LA Fitness

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 25 ratings and
163 reviews & complaints.
www.lafitness.com


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
LA Fitness - Unfair access to facilities (men only)
Posted by on
IRVINE, CALIFORNIA -- I joined LA Fitness in June 2010, partly because they have a basketball court and I love to shoot - typically after a challenging cardio workout. I try to time my workouts so that I am not at the club at the busiest times so I will not be impinging on full court games put together by men. As a woman and at 51, I have no desire to play full-on basketball, nor any other contact sport, with a bunch of playground males.

One afternoon I went to the court to play and there was a group of men playing full court. I went to the front desk and asked what the bball court policy was to see when I would get a chance to play (thinking that like the cardio equip policy, when it is busy and people are waiting, there is a 20 minute limit on the equipment.) I was told there was no policy. I explained that this made it difficult for me to use the court - if I knew when there would be full court games, I could schedule my workouts around them. I was told to call "corporate", that there was no policy. I decided to try to anticipate when the club was busy and not go at those times.

About a week or so later, I went to LA Fitness on an early Saturday evening when the club was sparsely attended. Lo and behold, when I went to the bball court, there was a group of males playing full court. I went to the front desk again, and asked again to please put together a usage policy for the basketball court, whether it be a schedule or time limits, something so as a member I could have equal access to the court. I was told by the attendant that there that there was nothing he could do and that I needed to call "corporate". I returned to the court and at first I simply shot while avoiding the players ( i.e. when the game was centered on one end of the court, I took a shot or two until the game moved back to my end). Another LA Fitness employee came to the gym and I told him that this was not a good situation. He told me that, "You should play with the guys." I replied that I did not play contact sports with males, that it was dangerous among other things. He then told me that I should call "corporate". At some point my ball got away from me and interfered in the game - a dangerous situation for the players and one I did not want to create. I left the gym.

On the following Monday I called the LA Fitness in Bellevue, and asked for the manager. I got a woman and after I explained the situation, she assured me that indeed she was the correct person to speak to. After discussing the problem, she told me that if a member wanted to use the court and others were playing full court, that the full court game needed to change to a half court game so other members could use the court. I told her that she needed to inform the employees of this because clearly this was not well known. She also told me that if a situation like that occurred, that I should go to the front desk and an employee would tell the full court players of the policy. I went to the gym yesterday (Friday) afternoon, thinking I was before the busy after work crowd, and did my cardio workout, then went to the basketball court. There was a group of men milling about on the court, but I could tell they were getting ready to organize a game. I began shooting, then a few minutes later they just started playing. I loudly said that they would have to play half court, based on what the "manager" had explained to me. One of the players began to argue with me, saying that they played this game regularly, that he has never seen me before. I told him that I would not argue with him, that I had tried to get LA Fitness to have a policy on full court times/court usage, such as posting a schedule, but they would not so I had no choice. This man then stood in the middle of the court and stared and me while I shot baskets. At one point one of the men asked me how much longer I would be playing - I responded that no more than 10-15 minutes. In the meantime, someone went to the front desk and got a "manager" (still not clear what his title was). This young man (he looked to be in his twenties) came up to the court (it was becoming a spectacle)and told me that the woman I had spoken with earlier in the week was not really a manager, that she was just in charge of finances and that he was the true person in authority. He said that because the men were on the court first, and that because there were ten of them and just one of me, that they could use the entire court and if I wanted to shoot I could not. When I explained that this precluded me from playing, i.e. being able to use the facilities - and could there please be a time limit so I could have turn - he replied that no, if there were ten members who wanted to play full court continuously then too bad for me.

It was extremely humiliating, and reminiscent of the days when I was younger, before Title 9, when females were not allowed equal access to sports programs and facilitates. If a member wanted to play basketball but not with the bullies who have the court, they would be out of luck. This is not a government entity, so Title 9 and other civil rights laws probably do not apply, but I pay just as much money to belong as male members, yet I do not get equal access to the facilities. The Good Ol' Boys club and its stupidity are alive and well at LA Fitness - I am going to have my lawyer attempt to get my money back.
     
Replies
Most Horrible Fitness Club
Posted by on
Hi Guys,

Everyone in life wants to stay fit and healthy so they can live more. I also had that kind of ambition and for that purpose I was looking for fitness center. I came across Lafitness finess club on hurontario street. I visited their club on weekend. There was one marketing guy in white tshirt(They are the actual people who will make you fool) who took me across their fitness center. It sounds OK to me so I hope to join their center.

Before visiting their center I had read reviews about their club on various blogs. These blogs were actually writtern by users of lafitness club in usa. None of the user had given good review about this fitnes club in usa. Everyone was crying because of waste of their money in this fitness club. I thought they would have improved their services in Canada as its new facility.

In spite of reading all these things I thought of taking risk as I read one of advertising put by lafitness outside their club. It states that no contract is required. After visiting their center I made deal and paid first month and last month fees(Initially they asked for $50/month but when I negotiate they came to $34. They have intentionally increased price already) I was happy overall to get good deal.

After 4 days I visited first time their gym. The marketing guy told me before this visit that trainer will do your fitness check up for one month. They didn't do anything instead those trainers were most arrogant and disgusting people. When I asked them about communicatione between myself and marketing guy that trainer told me that fat check is only thing which they do. After that I asked them to show me up how to start various exercises and to utilize other exercies instruments. They disclose there hidden tacticts and asked me to hire personal trainer(This also I had read on blogs which were written by users from usa). This was not at all surprising for me. Then I took them left and right. I called their marketing guy who shown me all stars in day. Then they agreed to show me all exercises for that day. Their marketing guys and fitness people doesn't have any coordination and they are just making fool. When you start your routine work out then only you will come across reality. They will ask you to hire personal trainer if you want any help for exercise(This will cost you 100 your monthly fee = around $140/month). This things they won't indicate when you take deal.

I found that their fitness trainer are college going kids who are just making extra money apart from study. In the evening time their gym will be completely crowdy. You won't get much room to utilize resources. Whatever I read on blogs from usa customers of lafitness it appeared true to me. I searched for reviews on google for lafitness in Canada but couldn't get one. This wat made me to write this story. My one advise is don't even go around this people otherwise you will feel shame on your decision. After knowing also I did big mistake...so I hope anyone who is reading reviews won't do mistake. Instead of quanity go for quality that's what I learn from this. now again searching for good gyms...All the best
     
Replies
Beware of LA Fitness York, PA
Posted by on
YORK, PENNSYLVANIA -- Anyone thinking about joining the LA Fitness in York, PA beware!!!!!

Their business practices are very deceptive. They rope you in with attractive offers and tell you that you can cancel your membership at any time, but when you really need to cancel the story changes. They pull the "bait and switch" where they offer you one price and a set of conditions but when you go to sign the contract the price is a lot more and the conditions are much more limiting.

So be careful of what you are signing and by no means trust them when they say to you "trust me, I was given permission by my boss to give you this great deal today, but its only for today so you have to jump on it quickly." It’s all a lie and you will be screwed!!!

The trainers are inexperienced, and their turnover rate is high, so if you've purchased a personal training package, don't expect to see the same trainer much of the time. Don't expect that the personal training package you purchased will be tailored to your needs so if you have any kind of special circumstances that need some attention (injury for eg.) don't expect your trainer to care.

The trainers who do have some experience do not show up for scheduled sessions that are already paid for. And don't, I repeat, don't even try to express any of your concerns to the management team because you will be ignore and if you pursue it further you will be called a "f---ing b--tch" and will be threatened to have the police called on you. You may even be threatened to be punched in the face by that manager. And he may enlist other members to do so if he realizes that he cannot do so himself.

Take for example, this past Friday May 29, 2009, my trainer didn't show up for my scheduled session at the York, PA LA Fitness. I didn't even get a phone call or any message saying that my session was cancelled.

I showed up and my trainer is nowhere to be found. The other staff paged and paged him with no response. After a while I became impatient and asked the staff to page the manager. "The manager" came and started giving me dirty looks, hissed and stormed off calling me a "f---ing b--tch." I have to reiterate this; I went to talk to the manager about my missing trainer and I was called a "f---ing b--tch" for bothering him with my concerns.

I went to another staff person who identified himself as the new "general manager" and told him about the disrespectful way I was treated by the other manager. The new “GM” completely ignored me. He walked away to talk to other people, I'm now pissed because I've already paid for the service that I'm currently not receiving. I am the paying customer and I'm being treated like a freeloader. Like any other paying customer, I confronted him about the way I was being treated and he threatened to punch me in the face.

So to re-cap; I was blatantly disrespected (called a f---ing b--tch) by one manager and was now being threatened to have the police called and be thrown out of the gym by another. I purchased permission to be on the premises so said I will not leave. So he got two other members to verbally assault me and threatened to physically assault me if I didn't leave.

It sounds unbelievable, but believe it. And if you are not careful, you will be screwed over by this gym. There are already (8) eight other 'pissed off" York LA Fitness clients that I know of. If you are not careful, you could be another.

*Thanks for reading :)

     
Replies
Harassment By A Gym Member
Posted by on
LANCASTER, PENNSYLVANIA -- I am a member at the LA Fitness at 1300A LITITZ PIKE, LANCASTER, PA 17601.

On March 25, 2009, I told one of the female managers about an individual that has been bothering me for a while. All I had to say was “I have a problem with a gym member” and she knew exactly who I was referring to. I told her that he constantly approaches me and talks for a long time. I try to ignore him but he will stand there and just talk for a long time. I have tried to be polite but he doesn’t get the hint that I don’t want to talk. I have to always be aware of where he is to avoid him. He is always talking to the girls there. I try to sneak around so as not to be seen by him but he always finds me, every day.

Sometimes he sees me in the parking lot as I am going into the gym with my 8 month old son and he walks me in. He will stop me as I am walking in to the gym to see my baby. He is always asking about my baby. As a parent, this freaks me out a little. He is not a friend at all. I don’t even know him except that we go to the same gym.

I go to the LA Fitness every day for an hour. I put my son I the daycare. He is there when I get there at 8am. So I tried going later in the afternoon, he’s there. My relatives go to LA Fitness as well and say he’s there when they are there. I tried going as late as 5pm, he’s there. This leads me to believe that he is at the gym every day for about 8-10 hours a day.

The female manager I spoke with was very nice about it. She told me that there have been many complaints by other women there about him bothering them. She, herself, has had many talks with him about his behavior. She had said that if they get one more complaint about this member, they will revoke his membership. My friend who also is a member was so harassed by him that the management told him to leave her alone and don’t talk to her anymore. His response was “You need to hear my side of this”. This shows that he doesn’t think he is doing anything wrong. After management spoke to him about bothering my friend, he confronted my friend in the middle of the gym. She then yelled at him so loud that a trainer came to her aid and told him to leave her alone.

March 26, 2009, the same manager I spoke with said that the problem was taken care of that morning. I wasn’t given the details of what was said, only that the issue was dealt with. I was at the gym today, March 28, 2009, and he was there. He walked by the treadmill I was on and waved and said HI! He also follows me from machine to machine sitting and staring at me just waiting for me to pause so he can talk to me.

I asked the manager what the policy is for this. She said it's a very lenient policy. Only after several warnings by local management does the corporate office send a letter to the member's home warning them about their behavior.


I do fear retaliation by him. I have requested that someone walk me to and from my car when I have my infant son with me. As of yet, nobody from the gym has contacted me regarding my request.

He needs to have his membership revoked and be banned from the gym. This member, according to the manager, has been giving several warnings about his behavior. He obviously does not understanding the situation. I am very disappointed at LA Fitness for not having a Zero Tolerance policy for this type of behavior. I am also disappointed that the gym is putting his feelings above the safety of the women members. This guy is a predator and needs to have his membership revoked.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Get me out of my contract
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
TAMPA, FLORIDA -- LAFitness uses, at best, questionable sales techniques and a tell them what they want to hear sales pitch. I signed up for a training contract after being given a "sample" training session. The problem is the "sample" session I was given was 10x better than any of the sessions I received after signing the contract. they had a master trainer work me out to the point I almost blacked out (which I liked) but then right after sells me a contract telling me I can have him train me, I can have group sessions, I will get an individualized training program which includes a regiment for the week in addition to my booked training session, the trainer's will work around my schedule, I can cancel if I am unsatisfied after a few weeks, but come to find out none of that happens to be available after I sign the contract. I get a sub par trainer, I get shifted around to multiple sub par trainers, I had trainers tell me its my fault when a session starts late when I was there early, I have trainers try to pawn me off on other trainers because I try to hold them to doing what the master trainer said I was going to get. I complained to both the location and the corporate office multiple times and I get the same run around stall tactics like: try another trainer, I"ll call the location and make sure your session won't start late, etc. All so they can keep you past the point where you can cancel (which cancellation time is not disclosed at the time of signing), but even if it was you are mentally and physically exhausted, which is the worst time for you to sign a contract, but the best time for them to sell you one!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
One of the Worst Gym Ever
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CLIFTON, NEW JERSEY -- LA Fitness is one of the worst places ever. I became a member to lose some weight and get in shape but the place is so disgusting there is no fresh air you just want to throw up. You can not stay in the facility more than 10 minutes. They have lack of air circulation. I couldn't bare that disgusting place more than a month. I wanted to cancel the membership, but no it seems it is impossible.

You have to fill out a form and send it via mail. After waiting two weeks they still didn't cancel my membership and charged me again. When I called the customer service they were so rude they said they didn't receive my mail yet and they asked me to send it a certified mail. THEY JUST DON'T WANT TO STOP CHARGING YOU. DO NOT REGISTER FOR THAT PLACE!!!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
A Company That Treats Their Employees and Members Like Dirt
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
TAMPA, FLORIDA -- I was an area manager for a major health club chain in Florida (Lifestyle Family Fitness). This year, LA Fitness bought our company. From day one they showed no interest in us, our careers, or our income. I personally took a 60k/year pay cut. Then to add insult to it they require all managers to work this shift...(M-Thur 10am-9pm, Fri 9am-7pm, Sat 9am-1pm). If you think that is bad as any of the trainers, they may have gotten it worse. I watched and listened as they belittle the members and had this (if you don't like it, go somewhere else) attitude. These LAF jerks are inexperienced, arrogant, and pompous. The upper management are a joke and are the laziess uncaring bunch of idiots I've ever seen in this industry. The club looks horrible now (trash, dirty etc) and the atmosphere is so bad you don't even want to work out there. Members have cancelled in drones. Over 1500 cancellations in the last THREE months! Those numbers are for ONE club. The district operations manager is so bad that the employees call her "the black widow" behind her back. This is due to her coming into clubs, not speaking with the employees and firing people when she does. This place is horrible, do not work here and certainly do not buy a membership.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Rubbish Company! Avoid!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LEEDS, WYOMING -- I signed up with LA fitness in Sep 2011. I unfortunately lost my job in November 2011 and continued to pay the gym until April when I could no longer afford and got in touch with them. After many, many, MANY letters, phone calls and emails my issue has still not being resolved even when doing what they asked to cancel my membership. They continuously send me threatening letters about owing money and I am overall disgusted with the way I have been treated and made to feel like a rubbish! Please be aware people to not join this gym, don't fall for their fake smiles.

My issue is still ongoing and I don't want any one to have to put up with what I have with them.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Discrimination, TERRIBLE customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
PORTLAND, OREGON -- I attempted to use Kid Klub services at LA fitness last night and was told my membership didn't include this. The guy who signed me up a few days prior, John "JB" [snip]", never mentioned this to me. Nonetheless he comes over to explain that it costs extra per month to use those services and that he told me about those fees and that I declined. It was 7:30 P.M. and I had only 30 minutes to work out before the Kids Klub closed. I arrived with my kids and obviously wouldn't had done so if I knew that I didn't have this service. I explained to JB that he didn't mention any of this to me during my sign up on Saturday, April 28, 2012. He persisted that he told me. I reminded him that I even asked him what the kids klub hours were during my sign up and he gave me the sheet with the hours on it. I had received no further information. He left me in the lobby of LA fitness to speak with general manager and I could hear him telling the general manager about how he told me all of this and how he was right and I was wrong. I walked over to their desk thinking they were going to take care of things or move forward with the issue but no, we basically argued over what he told me and what I heard from him on Saturday. The conversation then moves over to cancellation and I was handed a form and told they weren't going to assist me further and calling the police.
Point is: They called the police, canceled my membership and told me that I wouldn't be receiving a refund of any amounts paid on my account which consisted of first and last months membership fees of approximately $60-65.00 because they claim I breached my contract by arguing with JB in front of other patrons.

Ideally the situation would have gone down like this:
Hey Melissa, sorry for this misunderstanding, let's get you signed up real quick so you can hit that work out tonight. I can take care of the information for you while you hustle in the gym.

To be honest, that's all I was looking for. Someone to take care of the problem and let me go work out. Instead, I was called a liar by JB, store manager (male) and receptionist (male).
     
Replies
If You Require Medical Assistance You Better Have Your Cell Phone Handy
Posted by on
I have been a member of various gyms for many years and am in good shape and good health. After a Yoga class at LA Fitness I became extremely dizzy upon attempting to sit up. I laid back down and waited a minute, but as soon as I started to sit up the room literally began to spin. Several women in the class noticed I was in distress and came to my aid. Since it was very warm in the room, they brought me a cold compress and water which I was unable to sit up to drink. One woman went out to the desk to ask for help. An employee came in, asked me what I had for breakfast and left. Several minutes later, and not feeling any better, a classmate again went out to the front desk and requested they call an ambulance since it was becoming obvious that I was not going to get up and walk out of there on my own as much as the employees might have hoped. A different front desk person came into the room and asked me what I had for breakfast and offered me orange juice. I told him I did not have low blood sugar and did not think drinking OJ would be a good idea at that point. He tried to pull me up by my arms but I became extremely dizzy again and had to beg him to let go of my arms. Several more minutes passed and my classmate went to the desk to see where the ambulance was - and found out they had not called one. At that point, after three employees coming in and asking me what I had for breakfast and 3 requests for an ambulance, she stood there and insisted that they call 911 which they reluctantly did. The strangers in my class were more concerned about me than any of the employees were. After many medical tests it was determined that it was an attack of vertigo. However, it just as easily could have been a stroke or heart problems causing the neuralogical systems and the staff would have no way of knowing that. The delay in calling an ambulance could have been life threatening.

Several days later I received a call from the Manager who sounded like a 15 year old girl. She said she was in Key West over the weekend and just found out about the incident. She was calling to see how I was feeling. When I told her what happpend and suggested she review emergency procedures with her staff so they would not leave the next victim laying on the floor for 40 minutes before they call an ambulance she told me that her staff told her: "An older woman took a yoga class that was too much for her but she wouldn't stop and they called an ambulance right away." I explained that this was not the case and instead of acknowledging that this was a training opportunity for her staff she insisted that her emplouyees version of the story was correct.

Needless to say, I quit LA Fitness and am now working out at a gym where an owner or manager is always present. Now I am waiting to see how many months it takes before they stop charging me.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >