Preview Review

Next Review

Frontier Communications Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
VERY Slow Internet and Very Over Priced
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JUSTIN, TEXAS -- We are provided the slowest internet we have ever experienced, with Frontier. It literally works HALF the time. When it does "work", it skips, lags and is overall terrible quality. We just received a bill, again, receiving the slowest speeds, for $102!! FOR WHAT?! There was an initial increase of $20/mo (Which we did battle, unsuccessfully), and now an extra $30/mo, totaling the $102/mo.

We have not exceeded any minimums as we do not have any. The internet would have to actually run to exceed any minimums. They increase however they see fit. If it is not one greedy company trying to rip you off, it is another. I will be cancelling tomorrow. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND WATCHING YOUR PLAN AND WHAT YOU ARE ACTUALLY PROVIDED, EVERY MONTH! They WILL slow your provisions down and increase your bill. I promise. They prey on the unsuspecting.

Update 04/26/2018:

Obviously, I meant "Did not go over MAXIMUM/CAP, as there are none".

Replies
Advertisement
Some of the Worst Customer Service I've Ever Experienced
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

IDAHO -- Let me start with what will probably be most helpful to others. First, be prepared for crazy long hold times. Every time I call, I have to wait on hold for at least 30 minutes and today it was over an hour. And when they have to transfer me, there's a wait time for that too. Every time I talk to an agent, even after a transfer, I still have to go through the same barrage of questions to verify who I am and be told about how I will receive a survey via email, which I never do actually receive.

Of course you also have to be ready for phone calls to get dropped. That's happened to me probably 5 times or so. Because they ask every time for a good phone number to call me back on, you'd think, when I do experience a dropped call, that I might actually get a callback, but no. I'm 0 for 5 in that department.

And don't get me started about their technical expertise. I am an IT guy with 15+ years experience and it's very clear to me that there is nothing technical about their tech support. These guys/gals, while fine in the politeness category, are nothing more than regular call center agents with a script and a couple of desktop tools.

They don't understand how to configure the modems, can't answer any questions about the different settings and many have flat-out stated incorrect technical information. Considering they are supposed to be tech support, their lack of troubleshooting skills and basic common sense is astounding. And I've talked with at least 10 or 12 different agents over the last couple of months so I don't think it's just my bad luck.

Needless to say, my overall experience with Frontier has been a disaster from day one--starting with the fact that I had to call 3 different times to find someone who could figure out how to get me service at my cabin. The installer showed up a day early and then configured everything wrong and it took 2 more weeks to get that resolved. If there was ANY other option in our area, I would switch in a heartbeat.

Replies
I Was a Faithful Customer for Years. NEVER AGAIN
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OREGON -- I moved and thought I could take my service with me. That was my first mistake. I spent many hours on the phone with customer service trying to move my service and figure out why it wasn't on. Hours passed, turned into days, turned into weeks still NO SERVICE.

I talked to many many reps, and although they were all very nice, I still didn't have service. Then the only thing that made sense was maybe instead of moving my service to the new address 4 blocks away, maybe they created a new account giving me 2 now. I called and tried to explain this to three different reps on as many occasions, they chose to argue with me saying I didn't have 2 accounts. They must not have checked because on a 4th (about then, there were so many calls made I lost count).

I FINALLY found a representative who listened, investigated and took the time to find the problem. He told me he would credit the finally balance of $41.00 for all my troubles. At one point I was in tears. He would make extensive notes on the account and would transfer me to a supervisor. I was elated. Then during the transfer I got disconnected. When I called back I had to start all over again. FRUSTRATION!! I called Comcast after 5 weeks of dealing with Frontier, Had service that same day. That was in March 2018. It is May 2018 and I got a bill from Frontier for $41.00 that was credited. THAT CAN'T EVEN DO THAT RIGHT! The incompetence was overwhelming.

Replies
On the Frontier of Demise
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

STAMFORD, CONNECTICUT -- On three occasions in 6 months, in phoning about technical issues, the "support" people said they'd upgrade me, you while still giving me a lower rate. I'd be a fool not to say, "Yes." However, on subsequent billings, this was not the case. I must have spent a total of 4/5 hours on the phone having the billing dept. "adjust" my statements. I'm assuming it's simply the salesperson making his or her commission and not giving a hoot about future customer consequences.

Furthermore, having called the tech support and billing departments about 25 times within a 6 month period, I gave the “Customer Retention” people a chance to keep me as a customer by lowering my monthly cost (which had doubled, yes doubled, overnight) to a quote I received from a competitor for the same package deal.

Let's just put it this way, the “Customer Retention” department should really be called the “Customer Rejection” department. I actually spoke to a total of three, no-talent employees who really shouldn't be working in this field. I happily discontinued service. Frontier acquired the customer base of Verizon, which I had service from for over 5 years. I read that Frontier was losing customers in droves and now I know why.

Replies
Advertisement
Biling Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- Very long story - was with Verizon when bought out by Frontier in Tampa, FL. Price went up, decided to move away. Called them on Dec 6th, 2017 and asked to cancel service as of Dec 9th 2017 as I had Spectrum coming on that day to set up. I was told No problem. The representative did not mention about any billing. But the morning of Dec 7th, 2017 I noticed I did not have service. Called them and they said - yup you have been disconnected. I questioned why they did not wait till the request date? Their only answer was Sorry.

Now the second part of the issue started. I was sent a bill for 234 when my monthly bill was 144. They billed me till the end of January. I called and asked what this bill is. The lady informed me that normally the last bill takes about 2 months to flush out correctly. She asked me to ignore it. I got couple more bills and I called them every time. On the third call the representative stated Frontier does not prorate bills. I asked him to show it in the agreement. He sent me one but could not identify where it says bills are not prorated.

Even if they do not prorate, my billing cycle starts on 23rd of each month. They should bill me up to December 22nd not January 31st of next year. How did they come up with January if they do not prorate? Now they sent my bill for collection. They are unable to provide the agreement which says they do not prorate. I was not informed of it when I called to cancel.

Replies
Bribe
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- I was told if I signed up for Frontier Communications in my home they would give me an Amazon Prime Membership for one year on the day I registered. After I agreed to sign up I was told I would receive the membership the day it was installed. On the day of installation the crew said because it was a Saturday, they would have to wait for the business office to open on Monday to get me the membership login.

On Monday no one contacted me so I contacted them. They said they would email it to me in 72 hours. 4 days later I contacted them and they say they were "out of codes" but the new ones were available on 1/31 and someone would be contacting me from their sales office with my code. On 2/4 the representative told me I have to have the account for 6 months to qualify for the Prime membership. SCAM. SCAM. SCAM.

Replies
Lies, Terrible Customer Service and Lack of Consistency
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LONG BEACH, CALIFORNIA -- Everyone you speak with will tell you something different for the same question asked. I asked about porting my phone number and was told it would take 1 day to complete. I switched over to Frontier and now they are telling me it will take up to 30+ days and that I will need to call back every couple of weeks to check the status. The issue is still pending and I still cannot get someone to help me out. Expect the price that you are promised to not reflect on your bill. There will always be additional charges so be sure to always check your bill.

Replies
How Come Every Person You Talk to Tells You Something Different?
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- My current contract was expiring in September so I called to renegotiate/renew. I was told I could keep my same basic plan, upgrade to 150 speed internet (from 75) and spend only $6 more per month. I said great. They sent out a tech to upgrade my service to 150. The tech was unable to do it because I needed an ethernet line run. I had an electrician come out and spent several hundred dollars running an ethernet line in my 2-story home.

Internet is worse than ever before and my bill isn't right. It's January. I've called three times and now I've been on hold for about an hour now (tech transferred me to customer service, the customer service said I needed to talk to tech) and I still have the wrong billing amount and terrible internet service. I will be looking at alternative cable/internet/phone services next week.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Company & Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT WORTH, TEXAS -- Absolutely horrible customer service and horrible company. I canceled my account on Jan 10th. I was never sent a final bill nor a notice that it was going to collections and just found out it hit my credit. I called customer service - sat on hold for almost 15 minutes before I spoke to a lady that then spent over 5 minutes trying to located my account. Asked for her to explain the charge that hit my credit, she was unable to. She put me on hold to speak with the collection department. Was on hold for 4 minutes and 31 seconds for her to come back on the phone and give me a dollar number that was not even the same that was sent to my credit.

I asked for her to explain what that amount was and she said she didn't know. That was just the amount they gave her. Asked her if I could speak to someone else or someone in the collection department. Sat on hold for 11 minutes and 4 seconds and then the call dropped! If you can't tell me what I am being charged for then NO you can't send it to collections and then report to my credit. I need a final bill or a collection bill showing exactly what this outrageous charge is for because it is not the amount that was owed when I closed the account out!

Replies
Service Disconnect
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CABAZON, CALIFORNIA -- On July 7, 2017, I contacted Frontier customer service in response to a call concerning payment of my account which was delinquent because my credit card account was changed due to being compromised. I called to correct the problem and I updated my account by making current payment and future payments through my checking account. I received a confirmation number for the payment which I gave to the customer service person. However, my account was still passed to the delinquency department after my bank showed that Frontier had received payment that same day.

Although, I gave the agent the confirmation number, the agent told me today (in a disrespectful manner), Thursday, July 13, 2017, that the payment had not been received and would not show as being payed for another 5 to 7 days. As a result my service was disconnected. This is the worst business organization that I have ever had contact with.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Frontier Communications Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 82 ratings and
125 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Frontier Communications
Three High Ridge Park
Stamford, CT 06905
866-573-9972 (ph)
www.frontier.com
Compare Phone/Mobile Services