and were carrying OCI (Overseas Citizen of India) card. It was our understanding that it was all we needed to travel to India. Our travel documents were fully verified by the Delta Staff at Fort Lauderdale airport (American Passport and OCI card for each of us). We took the fight to Atlanta, and then a connecting flight to Amsterdam.

After the security check at Amsterdam airport, we were denied to board the plane and were sent to KLM Transfer desk. The gentlemen at the transfer desk told us the kids need to get Indian Visa from the local Indian Embassy in Amsterdam. We were completely shocked as the documents were fully checked at the start of our journey by Delta staff at Fort Lauderdale Airport.

Anyhow, we had no choice, so we rushed to the Indian Embassy, got the Visa done and rushed back to the airport. You can imagine the state of a person traveling with his family with two kids, stuck in middle of unknown place trying to get whatever was instructed. Anyhow, after reaching back to Amsterdam airport, the KLM staff told us that the next day's only KLM flight to Delhi was fully booked. We were then sent to Paris, where we had to spend the night since our connecting flight to Delhi was next day (04-Jul-2013).

All of this nightmare for us could have avoided if we were stopped at the starting airport (Fort Lauderdale) only, which is where we live. Going into an unknown country, and running from one place to the other with the family is an unforgettable experience. I lost my one day of work, and my family lost one day of vacation, not to mention the trauma that kids had to go through. I also wanted to mention a point for Delta staff training. The immigration officer at Delhi airport told us that they the OCI card for each one of us was enough to get the entry to India even If the so called sticker wasn't available.

To add to the adventure, none of our 7 checked-in bags arrived to the final destination (Delhi) with us, though we were told at Paris airport that they will be on the same flight AF 226. So here I am waiting with my family inside the airport, and then the relatives waiting outside the airport.

But the saddest thing is that it has been three weeks and I have left feedback at Delta.com three times with no response from them.

Replies
Poor in Flight Business Class Service. No Apology/Response From Delta
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

ATLANTA, RHODE ISLAND -- I have been traveling to Europe every year for several years now. Delta has been my airline of choice. I always fly business class and have never been disappointed...except for DL131 on 21 Mar. I had a special diabetic meal request on file with them. Not only was it perfect on the outbound flight...it was in fact commendable. But the return was different. My diabetic meal request was ignored. I decided it was no big deal so ordered the chicken with beans and vegetables with the "Dine and Rest" option.

My Dine and Rest option was ignored (evidently it didn't get passed to the serving attendant.) And...my chicken arrived cold...vegetable beans and all. It was not edible. I never complained to the flight attendants because I know their hands are full and there was nothing they could do at this point. I didn't want any of the food. My intention was to contact them via FB and Twitter but I decided to give them opportunity to respond first. I sent an email on 3/27 and all I've received to date is an automatic reply. I'm checking other airlines for subsequent trips.

Replies
Advertisement
Don't Fly Delta
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK -- Worst experience ever don't ever fly Delta!!! Upon arrival I had an hour to spare. I got something to eat and proceeded to go to the gate they told me to go to. Once I arrived I was then taken from that gate to a different gate. When I arrived at the last gate they were in the process of closing the door. Even though I was only 2 minutes late and not due to my mistake because they had given me the wrong gate to go to in the first place.

I begged to be let on the plane and she smiled in my face and told me too bad stating that she could not open the door (when I first arrived and asked to be let on they had not been locked yet). She then proceeded to tell me that she would be charging me $300.00 for my daughter and I to take the next flight.

When I asked for a manager the man standing next to her told me he was it. After stating I would be social networking what happened they then got the real manager. Who was as helpless as the first guy who had lied about being the manager!! I understand if it was my mistake and that is why I missed my flight but it was not!! I was there with over an hour to spare but given misinformation!! Then after all of this they were mean and rude. They have lost a customer for life and anyone who reads this picks a different airline!!

Replies
Flight 6558 cancelled over snowstorm in New York - Delta still liable
-

I had confirmed reservations for an international flight on Delta to Toronto via New York JFK on 10th February 2010. At 9.00 P.M. on February 9th 2010, I received an automated telephone call from Delta that my flight next morning was cancelled. I immediately checked Delta's website which confirmed that my flight was cancelled. No reason was given for the cancellation either in Delta's telephone call or on its website. I sought to contact Delta's 24 hour telephone line but was unable to get an answer except for a recording saying that all agents were busy.

At 1.00 A.M. on February 10th 2010 I purchased a new ticket on another airline at a cost of US$737 directly to Toronto which was more than three times the cost of my original Delta flight of $211 which was booked months earlier. Apparently there was a problem in New York but flights not connecting in New York were not affected. At about 2.00 A.M. on February 10th 2010 I e-mailed Delta to say that I had booked on another airline. Delta e-mailed back to say that they could not deal with my email for another 2 to 3 days.

There followed this email correspondence: February 10th Delta Customer Support emailed to ask for more details. February 15th I emailed Delta to say that when they cancelled their flight I purchased a new ticket on another airline for $737 and requested reimbursement. February 16th Delta Customer Support emailed to say that “during irregular operations” they put passengers on the next available Delta flight or they rebook passengers on another carrier but since they did not handle the rebooking, they could not reimburse the airfare.

February 17th I emailed Delta to say that since all I heard from the airline that its flight was cancelled without giving any reason, it was contractually obligated to get me to Toronto even if that meant booking me on another airline. February 21st Delta Customer Support emailed to say that the first leg of my flight, the one into JFK was not cancelled, but the second leg JFK to Toronto was cancelled because of a snowstorm in New York. Delta offered to refund the $211 for the original ticket, but not the $737 for the new ticket.

February 21st I emailed Delta to say a refund of the fare I paid to them would not be adequate because of the increased price of the ticket which I had to pay on the date of travel and I threatened to take it to Court. February 24th Delta Customer Support emailed to say that Delta was sorry for my disappointment and hoped that I will still make Delta the airline of my choice. February 24th I emailed to say that I was not in the least disappointed but that I wanted the compensation that I was legally entitled to.

I proceeded to file a claim in court. Delta filed a Defence referring to its terms and conditions available on its website to the effect that in the event of a cancellation the passenger's remedy is for a refund of his fare. I replied to state that those terms and conditions were not brought to my attention when I booked the ticket. Delta's Defence filed in court had appended to it the said terms and conditions which were about 80 pages long. Delta retained a firm of prominent Attorneys to defend the case. There followed some correspondence between me and Delta's Attorneys.

From the start once the case was filed, Delta was willing to reimburse all my expenses, but they wanted to settle without a judgment of the Court and if I agreed they would give me $500 in travel vouchers in addition to reimbursing my expenses. This offer increased to $650 in vouchers during the correspondence. When the case was called in Court I appeared in person and Delta was represented by two Attorneys and Delta conceded and agreed to reimburse the $737 ticket, court costs and the cost of telephone calls I had made to relatives in Toronto on the night of February 9th 2010, and the Court entered judgment against Delta by consent.

Court costs were $80 and this is the most I would have had to pay if I had lost. I did not agree to the $650 in travel vouchers in return for forgoing the entry of a judgment against Delta. A judgment entered on the record of a court is a public document that can serve as a precedent, and another person similarly circumstanced with a case against Delta can use it to persuade another Court. Delta refused to settle before litigation had commenced and so I considered a judgment of the Court was appropriate.

Replies
My Delta Nightmare
By -

Our Delta Nightmare. On March 24th, 2010 my wife, and son, were traveling from Orlando, Florida to Moscow, Russia on Delta airlines. They had connecting flights in Atlanta and New York city (JFK). Below is a chronological list of what transpired that day that culminated in an aborted trip, a berated wife, and a traumatized family.

At 8:00 am on 3/24/10 my family departed Orlando for Atlanta aboard flight #1304. At 10:00 am they arrived in Atlanta safely and made their way to the proper gate for the connecting flight to New York (JFK). At 11:30 am Delta personnel informed my wife and son that flight #166 had been canceled and that they would not be able to fly to JFK in time to catch flight #30 and that they would have to fly to LaGuardia (New York) and take a taxi (courtesy of Delta) to JFK (they assured us that they would make it to JFK in plenty of time to make flight #30 to Moscow).

At 11:40 am they departed Atlanta aboard flight #1778 to LaGuardia. At approximately 3:00 pm they arrived at LaGuardia (I was in constant contact with my wife and I informed her to go to the baggage area to claim her bags for the taxi ride. She did not locate her bags). I informed my wife to go to the nearest Delta personnel in the baggage area and report her bags missing. She did so, and they informed her to go to JFK in a taxi and not to worry about the bags.

They left for JFK via taxi. At 3:30 pm they arrived at JFK. At approximately 3:50 pm they arrived at terminal 3 gate 7. I informed my wife to speak with Delta personnel at the gate ** and report that her bags had not been located due to a Delta mix-up. ** informs my wife to wait until 5:05 pm and come back to speak with her about her bags. My wife informed me of that via cell phone. I immediately called Delta customer service 800-212-1212 and spoke with a ** about our predicament. (my family could not risk continuing to Moscow without baggage)

At 5:00 pm I was on my home phone with Delta customer service and my wife via my cell phone when ** informed my wife that she could not locate her bags. Delta personnel informed me to tell my wife to speak with a Delta manager and to get the name of the Delta person at the gate. My wife informed ** of the request ** became agitated (I was listening in horror) and said, “If you want my name, I'll give it to you”. She could not locate the baggage still.

At approximately 5:20 pm Delta manager ** (we know his first name only) came to assist my wife regarding locating the bags. He could not locate them either. (I was still speaking with customer service on my home phone). At 5:25 pm flight #30 departed JFK en route to Moscow without my wife and son on board. Delta still had no idea where their bags were.

My wife and son were charged for a ticket back to Orlando and Delta refused to refund our money. I immediately called Delta customer service back to inquire about a refund and a flight back to Orlando courtesy of Delta. While in the process, Delta personnel (unnamed) provided my wife with two (2) vouchers for $649.62. I was informed of that fact at a later time and was infuriated as Delta should have refunded the entire amount of the trip ($1,726) and flown my family home. I informed Delta customer service that I would NEVER fly Delta again and that the vouchers were useless to me, and that I wanted a full refund.

They basically told me that I was out of luck. Over the next two days I attempted to speak with Delta customer service and Corporate Delta customer service. I have a list of the names and numbers of the people that I spoke with. However, this information is irrelevant as they all stated the same thing, “no full refund”. Remember, my bags were still missing as of March 25 midday.

As of April 7th, 2010, I spoke with ** at Delta Corporate customer service, I was unable to obtain a any cash refund from Delta. All that I was able to obtain were the aforementioned vouchers that are worthless to me. Parenthetically, my bags were located and returned to me 3 ½ days (Saturday March 27th, 2010) afterwards for the first one, and 6 days for the second one (Tuesday March 30th, 2010) for the second one.

This is proof positive that Delta had no idea where our bags were and that they caused my wife to miss her flight to Russia. Remember, my wife and son were not traveling to Moscow as a final destination and that they could not continue and wait in Moscow for their bags to be located. They were traveling to another city (about 1000 miles north east of Moscow) and had a train ticket for this travel already in hand.

Replies
Nightmare flight with Delta ..... Xmas 2009
By -

I hope you had an enjoyable holiday and all the best to you for 2010. Unfortunately my wife and I had our worst flight experience with Delta airlines on our recent holiday trip to Barbados. We purchased a flight online on June 12th 2009 for our trip to Barbados with Delta confirmation # **. The first leg of the flight was flight #1297 departing JFK, New York for Atlanta at 6:00am. We were then supposed to connect with Delta flight # 659 departing Atlanta for Barbados at 9:40am.

We arrived at the Delta counter at JFK around 3:45am and after checking in our luggage with our customer service agent we were told to proceed through TSA security and to the Delta gate where our seats would be assigned. Upon arrival at the Delta gate we were then told that the flight had in fact been severely overbooked and that were no longer any assigned seats.

After about a frustrating hour and a half of limited communication from the Delta service manager at the gate a large group of about thirty passengers including my wife and I were all informed that we would not be seated on flight #1297 from JFK to Atlanta. For us this was very frustrating as we had bought our tickets six months in advance and had tried unsuccessfully to confirm our seats over the last few months with your customer service agents. We had been told that our seats would be assigned at check-in at the JFK airport on Dec 23rd.

Close to 7:00am on Dec 23rd we were finally told by one of your customer service agents at the JFK counter that we would be refunded for the portion of our flight down to Barbados as our delay to Barbados was greater than the acceptable time frame stipulated by airline rules. We would however be on our own to find an alternative carrier to Barbados. We were also told that our flight back up from Barbados would however remain intact with Delta. This was a most startling proposal as it was two days before Christmas and we were basically left to find a flight down to Barbados which is one of the most popular tourist destinations in the Caribbean.

After several frantic calls to numerous of your competitor airlines we were able to miraculously find the last two seats on a JetBlue flight #871 down to Barbados leaving that same morning at 8:30am. The two last minute JetBlue flight basically cost the same as the one-way ticket refund that we received from Delta for the cancellation of our seats to Barbados.

We informed your Delta customer service agent at the JFK gate that we would be taking the 8:30am JetBlue flight. He informed us that Delta would still take our checked-in luggage down to Barbados on their flight # 1297 as that flight was taking off. We were told by your customer service agent that we would be able to collect our luggage upon our arrival in Barbados on the JetBlue flight that was scheduled to arrive later that same day.

We arrived in Barbados later that same day on JetBlue. Unfortunately our luggage didn't arrive on the Delta flight as promised from earlier that morning. When we asked the Delta agent in Barbados about our luggage they informed us that we had to talk to JetBlue about our missing luggage even though Delta indicated they would deliver our luggage to Barbados. Of course the JetBlue agent could not understand the rational why they would be responsible for luggage we never checked in with their airline and which Delta had indicated was on a flight connecting out of JFK, New York through Atlanta to Barbados.

At this point we were now stuck in Barbados with no luggage and limited effective assistance from the local Delta customer service representative. Later on that night (December 23rd) I sent Delta Online Support an email message indicating that our four pieces of luggage had been lost. I got an email response that same night indicating that we could expect a response in three to four days!!!

The next morning December 24th I called Delta's 800-number and I was told that our bags were left in Atlanta and that they would be forwarded down to Barbados via Puerto Rico around 11:30pm on an American Airlines flight. I called later that same day to confirm our luggage had made the flight going through Puerto Rico and I was told by ** one of your customer service agents that our luggage was now being sent back to JFK, New York instead as Delta had no evidence that we had indeed arrived in Barbados. I explained to ** that I was indeed ** and that I was currently stranded in Barbados without any clothing and toiletries.

** indicated we would now receive our luggage upon our return to New York from vacation in Barbados. In addition she also indicated that we would not get any reimbursement to purchase emergency clothing nor toiletries while stranded in Barbados. I think our call with ** was recorded so you can verify this exasperating conversation with your customer service agent who obviously didn't grasp the concept of customer service.

On Dec 24th we spent about $450 on emergency clothing and toiletries as the local Barbadians had explained to us that the island celebrates Boxing Day on Dec 26th. Most stores in Barbados would therefore be closed for an extended weekend from the Thursday (Christmas Day) until the following Monday!!!

On Friday December 26th we finally got a surprise call from Delta that our luggage had arrived in Barbados. At that point we had not only spent several hundred dollars on emergency clothing and toiletries but we had also incurred a large international telephone call bill trying in vain to resolve and track our luggage with your customer service agents back in the USA.

The trip got worst on our way back. There was there a one hour departure delay on our connecting Delta flight #488 out of Port-of-Spain in Trinidad to JFK, New York on Jan 2nd. In addition when our luggage arrived at JFK, New York two pieces of our luggage were badly damaged. On December 3rd I filed two damaged luggage claims # ** and # **. Upon filing these two claims I was told I now have to find a FedEx office to ship the damaged luggage back to your facility in Carrollton in Texas. This is just another inconvenience for us relating to this already horrible trip experience with your airline.

I apologize for the length of this letter but I think you can sense we are highly annoyed with this extremely poor level of service that we received from Delta. I did a quick scan of the internet tonight to determine whether they were any online websites we could also post a copy of this letter on so that we could expose a wider swath of your current and potential customers to our recent trip experience. We found the following websites: **.

Upon browsing these websites it appears this poor level of customer service has also been experienced by several other customers of your airline. I'll spend some time over the upcoming weekend to make sure I post this letter on these online websites and with the relevant identifying personal information redacted.

Delta has been a disappointing service provider for this recent trip. You are very aware that word of mouth is vital to companies such as yours operating in an industry that is very competitive. My wife and I will also make sure that we share this Delta flight experience with as many friends, family and colleagues that we come across over the upcoming months.

At this point we are merely asking for some compensation to recoup the money we spent on emergency clothing and toiletries in Barbados and to recover the cost of the lengthy international telephone calls we made to Delta's customer service bureau in the USA from Barbados as we tracked our missing luggage. I think you'll agree that some reimbursement would be a small gesture of goodwill as your airline almost ruined our fond memories of Barbados. If you have any additional questions I can be reached at **.

Replies
Advertisement
Cancelled flight due to missing staff/Awful customer service
By -

I'm writing due to a terrible experience I had with Delta flying from JFK to Buffalo. I had a 10pm flight on a Sunday night. The flight kept being delayed until about 12 or 12:15am, each time Delta announcing it due to a reason such as the incoming flight was waiting for traffic so that it could pull up. Then they had to unboard that flight, etc.

At about 12:15am they canceled the flight due a missing flight attendant. They didn't realize they were missing someone two hours ago when we were supposed to leave? While I do understand things happen, I don't understand why there was no one there as backup or why the flight wasn't cancelled sooner rather than delayed for two hours only to cancel it anyway. If it had been cancelled sooner, there was a flight to Rochester I would have tried to go on earlier that night.

Once the flight was cancelled and we were told to go to the counter to rebook a flight, I was told by the person assisting me that the soonest direct flight wasn't until two days later, and the soonest flight at all would not get me in until 3pm the next day. This was not even an option for me because Monday was my first day of Dental school in Buffalo, which started at 8:30am.

He told me that Jetblue did have a flight to Buffalo that would get in at 8am, but if I wanted I could take what Delta had until I knew if the seat with Jetblue was available. He told me that all I would have to do to be refunded was call Delta and I would be reimbursed for my ticket if I chose to fly with Jetblue instead.

I ended up booking the morning flight with Jetblue even though it costed me close to $200 so I could get to school on time. I went to my first day of class on less than two hours of sleep since Delta cancelled the flight so late and then the hotel they set me up in for the night (which didn't even have hot water) took over an hour to get to by the shuttle system. I had to be back to the airport around 4am told fly home. When I called Delta to cancel and confirm that I would be reimbursed, the woman I spoke with said no. I did not have time to speak with her at the time, so I called back a couple of days later to inquire as to how to get reimbursed.

I was told that they could not reimburse me by phone because the airport issued me a paper ticket rather than an e-ticket so I would have to go to the airport to reimbursed. I asked to speak with a supervisor and when I was finally put on the phone with her, she told me the same thing, saying I could either mail my tickets in or bring them to the airport to be reimbursed. She seemed to think that going in was the better option and I did too, being I didn't trust Delta to get my refund to me.

A few days later, I drove a half-hour to the Buffalo-Niagara Airport with my ticket as instructed to request my refund. When I approached the person at the ticket booth for Delta, he looked completely confused about how to issue me a refund and called Delta for support. After waiting for about 45 minutes with the person at the desk, he finally tells me that he can't issue me a refund there and would have to mail my ticket to Atlanta for the request. He said if I didn't hear anything about my refund in two weeks to give Delta a call. There was some sort of conflict because I had bought the ticket over Expedia and flown United Airlines to JFK, so I only needed to be reimbursed for the return portion of the flight.

However, the supervisor I had spoken with was completely aware of that situation and if that was in issue with me not being reimbursed at the airport, she should have never told me to waste my time going there! I don't understand why there is such a lack of communication that I would have a supervisor direct me to go to the airport and waste two hours of my time, only for nothing to be resolved.

In addition, the service I received from the Delta representative at the airport was completely unprofessional. While he was on hold with someone trying to figure out how to reimburse me, and wanted to speak with one of his coworkers about an unrelated manner and asked me to hold the phone for him so he could go in the back. This is no way to act with a customer.

A few days later, I called Delta to complain about everything I've gone through and was told I had to email Delta and attach a copy of my Jetblue ticket. When I went to the website to do so, I saw there was nowhere I could attach anything so I called back. A different representative then told me I could not put on an attachment despite the previous representative telling me to do so, and that she thought I was wasting my time because she said she doubted Delta would reimburse me. She offered me a $100 voucher towards a future flight. I took it for the time being but they can have it back. I do not want a voucher for Delta because I never plan to fly Delta again!

I called the refunds department 2 weeks after I went in to the airport to find out the status of my refund. A rude woman told me it takes 7-10 business days to receive it. Apparently she couldn't count because it had been 11 business days. I figured I'd give it a couple more days though just in case. I called back a week later and there was nothing known about my refund still. Basically they lost my refund request. She told me I shouldn't have brought it to the airport because they have so much traffic going through there and it's more likely to be lost. Well if I hadn't been instructed by a supervisor to do so I wouldn't have!

Since then, I've been told to fax in my refund receipts I got from the airport. I also called because I didn't want someone telling me again that it was lost. They have told me it will be another 7-10 business days before I am refunded. This is just absurd. They're pretty much holding my money hostage that isn't even theirs because they never provided the service they were supposed to have provided. It should not take this much time and effort to get refunded!

Because of this cancellation, I wasted a lot of time and money trying to resolve the situation. The only compensation I received for this inconvenience was a night at a hotel that didn't even have hot water, and a voucher for a meal that I couldn't use because I flew out of the Jetblue terminal. In order to get home by the time I needed to be there, I had to pay $185 out of pocket to fly Jetblue as well an extra day of parking at the Buffalo airport. Then there were also the hours on the phone and at the terminal.

As a student in a doctoral program, time is very precious to me right now, and I don't have time to waste. After all the hassle they've put me through, I'm trying to get back both my refund as well as reimbursement for my ticket with Jetblue and extra day of parking. I wrote an email to Delta five days ago and still have not gotten a response, as well as filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I will NEVER fly Delta again. They take your money and put you through hell trying to get it back.

Replies
Worse Customer Service Ever!
By -

BUFFALO, NEW YORK -- On 12/25/08 I was given a buddy pass by a friend to go to Buffalo, NY and surprise my ten year old son for Christmas, who is currently living with his father. Getting there was not bad at all. I arrived a little late, but everything was fine. Now I have traveled with Delta airline plenty of times and preferred Delta over the rest. This was the first and last time flying with a buddy pass.

Now I am aware of the procedure when using a buddy pass. If the flight is full, you would have to wait on the next. Fine, no problem! My flight to come home was a deal breaker. I understood during the Holiday season that it was possible that I would not be able to make it home in a timely manner.

As I set and waited for the first flight at four in the morning from Buffalo NY to Atlanta GA, I watched as the ticket guy ** got into a heated argument with an older guy. Not sure what was said but you could see that the words back and forth were not friendly. After a while I decided to go up to the counter and ask ** if he had an idea if I would be able to make this flight or not. He replied " You will know if I call your name!" Not once looking up at me. I thought that was rude but hey it was the holidays and everything was hectic. So I went back to my seat and waited.

After everyone had boarded the plane ** gave me a seat 7a and closed the door. Now the plane was due to take off at 6:30am. He handed me my seat at 6:27am. I walked down the ramp and was seated in 8f because someone was already sitting in 7a, and the stewardess advised me to sit anywhere a seat was available.

After five minutes of being seated a stewardess came back and asked who was supposed to be seated in 7a. I told her that I was. She asked if I had a "Rep pass?" Not knowing what that was I told her that I didn't know. She turned around and walked away...6:35am now! Next thing you know ** is walking down the aisle. He stopped and looked at me and said "You need to get up right now!"

I said "Why you just gave me this seat"? He said very nasty "It doesn't matter you need to get up and get off the plane now!" Now everyone on the plane is looking at me like I was some kind of terrorist. I was really embarrassed. Without another word I got up and exited the plane. I walked threw the tunnel and waited at the counter.

A couple of seconds later ** exited the tunnel. Not knowing exactly what had just happened I questioned him. I said "What happened why was I kicked off and you gave me that seat?" He stated in a disrespectful tone "Go and sit down and I will be with you later!" I said "You don't have to be nasty you gave me that seat!" He stated "First of all that wasn't your seat, that seat belonged to a paying customer!" Again everyone seated waiting for the next flight was listening to what was going on.

I said "I understand that but you acted as if I forced myself onto the plane, when you are the one who gave me a seat, I just want to know what going on!" He said really loud "You never had a seat that was the other ladies seat. She is a paying customer and you are basically trying to fly for free, so you don't have a seat!" I said "It doesn't matter if I'm a paying customer or not you don't have to speak to me that way." He then said " If you're going to sit there and argue with me you won't be flying at all!" At that point I decided not to continue going back and forth with him. It was either that or to go to jail in Buffalo and be stuck there for a while.

After contacting my fiance to let him know what had just happened as I cried my eyes out from the embarrassment, he advise me to get the guys name and his supervisors name and number. I walked over and asked him for his name he refused to give me his last name and told me his supervisors name was **. He advised me that ** was downstairs back out at the counter pass security. Without another word I walked downstairs and met **.

** was very busy with a line that you wouldn't believe. I waited or him to get a quick moment. While I waited I heard ** calling back up stairs to ** and was very upset with him for sending customers back to him to reschedule their missed flights. I watched as they argued back and forth. Soon ** got the opportunity to talk to me. I explained the situation to him. I was informed that ** had made a mistake.

Once a paying customer seat was giving away to a standby the paying customer had missed their flight and needed to rescheduled. So those customers he let on the plane after me was not supposed to board the plane. The fact that I was flying with a buddy pass was no ones business. He violated the confidentiality policy of Delta Airlines by shouting out this information. What was really odd was ** response. He said that that's the way ** was and that he gets complaints a lot about his customer service skills.

Now if that is the case, why is ** still employed with Delta? I think that ** should be fired and should not work in customer service anywhere. I was given another stand by ticket and was sent back up to where ** was. As I approached a seat and I heard ** telling another ticket person about our argument and how he started to tell me off. I think again that his actions were completely unprofessional and I will see to it that he never does this to a customer again. Paying or not! No one deserved to be treated like this.

After spending a total of 15 hours in the airport on 12/30/2008 after the last plane left without me. I called my girlfriend to pick me up and I went back to her house, got on-line and bought a one way ticket home to Texas. Of course I didn't purchase the ticket threw Delta. I flew Air Tran, and they have just gained a new customer. I see why they were voted #1 in customer service. They were very pleasant!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Delta Airlines Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 27 ratings and
322 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Delta Airlines
1030 Delta Blvd
Atlanta, GA 30320
1-800-221-1212 (ph)
www.delta.com
Product/Services | Related Resources
Compare Airline Companies