Preview Review

Next Review

HH Gregg Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OHIO -- I cannot begin to tell you HHGregg how incredibly disappointed I am in your company as a whole, the way you train (or should I say DON'T train) your salespeople and that you are perfectly fine with misleading your customers about warranties and how they are honored (or should I say NOT honored).

My husband purchased a very expensive TV ($3500) from you on February 15, 2014 from your North Olmsted Ohio store. The only one left was the floor model. He was very concerned about the hours of use already on it but there were no more in stock. He told the salesperson he'd purchase the floor model but needed the 5 year warranty added in, INCLUDED in the sale price. The sales person said "No problem, my manager said we can do that."

When the invoice/transaction was actual put into the system the actual sale price of the TV was reduced by the amount of the 5-year warranty because the sales person said that's just how they have to document it because the system won't process a warranty without a dollar amount attached to it. The sales person specifically said, "Don't worry about it though. It won't impact your warranty at all." (LIAR).

Now, silly us for believing we should be able to trust what he told us as the truth. Why should we expect honesty and integrity right??? So, lo and behold we start having trouble with the TV. After multiple calls to the warranty co. (Warrantech Corp) and being referred to repair shops five states away! We finally found a repair guy to come look at the TV who's actually located in Ohio.

Good News!!! He believes it can be fixed and will call the warranty company to let them know. Call back from the repair guy, Bad News! The warranty company has decided they won't pay for the repair that they'll give us store credit for a replacement TV. Sounds like good news, right. WRONG, the amount of "credit" we get to replace the TV is only the amount of the line item for "purchase price" because $649 had been pulled out and placed on the warranty line. We don't get "credit" for that (even though we paid for 5 years of warranty and it went bad after only less than 18 months).

So my husband agreed to buy a $3500 floor model TV but now when it went bad and the warranty company doesn't want to pay for it to be fixed (even though the repair guys says it can be fixed) we only get "store credit of $2649. After several hours of time calling your customer service department and several incompetent people telling us there's nothing they can do we're screwed. ALL we want at this point is the money back, NO STORE CREDIT, because WHY would we ever want to purchase something from HHGreg again after this horrific experience?

Replies
Advertisement
Mismanaged Appointment Deliveries and Horrible Installers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA -- At Fine Lines no one would wait on me. Obviously thought I had no cash to spend which wasn't true. "Never judge a book by its cover." So I bought an induction cooktop, a KitchenAid dishwasher, and an LG fridge. They sent installers that took no notes...canceled installations both without notifying me. The worse customer service experience I've ever dealt with when buying large purchases.

In all I spent almost 6,000.00 at the store. I had to prepay for their installers to measure for me and then they never showed up for the installation appointments. Awful...awful experience. The amazing thing is that their sales people are commissioned and they still didn't seem to care if the customer was happy. I would only recommend to an enemy that they should shop there.

Replies
Refused to Replace Defective TV
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KNOXVILLE, TENNESSEE -- After paying $3500.00 for a Samsung UHD 4K TV it was defective right out of the box. We took it back to the store and they refused to replace it. They tried to claim that we had damaged it TAKING IT OUT OF THE BOX. Buyer beware! I will never buy from hhgregg again...

Replies
Have First Bill Still Haven't Had Delivery of Product
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Ordered TV February 3. Still haven't got it. Has been sitting in warehouse. Customer service keeps giving me the runaround. Got first bill week ago but no product.

Replies
Advertisement
HHGregg Extended Warranty Is A Rip Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- My grandparents purchased me a brand new Haier washer and dryer for my housewarming gift back in October 2012. Not only did they purchase two brand new appliances for me, but they also paid for an extended 3 year warranty, & delivery charge from HHGregg. The washer unit was working fine until October 2013, a week before the manufacturer's warranty was up. The manufacturer sent out an authorized repair company to replace the control board on the washer because it was faulty. The unit was working again until March 21st, 2014.

The control board seemed to be having the same problem. I called the HHGregg extended warranty, on March 21st, 2014. I spoke with a service representative by the name of **. I informed her of my washer breaking down again, & wanted to set up a repair appointment for the unit to be fixed. She informed me that since the unit was purchased for under $300, that the unit was going to be replaced like for like. I asked her how long will that take. She informed me to call back in 3 days, & check on the status.

I called HHGregg back on March 25th, 2014. I first spoke with someone by the name of **. She placed me on hold to check the status, & never came back to the phone. Then I spoke with another man by the name of **. He informed me that he spoke with Vendor Relations, & that they were issuing me a store credit for $291.99. I informed ** that I was told that the unit would be replaced like for like. That also the unit had gone up in price @ HHGregg.

It now cost $341.99, & that it was the exact same washer and model that I have in my home. I didn't know why they couldn't just deliver a new one, & replace the old one? Or at least repair the one that I have? It made no sense to me that my grandparents (who are still paying on the units, extended warranty, & delivery charges, may I add) would be out of all of that expense, & that I would have to go out and purchase a new one from HHGregg.

Here's the thing. HHGregg's extended warranty is a rip off. They want me to go purchase the same unit, at a higher price, pay them the difference from the store credit, another delivery fee of $79.99, dispose of the old unit (that is only 1 year, & 5 months old), & have to pick up a new extended warranty on the new washer I would purchase. So in essence I would be purchasing the same unit twice, for more money.

They won't even send a check. If they cut a check, I could pay for a repair person myself to fix the unit, & be less inconvenienced. They are making it so they get a sell twice from the same consumer. The sad part about it is my elderly grandparents are still paying on the broken unit. That is the shadiest thing I have ever heard. They are not standing by the products they sell. There are numerous complaints about HHGregg, & I am strongly considering legal action. Perhaps even a class action lawsuit.

I am sending this letter to several outlets to have HHGregg's business practices investigated. The corporate office is also rude, unprofessional, & seem to all have a different version of their policies to tell every time I call. DO NOT BUY FROM HHGregg!

Replies
Installation From Hell
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA -- I bought a 55” TV on September 25th on invoice # **. I had the store hold the TV until I was ready for the installation. Since H.H. Gregg offered an installation program, I decided to go for it. ** from Unique Home Theater Satellite contacted me by phone and came out to give us a price. The cost given to install the system was $1,347.97 (Order **) which included a “Premium System Installation.”

Also included in that total is $149.99 for RF-Module. I would like an explanation of what that is. I was also charged $199.99 for one AC Outlet Installation. That charge seems excessive. In addition, I wrote two checks totaling $200 to ** for HDMI and speaker wire cables. So for $1,547.97 I was told by ** I would have everything I asked for in the installation.

** came on 10/16/13 to install all the equipment and how we wanted everything set up. The appointment was set for 8:30AM (I called him the night before and that was the time he said he would be at my home.) At 9AM, I called him to see where he was. He told me he was purchasing the wiring. Since ** had plenty of time between us telling him to do the job and the day he came to do the job, I thought that was unprofessional. He finally arrived at 9:20AM. He left our home at 7:50PM stating he and his assistant had “done their allotted time on the installation.” I was given very little instruction how to use the system.

I called H.H. Gregg the next day and requested a manager to come out to the house. My concerns were as follows: We had difficulty turning the TV on and off. The digital box sometimes did not turn on or off when we used the remote. We had existing wiring from the crawl space up to the Bose speakers on the wall. They were located next to the molding which separates the kitchen from the family room. We told ** we wanted no wires showing. He drilled a hole a couple of feet off the floor into the wall and also seven feet up on the wall near the speakers.

Since he knew where the hole was under the crawl space, all he had to do was drill the whole a couple of inches over to be inside the wall. He did the same thing on two other walls. That is three unnecessary holes and wall plates. I also don't understand why he had to drill holes seven feet up right next to the speakers. The speakers have a base which could easily cover a hole. That was three more unnecessary holes and wall plates. I complained to Installs, Inc. and they issued a check to cover the damage.

** forgot to install my VCR. I bought a Blu-ray player at H.H. Gregg for ** to install. He told me it was not compatible. I went back to the store while he was working on the installation. I called him from the store and explained all the connections on the back of the Blu-ray player and he told me to purchase a Sony Blu-ray, WIFI, 100+APPS, HDMI (model # BDPS3100). When I went back to the house, he could not connect it to the system. I had to go back to the store and buy a Blu-ray, Samsung, 3D, Smart (model BDF5900). Apparently he did not know I needed an optical out Blu-ray player.

I was concerned about the potential heat buildup of the Blu-ray, digital box, & receiver which were in an enclosed cabinet. ** suggested a lap top fan. It did not help. When I removed the old TV from a shelf, the cable wire was exposed from the wall. Again, I told ** we wanted all wires hidden. When we change channels quickly, the TV gets locked up. I purchased Netflix but we can't use it because the TV keeps on rebooting. We can't mute the TV.

I was expecting a manager to review the work done on my system. I couldn't believe Installs sent **. That is like having a surgeon who messed up an operation redoing the surgery! I called H.H. Gregg and told them I wanted ** out of our house. A few days later ** came to our home. I explained the situation and he agreed that the installation was not up to par. When **'s assistant was rewiring one of the speakers, he broke a speaker bracket. I super glued the bracket. When ** came to the house it broke again. ** has since ordered a bracket. That was over a month ago.

Needless to say, we are disgusted with the installation. I have spoken to representatives of H.H. Gregg and Installs, Inc. I have not received the courtesy of expediting the completion of the job. I have been in various customer service positions for more years than I can remember. I always tell my staff to reverse rolls and become the customer. It is like the Golden Rule (Do unto others as you would have others do unto you).

I believe if you were me you would also be just as upset. I paid $1,547.97 for a terrible installation and follow-up. As usual, I will continue to wait for a response. I've been very patient, but I have just about run out of patience. I will be contacting an attorney if this is not resolved quickly.

Replies
Bottom of the TRASH Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GLEN BURNIE, MARYLAND -- Took a TV into the hhGregg Glenn Burnie, MD store three times for the same problem, 'no sound on the output sound-bar jacks'. They check it out the first time and agreed, No Sound. They gave me another TV. I asked if we should check it before leaving and the answer was 'no'. I was the only one to report such a problem. Took it home and the TV has the same problem as the first. I took it back again (28 mile one way trip) and plan to leave the TV and have the replacement checked before taking it home. One sales guy in a red shirt told me I couldn't leave it but the manager had me sign a form and said it would be checked and ready when I returned after work.

I went back to the store to find the TV had not been touched. The manager at the time ** sent a sales guy over to check it out and when I asked him if he knew the problem he said the TV did not work. I explained the TV worked but there was no sound on the output jacks. He hooked the TV up, sound came from the TV speaker and he said the TV was fine and worked correctly. I again said, "The problem is with the out-put jacks for the sound bar. Another sales clerk comes over, the one from earlier. He tells me the TV does not have an optical output and they could not test it. The TV had both a co-ax and headphone output jack.

I walked over and brought a small speaker to them and told them all they had to do was to get a cord and hook the speaker up. It could not have been any easier unless I did it myself. The manager **said she would not open up a $4.99 cord to test the TV. Now remember, this is my fourth time back and I now have driven over 150 miles. I should mention that we have spent well over $7,000 in the last two years at HHGregg but HHGregg could not open a $4.99 cable in order to test the TV.

OH, and when I called the district manager, he said because I became upset and yelled, I could shop else where. WE WILL. Then I just had a call from hhGregg Corp. from a woman that was a gutter mouth. Great Company and wonderful Customer Service. SHOP BEST BUY.

Replies
Terrible Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIDLOTHIAN, VIRGINIA -- This is the worst customer service I have ever had from any retailer for any purchase. It was my first time ever buying from HH Gregg. I wanted to get a new gas stove from Lowe's, but they could not deliver before Thanksgiving. So I tried HH Gregg. The same exact model as Lowe's cost $200 more here. I asked if they did price matching and they said they did. They went to their computer and showed me they were the same price. I showed them a picture of the stove with sign and they proceeded to tell me that isn't the same one.

Funny it had the same model number. They said they could deliver it the Tuesday before Thanksgiving and install, so I decided to go with it. I had 11 people traveling for Thanksgiving dinner. The sales person was very nice but must have been new as it took him 45 minutes to ring up the order. We had to go out of town for a family emergency so I arranged for my 22 year old son to be there for delivery. He works night shift so he was pretty out of it when they did the install. It was terrible and they left it 6 inches from the wall with the gas line kinked up between the stove and wall.

It took 4 phone calls and me having to send pictures to the Manager to get the install team to come back. He showed up the next day and got it about 2 inches from the wall and gave me the excuse that new ranges weren't allowed to be flush with the wall for safety issues. When I came home later that night I smelled gas and immediately called HH Gregg. They told me it was too late to do anything and I should just turn off the gas.

Don't ever buy anything from this company if you don't want your house to blow up from a gas leak. Once they have your money you are dead to them. I guess they think you will only need one major appliance and don't worry about your future business. I have a $50 gift card for them as part of a promotion for this stove that I will never use. Nor will I give it to anyone that I care about due to the lack of concern over the gas leak their installer left me with.

Replies
Advertisement
Mistakes & Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT WAYNE, INDIANA -- This has actually been a couple years ago now, but it still infuriates me considering we paid so much for our washer and dryer. We placed our order for a Bosch washer and dryer and were so excited. It was our first big purchase as husband and wife (we are dorks I know). We enjoyed our salesman and purchased a 5 year warranty and set a delivery date and time. My husband took a day off work to be home for the delivery and installation. Well, they never came. Upon some investigation, it turned out our set was damaged during transit from the warehouse and they'd set another date.

So my husband again took a day off work and again they didn't deliver. When we called to inquire they apologized and offered to upgrade us to silver instead of white for free for our troubles. I said that's fine and I really don't care I just want to wash my clothes. For our final delivery date, we asked my dad to come to our house so we didn't have to waste another vacation day for my husband. They delivered and installed the silver set and it worked wonderfully.

About a year later, the washer stopped working in the middle of a wash cycle. As a front loader I couldn't just open the door and take the clothes out. I called to have them come fix it with our warranty. Turns out they didn't have our warranty in their records for a silver washer and dryer. It looked like when someone "upgraded" our order for "free" they also deleted our warranty.

Even though it was clearly their mistake and they admitted to me it was their mistake they refused to fix it. After numerous calls to the store and getting nowhere I contacted corporate. I was promptly hung up on when I asked to speak to someone in charge. When I called back I have them hell but they didn't care.

I eventually contacted the BBB but even they were unable to get the company to compensate for their mistake. The clothes in the washer stayed for weeks and were ruined. Eventually we gave up and hired someone to fix the washer. It only cost $70, so it didn't break the bank, but we were still outraged at HH Gregg and their rudeness, lack of integrity, and horrendous customer service.

Replies
Extended Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KOKOMO, INDIANA -- We purchased a Whirlpool refrigerator from HH Greggs 10/2013 with a 5 yr extended warranty. Started having problems 2/2014. Have had it serviced for the same problem 4 time with the 5th time going to be on 11/20/2014. Their no lemon guarantee clearly states after 3 times of being repaired for the same thing they will replace the item. Obviously that hasn't happened. They refuse to honor they warranty. Do not purchase their extended warranty from HH Greggs. Personally I will not be buying anything from them. If they can't stand behind that then I doubt they will stand behind anything.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

HH Gregg Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 14 ratings and
30 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
HH Gregg
4151 E 96th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46240
1-866-974-7344 (ph)
www.hhgregg.com
Compare Electronics Companies