Preview Review

Next Review

HH Gregg Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Extremely Poor Customer Sevice on Warrantied TV
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODSTOCK, GEORGIA -- My 60" high def smart TV took a power surge on June 15, 2016. It was reported to hhgregg and z tech from Golden In House Service showed on June 21. Tech determined the main circuit board needed to be replaced, but also stated that particular board is not available and the TV should be replaced. No contact of any kind until I called on 6/28, 6/29 & 6/30. Apparently the tech report did not get sent to hhgregg until I repeatedly called.

Today, 7/05 I went to the store where the TV was purchased and was told by the manager that were trying to locate the part that I was told 3 times before that it was an old model and no longer available. The manager said there was nothing he could do and that once they found the part some decision would be made to either replace the board or replace the TV or give me in-store credit and that a lot that would probably take at least 2 more weeks to get the problem resolved. At this point, I am looking at a total of around 3 to 4 weeks just to get a TV (which is still under the 5 year warranty) problem resolved.

hhgregg apparently does not care about resolving the problem in a timely manner, just slowly going through their "processes" no matter how long the Customer has to wait. This is totally unacceptable. Add to that the indifferent/uncaring attitude the store manager displayed and this situation has totally get turned me off from ever buying anything from this company in the future. Now I am told they found the replacement board - this after the manager looked up the part and said it could not be found. I recommend NEVER going through hhgregg to everyone one who is looking for a TV.

Replies
Advertisement
Don't Buy From hhgregg
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- I had a delivery scheduled for a new washer and dryer and was given an email confirmation providing a three hour window of when they would arrive. An hour after the 3 hour window I received a call from the driver saying that he was late and that their scheduling department would call me back to set another time. I called them 7 (yes, 7) times and after letting the phone ring for 3 or 4 minutes each time I was hung up on each time before finally getting a live person. The scheduling agent then told me I would have to wait 2 weeks before the next open time. Save yourself some trouble and go to ABT Electronics instead.

Replies
False Warranty Representation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DOWNINGTOWN, PENNSYLVANIA -- Purchased a floor model 65" SUHD Smart TV and had it delivered without a container box. The delivery person after placing it on the basement floor turned it on, took a quick photo then quickly turned it off. He did not give me an opportunity to connect the cable to get a picture. He then told me it was fine, showed me his fuzzy picture to indicate it worked, had me sign for receipt and quickly left. BIG Mistake on my part. After turning it on when connected to the cable, I discovered a four inch wide distortion on the screen.

The store sales manager told me the warranty would not cover the replacement in full because the warranty cost was included in the TV cost. RIPOFF! They have not offered any type of refund or replacement options after one week. I keep getting told it is under review. Beware this consumer ripoff scam.

Replies
Refused to Repair Broken Whirlpool Washer
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NAPLES, FLORIDA -- 11/13/2016. Not only will I recommend that you NOT purchase appliances at this store, but absolutely do not purchase the service contract that they do NOT honor when something goes wrong with the appliance. The experience has been horrible with the Whirlpool washer I bought in 2013. The washer was $720 and the service contract for five years was $160 for this unit. The clutch broke into 2015, so they had Gulfcoast Appliance Repair come to fix the clutch. This particular repairman was having problems and was here for four hours/made several phone calls back to his store to try to fix this machine.

He finally fixed the machine until this year, 2016, when this repairman came out from the same company. He said the last repairman that was here and left some parts on the floor and let the screw out of a piece which caused the oil to drain out. Now it needs a new transmission and hhgregg will not honor my service contract because it costs too much to fix. On top of this, nobody called me back. I made all the phone calls - the last 800 number the service people asked me to call would only speak Spanish. I don't speak Spanish. Next step is going into the store. I am out of options at this point.

Replies
Advertisement
hhgregg Consumer Relations Terrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BRADENTON, FLORIDA -- On July 1, 2016 I received an appliance I ordered the week before. At the time of my order I specifically asked the salesperson if I would be receiving a user manual. I was assured - "Of course." When the truck arrived with my appliance there was no user guide. The truck driver stated it must have been left behind and to please call the hhgregg store in Bradenton. When I did I was told there was no "user manual". I assured the employee that there was since both the salesperson and driver told me there was. The employee said "Maybe there is, however, we do not send user manuals through the mail."

I questioned the logic and requested to talk to the store manager. Mike the manager assured me a user manual would be sent out the following day. One week later, after not receiving the manual, I called back to the store and talked to a very helpful employee named "Blase". He took my information and assured me that he would personally contact the manager to make sure the user manual would be sent. The store manager Mike ** never followed through with that promise. Worst manager I have ever dealt with - bar none!!!

One thing for sure - I am not going away. If necessary I will attempt to contact the upper management for a solution to my problem. As far as the product itself and the delivery I am very satisfied. However, I cannot imagine why hhgregg is making such a big deal over a user manual??? By the way - the appliance has a sign on it saying - "Be sure to read your manual before safely using this appliance!!!" LOL.

Replies
Refused to Replace Defective TV
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KNOXVILLE, TENNESSEE -- After paying $3500.00 for a Samsung UHD 4K TV it was defective right out of the box. We took it back to the store and they refused to replace it. They tried to claim that we had damaged it TAKING IT OUT OF THE BOX. Buyer beware! I will never buy from hhgregg again...

Replies
HHGregg Extended Warranty Is A Rip Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- My grandparents purchased me a brand new Haier washer and dryer for my housewarming gift back in October 2012. Not only did they purchase two brand new appliances for me, but they also paid for an extended 3 year warranty, & delivery charge from HHGregg. The washer unit was working fine until October 2013, a week before the manufacturer's warranty was up. The manufacturer sent out an authorized repair company to replace the control board on the washer because it was faulty. The unit was working again until March 21st, 2014.

The control board seemed to be having the same problem. I called the HHGregg extended warranty, on March 21st, 2014. I spoke with a service representative by the name of **. I informed her of my washer breaking down again, & wanted to set up a repair appointment for the unit to be fixed. She informed me that since the unit was purchased for under $300, that the unit was going to be replaced like for like. I asked her how long will that take. She informed me to call back in 3 days, & check on the status.

I called HHGregg back on March 25th, 2014. I first spoke with someone by the name of **. She placed me on hold to check the status, & never came back to the phone. Then I spoke with another man by the name of **. He informed me that he spoke with Vendor Relations, & that they were issuing me a store credit for $291.99. I informed ** that I was told that the unit would be replaced like for like. That also the unit had gone up in price @ HHGregg.

It now cost $341.99, & that it was the exact same washer and model that I have in my home. I didn't know why they couldn't just deliver a new one, & replace the old one? Or at least repair the one that I have? It made no sense to me that my grandparents (who are still paying on the units, extended warranty, & delivery charges, may I add) would be out of all of that expense, & that I would have to go out and purchase a new one from HHGregg.

Here's the thing. HHGregg's extended warranty is a rip off. They want me to go purchase the same unit, at a higher price, pay them the difference from the store credit, another delivery fee of $79.99, dispose of the old unit (that is only 1 year, & 5 months old), & have to pick up a new extended warranty on the new washer I would purchase. So in essence I would be purchasing the same unit twice, for more money.

They won't even send a check. If they cut a check, I could pay for a repair person myself to fix the unit, & be less inconvenienced. They are making it so they get a sell twice from the same consumer. The sad part about it is my elderly grandparents are still paying on the broken unit. That is the shadiest thing I have ever heard. They are not standing by the products they sell. There are numerous complaints about HHGregg, & I am strongly considering legal action. Perhaps even a class action lawsuit.

I am sending this letter to several outlets to have HHGregg's business practices investigated. The corporate office is also rude, unprofessional, & seem to all have a different version of their policies to tell every time I call. DO NOT BUY FROM HHGregg!

Replies
Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OHIO -- I cannot begin to tell you HHGregg how incredibly disappointed I am in your company as a whole, the way you train (or should I say DON'T train) your salespeople and that you are perfectly fine with misleading your customers about warranties and how they are honored (or should I say NOT honored).

My husband purchased a very expensive TV ($3500) from you on February 15, 2014 from your North Olmsted Ohio store. The only one left was the floor model. He was very concerned about the hours of use already on it but there were no more in stock. He told the salesperson he'd purchase the floor model but needed the 5 year warranty added in, INCLUDED in the sale price. The sales person said "No problem, my manager said we can do that."

When the invoice/transaction was actual put into the system the actual sale price of the TV was reduced by the amount of the 5-year warranty because the sales person said that's just how they have to document it because the system won't process a warranty without a dollar amount attached to it. The sales person specifically said, "Don't worry about it though. It won't impact your warranty at all." (LIAR).

Now, silly us for believing we should be able to trust what he told us as the truth. Why should we expect honesty and integrity right??? So, lo and behold we start having trouble with the TV. After multiple calls to the warranty co. (Warrantech Corp) and being referred to repair shops five states away! We finally found a repair guy to come look at the TV who's actually located in Ohio.

Good News!!! He believes it can be fixed and will call the warranty company to let them know. Call back from the repair guy, Bad News! The warranty company has decided they won't pay for the repair that they'll give us store credit for a replacement TV. Sounds like good news, right. WRONG, the amount of "credit" we get to replace the TV is only the amount of the line item for "purchase price" because $649 had been pulled out and placed on the warranty line. We don't get "credit" for that (even though we paid for 5 years of warranty and it went bad after only less than 18 months).

So my husband agreed to buy a $3500 floor model TV but now when it went bad and the warranty company doesn't want to pay for it to be fixed (even though the repair guys says it can be fixed) we only get "store credit of $2649. After several hours of time calling your customer service department and several incompetent people telling us there's nothing they can do we're screwed. ALL we want at this point is the money back, NO STORE CREDIT, because WHY would we ever want to purchase something from HHGreg again after this horrific experience?

Replies
Advertisement
Bottom of the TRASH Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GLEN BURNIE, MARYLAND -- Took a TV into the hhGregg Glenn Burnie, MD store three times for the same problem, 'no sound on the output sound-bar jacks'. They check it out the first time and agreed, No Sound. They gave me another TV. I asked if we should check it before leaving and the answer was 'no'. I was the only one to report such a problem. Took it home and the TV has the same problem as the first. I took it back again (28 mile one way trip) and plan to leave the TV and have the replacement checked before taking it home. One sales guy in a red shirt told me I couldn't leave it but the manager had me sign a form and said it would be checked and ready when I returned after work.

I went back to the store to find the TV had not been touched. The manager at the time ** sent a sales guy over to check it out and when I asked him if he knew the problem he said the TV did not work. I explained the TV worked but there was no sound on the output jacks. He hooked the TV up, sound came from the TV speaker and he said the TV was fine and worked correctly. I again said, "The problem is with the out-put jacks for the sound bar. Another sales clerk comes over, the one from earlier. He tells me the TV does not have an optical output and they could not test it. The TV had both a co-ax and headphone output jack.

I walked over and brought a small speaker to them and told them all they had to do was to get a cord and hook the speaker up. It could not have been any easier unless I did it myself. The manager **said she would not open up a $4.99 cord to test the TV. Now remember, this is my fourth time back and I now have driven over 150 miles. I should mention that we have spent well over $7,000 in the last two years at HHGregg but HHGregg could not open a $4.99 cable in order to test the TV.

OH, and when I called the district manager, he said because I became upset and yelled, I could shop else where. WE WILL. Then I just had a call from hhGregg Corp. from a woman that was a gutter mouth. Great Company and wonderful Customer Service. SHOP BEST BUY.

Replies
Terrible Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIDLOTHIAN, VIRGINIA -- This is the worst customer service I have ever had from any retailer for any purchase. It was my first time ever buying from HH Gregg. I wanted to get a new gas stove from Lowe's, but they could not deliver before Thanksgiving. So I tried HH Gregg. The same exact model as Lowe's cost $200 more here. I asked if they did price matching and they said they did. They went to their computer and showed me they were the same price. I showed them a picture of the stove with sign and they proceeded to tell me that isn't the same one.

Funny it had the same model number. They said they could deliver it the Tuesday before Thanksgiving and install, so I decided to go with it. I had 11 people traveling for Thanksgiving dinner. The sales person was very nice but must have been new as it took him 45 minutes to ring up the order. We had to go out of town for a family emergency so I arranged for my 22 year old son to be there for delivery. He works night shift so he was pretty out of it when they did the install. It was terrible and they left it 6 inches from the wall with the gas line kinked up between the stove and wall.

It took 4 phone calls and me having to send pictures to the Manager to get the install team to come back. He showed up the next day and got it about 2 inches from the wall and gave me the excuse that new ranges weren't allowed to be flush with the wall for safety issues. When I came home later that night I smelled gas and immediately called HH Gregg. They told me it was too late to do anything and I should just turn off the gas.

Don't ever buy anything from this company if you don't want your house to blow up from a gas leak. Once they have your money you are dead to them. I guess they think you will only need one major appliance and don't worry about your future business. I have a $50 gift card for them as part of a promotion for this stove that I will never use. Nor will I give it to anyone that I care about due to the lack of concern over the gas leak their installer left me with.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

HH Gregg Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 19 ratings and
35 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
HH Gregg
4151 E 96th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46240
1-866-974-7344 (ph)
www.hhgregg.com
Compare Electronics Companies