Juniper Bank - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 3 ratings and
270 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Juniper Bank
100 S. West St.
Wilmington, DE 19801
877-523-0478 (ph)
302-888-0405 (fax)
Compare Banks
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Unable to Redeem Points for Promised Rewards
By -

WILMINGTON, DELAWARE -- I receive an offer in the mail monthly from Carnival for their fun points card - I used to get the offers for the sea miles one. Since I book carnival cruises, I finally took them up on their offer, lured in by the promise of bonus points and a way to get onboard credit, gifts on board the ship, or even a free cruise. I now have an account with them, and nearly 11,000 points but am unable to redeem them for anything. After numerous calls to some of the worst customer service reps I have ever dealt with, I got a call back from a supervisor who said they have a glitch in their system that is affecting many customers, and I can't redeem my points because of this.

Also, they are unable to override the system to do it for me. They have "escalated the problem" to their techs, are working on it, don't know when it will be fixed, but to keep checking back. This is nonsense. If they wanted to fix the problem (if it weren't to their advantage) they could, and according to the terms of the contract we entered into - they must. I can't tell them sorry, can't pay you because my checking account has a glitch - keep checking back and eventually you will get your money.

You can bet there would be a consequence for me, but no consequence for them in not holding up their end of the deal. Skip this card, this company ought to be hit with a class action suit. This is fraud, or bait and switch. If you are experiencing the same thing, please file a complaint with your state's attorney general. You can file a complaint online, it is quick, free, and a way to fight back without going to the expense of hiring your own attorney.

Resolution Update 03/07/2010:

After filing the complaint with the AGs office, I was contacted by someone at Barclays who offered to help me redeem my points on the spot. I missed the call & by the time I called back it was after hours. However, as she assured, by the next day I was able to redeem the points online. As it was exactly the 15 days required to redeem for onboard credit, I went through customer service to make sure I had not missed the deadline. This time got a wonderfully helpful & positive phone rep, who even helped me find a way to redeem more for fewer points.
I still think this situation was unacceptable and never should have happened, and doubt it is fixed for all customers - it has been a situation where some are able to redeem & some inexplicably aren't. If you are having problems, I would say kick up a big fuss like I did if you aren't willing to wait it out for the unforeseeable future.

Raised My Interest Rate on a Cancelled Account
By -

WILMINGTON, DELAWARE -- I am highly agitated with this bank. I had been a customer with them since 2005, but I got fed up with them after they repeatedly raised my interest rate. So, on Dec. 2008 I closed my account, with a balance on it, BUT, let me stress, I have been making scheduled automatic payments through Juniper's site, on time. (My online access to my closed account on their site.) Well, I get an email from them stating that my bill is ready to view. As I was reviewing the email I noticed that my minimum payment went up. So, I contacted Juniper via phone.

I inquired if my APR went up and asked them why, since it is a closed account. Plus, I mentioned that I never received my 45 day notice that my interest rate was going up. The representative informed me that my APR did go up due to the economy. (Are you serious? Is that a valid reason? That is definitely not valid in my opinion, especially since my account is CLOSED and I have been paying my bill on time.) I informed him that I refuse to accept the current APR because my account is closed and I agreed to pay the APR that was on my account when I closed it.

The representative would not budge, so he just filed a complaint and submitted it to higher up and informed me that I will be receiving a phone call 24-48 hours regarding my issue. I am hoping they will call and I am going to fight hard to get my APR to what it was when I canceled my account. I am fuming with this company. If the issue does not get resolved, I will seek legal counsel and contact the national media outlets to let them know what is going on. I am not going to be pushed around anymore by this bank.

Update 1/15/2010: Still have not received a phone call from them. It has been over 24 hours and still no call. As for my account being closed, it is indeed closed, I cannot use the card, the automated phone system says it is closed, the Juniper representatives have verbally told me it was closed on numerous occasions, and it shows that on my credit report as being closed. I just carry a balance on it, which unfortunately, I am unable to make big payments to pay it down. (My fault since I was irresponsible with my spending). So, I will keep everyone posted. I have currently filed a complaint with the BBB.

Update 1/16/2010: I went ahead and called Juniper and spoke to a very insightful person at one of Juniper's call centers (Colorado Springs). Here is the deal with my account: I closed the account at a variable rate, which means that even though my account is CLOSED, which he confirmed was closed, they can change my APR as high as 37% (Yikes...37%!) So he recommended paying my card off in one lump sum or transfer the balance out to another credit card or loan with a lower rate.

He informed me that there is nothing they can do to lower the rate. But I wish this was explained to me before, so I would have known better. Sigh. Definitely learned my lesson. Update 1/20/2010: I have been communicating with Barclay's bank via the BBB. They have decided to reinstate my old APR. (Hallelujah! Amen!) It took two responses from Barclay's though.

The first letter they sent me addressed me, but had numerous errors within the letter. (Addressed me in the opening of the letter and then within the first paragraph they had another person's name and a different credit card type. Plus, if I decide to opt out, they told me to respond by November 29, 2009.) The second letter was a letter of apology for their error and to confirm that they were reinstating my old APR. I accepted it.

Barclays Rewrites the Calendar to Soak Customers in Fees
By -

A recent emergency move turned my life on its ear, and I was forced to make a "day due" payment to Travelocity Mastercard. The payment was made on the 17th before midnight PST, but was assessed as the 18th, because of an unrealistic cutoff the company puts on payments as 7PM eastern.

I read the site, and being a non-moron, understand why a late charge was applied. My request to them was that they understand my circumstances, and given my excellent payment history, remove the late charge (in an amount more than triple the required payment). "We do apologize for any inconvenience this service fee may have caused. However, we can certainly assist you". Evidently not..

"Our records show that you have a payment due date on November 17, 2009. Your payment in the amount of $15 was processed on November 18, 2009. Since we have received your payment after your payment due date, therefore, a service fee in the amount of $39 has been assessed on your account. As indicated in your terms and conditions, if a payment is not received for at least the amount of the minimum payment due by the payment due date shown on the monthly statement, a service fee will be applied to the account."

The truly backwards part is where I was in the country, the legal date at that time WAS the due date. Disgusting that a company in the digital age creates mock deadlines when the transfer of funds is effectively instantaneous once processed. This is just another tool used by the company to soak customers in fees that are paltry to such a large company but quite significant to those of us 'below the line'. "Please keep in mind, we offer several payment options to assist you in managing your account to maintain it in good standing. You can make payments, free of charge through our automated phone service."

Again, an emergency move, didn't even know where the card was until I unearthed the box... or through the website listed on the back of your card. Simply click on "Pay Credit Card" then select "Make Payment Now". Please keep in mind that you will automatically be provided with a reference number for your payments, when and if they are scheduled correctly. You may verify if the payment was successfully requested by clicking on "Payment History" tab under "Pay Credit Card". Online or phone payments made by 7:00 pm Eastern Time will be credited for the same day".

Yeah, got that... it WAS THE 17th here! My PC says 17th, it's still the due date! Imagine the ego of a company - next they'll be determining what the definition of "is" is. "We also offer an automatic payment program that will draft payments automatically each month on your payment due date. We can send you a form to enroll in our automatic payment program or you may also enroll your account online at our website through the "Pay Credit Card" link. Please choose the "Set Up Repeat Monthly Payments" option to enroll in our automatic payment program."

Screw that noise! There is no way in Hades that I would enroll in their automatic payment program. I have read too many of the horror stories on this and other sites to ever give Barclays that kind of access to my account - they are ineptitude incarnate. My gripe is not with the charge, but the lack of anything approaching understanding in these financially desperate times. I have had an excellent payment history with this company, and for them to maintain the charge is decidedly consumer unfriendly.

I will be transferring the balance of this card to another in my possession, and ceasing all use of the card (not closing the account, mind you - they can have the overhead of my open unused account to manage, and earn their $39 in costs over time).

My Juniper Story
By -

My Juniper Story. After getting my op-out letter from Barclays Bank of Delaware, the bank which puts out the Juniper Credit Card, I did a little Google searching and see I'm not alone. I've been a member for a few years with no issues till recently. I started with a limit of over $1500 and an APR of 7.74% which was great because I was able to close out an account with an APR that had a double digit APR. I was charge a small balance transfer fee which I was warned about in the fine print but it still made financial sense to go with the balance transfer.

So as time went by had no complaints or issues till the last few months ago, which is now more like almost a year ago. Back in the end of '08 I was going through the process of being medically separated from the army which took a great deal of my time away. So before things got too involved I set all my cards, to include Juniper, to automatically pay of the minimum each month.

The minimum payments for Juniper were much less, about $50 less, than the current interest and account protection that was being charged to my account each month. Soon those charges made my balance higher than my limit. It wasn't well in to the 3rd month of being over the limit that I was able to see just what was going on. And what I saw that even with my account being over the limit by almost $70 Juniper minimum requirement was twenty something dollars.

So after $117 later in over the limit fees I paid down the amount to within a hundred of my limit and paid $10 over what the last charges to my account was. And only after about two payments of paying what was needed, Juniper's required minimum, finally was more than what was being charged each month in credit protection and interest.

And just like most, Juniper's Customer Service department was no help in refunding any of those over the limit fees or changing my APR back to the 7.74% it was before these over the limit charges occurred. There was no changing anything. My APR went from 7.74% to 11.24%, 11.24% to 26.24%, and 26.24% to now 27.24% in the course of a few months with no written notices to inform me of the changes to my account.

Now in August my rate will be no less than 29.99% but I know, for the first time, have the option to reject these new terms which will terminate my account leaving me responsible for the outstanding balance. So that's my Juniper Story… Any feedback or suggestion will be welcomed.

Class Action Suit? Juniper Is Withholding Statements to Force Customers to Pay Late
By -

I saw another post from a week ago mention a Class Action Suit against Juniper. I have felt for a long time that this bank was handling their affairs unethically. First, they pushed me into balance transfers with 0% interest offers they were calling with every other day. I rolled balances over just to shut them up and stop the calls. Then after 6 months they hiked my rate to almost twice what they told me it would be after the promotion, saying that they had the right to do so because I was carrying such a high balance ($5k). A balance THEY pushed me so hard into. My payments skyrocketed and when I complained, they hung up on me.

Next, they pushed me to get paperless statements, stating that as part of the package I would receive email alerts informing me of upcoming due dates, approaching credit line, etc. I signed up, and in the past 24 months, they have neglected to email me my statement 9 times. They have also neglected to send me my due date alert 7 times. I missed a payment because of this, and they hit me with a $39 late fee which pushed me over my credit limit by $2.00 so they hit me with a $39 overlimit fee. If that wasn't bad enough, when I went overlimit, they increased my APR from 24.99% to 36.99% !!

When I called to complain, they told me their records showed all emails and statements being sent without problems. When I asked if they could send me a copy of what they considered proof of this, they told me they didn't have to. I asked to enter a dispute, and they told me I could only send disputes in the form of a written letter via snail mail. When I asked for the address, I was told I had to be transferred to get it, and then I would be hung up on. I really believe this bank is running unethical and even illegal practices against their customers, and I would not hesitate to join in on a class action suit against them if anyone knows of one.

Juniper Bank Is Greedy and Does Not Care About Their Good-Paying Customers
By -

Until two days ago I had a Juniper Bank Mastercard for the last four years. I actually loved this card because it had a decent credit limit and no fees for paying my bill online. I always paid my bill on time and I always paid far more than my minimum payment (often making payments over $400, $500 and even $700 or $800 at times) and spent in excess of $15,000.00 on that card over the life of the account. I started to get annoyed with them when they chopped my credit limit in half back in February (there was no warning, I made a large payment and suddenly BOOM my credit limit was suddenly only $150.00 away from my current balance).

Things like that don't do my credit rating any favors, it made it look like I was riding close to my credit limit, which couldn't have been further from the truth. I never even came close to maxing that card out. I understood that a lot of banks were doing that as a preventive measure to keep people from overspending in this bad economy, but I still felt they should have notified me before it happened and given me the opportunity to appeal that.

What happened next is what set me off. I have always paid online, and in May I accidentally forgot and went ONE day over. Besides immediately assessing the $39.00 penalty (I did not recall that this card had NO grace period at ALL) I suddenly noticed that they had increased my APR from 8.9% to 24.24%!! I was so upset, I immediately emailed them and pointed out my stellar history with them, my responsible spending habits, the high-dollar payments I often made (almost every single month) and most importantly pointed out the fact that I had just paid the card off free and clear! I asked for my low APR to be reinstated

What I received back was a snotty quotation from the cardholder agreement and a flat-out lie from them stating that 24.24% was "the only rate available to me at this time". They didn't bother to look at my history on the account nor any of the positives I pointed out to them, they just didn't care. At that point I told them that there was no way I was going to keep a credit card at such an astronomical interest rate and told them to cancel my account.

I received ANOTHER email from them attempting for some perverse reason to "have the last word" reminding me of the cardholder agreement again and basically saying "We'll do whatever we like whether it's fair or not and you just have to put up with it." I repeated my request to them to cancel my account and advised them I wanted confirmation that it was done (and also asked to be removed from their mailing lists so I never have to be insulted by them soliciting me for another one of their horrible accounts, as I'm sure they eventually will).

I did receive that (with the helpful notice that you can still reinstate an account up to 2 months after you cancel it without having to reapply... well ** that, there are plenty of other credit card companies who would like a customer like me. I will never do business with Juniper Bank again, and I will be sure to pass along this experience to as many people as possible.

Barclay's Spectacular Ineptness
By -

In May of 2008 I made the mistake of signing up for a Frontier Mastercard offered by Barclays while passing through the Denver airport. The point was to collect the free round trip ticket for the annual fee of $49, then cancel the credit card. Three months went by with nary a word from them, and while my husband worried because we had given them our social security numbers, I figured that big things moved slowly. Then in August, my husband noticed that our normally perfect credit had a ding in it from Barclays. I called, and was told we hadn't paid our $49 fee.

I explained we had never gotten the card or bill. Turns out they had sent it out to the wrong address, and when it was returned instead of contacting us by phone or email, both of which they had, they merely sent it to the same wrong address again, then gave up. I made them read the correct address from the application form and they promised to send it again. It never came. I called again, and again they had sent it to the wrong address. Now they couldn't send it out again, because a three strikes rule told them that possibly fraud was being attempted. I had to spend another 20 minutes on the phone to clear it up.

I told them to forget it, and they promised to send the card to the right address. It came. I tried to activate it online, and it wouldn't work. When I called in person and read the card number off the card in my hand, they told me they had no such account connected to my name. They had sent me the "dead account" that they had cancelled due to potential fraud.

By now I had spent over two hours on the phone trying to fix this mess, and told them to just stop everything. I didn't want their card, and never wanted to talk to them again. They apologized profusely and told the current account would be cancelled and I would owe nothing. I thought it was over. That was in September. It wasn't. May 2009 I get a statement showing that I owe nothing. I call to say the account is supposed to be closed, and they say it was and that for some reason unknowns I got a statement that I should ignore. They promised that it wouldn't happen again.

Yesterday, June 2009, I get a statement showing that I owe $49 annual fee. I call once again, and find that the statement is for the "dead account", but that I owe that amount for the new credit card they tried to give me last year and I refused. They explain, politely, that despite the fact that I never got card or statement, I MUST PAY that annual fee.

Their argument is that by applying for a card I entered into a contract. My argument is that they did not fulfill their part of the contract--giving me the card--thereby voiding any said contract. I insisted they have to remove that charge, and while they say they can't remove me from their system because I am a former customer. I'm going to contact the consumer investigator team of Denver's affiliated TV station because I can't spend another 5 hours on the phone trying to clear this up, but I refuse to pay the $49 bucks. Ineptness should not be rewarded. I caution everyone about applying for this card. I'm sorry I didn't read other reviews about this bank.

Eliminated My Credit Limit!!
By -

Wow-- now I don't feel alone at all. I am another 'victim' of Juniper Bank's unilateral and arbitrary decisions regarding my credit limit. I was bopping happily along using only that card for many expenses and monthly bills, and in the past six months frequently spending over $2000 a month on the card. No worries, though--I had a $23,000 credit limit on the card, AND I paid it off in full every month. Never missed a payment, never late with a payment in about 3 years of use. Suddenly, a medical supply company called me to tell me that our scheduled charge with them had been declined on my Mastercard.

Weird, I thought. I pulled up my online statement, didn't notice any problems, and called customer service. Whoa... My credit limit had been reduced by 92%, to $2200. Keep in mind that three times in the last six months I have spent MORE than that in a month. And while I do not need $23,000 of credit, there have been times when I wanted to plunk down a card on a purchase of several thousand dollars (I get a nice rebate!) After numerous conversations and emails, they kept assuring me that they 'had reviewed my spending' and decided that this was perfectly adequate-- it was based on the average spending.

Well, that means I can never spend more than my average? The BANK is making my spending decisions for me?? Well, now that I've read all these reviews and see others have had exactly the same experience, I am more convinced than ever that they just want to be rid of us "deadbeats" who aren't paying them interest every month. And they want an opportunity to charge that over limit fee. If they can trick me into going over that paltry new limit, they will rub their little hands in glee and lick their cold, bloodless lips as they slurp up a $39 over-the-limit fee.

The last email from them confirmed that they will allow me to charge more than my limit, and even if I make a payment to bring the balance down before the billing cycle ends, I will still pay that fee for having slipped over the line a dollar or two. (Oh shucks-- let's give them kudos for that smidge of honesty, shall we? NO.) I use this card because I have a linked savings with Emigrant Direct which pays me a nice rebate right into my savings account.

Tomorrow I intend to call Emigrant and tell them that there's no need in my keeping a big savings account with them if I have to be constantly tiptoeing around this card. I want to be able to use a card whenever I want, without wondering what my balance is at any given moment. (And for the self-righteous guy who preached about 'pay your bill on time and Juniper will be no problem for you' at everybody, I hope he reads this. Please understand, there is NO black mark on my credit report, despite the fact that the Juniper representative tried to suggest that to me. Based on their statements, I immediately ordered the reports to check.

Also, the first two representative I spoke with said a letter "had been mailed." The third guy said my "requested" letter would go out 12/23. Uh... somebody was lying about that notification, trying to make it seem that I had been notified when in actuality, they were only sending out a letter after I raised a question. I have been doing my research and within the next day or two I'll find another card that offers a decent rebate of some sort, and maybe I'll cut Juniper's card into pretty little confetti pieces and mail it to them. I will be very interested to see if the Emigrant Direct people care if Juniper causes them to lose a fairly substantial deposit.

Questionable Practices
By -

I know you probably have more important things to worry about, but I would like to make you aware of the sharp practices of one of your business partners and how it is reflecting poorly on your efforts to get this airline back on its feet. I am referring to your endorsement of Juniper Bank's MasterCard product. I previously was a holder of your USAir Visa Nations Bank/Bank of America card for many years and was very happy with it. The benefits promoted by the new Juniper card proved to be too much to resist and I signed up for it a little over 6 months ago.

The issue which proved to be the last straw involves a payment I made which Juniper deemed to be late although I paid it electronically through National City Bank five days before the due date. For this indiscretion, I was assessed a late fee of $39 plus a finance charge of $39.26 (on a $3,443 balance). Upon contact of the bank, they immediately waived the $39 fee but refused to do anything about the finance charge despite my appeals and the intercession of my bank.

I deducted the $39 from my payment, sent in the payment early and this month I received another $39.26 finance charge (on a $147 balance) because I deducted the payment that they told me they had excused. Their automated phone system will no longer allow me to even talk to a service person because I have cancelled my card.

Another indication of their poor customer service is that they do not support downloading of transactions into recent versions Quicken. This means additional time to enter these by hand for those of us who are used to such features by every other major credit card company. When asked about it, they are noncommittal as to when or if they will ever fix this yet their website encourages you to purchase the latest version of Quicken which will not work with their website. In short I get the feeling that Juniper Bank is a backwoods loan sharking outfit in it for the quick buck. They have no business being affiliated with a major airline.

Juniper Bank Should Be Given the Corporate Death Sentence - CLASS ACTION TIME!
By -

FREMONT, CALIFORNIA -- This bank is by far the WORST bank with the MOST disreputable business practices. They unfairly charge late fees, their customer service is practically non-existent, and they should be destroyed. It started with the first late fee on a payment that should have arrived on time. None of my payments ever take more than five days to get anywhere. To believe that the US postal system selects out their mail and delays it an extra two weeks is just not an idea I am willing to accept. It is NOT possible.

So we start with an absurd late fee of $39 charged inappropriately. Try calling. It is extremely difficult to find a way to navigate past their phone menu's to get to a live person. You also get a weird statement out of the blue stating that "Late fees are not reversible" or something like that on the recording. This makes you suspicious in the first place that they even have a recording talking about their late fee policy and not letting you get to a person to discuss any errors.

I've always had to navigate through by other means (I think it was the "report a stolen card" path that gets through to a person.) Once you get through, you get a rude operator in the Philippines who keeps insisting she can't do anything and won't. So the first time I called was on April 22, 2006. After wasting a ton of time, and repeatedly insisting on talking to a supervisor or someone empowered to fix things, I kept getting the runaround and delayed on hold.

I told them to close the account. They kept saying I was responsible for the last set of late fee and interest which was about $58. I decided to just pay that and not risk it showing up on my credit card. Well... I was infuriated, and I KNOW that I mailed it that very day swearing to never have anything to do with Juniper or the Barclay group and advocate to everyone I knew not to use them. It is impossible for the check to have arrived any later than April 27th, 2006. My mail is never later than 5 days to anywhere in the US, usually it is only 2 or 3.

I get ANOTHER statement with ANOTHER late fee of $38 plus $1 interest on that late fee claiming that it was due on May 5th, and they received my FINAL (and I do stress FINAL - I will not give these a single thin dime more - I already gave them almost $60 they didn't deserve) check on May 8th. April 27th to May 8th? An extra 11 days in the postal system or their receiving? No, that is not possible. My wife called again, and went through the whole runaround again. This time she did get a supervisor to remove that last charge (we think).

We'll see if this is the last we've heard of it. I'm in the mind set to file formal complaints with Visa and Mastercard. It is clear that they have unscrupulous, dishonest, business practices. If I were Mastercard or Visa, I would dump them. Visa and Mastercard build their reputation on service. These guys do not uphold that reputation. In fact they discredit Mastercard (and I believe Visa issues through them also but my card was a MasterCard.) These guys should be shut down. This is not the way to build a business. It's dishonest.

Top of Page | Next Page >