Gevalia Coffee - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
21 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Gevalia K Cups Do Not Fit Keurig
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
BRANDON, MISSISSIPPI -- I agree with the previous consumer. I bought the Gevalia K Cups because I love Gevalia coffee. The first one I used dumped coffee grinds in my cup. Thinking it was just a fluke, I tried again. Same thing. It appears that the cups are too tall for the Keurig, because the bottom of the K Cup is scrunched up which appears to make the hole in the bottom of the cup bigger, therefore allowing the coffee grounds to flow out into your coffee cup. So disappointing :(
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Jody on 2013-03-26:
I believe the Gevalia K cups are not endorsed by Keurig. Any product that does not have the Keurig seal of approval probably won't have a money back guarantee. Check out Keurig on Facebook.
Tezrien on 2013-03-26:
From: http://www.gevalia.com/FAQs/cs-faq-all,default,pg.html

When I made my coffee there were grounds in my cup. Is your product defective?
We are sorry if you had an upleasant experience. The quality of our products and the trust of our consumers are extremely important to us. If you have experienced an issue with your Kraft single-serve coffee cup, we want to hear about it. Please call (Gevalia 888-496-0021) to speak to one of our customer service team members.

It looks like my cup was not pierced completely before brewing. Is that normal?
This can happen in rare instances and may lead to a poor brew. If you have experienced this issue, we want to hear about it. Please Call (Gevalia 888-496-0021) to speak to one of our customer serive team members.
GenuineNerd on 2013-03-26:
I had a similar issue with Maxwell House K-Cups, which are the same design as the Gevalia K-Cups...both are made by Kraft Foods. I had problems with the bottom of the cup crushing as well. Pressing hard on the lever when inserting a Maxwell House or Gevalia K-Cup will more likely pierce the cup hole than just pressing lightly. Sticking to K-Cup brands that bear the "Keurig Brewed" logo would still be your best bet.
ok4now on 2013-03-26:
Okay I admit it. I have a Keurig coffee maker and am addicted to the Paul Newman extra bold K-Cups. They pack a real jolt that gets you going in the morning. My supplier for this high caffeine fix, opps I meant store to purchase is Costco. They sell 80 K-Cups for $37.99 which will last my wife and I about five weeks. Much cheaper than drugs, alcohol, weed and cigarettes. I can live with this addiction.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
K-Cups Don't Fit Keurig Machine
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- Hey everyone.....Just bought some boxes of Gevalia k-cups. Put one in and no water would come out. I have to hold down the lever to try to get my coffee to slowly drip out. I feel the ridges on the side may prevent the cup from doing it's thing. What's up with that? It's a waste of my time in the morning when I could be doing something else while my coffee is brewing and dripping. What's the solution..... Manufacturing? Help... Cheryl of Boston
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Tezrien on 2013-02-14:
http://www.gevalia.com/on/demandware.store/Sites-Gevalia-Site/default/CustomerService-ContactUs
GenuineNerd on 2013-02-16:
I had similar problems with Maxwell House K-cups. On at least 2 cups, the bottom of the K-cup won't pierce, but the bottom of the cup would be crushed. If you use Maxwell House or Gevalia K-Cups, press hard and firm on your machine lever so both holes pierce on the K-Cup. If only the top hole pierces, the brewing would stop. Repositioning the K-Cup and pushing hard may get the bottom of the cup pierced in order to finish the brewing. Kraft Foods may need to consider redesigning their version of K-Cups so they pierce easier.
GenuineNerd on 2013-02-16:
Also, sticking with K-Cup brands that have the "KEURIG BREWED" logo on the package would be your best bet as well. Last fall, the patents expired for Keurig's K-Cup design, and a large number of brands of non-Keurig K-Cups, including store brands as well as Maxwell House and Gevalia (both distributed by Kraft Foods) started appearing on store shelves. Some are good, while others leave much to be desired. Another K-Cup I had problems with were the "Daily Chef" K-Cups from Sam's Club...a few of them would leave loose grounds in the coffee cup.
GenuineNerd on 2013-03-07:
Another suggestion. Your nozzles may be clogged on your Keurig brewer, sometimes caused by the use of hot cocoa/chai K-cups without running a cycle of clear water after use. Take a bent paper clip and force it through the holes on both the top, and especially, the bottom nozzle. Those nozzles can clog. Be careful, the nozzle tips are sharp, since they also punch holes on the top and bottom of the K-Cups. If you have issues with the brewer not brewing, or coffee trickling out, your nozzles could be clogged. Also, if using K-cups other than coffee and tea (such as for cider, cocoa, chai, or cappuccino), run a cycle of clear water through, without a K-cup, to prevent the nozzle from clogging.
rainyd on 2013-03-26:
I bought several boxes of gevalia for my keurig, all of them left large amounts of grounds in my coffee cup. I called customer service ( kraft foods) they didn't seem surprised and promptly sent me a refund check. Last week I bought the maxwell house cups ( because I will NEVER buy those Gevalia ones again) and guess what? Massive grounds in my coffee. So again I will be calling customer service. These guys have serious manufacturing issues. Don't waste your time or money with these brands. I have successfully used many other brands with no issue like, caribu, kirkland brand (costco) and Starbucks.
CharlieS on 2013-04-30:
I have the same problem with the Gevalia K-cups, almost half the box would not punch the hole in the bottom of the cup, just pushed it in.
anonymous on 2013-10-12:
I've been an employee of Green Mountain Coffee Roasters for over 9 years working in the maintenance department. Look at the bottom off your kcups. If it doesn't say "winpak" or "Phoenix" on the bottom, they are not true authentic kcups. Others MAY come close, but will not work as effectively as one of these two cups. These cups are designed to spec for our Keurig brewers and have a very tight tolerance for size and material. Keurig still owns the patent to most specs of the kcup, and because of this competitors may offer a product that's close but will almost always cause issues at some point. Your best bet is to buy authentic k cups that say "Keurig brewed" on the box or use a "My k cup" accessory.
Close commentsAdd reply
AWFUL Customer Service!!
Posted by on
I have been a customer/member for well over 10 years. During that time the customer service has deteriorated to the point where it doesn't exist at all! Emails are ignored, and all calls are now diverted to Manilla; complaints aren't acted upon, and the sales representative lie as well, stating that they are the customer service reps, when they obviously are not. I intend to spend the next few weeks looking for substitute coffee I like as much. What a shame to see a good company go so bad! (And I was a totally dedicated customer!)
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
JBrederall on 2009-11-30:
I'm telling you! Switch to Camano Island Coffee!

Not only is the coffee better but it's a small coffee roaster and the folks over there are really, really nice.

For the disillusioned:
http://www.camanoislandcoffee.com

:)
JBrederall on 2009-11-30:
Close commentsAdd reply
Replacing On A Monthly Basis
Posted by on
MONTVALE, VIRGINIA -- I would like to know WHY I have to keep returning coffee makers to WALMART? I have replaced my coffee maker 3 times in the past 2 months...I have to return the last just days ago. The coffee maker leaks water out the bottom every time water is added to make coffee. I love this coffee maker, but I am getting tired of waking up each morning and find water all over my kitchen counter. I premake the coffee each evening so it will be ready in the morning.

I have even tried to wait until morning to make the coffee, but the water still leaks out of the bottom of the coffee maker. What seems to be the problem?
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
woodsk1 on 2008-11-02:
Try another brand???
madconsumer on 2008-11-02:
is this a complaint about walmart or Gevalia Coffee?

could it be you are over filling the water level?
Anonymous on 2008-11-02:
Sounds like you should be complaining about the manufacturer. Wal-Mart didn't make the coffee maker.

BTW, I bought my <$10 coffee maker there, and it works great.
CrazyRedHead on 2008-11-04:
Why are you returning a Gevalia coffee maker to Walmart? It should go back to Gevalia.
Close commentsAdd reply
The worst customer service we've ever encountered
Posted by on
This company without a doubt has the worst customer service we've ever had the misfortune of encountering. A family member had sent a gift to my husband who was recovering from surgery, but we didn't receive it. Instead we received another item which came 2 weeks later in a box that was broken and the contents were shattered. I called the company and they said they would ship the correct item. 2 weeks later it still hadn't come so I called them again. They said they would reship it. Ten days later it still hadn't come so now we're entering the Christmas season. I called again and was told that we needed to resend the broken items first. This was the first time anyone told us that. So in essence, they wanted me to pay postage for an item that was never ordered to begin with that I had already disposed of because the items were broken and smashed.

I was so infuriated that I wrote a complaint on the company website which they ignored. I will not EVER order from this company and will be sure to tell everyone I know not to either.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
CrazyRedHead on 2007-12-21:
I've been getting delivery shipments from Gevalia for almost three years now, and I have had nothing but stellar service from them. I did have problems with the coffee maker and the pot on different occasions, and as long as they were under one year old they sent me a new item, along with free gifts for being a good customer. They have never given me any trouble before.
joyfulrc on 2008-01-15:
I placed my first and only order from a special I received in my email. I got a free coffee pot along with my initial order. I received my order 14 days later.

When the time came, I got everything set up and needed to clean the pot before use (as instructed). Filled the carafe with water to pour into the reservoir. Before I emptied the pot, the glass part of the carafe fell off the handle and shattered in thousands of little pieces.

Needless to say, I had to use our regular pot for the coffee. Which is what I would have done in the first place but the new pot was a neat thought.

The coffee tasted bad. I opened the other package and it also tasted horrible. We'll go back to our preferred brand.

Now onto Customer Service:

I waited till after New Years to call customer service. I first let them know my carafe was shattered and that I needed another one. I also stated that we did not like the coffee and would be cancelling our order. The associate I was talking with cancelled my order easy enough. When I asked if I was going to get another carafe, she said no, they don't carry those anymore.

So, I have part of a coffee pot and nothing to use with it.

Less than a month, coffee in the trash and a pot that can't be used.

Doesn't sound like a company that stands behind their product.

Thanks for listening.
jinjelle on 2008-05-25:
Hi. I came here looking for others who had bad experiences with Gevalia. I belonged for several months, and became hooked on the Antigua, but found the quality of my brand intermittent and declining. Almost every time I called, they would find some way to talk me out of quitting, often insisting on sending me replacement boxes, which too often were still not up to the quality of my first batch. I begged them to ask the warehouse to send me the same codes as the first ones I got so I might have the same quality and they said there was “no way to know them,” but I discovered that the codes were also on the bottoms of the boxes. Over and over I complained, even calling Kraft, who referred me to a Gevalia supervisor, who only sent more of the same and rebuffed my requests that they get my codes. This went on for several months. Every so often I would get some of the initial quality and taste. When I'd had enough, they asked me to return the 8 boxes I had the worst problem with, and I did - - using the return mailer they sent me. Then they billed me for these supposedly "not received" boxes. I called UPS, as I had scanned a copy of the mailer w/tracking numbers, and they informed of when these were delivered, when, and who signed for them. They also sent me a copy of the delivery proof. Gevalia immediately removed the charges. I have since discovered Caribou La Minita (Peaberry), which is coming back into season in June, and I am saving up to buy many pounds of this to get me through each year, as it is only available for several months of each year. YUM!!!! As far as Gevalia is concerned, I am often tempted to give it a try again to see if I can get lucky and get some good Antigua, at least for a time. What can I say. I love good coffee, and these are gluten free. I buy the whole bean of both and grind my own. But, remember, if you are having a problem with consistent quality and Gevalia acts like you are the only complaint they have had, as they did with me, you are not.
Close commentsAdd reply
Passing on Credit Card Info
Posted by on
DOVER, DELAWARE -- When I agreed to pay Gevalia by credit card to accept their offer of a FREE Stainless Steel Coffeemaker I was curious about a link on their site to ShopperDiscountsandRewards.com. I went to this other site to check it out. When I considered enrolling for their service, I was unaware of the wording in their "Offer and Billing Details", which I apparently agreed to, that allowed them to bill me using the "secure" credit card info I had given ONLY to Gevalia. I
have since been credited for any billing charges by that company but the point remains, Gevalia gave them my credit card info under less than above-board means. I believe this practice should be stopped. I also believe that may be
many more consumers out there who have fallen prey to this type of marketing who do not bother to complain and, therefore, are out their money.

I believe this practice is WRONG! I did not want my credit card info to this other company. I would like Gevalia to explain where I gave THEM permission to pass this info on.
     
Read 9 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2007-05-15:
Your card info was passed on because you gave them permission to do so. People just don't bother to read all the terms and then they complain of being scammed. Gevalia did nothing wrong. How do you think Gevalia gets paid for the 'free' coffee maker? They get a piece of the action from the other web site.
tnchuck100 on 2007-05-15:
PB, gets monotonous doesn't it? People just WILL NOT READ what they are getting into.
EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print. EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
Sarah May on 2007-05-15:
Even if they've got it in their fine print, it's good to read reviews like this. I appreciate the post. Although... What is it that you were paying for with your CC? Shipping and handling?
Anonymous on 2007-05-15:
Monotonous is right. But that's why there are web sites such as this one. Learning the hard way way is a education in itself. But when there's so much useful info available online I wonder why more don't take advantage.

There are absolute ripoffs out there. However, when one doesn't read EVERYTHING I just don't have sympathy anymore.
Anonymous on 2007-05-15:
Monotonous, what is amazing are the number of people that give their credit card number to operations like ShopperDiscountsandRewards.com, lottery scams, Nigerian scams, pre-pay loan scams etc. Then they come on here and are upset because the bad guys used the credit card or checking account that they gave them! The bad guys get most of the CC info they need direct from the consumer.
Ponie on 2007-05-15:
I've been with Gevalia for years. I've never given them my cc number. Each shipment includes the invoice. I go online and have my bank send them a check. I'll never be able to understand why people sign up for anything that catches their eye, don't read the fine print, then get on consumer forums and claim they've been 'scammed!'
rhondam718732 on 2007-05-15:
You state in your post "I was unaware of the wording in their "Offer and Billing Details", which I apparently agreed to" uhmmmmmmm so why are you confused as to why they passed on your info?!!!!! Cmon get a clue and READ what you agree to.
CrazyRedHead on 2007-05-16:
I agree to. I have been with Gevalia for a couple of years and I knew this to. It is in the billing details. Whether it is fine print or big print you should always read it. If you cannot read it, get someone to read it to you. If not, then I would suggest investing in either a good pair of reading glasses or a magnifying glass.
BuyersBeware99 on 2007-05-25:
Thanks for the helpful advice. I guess I was that was in
the wrong for not reading everything. The part about reading and Education and Experience was good. Actually,
I got an education by6 not reading the fine print. That
won't happen again!
Close commentsAdd reply
Horrible Customer Service
Posted by on
The WORST Customer service -
They will send you coffee you didn't order and bill you for it or take it from your credit card without your approval.

They will not credit your account without a fight.

They won't close your account without a fight AND still send and bill you for coffee.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
FlShopper on 2010-09-20:
How does the membership work? Do you have to let them know ahead of time that you *don't* want coffee shipped to you?
Skye on 2010-09-20:
When you order the Gevalia coffee pot, which is free, part of that free deal is automated coffee delivery every month. The terms and conditions are all spelled out. It's not like they have your credit card information and just decided to send you coffee every month.

Read your documentation, and see how long you must have these monthly coffee deliveries, which you agreed to, before you can cancel, this way you'll know exactly what to do for the future.
CrazyRedHead on 2010-09-20:
I'm on the Gevalia Limited Edition automatic coffee delivery program and the coffee is great. I receive a shipment of coffee every 3 months and I have never gotten anything taken out of my account that I didn't authorize, they don't even have my CC or debit card info, I get a bill. I have never received unwanted coffee or anything from them. On there web site you can choose how often and how much coffee you want sent. I have canceled once before and had no trouble. I have the bill me method of payment where they send me a bill and I send them payment. The only draw back of Gevalia is that they don't have a website in which to pay the bill, you have to send them either a money order or a check and the check can take up to 2-3 weeks to clear the bank after sending it. If I have had any trouble all I have to do is call them and it is taken care off. They are not rude or nasty on the phone with me, and they speak clear and plain English. I have had my account credited for various reasons without a fight or problem. I'm not sure who you speak to or how you speak to them, but I'm glad I don't get them.
Close commentsAdd reply
Something Wrong in Gevalia Land
Posted by on
Great product but the customer service just KILLS it. I've read the prior comments and must agree with what I've encountered. I'm rather easy-going when it comes to set-ups like this. Just deliver the product in a timely method and I'm oblivious to anything else. I will really miss the coffee. It pained me to cancel but the lack of service and the lack of comprehension was what did it for me.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Skye on 2010-07-19:
What did they do or did not do, that caused you to cancel their service?
Close commentsAdd reply
The Worst Customer Service I Ever Encountered
Posted by on
I order some coffee, and I tried to check the status with customer service and they were not able to location my order, but they charge my card. How can you operate like this? There are a lot of complaints about this Company.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Hold time on phone
Posted by on
I have not had issues with the company over the years I've done business with them; however, I have been on hold for 20 minutes!!!

I can understand being on hold with company at peak business hours, but this is excessive.....I'm still on hold.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2009-10-09:
20 minutes is not excessive
Anonymous on 2009-10-09:
Well, I'd say hang up and call again. But, that puts you right back at the bottom. Not unless you got disconneted by mistake and you just don't know it. Do they have some snazzy music while you wait? Or is there silence while you wait?
PepperElf on 2009-10-09:
It was only 20 minutes.

Compared to how long I've been on hold for computer tech support... 20 minutes does not feel like a long time.

Though, I'd be more apt to use my Skype for that kind of phone call (so I wouldn't waste cell phone minutes)

but in the meantime... well what I usually do is web surf, play a mindless computer game (like chuzzles), or read a book.


just be glad it's not as bad as trying to call a military detailer.
if you don't get through, you can leave voicemail but they never call back
so you end up calling back for oh 1-2 hours straight until you get a human.



ooo snazzy music...
at least they're not playing "Never Going to Give You Up"
that would be... hell.
(except for me cos I like the song!)
PepperElf on 2009-10-09:
well from their "contact us page"
http://www.gevalia.com/customer-service/Pages/contact-us.aspx

There's no mention of what the calling hours are...

So who's to say what their "peak hours" are going to be. As far as you know, you might have called them during their peak hours.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >