Gordon Food Services

1 reviews & complaints.

Products and services are top notch!
Posted by on
TROY, MICHIGAN -- My family/extended family knows what a beggar I am. Living alone, it’s not to my advantage to cook a large meal—I’d be eating leftovers for quite some time. Lucky for me, I get invited to a lot of gatherings where the food is abundant.

One of the members who is well known for her buffets turned me on to the GFS (Gordon Food Service) outlet not very far from me. Although not all of their offerings would be logical for me, there are a couple I find myself returning to purchase.

GFS is a family owned and operated business started over 100 years ago in Michigan. There’s always been a ‘Mr. Gordon’ at the helm. The majority of their products are larger sizes, e. g., Lasagna is frozen in 6 lb. trays, coleslaw is packed in 5 lb. tubs, etc. They supply many of the restaurants in our area.

I have three favorites for purchase: 1) Potato Chips. They’re available in 1 lb., 4 oz. bags. A lot of chips? Yes. But there are four of us who get together once or twice a week to play Pinochle and the menu du jour is beer and chips.

2) Cooked, frozen Meatballs. They’re packed in 5 lb. bags. You can take a few of these puppies out, thaw in the nuker for a minute, toss in some Cream of Mushroom soup, and serve over noodles.

3) My all time favorite: Ground Beef Sirloin Steakburgers. They’re packed in a 5 lb. box, each 1/3 lb. patty vacuum sealed. Earlier this week, I thawed two patties and made a small meatloaf. Delicious—if I have to say so myself since no one else will do so. They’re also great just tossing on the grill in the frozen state, with the obligatory salt, pepper, and garlic powder sprinkled on.

The returns (if necessary) are very easy to do. I once got a box of the Steakburgers. After opening, I found the patties were not the usual bright red in color. The tops of the first layer seemed as though they possibly may have thawed a bit or looked as though they were exposed to heat. It was a while since my purchase but since I use a credit card for just about everything, I had my receipt.

Didn’t know if anything would be done about my perceived problem but thought, what the hey—give it a try. I spoke with the store manager who said one of their shipments was all like this. Nothing was wrong with the meat but because of the appearance some customers returned them. The manager took the receipt, noted the date, pulled up the video and saw me make my purchase. No problem. Another box was given me.

I’d recommend GFS locations for anyone who wants to save on their grocery purchases. Of course, because of the larger quantities, a singleton couldn’t make use of all the products they offer. But their prices are much lower than in our local supermarkets.

     
Read 25 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Principissa on 2009-05-15:
That's awesome! I wish we had a place like that around here.
Anonymous on 2009-05-15:
Excellent well written review. Warms my tiny little heart to read of people supporting family owned and operated local businesses.

Great job Ponie!
Ponie on 2009-05-15:
Princi, think I once read you went to Evansville to shop. There's one located there. They also have a store in Bowling Green and four in Louisville. GFS has a very good website which shows all locations. Of course, they started out small many years ago but now they're even into a few provinces in Canada.

Thanks, Crabman. I try to frequent locally owned businesses whenever I can (such as Meijer), but it's not always possible so I have to go where I can find what I need.
BokiBean on 2009-05-15:
Great review, I love outlet stores! My hubby would adore the meatball stuff you talked about..
Principissa on 2009-05-15:
I'm going to have to take a look then. Both Bowling Green and Evansville aren't too far from where I live. Thank you Ponie.
Anonymous on 2009-05-15:
Good deal Ponie! It's hard to beat an evening of chips and beer with some meatballs. I mean... friends. :)
Ponie on 2009-05-15:
C20, I like your way of thinking. You can find humor anywhere. But you're quite close to the truth.

Boki, this place sends out weekly sales flyers. They're the best place to get things for large outings such as picnics, reunions, office parties. Pickles, olives, etc., are sold in gallon containers. Foam plates in packages of 100. It took quite a while to convince me to try them because I always viewed them as 'institutional' quality. But I was very wrong. The foods I've bought thus far are delicious. And twice a week they have 'tastings' at their stores.
old fart on 2009-05-15:
Ponie... have you considered Schwan's frozen food... they deliver right to your door.. the food , while some of it is fairly large in package size, is excellent quality and economical..
Ponie on 2009-05-15:
Yes I have, old fart. Mother of a friend used them quite a bit. But--it just may be my off balance taste buds--I didn't care for anything she served that came from them. And if I remember correctly, they're more expensive and also no longer available in our area. Thanks for the thought.
BokiBean on 2009-05-15:
Schwans has really changed. Now they sell pizzas and pizza crusts and little Asian snack food like pot stickers..and desserts. I just looked at their web site and they have completely revamped with the times...
Ponie on 2009-05-15:
I also checked their site, Boki. They really have an extensive array of products. I tried to find if they delivered in my area but the only thing I saw was delivery to the '48 continguous states.' Quite a few years ago, I saw the Schwan trucks running the streets often, but I think it's probably 5-6 years since I've seen one. All this talk of food has made me hungry. Have to throw something into the nuker.
BokiBean on 2009-05-15:
They still have the trucks here, but I only see them rarely. I have never ordered online or over the phone. Its just so much more fun to chase them down in the truck! :D
Anonymous on 2009-05-15:
Nice review, Ponie. I will certainly check them out.

Ponie on 2009-05-19:
Just got back from doing my 'cooking' duty for our big Memorial Day get together. Picked up two 5 lb. boxes of Sirloin Steakburgers, regularly $14.99, for $9.99 a box. Also got four bags of potato chips, usually $2.99 each, at two bags for $5. Later in the week our Hostess will get the potato salad (two separate kinds) at $6.99 for a 10 lb. carton. They also have Pork and Beans (which she 'doctors' up beautifully) at $3.49 for a 7 lb. can. These prices are offered through 5/25/09. Mmmmmmm...good eatin'.
Anonymous on 2009-05-19:
All you lack is the beer, and the meatballs can show up at the requested time.
Enjoy your weekend Ponie!
Ponie on 2009-05-19:
Ahhh--the suds were my first purchase. Wanted to make sure I had enough money for frothy beverages before I bought superfluous items like food. :)
Anonymous on 2009-05-19:
I love the way you think Ponie! And I thought it was just me that planned that far ahead. lol!
Ponie on 2009-05-19:
Great minds think alike, C20!
Ponie on 2009-05-19:
Awww--C20! Tried to 'reward' your last response and was notified 'multiple votes' can't be awarded. Well--I tried.
Anonymous on 2009-05-19:
Probably one of those 'special' C2O rules that exist around here. lmao!

Thanks though!
Anonymous on 2009-05-19:
I am disappointed to find out they don't service this area.

Ponie on 2009-05-19:
Holy canoli, C20--what did you due to me? While on another thread, got a notice of a response on my follow list. When I clicked on it, I got the blue screen of death with the notation: 'Internet Explorer cannot open the Internet site http://www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=54995 ' Sheesh--is this the thanks you give me?
Anonymous on 2009-05-19:
What area do you need serviced MM? I may be able to assist.
Anonymous on 2009-05-19:
Maybe.

Anonymous on 2009-05-19:
That's better than a NO! MM. lol!

Ponie, people think I'm kidding when I say admin will put them in their grip for associating with me.
I'm sooooo sorry you have fallen victim too. :)
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >