InTown Suites

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
2.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
9 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Drug Dealing & Slow High Speed Internet Access
Posted by on
AUSTIN, TEXAS -- This place is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Very dirty and the maids when they do come to clean your room just wipe everything down quickly, take the trash out, and that was it. The people who had stayed next door to me were kicked out a week prior to me because they complained about the bed bugs they found in their room after only being there one week.

This place has a policy of kicking people out, keeping their rent & deposit they paid when you complain about anything. Just the end of May 2011 a disabled man and his nurse repeatedly complained about their toilet overflowing and then they caught the maintenance man trying to break into their room when he thought they were away because the disabled man kept large jars of change and he had been missing some of the change prior. Jennifer, the manager, kicked the disabled man out and called the cops on him because the disabled man with no legs couldn't be out of his room within the hour.

The advertise high speed Internet access, but the connection was so slow I couldn't use my IP based work phone. When I called the management and asked they rudely told me that all they provided was a connection quick enough to browse the Internet. I sent an email to their corporate location and received a call back from an Intown Suites employee who told them that all they would provide was a connection quick enough to browse the Internet and that was it. I went a head and purchased my own Internet access with Clear Wireless which was great.

Then I began to notice two white males in room 331 with a lot of traffic coming and going all times of the night, and the maintenance man frequenting the room. I asked a couple of people who had been staying there for some time about it and they told me that these guy were selling whatever you wanted Crack, ICE, Heroin, weed, pills, etc. I then sent another email to their corporate location to complain, but the next day an Intown Suites employee who was the manager's boss, who wouldn't give me his name, called me to the office and told me I had to leave. He wouldn't give me a reason, his name, or refund any of the money I had already paid for the next couple weeks. I believe that the manager, Jennifer, and the maintenance man are protecting the drug dealers in this room because they are Crack heads that get their drugs from them.

This place is shady at best and it is well worth pay a little extra to stay in a legitimate motel / hotel. I f you have already made the mistake that I did by staying there and have issues with these Intown Suites employees here is all the contact names and email addresses of their corporate employees:

Corporate Location:
2727 Paces Ferry Rd SE
Ste 2-1200
Atlanta, GA, 30339-6143
(770) 799-5000

Chief Executive Officer, Scott Griffith, scott.
Douglas N Wells, President,
Dennis Cassel, Chief Financial Officer, dennis.
Roger LeVine, Controller,
Steve Hampton, Controller, Steve.
Joy Miles, Human Resources Manager, joy.
Toni Jones, General Counsel and Director of Human Resources, Toni.

