AUGUSTA, GEORGIA -- I have never in my life been treated so badly. The gentlemen, and I use that term very loosely, at the front desk are truly rude. Tonight, my family traveled from Fayetteville, NC for 3 1/2 hours to spend Thanksgiving with our loved ones, only to have our trip ruined. I booked through Hotwire as we normally do. Maybe this is what makes Jameson Suites feel that we can be treated as second-rate citizens, but as an active military family, we utilize the site to accommodate our budget.
Online, I booked a reservation for 2 adults and 1 child as I normally do, as I was instructed to do to ensure double beds. I checked in and was given the hardest time about the booking last name being different from my military ID, but DID match the billing name on the reservation. I was finally able to check in by showing my child's insurance card. Make sense?? It didn't to me either. I was given a king-size with a pull out. A pull out that when unfolded, popped out a dirty Q-tip and a flimsy mattress - something that my child does not even sleep on at home.
When I called the front desk, the FIRST thing I was told was HOTWIRE, HOTWIRE, HOTWIRE!!! "We have no control over what Hotwire does and we have nothing that we can offer to accommodate you." I proceeded to explain that in this room, once you pull out the "bed", move the end chair to the sofa, and the table, there is zero room to move about freely in the room. Again, I was given HOTWIRE, HOTWIRE, HOTWIRE!!
I hung up the phone after being yelled at to the tune of "MA'AM!!!", not Mrs. **, at least four times. My husband went downstairs to try to address the situation and come to a resolution, and again was treated as scum because we booked via Hotwire. When he mentioned not being able to maneuver freely throughout the room, he was offered to option of having someone come to move the table and extra things out of the room. Make sense??? It didn't to us either!!
I can't begin to explain how frustrated we are. We had a similar situation previously this past summer at the Jameson Inn on Park W Dr. in Grovetown, GA and was advised that we should book with the Claussen Rd location as the other is independently owned and we would be treated much better. I beg to differ. It appears that all of the customer service "professionals" skipped the customer service part of training.
I've never felt such blatant discrimination and treated in a "you get what you pay for" manner in my entire life and will ensure that this is known throughout my hometown of Augusta, GA as well as via reviews on the site. I called Hotwire and of course they were NO help. The representative barely spoke English. Thanksgiving ruined!!
I booked a car rental through Hotwire.com that cost $307.20. My wife called me 2 days later and states that we were charged twice, once on February 27th and again on March 2nd of 2015. I call Hotwire, someone from the Philippines answers and tells me that "I'm one of those customers whose been charged twice" and that'll I'll be refunded within 24 hours. As of writing this review still no refund of my money.
A few minutes later I email Hotwire and tell them I want some form of compensation since I paid for this reservation with a debit card aka cash from my bank and not a credit card. (Unlike other vacation booking sites Hotwire ALWAYS requires immediate payment with no cancellation whatsoever with no option of cancellation which is shady) So that's an additional $307 that could be in my account but isn't available to me.
They email me back assuring me my account wasn't debited twice, while I'm literally looking at my bank of America account seeing it was, without any mention of compensating me for the inconvenience. They told me this is how they authorize a credit card charge. So basically if I'd of booked a $3000 trip, I'd have been charged $6000 to authorized. I emailed them that info that I clearly see it was and I was never email back. The Chicago Sun-Times back in 2008 wrote that this is something Hotwire does, Google Hotwire charges twice to read article, and obviously they still up to it. SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM. (transcript below)
"Thank you for contacting Hotwire Customer Care regarding your reservation with Hertz at the Austin–Bergstrom International Airport, scheduled for pick up on itinerary ********98. I understand you were charged twice on your reservation. I would be willing to check and provide details regarding this matter.
I can assure you that you were only charged once for this reservation. What you are seeing is an authorization on the card or account. These authorizations occur when we validate your card at the time of booking. Most financial institutions remove authorizations routinely within a few days. For more information about your specific financial institution's policies and your credit card or account, please contact your bank or credit card company. If you have any questions, please reply to this message or call Customer Care at 1-866-HOTWIRE (468-9473). Thank you for choosing Hotwire."
SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA -- Beware!! Customers please utilize other websites and you'll find much better bargains. They impose heavier taxes for hotels than the norm just to increase their profit. Also, they will book you for smoking rooms without you even choosing them in the first place and without that option even being given. They imposed a smoking room on me and I was traveling with an infant.
Called emir customer service to let them know this isn't right! They could care less over in the Philippines. I stated I've contacted the hotel after I made a booking to select double beds and they informed me Hotwire booked me for smoking queen. I said this was never even an option on the site for me to select. Just simply stated special hot rate room, nothing more and stated on their page bed type will be selected by hotel, not room type!!! These people are scammers and rob you blind imposing huge heavy taxes than the norm compared to other websites. Somebody needs to file claim with these people and take them to court.
SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA -- I was ripped off by paying more for a lower rate hotel and worst than that I haven't been able to talk to a customer service representative. Every time I start explaining my issue, they hang up the phone. I called them over 10 times in the past 24 hours hoping one would listen. After reaching out via email and Facebook explaining my frustration and asking to be contacted by someone with authority who is not based in India, I received an auto reply from each source advising me to call toll free number again. This was my first and last time using Hotwire!
ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- We booked hotel on trivago.com. That site directed us with a decently priced and cheap hotel for the remainder of night and morning. We arrived at the hotel roughly 4 am and after handing the guy my Florida DL and FOP, he stated that we were about to give our information nosh but not check in until 3 in the afternoon, which is almost 12 hours past the current time.
So now after prepaying for a reservation that we confirmed because it had matched out itinerary, we had to go find a new hotel, very inconvenienced, and pay more money than what the Hotwire.com booking is. Our plans changed later on, while searching for a number to contract trivago, and the number seems not exist. We go back to the hotel and decide it would be best to just stay there for the night. Upon arrival the clerk grabs the FOP & DL and instantly responds by saying they won't rent to people with Florida IDs.
So we called Hotwire now to issue us a refund for letting us book at a certain date and time that we requested. I let them know that I wanted more so, trust me you will get use to it for just a couple weeks more, complete refund on Ralphs FOP and a certificate of credit. Two times inconvenienced at the hotel, gas, more expensive.
This website is a big scam. They change the information in order to trick you into booking bad hotels. I was promised a 4 1/2 star hotel 100% recommended and got one terribly recommended. Called right away to cancel and the attendant kindly asked me to check for myself and if something was wrong they would help. I'm here, lost my entire day looking for the place since it was not even in the city I had booked and It's just as bad as the worst reviews. As for Hotwire? There's nothing they can do, they already have my money!
LAS VEGAS, NEBRASKA -- System glitch but they will still not refund your money. This all happened within 1 hour. Booked once "no availability." Booked the second time, no availability BUT was charged for both bookings. Booked elsewhere. Checked my account, 2 charges of $250+. Called to dispute charges. First call, agent said he will look into it. After a few minutes of being on hold, he hung up on me.
I called the second time, spoke with an agent who said they can only refund one booking. Spoke with a supervisor, she said the same thing. GLITCH in their system BUT I STILL HAVE TO PAY. They do not want to refund despite acknowledging the error message. I asked Lorraine (supervisor) from the Philippines a rhetorical questions what she would do if she was placed in the same situation and she accused me of calling her names. Oh lordy. Chargeback here I come. Stay away from Hotwire, use other booking sites that are more reliable than these crooks. Their fault but blaming it on the customer.
LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS -- I called Hotwire's customer service after reading reviews on this and other sites, to let them know that they just lost a new customer before I ever became one due to all the negative reviews about them, on the Internet. The lady who answered the phone said that she was just an hourly employee who didn't have any control over the quality of their listings, and that my complaint would be registered in their system. But that it is but one of thousands like it that have had no effect upon their business.
Based upon her comments, I have a feeling that Hotwire's general opinion of their customers is probably apathetic, if not hostile. Either use their service or don't. They really don't care. Enough suckers will fall for their scheme, so that they will be laughing at us, all the way to the bank. The only reason I'm rating them with two stars instead of only one is because at least their phone representative was polite.
SAN DEIGO, CALIFORNIA -- On June 16th 2015 I booked a hotel from Hotwire.com in San Diego, CA at the Roadway Hotel on Roosevelt St. When we arrive at the hotel they gave us a room that smells so bad that I found myself gagging and coughing. It smelled like stale cigarette smoke and butt.
When we went to the office to complain the clerk that we ask for a non-smoking room. He treated us like we were dogs. He talked down to us and he told us that we couldn't get another room because they were all booked up. They refused to give us a refund of our money so we could go elsewhere. They told us that there was nothing that they could do so we had to spend the night in the car, In a strange city, and a not so safe neighborhood. When I told them that my wife suffer from upper respiratory problems and could not stay in that room, they offered to book us a room at another hotel that cost three times the money.
We were in a strange area and didn't know our way around. Mind you, this was at night. They had no sympathy at all for us. When we called the company, they took almost two hours to get through to them. They did not solve our problem. So we just decided to give up and spend the night in the car. I wish that I had read the reviews about this company before I paid out my money. I could have saved myself and my family a lot of heartache and pain. I want everyone to beware of booking hotels with this company. You will be out of money and no place go.
I just called into the Hotwire call center, and was very displeased with the service. I booked a hotel in Vegas through Hotwire, and the rate the hotel charged was different than what I had to pay. I called in to Hotwire to complain. They credited me back the difference. This was over a year ago. I just tried to use the credit, and it shows as expired. I stopped using Hotwire after that transaction, as I was not pleased. I had previously used Hotwire on at least 10+ different hotel stays with no issue. I called into the call center to see if they would re-instate the credit, as they never told me the credit expires.
The first time calling, I was transferred to 4 different people, then put on hold for 15-minutes before getting cut off. When I called back again, I was transferred again. I explained the situation, and that I stopped using Hotwire after that transaction. I asked if they could re-instate the credit, as I wanted to try their service again. The person continually repeated that Hotwire policy does not allow a credit to be re-instated.
I understand that Hotwire is able to determine their own policy, and apply it how they please. I find it very poor business that they would lose me as a customer over a $100 credit. I have used their service at least a dozen times a year in the past. I stay in hotels over 150 nights a year. I used to recommend Hotwire to people. I will not recommend them anymore. Nor will I ever stay with them again.