Preview Review

Next Review

Enterprise Rent-A-Car Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Great Service, Wonderful Experience
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

BRUNSWICK, GEORGIA -- I recently rented a car from Enterprise. They picked me up on time, when I got there, they were out of cars, so they gave me a brand new passenger van, not any bigger than a full-sized car. I had the car for two days, it was GREAT. The young men at the agency were very kind, helpful and professional. When I returned it I had left my checkbook in the car, they called me immediately, and kept it in the safe for me until I can pick it up. EVERYTHING WAS GREAT FROM BEGINNING TO END. I will definitely rent from them again.

Replies
Advertisement
Enterprise "Ding" Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FREDERICKSBURG, VIRGINIA -- I was provided a car for an accident claim. They told me they were going to pick me up from the body shop at 7:30 am so I could make it to work. They arrived 45 minutes late and had me sign the document without walking around the car because it was raining bad and because I was now late for work.

When I returned the vehicle, they accused me of putting a small dent in the back bumper. They refused to talk to the attendant gave me the car and also refused to see if there was camera footage to prove that I had not done the damage. Now making a claim against my insurance and informing me that I will have to pay loss of use on top of the damage I did not do. Never use this company unless you want to be late for work and accused of damaging a vehicle that was previously damaged.

Company Response 12/10/2015:

Josh,
We'd like to speak with you directly and have a closer look at this for you. Please email care@enterprise.com and include the exact rental location, your contact information, your claims, rental agreement or reservation number and any other details so we can look into this further. Please include reference number 151210-001482 in the subject line of your email. We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Regards,
Carol H.
Social Monitoring Coordinator

Replies
Albuquerque Sunport Location Refuses Reservation without Cause
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALBUQERQUE, NEW MEXICO -- Mr. **, the manager, refused to honor our twice confirmed reservation made online 3 months before and ruined our family trip. Got corporate on the phone and they could not understand why he refused us service. He kept making up policies not listed with his own corporate headquarters to refuse service including that they do not take debit cards which is a lie. They do accept debit cards. When you call to confirm your reservation and tell them that you only have a debit card, they say "no problem."

I then put him on my phone with his corporate headquarters, he told them that they cannot take debit cards despite what it says in their system at headquarters. When that did not go over well with his corporate office or us we got someone else at customer service to suggest he send our reserved car to another location where we could rent it. He lied to us and said there was no reserved car to send. When I did not like that response I put him on with the lady from customer service and he lied to them and said that My family and I were rude to him and his staff and that was why he was refusing to rent to us.

After that phone call, he threatened my 11-year-old daughter with being thrown out of the airport by security. Mr. ** said he manages the local Alamo too and he would treat us the same way over there. We were forced to leave before security arrived and traumatized my daughter.

Company Response 10/14/2015:

Thank you for bringing this to our attention Brett. Please send us a detailed email to Care@Enterprise.com with complete details such as: contact information, reservation/rental agreement number and the exact address of the rental location involved. As customer service is of the utmost importance, we would like to look further into this situation for you. Thanks for posting and we look forward to hearing from you soon. Reference #151014-002076. -Tatiana

Replies
Not Just Bad Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ASHEBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- First off, I reserved a vehicle online was told the amount and when I showed up Sheria charged me more. She told us we needed cash so we went to ATM and got cash. Then, she rented me one car but gave me the keys and everything to a completely different one, rental agreement was for Kia Soul - drove off in a Chrysler 200. Then, I found out the plates on the Chrysler went dead in June. Not only did I drive over 1300 miles in a car with dead plates but, the car was just returned when we rented it. Worst service I've ever had.

I'm a member of the Enterprise Plus Club and have been for years and I still get treated like a complete stranger OR a criminal when I go to rent a vehicle from this lady. Returned car and was told we would get a check for deposit in 5-7 days. What? She tells us to get cash but wants us to wait for a check. Sheria seems to be more worried about her commissions than her customers. How did she become a manager?

Company Response 07/21/2015:

I would like to discuss this further with you. Please email us at Care@Enterprise.com with your contact information, rental/reservation number and any other details. Please reference #150721-003188. -Tatiana

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Experience Turned Into Great Experience By Employees
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

ARLINGTON, TEXAS -- Renting a car had never been so difficult for me in the past. When I was given the wrong information from several employees, I couldn't believe this was the Enterprise Rent-A-Car I was familiar with in the past. I was stuck in Mansfield with no way to get home to Houston because I was told I couldn't get a pick up on Saturday after being told I could get picked up when I made the reservation. Thanks to Richard and Nada all problems disappeared as a pick up was arranged for me and I was able to get home in the time frame I needed. Thanks for caring!!!

Replies
Paying for Damages I Did Not Do
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CEDAR RAPIDS, IOWA -- I rented a car from Enterprise, and had no problems on my trip. When I returned the car, it was after hours. I put the car in their parking lot and checked for damage. There was none, so I left it. The next morning I receive a call at 9:30 saying there was damage to the car. I try to go get a pic and they already moved the car before I could see it. I went in to get a copy of my contract which I left in the glove compartment. They would not give me a copy of the contract, just a receipt.

I noticed the car was checked in at 7:30 so they waited 2 hours to contact me. I went to a nearby business to see if there was a witness to what happened to the car. One lady said she didn't see what happened to this car but have noticed Enterprise drivers damaging other cars behind the business where the general public is not allowed. They are charging me with almost $2000 in damage. So I turn the incident into my insurance company, and now Enterprise has turned me into a collection agency because my insurance company was taking too long.

Company Response 06/09/2015:

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please send us a detailed email to Care@Enterprise.com with complete details including: Renter's full name, current phone number, location rented, rental agreement (RA) number, “DX” or claim number and reference # 150609-002931. As customer service is of the utmost importance, we would like to look further into this situation for you. Thanks for posting and we look forward to hearing from you soon. -Tatiana

Replies
Awful Company - Charging Me for Damage I Did Not Do to the Car
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AMSTERDAM -- I rented a car from Enterprise near Amsterdam Central Station. When returning the car, they spent over 30 minutes looking the car over, and found a black 2" scuff mark near the tire. This is something that can be cleaned off, but they are looking at trying to charge me for damages, calling it a scratch. I took pictures, and luckily the photos obviously show this is a scuff mark.

In addition, they are trying to charge me for a pen-tip size rock chip in the windshield. I do not recall a rock hitting the windshield when driving the car. We did not examine the windshield when checking the car out, and it is so small we could not even capture it on film. I highly recommend going elsewhere. I was not impressed. Worst experience I have ever had renting a car.

Resolution Update 03/30/2015:

Thanks, for the reply.

Update: I received notice that claims deemed the windshield as previous damage, and the apparent "scratch" was not a scratch, so no damage charged.
Just one additional note, I booked as a member from an international site and was not offered the add-on insurance, nor was I notified about the insurance charges or the deposit required. I explained this to them, but it would be helpful if your websites were linked and after signing in as a frequent renter and selecting a country, the user was redirected to the appropriate webpage with the appropriate information.

Company Response 03/27/2015:

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please send us a detailed email to Care@Enterprise.com with complete details including: Renter's full name, current phone number, location rented, rental agreement (RA) number, “DX” or claim number and reference # 150327-002026. As customer service is of the utmost importance, we would like to look further into this situation for you. Thanks for posting and we look forward to hearing from you soon. -Tatiana

Company Response 03/30/2015:

Thank you for reaching back out to us. We appreciate your feedback and are continually working to improve policies and services that are best for great customers like yourself. This correspondence has been noted and let me assure you that your feedback will be used to help us in achieving our goal of becoming your car rental company of choice. -Tatiana

Replies
Charged for Damage I Did Not Cause
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BYRAM, MISSISSIPPI -- I have rented from Enterprise for years and have NEVER had an experience like this. I believe this problem is unique to the Byram, MS location. After waiting way too long to pick up the car, they gave it to me with a filthy interior. It was so hastily washed they didn't even rinse off the soap. A very quick walk-around was done when I picked it up. Yet when I dropped it off they went over the car very meticulously and wanted to charge me for a very fine flaw that was only visible from a shallow angle in strong sunlight. Honestly, it took me a few minutes of looking before I could see what they were talking about.

I strongly believe the "dent" was there before I picked it up. But now I'm stuck with the bill for the deductible. A WORD OF CAUTION! In my opinion you'll be better off going to the Airport. Honesty is in short supply at this rental location.

Company Response 03/03/2015:

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please send us a detailed email to Care@Enterprise.com with complete details including: Renter's full name, current phone number, location rented, rental agreement (RA) number, “DX” or claim number and reference # 150303-002248. As customer service is of the utmost importance, we would like to look further into this situation for you. Thanks for posting and we look forward to hearing from you soon. -Tatiana

Replies
Advertisement
DO NOT USE THIS ENTERPRISE
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FREDERICKSBURG, VIRGINIA -- They were 45 minutes late picking me up for my appointment, making me late for work and a waiting room of angry patients waiting for me. It was raining hard when I picked up the truck so we didn't do a walk around. Now they are blaming me for a small dent in the back bumper threatening to call my insurance company and charge my credit card.

Replies
False Claim for Damages I Did Not Cause
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ANNAPOLIS, MARYLAND -- Run away as fast as you can - and make sure you keep running. I rented a car from these "professionals" and treated it like my own. The car was driven carefully and garaged while in my care. When I returned it I was treated to the old hail damage scam. Very tiny (and I do mean "very") dimples in the top of the car was presented to me as my responsibility; anyone could easily miss this on a walk-around inspection. I pointed out that I could easily prove: a) there were no hailstorms anywhere near the vicinity where the car was driven; and b) the car was under cover when parked.

No matter... within minutes (while I was walking out of the door) they filed a claim with my insurance company. About 2 hours AFTER the claim was filed the manager called me to remind me I had signed a contract in which an Act of God was my liability. What to do, what to do? Well, first I cancelled my company's contract with Enterprise; I have this thing about withholding rewards from scammers. Second, I did a little Googling ("Enterprise hail scam" - you'll very quickly see what I mean) to reveal the pattern and establish a basis for future claims.

Third, I called the National Climatic Data Center and requested a certified timeline of weather events in the region where the car traveled (the NCDC is a group of super people and their reports are both very detailed and viewed as expert evidence during litigation). Fourth, I penned a cordial letter to the President and COO of Enterprise, asking to take a hard look at some of the activities in this office - I made sure to include the names and details of the people I dealt with. The COO promotes a "do the right thing" policy. I called my insurance company to alert them to expect a claim from Enterprise.

Though the Office Manager promised to hold back any claim before 'his boss' had a chance to speak with me, in fact they had immediately filed a claim and my agent already had it in her hand. Does that sound like a company trying to honestly get to the bottom of things and find out the facts before acting? Well, by now you've Googled and already know the answer. Since apparently this pattern is widespread within Enterprise the problem might be a corporate policy of revenue generation, or it could just be a couple of grubby local managers trying to pump up the books - if the latter Enterprise corporate needs to know so the problem can be redressed.

In any large company it can be very hard to control satellite offices - that's a COO's responsibility and they deserve a chance to correct things. I take full responsibility for any damage I cause to a vehicle I rent, and I do everything I can to take care of a rental car in my possession. But I fiercely defend against a wrong and encourage everyone to do the same. If Enterprise fails to quickly withdraw this claim I will be sure the full record is made available.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Enterprise Rent-A-Car Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 90 ratings and
361 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Enterprise Rent-A-Car
600 Corporate Park Dr
St Louis, MO 63105
314-512-5000 (ph)
www.enterprise.com
Compare Car Rental Companies