Preview Review

Next Review

First American Home Warranty Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
No Truth and Honor in Their Business Dealings
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VAN NUYS, CALIFORNIA -- I gave them a 1 but wanted to give them a big fat 0. Unfortunately, this site requires something in the rating. I closed on my new home on 17 OCT. 2016. The seller purchased a home warranty from First American Home Buyers Protection Corporation (FAHW) to transfer to me at closing. After moving into the home that day, I noticed the master bathroom toilet leaking so I turned off the water cutoff for that toilet.

On Sunday, 23 OCT. 2016, I went to check about the leak with the toilet tank. I turned on the valve and the CPVC line snapped behind the wall at the toilet. I looked inside the house for the house cutoff and went under the crawlspace to find it. In the dark, I lightly touched the line at a second expansion tank and that water line snapped also. I had to turn the water off at the street.

The bathroom upstairs and carpeting in the bedroom got wet as well as the ceiling downstairs, light fixtures, and fan downstairs in the foyer area. I called the FAHW to file a claim due to the brochure I was given at closing because it clearly states on the front bottom of the cover that "COVERAGE OF UNKNOWN CONDITIONS which can include rust, corrosion, sediment, and problems due to lack of maintenance" as well as "Plumbing System includes polybutylene piping" but was told then I could not file a claim since payment hadn't been received from my closing attorney.

My agent contacted my closing attorney and their office contacted FAHW, and only then was I able to get online to file a claim. The site info said that "Coverages Ordered, Eagle Premier + Sellers Coverage -- Your contract includes coverage for the following items: Seller/Buyer Plumbing System." A plumber was sent from FAHW and the plumber assessed and submitted to them photos as well as info about the state of the CPVC and water damage.

My claim was denied 25 OCT. 2016 because it was stated by FAHW that this was not usual wear and tear, and that I broke the water line, and therefore it wouldn't be covered in my contract. I told them that the two pieces of information I had says that it is covered. Then I was told that the service contract that they had (which I couldn't get access to due to the "awaiting funds" situation) says that in a certain section that it wouldn't be covered. I felt that this company had misrepresented themselves in what they say they cover and has used information to deny my claim that I am not privy to have.

I filed a complaint with the NCDOJ on 01 NOV. 2016. Dawn ** (800.992.3400, Ext. **) at FAHW contacted me via their website and by phone 02 NOV. 2016. She informed me that they had reopened the claim and wanted the following information from me:

"First American, Wednesday, Nov. 2, 2016 at 9:13 AM. Good morning: You will need to fax in a written report from a licensed contractor that states that this is normal wear and tear, and/or proof that this PVC piping is defective. Then it will be reviewed by my supervisor before a decision is made. You can fax that information to 800-700-4457 and reference your claim number **. Thank you for choosing First American. Have a good day."

I received the information they wanted 07 NOV. 2016 from a licensed contractor. It said: "We recently visited the address to handle misc. plumbing issues for the owner. Two of the issues we addressed were cracked CPVC fittings, both caused leaks, one in the wall on the 2nd floor and the other in the crawlspace. The leaks were from the normal wear and tear of CPVC and its nature to become brittle over time. This is very common of CPVC, so much that we have a waiver that we require our customers to sign before we will work on a plumbing system containing the material. CPVC is not deemed a defective material, but has a history of causing issues where it has been plumbed."

On 16 NOV. 2016, I happened to see on FAHW's site that my claim was denied again. I talked with Alexandria ** (800.992.3400, Ext. **) and she told me so many conflicting reasons as to why my claim was denied again. Not only does FAHW give misinformation, but found every loophole they could to keep from honoring their warranty and fixing my plumbing system issue in my newly acquired home. I feel that this is a flagrant abuse of truth in advertising and that every homeowner should be aware of FAHW's "scamtastic" ways as well as with other home warranty companies out there.

Replies
Advertisement
Defrauded Me Out of Numerous Plumbing and Appliance Repairs
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANTA ROSA, CALIFORNIA -- We have had First American Home Warranty on our single family home since September 2011. Since that time this company has defrauded me out of numerous plumbing and appliance repairs. Our dishwasher will run but the pump and nozzles are worn out and their repair technician did not have the parts on hand and never returned to finish the repair.

We called them multiple times but the operators play games to get you to go away. They will tell you things like: 1) we are waiting for the technician's report; 2) we did not know the appliance had not been repaired yet? The Company drag this on until you go over 30-days and then they want to collect another co-pay of $65 or the refuse to complete the repair. If you pay the co-pay again then the process begins again.

They schedule a 6-hour window that you need to have an adult at home, and the appliance repair companies they send in my area are terrible. The plumbers they had in 2011 to 2014 were not plumbers, they were all new employees with minimal knowledge and did not know how to make, or get repairs authorized. Our faucets and valves were all leaking and they refused to make the needed repairs.

When your faucet goes bad and needs a simple cartridge replacement, the plumber tells you you need to replace the faucet (which is covered) but then they refused because they tell you that only contractor grade replacements can be installed and we have contractor installed "upgraded faucets". At the time I could not afford better faucets so I told them to go ahead with the low end faucets, but they still refused to make the needed repairs. We ended up spending several thousand dollars to make needed repairs because of this game they play, and we have water damage under our cabinets due to the delay. Simply the most dishonest home warranty in California.

Replies
Delay After Delay; No Show Contractors — Never Fix Problems After Months
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- On May 14th, we contacted FAHW due to our pool/spa heater stopped working regularly. The heater will start — but shuts itself off after a while. As of 6/26/17, the problem has not been resolved! This is Work Order **. Worse is that we have stayed home waiting for contractors who NEVER shows; others do NOT know what they are doing & cannot resolve. Each time we complain to FAHW they transfer us to their Complaint Service Department! Each time, they offer another contractor who does not show or delays repairs another week. Extremely frustrated and we are planning to terminate contract! Never use FAHW!!

Replies
First American Puts Families At Risk
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- I am VERY dissatisfied with this company. When my electric range stopped working, First American sent an electrician out to take a look. The electrician was unable to fix the problem without ordering a part. Because LG no longer makes my range and the parts are no longer available from the manufacturer, First American is bullying me into ordering a part for my range off of eBay!!! I personally looked the part up on eBay, and it does not appear to be in good condition. This part could be from a junkyard, a pawnshop, or perhaps some high schooler's technical school project, and they want to install it in my home??? This puts me and my family at RISK.

I asked First American if they would help to cover this cost when my house catches on fire, and they responded that they are only responsible for parts covered by the contract. First American clearly does not care about the safety of me or my family and only wishes to take the cheapest route for themselves.

I have been working my way up the chain of supervisors and have yet to receive a resolution. First American is only willing to cover the cost of parts and service: $268.95, which is less than half of what it will cost for me to replace the range. To me, the only safe and acceptable option is to replace the entire range. I refuse to allow First American to place potentially faulty and dangerous equipment in my home. I, and my family, will not be using this company in the future.

Replies
Advertisement
Crap
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I would give this company negative 10 stars. Called June 26th for ac repair. Have been given the runaround. Still no repair as of today July 9th and we are in the middle of a heat wave. We are unable to stay in our home due to the high temperatures. You think First American cares. Crap company!

Replies
All Claims Denied
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MISSISSIPPI -- Avoid FAHW like the plague! Refused to service HVAC and plumbing. Explanation: "not covered". When I entered the contract everything was covered. Find another home warranty company! Better yet, save your money and pay for the repairs yourself.

Replies
Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

My AC went out on me April 22 smack in the middle of a heat wave, today is June 5th and it's still not fixed. They ordered a part for my AC 3 times and each time it has been damaged. When I ask them about it their response is they can't do anything about it and they don't have a timetable as to when my AC is gonna be fixed. This company is horrible and I don't recommend it to anyone.

Replies
Horrible Organization
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- We had two out of four service calls denied because they were excluded from our "premium" coverage. On another service call the plumber was not able to clear the clog, scratched my toilet significantly and we were still billed a 65.00 service fee. Customer service reps are unable or unwilling to help and English capabilities of customer services reps is often poor. Makes previous home warranty providers that we had compare favorably vs First American. Very poor impression of the company and reflects very poorly on the parent company.

Replies
Advertisement
Rude, Incompetent, Crappy Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VAN NUYS, CALIFORNIA -- Crap. Absolute crap. You are better off putting your money in a bank account every month and using it for repairs, less headache and better service. Also, you do not have to deal with rude sociopaths. And they make it hard for you to cancel. Nothing on their website and the phones ring up to 90 minutes before someone answers. Here is a tip. They will ask you to cancel in writing by sending an email to the First American cancellation email address: cancellationsupport@firstam.com. Check your contract so you will not pay extra or cancellation fees. Get rid of the crap in your life. Say goodbye to First American Home Buyers Insurance. Use the cancellation email. Good Luck!

Replies
Over 20 Days and Counting for Repairs
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GILROY, CALIFORNIA -- On a scale of 1-10, with 10 being exceptional service, I rate First American Home Warranty NEGATIVE 10. These guys are a joke. Washing Machine and Fridge went down. It's been over 21 days (3 weeks) and appliances are still not working. Called and email claims specialist and still very far from satisfied. Payments collected on time monthly, service takes almost a month. If this is not resolved by the end of next week, I'm going to walk away from this company and tell everyone I know not to do business with them. I'm sorry but I pay my bills on time and expect service in a timely manner. This is ridiculous. AAARRRGGG!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

First American Home Warranty Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 11 ratings and
28 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
First American Home Warranty
P.O. Box 10180
Van Nuys, CA 91410-0180
800-992-3400 (ph)
www.homewarranty.firstam.com
Compare Warranty Services