Preview Review

Next Review

Juniper Bank Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Juniper Bank Is Greedy and Does Not Care About Their Good-Paying Customers
By -

Until two days ago I had a Juniper Bank Mastercard for the last four years. I actually loved this card because it had a decent credit limit and no fees for paying my bill online. I always paid my bill on time and I always paid far more than my minimum payment (often making payments over $400, $500 and even $700 or $800 at times) and spent in excess of $15,000.00 on that card over the life of the account. I started to get annoyed with them when they chopped my credit limit in half back in February (there was no warning, I made a large payment and suddenly BOOM my credit limit was suddenly only $150.00 away from my current balance).

Things like that don't do my credit rating any favors, it made it look like I was riding close to my credit limit, which couldn't have been further from the truth. I never even came close to maxing that card out. I understood that a lot of banks were doing that as a preventive measure to keep people from overspending in this bad economy, but I still felt they should have notified me before it happened and given me the opportunity to appeal that.

What happened next is what set me off. I have always paid online, and in May I accidentally forgot and went ONE day over. Besides immediately assessing the $39.00 penalty (I did not recall that this card had NO grace period at ALL) I suddenly noticed that they had increased my APR from 8.9% to 24.24%!! I was so upset, I immediately emailed them and pointed out my stellar history with them, my responsible spending habits, the high-dollar payments I often made (almost every single month) and most importantly pointed out the fact that I had just paid the card off free and clear! I asked for my low APR to be reinstated

What I received back was a snotty quotation from the cardholder agreement and a flat-out lie from them stating that 24.24% was "the only rate available to me at this time". They didn't bother to look at my history on the account nor any of the positives I pointed out to them, they just didn't care. At that point I told them that there was no way I was going to keep a credit card at such an astronomical interest rate and told them to cancel my account.

I received ANOTHER email from them attempting for some perverse reason to "have the last word" reminding me of the cardholder agreement again and basically saying "We'll do whatever we like whether it's fair or not and you just have to put up with it." I repeated my request to them to cancel my account and advised them I wanted confirmation that it was done (and also asked to be removed from their mailing lists so I never have to be insulted by them soliciting me for another one of their horrible accounts, as I'm sure they eventually will).

I did receive that (with the helpful notice that you can still reinstate an account up to 2 months after you cancel it without having to reapply... well ** that, there are plenty of other credit card companies who would like a customer like me. I will never do business with Juniper Bank again, and I will be sure to pass along this experience to as many people as possible.

Replies
Advertisement
Barclay's Spectacular Ineptness
By -

In May of 2008 I made the mistake of signing up for a Frontier Mastercard offered by Barclays while passing through the Denver airport. The point was to collect the free round trip ticket for the annual fee of $49, then cancel the credit card. Three months went by with nary a word from them, and while my husband worried because we had given them our social security numbers, I figured that big things moved slowly. Then in August, my husband noticed that our normally perfect credit had a ding in it from Barclays. I called, and was told we hadn't paid our $49 fee.

I explained we had never gotten the card or bill. Turns out they had sent it out to the wrong address, and when it was returned instead of contacting us by phone or email, both of which they had, they merely sent it to the same wrong address again, then gave up. I made them read the correct address from the application form and they promised to send it again. It never came. I called again, and again they had sent it to the wrong address. Now they couldn't send it out again, because a three strikes rule told them that possibly fraud was being attempted. I had to spend another 20 minutes on the phone to clear it up.

I told them to forget it, and they promised to send the card to the right address. It came. I tried to activate it online, and it wouldn't work. When I called in person and read the card number off the card in my hand, they told me they had no such account connected to my name. They had sent me the "dead account" that they had cancelled due to potential fraud.

By now I had spent over two hours on the phone trying to fix this mess, and told them to just stop everything. I didn't want their card, and never wanted to talk to them again. They apologized profusely and told the current account would be cancelled and I would owe nothing. I thought it was over. That was in September. It wasn't. May 2009 I get a statement showing that I owe nothing. I call to say the account is supposed to be closed, and they say it was and that for some reason unknowns I got a statement that I should ignore. They promised that it wouldn't happen again.

Yesterday, June 2009, I get a statement showing that I owe $49 annual fee. I call once again, and find that the statement is for the "dead account", but that I owe that amount for the new credit card they tried to give me last year and I refused. They explain, politely, that despite the fact that I never got card or statement, I MUST PAY that annual fee.

Their argument is that by applying for a card I entered into a contract. My argument is that they did not fulfill their part of the contract--giving me the card--thereby voiding any said contract. I insisted they have to remove that charge, and while they say they can't remove me from their system because I am a former customer. I'm going to contact the consumer investigator team of Denver's affiliated TV station because I can't spend another 5 hours on the phone trying to clear this up, but I refuse to pay the $49 bucks. Ineptness should not be rewarded. I caution everyone about applying for this card. I'm sorry I didn't read other reviews about this bank.

Replies
I Have Had No Problem With These Folks.
By -

CALIFORNIA -- Please understand, I am not a proponent of banks or credit card issuers in general. I agree that most, if not all, will run roughshod over you if you let them. The key phrase, 'if you let them'. Credit cards are not meant to be things used to live on. They are not meant to be a crutch for your personal or business financial mismanagement. They are not meant to be a means to live beyond your means. If you cannot pay off your balance every month, or at least 5% of your statement balance, you have no business using them.

Credit cards are expensive for merchants and consumers alike. Ultimately, they are a convenient and secure way to do business and make purchases. You receive benefits that cash or checks do not provide. Beyond those benefits, they are a dangerous thing if you do not manage your behavior.

Enough of my lecturing and back to my point, Juniper Bank. They provide a fair and reasonable service to those who use their product wisely and within the terms of use. If you are late, you are late. Their terms clearly spell out the consequences of your actions. If you have not read the terms then you are the fool. I have had nothing but excellent service from Juniper. I find them to be one of the best credit cards I have.

Let me back up to the first time I made a payment to Juniper. I paid my balance in full for the Apple computer I purchased. I used an introductory 0% offer to purchase an iMac. At the time my payment was due I used an electronic transfer from a bank account. There was a problem with the electronic transaction. I was not aware of the problem until I received a call from Juniper. They told me that the payment was not honored and that they had assessed a returned payment fee, and added the interest that had accrued during the 0% time period.

I explained that I could not understand why the payment was not honored and asked the representative what I needed to do in order to remove the fee and interest. The service representative explained that they would need payment in-full, including a newer charge that had posted to the account. While on the phone with the representative I logged into my bank account, shifted some money to another checking account and paid the full balance on the Juniper website as he suggested. End of story. They honored what they said they would do, they did not hike my interest rate, and they inflicted no other drama on me.

Since that very first payment cycle, I have had no issues. Mind you, I pay my bills on time... Not the day before they are due, not the day after, and I do not use the card in such a manner as to jeopardize my good standing... By that I mean, I do not max it out, I do not go over my limit, and I certainly make certain I have money to pay my debt. If I do not have the money, I do not make a purchase.

Accordingly, Juniper has rewarded me with a handsome interest rate. They do not gouge me, and they do not play games and they have increased my limit substantially over the couple-three years I have been a customer. Why? Because I have demonstrated responsibility in my use of credit.

Juniper is an excellent card issuer and acts responsibly within their rights and their terms of use. Incidentally, I read the terms, I understood the terms, and agreed to the terms. It is black and white. There are no gray areas. I carry a balance when I purchase new business equipment. If I do not pay my statement balance, I pay between 5-15% of my statement balance, dependent upon on how well my sales have been for the month, but never less that 5%. Use credit wisely and quit blaming the credit card companies for your poor decisions.

Replies
Juniper Does Not Have Control Over It's Data
By -

Over the last several weeks, Juniper has initiated a suite of bizarre actions against the credit card I (used to) have with them. These have had significant annoying impacts on my life. For example, stranding me at O'Hare airport and forcing me to spend most of my vacation dealing with their missteps. However, despite their customer-oriented aggression, it was their loss of control over their database, and the inability of a singularly useless customer service organization to address the ensuing problems, is what has prompted me to end my relationship with this organization.

In particular, it was early Sept. when I signed on to their website, intent on making my monthly payment. When I attempted to make the payment I noticed that the payment account I had set up was no longer listed. I figured their system was having some intermittent difficulty and waited a few days. When I signed on to the website again, the information was still missing. I called the customer service desk and they informed me that they would file a bug report on my behalf, but that otherwise, if I did not get the payment money to them within 48 hours, they would assess late payment fees, attack my credit rating, and terminate my card.

Note: My account history does not warrant this level of aggression. My credit standing is quite good and I will have absolutely no problem getting a replacement MasterCard from a Juniper competitor. I informed them that I could probably not get payment to them within 48 hours without incurring some significant fees. In addition, I could not re-establish my payment account as the information required to do so was at home and I was on vacation. Besides, thought I've made at least 24 prior consecutive payments from my payment account - which is a good indication that the payment account was, in fact, in their system.

It seemed to me that the easiest thing to do would be to delay collection of the $36.44 I owed them until Sept. 23rd, when I would be home, have access to my checkbook, and could quickly re-enter the information that Juniper bank had deleted. They refused to do so claiming that if I did not get the money to them by the due date, they would assess late fees, attack my credit rating, and re-evaluate my credit worthiness. In the end I asked a family member if I could borrow their account and sign them up as a payment source for me. They agreed and I received a confirmation email (dated 9/9/2008) indicating that my payment had been received in time.

On the 9/10/2008, I received a response to one of my several email inquiries indicating that (1) I already had an account on file and what was I talking about and (2) that since I had not made a payment I would be assessed late fees, etc. Now, this irked me because the account indicated in (1) was my family member's account, and (2) the payment had in fact been received.

So now I had two apparent problems: 1) Juniper bank seemed to be systematically deleting information from my account so as to force me to generate late fees for them - this is a *highly illegal* practice, and 2) they could not identify that a payment had been made or that the payment source was not the source they had deleted, but a new source added very recently.

Subsequent emails have gone unanswered and subsequent calls have indicated that they can see no problem with my account. When I indicated that "I want to know who deleted my account information, when they did so, and why". I was told "that's just not going to happen". I was also told that "we didn't do it, you didn't do it, and there is no explanation". The latter was repeated to me over and over by one of their customer service representatives.

Can you believe that? Here a customer service representative is stating that the disappearance of personal information from a financial database (the unauthorized deletion of which is a crime) simply "has no explanation." It is Juniper's absolute inability to cope with their deletion of information, their denial that they deleted information (illegally), and their satisfaction that "there simply is no explanation" is, in fact, an acceptable explanation. That really drove me over the wall with these cats. These people are entrusted with your personal information and can impact your credit rating.

This episode clearly indicated that juniper 1) does not have control over it's database, since, according to them, 3rd parties can delete information at will and without their knowledge; 2) they cannot tell when information has been deleted, nor can they tell when payments have been made or when information has been updated; 3) they have no power to cope with the lack of integrity and control over their database systems.

If other people have had similar experiences, please contact me and let us pool our information and experiences. Deleting sensitive information from a customer account without knowledge or authorization is perhaps grounds for a class action lawsuit.

Replies
Advertisement
New Customer/Horrible Service
By -

I opened a new credit card with this company. Naturally the ad sounded good, and my homework appeared to be backing this claim. I used the card once, and awaited the first statement in the mail. I received my first bill in the mail that reads on the incoming envelope "IMPORTANT YOUR NEW CREDIT CARD STATEMENT IS ENCLOSED". Well, looking at my new first statement I find I being charged $39 plus $1 finance fee for non-payment of my first missed payment. What the heck? I called immediately, and was treated like trash.

I was told that the fact that Juniper had my address wrong and that I had been mailed a statement before this, and I missed my payment and I now owed the additional $40 to this account. She wouldn't budge. Would not listen to the truth that they did not have the right address [I live in a condo and there was no Unit # listed on the mailing address.] She told me that "I" being the customer am responsible to KNOW when my payment is due. Well, how can I KNOW??? When I have never received a statement to have any idea as to the FIRST time that they are doing it??? Good grief!!! It does NOT seem reasonable to me at all.

I immediately cancelled the account over the phone and will get a new card company. There are too many out there offering low interest rates. I see no reason for this to be reasonable in any way. If it had been say, over 30 days from the time I made my purchase with the card, fine, then, perhaps I could agree that I am responsible. HOWEVER, even that does not seem reasonable as we don't know our closing dates on the account until we get that first statement. How in the heck can we know? If anyone can tell my "why" we are held responsible for the error of address as being worthy of a first time user at a cost of $40 I would appreciate it.

I truly cannot believe that this is alright for a credit card provider to insist that I should have known my "due date" when I never received the first statement because they had the wrong address. Also, I can't believe that this is true due to the typing on this envelope that says "YOUR NEW CREDIT CARD STATEMENT IS ENCLOSED". For heavens sake, how can this be true? If I had already received a statement, would it say that? I really think this woman who was looking at a computer screen of "pre-programmed" information was trained to act a certain way and be unreasonable and unrealistic.

I know that they are sent to training to learn how to deal with "situations" but, I would hope that a credit card company would have better records for new customers. If anyone out there can tell me a better reason for Juniper to be entitled to my paying a late fee and finance charges on a NEVER RECEIVED, and I do not believe IN TRUTH, statement that was never sent, then I would greatly appreciate it. For I truly cannot believe that there was such a treatment from her that she would NOT even consider that what I was saying was the truth, only that Juniper deserved the $39 plus $1 and it was all my fault. Thank you ahead of time.

Replies
Unable to Redeem Points for Promised Rewards
By -

WILMINGTON, DELAWARE -- I receive an offer in the mail monthly from Carnival for their fun points card - I used to get the offers for the sea miles one. Since I book carnival cruises, I finally took them up on their offer, lured in by the promise of bonus points and a way to get onboard credit, gifts on board the ship, or even a free cruise. I now have an account with them, and nearly 11,000 points but am unable to redeem them for anything. After numerous calls to some of the worst customer service reps I have ever dealt with, I got a call back from a supervisor who said they have a glitch in their system that is affecting many customers, and I can't redeem my points because of this.

Also, they are unable to override the system to do it for me. They have "escalated the problem" to their techs, are working on it, don't know when it will be fixed, but to keep checking back. This is nonsense. If they wanted to fix the problem (if it weren't to their advantage) they could, and according to the terms of the contract we entered into - they must. I can't tell them sorry, can't pay you because my checking account has a glitch - keep checking back and eventually you will get your money.

You can bet there would be a consequence for me, but no consequence for them in not holding up their end of the deal. Skip this card, this company ought to be hit with a class action suit. This is fraud, or bait and switch. If you are experiencing the same thing, please file a complaint with your state's attorney general. You can file a complaint online, it is quick, free, and a way to fight back without going to the expense of hiring your own attorney.

Resolution Update 03/07/2010:

After filing the complaint with the AGs office, I was contacted by someone at Barclays who offered to help me redeem my points on the spot. I missed the call & by the time I called back it was after hours. However, as she assured, by the next day I was able to redeem the points online. As it was exactly the 15 days required to redeem for onboard credit, I went through customer service to make sure I had not missed the deadline. This time got a wonderfully helpful & positive phone rep, who even helped me find a way to redeem more for fewer points.
I still think this situation was unacceptable and never should have happened, and doubt it is fixed for all customers - it has been a situation where some are able to redeem & some inexplicably aren't. If you are having problems, I would say kick up a big fuss like I did if you aren't willing to wait it out for the unforeseeable future.

Replies
My Juniper Story
By -

My Juniper Story. After getting my op-out letter from Barclays Bank of Delaware, the bank which puts out the Juniper Credit Card, I did a little Google searching and see I'm not alone. I've been a member for a few years with no issues till recently. I started with a limit of over $1500 and an APR of 7.74% which was great because I was able to close out an account with an APR that had a double digit APR. I was charge a small balance transfer fee which I was warned about in the fine print but it still made financial sense to go with the balance transfer.

So as time went by had no complaints or issues till the last few months ago, which is now more like almost a year ago. Back in the end of '08 I was going through the process of being medically separated from the army which took a great deal of my time away. So before things got too involved I set all my cards, to include Juniper, to automatically pay of the minimum each month.

The minimum payments for Juniper were much less, about $50 less, than the current interest and account protection that was being charged to my account each month. Soon those charges made my balance higher than my limit. It wasn't well in to the 3rd month of being over the limit that I was able to see just what was going on. And what I saw that even with my account being over the limit by almost $70 Juniper minimum requirement was twenty something dollars.

So after $117 later in over the limit fees I paid down the amount to within a hundred of my limit and paid $10 over what the last charges to my account was. And only after about two payments of paying what was needed, Juniper's required minimum, finally was more than what was being charged each month in credit protection and interest.

And just like most, Juniper's Customer Service department was no help in refunding any of those over the limit fees or changing my APR back to the 7.74% it was before these over the limit charges occurred. There was no changing anything. My APR went from 7.74% to 11.24%, 11.24% to 26.24%, and 26.24% to now 27.24% in the course of a few months with no written notices to inform me of the changes to my account.

Now in August my rate will be no less than 29.99% but I know, for the first time, have the option to reject these new terms which will terminate my account leaving me responsible for the outstanding balance. So that's my Juniper Story… Any feedback or suggestion will be welcomed.

Replies
Class Action Suit? Juniper Is Withholding Statements to Force Customers to Pay Late
By -

I saw another post from a week ago mention a Class Action Suit against Juniper. I have felt for a long time that this bank was handling their affairs unethically. First, they pushed me into balance transfers with 0% interest offers they were calling with every other day. I rolled balances over just to shut them up and stop the calls. Then after 6 months they hiked my rate to almost twice what they told me it would be after the promotion, saying that they had the right to do so because I was carrying such a high balance ($5k). A balance THEY pushed me so hard into. My payments skyrocketed and when I complained, they hung up on me.

Next, they pushed me to get paperless statements, stating that as part of the package I would receive email alerts informing me of upcoming due dates, approaching credit line, etc. I signed up, and in the past 24 months, they have neglected to email me my statement 9 times. They have also neglected to send me my due date alert 7 times. I missed a payment because of this, and they hit me with a $39 late fee which pushed me over my credit limit by $2.00 so they hit me with a $39 overlimit fee. If that wasn't bad enough, when I went overlimit, they increased my APR from 24.99% to 36.99% !!

When I called to complain, they told me their records showed all emails and statements being sent without problems. When I asked if they could send me a copy of what they considered proof of this, they told me they didn't have to. I asked to enter a dispute, and they told me I could only send disputes in the form of a written letter via snail mail. When I asked for the address, I was told I had to be transferred to get it, and then I would be hung up on. I really believe this bank is running unethical and even illegal practices against their customers, and I would not hesitate to join in on a class action suit against them if anyone knows of one.

Replies
Advertisement
Consumer Beware of Telemarketers Sales Rhetoric
By -

ILLINOIS -- Summer Bay Resorts ad attracted my curiosity. I thought that I was speaking to a Travel Agent. Later on I realized that I was speaking to a Telemarketer with rhetoric and pressure. In my excitement I gave my credit information and failed to realize that immediately $498.00US was immediately charged to my bank. During the cancellation period they refused to cancel.

Meanwhile another charge of $30.00 was added. During this period of time Summer Bay decided to cancel my Las Vegas portion and failed to communicate with my correspondence. This included specific information of: the travel itinerary with dates, etc. FOR PERSONS WITH SPECIAL NEEDS including US Veterans. Our designer/engineer created special modifications on the LandSailers boats for persons with loss of limbs including a TWIN to accommodate 2 persons with/without disabilities as seen on:www.windline.net.

Summer Bay Internet advertisement states: Complimentary 3 Day with 2 Night Free Accommodation. Despite my repeated correspondence to their office, and speaking with several people, my being put on HOLD FOR OVER 30 MINUTES there was Zero communication. There was no itinerary, accommodation for anyone in LAS Vegas.
During the 60 day period of time I have corresponded with Juniper/Barclays Bank @ 1-877-390-4200. I followed their instructions "try and work it out with the merchant" and changed the account with presented additional information. This, resulted in a credit of $528.00 to my account.

On 01/24/2008 I spoke to Mr. Ken ** of Summer Bay Resorts @ 888-782-9847 who spoke of a credit of $117.00. This included a NOW MENTIONED $30.00+$85.00 for the Las Vegas plan which Summer Bay cancelled without notice. Also, a 7 day cancellation.

As follow up I have: On 01/26/2008 sent a letter of cancellation, stating that Summer Bay is NOT Authorized to charge my bank FOR ANYTHING, with a request for a FULL credit of $528.00 unauthorized charged to Juniper Bank via SPECIAL PRIORITY mail with signature request. Also, informed Juniper of the above by phone and email. I do not understand the reason that JUNIPER BANK RETURNED THE DEBIT of $528.00+interest to me. This is UNFAIR. As of today I have received no services, correspondence, agreement from Summer Bay.. Just hidden non mentioned charges!

Replies
Deception - Fraud
By -

Frontier Airlines World Mastercard aggressively solicited my business @ the Denver International Airport on a trip this past year. The "offer?" A free R-T (Round-trip) anywhere Frontier flies in signing up for the "no fee," "low interest" card. REQUIREMENT: After the first use of the card I would receive the requisite mileage and R-T flight credit to use. KEY FACTS: I requested a hard copy of my monthly statements be sent to my home address and declined the soft or electronic copy by email, though provided my email address.

Result: Following the initial use of the card I received statements from a "Juniper Bank," which went directly to my SPAM bucket given I did not authorize "unsolicited" email and had received several from this "Juniper Bank." Nowhere in the agreement I signed with Frontier Airlines did it identify Juniper Bank nor Barclay's Bank as the administrator for the Frontier World Mastercard. Statements were NOT sent in hard copy, rather, via email from this "Juniper Bank," and I ignored the first statement having been spammed in prior months by this Juniper Bank. The names were in my SPAM bucket and filtered out.

Needless to say, nominal charges, <$50 accrued "late fees" of $29 for two successive months, along with finance charges. I would never have known of any charges, save recognize I had made one charge, in order to receive the free R-T ticket on Frontier and had yet to receive a statement at home. I checked my SPAM bucket, found three Juniper Bank statements and quickly realized I had received Frontier World Mastercard statements for the initial charge, along with, now, two late fees and finance charges.

CUSTOMER SERVICE??: I think not! Calls to Customer Service resulted in rudeness that defy description and a "Supervisor" I had asked for, telling me to pay the late fees and finance charges or I would accrue more late fees and finance charges. He stated he "did not care," that I had requested only hard copy by mail, not soft by email. I note many other complaints about this type of deceptive business practice; the name Juniper Bank and on the statements-soft copy- the contact name of Barclay's Bank, who apparently bought Juniper Bank's credit card business this year.

Anyone else had similar results? Contact me. I am working on a Class Action lawsuit to be filed against all three organizations, pending discussions with Barclays to seek resolution they promised me from the "CEO and Chairman's Office" with a return of the late fees and finance charges and yet did nothing. They are disingenuous to say the least and deserve to be singled out. This type of leadership cannot and will not be tolerated.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Juniper Bank Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 2 ratings and
268 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Juniper Bank
100 S. West St.
Wilmington, DE 19801
877-523-0478 (ph)
302-888-0405 (fax)
www.barclaycardus.com
Compare Banks