[X]
Feedburner count

Empire Today - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
60 Reviews & Complaints
customersupport@empiretoday.com

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Buy One Room, Get 3 Free Ads! "FRAUDULANT"!
Posted by Fogn444 on 11/21/2013
GLADSTONE, OREGON -- We responded to the TV ad (buy one room, get 3 free). The year before we had our living room carpet replaced for about $800.00, but because of a new carpet burn from our fire place, we decided to take advantage of the ad offer and get a couple small bedrooms done as well. Even with the ad I knew there was bound to be extra charges. So I expected to pay double the living room costs. The sales bid came in @ over $5000.00! I asked the sales girl "how's that possible considering the ad"? She said the carpet was free for the extra rooms but we had to pay all labor. I asked how much per yard she was charging for the matching carpet. She had charged us 3 times the retail value for the carpet. Empire Flooring is the worst way to go for flooring. Go to a flooring store and find a reputable, local installer if you want a "real" fair rate for flooring and installation. Stay away from TV ads!
Joe builder

Read Company Response
Company Response on :
Carl, it’s disappointing that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations. We understand that you’ve gone with another company, but we would like the opportunity to learn more about your concerns and better explain our all inclusive pricing, as well as the promotion. If you’re interested in speaking with us, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x3555 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Angelica Snell, Resolution Team Manager
     
Add reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Don't Waste Your Time or Money
Posted by Amandathomps0n on 09/17/2013
BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- We contacted Empire today for an estimate on new carpeting in our entire house. An Empire Today salesperson came out with samples of carpet and gave us an estimate of approx. $3000. He assured us that the carpet was good quality, and that there is a 10 year warranty should anything happen to it, such as excessive wear or stains. It also came with a 1 year installation warranty. We decided to purchase. Not even 2 months later, the new carpet looked worse than the 10 year old carpet we had replaced with it. It was worn down to almost nothing and it was falling apart from the seams and from the middle of the floor. We do not by any means abuse our carpet. We never wear shoes in the house, we vacuum at least twice a week, etc. So we called Empire and they told us that they would send an inspector out to look at it. Instead of an inspector, an Empire salesperson came out, but even he told us that there was clearly a problem with the carpet and that he said he would request a full replacement of an upgraded carpet. He took pictures and went on his way. Over 2 weeks later, after not hearing anything from Empire, I called them to check on our claim. The lady on the phone told us that the claim had been denied because, from the pictures, they could not see any defect in the carpet or the installation. When I asked to see a copy of the pictures, I was told that the salesman who took them passed away and they did not have access to his computer. After fighting with them for weeks, and filing a complaint with the BBB, they finally
Read Company Response
Company Response on :
Amanda, we regret that this matter has not yet been resolved. We understand that we have been in contact with you previously, and we will continue to work towards a resolution. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by PassingBy on 2013-09-18:
Amazing that they denied the claim based on the photos, yet now they can't because the salesman died. If even true sue them in small claims court.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Designer/ Contractor - "Empire a Good Value"
Posted by Emerydesign on 08/17/2013
CLEVELAND, OHIO -- After reading the reviews of a few disgruntled consumers, mostly directed at sales persons tactics, I had to jump in and give a professional opinion...I have 30 years of national design and architecture experience specifying and installing the finest materials. Empire's commission based sales staff is as varied as any other group of people trying to make a living, but their products (out of necessity) are the same as any other retailer...you simply get what you pay for. Of course anyone who has to foot the bill to schlep samples all over town with no promise of a paycheck is going to be disappointed, maybe even desperate, if a sale isn't made, and isn't it human nature to let those feelings show?

Nothing in life is free, including the gas it takes to show up at your door....so visiting a dealer where you really see multiple prices and qualities makes a much more informed buyer......recently I used Empire again for a house I was flipping and they did an absolutely superb job. Maybe beauty, or irritation, is in the eye of the beholder, and the disgruntled Empire customers are simply inexperienced buyers whose limited purchasing expertise is showing.....and their evaluation of their salesmen overly critical.
Read Company Response
Company Response on 08/19/2013:
We’re thrilled to know we were able impress you with our sales and service. Thank you for the recommendation, we look forward to working with you on your next project. – Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by dan on 2013-08-18:
I'm sorry but they sell Beaulieu carpet which is very very cheap at greatly inflated prices. If you have 30 yrs experience you would be buying from showrooms or dealers at far less than a 2-300% markup. Your facts don't justify the reality of how Empire Works.
Posted by BigAl on 2013-08-18:
You have a right to your own opinion but you do not have a right for your own facts. The sales techniques of Empire are based on company philosophy. Their pricing is also geared to maximize profits. In home pricing is a farce. The salesmen are instructed to quote a "price" that is way above retail and then high pressure the client into instant approval through a sham discount. To say that the consumers are at fault for not being "experienced enough" is laughable. You are right in saying that the salesmen take the brunt of the criticism but you fail to mention they are following corrupt and deceitful procedures mandated by corporate. Your so called "professional opinion" is inaccurate and worthless.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Carpet Does Not Hold Up to Traffic Wear Over Short Time
Posted by Vjofkenmore on 08/14/2013
SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- I purchased carpet for our living room, dining room and hall 1 1/2 years ago. At the 1 year mark they called wanting to know if we were satisfied. I had just been telling my husband how disappointed I was in how the carpet looked dull in the traffic areas and that the luster was gone compared to non traffic areas and how nice they looked. This was 1 year after installation and we had been gone to AZ for 4 months during this time. Empire came out, took samples, tested them and called back saying the manufacturer was replacing the carpet due to defect. All new carpet installed. We're 5 months down the road, and again we had been gone for 2 months to AZ so 3 months of use and the traffic pattern is showing a definite wear and the luster is gone again. Empire came out, took samples, tested and called back saying their was nothing wrong.

This is actually too bad, because I was going to replace our carpet in AZ next spring using their services. At this point I am very disappointed that I have a carpet that will most likely need to be replaced in the next year or so because the wear is not satisfactory. I will never use Empire again and feel that they let me down and their name is one that can be trusted.

To make it easy on yourself and save money long term, I would carefully select another carpet company.

Read Company Response
Company Response on :
Vickie, we regret that your product is not meeting your expectations, as we always want our customers to be completely satisfied with the products they receive. It’s disappointing that you’ve still been experiencing issues, and we will be following up with you shortly to discuss the situation in more detail. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Old Timer on 2013-08-15:
Empire are the biggest crooks in the carpet biz. Buy one room and they will carpet 100 more for free. Yeah right, with cheap crap carpet like this OP got.
Posted by dan on 2013-08-19:
you should look for carpet with 'appearance retention' warranties. Carpet normally mats down so what you describe as 'wear' is simply the way carpet performs. Better carpet has a high twist yarn and those products will carry an appearance retention warranty. Everything wlse won't. Look for a frieze textured carpet
Posted by Vickie Jones on 2013-08-26:
Empire sent out a 3rd party to test the carpet, Empire tol us the results came back that after a 2 month period of 2 adults in the house the carpet traffic wear appearance was normal. When we purchased this carpet I specially talked with the rep about not wanting a cheap carpet and getting one that would look good for several years. For the amount paid for this carpet it should not be showing major traffic wear patterns after 2 months. Very disappointed in Empire and will definitely not be purchasing any future carpet or any product from them. Save your money and save disappointment from poor quality carpet.
Posted by Vickie Jones on 2013-08-26:
Thank you, I wish I had known this prior to purchase and also had seen the 1 star rating. Lesson learned!
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Salesperson Was the Worst!!! (Ken)
Posted by Deborahduarte on 08/08/2013
BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- Salesperson came to my house because I wouldn't sign right away got very mad at me
told me I was cheap that I have two Mercedes sitting in the driveway.
How could I be so cheap and started getting loud with me. I called my husband who was @ the firehouse,
i salesperson was so rude my husband told me to call the police
i called the Corp. Office and filed a complaint and was told someone would get back w me in two business day, well it's been a week
and to make matter worst why did the salesperson ken call me on 8/7/13 and wonder if I was still interested
Read Company Response
Company Response on :
Deborah, we were disappointed to read about your sales appointment, as this is not the experience we expect for our customers. It is never our intention for our customers to feel pressured or uncomfortable, and we would like to speak to you further about this situation. We are not able to locate your account with the information posted here, but please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will follow up with you. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
     
Add reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Don't buy anything from Empire
Posted by Janymarple on 07/29/2013
The salesman was friendly but pushy. He kept saying that he was a decorator and knows what will work. He pushed certain carpeting and window treatments. I finally caved in and bought the whole thing. I believe I got the wrong carpeting and definitely got the wrong window treatments. The salesman then claimed to be sick for 3 weeks. I told him that I wanted one window blind and that there is a refund. He said he would look into it. Three weeks later I called Empire and they said it will be under advisement for one week. The salesman never told them about the refund. Now I have to meet the salesman at a local Starbucks to look at a piece of carpeting to assess whether it's the right one. I hate Empire.
Read Company Response
Company Response on :
Thank you for bringing your situation to our attention, Deanna. It’s disappointing that these issues have not yet been resolved, and we can assure you that we take your concerns very seriously. We will be following up with you shortly regarding your overpayment and to confirm you received the correct products. If you have any additional questions, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
     
Add reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Empire Today - High Pressure, Ignorant Salesperson
Posted by Suebuzek on 07/07/2013
NEW JERSEY -- I had an appointment with Empire today - the arrival window from 1-3. The sales girl called to say she was going to be late. Upon arrival - after 3 - she told me how she put another customer off to get here on time. Why would they book so many appointments for the same time? She seemed tired and overworked but rather pleasant. That was short lived.

The carpet samples seemed cheap and junky. The promo was buy 1 room get 2 free. I needed carpet in my living room, master bedroom, hallway and 2 other bedrooms plus a hallway. She wrote all of these different prices down on a sheet of paper. The starting price was close to 9800.00 - WHAT??? BUT with discounts and promos and the promise to sign on the dotted line for next day delivery the price dropped to 4,000. When I told her I was going to price shop and get other prices, she threw the paperwork in her briefcase, proceeded to turn nasty and said she wasted her time filling out the paperwork. I explained to her that I never make any large purchase without shopping around and she should respect that. She went from pleasant and good humored to beyond ignorant in a matter of seconds.

I went to a local privately owned carpet store. As soon as I walked in, right there hanging on the wall was an article about Empire and their sleazy tactics. It was in a carpet magazine. Made me laugh. Not only did I get a better carpet, I got it for over 1500.00 cheaper!!!!!!

Empire Today can keep their high priced low quality carpet and their nasty, high pressured sales staff.
Read Company Response
Company Response on :
Susan, we regret that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations. Your experience is not in line with the world-class service we always strive to provide, as we never want our customers to feel pressured to purchase. We would like to make things right for you, and we will be following up with you shortly to discuss the situation. If you have any additional questions or concerns, you can also contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by John Nicholson on 2013-07-07:
Good info for people. Thanks. And, you did the right thing by going to a private firm. Why people buy carpet at big box stores and such is beyond me. When things go wrong---and they usually do at these places---what are you going to do? With a small, private firm, you deal with the owner, not some flunky.
Posted by No entitlement attitudes please on 2013-07-18:
Why is it that people drive miles out of their way to save 4 cents a gallon on gas but do not have the common sense to realize that all those tv ads and topogood to be true promises will always equall inflated pricing?
Canveat Emptor
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Installers Never Showed Up
Posted by Avanhonsebrouck on 06/22/2013
The installers never showed up for the install. We waited from 8:00am-6:00pm. We contacted Empire on installation day all the managers were not answering calls because it was a Sat. We will cancel our order.

Read Company Response
Company Response on :
Andrea, we are disappointed that your installation was not completed as scheduled. We can assure you that your experience is not in line with the level of service we expect for our customers. We take your concerns very seriously, and we will be following up with you shortly to help make things right. You can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
     
Add reply

StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Not great
Posted by Motleyphillipslaw on 05/25/2013
PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- First of all 99 dollar ad that made me call in first place was very deceptive. The salesman blew it off like what would we expect for $99. Salesman also spent a lot of time criticizing my old carpet and promising that their way of installation would be far superior. Specifically I was told that the steps would not be waterfall. When the steps were finished they were in fact waterfall and the installers said of course that this was the best message and that the sales person did not know what he was talking about.

Additionally, the carpet was up for quality, and it does not feel that a pad is under it. In the end the money that I spent was definitely way over what I probably should have spent for the finished product. I wish that I would have waited until I could afford it a better product. Now I feel that I'm stuck with this for many years if it holds up. I plan to call the company back and ask them to redo the steps especially since they made such a big deal about it and put them in the same way that the previous installers did. Feeling taken advantage of in Pittsburgh.
Read Company Response
Company Response on :
We were disappointed to read about your experience, as we never want our customers to be dissatisfied with our products or service. Because we are a full-service company, our pricing is all inclusive and covers product costs, installation labor, and any additional requested services. The sale applied to the product cost only, and we also offer a price match guarantee. We would like the opportunity to speak to you so that we can learn more about you concerns with your product and installation. Unfortunately, we are not able to locate your account with the information posted here. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will reach out to you to work towards a resolution. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Old Timer on 2013-05-25:
I would never do business with any carpet company that says they can do a room for $99. Or around here Empire says they will do three rooms free if we buy one room.

1. That one room will be overpriced by about 75%.
2. They will lay the most inexpensive piece of crap carpet they can.
3. What do you think is paying for all those TV ads?
4. Never trust a carpet company that only sells their own cheap brand of carpet. No brand names are ever available at the promotional prices.

JMHO
Posted by Alain on 2013-05-26:
Thanks for the warnings! I live in P'burgh and eventually we'll be putting down some new carpet. We were planning on using a local flooring store and this reinforces our decision.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor sales tactics
Posted by Salgro1 on 12/26/2012
DALLAS, TEXAS -- I will get straight to the point. Salesman comes out, shows me the most expensive carpet to choose from. Salesman Refuses to show the other carpet styles available. -leaving me with only 4 choices of style. (he stated they were cheap and I would not like them) Anyway, my home is a little over 1700 square feet. I needed 3 rooms and the living room done. He quoted me almost 4 thousand dollars! I asked the sales man how he derived at those figures. (he had no tape measure and gave no price per square foot on the carpet) He could not tell me. Next, he acts like he's getting on the phone with his manager. This jerk didn't know,,that I knew,,,he was a contractor. he gets 100% commission so there was no manager to call! Anyway, He came back and stated that his manager said he can come down off the price. He came down about 50 bucks. I told him no..that won't work. He tried the phone call scheme again. Came down off another 50. Basically, I threw his ass out. (Pack your stuff...I'm not interested)
Read Company Response
Company Response on 12/26/2012:
Saliem, we’re disappointed that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations. It is never our intention for our customers to feel pressured, and we’d like to speak to you further about your concerns. We would be happy to discuss our pricing in more detail, as well as any other questions you may have. A member of our customer service team will be contacting your shortly. You can also contact us with any additional questions or concerns at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by madconsumer on 2012-12-26:
most helpful company response!!
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-12-26:
I don't understand how a salesman could give you a meaningful quote without taking measurements, and entering them into a computer program that figures out the cuts to result in minimum usage.

Helpful review. Thanks for letting us know. I've had carpeting quoted in the past, and nobody tried malarkey like this with me.

The fact that he couldn't tell you how he came up with the alleged "quote" shows he was a charlatan of the worst kind. I've heard nothing but complaints about Empire.
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >