Preview Review

Next Review

Gevalia Coffee Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Refund Not Credited
By -

01/15/08 I ordered a double coffee pot under the impression it had automatic shut off. I asked the service rep if it did, she said "yes." I asked her to verify with the appropriate department which she did and verified it did and very adamantly stated it did have auto shut off.

When I received the coffee pot I plugged it in for four hours and it never shut off. I called customer service at Gevalia again and asked if that particular coffee pot had auto shut off. I was told again that it did, just like "every Gevalia coffee pot". I then told her it had been on for 4 hours without shutting off. She apologized and stated it was probably broken and she could go ahead and replace it. I insisted she find out how this coffee pot was supposed to shut off when it had a manual off/on switch. After talking to other reps and other departments and the product support department she returned and apologized since she had been misinformed.

I asked for a return label which took about 10 days to arrive. I was told I would have to return the item before my credit card would be credited back. I returned the coffee pot on 02/04/08 and it was received on 02/11 per UPS tracking. I called Gevalia that same day and gave them the tracking number and requested I be refunded my money. I was told that it would be sent for processing and that it would probably take another 10 days for my card to be credited.

On 02/25/08, 1 day shy of the 10 days I called Gevalia to find out the status. The gentleman I spoke to said there was no notation of the tracking number and did not know why I had not been credited yet. He apologized again and said he would forward to a supervisor and that it would be processed in the next 2 days.

On 03/04/08 I still had not been credited and I called Gevalia back, the lady I spoke to said she would have to take the tracking number again and forward it to a supervisor. I explained we had gone through this twice before and I would need to speak to a supervisor. She transferred me to a supervisor by the name of ** in the West Virginia District. She would not give me any identifying info so that I may reference her in the future. She then said all she could do was forward the information to some other department to process my refund. I asked to speak to someone above her she said "there was no one else."

I asked for the name of the district manager and she said she was not allowed to give that information. I asked for an address to mail a complaint and she said she could only direct me to their website for an online complaint. I asked how I would be compensated for them taking my money under false pretense and not refunding it in a timely manner, she responded "there was nothing." Bottom line is I still don'€™t have my money which they deceitfully took from me. I'm disgusted by the service and all the misinformation Gevalia gave me to make a sale. DO NOT BUY FROM GEVALIA CATALOG.

Replies
Advertisement
Gevalia will neither refund nor replace defective merchandise
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I initially placed a combo order for a coffee maker and ground coffee with Gevalia on 5/7/12 in the amount of $30.94; this shipment arrived several days later. After discovering that the coffee maker had a faulty power switch (it kept turning off), I contacted Gevalia for a return/refund, at which time I was informed that they do not accept returns on their products. I was then informed that I had to place another order, and a refund will be granted to me only after I inform them that I have received the second coffee maker.

On 5/14/12, I re-ordered another combo order, per the company's instructions. After this second shipment arrived, I contacted the company to inform them, and they refunded my bank account in the amount of the original purchase price ($30.94) on 5/16/12. However, while attempting to operate this second coffee maker for the first time, water began leaking from its reservoir through its base, and onto my kitchen counter.

On 5/18/12, I contacted them again, and informed them of the second defective coffee maker. Their representative (**), apologized for the inconvenience I'd been experiencing, and informed me that they would simply send me out a third coffee maker, which I should receive within one week.

On 5/29/12, I'd noticed that the third coffee maker had not arrived, so I contacted them again. This time, they informed me that ** gave me faulty information and, if I wanted to receive another replacement coffee maker, I would have to pay $99.99 (more than 3x the original price). I informed them that I should not be penalized because they sent me defective merchandise on two separate occasions and would not accept the product returns. However, they simply stated that this is their policy, and there was nothing else they could do.

Replies
Cancelled All Orders and One Year Later Auto Filled
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DELAWARE -- After a year of a status of inactive with no future orders on file, they put me on active status and made a mistake in sending me coffee again. I got an email thanking me for my order. When I called customer service they told me they took care of it and it was a computer mistake. Two days later I received another confirmation on the order I placed. I emailed back and called them and again they assured me it would be cancelled. Then two days later another email was sent.

When I called them a third time to stop the delivery, a very rude customer service told me it was too late. Since I had spent a week calling and emailing I wasn't sure why it was too late. She was extremely condescending and patronizing and kept asking me if there was anything else she could do for me today. She hadn't done anything for me. Subsequently, I had to deal with a return and hope their bookkeeping department is more efficient than their customer service, order department and shipping department.

Replies
Poor Customer Service
By -

I have been a customer since 2004. I have noticed a change in last few years with the customer service. I thought it was just me, but after reading other reviews now I know it's not. What is going on???? Believe it or not they used to have the best customer service reps I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with.

Now when I call, I get the runaround. I've called about a charge showing up on my bank account, when I haven't ordered anything, and they are telling me they don't see it & I have to have my bank send them a faxed copy of the charge. I've called 4-5 times in the last 2 days & I swear I keep getting the same 2 people with a HEAVY accent, the same kind of accent, same 2 people every time I call... WEIRD!!!!

Coffee lovers, like me, don't mind paying a little more for something they enjoy but the coffee doesn't taste as good after dealing with poor customer service. I used to recommend them to everyone I met, even had a couple people become customers themselves, but I can't do that anymore. So sadly I canceled both my personal & work accounts with Gevalia after many years of being a customer.

Replies
Advertisement
WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE
By -

Do not deal with them! I ordered coffee, which was way overpriced, so I ended up cancelling my membership. Few months later I kept getting notices that I owe a balance on the last shipment that I had sent back. I called them to make sure everything was paid and I didn't have anything left to pay on my account. Few months later I started receiving notices for the same balance, again.

I called and explained that I had already made a payment of that amount and that they need to update their system and leave me alone. After 3 of these conversations with Gevalia, I thought it was finally taken care of. Until I got a collection letter in the mail! I called, again, explaining that I had already made my payment and at this point did not want to have anything to do with their company again.

I was told there was still a balance and there was nothing they can do about it. Right now I am waiting for a call back from their account executive, who can look further into my account... only way to get to the manager was to tell 3 people (managers) that they can talk to my lawyer, since I am done with talking to anyone anymore. The Worst Experience!! Would not tell ANYONE to order from them. Go to your closest grocery store and get your coffee from there, guarantee to get better service and better coffee for that matter...

Replies
Unauthorized Shipment
By -

MCDONOUGH, GEORGIA -- 5/8/09 I received a shipment from UPS. I opened the packing slip to find that this coffee company has sent me a shipment including a coffee maker, coffee & tea. I've never heard of Gevalia before. I did not order this so I called the customer service line to inquire "who" placed this order. The representative told me that it was placed online, therefore she did not know a name. She immediately stated that she would cancel my account & stop future shipments.

I ask again "how" this was sent to me when I did not authorize a charge to my credit card. She stated that she would flag it as possibly fraud, stop future shipments and that I can keep the package. I don't want this package. The slip states that I will automatically get future shipments & billed for them. I will have to cancel my credit card due to this scam. This is illegal and not fair! Someone should STOP this company from doing this. Total theft & invasion of privacy.

Replies
I Do Not Recommend
By -

FLORIDA -- I do not recommend this company, it's hard to cancel with them but the worse part is I canceled my service and 7 months later, yes 7 months, I received a letter from a collection agency saying I owed them 38.00 dollars. Never did I ever receive anything from Gevalia. I know I did not owe it because before they sent out a shipment they always deducted the amount automatically from my checking account!!!!! So they will never get my business again. It just goes to show they don't even appreciate a loyal paying customer..... they ripped me off for 38.00 dollars. It's not much money but that's not the point!

Replies
Terrible Cancellation Process
By -

Coffee is pretty good, but it is impossible to cancel your account online. You can suspend temporarily, but it's annoying.

If you want to cancel, you have to go to the customer service form, which kicks you into a "Chat" function, which never works. Then you have to call them and they try to give you free lifetime shipping and they challenge every reason why you want to cancel. At that point you're so mad, that you want to cancel and burn them on forums like this. The CS person was rude, spoke really fast and totally had an attitude. Good riddance. I would never sign up for this again.

Replies
Advertisement
The worst customer service we've ever encountered
By -

This company without a doubt has the worst customer service we've ever had the misfortune of encountering. A family member had sent a gift to my husband who was recovering from surgery, but we didn't receive it. Instead we received another item which came 2 weeks later in a box that was broken and the contents were shattered. I called the company and they said they would ship the correct item. 2 weeks later it still hadn't come so I called them again.

They said they would reship it. Ten days later it still hadn't come so now we're entering the Christmas season. I called again and was told that we needed to resend the broken items first. This was the first time anyone told us that. So in essence, they wanted me to pay postage for an item that was never ordered to begin with that I had already disposed of because the items were broken and smashed. I was so infuriated that I wrote a complaint on the company website which they ignored. I will not EVER order from this company and will be sure to tell everyone I know not to either.

Replies
Bad Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I bought a 12 cup Stainless Steel coffee maker from Gevalia in March of 2011. After using it for only 15 months, it stopped working in the middle of making a pot of coffee. The warmer even quit working then also. I contacted the company to see about getting it fixed at my expense since the warranty time had passed. The Customer Service Rep said they don't repair their coffee makers and proceeded to tell me about the same product I had but the cost would be 100 bucks plus s&h.

I have emailed them and also wrote a comment on their Facebook wall and still have gotten anywhere with them. I will save my money up and go buy myself a good coffee maker from a company that backs up their product and at least tries to keep a customer happy instead of trying to bilk them out of more money for a product that won't last longer than 15 months.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Gevalia Coffee Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
21 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Gevalia Coffee
Holmparken Square, P.O. Box 11068
Des Moines, IA 50336-1068
1-800-438-2542 (ph)
www.gevalia.com
Customer_Service@gevalia.com
Compare Food/Beverage Companies