Preview Review

Next Review

Hotwire Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Hotel Booked and Paid, But Full - Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

Never use them! Obscenely long wait times! Don't value customers or their time in any way! Worst customer service I've ever experienced! Just pay the extra $25 or so and go with a different company! Or book directly with the hotel - they usually match the rate anyway! I promise it'll be better than this!! Expedia is their parent company fyi!!

I booked a hotel with Hotwire online and when we arrived the hotel was fully booked. (It was 10 pm at this time. My husband and I were driving/moving cross country. Tired.) The hotel was helpful and tried to find us accommodations. We drove to a few of these options, but the hotels they offered were far below the caliber of their hotel - what we already booked and paid for. We just booked a new reservation through a different hotel altogether.

We were never contacted by Hotwire at the time of the error or the next day, although the hotel told us Hotwire would contact us to refund us (the hotel did notify Hotwire of the problem). In my opinion, it's Hotwire's mistake, so they should be making up for their error by offering us a better hotel, at the very least. Anyway, we had to call them the next day for a refund and spoke to about 4 people and finally they gave a refund 2 hours later.

The bigger issue was this: I asked how they could compensate us for this, maybe a voucher? It took a lot of discussion, and then they offered a voucher, but they said I had to book on the phone to redeem it. Ok, that's fine. How do I do that? Well they said the representative would just know when I called. Um, right. I don't think so. I finally got a reference number for the voucher and hung up with them.

Then, comes time to book another hotel on our driving move. That reference number doesn't exist!!! It took literally 3 hours of phone calls, transfers (they never explain what happened to the person they transfer you to, so you waste your time, and it seems no one can even help with the problem because "it's not their department" and they transfer you again and again, and it's an infuriating cycle that goes nowhere!). I asked for a supervisor several times, after it became clear no one could help me and I kept being transferred ugh!

Oh, I should mention they were extremely reluctant to transfer me to a supervisor, and once transferred me and then turns out that person wasn't even a supervisor, another useless transfer. So now, I'm cursing and screaming (This is so not my personality btw, but they were infuriating and refused to let me talk to a supervisor!) I got a supervisor after being on hold for 40 minutes. So talked to the supervisor, and yeah, she said they "don't do vouchers". Are you kidding me? This supervisor I actually was patient with, giving the company one last chance to redeem themselves.

So, yup, they "don't do vouchers" and could offer nothing for the hours of waits, disgraceful service, the error on the first booking, and the person who basically lied by saying we could get a voucher. So, no resolution. Yep. Don't waste your time or get yourself angry/ruin your day/hour/vacation for them!!

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN FRANCISCO, FLORIDA -- WORSE SERVICE EVER!!! When we arrived at the hotel I was informed that the hotel called Hotwire at 10:20 am to inform that they were sold out and had to cancel the reservation. The hotel was told by Hotwire they would contact me about the cancellation. I didn't receive any phone call and drove over 250 miles to find out we didn't have a room to stay in. The hotel representative called Hotwire and waited 35 minutes for someone to answer.

The representative who answered told her he couldn't do the rebook and I needed to call directly 866-hot-wire. It took 45 minutes for me to get a representative on the line while my whole family, including my 2 year old son and veteran father in law, slept uncomfortably in the car due to the incompetence of your company. I spoke to a representative who gave me NO solution and therefore asked to speak to a supervisor. I waited another 15 to 20 minutes for a supervisor to come on the line to finally tell me that since it was after midnight he couldn't book the reservation for me, I had to walk in and request the rooms.

I ended up at a very run down hotel not a 3 star like the one I booked. Due to no real solution I was forced to drive there and pay for it out my own pocket to find that the conditions of the hotel less than desirable. I was told by the supervisor that I needed to fax the receipt in and the research department would determine how much to credit me. Your company ruined my Memorial Day weekend vacation with my family. The gift of relaxation and visiting another city was ruined by your company.

Replies
Totally Rude
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ON LINE -- I called and placed reservations for my nephew to visit for Christmas. A week before he became sick and I called Hotwire to find out what would happen if he ended up not being able to travel. The lady did not speak English too well and we had a terrible conversation. After about an hour of back and forth I thought that she had gotten the message of what I wanted and was going to send me the information to my email.

4 days later I look into my email and see a cancellation notice from Hotwire. I talked with a guy named Luis on Saturday, 12 December at 7 p.m. and got the rudest customer service I have ever received in my life. After him basically calling me a liar he told me that he was the supervisor and I could not talk to someone over his head. I told him that everyone has a boss and I want to speak to his. He told me it would be about a 45-minute wait and I said that I would wait. Boy did I not now know that I was getting the next level of rude named Victor.

