[X]
Feedburner count

Hotwire

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
133 Reviews & Complaints
www.hotwire.com

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Hotwire.com Is a Ripoff Don't Use This Website for Your Bookings!!!
Posted by Janal2004 on 07/12/2012
TEXAS -- I'm writing this review to make consumers aware of what a big rip off Hotels.com is. My husband and I were going to make a trip to Galveston Island to Moody Gardens for the weekend and something came up medically where we were unable to make it.

I called Hotwire consumer 800 number to ask if I could change the reservation to another day during the month. They stated that in order to do that I would have to fax a letter from the doctor stating that he had medical problems and was unable to travel etc.
In my opinion it is none of their business what medical problems he is having.

We were willing to pay any extra fees it would cost to change the reservation but because we booked from Hotwire.com we were unable to change the reservations and we were unable to obtain a refund. I am very upset because had I known that the discount they gave us was only $5.00 difference from what the hotel would have actually charged I would have called the hotel directly and booked us a room through the hotel. So in closing consumers beware... HOTWIRE IS A BIG RIP OFF. They only give you a small discount and there are no refunds once you book with them.

     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by DELL Hell on 2012-07-12:
It's in their fine print that they can do what they do, because you agreed to their terms when you booked. All of these 3rd party re-seller sites are nothing nice to deal with. You have to be able to afford to lose your booking and or money when dealing with them.

Priceline is the worst of the bunch. Use Kayak for pricing then book direct. Screw these 3rd party scammers, heck they will screw you over in a heartbeat if given the chance to do so.
Posted by onlooker on 2012-07-13:
It is unfortunate, but when you confirmed the room, you agreed to certain terms.....and one of those terms is no changes. They gave you their solution, you chose to not accept it.
I do hope you get your visit to the gardens -
Posted by To CowboyFan on 2013-06-28:
It IS a rip off. When you send them the note, they deny you. I have seen this happen before. The note doesn't make a difference. Either way, it is common courtesy to accommodate those with disabilities. This site does not do that at all. To people with disabilities, don't work with United Airlines OR Hotwire.
Posted by Stacey on 2013-07-16:
I had the same experience! Worse thing ever!
Posted by nunya on 2013-07-23:
you may find it unfair but do you know how many people call in and say that they need to cancel b/c of a medical issue. what hotwire asks you to send in is just a letter from a dr. stating that a medical issue has interrupted your plans and you need to cancel the hotel. they do not need specifics of what the medical issue is just that there is one. BTW read the terms of use before booking, It is not hidden it is listed in regular print that Hotrates are can not be canceled.
Posted by diana hatch on 2013-07-31:
I went to a motel up by Mackinac island for a weekend. I went through hotwire.com. when I was in the motel a mouse ran through the room and the room smelled misty.I asked hot wire for a refund and they wouldn't. I just went to use the 50.00 credit they gave me and they said it expired. No one never told me that. What a rip off.they should be reported to the better business bureau. Binky2601@hotmail.com
Posted by EL on 2013-08-21:
I booked a hotel through Hotwire.com and after finding out the hotel name I found out that there was no discount actually it was $0.50 cents less booking it directly through the hotel website. Hotwire website advertised that room with a saving of more than $110 per night which was false because after the fact the hotel website didn’t have that rate. I called Hotwire to let them know after making my research and instead of helping in some way to alleviate my disappointing experience, they were deceiving with their answers. They were coming with all sort of explanations that were not truthful. I knew because I researched before my call. They said that my room rate was higher when I was looking online at the hotel website rate and then they would change their tactics and say things like we offer assistance in case the hotel gets overbook… really??
So disappointing dealing with them, I no longer will do any business with them.. be aware of their tactics
Close commentsAdd reply

God, Hotwire sucks: Charged me for NOTHING. No service provided. Can't get money back
Posted by Lalafalala on 05/27/2008
Last Sunday, very early in the morning, I attempted to book a car rental through Hotwire from my hotel room in NC. At the end of the search, select, and provide credit card information sections, I pressed accept to complete the transaction and get my rental information. Instead, I received a notice informing me that the website was "unable to communicate" with their car-rental affiliates, was unable to process my request, and that I should start the process over in a few minutes. I did attempt several more times to book the car rental through them, and even switched computers once, thinking it might just be my mac laptop causing the problem, to no avail. Finally I gave up and booked the rental with another company.

Still, the next morning when I checked my bank account I found a charge pending for "Hotwire, Sales Final" in my bank account.. I called them. and talked to a very rude male customer "service" operator who basically said he'd never heard of such a thing and that he'd also never heard of a charge not being refunded due to company error. He assured me that the charge would disappear in a day or two. It's been three days and it's still on there.

I am now gearing up for war, but I would like to say to all who stumble across this review" DO NOT BOOK THROUGH HOTWIRE."

They truly are thieves. And, I found a better deal through Enterprise directly anyway.

     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by chris513 on 2008-05-27:
before you prepare for war, think about disputing the charge w/ your credit card company IF it actually goes through...you may want to contact hotwire again and ask to speak w/ a supervisor for more info and be sure to let them know the situation...no matter what, i am pretty sure this will be able to be fixed up...just take your time and be sure to not blow up at anyone...good luck!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-28:
I am guessing the charge was made with a check card(never a good idea by the way) the transaction is probably still in the hold stage. If the bank does not receive confirmation from the company for the charge it will probably drop off. In the mean time you should not be drawing against those funds as they are on hold and not available. It usually takes up to three days on hold before being released. If the charge ends up being processed, then file a dispute with your bank.
Posted by yoke on 2008-05-28:
Considering this past weekend was a holdiay weekend it may take a little longer. The banks were not open on Monday. Your 3 days start from the first business day. My guess is Friday the funds will be released.
Posted by carlm on 2008-06-27:
MY hunch is Hotwire wont do a thing. they are an awfull company. Never,never do anything withthem our there brothers at Expedia and hotels.com. Lousy, lousy scam.
Posted by rammaj on 2008-10-01:
too bad you don't know what a pending authorization is nor that the only one that can hold your funds is the bank. Hotwire can't hold your money. Did you ever think to call them and have the pending hold released, duhhhhhhhhh.
Posted by Sol on 2012-06-18:
Booked through HOTWIRE
I got a credit from the car rental company that went back to HOTWIRE.
They refused to pass on the credit.
Hotwire will never get my business again!
Close commentsAdd reply

Bad business, Overcharging, Rude customer Service
Posted by Care_ahhh on 07/16/2007
I made a reservation on Hotwire.com for a hotel in Pigeon Forge, TN. I paid $76.00 plus tax making the total $90.00. When I arrived at the hotel I saw the computer screen behind the desk. And was totally shocked to see that Hotwire was only being charged $52.00 for the room. I already paid a $5.00 booking fee to Hotwire and now they are getting $20.00 extra dollars?

Hotwire states they have "deeper" discounts because hotels sell them they unsold rooms. Yeah, hotels sell the rooms cheaper to Hotwire but Hotwire still charges the full price to customers. In fact, I could of saved close to $9.00 by just walking in or reserving on the DaysInn website. Their normal non-discounted rate was less than I paid.

I called Hotwire.com's customer service and waited 20 minutes to speak with someone. I got this very rude agent who stated,"we are a for-profit company and we can charge whatever we want for a room." I understand this, but the manner in which it was said was so rude! I could imagine her rolling her eyes when she said it. Well, since Hotwire did not save me anything and just upset me. I will take my business elsewhere. At lease then I won't get surprised with a "3 star" roach motel. The reason Hotwire.com doesn't tell you what hotel you will be staying at ahead of time..is just so that you can't check with the hotel to make sure you can't being charged MORE.

     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2007-07-16:
Congrats! You figured out their business model. Buy low, sell high.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-07-16:
live & learn...deal direct when able
Posted by Sarah May on 2007-07-16:
I have yet to hear good feedback about Priceline or any other company of that sort. Why bother going through them? Perhaps use their site as reference, to find hotels in the area, but call and reserve for yourself. The very rude customer service rep on the phone was right; they are for-profit and you'll always pay high when a profit-seeking middle man is involved. Thanks for the review.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-16:
While we are on the subject of travel web sites. Item in the paper last week stated that sites such as Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity are dropping their booking fees. That is because too many potential customers are using their sites to find the best fares and then jumping over to the hotel or airline sites to make the purchase.
Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2007-07-16:
I admit it PB - I use Orbitz to check my flight options and then I deal direct with the airline - I get a better deal going direct with the airline at least 80% of the time.
Posted by rhondam718732 on 2007-07-16:
It honestly amazes me that people still book on these types of sites without checking the actual hotel/airline sites in comparison. These sites have been around long enough for the word to have spread...they are not cheaper!
Posted by On the Road on 2009-03-10:
You most likely could not have gotten the rate you say, as it is a contract rate negotiated by Hotwire and the hotel. THere are other rates also not available to the public, like the rates travel industry employees get.
Close commentsAdd reply

Hotwire - Customer Service Means - Don't Care What You Paid; Out of Luck
Posted by Scoop42 on 10/04/2010
I made a 4 day rental on Hotwire (4 x 52.95). When I picked up the car, the car company showed 3 days on their documents. I called the car company when I noticed this during my vacation. We were told that we needed to deal with Hotwire because Hotwire sent 3 days to them; 3 days x 52.95 (and the car company representative said, "good luck with getting any refund from them").

That's when I discovered that a rental day doesn't mean 24 hours. It could mean 1 minute and up to 24 hours.

We used the car 3 days and 4 hours. The car company charged us $115 for bringing the car back 3 hours late. When I called Hotwire to get the $52.95 credited to my card for the 1 day that was not included in my Budget contract I was told that I would not get a credit because I returned the car late.

While sales are final with them, I would hope that Hotwire would at least give a customer the funds that were paid; not so. They have shady practices. I wish I would have read the reviews before using their services. It's not worth it!!! I WILL NEVER USE THEM AGAIN!

     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Ben There on 2010-10-04:
What times did you request for pick up and drop off when you made your booking?
Posted by dan gordon on 2010-10-04:
you were either charged for 3 or for 4 days, so which is it? If you weren't charged for 4 but thought you had booked 4 then you got what you paid for
Posted by Scoop42 on 2010-10-05:
I was charged for 4 days (4 x $52.95)at Hotwire and Budget had 3 days on their contract.
Posted by Scoop42 on 2010-10-05:
I picked up on Sept. 3 at 11:00 a.m. and returned the car on Sept. 6 at 4:00 p.m. The booking had a return of 12:00 p.m. I didn't think the returned time mattered since I knew it would be back before 11:00 a.m on Sept. 7th.
Posted by Ben There on 2010-10-05:
Some car companies give you an extra hour for not much additional money, so there is a 24 hour rate, a 24 + 1 hour rate, and then the 2 day rate. This is so people who are just over 24 hours are not penalized the full amount.
Close commentsAdd reply

Hotwire Cancels Reservation, No Notification
Posted by Jkrakower on 07/19/2010
On Saturday, July 17, 2010 I was scheduled to arrive in Fort Lauderdale, FL with a hotel reservation at the Crowne Plaza Airport/Cruise Port, booked through Hotwire.com. When I arrived at the hotel I gave them the printout of my confirmation from Hotwire with my reservation number. I was advised that the reservation was canceled by Hotwire and that I would need to contact them for more information. Keep in mind, this is a reservation that was completely paid for in advance. I called Hotwire and was told that my account was deactivated and that I would need to call the "Risk Management" department on Monday at 9am for more information, then number given was 415-343-8808, a number which leads directly to a voice mail not even indicating that it is thr "Risk Management" department. So here I am in the lobby of the hotel arguing with Hotwire customer service. My main problem at the time was that I received no emails or phone calls from Hotwire informing me of the change. Second problem is that I was told that Hotwire issued a refund and I have yet to see that. I asked the customer service agent when they decided to cancel and was told on July 14, 2010. I have since called my credit card company and placed a dispute. Here we are on Monday July, 19 and I have not received a return phone call from the "Risk Management" department. Furthermore, the customer service agent was very friendly up until he read that "Risk Management" canceled the reservation, then I was treated like a second rate criminal. I want to stress that this is my credit card that I am using, and have never had any other issues with it. I also verified with the card issuer that there are no problems with my account. This trip ended up costing a whole lot more than I originally anticipated, and hold Hotwire completely responsible. If I were to have advance notice, I could have rescheduled a hotel and then dealt with Hotwire. Needless to say I will never recommend Hotwire to anyone, and urge you the reader to not use them either.
     
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Weedwhacked on 2010-07-19:
Why didn't you call the hotel in advance to verify that Hotwire actually booked your room for you? Hotwire's reservations confirmations only shows that you're in their (Hotwire's) system.
Posted by jkrakower on 2010-07-20:
This had nothing to do with the hotel itself, the hotel confirmed with me that the room was booked and they saw the reservation, and I had a confirmed reservation up until the 14th when hotwire cancelled without notifying me....
Posted by Marlon on 2012-05-24:
I just had a very similar experience, fortunately I my card was not charged. But I tried to book with hotwire several times but it kept posting as an error. When I contacted the customer service number I was referred to the risk management department. The number I call goes straight to a voicemail, and i have yet to receive a return phone called. I have been treated very rudely by customer service, a manger told me "They just don't want to do business with me... And why don't I just try another site" I have never had a problem like this with any other company, but after reading a lot of complaints similar to mine on the internet I see I am not alone. If anyone knows something we can do to stop this from happening, and to make Hotwire do something I would love to help.
Posted by John on 2013-01-26:
Last night, I experienced the same issue with Hotwire. The put a $200 hold / charge on my credit card for a 1 night stay in downtown Cincinnati. When I arrived at the hotel (6 hours after the online booking) Hotwire cancelled the reservation for no clear reason. I was told by the hotel manager that only Hotwire could inform me on the reasons why.

So in the hotel lobby, I immediately called Hotwire customer service. The customer service rep, in my opinion, was polite but could not tell me anything or do anything only than transfer me to an unidentified voicemail box. I called back again hoping that someone could direct me to a "real" person. And that is when I asked what department owns this mailbox that I must leave a message in... Risk Management. To date, I've left them two messages and have not heard anything back via email nor phone.

The thing that really irritates me beyond not delivering a service they promised to me as a customer is that is there was NEVER an email or call telling me that they cancelled the reservation prior to me arriving at the hotel. This is shocking, distressing, and unfathomable from a customer experience perspective. Honestly, I have no issues with the customer service reps and supervisors whom I spoke with. The BIG issue that I have is with Hotwire, their processes, and problem resolution competency.

It was the first and last time that I'll ever use Hotwire. And block all of my company's employees from using it for business travel (which is what I was using it for). I'll post when someone actually calls me back from Risk Management.

Go to Expedia, Travelocity, Quikbook, or HotelTonight for something much better.
Posted by Irene on 2013-08-11:
Same thing just happened to my account, and to my husband's. Hotel cancelled and Hotwire acct disabled, with NO notification from Hotwire. Risk Mgmt never returns calls, and Customer Service says they can't do anything. I got to a Customer Service supervisor, and she told me if Risk Management haven't called back by now they probably never will, and I am lucky I got credit card refund.
Posted by Peter on 2013-09-14:
Hello,
I was just trying to make a reservation to Boston, but was not able to process it, got the error message. Costumer Service said they have deactivated my account b/c of risk team assessment. I was like what?! How did that happen? They direct you to a phone # VM that has no message of who you reached, etc. And it's a VM because they don't want to talk to people and if feel like dissing them, they don't have to explain or talk with them. I'm glad I didn't get stood up like some of you had
Posted by Jacqueline on 2013-09-14:
Same thing happenned to me- the hotel actually reimbursed Hotwire who never contacted me or returned my funds. i have been trying for the past 5 months and still no return phone call and they have not refunded my account, is this even legal?does anyone know if a case cam be brought up against Hotwire's policies?
Posted by Angel on 2013-12-12:
Same exact thing just happened to me. This will be reported to BBB
Posted by minhaja on 2013-12-16:
Exact same thing happened to me, but with airfare. Risk management is completely unreachable, and hotwire customer service is doing nothing. I submitted a complaint w/ the BBB..lets not let this company get away with such abusive practices.
Posted by Deinhart on 2014-03-24:
Same exact thing just happened to me in Barcelona (Europe). Risk management is also completely unreachable, and hotwire customer service is doing nothing.
Close commentsAdd reply

Bait and Switch
Posted by JenFrench on 07/27/2009
I booked a hotel for a family trip to Fenway Park in Boston for last weekend using Hotwire. After doing some research and wanting to stay in a hotel in Copley Square, I input all of the information into Hotwire with my request and selected a "blind" hotel at a rate I was comfortable with that I believed would be in afore mentioned area. After my order was placed, I was given the Best Western Roundhouse...being new to traveling in Boston, I just assumed we were going to be in or right near Copley Square. BUT, when we arrived we were EXTREMELY disappointed to find ourselves in a less than family friendly area and NOT within walking distance to Fenway. Think twice before booking with the Hotwire service. I know I won't book with them again.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Ben There on 2009-07-27:
Hotwire gives you a map of the area, and the hotel will fall into that map. If you are not familiar with the location then you probably should get your hotel in more traditional methods.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-27:
Not a bait & switch because you were not offered a specific hotel then switched to something else. That's the chance you took with selecting a 'blind' hotel through Hotwire. At the time that Best Western was probably the only one available via the 'blind' search on Hotwire. For now on do some research then call hotels for their best rates.
Posted by dan gordon on 2009-07-27:
better bidding.com would have given you a hotel list. There are different sites that would have helped you get a better idea of which hotel you were getting.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-27:
I've never been in that hotel, but I always thought it looked really cool. I don't know ages of your family, but you really weren't that far from the Fenway, as the crow flies it's maybe a 20 minute walk. You were also only a couple of blocks from the Green Line, so you could have taken a subway right to the Fenway stop.

As for not being family friendly, the area between you and the Fenway is 2/3 Boston Medical Center, and 1/3 Christian Science Mother Church, certainly not bad for an afternoon walk. By the waym the tour of the Mother Church is a really good take, and would have broken up the walk to Fenway.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-27:
The OP was correct when stating the property is not in a 'family friendly' area. According to TripAdvisor reviews posted there is a homeless shelter nearby which leads to many panhandlers. The parking may be free but it's not secured and unlit at night. It rated 65 out of 75 for the Boston area.
Close commentsAdd reply

Deceptive advertisement
Posted by Stanwi on 02/10/2008
ORANDO, FLORIDA -- I booked and purchased a room on there website. They do not show the hotel when you purchase the room but they do show star rating, location area and amenities. Amenities they show will be restaurant, swimming pool etc..Some of the hotels advertised show that they are non smoking hotels. My wife and me are smokers so I would not purchase that type of hotel. The hotel which I purchased did not show it as a non smoking hotel When I went to the hotel website it clearly states ( the hotel description) they have 400 guest rooms and below it its says they have 400 non smoking guest rooms. When you purchase a room on hotwire website they state they can not guarantee a smoking room. I am not questioning this policy. I selected this hotel because it was not shown to be a non smoking hotel and in the past when I booked on there website I have had success in getting smoking rooms. I can not get a smoking room in a non smoking hotel. One of the responses which they sent me indicated that they are (concerning stated amenities) subject to
the published conditions of carriage and rules of the applicable hotel. I based my decision to purchase this hotel on the stated amenities or in this case unstated amenity.

They are being defiant in giving me a refund. I have even sent this to them: FTC’s Deception Policy Statement, an ad is deceptive if it contains a statement—or omits information—that is likely to mislead consumers acting reasonably under the circumstances and is "material" or important to a consumer’s decision to buy or use the product.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by sabletaz on 2008-02-10:
Checked out their website last year, did NOT like it..Ended up booking with Orbitz.
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2008-02-10:
If you want something particular, book direct with the hotel. Booking direct will most likely be less $ anyway.

When I read what you wrote about the hotel having 400 guest rooms and 400 non smoking rooms, I would assume that 400-400= 0 Smoking rooms.
Posted by jlc9764 on 2008-03-07:
Hotwire.com clearly messages on their Web site if you have specific needs you should book directly through a hotel and even directs you to other Web sites where you can make specific requests......
Close commentsAdd reply

Insulting customer service at hotwire
Posted by Eelbeck on 11/15/2006
INTERNET -- We arrived around 10pm November 3, 2006 in Alexandria Virgina to stay at a purported (by Hotwire) 3-
star Radisson we'd booked through HOTWIRE for $128.00 for two nights , were
given room keys, and unpacked. Around 10:30 we called to report
that two lamps were not working, a phone was not working, and there were
no ashtrays in this 'smoking' room. The desk clerk came up and
put us in another room, claiming that it was easier to move us than
the address the reported problems. We moved to another
room, quickly unpacked again, and left to eat, returning around 11:45
to notice that the room had not been vacuumed... there were cellophane
wrappers on the carpet, and ashes by the bedstand, .Then we walked
into the bathroom to notice pubic hair on toilet, and many puddled
urine stains on toilet rim, and on the floor.
We quickly packed again, checked out around
midnight, and spent the next hour securing a decent place in town to stay. We not only did not stay there because of sanitation
reasons, we were very much inconvenienced by the situation and wound
up paying over $200for Fri/Sat nights at another hotel.
Hotwire refused to refund the $128.68
charged, rather offered us an insulting $50.00 credit on our 'next booking', as if we would ever use them again!
Hotwire profited nicely (Raddison had paid them)on our extreme inconvenience. In reviewing many complaint sites about Hotwire, I've learned (too late) that they NEVER refund money for any cirumstances. BEWARE of these crooks.

     
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Doe3001 on 2006-11-15:
Hotwire is owned by EXPEDIA. If they follow the same policy you are doomed (personal experience with EXPEDIA). Read my profile to see what you can expect from them.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-15:
Why is this Hotwire's fault, and not Raddison's?
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-15:
Why is this Hotwire's fault, and not Raddison's?
Posted by Doe3001 on 2006-11-15:
Ken: no intention to offend: you are an example of a potential victims for the "double click" scam.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-15:
I agree with Ken, both times.
Posted by rhondam718732 on 2006-11-15:
Let me ask some of you this... If you buy a brand new Lexus from Joe's Lexus and the car's engine seizes up...are you going to let Joe's Lexus "off the hook" while you battle it out direct with Lexus? NO! Same with these "host" companies. If a business sells you a product or a service as a reseller they should have some ownership in how the product/service pans out for the customer. After all they are making money off of us but when a problem occurs they should get to just point their finger to the manufacturer or hotel chain solely? Hotwire doesn't personally clean & inspect the rooms it sells, but it vouches for the hotel as a particular type/star, etc. And it should appeas a wronged customer & take it up with the hotel they contracted with; not leave the burden to the customer who has already paid them.
Posted by Doe3001 on 2006-11-15:
Good point rhon: blaming just the hotel is not right and only allows these companies to continue their bad business practice. They should take responsibility too. Look at hotels.com (another company owned by EXPEDIA). In their ads they make people believe that they inspect all hotels they list(sending a "team" of Experts) but just go and read all the complaints they have in the web.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-16:
Well Rhon... using your logic, if you went to the supermarket and bought a can of beans, then opened it and found a dead mouse in it... you sue the supermarket?
Posted by cd123 on 2006-11-23:
Radisson actually had the bad product, not Hotwire. While you might want to forward your concerns to Hotwide so they may investigate the problems, you should focus your ander to the hotel chain. If you buy a CD from Amazon.com that you just hate once you get it in the mail and listen to it, would you blame Amazon or the band?
Posted by lorable lore on 2014-03-31:
The dead mouse / soup can analogy is stupid. Do you think that supermarket would continue to carry this soup maker? do you think the supermarket manager would be embarrassed and horrified that this happened in his store? Hotwire should refund the money, lower its start rating or remove this property from its offering. That is good business, and im sure the above customer would use hotwire again.
Close commentsAdd reply

Car Rental Goes to HELL
Posted by A2011 on 07/05/2011
I had the worst experience with Hotwire for a car rental with Enterprise company. My husband and I had to fly to Seattle, and our flight arrived at 10:30pm. We had scheduled for a car reservation for 10:30pm with Enterprise, which is at a off site location. We READ EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING, I MEAN EVERYTHING on all the information sent to us by Hotwire before we decided to complete the reservation. After we got off our flight, and finished picking up our luggage, it was 10:57pm, We proceeded to the island to wait for a shuttle to take us to the off site location of Enterprise. After waiting for 1 hour to midnight, in the mid 50's weather, no shuttle from Enterprise ever came. So, we called Enterprise, and they told us, the ENTERPRISE OFF SITE location close at 11pm. Now, it is midnight, and we just found out we cannot pick up our rental car. We called HOTWIRE immediately because in no-where on our reservation did HOTWIRE say that Enterprise closed at 11pm. IF we had known the off site counter at Enterprise closed at 11pm, we would not have chosen this company, and we would not pay for the reservation. Instead, HOTWIRE claims they have no responsibility to tell us Enterprise closed at 11pm.

I don't understand why HOTWIRE feels that they have no responsibility to tell us that Enterprise closed at 11pm. Instead, HOTWIRE said we should have known ourselves. So, we called back Enterprise to see what they can do to help us, and Enterprise tells us that Enterprise had always told HOTWIRE that their location at Seattle International Airport closes at 11pm. So, HOTWIRE IS LYING, and NOT ADMITTING THEY ARE DECEIVING CUSTOMERS BECAUSE HOTWIRE DON'T WANT TO ADMIT THEY ARE AT FAULT.

I am posting this here because I want to make sure this never happens to anyone. I mean, imagine if you are a single mom with a young child or baby, and you found out at midnight standing outside of the airport at the shuttle bus island, and just found out that you now have to wait until the next morning, until 4am to pick up the car.

Just to be clear, Enterprise did not wrong us, because Enterprise always knew they would close at 11pm, and they sent over this information to HOTWIRE, but HOTWIRE NEVER DISCLOSED THIS INFORMATION TO US.

SO, PLEASE ANYONE, IF YOU EVER MADE A CAR RESERVATION AT HOTWIRE, MAKE SURE YOU CALL HOTWIRE TO FIND OUT WHAT TIME THE CAR COMPANY PICK UP LOCATION CLOSES BEFORE YOU DECIDE TO PAY.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-07-05:
Good review, welcome to m3c and stick around..
Posted by Ben There on 2011-07-05:
I always make car rental reservations for 30 minutes after my flight lands. This allows for small delays, standing in line to get off the plane, waiting for checked bags, take the shuttle for the car rental office, etc... If my reservation is really late at night, it will also reduce the chances of getting a rental company that will be closing at the time I realistically will be walking up to the counter.

You told Hotwire that you would be at the car rental counter at 10:30 pm. Unfortunately they did not know that you really meant that your plane would be pulling up at the gate at 10:30 pm, and it would take some time for you to get your bags and work your way over to the counter.

Next time you make a car rental reservation, be sure to give them the time you will be at the counter, not arriving at the gate. If you arrive early, you normally can get your car early too!
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-07-05:
Hotwire did not lie to you. They told you it was your responsibility to check on the Enterprise hours. If Enterprise lets Hotwire know what time they close, it doesn't require Hotwire to post it in their ads. Hotwire may have that information on file, and if you told them you were arriving at 11pm or 11:30pm, would have warned you the location was closed. But your arrival was 10:30pm.

I doubt *highly* that Hotwire does this to "deceive" and inconvenience their customers. This is a consequence of using third party services - you have to do homework. I'm sorry this happened to you - one more reason I will avoid third parties for car rentals, air tickets, etc.

By all means, "welcome to my3c." Stop over in the Community Ward if you get a chance.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-07-05:
Great suggestions, BT, of making the reservation for 30 minutes after the flight is due and everything else you mentioned.
Posted by Tom2011 on 2011-07-14:
Horrible everything!!!! Customer service, supervisors and car company act like they are talking to an ignorant person and whatever happened was my fault because I did not research my choice. I insisted I filled in the correct information and found a "deal" but then a pop-up appeared with a lower car rental price so I fell for it. The car was 30 minutes away from the airport and I had to take a cab which the car rental rep at the airport said would be around $10 but wound up being $45. It cost another $35 to be able to return the car at the airport. I think the pop-up is misleading especially since it changed the destination away from the airport.
Close commentsAdd reply

Misleading!!!!!
Posted by KevyKev on 10/02/2010
I haven't used Hotwire in a couple years and will NEVER use it again!!!! Today I used Hotwire to book a hotel in Pittsburgh, PA. I saw that they had a good deal on a three star hotel at $95 and because I know the city well I figured I had it narrowed down to three possible hotels. Boy was I wrong! I ended up with a reservaton at what used to be the Pittsburgh Hilton, but is now known as the Grand Pittsburgh Downtown. The Grand Pittsburgh Downtown doesn't even have a friggin website I come to find out! Moreover, I find that Hilton stripped the place of the Hilton name only a month ago because the failed numerous inspections! Also, according to the Tribune-Review and USA Today, the management company that owns the hotel has filed for bankruptcy because the owner of the property filed for foreclosure after Hilton removed their name. All of this is easy to find out online, but apparently Hotwire doesn't care to research the hotels that supply them. Furthermore, no other travel sites I could find were offering rooms at this hotel for my travel dates! I wonder why????? I called Hotwire customer service to voice my concerns and change my reservation but was greeted with company line after company line about their reservation policy. I was told that I could not change my reservation, and in fact I didn't have to use it but I would still be charged for it! Even after talking to a supervisor who said the understood my concerns, they still in the end, gave me the same company line and would not change my reservation. To me a sign of a bad and struggling business is the willingness to partner with bad and struggling companies to try to survive. Hotwire is exactly that, a bad business with shotty practices! How can you send people to a hotel with bad reviews, a bankrupt owner, and no website and call it three stars? What a rip off! Hotwire is a joke! I recommend paying the extra fifty or so dollars to know where your staying instead of ending up at some mom and pops place with no website and bad reviews!!!
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by robbydee on 2010-10-02:
I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Using discount travel companies are risky at best. In this situation, I wonder how they establish their rating system? How do they verify that a hotel is worthy of the rating? These are questions I would have asked PRIOR to booking. Now that you have booked, you have no recourse but to live with their policy and the contract you have with them. I guess you can chalk this up as a learning experience. Good luck on all future trips.
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2010-10-02:
The more money Hotwire makes from a given hotel the higher the rating. Profit, my good man, profit. That is how the rating is determined.

I just don't understand why people think it wise to engage an unnecessary middleman to do bookings. Gives everybody downstream from you the opportunity to point fingers at each other or blame you if something goes wrong.
Posted by Skye on 2010-10-02:
I also do not understand why people use third party bookings, when it's so easy to make all of your own flight arrangements, hotel/motel reservations and reservations for a vehicle, if needed. EVERYONE of them always have a website, very user friendly, and you know exactly what you are getting. I love making my own reservations for whatever. And if there ever is a problem, though I've been lucky, no problems, but if there is, I can just deal directly with whomever the problem may be with, instead of trying to get someone from a third party entity to resolve a situation. All I ever see are complaints against Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity. Never read anything positve about them.
Posted by Scoop42 on 2010-10-05:
There are credible third party bookings that can save a travler a lot of money. I've used Expedia and I've never had an issue. Ethical practices.
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >