Preview Review

Next Review

Hughes Net Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Thieves
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MISSOURI -- My 2-year contract was up in July and I was overjoyed to finally cancel service. They sent me the box to pack their satellite parts and I packed it and shipped it off with the UPS man. Later that day, HughesNet took 312.68 dollars out of my bank account. I called them and was told that I will get my money back when they receive their box. I went to the bank to do a 'block payment' to prevent them from having access to my account and if I'm not reimbursed, will then file a dispute through my bank. Complete thieves!

Replies
Advertisement
Returned Equipment and Still Charged.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILTON, CALIFORNIA -- I cancelled HughesNet due to extremely slow internet and most of the time couldn't connect to the internet. I sent back all the equipment I thought I had except the router on the dish which I was unaware of. Months later, I was sent to collections for $211. For the router on the dish so I called HughesNet and they sent me a ups box to return the part.

I sent the part back to HughesNet. They sent me to collections for the part anyway. I told the collector that I sent the router back and they said it would all be resolved. A month later I receive a call from the collector again looking for the $211. I just paid it to protect my credit. So I returned the router and was still charged the 211 for the router. Shady dishonest company. Avoid at all costs. I don't even know if this is the end of it.

Replies
Better Off With Dial Up!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MICHIGAN -- Reliable... That's the opposite of HughesNet. We got HughesNet a few years ago with the hope of a faster, more reliable internet service. Now, having been with HughesNet for several years I can safely say that dial up is actually a more reliable option.

Where can I begin. To start out with, if you run over your limited bandwidth, your account is "hard throttled" meaning that anything that is https secured will no longer work and anything else will load at a speed slower than dial up internet. The interesting thing, however, is that even with full bandwidth this happens with Hughesnet multiple times a week. Conveniently it only happens when I'm not doing anything important, just trying to pay bills, apply for loans, or check my bank account. So obviously, this isn't that big of a deal.

Over the past few years that we've had HughesNet, we've had to have them come out to fix problems with their equipment twice. Each experience was met with over 3 hours of hold, several phone calls, and multiple poorly trained customer service representatives, which ended with having to wait for a week or more in order to PAY someone to come and fix their faulty equipment. This is now happening for a third time, conveniently enough while trying to finish up a student loan disclosure that is due two days from now.

It was bad enough to put up with the time outs and satellite outages in the middle of emails, paper submissions, and document viewing, but this time they've gone too far. Their poor customer service, faulty equipment, and outrageous prices for the amount of bandwidth you get is beyond ridiculous.

Replies
Thieves - They Removed 214 Dollars Out of My Checking 4 Months After Cancelation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORIDA -- I was facing foreclosure in April 2015, Hughes Net was told I needed to cancel July 1st of the same year. Hughes said they could suspend service for 5 dollars a month until I settled into new home address. I did not need them and canceled in Oct 2015. They send me a box to return the equipment along with a request for the transmitter located in the dish on the now bank owned property. Their telephone representative new the situation in April and again in July of the foreclosure. No one explained the transmitter was in the outside dish.

I received a mailer box in Oct to return the interior control box. I did that and also read that the return instructions said to include the dish transmitter from outdoors. They kept billing me for a service I did not have on a location the bank possessed. Now here in Jan 2016 they had the audacity to remove $214 out of my checking account. Correct me if I'm wrong but every other business would have to sue me or send me to collections to recoup this money. They are dishonest and have disrupted my financial wellbeing.

Replies
Advertisement
Beware!!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLORADO -- Their sales department did not disclose they would be conducting a hard credit inquiry.... Days before we were to sign on our house. When I tried to resolve it, I got the biggest run around ever. Sales said it was pre-install, pre-install said it was sales. Everyone condescendingly trying to tell me it wasn't a hard credit inquiry and would not affect my credit, even as I sat there staring at the credit report that showed otherwise.

Still hasn't been resolved. So I filed a complaint with their corporate (no reply yet), with BBB, and with the FCC. I also had to file a dispute with the credit agencies to clear up my credit. The absolutely worst experience with a service provider in my life!! They don't care about their customers.

Replies
Internet Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORLANDO -- Took automatic payment without permission, extra charges without a warning customer. Service usage goes way too fast, so if you wanted to youtube or any video base, don't get them. Worst ever experience I tell you. Worst.

Replies
"BLUESNET" Because That Is What They Give you... the Blues!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- Bluesnet!!! Deceit, fraud and attempted theft... the hallmarks of my transaction and experience with HughesNet. I have spent hours on the phone to get only partial resolution. HughesNet made 4 attempts to withdraw unauthorized funds out of my account after only 23 days of service!! Luckily, my bank recognized their illegal withdraw attempts. Forget forever any desire to hook up with this sinister company!!!

Replies
Awful! Slow and Unreliable
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH DAKOTA -- If you are considering a switch, DO NOT DO IT! The service is unreliable and slow. We cannot stream YouTube or Netflix. When our service went out completely, repair was scheduled for SIX DAYS later, or we could have service in two days for an additional $30 then the repair person couldn't come when scheduled but could come in four days for the additional fee. We are stuck with a two-year contract, and it will be an awful two years.

Replies
Advertisement
Could Not Keep Home Phone Number
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- Decided to switch to HughesNet after I was promised I could keep my original number, could take ten days. I called and asked why this hadn't taken place and was told it should have been done before switching providers and now I'm out of luck. They are liars and swindlers. Stay away if at all possible.

Replies
Internet Satellite Service Bait And Sell
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GERMAN TOWN, MARYLAND -- On 13 March 2013 I finally was able to speak to an individual in the US who was able to understand the English language relating to setting up a new account with HughesNet. I was originally told they would NOT do business with me because I refused to give them my banking information. This in all accounts is against Federal, and PUC Law, they are not allowed to even speak the words. The next thing they attempted to do was charge $5 to send me an invoice for their service they make available on-line. Needless to say after a few quotes of law to them they backed off from the $5 a month, they seemed more than determined to charge me.

On 12 June 2013 I noted the attributes of my account had changed from the original settings agreed to at the time of enrollment. I had agreed to 10gig of access time during the day and UNLIMITED access between the hours of 1am and 9am. The account was changed to 10gig during the day and 10gig between the hours of 2am and 8am which you know makes this account useless for attempting to do much of anything. Considering nearly every ISP provider out there has a basic cap on accounts that goes no lower than 250gig which is AT&T where the rest pretty much cap their accounts at 500gig a month.

Since 12 June 2013 I have been in contact with HughesNet more times than I have digits to count on and every time I was told the original settings on my account would not be restored. Basically they do not have a plan with those settings. I informed them this was not my problem and they were NOT going to make me responsible for a mistake an individual in their company made. I made clear if the position were reversed they would be more than happy to charge me whatever they could get away with having the problem turned to me.

I have had some 3 to 4 calls returned to me from individuals who I could barely understand and were NOT fluent in the English language. Above all they would never answer one question, "€œAre you going to restore the original settings to my account??"€ But would always attempt to offer me some pacification to the account amounting to NOTHING acceptable. Always telling me there are no such setting on my account but could not answer why my account had these exact attributes for the last 2 months. I took to asking the one question as soon as I knew who I was speaking to and continued to ask the same question regardless of what was said to me.

Eventually in conversation with the last two people at HughesNet I spoke with would tell me "NO" and I would terminate the call with them. Nothing more was needing to be said if they were not going to restore the original settings to my account agreed upon at the time of enrollment. I have sent them several mails letting them know I am going to take action against them by first making public knowledge. People they have done this to can file a lien against the company by the individual simply sending them a bill for the lack of service they were and have been robbed of.

You are also allowed by law to charge the company a reasonable labor rate for your time it has taken you to deal with this situation, normally around $65/hr. Note links below: **. The next thing I allowed them to know was that I had intended to establish over 3K links to this information daily which would eventually put them in the top 5 of every major search engine showing their complaint status first and their business attributes second. Notably they seemed to be concerned at this prospect but not enough to restore the attributes of my account.

I made clear to them in mail they could not offer me a popsicle and attempt to make me think it was a steak dinner, just not going to work with me. I also allowed then to know any negative action on my account would be an admission of further guilt on their part for what has taken place on my account. They to this day have not tampered with my account but have not corrected it either. It is now 01 July 2013 and nothing has been done to correct the attributes of my account to what was agreed to at the point of enrollment 13 March 2013.

I can only hope as many people as possible get their hands on this information and not only use it against HughNet but any MAJOR company that has done any individual wrong, costing the individual where it should have been the responsibility of the company to make good.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Hughes Net Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 29 ratings and
78 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Hughes Net
11717 Exploration Lane
Germantown, MD 20876
1-866-347-3292 (ph)
www.hughesnet.com
Compare Internet Service Providers