[X]
Feedburner count

Hilton Hotels

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
89 Reviews & Complaints
www.hilton.com


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Our Honeymoon Suite Was Given Away On Us...
Posted by JustMarried on 09/02/2008
ENFIELD, NOVA SCOTIA -- On Saturday August 30, 2008 my wife and I got married. This is where it started I arrived at the Garden Inn early(11am), I was just looking for my room keys because I wouldn't be back to check in until much later in the night seeing how the wedding was during the afternoon and evening. I was declined my keys and told they would be available for us whenever we arrived because our reservation was showing in the system. So when we arrived at 2am to finally check in we found out they had given our HONEYMOON suite away to some German guy under OUR reservation and tried telling us they didn't know what they could do for us because the hotel was full.....

They did end up taking some other ladies room and giving it to us, but we gave up our suite at the hotel we were staying at only because the Hilton had a jacuzzi tub in their suite and the Quality didn't however if I had known how the Hilton Garden Inn acts I would have just stayed with the superb service of the Quality Inn, and I shall from now on.
     
Read 9 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-02:
That is lousy service. How is it that you knew the sex of the guests in the other 2 rooms as well as the nationality of the male?
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-02:
That's a great observation C2O. The German guy should post a complaint about his identity being compromised. I would think the hotel should be discreet concerning the occupants of the honeymoon suite.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-02:
JustMarried, sorry to hear your honeymoon night was wrecked by this Hilton. You should send a blistering letter to Hilton Corporate and demand they make it right with some free nights or a credit for what you spent. This was not right and the hotel has no defense for how they treated you.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-02:
The Hilton hotels seem to be notorious for doing this. I previously mentioned in another post re Hilton that we are always given a sub-par room even when reserving something specific. I do not stay at their hotels anymore because it has happened several times--not just a fluke apparently. The last time I reserved a one-bedroom suite, we were given a regular double room for 3 people and ended up getting a roll-away (not comfortable). They gave us free meal vouchers for our inconvenience--but come on. We were still crowded into a smaller room than we had reserved. I even had to ask for a refund for the difference of the price of the rooms--it wasn't just automatically offered. They gave the same excuse--sold out--even though we checked in early. So, as far as I'm concerned, it is a pattern that seems to follow them nationwide. They promise things they can't seem to deliver on. I hope your honeymoon went well despite the room screw-up. Have a long and happy marriage!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-02:
I agree with super..and, I'm curious as to the reason they gave your room away? You came in early to check in and get your room key, knowing you would be coming back very late, and they told you you didn't need to do that...so what excuse did they use to give your room away?
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-09-02:
justcuz--From my experience, the excuse is always that they are full and the room you reserved was taken. Probably because they overbook. That is my educated guess.
Posted by Crown Jules on 2008-09-02:
I'm sorry that your honeymoon suite was taken away from you, but I'm going to play devil's advocate for just a minute. What were the check-in and check-out times for the hotel? When you arrived at 11:00 a.m., maybe they couldn't give you your room keys because somebody else was still in the room. Also, many hotels allow a few hours between the check-in and check-out times so the rooms can be cleaned. Check-in may not have been until 2:00 or 3:00. As for giving the room away later, I would assume that if you hadn't checked in by midnight of the day you had reserved the room for, they might have been within their rights to give it to someone else. Did you tell them you might not be back before midnight?
Posted by themayor23 on 2008-09-05:
They "might" be within their rights? Crown Jules, you must know they had a room guaranteed with a credit card. The room type was specified in their reservation. They attempted to check-in earlier, but were rightfully declined because it was too early to check-in.
Hold them to the fire - Hilton was wrong. They were obviously overbooked and tried to squeeze a little more revenue out of the rooms available
Shame on Hilton.
Posted by AFM on 2008-10-30:
You should file a complaint with Hilton corporate. Call 1-800-HILTONS and ask for "Guest Assistance" or you can also fill out the online form. Good luck.
Close commentsAdd reply


Beware of the NetDirect Rates!!!!!!
Posted by Adavis on 05/21/2008
ANAHEIM, ARIZONA -- I made a reservation through Hilton online and got a NetDirect rate. I couldn't believe there was any reason I would change my reservation, since we had found a sitter for my kids, someone to watch the dogs, etc. A few days before the trip my baby niece passed away, and her funeral is on one of the days during our trip. I pleaded to the internet group and to the hotel directly. I offered to send them a copy of the death certificate, the hand out from the funeral, etc. I even told them that I didn't want a refund; I just wanted to change my dates. They refused to work with me. We had saved up for this trip and losing the hotel money means that we won't be able to go. They basically told me I had to chose between going to the funeral or going on my trip. Either way I wasn't going to get a refund, credit, or date change. They said I should have thought of the possibility that someone I know could die before I made my reservation. I used to have a high opinion of Hilton, but now I realize they are a cold hearted, corporate company that I will not stay at again.

My plan is now to go on every site possible and warn people about Hilton and their Netdirect rates. My family and friends have already agreed to boycott them. I just can't believe the airline was willing to give me credit for my tickets, but the hotel couldn't work with me.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by dan gordon on 2008-05-21:
did you call the hotel mgr direct and talk to him personally? I think there is something he can do. Talking to a no face telephone person seldom works. Tell the mgr you've stayed there before and need some help. I think it should be worth a shot.
Posted by Mrs. V on 2008-05-21:
Please accept my condolences on the loss of your nice. I agree with Dan. Please, try and call the manager of the hotel directly. They may be able to help you with this problem. If it doesn't work, try the main Hilton HQ.

Good luck.
Posted by Starlord on 2008-05-21:
Where is Anaheim, AZ? I live in Casa Grande and I have looked all over the state for Anaheim and can't find it. Is that where Disneyville is located? Built by Fred Disney? Nope, no Anaheim, AZ anywhere I have seen. Seriously, please accept our most sincere condolences for your loss.
Posted by dekydrose on 2008-05-27:
Wow...I'm sorry. I know that in my company when an individual books a non-cancellable rate, we at least offer date changes for non-emergencies. When an extenuating circumstance such as your current situation comes up, I would be hard-pressed to believe that either Corporate or the General Manager of the hotel would not make an exception as this was something that obviously could not have been predicted.
Posted by Cresentrose on 2008-08-27:
First off let me say that I am sorry for the loss of your neice, I lost my 2 month old nephew to SIDS in May... but I work for a Hilton hotel, and actually came across your comment while trying to figure out how to change a reservation for a NetDirect reservation. I've been on hold with NetDirect for over 45 minutes now. Hilton support told me to call them, and my computer won't let me change anything, it keeps giving me an error message. Chances are it's not the hotel that is to blame. The computer system we use literally won't allow us to make a change to the reservation, NetDirect has to do it themselves. And as you can see from my previous statement, getting through to them is like pulling teeth. If you are an Hhonors member you could always try to file a Guest Assistance on the hotel itself, they may be able to refund you the money, especially if they have a 100% Guarantee like we do. I'm sorry I can't be of more help, but it really is a tough situation to fix.
Close commentsAdd reply

Family of four kicked out of hotel
Posted by Gandbcole on 02/08/2005
CLEVELAND, MISSISSIPPI --


Hello, my name is Genia Cole. I have four children, 2,6, 8, and 12. We always stay in Hilton hotels because we use their rewards program. We always rent two joining rooms. We usually stay at Hampton inns. We went to stay at a Hampton Inn in Cleveland, MS for my cousins wedding. We went to the wedding and came back to the hotel at 8:45 with some burger king for supper. My kids ate, got their PJ's on and were lying on the bed watching Nick at Night. My 12 yr old and my husband got a cart and loaded our luggage onto it and took it down to the car, we were leaving at 6am in the morning and didn't want to disturb people that early. They get back and then go to get some bottled water, ice in the ice bucket and some snacks out of the vending machine. We are lying in the bed, PJ's on and at 10pm there is a knock on the door. 3 policeman are standing there. I am shocked to see them, they are shocked to see me. They say there had been a noise complaint about our room..... I told him there must be a mistake. He said, yes, it might be, just call the manager and he was sure that we could straighten it out. I call, the clerk says the manager wants us to leave, there had been a complaint that our door was being opened and shut and they had tried to call but our phone was disconnected (the two yr old, I do that to keep him from calling everyone in the hotel), they then say they called the other room and told that person there had been a complaint of people going in and out of doors. My father in law, said they called at 9:20 (they were resting) and all she said was that there had been a complaint of people going in and out of doors, he told her that that they just got in and got settled and it wasn't an issue anymore. They never bothered to come and check, didn't bother to let us know, NOTHING.

The manager of the hotel is talking to the clerk on the phone and refuses to speak to my husband or myself and tells the police to escort us from the hotel.

We are 2 and half hours away from the next nearest hotel, it is now 10:30 at night, it is 20 degrees with a north wind blowing so hard it is rocking the van. We have to load our kids in the car in their PJ's in a state of shock. My 6 and 8 yr old are crying because they knew they had been quiet and good all night. They do not even want to st ay at another hotel again. My husband and I are both in shock. I finally break down over the telephone while talking to a hilton rep. It was all out a horrific experience for us.

I am told by hilton that the general manger of the hotel will call me to take care of the situation. Well, to this day I still have not gotten an apology from the manger. I still have not spoken to a manager. A clerk called and told me they would refund my rooms (I paid for two) and that the manager said to offer his apology. I asked to speak to the manager, can't. I call Hilton back, they offer me two nights somewhere else, that is fine, but I still want something done.

Long story short, nothing has been done, they gave me two free nights, my husband (business travel) and my family spends close to 6000.00 a year at hilton hotels, and expect me to let it rest. The hotel to this day has only refunded one of my rooms, Hilton has been "trying to reach the manger" for some time now and hasn't been able to. I want them to do something to make sure that this doesn't happen to another family.

This really tramatized my family. There was times in college, I probably deserved to get kicked out of a hotel, but didn't. Now I am a upper middle class family with four well behaved children and I get kicked out of a hotel because we were going in and out of our room, BEFORE 10PM AT NIGHT.

One last thing, I asked the clerk right before we left, "so I could call and say room 312 is making too much noise, wait and call back 15 minutes later with the same complaint, and you are going to have them police escorted out of your hotel without ever verifying if it is a legitamate complaint, HE SAID YES!!!!!" I thought my husband was going to explode. The policeman were even apologetic about the situation, they knew there had been a mistake!

I just want people to know about Hilton's customer service. I will never stay in another hilton again. They think throwing what amounts to one free night for us (we always rent two rooms a night) should make this all go away. I do not care about the free nights, they could throw a week at disney in and it wouldn't make us for the trauma it cause my children and my family. I want to know that some kind of disipline action was taken. They can't do that.

IT IS A JOKE. We will be staying at Marriot's from now on.

Thank you for listening.

Brian and Genia Cole
Houston, TX
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by tander on 2005-02-08:
Sorry this happened to you, tell your kids, it'll be better next time, and that shouldn't of happened
Posted by DCGirl on 2005-02-16:
According to your post on PlanetFeedback, you and the kids were in and out of the rooms something like ten times in the space of 45 minutes. That is a lot of coming and going and a lot of noise in a short period of time, and if I had the room next to you I would likely have called the front desk too. In view of the fact that one of your rooms ignored a call from the front desk and the phone in your other room was off the hook, you left the front desk clerk no choice but to call the police. Most hotels do not allow desk clerks to 1) leave the desk and 2) confront disruptive guests. The two free nights you got was plenty of compensation.
Posted by rico on 2005-03-20:
i have stayed at the hilton in columbus and i dont think they are all that either.i think mr. hilton is too concerned about what his wild daughtes are doing rather than his geusts. LOL
Posted by keyjockey on 2005-09-22:
The free nights seem reasonable and fair to me then again I don't have the luxury to afford $6,000 in hotel stays a year.
Posted by bewareof hilton on 2006-06-10:
I was escorted out of a Hampton Inn because I had a service animal. The Middle Eastern Manager obviously didn't know what the Americans with Diabilities Act was and had no interest in my explaining it. He kept repeating "no pets" allowed. He said my dog didn't look like a service animal. When I stood my ground he called the cops and had me thrown out. I was a Hilton Diamond VIP member but no more. This manager should be working in a third world country hotel.
Posted by chloedew on 2006-09-18:
Isn't it ironic that you were trying to be courteous and not disturb the other guests since you had an early check-out? The moral of this story, it appears, is to screw trying to be the nice guy: if you have an early check out, pack up in the morning. If you're noisy doing so, what's Hilton going to do? Kick you out? Doesn't matter since you're checking out anyway!
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Hilton Grand Vacations and Timeshare Telephone Scams
Posted by Bobstan232013 on 08/25/2013
NEW YORK CITY, PENNSYLVANIA -- My home telephone received an unsolicited call from Hilton Grand Vacations offering a free stay in New York City. So much for being on the “do not call” list! We agreed to take the free hotel stay in New York City. After taking our credit card number complications ensued when it was discovered that our credit card was going to be charged an additional “penalty” fee if we did not fulfill Hilton’s obligation requirements.

At that moment and on the telephone we were locked into Hilton’s telemarketing scam. There was no 3 day waiting period or opportunity to change our minds after the “pushy” Hilton representative got our credit card number. Locked into the dollar commitment for the trip, we were further pressured in New York City until we signed to buy a timeshare. We were given approximately 5 inches of Hilton Grand Vacation Amendments to the timeshare plan to read once we returned home. Almost immediately the Hilton Grand Vacation experience started to self-destruct. Confusion, unkempt promises and other bad experiences ruled the year.

Finally, full of disgust and ill feelings I demanded that my money be returned immediately. That started the “convincing” that we would be happy once we started using our Vacations. I wasn’t impressed and continued to demand my money be returned. Hilton would have none of this! Hilton would rather have the money of an unhappy customer than part in a congenial manner with a happy ex-customer. Hence, I believe herein “lies” (pick your own meaning) the problem with Hilton’s operation.

I feel that we have been mislead and taken advantage of by “The Hilton Club” and its New York based Managing Director of Business Operations, Mr. Albert [snip]. Mr. Albert [snip] has not responded to my letter of December 17, 2012 which, as a courtesy to a Hilton Club owner, should be mandatory for his position. If Hilton would like to solve my complaint they should contact me in writing, not by telephone.

My wife and I have been trying to get our “investment” money out of this despicable contract since we realized that it was a scam. Hilton Grand Vacations should not be allowed to continue operations until its’ questionable, and likely, illegal methods are brought to a higher standard. Therein lies the problem for Hilton as they probably would not survive if they operated in a ethical manner.

Mr. [snip] was very direct in his support of staff and their methods. He denied that Hilton operates its programs by scamming its potential clients and owners. The high standards that Mr. [snip] believes Hilton abides loses some validity when one investigates the internet. In Surowitz v. Hilton Hotels Corp, “the complaint alleged that (Hilton) had defrauded stockholders and illegally depleted corporate assets to enrich individual defendants.

In 2010 the Boston Globe reported that the illegal hotel operation “was one of the biggest child-prostitution cases in state history. ...While the Globe doesn’t identify the names of hotels where the girls were brought to meet customers, Boston public radio station WGBH’s July series about sexual and human trafficking in the Boston area suggests that they could very well been higher-end chain hotels frequented by business travelers.

Hilton’s “high ground” defense of its operations and family oriented vacation properties suffered additional embarrassment in April 2011 when it was reported on the internet that “a Hilton Hotel in Southwest China lost its five star rating this week after an underground brothel was found to be operating out of the hotel...” “This isn’t the first time a brothel has been operating at a Hilton Hotel. In 2008, a brothel was being run out of a Hilton in Ireland. And Consumerist named the Hilton in Washington, DC the third most prostitution-friendly hotel in the city.” “...Similar brothels have contained children and human trafficking victims.”

As one continues to investigate Hilton experiences on the internet, there are many people who believe that Hilton is a scam, and that it operates illegally. Some guest clients of Hilton want to sue and enjoin a class action suit. Many dissatisfied persons report Hilton’s actions to the numerous websites that permit “venting” for people who have been wronged and/or ask the Attorney General’s office and other government/consumer agencies to investigate Hilton’s operations.

In New York State, the Attorney General was ignored by Hilton Grand Vacations Club when the Attorney General’s office requested information regarding a scam complaint filed by a dissatisfied customer. Is Hilton Grand Vacations Club too well connected “to abide by New York State law? Let’s hope not but evidence is accumulating to the contrary when no visible actions come from the State’s highest law enforcement agency.

A dissatisfied customer’s actions may include educating people about the failures of Hilton by email, websites, newspaper, television, legal and any other opportunity available to me. If you have experienced some unfair treatment and would like to take some kind of action to eliminate these blood-sucking scams, feel free to contact me at BobStan@Comcast.net. I, for one, plan to continue to use every means available to have my money returned. Thank you for your time.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by John Nicholson on 2013-08-26:
Good review and, hopefully it will warn others if they receive a call from Hilton Grand Vacations. Your initial mistake was in giving them your credit card info in order to get a "free" night in NYC, but you know that now. Perhaps your next step should be with an attorney.
Posted by Weedwhacked on 2013-08-26:
You're exactly the kind of person that these timeshare companies target. I used to work for a timeshare company and know that its always a "suckers" deal for the new "owner."

The way the timeshare companies get over on you is making you think you're getting over on them. That tactic works more often than you would think, just like it worked on you.
Close commentsAdd reply


StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Hilton Is Now Starting to Use Your Money
Posted by Richsx09 on 08/04/2013
Hilton is now charging your room directly with a swipe charge. They are now charging your card directly with a $25 or $50 "credit check" charge instead of placing a hold on your charge. the charge doesn't come off your card for a week. So now they get to use this money free for a week, times all their bookings.

Great scheme, so long Hilton, it was my last stay.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by CU on 2013-08-04:
They never see that money. They are telling your bank to hold that much. The money never leaves your account. After a period of time set by your bank, the hold automatically disappears unless a real debit is submitted for the hold amount.
Posted by RlY on 2013-08-08:
This complaint was an error on my part because of the way american express sets up it's "card not present alert". My account was posted as always with the pre-authorization listed as pending.
My apology.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Our Credit No Used to Steal Thousands by General Manger Hotel Dump
Posted by Dgraves14 on 07/21/2013
BILLERICA, MASSACHUSETTS -- I checked in Hilton. According to Bank of America, ten minutes after checking, someone online charged thousands of dollars. When we confronted the general manager, she was the most denile person we have ever meet. We don't know who she called or text our information to, but she was the only one there. Also, we had to take pictures of this Hilton because we had to have corporate see the shape of this dump. The general manager need to be fired.

We took pictures of roaches in our room. Yes roaches, 1/4 inch dust on fans, the dirtiest carpets in the halls and room. My wife works for Hilton, Kissimmee, FL and we called her place of employment four times and we never got a return call.

We called corporate, bottom line is that they didn't care at all. I guess that's their general manager's incentive plan.

My wife just got fired for bringing this to light. Hilton, what a joke!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by John Nicholson on 2013-07-22:
You complaint is incoherent. First you talk about fraudulent use of your credit card and then conclude with the place being filthy and your wife was fired. Perhaps you should try writing out on paper your complaint first and then typing it verbatim on this forum.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible Experience
Posted by Jasontclark1 on 07/07/2013
SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA -- I recently called the Hilton front desk to ask if they partnered with any local florist's so that I could send my girlfriend flowers there while she was staying in San Francisco. They stated that since they were a five star hotel that they don't allow outside flowers to be brought in to their hotel. They stated that I would have to contact the concierge and have them purchase and have the flowers delivered for me. After contacting the concierge I had specifically told him several times that I had a maximum dollar amount that I would like to spend on them, and that if he could find her a nice arrangement under that amount I would appreciate it. Several times I specified that I didn't want to spend over this amount. The next morning I woke up and checked my bank statement, and was very surprised to see that the flower shop had charged me much more than the dollar amount I specified that I didn't want to go over.

I originally brought this to the hotel management’s attention. I was told repetitively that there was nothing that they could do. I had spoken with the front desk person in the evening, during the day, and Tanya the night manager, and Kyle the concierge that took my original request. I was told that I would have to take this issue up with the flower shop that charged me, if I wanted any amount of money back due to the hotel not having any of my money and did not take a fee for this, that they cannot be held responsible for any refunds.

My answer to this was that ”If I were to have given your concierge $40 cash and said that I wanted flowers for said amount that he would have to adjust the cost appropriately, correct?” in return I got this response from the manager “But you didn’t give him cash, did you, you gave him a credit card.” I feel that this is an unacceptable response.

When I spoke to the concierge that placed my order, and asked him why I was charged more than I asked him to place on my card he responded with this statement, “Sir, you asked me to get her $40 worth of flowers, and that’s what I did. On top of the flowers, the florist charges for delivery and for the vase.” Again I feel that this is an unacceptable response. This feels like it is just word manipulation.

After speaking with 3 different employees and a manager, the manager said that if I would like to return the flowers that she would see if the florist would accept that. And yet again I was appalled by her even saying this as an option. The flowers had already arrived to the room and my girlfriend had already received them. This was not the fault of the florist and I was continued to make feel at fault. I am really not interested in speaking with the management at that hotel any further. If you have a central customer service line I would be happy to call that, or I would be satisfied continuing this conversation via email.
(File number : 10829524)
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by John Nicholson on 2013-07-07:
Sounds like Hilton has a bad employee or two in that location. Contract Hilton corporate either online or, better yet, by phone and demand someone in Corporate respond to your complaint. I am not surprised by anything a hotel in that city does. Hilton is a fine organisation, but the city of San Francisco seems to have destroyed their good name.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Double Billed!!
Posted by Mrteejason on 04/11/2013
ASHEVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA -- I made a prepaid reservation at the Asheville Hilton, Biltmore Park.. Daughter came down with the flu. Called a day before check in to tell them I would not make it there and I was aware it was non refundable. Asked if there was anything they could do for me? Alex, a manager said he would be happy to move it 3 days forward for me! Great, except it generated another nights stay. After repeated calls to Advanced reservations, they say only he can credit it back and they will instruct him how to do this. Talked to him twice, keeps saying he will take care of it. Give it a few days and then it will show up on my banking statement.. It hasn't and now is not returning my calls!!! I have 30 to 40 more years of travels and will never even consider a Hilton again!! Even if I do get it back one day!! Done with people and companies who waste my time!
Your only as good as your word!!!


     
Add reply


StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
No Such Thing as a Reservation
Posted by Pjkeehnen on 02/25/2013
WISCONSIN -- My wife and I recently called the Hilton gardens in Milwaukee and reserved a jacuzzi suite. When we drove the two hours for the getaway and checked in there was no jacuzzi in the room. When I spoke with corporate the next day I was advised they really don't reserve a room type only that you'll get a room. I spoke with Katrina and that was the policy. You really don't reserve a room type only if it's available when you get there.

So if you think you're reserve a suite or a specific type of room you may not be. I asked the example of a trip to Vegas reserving a suite at the Tropicana, I might not have the suite when I get there (even if I reserve it with a credit card).

Ms. Katrina stated that is correct that is company policy. Good to know. Nice job HILTON.
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by trmn8r on 2013-02-25:
Interesting. I understood that this concept applies when using third parties to reserve rooms, but not when you book directly. I'm a bit surprised.
Posted by Ben There on 2013-02-25:
Hotels are like airlines - sometimes they will book more rooms than they actually have assuming a certain percentage won't show up. It is normally first come/first serve, so if the hotel has 4 rooms with Jacuzzis and took 6 reservations then customers 5 and 6 to show up will most likely be the disappointed ones.
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2013-02-25:
Well, that eliminates Hilton from my list of hotel considerations when I need a reservation. Shorter lists are easier to deal with anyway.
Posted by Anna Molly on 2013-02-25:
This is very good information. Long time, no see, Ben There!
Posted by Jeff on 2013-02-27:
Thats ridiculous. Definitely something they dont advertise on their commercials! I mean whats the point of even reserving a room if you are not guarenteed the room you want? So stupid.
Posted by Brian the front desk guy on 2013-09-19:
This is actually the same for all brands. I worked for marriott and the same is there. People who are of higher member status can force though a reservation for any room. This is probably what happened
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Most rude employees I've ever encountered
Posted by Piperheidseck on 10/10/2012
DEL MAR, CALIFORNIA -- I really have been dreading writing this review. I can, sometimes, get into the mood and write reviews that are negative, and I've been able at times to have fun with that, but this time? This time I wish so, so much that I didn't have to. This time, the negativity I need to review touched my kids, especially my daughter, and that just makes me sad. And now that the anger is a week old, its really settled into disappointment. I have never been so poorly treated in my life, and neither has my daughter. Not from a company, not from a big or small company, ever.

We were there for a conference. A conference that was for kids and about kids. In other words, they knew we were coming, they knew that many kids would be there....this is really painful to write.

First - the opening scene:

It began before I even checked in. We had to wait a bit to check in, so we decided to go get lunch in the hotel's cafe/bar area. I asked the front desk gentleman if sitting there was ok, if they had table service and if children were allowed in that area. He said yes, that was just fine, and we went and sat down.

A man who appeared to be a manager glanced at us after more than a few minutes, and I asked if we could order.

"You want to order food?"

"Yes, please, I was told we could sit here...? We just need some menus."

"You want to eat here?"

"Um...yes, we do."

"You want to eat in the restaurant?"

"Are we able to eat here?"

At this point, I'm confused and think that maybe I misunderstood the front desk person, or maybe he was wrong...? Nope, that wasn't it.

"I'll go see if I can find a waitress," Mr. Maybe Manager says to me. Okay, that's cool...I'm still confused, but still laying that on me at this point.

A really nice young woman came over, said she was sorry she took so long, and can she get us drinks? She brought them, the table settings and the the menus (the menus, by the way, were paper, like the kind you see that are often if not always, disposable. This comes into play later - trust me).

The young woman, whose name I would LOVE to have remembered was so good to us, so kind. She shared that it was her first day training to be a server in this capacity - Hilton? She is a lovely young Latina woman, her first training day was Wednesday, September 5th and this was around noon. She was one of two employees at the hotel that made me feel welcomed. That;s it, out of all the others I ran into, so YAY to you, Miss! Thanks so much (my son's name is Julian, said in Spanish, she may remember us, at least I hope so!) for your kind personality and sweet disposition, let alone actually caring about our order and customer service.

I ordered the seared ahi and avocado salad. The tomatoes are sad, anemic things, but the rest tasted pretty good. My friend who arrived a bit later sat with us and then ordered the same thing - she noticed that she did not get the salad-y parts, like you know, green leafy stuff, like mine had. I didn't really grasp this until later, however, Whatever, right? Places have off days, errors occur, life is not perfect and humans make mistakes - none of us are immune. But looking back in retrospect - this was the start. On to the rest...

We check in. Room is fine. Bathroom door opens up to the edge of the counter. Ah, not the best design, but no big deal.

The plug for the bathtub? Broken and not attached. Ah, that happens, that's ok.

Housekeeping, while very sweet to arrange my kid's stuffed animals in a totally adorable way on the bed, forgot fresh cups for the coffee maker and gave me all decaf and no more sugars (the following day). The day after that, I told the front desk - please no service in my room, number ____, They came anyway. Hmmm. Front desk error, or their error? Don't know. The guy at the front said he took care of it, maybe wires got crossed? So they came when I asked them not to, and another time, didn't complete the mission properly. Ah, well things happen, right? Humans... errors...all that again...

Then I began to notice some other things happening...(see the updated review for part 2 - I took up too much space, lol!! as soon as I can update it, part 2 will be here - no luck yet!!!)

The wedding party was loud. Late into the night, well past "quiet hours." We, as a group, had been admonished to keep our children quiet, to keep them close to us at all times, to have them in their rooms at 9pm if under 18 (the ages ranged from baby to young adults in their 20s) & many other things that were quite unusual for the other (lovely!) Hiltons we have had conferences in. The wedding party however, were not chastised as so many of our kids were. Seems if you are a drunken adult NOT a part of the conference, one can climb & then FALL off the huge, silver statue of a horse there. One can leave cans of Coors about the hotel. One can throw up in the ladies room & outside the elevator - no problem! But kids, skipping, playing, cartwheeling? Oh, no, no...not acceptable. I know I'm biased, but really, we have kids that are respectful, used to being treated with respect & as the equals they are (equal is NOT "same" btw). Some poor conference stepped in the vomit, I hate to say. Others have stories too, about the unbalanced guest care, the hypocrisy. They are telling their own tales, however.

Next night, sitting outside on the patio & my mom is leaving soon, we want to have a dinner together before she leaves. The waiter comes out & asks for her credit card! We were ordering DINNER, as we had before, & never have we had to give over a credit card (here or anywhere else)! These days, we are taught to never do this, it's bad enough that we "have" to for an open tab for just drinks. But who pays for their dinner before they even order it? Was this policy put in place that same day, as it hadn't ever happened before, patio, bar, restaurant or otherwise? My mom refused & he, with an attitude, said that that was the only way we could order, unless we charged it to a room. My mom had checked out, but I hadn't, so I said to just put in on my room number & be done with it.

We ordered. He asks what we'd like to drink, my mom gets a glass of wine & I say, nothing yet, but I'll order something soon.

This really became much worse. He reached over & began taking my daughter's new paper airplane & I stopped him & said, "Oh, that's not trash, that's my daughter's airplane!" He said, "It's our menu." I said, "Now it's a paper airplane." And he said, "This is the second time this has happened, these are our menus, you know!" Hmm. So the story was out? And the manager said nothing to me at all about not doing this again, they had seen us playing tic tac toe & hangman on other ones, no one had ever said to us that we shouldn't do that, & as I said, they were those flimsy, regular paper ones. No laminate, not cardstock, not thick paper - cheap, paper-paper! The kind that many places actually MAKE kid's menus on that have printing so kids can play on them & whatnot. But had we been asked, of COURSE we wouldn't have used them for play. But you all need to ask & tell us, how can we know otherwise, especially if it had been done before & no one said anything? Then he says, with a smirk no less (& no, I'm not kidding or over exaggerating) "You know you can't have outside drinks here. What's in your cup?" Really?? Ok, here's my mistake, & I will own up to it & own the situation. I had a beer. Yes, my own beer. In a plastic cup. A cup that actually I had been using previously with beer I ordered from the bar. I ordered a lot of drinks & a lot of food there. Was I supposed to have it? No, & yes, I know that. And yes, I broke a rule & for that, I admit to being in the wrong. But this...person was RUDE. At this point, I'm pissed off. Each thing had been adding up & I just broke & I said, with equal 'tude, "Ginger ale," & smirked right back at him. He said, "That's not ginger ale, ginger ale doesn't foam like that. You are not allowed to have that here." So...I lost it. I said, "Fine, I cancel my order!" & I left.

And left I did. I had it with all of this. I checked out a day early & went home.
I will NOT go back there again. I hope the conference is elsewhere next year (it's pretty much an annual event that we REALLY look forward to each year) because I really dread going there again. The 2 wonderful waitresses (both Latinas, & man do I wish I had their names!) were LOVELY - they deserve a raise & respect. The 2 bartenders I dealt with? Sheesh, take some customer service training & learn some respect. Front desk - same with you all. You know? All the women I ran into were GREAT...interesting. Those 2 were just GREAT. But I really will have to consider if I will go back. Both my kids don't want to, & they LOVE the conference(s). The people in our group were GREAT & we love them to bits - but I'm not sure it'll be enough to have to possibly cope with this kind of rude behavior again. I hope they take a lesson from the AMAZING staff at the Hilton Vancouver, WA...Time to review a few more places, in fact! Happier ones!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by clutzycook on 2012-10-10:
Did you bring the issues to they attention or the managerial staff? How about Hilton corporate?
Posted by Buddy01 on 2012-10-11:
I agree with clutzy. Corporate and managerial staff will surely want to know what's going on so they can fix the problems.
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >