Juniper Bank - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 3 ratings and
270 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Beware and Be Aware of this company's Credit Card deceptive practices
Posted by on
I have an MasterCard account with this company, who "lured" me in with a balance transfer scheme of a one year zero '0' interest rate. I paid an initial transfer fee of 3% and then expected to pay down the transferred balance in the 12 month time frame. I was not able to pay it down within the 12 months. However, upon the arrival of the 13th month, the interest rate spiked to over 17%! okay, I was prepared for that. However, what is listed in the very very fine print is "interest is charged on balance transfers on a daily basis. Interest is also accrued on the balance. I basically found myself making a payment and having it wiped out with the interest being accrued and added to my unpaid balance for the next month. With the recent Federal law change that requires companies to provide a "picture" of how long it would take to pay down a balance to zero, the picture I got on my recent statement was that it would take 3200 years (not making this up; I have to think it was a computer glitch) if I only made the minimum payment. As I didn't think I would live that long, I decided to pay this off. In fact, I made two payments (both in advance of the next month's due date) and got the balance to ZERO!!!. I checked with their customer service dept and they told me that since my payments were made prior to my next month's due date I should expect no more amounts. Well, I got this month's statement and there are new interest charges, because interest is charged on a daily basis and interest was accrued between the my Nov due date and my actual payment date (5 days later). In fact, based on the explanation that the Customer Service person gave me, even after I pay the $15.41 of new interest charges, I could have interest accrued on the interest charge between the statement date (Dec05) and my actual payment date (Dec10). So although my next payment date is Jan05, (in what should be the 30 day grace period) and I pay off the balance on Dec10, they are accruing interest between Dec05 and Dec10. In my opinion, this is Usury in its absolute worst form. What makes this even more hilarious is that during this 8 month time-frame, my credit card limit was raised! (to over $20,000) As if I would actually look to continue to do business with such a company. I strongly urge anyone who is thinking of doing credit card business with this company be fully aware of their practice on accruing interest on a daily basis so that even when you make your payments on time, in advance of your actual due date, you will still find more interest added that will appear on your next month's statement. With such a scheme, I don't know if one's balance can ever really get to zero. I need to wait for two complete billing cycles.
I also want to say that I don't usually perform reviews (positive or negative), however, this company's practices are so blatantly abusive that I am glad for my3cents being available to provide a means to bring attention to companies who border on being unethical in the manner in which they conduct their business.
     
Replies
Horrible Service And Beware Of Interest Terms
Posted by on
WILLMINGTON, DELAWARE -- 1. BARCLAYCARD charge compounded interest. They take a daily balance and calculate interest and add it to the balance. Next day balance includes the prior day's interest. Interest is again calculated from the balance and added to the balance.
This is the kind of interest you want to receive on your investment accounts, but not what you want to pay to this credit card company.

2. BARCLAYCARD penalizes you for three months, if the full balance is not paid. "If you do not pay your entire balance by the due date, YOU MUST PAY THE ENTIRE BALANCE BY THE DUE DATE FOR TWO MONTHS IN A ROW TO AGAIN BE ABLE TO AVOID INTEREST ON PURCHASES." Even if you are not late, and even if you pay off the monthly balances on the next two months statements, they stretch out the interest charges.

3. If a minimum payment is late, they charge a LATE FEE AND A PENALTY APR. (Increased interest rate.) The PENALTY APR may continue to apply to new transactions indefinitely, or if "the next six months are paid on time this rate will go down on certain existing transactions."

4. BARCLAYCARD processes your payments in different amounts of time based on whether it is considered CONFORMING OR NON-CONFORMING. CONFORMING ARE POSTED the DATE RECEIVED IF they get it BY 5:OOPM EST. (Otherwise it is posted the following day.
THEY delay processing "non-conforming" payments up to 5 days. PAYMENTS received, not in the envelope and with the coupon provided with the statement, are 'NON-CONFORMING". Using BARCLAY'S definitions, online banking payments are NON-CONFORMING since they go out in the required envelope with the correct coupon.

5. BARCLAYCARD allows 23 days from the account closing date to receive and post a payment. However, mailing time of statement and payment takes 14 days, add 5 days if payment is considered non-conforming. This leaves ONLY 4 DAYS TO GET THAT PAYMENT OUT, from the day the statement is received by mail.

6. This leaves a lot of potential for late payments to be posted and for Barclays Bank/Juniper to impose late fees, and outrageous increased compounded interest penalties! In determining what rate they will charge (Penalty APR) Barclay's Bank includes your credit performance with other creditors.

7. The BARCLAYCARD agreement states:
"We may suspend or close your account ...without prior notice. We may do this at any time for any reason", including if your account becomes inactive.

Why not just don't use the card, but keep it open for emergency or to help with FICO score?
(Higher ratio of available credit to debt raises the score.)
But they might close it due to inactivity.

So it seems BARCLAYCARD/JUNIPER BANK want to keep us in their game, MAKING IT VERY EASY FOR CONSUMERS to make late payments and not be able to pay off balances.
$$$$ LATE FEES, COMPOUNDED INTEREST ON ALL CHARGES AND INCREASED INTEREST RATES 13% UP.

$$$$ HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE- OUTSIDE THE U. S., HEAVY ACCENT, SWEARING THEIR NAME WAS SUSAN, OR SAM, REPEATING THE SAME HOW CAN I HELP YOU, SORRY TO HEAR THAT, SORRY CAN'T REVERSE THE CHARGE, OR CAN'T ANSWER THAT QUESTION, NO SUPERVISOR AVAILABLE, ETC.)
(Had to threaten to report them to the BBB to get unfair late fee reversed.)

IN CONTRAST: DISCOVERCARD HAS THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE. Friendly, helpful, answer the phone quickly, located in U. S., speak English, and seem to really value the customer. Feels like the old fashioned service we used to enjoy in this country. No problem over the 15 years with the card.
     
Replies
Exorbitant Late Charge for 1 Day Late.
Posted by on
I was charged a late fee of $39.95 for being one day late because of illness. Employee of Barclays Card US that I spoke to informed me that they would not retract the late charge. Very poor service from this firm. I very definitely recommend that all persons that are thinking of taking the CARNIVAL Fun Points credit card offered to them on Carnival Cruises think very seriously about making such a terrible mistake before accepting one. This is a genuine warning to all persons in the aforementioned category. My balance that was one day overdue was $17.00 I have now had to pay $58.95 These people are no better than legal loan sharks. Be forewarned.
     
Replies
Raised my interest rate on a cancelled account
Posted by on
WILMINGTON, DELAWARE -- I am highly agitated with this bank. I had been a customer with them since 2005, but I got fed up with them after they repeatedly raised my interest rate. So, on Dec. 2008 I closed my account, with a balance on it, BUT, let me stress, I have been making scheduled automatic payments through Juniper's site, on time. (My online access to my closed account on their site.) Well, I get an e-mail from them stating that my bill is ready to view. As I was reviewing the e-mail I noticed that my minimum payment went up. So, I contacted Juniper via phone. I inquired if my APR went up and asked them why, since it is a closed account. Plus, I mentioned that I never received my 45 day notice that my interest rate was going up. The representative informed me that my APR did go up due to the economy. (Are you serious? Is that a valid reason? That is definitely not valid in my opinion, especially since my account is CLOSED and I have been paying my bill on time.) I informed him that I refuse to accept the current APR because my account is closed and I agreed to pay the APR that was on my account when I closed it. The representative would not budge, so he just filed a complaint and submitted it to higher up and informed me that I will be receiving a phone call 24-48 hours regarding my issue. I am hoping they will call and I am going to fight hard to get my APR to what it was when I canceled my account. I am fuming with this company. If the issue does not get resolved, I will seek legal counsel and contact the national media outlets to let them know what is going on. I am not going to be pushed around anymore by this bank.

**Update 1/15/2010: Still have not received a phone call from them. It has been over 24 hours and still no call. As for my account being closed, it is indeed closed, I cannot use the card, the automated phone system says it is closed, the Juniper representatives have verbally told me it was closed on numerous occasions, and it shows that on my credit report as being closed. I just carry a balance on it, which unfortunately, I am unable to make big payments to pay it down. (My fault since I was irresponsible with my spending). So, I will keep everyone posted. I have currently filed a complaint with the BBB.

**Update 1/16/2010: I went ahead and called Juniper and spoke to a very insightful person at one of Juniper's call centers (Colorado Springs). Here is the deal with my account: I closed the account at a variable rate, which means that even though my account is CLOSED, which he confirmed was closed, they CAN change my APR as high as 37% (Yikes...37%!!) So, he recommended paying my card off in one lump sum or transfer the balance out to another credit card or loan with a lower rate. He informed me that there is nothing they can do to lower the rate. But, I wish this was explained to me before, so I would have known better. *sigh* Definitely learned my lesson.

**Update 1/20/2010: I have been communicating with Barclay's bank via the BBB. They have decided to reinstate my old APR. (Hallelujah! Amen!) It took two responses from Barclay's though. The first letter they sent me addressed me, but had numerous errors within the letter. (Addressed me in the opening of the letter and then within the first paragraph they had another person's name and a different credit card type. Plus, if I decide to opt out, they told me to respond by November 29, 2009.) The second letter was a letter of apology for their error and to confirm that they were reinstating my old APR. I accepted it.
     
Replies
Barclays re-writes the Calendar to soak customers in fees
Posted by on
A recent emergency move turned my life on its ear, and I was forced to make a "day due" payment to Travelocity Mastercard. The payment was made on the 17th before midnight PST, but was assessed as the 18th, because of an unrealistic cutoff the company puts on payments as 7PM eastern.

I read the site, and being a non-moron, understand why a late charge was applied. My request to them was that they understand my circumstances, and given my excellent payment history, remove the late charge (in an amount more than triple the required payment).

"We do apologize for any inconvenience this service fee may have caused. However, we can certainly assist you".

Evidently not...

"Our records show that you have a payment due date on November 17, 2009. Your payment in the amount of $15 was processed on November 18, 2009. Since we have received your payment after your payment due date, therefore, a service fee in the amount of $39 has been assessed on your account. As indicated in your terms and conditions, if a payment is not received for at least the amount of the minimum payment due by the payment due date shown on the monthly statement, a service fee will be applied to the account."

The truly backwards part is where I was in the country, the legal date at that time WAS the due date. Disgusting that a company in the digital age creates mock deadlines when the transfer of funds is effectively instantaneous once processed. This is just another tool used by the company to soak customers in fees that are paltry to such a large company but quite significant to those of us 'below the line'.

"Please keep in mind, we offer several payment options to assist you in managing your account to maintain it in good standing. You can make payments, free of charge through our automated phone service ",

Again, an emergency move, didn't even know where the card was until I unearthed the box...

"or through the web site listed on the back of your card. Simply click on "Pay Credit Card" then select "Make Payment Now". Please keep in mind that you will automatically be provided with a reference number for your payments, when and if they are scheduled correctly. You may verify if the payment was successfully requested by clicking on "Payment History" tab under "Pay Credit Card". Online or phone payments made by 7:00 pm Eastern Time will be credited for the same day".

Yeah, got that...it WAS THE 17th here! My PC says 17th, it's still the due DATE!!! Imagine the ego of a company - next they'll be determining what the definition of "is" is...

"We also offer an automatic payment program that will draft payments automatically each month on your payment due date. We can send you a form to enroll in our automatic payment program or you may also enroll your account online at our website through the "Pay Credit Card" link. Please choose the "Set Up Repeat Monthly Payments" option to enroll in our automatic payment program."

Screw that noise! There is no way in Hades that I would enroll in their automatic payment program. I have read too many of the horror stories on this and other sites to ever give Barclays that kind of access to my account - they are ineptitude incarnate.

My gripe is not with the charge, but the lack of anything approaching understanding in these financially desperate times. I have had an excellent payment history with this company, and for them to maintain the charge is decidedly consumer unfriendly.

I will be transferring the balance of this card to another in my possession, and ceasing all use of the card (not closing the account, mind you - they can have the overhead of my open unused account to manage, and earn their $39 in costs over time).
     
Replies
My Juniper Story
Posted by on
My Juniper Story

After getting my op-out letter from Barclays Bank of Delaware, the bank which puts out the Juniper Credit Card, I did a little Google searching and see I’m not alone.

I’ve been a member for a few years with no issues till recently. I started with a limit of over $1500 and an APR of 7.74% which was great because I was able to close out an account with an APR that had a double digit APR. I was charge a small balance transfer fee which I was warned about in the fine print but it still made financial scents to go with the balance transfer.

So as time went by had no complaints or issues till the last few months ago, which is now more like almost a year ago.

Back in the end of ’08 I was going through the process of being medically separated from the army which took a great deal of my time away. So before things got too involved I set all my cards, to include Juniper, to automatically pay of the minimum each month.

The minimum payments for Juniper were much less, about $50 less, than the current interest and account protection that was being charged to my account each month. Soon those charges made my balance higher than my limit. It wasn’t well in to the 3rd month of being over the limit that I was able to see just what was going on. And what I saw that even with my account being over the limit by almost $70 Juniper minimum requirement was twenty something dollars. So after $117 later in over the limit fees I paid down the amount to within a hundred of my limit and paid $10 over what the last charges to my account was. And only after about two payments of paying what was needed, Juniper’s required minimum, finally was more than what was being charged each month in credit protection and interest.
And just like most, Juniper’s Customer Service department was no help in refunding any of those over the limit fees or changing my APR back to the 7.74% it was before these over the limit charges occurred. There was no changing anything. My APR went from 7.74% to 11.24%, 11.24% to 26.24%, and 26.24% to now 27.24% in the course of a few months with no written notices to inform me of the changes to my account.

Now in August my rate will be no less than 29.99% but I now, for the first time, have the option to reject these new terms which will terminate my account leaving me responsible for the outstanding balance.

So that’s my Juniper Story…

Any feedback or suggestion will be welcomed, mrmike. e.mack@gmail. com
     
Replies
CLASS ACTION SUIT ? Juniper is withholding statements to force customers to pay late
Posted by on
I saw another post from a week ago mention a Class Action Suit against Juniper. I have felt for a long time that this bank was handling their affairs unethically. First, they pushed me into balance transfers with 0% interest offers they were calling with every other day. I rolled balances over just to shut them up and stop the calls. Then after 6 months they hiked my rate to almost twice what they told me it would be after the promotion, saying that they had the right to do so because I was carrying such a high balance ($5k). A balance THEY pushed me so hard into. My payments skyrocketed and when I complained, they hung up on me.

Next, they pushed me to get paperless statements, stating that as part of the package I would receive email alerts informing me of upcoming due dates, approaching credit line, etc. I signed up, and in the past 24 months, they have neglected to email me my statement 9 times. They have also neglected to send me my due date alert 7 times. I missed a payment because of this, and they hit me with a $39 late fee which pushed me over my credit limit by $2.00 so they hit me with a $39 overlimit fee. If that wasn't bad enough, when I went overlimit, they increased my APR from 24.99% to 36.99% !!! When I called to complain, they told me their records showed all emails and statements being sent without problems. When I asked if they could send me a copy of what they considered proof of this, they told me they didn't have to. I asked to enter a dispute, and they told me I could only send disputes in the form of a written letter via snail mail. When I asked for the address, I was told I had to be transferred to get it, and then I would be hung up on.

I really believe this bank is running unethical and even illegal practices against their customers, and I would not hesitate to join in on a class action suit against them if anyone knows of one.
     
Replies
Juniper Bank is greedy and does not care about their good-paying customers
Posted by on
Until two days ago I had a Juniper Bank Mastercard for the last four years. I actually loved this card because it had a decent credit limit and no fees for paying my bill online. I always paid my bill on time and I always paid far more than my minimum payment (often making payments over $400, $500 and even $700 or $800 at times) and spent in excess of $15,000.00 on that card over the life of the account.

I started to get annoyed with them when they chopped my credit limit in half back in February (there was no warning, I made a large payment and suddenly BOOM my credit limit was suddenly only $150.00 away from my current balance). Things like that don't do my credit rating any favors, it made it look like I was riding close to my credit limit, which couldn't have been further from the truth, I never even came close to maxing that card out. I understood that a lot of banks were doing that as a preventive measure to keep people from overspending in this bad economy, but I still felt they should have notified me before it happened and given me the opportunity to appeal that.

What happened next is what set me off. I have always paid online, and in May I accidentally forgot and went ONE day over. Besides immediately assessing the $39.00 penalty (I did not recall that this card had NO grace period at ALL) I suddenly noticed that they had increased my APR from 8.9% to 24.24%!!!!

I was so upset, I immediately emailed them and pointed out my stellar history with them, my responsible spending habits, the high-dollar payments I often made (almost every single month) and most importantly pointed out the fact that I had just paid the card off free and clear! I asked for my low APR to be reinstated

What I received back was a snotty quotation from the cardholder agreement and a flat-out lie from them stating that 24.24% was "the only rate available to me at this time". They didn't bother to look at my history on the account nor any of the positives I pointed out to them, they just didn't care.

At that point I told them that there was no way I was going to keep a credit card at such an astronomical interest rate and told them to cancel my account.

I received ANOTHER email from them attempting for some perverse reason to "have the last word" reminding me of the cardholder agreement again and basically saying "We'll do whatever we like whether it's fair or not and you just have to put up with it." I repeated my request to them to cancel my account and advised them I wanted confirmation that it was done (and also asked to be removed from their mailing lists so I never have to be insulted by them soliciting me for another one of their horrible accounts, as I'm sure they eventually will). I did receive that (with the helpful notice that you can still reinstate an account up to 2 months after you cancel it without having to reapply... well @#$% that, there are plenty of other credit card companies who would like a customer like me. I will never do business with Juniper Bank again, and I will be sure to pass along this experience to as many people as possible.
     
Replies
Barclay's spectacular ineptness
Posted by on
In May of 2008 I made the mistake of signing up for a Frontier Mastercard offered by Barclays while passing through the Denver airport. The point was to collect the free roundtrip ticket for the annual fee of $49, then cancel the credit card. Three months went by with nary a word from them, and while my husband worried because we had given them our social security numbers, I figured that big things moved slowly. Then in August, my husband noticed that our normally perfect credit had a ding in it from Barclays. I called, and was told we hadn't paid our $49 fee. I explained we had never gotten the card or bill. Turns out they had sent it out to he wrong address, and when it was returned instead of contacting us by phone or email, both of which they had, they merely sent it to the same wrong address again, then gave up. I made them read the correct address from the application form and they promised to send it again. It never came. I called again, and again they had sent it to the wrong address. Now they couldn't send it out again, because a three strikes rule told them that possibly fraud was being attempted. I had to spend another 20 minutes on the phone to clear it up. I told them to forget it, and they promised to send the card to the right address.

It came.

I tried to activate it online, and it wouldn't work. When I called in person and read the card number off the card in my hand, they told me they had to such account connected to my name. They had sent me the "dead account" that they had cancelled due to potential fraud.

By now I had spent over two hours on the phone trying to fix this mess, and told them to just stop everything. I didn't want their card, and never wanted to talk to them again. They apologized profusely and told the current account would be cancelled and I would owe nothing. I thought it was over. That was in September. It wasn't.

May 2009 I get a statement showing that I owe nothing. I call to say the account is supposed to be closed, and they say it was and that for some reason unknowns I got a statement that I should ignore. They promised that it wouldn't happen again.,

Yesterday, June 2009, I get a statement showing that I owe $49 annual fee. I call once again, and find that the statement is for the "dead account", but that I owe that amount for the new credit card they tried to give me last year and I refused. They explain, politely, that despite the fact that I never got card or statement, I MUST PAY that annual fee.

Their argument is that by applying for a card I entered into a contract. My argument is that they did not fulfill their part of the contract--giving me the card--thereby voiding any said contract. I insisted they have to remove that charge, and while they say they can't remove me from their system because I am a former customer.

I'm going to contact the consumer investigator team of Denver's affiliated TV station because I can't spend another 5 hours on the phone trying to clear this up, but I refuse to pay the $49 bucks. Ineptness should not be rewarded.

I caution everyone about applying for this card. I'm sorry I didn't read other reviews about this bank.
     
Replies
ELIMINATED my credit limit!!
Posted by on
Wow--now I don't feel alone at all. I am another 'victim' of Juniper Bank's unilateral and arbitrary decisions regarding my credit limit. I was bopping happily along using only that card for many expenses and monthly bills, and in the past six months frequently spending over $2000 a month on the card. No worries, though--I had a $23,000 credit limit on the card, AND I paid it off in full every month. Never missed a payment, never late with a payment in about 3 years of use. Suddenly, a medical supply company called me to tell me that our scheduled charge with them had been declined on my Mastercard. Weird, I thought. I pulled up my on-line statement, didn't notice any problems, and called customer service. Whoooaaaaaa.....My credit limit had been reduced by 92%, to $2200. Keep in mind that three times in the last six months I have spent MORE than that in a month. And while I do not need $23,000 of credit, there have been times when I wanted to plunk down a card on a purchase of several thousand dollars (I get a nice rebate!) After numerous conversations and e-mails, they kept assuring me that they 'had reviewed my spending' and decided that this was perfectly adequate--it was based on the average spending. Well, that means I can never spend more than my average? The BANK is making my spending decisions for me??
Well, now that I've read all these reviews and see others have had exactly the same experience, I am more convinced than ever that they just want to be rid of us "deadbeats" who aren't paying them interest every month. And they want an opportunity to charge that over limit fee. If they can trick me into going over that paltry new limit, they will rub their little hands in glee and lick their cold, bloodless lips as they slurp up a $39 over-the-limit fee. The last e-mail from them confirmed that they will allow me to charge more than my limit, and even if I make a payment to bring the balance down before the billing cycle ends, I will still pay that fee for having slipped over the line a dollar or two.
(Oh shucks--let's give them kudos for that smidge of honesty, shall we? NO.)
I use this card because I have a linked savings with EmigrantDirect which pays me a nice rebate right into my savings account. Tomorrow I intend to call Emigrant and tell them that there's no need in my keeping a big savings account with them if I have to be constantly tiptoeing around this card. I want to be able to use a card whenever I want, without wondering what my balance is at any given moment. (And for the self-righteous guy who preached about 'pay your bill on time and Juniper will be no problem for you' at everybody, I hope he reads this. Please understand, there is NO black mark on my credit report, despite the fact that the Juniper representative tried to suggest that to me. Based on their statements, I immediately ordered the reports to check. Also, the first two representative I spoke with said a letter "had been mailed." The third guy said my "requested" letter would go out 12/23. Uh...somebody was lying about that notification, trying to make it seem that I had been notified when in actuality, they were only sending out a letter after I raised a question.
I have been doing my research and within the next day or two I'll find another card that offers a decent rebate of some sort, and maybe I'll cut Juniper's card into pretty little confetti pieces and mail it to them.
I will be very interested to see if the EmigrantDirect people care if Juniper causes them to lose a fairly substantial deposit.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >