Preview Review

Next Review Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Read - Never Book!!! Contact Better Business Bureau!!!
By -

This company is an absolute fraud!!!! I hope everyone who is mad and upset with the horrendous service will do their part and file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and shut this business down. HORRIBLE! I originally booked a four day reservation, which 3 weeks prior to leaving changed to 5 days. They TOLD ME IT WAS ALL BOOKED. I call the actual hotel 2 days prior to leaving and am advised by the hotel that only a 4 day reservation was listed. Then called back, who said, it would be updated in 15 mins. LIES, LIES AND MORE LIES.

This calling the hotel/calling continued. I arrived at the hotel and it still wasn't updated! FOR THE NEXT FOUR DAYS, I WAS ON THE PHONE FOR 1.5 HOURS EACH DAY, being put on ridiculous HOLD TIMES, BEING WRONGLY/PURPOSELY TRANSFERRED, DISCONNECTED. AND WORST OF ALL - stupid reps kept HANGING UP ON ME. I have never witnessed such horrendous, poor, cowardly business practices. THIS CONTINUED TILL THE LAST 4TH DAY when I WAS FORCED TO CHECK OUT.

Was told by mgmt that extra day reservation had never been received and that was advised 4 days prior to make a new reservation. However, because HAD SCREWED UP IN THE FIRST PLACE, the rate they have to pay it higher than what I had paid. SO HOTELS.COM WAS UNWILLING TO PAY THIS DIFFERENCE. Not the customer's fault right? THINK AGAIN! NOT WITH HOTELS. COM. They refused to lose money on their own error, so left me hanging till the very last day, 3 hours before I was to check out. I then realized that they were complete frauds.

They tried to get me to give them VISA INFO TO RECHARGE ME TO PICK UP THE DIFFERENCE. I'm a full time student, and I don't have much money to spend esp on the errors of someone else. So I was forced to check out. they would not answer my questions, supervisors were leading me on with complete BS, supervisors kept hanging up on me, and would not book the extra reservation. Completely fed up, I checked out and spent my last night with no place to sleep or stay. BY FAR, THE WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE. THIS COMPANY NEEDS TO BE SHUT DOWN. I HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT.

What is upsetting is that this could have been resolved prior to my arrival when I called in. However, they did not want to pay more for an error on their part, even though I ALREADY PAID for 4 nights - FRAUDSTERS. Also, when I booked the 5th night, was told I'd get a refund of 60 dollars. Never got it. Had to call back, on the phone for over an hour and told there was no notice of it. Until 1.5 hrs into the conversation, supervisor MIRACULOUSLY found the refund note. Convenient?

A FEW THINGS I'VE LEARNED: Refunds by customer service are processed instantaneously. They will tell you that you will receive a refund email in 15 mins, etc - DO NOT BELIEVE THEM. Insist that you will stay on the phone with them till you receive it. Insist that you will not hang up, and that you have been advised by customers who have dealt with them that you are to stay on the line. Trust me, if you don't - you will not GET A REFUND FROM THESE SCAM ARTISTS.

Ask the agent you are speaking to refrain from hanging up on you. Getting them NOT to hang up on you, or disconnect you is HARD ENOUGH AND IS totally pathetic that you even have to do this. But TRUST ME. YOU NEED TO. When you spent the last 4 days trying to get a hold of them and are yelling and angry - TELL THE IDIOT REP YOU'RE SPEAKING TO that YOU DO NOT WANT TO BE PLACED ON HOLD. Tell them that each time you've been placed on hold you've been placed on hold for 20-30mins only to be disconnected. I had one supervisor name ** transfer me to an Expedia agent, and another named ** hang up on me while talking.

DO NOT ALLOW THEM TO PLACE YOU ON HOLD. I made this request, and was freaking insistent. instead, I'm pretty sure the girl put me on mute, but nevertheless - no stupid music and she came back because she realized I was furious. If you've made a booking, check for price matches all the TIME. TRUST ME, you don't want to give your money to this company. If you've already have, ensure you got the best deal. I found much better rates on a website called - don't know how reliable they are, but all that matters is the price anyway.

So always check!!!! when you call in to make a price match - MAKE SURE YOU STAY ON THE LINE TILL YOU GET THE EMAIL.

Be Careful when you call - DECEITFUL!!!
By -

On December 12, 2009, I made a reservation using for a stay starting 12/31/2009. Today, December 19, 2009, I received an email from advertising the same hotel for $50.00 less a night. I called and told them about the PRICE MATCH GUARANTEE and was told by ** that I needed to book at the new lower rate and that he would cancel the previous reservation with NO problem but that that he had to transfer me to "Customer Care."

I told him I was hesitant to "double book" but he assured me that this WOULD not be a problem because the original reservation would be automatically cancelled and the charge on my credit card would be credited back. Funny that when he tried to transfer my call it DROPPED. FINALLY, I was able to speak to ** from an out of state customer call center who told me that there was NO way I could cancel the previous reservation in spite of what ** told me. Mind you, there are charges over $1,200 on my credit card for a stay that is supposed to cost $561.00.

I told ** that this was unacceptable and that even the cancellation policy stated that, and I quote: "cancellations or changes made before 3:00 PM (Eastern Standard Time (US & Canada)) on Dec 31, 2009 are subject to a 1 Night Room & Tax penalty." I am NOT canceling this reservation the day of the stay! I am canceling 12 DAYS in ADVANCE and that this was not my initial intention to begin with. All I wanted was the reduced rate and participate in HOTELS.COM advertised PRICE MATCH GUARANTEE. She told me that I did not understand the policy and that I needed to pay $325.00 for canceling the reservation.

I insisted that I was not the one who had double booked on purpose and that ** was just too eager to have me double book under the false pretense that EVERYTHING would be taken care of. The call DROPPED. I called 3 more times only to struggle to find someone who spoke English because my husband DOES NOT speak Spanish and I was so upset that I was crying and he insisted on taking over the telephone call. FINALLY, my husband was able to find ** who spoke English, she agreed that the first reservation could be cancelled without a penalty but that it would take UP TO 30 DAYS to receive CREDIT of $651.88 on my credit card.

GREAT! LESS money to SPEND on my "SUPPOSEDLY" wonderful New Year's trip with my husband... MY TRIP is RUINED. I am upset about the customer service and their deceitful practices... I was forced to double book. If you can't cancel a reservation 12 days in advance without being penalized when can you cancel????? 30 days? 45 days? Can you even ever cancel when you book through without being penalized? I am really sorry to have used HOTELS.COM to book my hotel stay. I wish I would have spent the extra $10.00 booking directly with the hotel. I would have saved the trouble and anguish I have caused myself and my husband.

BE CAREFUL!!! with the "PRICE MATCH GUARANTEE." DO NOT TRUST CUSTOMER SERVICE. Call reps are from outside the US and they don't understand policies well enough. Please learn from my lesson, unless you are SURE the call center is in the US DO NOT Trust what they TELL YOU. Sincerely, VERY, VERY, VERY UPSET in Miami!

By -

I usually use Orbitz, so perhaps I am spoiled. I booked this time through, who only allows you to use one credit card to pay for the reservation. I guess I should have been smart enough to make separate reservations for my one four day stay at the same hotel, but I hadn't had a problem with this issue before. My employer is very specific about what can go on their credit card (I am a government employee) so since I was staying extra days on my own I put it all on my credit card. In the past I have had no problem once I check in getting the days split out. But at they won't let you split the bill afterward.

I was on the phone with at least two of their employees, one who was nice but either I lost signal or he disconnected me, and another who could barely speak English, who was just repeating the canned scripts for customers with requests that require any thought process. She would not give me the name of her supervisor, but did agree to transfer me to him. ** picked up after waiting long enough to see if I would pick up, and he sounded like he send people to sleep with the fishes in his spare time. He told me that they could not do that with no better excuse than that is company policy.

I asked if there was a financial company who handled the paperwork I could speak with, but he just said no, it was in a account and they don't do it. They told me that if I wanted to, they could cancel the reservation for the last two nights, but they couldn't rebook them and only if the company would let them. That would mean I'd have to find somewhere else to stay those two nights. I really like the hotel, but they couldn't give me the same rate if I did that, so I told them I had no choice but to suck it up and pay it all on my own, since I won't be able to get reimbursed at work. told me if I canceled the last two nights they would refund me the money, but I suspect that was a lie, and what the front desk told me I doubt they would have paid me back anyway (at least without a fight). What kills me is if they were telling the truth that they would refund the money, why won't they just refund it and transfer the rest to a different credit card. I am somewhat familiar with the financial industry, and that just doesn't make sense to me. I think it is just laziness or they don't trust their employees to do it right. I don't travel for business much, thankfully, but I travel a lot for fun, and I will NEVER use them again. I am sticking with Orbitz from now on.

They were very unapologetic (they would say they were sorry, but it was clear they couldn't care less). I was really horrified that a company in a service industry would respond this way. I will probably report them to BBB or consumer protection.

They charged me credit card, but gave airline my credit card to charge without my knowledge now they are saying they can't refund
By -

Here is my complaint: I booked with for my honeymoon vacation to go to Hawaii. Package included hotels, car rental and round trip air for two people for July 6th 2008 through July 11th 2008. I received an email that I needed to contact because my flight had been canceled.

So I called to find out the problem. The first agent I spoke with was very rude and hard to understand. She told me that my outgoing flight on July 6th was needed to be changed to an earlier flight than the already early flight of 6:15am. And the flight on the Friday July 11th was needing to be changed and that I would have to leave 3 hrs later in one of my flights and that my connecting flight would be in Vegas instead of Phoenix and my layover would be longer and I wouldn't be getting home to around 2am.

I explained to the lady that those flight changes were not something I could accept and so I would need to cancel and take my services elsewhere. She said that the flight was non-refundable and that she couldn't refund the flight. I explained to the lady that it was not my fault that it was an airline fault and that they needed to refund the money. After fighting and fighting with the company she finally said they would refund the package. She put me on hold to get a reference number. I then got disconnected. So I called back in and with lady number 2, told me there were no notes in my account showing the agent as refunding the money.

This new agent tried again to pull the same thing, that the flight was non-refundable and that it was not's fault either. I told her it was between and the airlines. It was not my fault, I booked and paid through I authorized and paid for the package. NO one else and that I was demanding a full refund. She put me on hold for another 30 min. She came back to the line saying that if an overnight flight was OK on the 11th or if I could leave on the 10th. I told her no it wasn't OK. We didn't want an overnight and we didn't want to loose a day on our honeymoon.

Finally after a total of almost 3 hrs on the phone with they said they would give me a refund. But I had to mail in my paper tickets first and then they would process refund. Which they said could take 7-10 business days. I'm not happy with how long it took, the rudeness, and the fact I have to mail in my paper tickets and wait still that long for my money back on something they did wrong.

4/21/08. I'm not sure how to add anything further. But I called today because we still have not received our refund even though they told us as soon as we returned our paper tickets per reference number #** that our package remainder of $1377.44 would be refunded and was told by a VERY RUDE supervisor today that our money would not be returned because the airline was filing for bankruptcy. Even though we bought and paid for the package through, we NEVER authorized them to give our credit card information to the airlines to charge.

We authorized to use our credit card to pay for the package, not and the airlines. He was very rude and told me that we were not getting our money back and hung up on me. WE will be calling our credit card company tomorrow. We need to know what to do. This is a lot of money and who knows how many innocent people are giving their credit card information to and they are letting people charge on their cards. This needs to be stopped! Please let me know status of my case.

Misled While Attempting to Book; Unprofessional Customer Service
By -

ASPEN, COLORADO -- I spent 1 hour and 30 minutes of my time trying to simply book a reservation on your website. The hotel that I wanted was available for the dates that I wanted and I followed the steps to book the room as I have dozens of times in the past on your website. However, when I went to "book and confirm the reservation" I was unable to. So, I tried again, and again, and again -- each time receiving an error message stating that I was unable to proceed to confirmation because there was already a reservation booking in progress.

I then went to "view reservations" and printed off a receipt with the above-listed booking number that led me to believe that my reservation was actually received. Thankfully, I did not trust this to be the case and called 800-3HOTELS to confirm that everything was okay. It was not.

I first spoke a "customer service" rep who told me that I would need to call the hotel (Chateau Blanc Condominiums in Aspen, Co) directly to confirm the reservation. This I did, but their reservations department is only open Monday through Friday. So, I called back using a special "customer service number" and spoke with Patty who echoed that my reservation was not confirmed and who once again tried to give me the number of the hotel itself.

Frustrated by the run-around, I asked to speak with Patty's manager and after serious coercion to try to actually convince her to put that person on the phone, I spoke with Brett (the alleged supervisor). Brett explained that the Chateau Blanc Condominiums are not a preferred hotel and gave me technological details as to why this transaction did not go through.

I explained to Brett that I was misled by and given the impression that I would have not trouble booking this reservation; and that furthermore, I was able to find a printable receipt that further misled me to believe that the reservation was confirmed (I am glad that I did not show up at the Chateau Blanc in Aspen with this "receipt" expecting to have a condo waiting for me).

Brett was far from helpful and told me that there was nothing that could be done. Eventually, he reluctantly offered me a $20 rebate on a future booking -- an offer that I feel is a slap in the face for a 5-year+ customer who had just spent 1.5 hours trying to simply book a reservation as I have done dozens of times in the past. Brett, Patty and the original customer service rep were condescending, inflexible and far from pleasurable to work with. They made no attempt to solve or address my problem, but rather attempted to just pass me off.

Not only is this level of "customer service" unacceptable, but the misleading nature of the website (offering rooms as "available" that actually are not, allowing for a receipt to be printed for a room that was actually not booked) is also unacceptable. I am shocked that a company that for the past 5 years I have come to depend on has in 1 hour and 30 minutes become one in which I have completely lost faith.

Rude Customer Service
By -

On my first use of the service I noticed that the page for credit card transactions is not secured. So when I called to make my reservation, I guess I was supposed to read all the disclaimers on the website first, which like an idiot I did not so I was extremely surprised when making the reservation that money had to be paid that very moment. I couldn't even make plans to pay in cash. It had to be credit card, money order, or nothing.

When the Rep had answered the line my dog barked so I didn't catch her name nor did I think to ask at this point. The first thing they want is the credit card information, even before you actually find out if a room is still available or if it's the one you paid for.

Since I was paying extra for a "pool" view room why hadn't she read this back to me when verifying the room? "It will be noted on my account, right?" I am told "No" they don't guarantee the room, as she went on I was quickly seeing they didn't guarantee anything! I asked her to note it on my account. I am paying extra and I don't want to end up over the parking lot! She says she's just supposed to read what's on the paper and that's all she can do (boy she got that right).

She had this attitude like I had interrupted her day and continued to sigh the rest of the conversation until I was getting upset that she could by no means guarantee my Pool View Room. I said "I just can't understand how you can be in business and offer No guarantees." She starts laughing at me like I'm a twit. I explain that I really didn't appreciate her laughing, this is my... CLICK!

She hung up on me! I had no confirmation number, no name of the Rep, nothing to verify this reservation, BUT she had my credit card number! I tried for over an hour to get in contact with again. I received "Your call can not be connected at this time" or something very much like that over and over again. A bit scared as she had my credit card number and I had nothing, nil, nada, zilch - I called my bank.

She had already charged my account the charge for the two nights, over $150! While on the phone with the bank we tried yet again to get through to customer service at only to find that to verify whether she made the reservation and I didn't have a booking, reference number, they asked for my credit card number again!

So now it's twice and to two people I've given my number (Nothing is secure on their website for credit card transactions so I'm not certain that it's safe on the phone either). The lady at the bank asked the Rep, "is this the only way when someone doesn't have their reservation number." "Yep!" he says. Since my bank was with me on this I gave it, found that I did indeed have a reservation for the extra money yet still no guarantee on the Pool room.

I insisted because of the treatment that it be noted on my booking. I HAVEN'T EVEN TRIED TO USE THE BOOKING YET! I cry to a supervisor finally, hours, stress, and emotional exhaustion later and I am told they will give me a $30 break - well ain't that nice, I'm a sobbing rag after all this and I still don't know what I will find on the other end.

Five days later no credit of the $30 has hit my bank. When I call I get a foreign voice I cannot for the life of me understand and when I ask to speak with someone else she continues to try to say things in English (I guess anyway). Come to find out, I will get my $30 back within 30 days!!! They demand their money the day of, yet I will wait 30 days before I will know if they will actually refund 30 measly bucks.

My trip is still a month away. This is/was the last time I will ever use this service and I will dissuade others! Wonder what I will have to go through and what the hotel ACTUALLY has - what a way to ruin your business. Surely the rich people who use this service over and again couldn't care less about a few bucks and their room is most likely a suite., I know you won't miss me, but you might miss some of the people I tell about my experience.

Never use
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have booked a hotel room through in May 2015 at HK$1070. I have chosen HK$ as currency and pay with Visa card through website. After I returned from trip, Visa card charges me US$1070. I called over 10 times and no one could help and return the overcharged fee. I provided captured screens as proof, but still not accept. claimed: In June 2015, they could try to refund US$1070 - HK$1070 with coupon. In Oct 2015, they only offer US$100 coupon. No further followups and feedbacks from I won't use again, ever.

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I made a reservation... booked a room (honeymoon btw)... and able to do this without leaving a deposit but agreeing to pay a higher rate. We called the hotel to set up transportation. Found out they canceled the reservation since they could not run the card for a deposit. That's their policy. Sadly, no rooms were available by then. promises something they can't deliver. Customer service was useless and took no responsibility. NEVER USE THEM!!!!!!!!

HOTELS.COM Is Stealing People's Money
By -

I have contacted your company on multiple occasions about receiving my credit (more than 7 times) about a canceled reservation that was 2 weeks out. I canceled minutes after processing the reservation on the website. But they had listed if you cancel even 1 month away, they charge 1 night penalty. As I write this review I'm on the phone with their reps on Manila. I am documenting all my calls and the people I speak with. I have spoken to your representatives in EL SALVADOR because that's where your company is re-routing the phone calls to.

I WANT THE REST OF MY REFUND ON RESERVATION **. I called back on May 19th for a 5th time and your customer service representative called the Puerta del Sol Hotel and they never received the reservation because it was cancelled right away and ** the administrative person at the Puerta del Sol Hotel in Barranquilla, Colombia agreed to a FULL REFUND. Your customer service person on May 19, stated he would process the REFUND and it would take a few days. I have been checking my credit card for the last 2 WEEKS and there is NO REFUND.

On June 1, I called again and spoke to an ** and she went through the same process, called the Puerta del Hotel which I had already gave her the information and events from the last call on May 19th and she confirmed it all again. PUERTA DEL SOL agreed a REFUND and they hadn't even received any proceeds from the canceled reservation. She promised me a REFUND for a second time and I haven't received anything. I inquired on my previous call and she stated there were NO NOTES on my reservation profile. I asked her to put NOTES again under my reservation but your company is FRAUDULENTLY erasing all notes on the calls.

It has been 3 days and I still have not received a refund and HOTELS.COM is holding my money NOT the HOTEL. I am now going to PRESS legal charges for my REFUND, TIME AND PAIN AND SUFFERING. I have tried to resolve this issue cordially with your company and YOU ARE NOT PROCESSING MY REFUND. Your company is keeping the REFUND in one of your separate accounts and refusing to return my money.. You have left me no choice but to file a lawsuit.

Replies What a Shame!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I'm writing because I have to complain about the treatment I was served by Last September, I was in the US with my wife for our honeymoon. We made an "on the road" trip, so every day we did book a hotel for the night. I used the website only once, but it was enough. During the online booking process, the browser crashed, so I didn't get any confirmation of the reservation in progress. I thought that since I was using my wife's credit card to make the reservation in my name, the crash was due to a "mismatch" between my name and the name of the cardholder. So I made another reservation with my wife's name and it worked.

After a couple of months, I realized that charged my wife's credit card the price for two reservations. After thousand and thousand emails, I gave up. The hotel did not refund anything, because they claim that they get the payment directly from the credit card and not from the customer's credit card. So eventually, they could refund the, but what about Will they refund me?, on the other hand, claims that two reservations were made with two different names, so they do not refund anything.

The American bank (linked to my "italian" bank) agreed with, so I had to pay twice what I used only once! There was no way to get my money back. I can demonstrate what I state, because I have a lot of emails between me, the bank, the hotel and the customer service. I also have an email from the hotel (Holiday Inn Express - Green River, UT) where they state that, in fact, they got two reservation but only one room was really claimed at the front desk. And this was what I tried to explain so many times to the Customer Service of, but the only result I got was that I have lost $130 for a room I never claimed.

At the end of the day, everybody involved in this issue was so stubborn that I didn't manage to get my money back. Never mind, I still can pay my bills, even with $130 less in my bank account, but you can be sure that I will never use the again!

Top of Page | Next Page > Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 33 ratings and
92 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
10440 N. Central Expwy., Ste. 400
Dallas, TX 75231
800-964-6835 (ph)
214-361-7299 (fax)
Compare Travel Services