OMG. He was short and told me to basically take it up with the airlines. I asked for his boss and he told me that there is not higher level than him. He cut me off and said he would refund my money but he was not going to do anything else because he did not believe my story. I asked "Don't you guys record all calls?" And he said "Yes." I told him to listen to the call and he basically said "No."

He again cut the conversation and told me to hold and the hold music started. I was blown away. He came back and said "Refund is done" and "Goodbye." I will share this story on every blog I can until I get a call from Hotwire. I also have a recording of the call and will go public with it as much as possible. This is crazy!

Replies
Disgusted...Dissatisfied...Discriminated Against
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUGUSTA, GEORGIA -- I have never in my life been treated so badly. The gentlemen, and I use that term very loosely, at the front desk are truly rude. Tonight, my family traveled from Fayetteville, NC for 3 1/2 hours to spend Thanksgiving with our loved ones, only to have our trip ruined. I booked through Hotwire as we normally do. Maybe this is what makes Jameson Suites feel that we can be treated as second-rate citizens, but as an active military family, we utilize the site to accommodate our budget.

Online, I booked a reservation for 2 adults and 1 child as I normally do, as I was instructed to do to ensure double beds. I checked in and was given the hardest time about the booking last name being different from my military ID, but DID match the billing name on the reservation. I was finally able to check in by showing my child's insurance card. Make sense?? It didn't to me either. I was given a king-size with a pull out. A pull out that when unfolded, popped out a dirty Q-tip and a flimsy mattress - something that my child does not even sleep on at home.

When I called the front desk, the FIRST thing I was told was HOTWIRE, HOTWIRE, HOTWIRE!!! "We have no control over what Hotwire does and we have nothing that we can offer to accommodate you." I proceeded to explain that in this room, once you pull out the "bed", move the end chair to the sofa, and the table, there is zero room to move about freely in the room. Again, I was given HOTWIRE, HOTWIRE, HOTWIRE!!

I hung up the phone after being yelled at to the tune of "MA'AM!!!", not Mrs. **, at least four times. My husband went downstairs to try to address the situation and come to a resolution, and again was treated as scum because we booked via Hotwire. When he mentioned not being able to maneuver freely throughout the room, he was offered to option of having someone come to move the table and extra things out of the room. Make sense??? It didn't to us either!!

I can't begin to explain how frustrated we are. We had a similar situation previously this past summer at the Jameson Inn on Park W Dr. in Grovetown, GA and was advised that we should book with the Claussen Rd location as the other is independently owned and we would be treated much better. I beg to differ. It appears that all of the customer service "professionals" skipped the customer service part of training.

I've never felt such blatant discrimination and treated in a "you get what you pay for" manner in my entire life and will ensure that this is known throughout my hometown of Augusta, GA as well as via reviews on the site. I called Hotwire and of course they were NO help. The representative barely spoke English. Thanksgiving ruined!!

Replies
Advertisement
Do Not Use Hotwire.com
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I booked a car rental through Hotwire.com that cost $307.20. My wife called me 2 days later and states that we were charged twice, once on February 27th and again on March 2nd of 2015. I call Hotwire, someone from the Philippines answers and tells me that "I'm one of those customers whose been charged twice" and that'll I'll be refunded within 24 hours. As of writing this review still no refund of my money.

A few minutes later I email Hotwire and tell them I want some form of compensation since I paid for this reservation with a debit card aka cash from my bank and not a credit card. (Unlike other vacation booking sites Hotwire ALWAYS requires immediate payment with no cancellation whatsoever with no option of cancellation which is shady) So that's an additional $307 that could be in my account but isn't available to me.

They email me back assuring me my account wasn't debited twice, while I'm literally looking at my bank of America account seeing it was, without any mention of compensating me for the inconvenience. They told me this is how they authorize a credit card charge. So basically if I'd of booked a $3000 trip, I'd have been charged $6000 to authorized. I emailed them that info that I clearly see it was and I was never email back. The Chicago Sun-Times back in 2008 wrote that this is something Hotwire does, Google Hotwire charges twice to read article, and obviously they still up to it. SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM. (transcript below)

"Thank you for contacting Hotwire Customer Care regarding your reservation with Hertz at the Austin–Bergstrom International Airport, scheduled for pick up on itinerary ********98. I understand you were charged twice on your reservation. I would be willing to check and provide details regarding this matter.

I can assure you that you were only charged once for this reservation. What you are seeing is an authorization on the card or account. These authorizations occur when we validate your card at the time of booking. Most financial institutions remove authorizations routinely within a few days. For more information about your specific financial institution's policies and your credit card or account, please contact your bank or credit card company. If you have any questions, please reply to this message or call Customer Care at 1-866-HOTWIRE (468-9473). Thank you for choosing Hotwire."

Replies
Huge Scam, Worst Company!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This website is a big scam. They change the information in order to trick you into booking bad hotels. I was promised a 4 1/2 star hotel 100% recommended and got one terribly recommended. Called right away to cancel and the attendant kindly asked me to check for myself and if something was wrong they would help. I'm here, lost my entire day looking for the place since it was not even in the city I had booked and It's just as bad as the worst reviews. As for Hotwire? There's nothing they can do, they already have my money!

Replies
Rip Off - System Glitch Then Charge Your Card - Beware Or You Won't See Your Money Back!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEBRASKA -- System glitch but they will still not refund your money. This all happened within 1 hour. Booked once "no availability." Booked the second time, no availability BUT was charged for both bookings. Booked elsewhere. Checked my account, 2 charges of $250+. Called to dispute charges. First call, agent said he will look into it. After a few minutes of being on hold, he hung up on me.

I called the second time, spoke with an agent who said they can only refund one booking. Spoke with a supervisor, she said the same thing. GLITCH in their system BUT I STILL HAVE TO PAY. They do not want to refund despite acknowledging the error message. I asked Lorraine (supervisor) from the Philippines a rhetorical questions what she would do if she was placed in the same situation and she accused me of calling her names. Oh lordy. Chargeback here I come. Stay away from Hotwire, use other booking sites that are more reliable than these crooks. Their fault but blaming it on the customer.

Replies
Dishonest Reviews From a Company Too Profitable to Care What You or I think...
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS -- I called Hotwire's customer service after reading reviews on this and other sites, to let them know that they just lost a new customer before I ever became one due to all the negative reviews about them, on the Internet. The lady who answered the phone said that she was just an hourly employee who didn't have any control over the quality of their listings, and that my complaint would be registered in their system. But that it is but one of thousands like it that have had no effect upon their business.

Based upon her comments, I have a feeling that Hotwire's general opinion of their customers is probably apathetic, if not hostile. Either use their service or don't. They really don't care. Enough suckers will fall for their scheme, so that they will be laughing at us, all the way to the bank. The only reason I'm rating them with two stars instead of only one is because at least their phone representative was polite.

Replies
Advertisement
The most horrible experience I have ever had. I was scam out of my money and left to sleep in my car.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN DEIGO, CALIFORNIA -- On June 16th 2015 I booked a hotel from Hotwire.com in San Diego, CA at the Roadway Hotel on Roosevelt St. When we arrive at the hotel they gave us a room that smells so bad that I found myself gagging and coughing. It smelled like stale cigarette smoke and butt.

When we went to the office to complain the clerk that we ask for a non-smoking room. He treated us like we were dogs. He talked down to us and he told us that we couldn't get another room because they were all booked up. They refused to give us a refund of our money so we could go elsewhere. They told us that there was nothing that they could do so we had to spend the night in the car, In a strange city, and a not so safe neighborhood. When I told them that my wife suffer from upper respiratory problems and could not stay in that room, they offered to book us a room at another hotel that cost three times the money.

We were in a strange area and didn't know our way around. Mind you, this was at night. They had no sympathy at all for us. When we called the company, they took almost two hours to get through to them. They did not solve our problem. So we just decided to give up and spend the night in the car. I wish that I had read the reviews about this company before I paid out my money. I could have saved myself and my family a lot of heartache and pain. I want everyone to beware of booking hotels with this company. You will be out of money and no place go.

Replies
I Will Never Use Hotwire Again
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I just called into the Hotwire call center, and was very displeased with the service. I booked a hotel in Vegas through Hotwire, and the rate the hotel charged was different than what I had to pay. I called in to Hotwire to complain. They credited me back the difference. This was over a year ago. I just tried to use the credit, and it shows as expired. I stopped using Hotwire after that transaction, as I was not pleased. I had previously used Hotwire on at least 10+ different hotel stays with no issue. I called into the call center to see if they would re-instate the credit, as they never told me the credit expires.

The first time calling, I was transferred to 4 different people, then put on hold for 15-minutes before getting cut off. When I called back again, I was transferred again. I explained the situation, and that I stopped using Hotwire after that transaction. I asked if they could re-instate the credit, as I wanted to try their service again. The person continually repeated that Hotwire policy does not allow a credit to be re-instated.

I understand that Hotwire is able to determine their own policy, and apply it how they please. I find it very poor business that they would lose me as a customer over a $100 credit. I have used their service at least a dozen times a year in the past. I stay in hotels over 150 nights a year. I used to recommend Hotwire to people. I will not recommend them anymore. Nor will I ever stay with them again.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Hotwire Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 97 ratings and
167 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Hotwire
333 Market St., Ste. 100
San Francisco, CA 94105
415-343-8400 (ph)
415-343-8401 (fax)
www.hotwire.com
Compare Travel Services