Jennifer David, General Manager - Austin, TX, Jennifer.
Chris, Maintenance man
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
HRM Bee on 06/18/2011:
Did you contact the local police?
GenuineNerd on 06/18/2011:
This sounds like the type of hotel or motel that does a lot of business with weekly/monthly renters and welfare/social service agency cases, rather than with travelers wanting to spend a night. It also sounds like the staff is in cahoots with the drug dealers in that one suite. Many hotels and motels, especially when they are older, poorly-maintained properties in declining or questionable parts of town, do a lot of business with the poor and disabled...often times because they cannot come up with the cash for a security deposit for an apartment, although staying at the hotel will cost them more in rent in the long run. If drug dealing, prostitution, and other crime is common at that hotel, run, don't walk from there. There's better quality lodging elsewhere.
CrazyRedHead on 06/19/2011:
Rather than send an email to anyone I would have called the police and dropped them a hint. Just because a place has bed bugs doesn't make them a dirty place. I've seen some really clean places have them.
trmn8r on 06/19/2011:
This gives new meaning to the phrase "I'm going down the hall to fill the ICE bucket."
Nohandle on 06/19/2011:
Excellent suggestion Crazy and you are correct about bedbugs. Gratefully I've never stayed anywhere with that problem but some of the finest hotels have had reports of them. In those cases it's often blamed initially on International travel but once infested they have a real situation on their hands and the guests staying there take that problem home with them as well.
Close commentsAdd reply
Run Don't Walk from this motel
Posted by on
LILBURN, GEORGIA -- I got a job at a restaurant across the street from this particular Intown Suites in Lilburn Ga. Never have I been treated like common trash like I've been here. On my 1st day in the room my downstairs neighbor banged on the ceiling repeatedly. The next day I asked for a different rule and was told no by the hotel GM/Front Desk Courtesy officer. She told me to ignore him that he always complains when someone moves above him. Try to ignore room shattering banging every time I pulled a chair went to the bathroom or even opened my door to leave the room. But I put up with it because the GM said that the guest below me in 231 would be leaving soon. Two nights later I went to the vending machine on the ground floor for a soda and the battery died in my lock. I could not get back into my room. I immediately tried to find security guard at the office then his room. I knocked for a half our b4 he the door swung open. Too bad he wasn't in there. I spotted two cell phones on the night table desperate to reach anyone running the hotel I picked one up and called the hotel. The phone next to the one I picked up rang. So not only is there no security he doesn't have the phone that the guests can reach him on. Now over a half hour later in gym shorts and tank top I go to the hotels handymans rm. I knock and knock and no one answers. The note on his door says to go to security with any problems. Ha Ha I'd been there already. Finally at 5 am I locate the security officer coming from some room he should not have been in especially without his phone for an hour now. I explain to him what's going on with my lock he then insists someone locked me out from the inside. I assured him I am the only one in my room. He then said it must be because the MANUAL lock on the top of the door is causing the doors electronic lock not to work. I then explain to him the MANUAL lock is not connected to the electronic lock in any way that would cause both lights to blink. He then went and mad another key. I told him if my key and his key won't work then a new one wouldn't either. But he did it any way. When that didn't work he then called the handyman by cell who then came right up. I then told them both to just pop the lock with the lock popping machine that every hotel has for situations like this. One didn't know what I was talking about. The other didn't know the code to operate the machine. I said call the GM and get the code and I was told by both of them that she turns off her phone and won't answer. I've done her job before and this night was completely unprofessional. Then the rain came and last tues. night I was locked out of my room. Mis-communication of not I work across the street why take my cell # and not use it I could have remedied that if she had called me or walked across the street to my restaurant to tell me I was on the verge of being locked out. There is not a problem with your staff coming or calling my restaurant when they're hungry for a pick-up order. So why not show a guest some courtesy. THat's not even all of it please contact me at 7707367001 rm 313 ask for Curtis Hannah. There is such horrible management here I don't recommend this Intown Suites to anyone. And I feel I deserve my deposit back from when I was locked out and 9 days later the phones still don't work.
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Skye on 10/01/2009:
Is this the only hotel available in the whole town?
dj descorpio on 10/02/2009:
This is the only hotel within waking distance of my job . I don't have a car.Reguardless I paid for courtesy.
Close commentsAdd reply
Fraud, Theft, Terrible!
Posted by on

Well, I was in a southern city to work on a contract computer programming job. I checked in, and found the hotel to be in a nice location, clean, and a nice value.

One day a few weeks later, I was doing laundry. I found a broken dryer (it kept my money) so I wrote "broken, don't use (please refund $1.50 to room xxx)" on it with a "dry-erase marker". Anyone who knows these markers knows it is SPECIFICALLY DESIGNED to wipe right off.

Next day, I went to work. Got no call or message from management. I presumed they credited my account for the $1.50.

At TEN PM, the manager came to my door with a "thug" for backup, acting very aggressively and complaining about "graffiti" and told me I am evicted.

Mind you, I had just paid for an additional week of rent! The manager did not telephone me, or even talk to me earlier, which she could easily have done if there was a problem. She specifically chose 10pm to do this in order to give me the MAXIMUM inconvenience! She proceeded to tell me I had 20 minutes after which they would throw my stuff off the balcony. I replied "Why even say that, you would not want to damage my stuff and get into a lawsuit?" She got real mad that I called her bluff.

I got dressed, and began to pack. She stood in the doorway, partially blocking it. As I came by with a box, she screamed "you touched me,that is assault, you cannot go back in!" This was obviously a well-practiced technique, designed to make sure I can not go back into my room to get my property.

The thug blocked the doorway, and they told me they would throw my stuff onto the hallway, and I can get it from there. I shrugged, and continued to put a box of my stuff in my car. I noticed that the thug had a set of bolt cutters. I realized later that this was because they PLANNED to do this, and brought the bolt cutters in order to cut the "security cable" on my laptop computer, again, to give me maximum inconvenience and cost, instead of just asking me to unlock it.

After the police came, I asked them to accompany me to the room, because I sensed that some property seemed to be missing. The manager screamed "He has it all, we put it all out!" I replied that I would like to look to be sure. Lucky thing I did, because the policeman and I found all my tools, some of my clothes, and computer equipment still in the closet.

Later I heard the policeman telling the manager words to the effect of "You cannot keep evicting people in the middle of the night right after taking their money, it will cause problems. If you don't want them to stay, simply refuse to take their payment and notify them in the daytime that they have to leave. Don't take their money, and then come to evict them in the middle of the night" Apparently, this is their pattern of practice.

So here it is, midnight, I just paid one week rent the day before, ($190) had a deposit ($50), and a broken security cable ($40). Also, I have to find a hotel room ($80) at midnight, reorganize my stuff (the made a mess of everything) and try to get some sleep before work.

I went to the website to look for the corporate office address.... IT ISN'T LISTED! Also... no telephone number! NO Email addresses!

I used their puny "web form" to write a note, and got one single response by email... they asked for my phone number so they could call and "discuss" it with me. Of course, they NEVER called, and NEVER answered any more emails.

Their whole system seems to be arranged to take advantage of people. I would SERIOUSLY avoid this company. Stick with the major chains of suite hotels, and long-term hotels.

Visit this site to read more and leave your horror stories:
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 06/18/2007:
From their website: 1-800-553-9338
Anonymous on 06/18/2007:
So I'm assuming the $1.50 was never credited to your account. Merely curious but where did you get the "dry-erase marker"?

This doesn't sound like an establishment worthy of a my3cents endorsement. I'd advice the membership to steer clear of InTown Suites.
adzidek on 06/18/2007:
Good advice, Stew. What a horror story!
eelyak on 06/18/2007:
Dry-erase markers do not wipe right off of every surface.
MRM on 06/18/2007:
That is very unfortunate that a good citizen, such as yourself, was trying to do the right thing, and yet they try to screw you over. Very inconvenience situation indeed.
Starlord on 06/18/2007:
Dry-erase markers are available at just about any department or drug store. they are designed to wipe right off of whiteboard material, and may bond permanently to other surfaces. It is always wise with any surface other than whiteboard to test in an inconspicuous place.
talldarkhandsome30 on 06/19/2007:
Ya, if you really have questions about this company... search "InTown Suites complaint" on google... you will get LOADS of reports of them using this trick on people.

PS... the paint on appliances is almost indestructable... no way dry-erase markers could hurt it. I even tested erasing it right after I wrote on it, and it wiped off with my pinky finger.
Close commentsAdd reply
Horrible place to stay
Posted by on
BRANDON, FLORIDA -- I rated everything a 1 because I couldn't select a lower rating. Only decent thing was the price even tho it was a lie too. They said it was 199$, and end up costing 275$ at the end of everything. At first I thought this place would be great to stay at because of the price of the rooms. I will admit I didn't look to far into the reviews and should have seen this coming. When my girlfriend and I went to take a look at the hotel and check in, the person at the front desk was very helpful and welcoming. The "show" room when we went in smelled horrible, the fridge had rust in it. The room was 100% unfurnished except a SINGLE roll of toilet paper, and 2 thread bare towels (that we couldn't quite figure out what color they were supposed to be). Since I wasn't too impressed I asked to be put into a room with a bathtub. We went to view it and it looked to be in better condition. I checked in and my girlfriend went on her way. The FIRST night staying there I was smoking outside and I had a person approach me trying to get me to buy drugs and go to this "party" they were having on the 2nd floor. Needless to say I didn't go and didn't ever leave my room unless I was being picked up. Every single night I would hear people yelling, doors slamming (the walls were paper thin) and I would say out of the week there 3 days I didn't see the cops there for some reason or another. I later found out the "room service" only comes once a week and they vacuumed, and took out the trash. They didn't change the bed sheets or even replace the towels (oh and if you stay there bring your own toilet paper because they only give you one) The last day my girlfriend stayed with me and complained about the noise which I mentioned before, I woke up the day of my check out to her freaking out about having seen 4 roaches in the bathroom. The front office told me that any local calls were free which I thought was great because everyone who contacts me is within that area. The message on the phone states to dial 8 to get out and the area code, if it was a long distance number to hit "8-1-(area code)" so every call I made started with 813 (which is LOCAL calling from this site as its registered to a 813 area code go figure) I called back later that day (Saturday) to make sure they got my key since they didn't open until 11 and they stated they did however I had a "long distance phone bill of $22" They are trying to tell me because I did what the phone said and dialed 813 its registered as long distance. That is not true because my first call I made I didn't add the area code and it wouldn't go out saying its not a valid number. I asked them to speak to a manager they said they weren't in that day and would be in Monday. I called Monday and spoke with an extremely rude women who again told me because I dialed the local 813 area code its my own problem, I asked to speak to the manager she said she didn't' know when they would be back. I informed the women they had 72 hours to return my call about this matter before I took other means to solve this. She cussed me out for "threatening her" and hung up. Needless to say they have 24 hours left before I do my best to reach corp which reviews have said isn't going to work they never return your calls, so I will create a nice lengthy email to a couple local news stations about this company and their scams, and a nice letter to the BBB. Never again will I stay at this place, and I will not recommend this to any other people.
Resolution Update 07/14/2010:
Well I recieved a call from the director of marketing and communications. He addressed all of my concerns and the long distance charges were credited back to my card. He contacted me back very quickly and was very very helpfull. You know its very nice that even though I had situation with this particular chain it was resolved quickly without too much hassle.
Company Response 07/13/2010:
We are certainly sorry to hear about your dissapointment. While we do operate more like an apartment than a nightly stay hotel, which is why we set the room up the way we do (one roll of toilet paper etc.) and only clean the room once per week, we pride ourselves on safe, clean and quiet accommodations. I will be more than happy to investigate the issues you have listed here. However, I cannot do so from a relatively anonymous post. Please send your name, room number and contact information to me at the address below.

I look forward to speaking with you further to discuss these matters.
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
PHCryptic on 07/13/2010:
Dear company,
I have sent an email through your website as well as called your corporate office and left a voice mail for a return call. I am awaiting your response.
James Hawkins
biomajor on 07/13/2010:
I know that in the olden days everyone knew this, but apparently, it's not common knowledge anymore. Just because a number is in the same area code, it doesn't have to be a local number.
clutzycook on 07/13/2010:
don't hold your breath waiting for a response, PH.
PHCryptic on 07/14/2010:
Well I received a call from the director of marketing and communications. He addressed all of my concerns and the long distance charges were credited back to my card. He contacted me back very quickly and was very very helpful. You know its very nice that even though I had situation with this particular chain it was resolved quickly without too much hassle.
CaptainSpaulding on 07/29/2010:
What do you expect from a dump like InTown Suites?

They cater to transients, junkies, prostitutes, and the homeless. Want a decent place to stay? Next time spend a little more money and stay at a real hotel and not a flophouse!
Close commentsAdd reply
Save the money don't go to InTown Suites in Newport VA
Posted by on
NEWPORT NEWS, VIRGINIA -- So my wife finds this hotel that states $199 for one week in Newport News, VA. We didn't spend a lot of time searching for a place to stay down here but figured why not its not a bad price..

We get in and the person running the front desk should have been a clue to us to move on to another place. She was rude about every thing. I blew it off as PMS. We get into our rooms and in room 115 the one seats back is busted to the point that if it weren't sitting with the back to the wall someone would fall and break their back or something. We blew that off as the person before us must have done it.

When we walked into the bathroom we noticed the towels and how cheap they were. Yeah we get to keep these things but who would want to keep them. You could buy cheap towels from the doller stores that are better than these things. The toilet paper is as most woud expect from a public place, thin to the point that you could use it as tracing paper.

After looking at the bathroom we decide to turn on the AC. But guess what, we had to wiggle the controles to get it to turn on and once it came on it was very loud. Every night dealing with this rat tat tat tat when it kicked on and just before it turned off. It would wake you up it was so loud.

When I went down to my moms room (109) the room must about the same. The only think different was the fact that the AC had to grate to it.

After 3 days of staying here the keys magicaly stop working. The laidy in the office clames we put it by a cell phone or something but none of us did anything of the sort.. I believe they changed the codes or something to mess with people and get the extra money they charge if a key ends up broken or someone has to come down and open your door for you. $10 per key and the same each time someone comes to open the door.

After we figured this all out and someone opened the door we found out that the doors can be pushed on and wiggled a little to open up without a key. That's right set your sholder to the door, lean into it and wiggle it back and forth a little and the door would open. We thought it was just one door but NOPE. I tested it out on my door, my moms, and one other persons (with permitision) and every door popped right open.

You can't walk around outside at all other than to go to your car.
You can't talk through the window instead you have to walk all the way around go back into the room to talk to someone outside.
You can't do anything here without someone yelling at you. The only things you can do is walk from your car to your room and go into your room. I've even been yelled at for walking to my moms room and I PAID FOR IT. I told the guy that I paid for it and if he wanted to stop me he could try.

So we started looking for another place to stay and asked to see some rooms over at the other location here in Newport News and found that most everything was the same but a little newer and they wanted about $30 - $90 more per room. So all I have to say to those of you looking to stay in a InTown Suites.... STOP NOW.. SAVE THE MONEY OR SPEND A LITTLE MORE AND AVOID THEM.. We found another place that costs us $100 more per week but you get free breakfasts, dinners, it has an indoor pool, workout aria, and spa...

Read 17 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
CSD on 09/15/2009:
$199. a week = $28.42 a day. Shouldn't that have been a clue?..... "I believe they changed the codes or something to mess with people and get the extra money they charge if a key ends up broken or someone has to come down and open your door for you. $10 per key and the same each time someone comes to open the door"......lets be serious now.
Anonymous on 09/15/2009:
You get to keep the towels? I've stayed in many places both cheap and expensive but I can't remember any allowing the guests to take the towels when they check out.
tnchuck100 on 09/15/2009:
PB, do you think maybe for $28.42 per night the towels you get to keep might be Viva?
Anonymous on 09/15/2009:
Not at $28.42/night. Most likely some cheap house brand.
tnchuck100 on 09/15/2009:
PB, I was referring to Viva paper towels.
Anonymous on 09/15/2009:
tnchuck100, so was I.
Skye on 09/15/2009:
OMG, this is full of so many andy pandy complaints, I stopped reading it.

OP, you stole the towels!! You should be expecting a charge on your credit card in about a month for stealing them. Just because the room was less than $30.00 bucks a night, doesn't entitle you to steal................
Skye on 09/15/2009:
What's a work aria??
Anonymous on 09/15/2009:
"When we walked into the bathroom we noticed the towels and how cheap they were. Yeah we get to keep these things but who would want to keep them"

Towels aren't complimentary.
The little lotions, shampoo's, conditioner... THOSE are complimentary.
MSCANTBEWRONG on 09/15/2009:
bkk, when I got to the "towel" part I stopped reading...that to me shows lack of integrity so I can't personally believe the balance of the OPs claims.
Skye on 09/15/2009:
I misread the first line. I thought they were paying $199.00 a night. Even if they were, they still aren't entitled to steal the towels.

Anonymous on 09/15/2009:
Too right, MS. I got to the towels part and that was the end for me. I read the rest of the complaint after my comment on the towels.
PepperElf on 09/15/2009:
28.42 a day = oh look a dump.


I've seen rooms that were that cheap without being a dump... it was called renting a barracks room in the military. And even then it was NOT 5 stars. Maybe 2 at the most... but it was at least safer than anything out in town that had a similar price tag
PepperElf on 09/15/2009:
I just reread this and felt I should point out...

My evaluation of "dump" was based on the quality of hotels in the area around Virginia Beach & Norfolk etc..

So seeing that this is in Newport News... yep.

In fact looking at the site...the place looks more like a military barracks.
and to be honest at that price range... I'm not surprised you had crappy towels etc

bit of advice though, when it comes to crappy hotel-style towels. Get your own or wash them yourself. Either way they'll end up softer.
Skye on 09/15/2009:
By the way OP, you should consider yourself lucky regarding the clerk. You said you blew it off as PMS.

You do realize PMS stands for: "PASS MY SHOTGUN".
Ghost of former member on 09/26/2009:
I read your PMS comment, and went no further.

Sounds like you have some serious growing up to do.
Anonymous on 09/26/2009:
Hey Ghost! Good to see you again.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Smoking Away
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
I have had cause to make a vocal complaint against Intown suites in Austin Texas. I have been greeted on a daily basis to a cloud of smoke outside my door every evening for three weeks so far from about six in the evening to 11, but sometimes till past one in the morning. I cannot believe that people are actually encouraged to sit outside all evening long and smoke and smoke and smoke. The establishment is in the shape of a T. At the intersection of the T on the south side is a backup generator. The same group of people sit atop this generator and smoke all evening. I have
called the corporate office 6 times so far and have never received a message back from them about it. The generator is right below my door. I have seen the Female courtesy officer speaking to them. They did not move
an inch afterwards. Clearly they have complete approval for what they are doing.

The brochure you get upon check-in indicates you can be thrown out for loitering and smoking in the wrong places. This Certainly Seems To Qualify. Austin has a smoking ordinance. No smoking within 15 feet of the doors and windows to an establishment. No Smoking Around Children. There are certainly kids about. This should not be a third rate dump. If you do not like smoke don't come here. The Courtesy Officer Smokes and I
have seen on occasion a manager lighting up.

good luck...

Non Smokers Beware
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Soaring Consumer on 06/19/2013:
Since it is actually a city ordinance then law enforcement may be able to enforce it.
JoeKay on 06/23/2013:
It's Austin, so I wonder if that includes smoking pot or is it like California where such rules only refer to smoking tobacco, not pot. Just wondering.
Close commentsAdd reply
Intown Suites the worst place to stay
Posted by on
DALLAS, TEXAS -- To: Intown Suites HQ
Subject: Complain

On July 10th, I arrived in Dallas, I checked in the BrookRiver Hollow Intown suites and asked for the first floor room since I have a surgery a few weeks ago and Doctor has strict order not to lift heavy objects and physically I can’t walk for too long. I had a hemorrhoid surgery.

Mark Self, the manager said there was no first floor room. I asked again the next day and he said he will ask his manager (later he said there is no manager above him, so watch out they use this to lie). I asked the next day and he said there were two rooms on the first floor available and I said I want the 121, he said it's dirty, I said please call me when it's ready, he never called me. He was out on Tuesday, I asked Joe the sub manager, he said ask Mark. On Wed am, I asked Mark again, he said he will. Then Wed pm, I asked when, he said no, I have to wait till Sat when my week is over. I told him I had surgery and I can’t life groceries to my room, on the third floor.

On Tuesday night, the elevator broke down, many heavy people strained on the first floor can't get to their rooms. I had to climb three flight of stairs. As the result, my body has injured because lifting heavy objects such as, groceries, gallon water etc

I am writing to complain that I have asked for the first floor room from day one (sat) and Mark Self the manager has given me hard time and intentionally not respond to my request when the first floor rooms are available the following days. As the result, my body has suffered injuries because lifting heavy objects such as, groceries, gallon water etc. and doc has strict order not to lift heavy items.

I confronted the manager again today and asked the room 121, he said the room is still not ready. Something needs to be fixed. He lied again. He asked me to leave, I said no, I paid for the whole week, you can't ask me to leave. He said then you can't stay next week.

I want to let you know that this is the kind of management you will encounter and got stuck.
Company Response 07/15/2010:
We certainly regret not having a first floor room sooner. However, as you are aware, we did offer have one available this morning and offered it to you. The offer still stands. It is certainly our desire to work this out amicably.

Our Market Manager will contact you shortly to discuss the matter further and hopefully get the issue resolved.
Add reply
Posted by on
PASADENA, TEXAS -- Stayed at this InTown Suites in Pasadena Tx for business travel-During my stay I heard snide remarks by staff about how I was a drug dealer or prostitute because I was by myself and have tattoos.
House keeper helped her self to several hundred dollars of my money when she went in to clean my room. Reported directly to the local law enforcement;Doubt If manager would have done anything about it. Management snoops through rooms often. If you stay here lock your things up in the storage place next door-Vehicles are not even safe-My truck was broken into while staying here.
When I had to check out early due to work requirements I WAS NOT ONLY DENIED REFUND OF MY DEPOSIT THEY WOULD NOT RETURN THE 250 PLUS DOLLARS I had paid in advance. The only reason that I stayed here was that thanks to the theft of my money I could not afford to go elsewhere.
This location is the only one in the Houston area that does not offer monthly rates( Even though signs are posted in the lobby advertising them)
NOTE-State law mandates return of taxes to guests after a 30 day stay-It appears that the hotel does everything they can to avoid this..)
Harassment of guests, Thievery of property and stiffing people out of their money AVOID THIS HOTEL GO ELSWHERE INTOWN SUITES PASADENA TEXAS
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
spiderman2 on 05/16/2010:
Why would they return taxes to anyone 30 days after collecting them? That doesn't even make sense. Why bother to collect it in the first place?
Ben There on 05/16/2010:
Spiderman2, I think the OP was referring to the taxes on the pre-paid nights that were not used.

The hotel might be able to keep the room rate, but the taxes on those are not necessarily the hotels to keep as they were supposed to pass it on to the government.
furnman on 05/16/2010:
In most states if you stay in a hotel for 30 consecutive nights you are considered a resident. In most states the hotel does not collect taxes normally paid from night 31 until you check out. In some states the amount of taxes collected for the first 30 days are credited back to you meaning that depending on the amount of taxes you paid will result in a discount over your remaining stay. Usually you need to inquire about this as most hotel employees don't know about this, I have also found that many hotel managers do not know but they will check it out for you. Hope this explains this tax issue.
Close commentsAdd reply
My reservation was not honored by a nasty Barry Livingston look-alike!
Posted by on
TAMARAC, FLORIDA -- A few weeks prior to my arrival, I made reservations over the internet for a two week stay at the InTown Suites location in Tamarac, Florida. When I arrived at the hotel on August 18, 2009, I was told by a Barry Livingston look-alike at the front desk that my room had been given to someone else.

He claimed that a few hours before, he had called my home telephone number twice to try to tell me that my reservation would not be honored. He claimed that the person who answered my phone told him that he had dialed a wrong number. This is a complete lie, as the number which he called was my correct home number and nobody was home to answer his call. When I called the guy a liar, he became nasty and asked me to leave. I refused to leave, and I asked him to get someone from the InTown Suites Corporate Office on the phone. He refused, and told me if I didn't leave, he would call the Sheriff. Since I didn't want to get arrested for trespassing, I decided to leave, but not before tearing up a copy of the reservation and throwing it on the floor.

After the way I was treated by this scumbag, I will never attempt to book a reservation at an InTown Suite in the future. I suggest that if you want to deal with an honest operation which actually honors its reservations, find another place to stay!

Read 32 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 08/21/2009:
I'm sure it wasn't his decision to overbook the hotel. Obviously there was no space available.
Toni I. on 08/21/2009:
Hey "justthefaxx": Why does InTown Suites bother to take reservations if they are not going to be honored? You can rationalize all you want, but the bottom line is that, through no fault of my own, I had to find another more expensive place to stay because the hotel was overbooked! That's just not right!
JR in Orlando on 08/21/2009:
Mature, very mature. A lie is a intentional statement of a fact known to be false. There is a number of reasons why the front desk clerk may not have been lying, e.g. he physically misdialed the telephone and reached some other number he thought was yours. Thus he actually may have thought he reached your number, but in fact had not - that is not a lie. When you call someone a liar, you absolutely will not get any further help. What about saying "you are mistaken, that information is not correct, that's inaccurate" or any number of any terms which do not personally attack the desk clerk.

Additionally, InTown Suites rent by the week and allow people to stay over for additional days after one week. Maybe more people stayed over then anticipated. Did you even try to find out when they had a room available, or if you could stay at another InTown Suites until this one had room? Somewhere between calling the deck clerk a liar and tearing up your reservation, it appears as if you had not time to seek a resolution.
Anonymous on 08/21/2009:
I'm not saying its right, but it is a reality. Trust me I used to work for an airline and had to deal with all the overbooked passengers. Again its not right, but it is reality.
Anonymous on 08/21/2009:
My goodness. These things happen in the travel industry. As indicated, its not right, but it does happen. Often.

That said, there is no excuse for a grown adult to behave in the manner you indicate you behaved.
Eloise on 08/21/2009:
Wow! I'd love to hear the desk clerks point of view of this interaction. The OP must have been making quite a scene to be asked to leave or have the police called.
Anonymous on 08/21/2009:
Me too Eloise
moneybags on 08/21/2009:
Did you get charges at the time you made the reservation? File a chargeback
Soaring Consumer on 08/22/2009:
Based on the other review about this company, consider yourself lucky Toni. Good answer Moneybags.
Toni I. on 08/24/2009:
To all of the people who are trying to give me wrong: You people are absolutely incredible! Why am I wrong? I made a reservation, I showed up as scheduled, and my reservation was not honored! I hope that one day, all you have the misfortune to experience the level of nastiness which I had to endure from that Barry Livingston look-alike at InTown Suites Tamarac!

And a special note to "Eloise", "raven2002" and "JR in Orlando":

Eloise: The only "scene" I was making was that I was upset that my reservation was not honored and I requested that the desk clerk telephone the InTown Suites corporate offices in Atlanta. The nasty desk clerk threatened to call the Sheriff after I would not leave the office when he refused to call the corporate office as I had asked and demanded that I leave the office. What do you think that I did? Do you think that I pulled out a knife and held it to the throat of the desk clerk?

raven2002: Why is there "no excuse for a grown adult to behave in the manner that I behaved"? I was upset that my CONFIRMED reservation was not honored. Because of this, I had to scramble to find another, more expensive place to stay. If a similar thing had happened to you, wouldn't you have been upset also?

JR in Orlando: I called the guy a liar because he lied to me. If you LIE (tell someone something that you know is not true), you are a LIAR! He read me back the telephone number which he claimed that he called twice and it was correct. There was nobody home at my house, so if he reached someone, I must have had an intruder answer my phone. From the minute I walked in the office, the desk clerk was a total jerk, so I had absolutely no reason to be nice to him.

I posted my complaint on My3cents to forewarn potential customers of the InTown Suites location in Tamarac, Florida that they do not honor their confirmed confirmations. Any of you people who want to criticize and insult me because I was wronged can kiss my posterior!
Skye on 08/24/2009:
What does, "Trying to give me wrong", mean??
jktshff1 on 08/24/2009:
OK, couple of questions
What time did you arrive at the hotel?
Why did he say the reservation would not be honored?
that fair?
Skye on 08/24/2009:
Toni I, the way you are lashing out at everyone is certainly an indication of how you behave when things do not go your way.

Toni I. on 08/24/2009:
I don't give a hoot about what you think, "Skye Aubrey"! I'm not about to apologize for trying to stand up for myself! If a similar thing would have happened to you, I'm sure that you probably would have crawled out of the office like a puppy with its tail between its legs!

By the way, "Trying to give me wrong" means people are saying that I was in the wrong, and blaming me for what happened. Sorry, that you don't understand my vernacular, but that's how Italian-Americans from Brooklyn speak. You got a problem with that?

jktshff1: Your questions certainly are fair. I arrived at 4:00 PM. The desk clerk said that the reservation would not be honored because there was no more room at the hotel. He said that my room was given to someone else "earlier that afternoon".
jktshff1 on 08/24/2009:
Thanks for coming back. Interesting. You have a valid complaint, but temper never overrides courtesy. Did they offer any suggestion as to a resolution such as finding you room elsewhere?
BTW, and no offense, but "Italian-Americans from Brooklyn", explains a lot..LOL!!!
Toni I. on 08/24/2009:
jktshff1: Thanks for being fair to me. The only suggestion that the desk clerk at the InTown Suites had was to go see if they had any rooms at the nearby Homestead Suites. I checked the place out, but it was a dump in an unsafe area and it was twice the price of InTown Suites. I wound up staying at the Embassy Suites in Boca Raton, which was even more expensive than the Homestead Suites, but the area is safe, and the rooms are clean.

I agree with "Soaring Consumer". After I posted my complaint, I read the reviews of InTown Suites on My3cents and I'm glad that I didn't stay there! I'm just pissed off that they refused to honor my confirmed reservation!

By the way, for those of you that are curious, the reason I needed to stay at an extended stay hotel was because I had to move out of my old apartment on August 18th and my new apartment will not be ready until September 1st.
jktshff1 on 08/24/2009:
Embassy Suites are usually OK.
laklisa on 08/24/2009:
...wonders who is Barry Livingston?...
jktshff1 on 08/24/2009:
Better than fox news ain't I "fair and balanced" lol
Toni I. on 08/24/2009:
Barry Livingston is an actor who, as a child, played Ernie on the 1960's TV show "My Three Sons". He recently appeared as "Gray Kleibolt" in the Adam Sandler movie "You Don't Mess with the Zohan".

The desk clerk at the InTown Suites location in Tamarac is a DEAD RINGER for Barry Livingston!
laklisa on 08/24/2009:
Thanks Toni...I did look him up and he looked vaguely familiar. He was just on a show way before my time. LOL
Anonymous on 08/24/2009:
Toni, you behaved inappropriately by tearing up the reservation and throwing it on the floor, by your own admission. It is clear your behavior was less than mature.

Yes, you certainly have a right to be frustrated. However, most of us learned how to control our impulses and emotions long before our drivers licenses indicated we are "adults".
Toni I. on 08/24/2009:
raven2002: Please don't try to lecture me! I'm sure that you would have acted differently in this situation, but for better or worse, I deal with things my own way.

Fortunately, I rarely have the misfortune to deal with nasty jerks like this Barry Livingston look-alike desk clerk, so I usually don't lose my temper and act immaturely.
Anonymous on 08/24/2009:
Toni I, take slow deep breaths and count backwards from 10 to 1. You are scaring me. If you don't calm down and stop going after people here the next "suite" that you will be in will be the EMERGENCY ROOM!
Anonymous on 08/24/2009:
They were calling you a few hours before on the same day that your reservation was made for? If the hotel was overbooked, then why did they wait until a few hours before the OP was supposed to arrive? I don't travel a whole lot but I am hoping that this is not normal procedure.
Anonymous on 08/24/2009:
Toni, not lecturing. You asked me a question. I answered it. Attacking folks here will not change the fact that you behaved inappropriately.

Anyway, why does it matter if this guy looks like some obscure actor? Your behavior is just bizarre imo.

*wanders off to get some Wild Turkey*
Skye on 08/24/2009:
Toni you just proved my point. You are quite nasty.
old fart on 08/24/2009:
thank you, OLD FART......
Anonymous on 08/24/2009:
Toni, you still don't get it. Nobody blamed YOU for your reservation not being honored. But, I agree with the others that your behaviour leaves much to be desired.
Toni I. on 08/24/2009:
Let's get something straight...

I don't care what any of you think, so don't bother wasting your time telling me that you think that I behaved inappropraitely, or that I am immature. I simply don't care!

jktshff1 on 08/24/2009:
LMAO....Toni, you are going to have Old Fart on ya now!!!
Folks, don't know about ya'll, but I would have been very po'd if this happened to me. In my younger days, I probably would have acted in the same manner, if not worse, and if you are honest about it, so would you.
Ya live ya learn ya die and forget it all.
Give it a rest.
Anonymous on 08/24/2009:
Whew! Toni is quick on the edit button I tell ya'. Her last post was something completely different at first.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >